
 Child Passenger Traffic Fatalities in Colorado 
Under Age 16 (1995-2005)  

 
          

   Under      Total  Percent 
 Year  Age 4  Ages 4-5* Ages 6- 15 Fatalities Unrestrained 
 
 2005   8 (1)** 1 (1)  13 (7)  22  41%*** 
 2004   9 (3)  3 (2)  17 (11)  29  55% 
 2003   6 (2)  3 (2)  37 (29)  46  72% 

2002   7 (3)  2 (2)  24 (15)  33  61% 
  
       Ages 4- 15 

 
2001   7 (4)    31 (22)  38  68% 
2000   9 (2)    23 (15)  32  53% 
1999   7 (3)    23 (14)  30  56% 

  
1998  10 (4)    18 (8)  28  43% 

 1997    4 (1)    31 (26)  35  77% 
 1996    7 (6)    30 (22)  37  76% 
 1995  11 (8)    38 (34)  49   86% 
 
 
*Colorado’s booster seat law took effect on August 1, 2003 with a year of education.  On 
August 1, 2004, enforcement of the booster seat law started.  The law requires children who 
weigh over 40 pounds or are at least 4 years old to be properly restrained in a child booster 
seat or with a child safety belt-positioning device.  Children must ride in booster seats until 
they are 6 years old or 55 inches tall. 
**Figures in parentheses are the number of children killed while riding unrestrained. 
***In addition to the nine unrestrained victims in 2005, eight children were riding in seat 
belts and car seats that were not used properly.  Eleven of the unrestrained and improperly 
restrained children were partially or totally ejected from their vehicles and died. 
 
During 2005, occupant deaths for children under age 16 occurred in the following counties:  
Adams, Baca, Bent Crowley, Delta, Denver, Douglas, El Paso, Fremont, Hinsdale, Jefferson, Las 
Animas, Lincoln, Morgan, Pueblo and Weld. 
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