

Colorado PDMP Data Uploader (Pharmacy) Fact Sheet

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP) www.hidinc.com/copdmp

Colorado's Electronic Prescription Drug Monitoring Program provides practitioners and pharmacists with immediate access to a patient's history of Schedule II through V controlled substance prescriptions, dispensed beginning July 1, 2007.

The data in the PDMP exists to provide practitioners and pharmacists with information to make the best treatment decisions for their patients.

Colorado law requires that each pharmacy registered by the Colorado State Board of Pharmacy to dispense prescriptions drugs and/or controlled substances into Colorado electronically report data describing all controlled substance prescriptions dispensed to Colorado patients. Can my pharmacy be waived from Colorado registration and reporting requirements? Hospital pharmacies that do not dispense more than a 24-hour supply of a controlled substance to an outpatient, pharmacies that are not computerized, and pharmacies that do not have a DEA registration may be waived from Colorado PDMP requirements.

Any pharmacy which has a Colorado registration and a DEA registration, even if it does not dispense controlled substance prescriptions into Colorado must still register and file twice monthly zero reports to the Colorado PDMP.

What is the schedule for filing controlled substance dispensing reports to the Colorado PDMP? Controlled substance prescriptions dispensed into Colorado from the 1st through the 15th of the month must be reported from the 16th to the 25th of that same month.

Controlled substance prescriptions dispensed into Colorado from the 16^{th} of the month to the end of the month must be reported from the 1^{st} through the 10^{th} of the following month.

Does the Colorado State Board of Pharmacy monitor PDMP reporting?

Yes. Repeated instances of failure to file a data or zero report within each of the two 10-day reporting windows, or repeated instances of reports filed outside of the reporting windows, can result in public disciplinary action, which can include a fine.

My pharmacy's corporate office or software vendor files the PDMP reports. Does that affect the Colorado State Board of Pharmacy's monitoring of reporting? No. Each Colorado registered pharmacy is ultimately held responsible for its own PDMP reporting. Even if a pharmacy is noncompliant with reporting due to repeated failures by a corporate office or a software vendor, ultimately it will be the Colorado registered pharmacy which would face the public disciplinary action.

What if I've forgotten the upload account user name or password?

Please call the Helpdesk at 855-263-6403 during regular business hours.

What can I do if I have any questions regarding registration or reporting to the Colorado PDMP?

Please feel free to review the "Dispenser's Implementation Guide" available online at <u>www.hidinc.com/copdmp</u>, you may feel free to contact the Helpdesk at 855-263-6403.



Division of Professions and Occupations Colorado State Board of Pharmacy Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

1560 Broadway, Suite 1300 P. 303.894.5957 F. 303.869.0133 E-mail: pdmpinqr@state.co.us