Approved Alternative
Traction Devices (ATDs)

Approved ATDs may be used
instead of chains. These include:

B Wheel Sanders, which must carry
enough sand to negotiate the hill

m Pneumatically Driven Chains
which spin under the drive wheels
automatically as traction is lost

Colorado’s rules and regulations do
not allow the use of tire cables on
commercial vehicles.

Following are the only two ap-
proved situations in which cables
can be used.

1) Tire cables constructed with high
strength steel spring cross member
rollers that are at least 0.415” in diam-
eter or greater. These can be used
instead of chains on commercial ve-
hicles with the exception of single drive
axle combination units.

2) On atandem power drive axle
commercial vehicle, any type of cable
can be used only if there are chains on
the two outside tires of one of the
power drive axles and cables on two or
more tires of the other power drive
axles.

The Colorado Department of Trans-
portation may rescind the approval of
cables as an ATD at any time.

Chain-Up Questions

Do I need to chain up my trailer? Chains
are not required on trailers. You may use tire
cables on trailer tires.

Where can | chain up? \ehicles placarded
for flammable, combustible, or explosives
loads may pass the chain-up signs and install
their chains where pavement is covered by
snow or ice, at a safe location outside the
traveled portion of the highway.

When can | continue with my load?
CDOT or law enforcement personnel may
control the re-entry of vehicles from chain
inspection stations to assist traffic flow and
ensure safety.

When can | take my chains off? The chain
law will cease where designated by an
official sign or where bare descending pave-
ment is encountered.

I-70 Chain-Up Stations

Eastbound: Mileposts 178, 183, 184,
187, 203, 211

Westbound: Mileposts 229, 221, 219,
197.

Colorado’s weather can change dramatically
and quickly. Carry chains and be prepared.
For road conditions, call (303) 639-1111 in
the Denver area, or call 1-877-315-Road
from elsewhere in Colorado. To report a
suspected drunk driver call *DUI on your cell
phone and for aggressive driving *CSP.
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Chain Law Rules for
Commercial Vehicles

Colorado’s chain law rules became
effective Nov. 1, 1996.

The chain law applies to every state,
federal, and interstate highway in Colo-
rado.

When the chain law is in effect, drivers
will be notified by signs along the road-
ways indicating which vehicles should
chain up, and where. In some areas,
lighted message signs will alert drivers
to chain up information.

Metal chains must consist of two circu-
lar metal loops, one on each side of the
tire, connected by not less than nine
evenly spaced chains across the tire
tread.

Commercial vehicles having four or
more drive wheels must chain four
wheels. Dual tire chains are accept-
able.

Violation Policies

Drivers of commercial vehicles who
ignore the chain law can be fined $100
plus a $13 surcharge for not chaining
up when required. Adriver can also be
fined $500 plus a $61 surcharge if the
vehicle is not chained when required
and as a result blocks the road.

When Are Chains Required?

The chain law affects commercial vehicles.
A vehicle is defined as “commercial” if it is
used in commerce to transport passengers
or property and it also:

1) Has a gross combination weight rating of
26,001 Ibs. or more inclusive of a towed unit
which has a gross vehicle weight rating of
more than 10,000 Ibs., or

2) Has a gross vehicle weight rating of
26,001 or more pounds; or

3) Is designed to transport 16 or more
passengers, including the driver.

The illustrations below show what is meant
by the terms single drive axle, and tandem
drive axle.

Single Drive Axle
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Tandem Drive Axles

Levels of the Chain Law

LEVEL 1-This level requires that all
single drive axle combination commer-
cial vehicles must chain up. All four
wheels of the power drive axle must be
chained. Cables are not allowed on
single-drive axle combination commer-
cial vehicles as ATDs.

When Code 17 is in effect, all other
commercial vehicles must have snow
tires or chains. Code 17 may be imple-
mented any time there is snow covering
any part of the traveled portion of pave-
ment on an ascending grade.

LEVEL 2- This level requires chains
for all commercial vehicles, including all
trucks exceeding 26,001 Ibs. in weight,
and buses or vehicles designed to carry
16 or more passengers.

Auto transports must comply to the
extent possible without causing damage
to hydraulic lines. Buses need to chain
only two drive wheel tires to comply.

Code 18 may be implemented any time
there is snow covering the entire trav-
eled portion of the pavement on an
ascending grade, or when road,
weather, or driving conditions make this
restriction necessary to protect the
safety of the traveling public and to
minimize road closures.



