
Colorado law change 
 

This year, Colorado law changed from a no-fault to a tort 
insurance system.  Previously no-fault insurance, which 
included the medical benefit known as PIP (Personal 
Injury Protection), provided coverage for certain medical 
and rehabilitation expenses from injuries sustained in an 
automobile accident.  PIP paid benefits for injuries 
whether or not the insured person was negligent or “at-
fault”.   

Now under the tort system, determination of fault in 
an automobile accident must be made and the party at 
fault or their insurance company pays medical and 
rehabilitation expenses to the injured party, as well as 
property damage.  An injured party may also sue for other 
losses including lost wages and pain and suffering. 
 

About this guide 
 

To use this guide effectively you need to choose which of 
the four drivers (driver A, B, C or D) most closely 
compares to you and then determine the category that 
reflects your experience as a driver.  Preferred programs 
are for drivers with the best driving records, standard 
programs are for drivers with average driving records and 
non-standard programs are for drivers with poor driving 
records. 

The premiums quoted in this guide were drawn from 
a survey of 2003 premiums and are based on a 4-door 
sedan, 2002 Ford Taurus LX. All premiums in this guide 
are for a coverage period of six months and reflect a 
comprehensive deductible of $250 and collision 
deductible of $250 unless otherwise noted. 

Coverage limits for the vehicle are the minimum 
required by law, unless otherwise noted. Read the 
explanations below for a careful examination of these 
minimum coverages. The Division does not recommend 
the purchase of only statutory minimums of insurance. 
Each individual and family must determine the 
appropriate amount of insurance to purchase. 
 
What are the minimum  
coverages required by law? 
 

Colorado law mandates that automobile insurance policies 
sold in the state provide:  
 

� liability insurance and 
� uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.  This can 

be waived only if it has been rejected in writing by 
the insured. The definitions below provide more 
detail on each type of insurance required by Colorado 
statutes. 

 

Liability 
Liability insurance is generally defined as coverage for 
bodily injury you cause to another person or for property 
damage you cause to another’s property through negligent 
operation of your vehicle. Liability insurance also affords 
coverage if the accident was caused by a member of your 
household driving your vehicle or by a person using your 
vehicle with your consent. The minimum amount of 
liability insurance required by Colorado law is as follows: 
� $25,000 per person for bodily injury; 
� $50,000 per accident for bodily injury; 
� $15,000 per accident for property damage. 
 

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist  
The “uninsured motorist” portion of this coverage is for 
your bodily injury losses caused by a hit-and-run driver or 
a driver who has no automobile liability insurance. This 
coverage takes the place of insurance the other driver 
should have purchased. 

The “underinsured motorist” portion of this coverage 
is for bodily injury losses which you are legally entitled to 
collect from the owner or driver of an underinsured 
vehicle. An underinsured vehicle is a vehicle that is 
insured, but the bodily injury liability limits (see Liability) 
of that vehicle’s policy are less than the limits of your 
uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The minimum 
amount of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, 
unless waived by the policyholder, is as follows: 
� $25,000 per person for uninsured/underinsured 

motorist; 
� $50,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured 

motorist. 
 

What are optional coverages? 
 
 

In Colorado you can purchase several types of optional 
coverage to add to your personal auto policy.  For 
example: 
� Uninsured Motorist Property Damage 
� Medical Payments 
� Comprehensive and collision 
� Rental reimbursement 
� Towing and Labor  
 

Uninsured Motorist Property Damage  
This is an optional coverage you can request if you do not 
have collision coverage on your vehicle.  Uninsured Motorist 
Property Damage (UMPD) pays for damages to your vehicle 
caused by an at-fault owner of an uninsured motor vehicle. 
UMPD will not pay if the vehicles did not touch. 

 

Medical Payments (Med Pay) 
Med Pay pays for reasonable medical expenses you and 
your passengers incur because of injury in an automobile 
accident, regardless of fault. If you purchase this optional 
coverage, there are different levels of limits available. 
Check your health insurance policy or contract to see if 
automobile accidents are covered.  If you are a labor 
union member or covered under a self-insured plan, your 
contract may specifically exclude benefits related to an 
automobile accident up to a certain dollar amount.  If you 
are covered under these plans, consult your benefits 
manager or certificate of coverage to determine what 
coverage you have.  
 

Comprehensive and collision insurance 
Comprehensive insurance protects you against damage to 
your own car from such perils as fire, theft, glass damage, 
hail, windstorm, flood, vandalism and other causes.  
Collision insurance pays for damages to your car when 
caused by collision with another vehicle or object. 
Collision insurance is typically purchased for late model 
vehicles and is often required by lenders as a condition to 
financing the vehicle.  
 

Rental Reimbursement  
This coverage pays expenses incurred for renting a car 
when your auto is rendered inoperative due to a covered 
loss. 
 

Towing and Labor 
This covers some costs incurred for services rendered at 
the place of breakdown or for towing to a repair shop.  It 
may cover tire changes and assisting you with unlocking 
your doors if you locked the keys in your automobile.   
 

Contact your insurance company or agent for additional 
options that may be available to you.  Some coverages 
vary or may not be offered.   
 

Tips for lowering your premium 
 

; Shop around using the information in this guide. 
; Maintain a good driving record. 
; Take the highest deductible you can afford on your 

comprehensive and collision coverage. 
; Before buying a vehicle, determine the cost of 

insuring it. 
; Ask your company or agent if you are eligible to 

reduce your premiums through discounts or by 
choosing optional coverages or benefits. Discounts 
may also be available, such as good student, driver 
training, multiple cars or multiple policies, compact 
car, anti-theft, air bags, and pleasure-use only. 
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Driver A Driver B Driver C Driver D
21-yr old male, single, principal operator, 21-yr old female, single, principal 35-yr old male, married, principal  68-yr old female, married, pleasure use
drives less than 10 miles to work each way, operator, drives less than 10 miles to operator, drives less than 15 miles to only, annual mileage less than 7,500 miles,

(Premiums for six months coverage on a no accidents or traffic convictions in three work each way, no accidents or traffic work each way, no accidents or traffic no accidents or traffic convictions in 
 2002 Ford Taurus LX 4-door sedan) years. convictions in three years. convictions in three years. three years.

Mkt  Grand Ft. Grand Ft. Grand Ft. Grand Ft.
Company Share 1 Denver Littleton Pueblo Juntion Collins Denver Littleton Pueblo Junction Collins Denver Littleton Pueblo Junction Collins Denver Littleton Pueblo Juntion Collins

AIU Ins Co 0.59% 1,283 1,073 1,237 1,000 953  1,041 875 1,010 816 780 722 611 706 558 541 567 478 553 435 422
Allied Prop & Casualty Ins Co 0.20% 1319 1112 1751 1006 956 969 817 1281 735 703 565 478 742 430 411 409 347 534 311 299
Amco Ins Co 0.24% 1,382 1,163 1,835 1,055 1,002  1,015 854 1,343 770 737 591 500 777 450 431 429 363 559 326 314
American Family Mutual Ins Co 7.62% 1,885 1,169 1,377 953 1,137 1,311 814 957 664 791 902 560 658 458 545 666 413 485 338 402
American National P & C Co2 0.92% 1,356 1,186 1,007 914 960 1,330 1,161 988 895 941 880 746 671 564 606 668 550 522 410 450
Amica Mutual Ins Co 0.47% 1,196 999 1,028 998 840 1,001 835 860 835 705 563 473 486 472 401 518 436 448 434 370
California Casualty Indemnity Exchange 0.35% 1,195 936 1,039 817 816 853 669 742 583 582 573 451 500 392 391 434 343 380 298 297
Colorado Farm Bureau Mutual Ins Co 0.99% 1,396 988 1,194 883 880 1,273 902 1,089 805 804 875 618 747 555 552 802 567 684 508 506
Country Mutual Ins Co 0.73% 1,309 959 1,084 906 792 1,109 813 919 767 671 804 590 666 556 487 743 546 616 514 450
Farmers Insurance Exchange3(b) 11.04% 2,050 1,477 1,381 1,300 1,181 1,891 1,350 1,267 1,184 1,081  877 624 586 559 502  659 468 441 423 378
Government Employees Ins Co 0.73% 1,313 946 1,100 941 891 949 680 785 669 640 624 451 521 446 446 431 313 361 309 295
National Farmers Union P & C Co 0.51% 1,673 1,284 1,477 1,182 1,200  1,341 1,030 1,184 948 963  887 681 783 627 637  721 554 637 510 518
Progressive Halcyon Ins Co 0.56% 1,416 925 1,200 883 879 1,057 703 908 664 666 626 426 543 402 405 618 430 541 403 408
Shelter Mutual Ins Co 0.19% 999 731 830 665 636 729 535 606 486 466 532 391 443 356 341 392 289 327 263 252
State Farm Mutual Auto Ins Co5 21.86% 1,234 965 1,091 843 889 992 776 877 677 714 733 574 648 500 527 531 417 470 362 382
United Services Automobile Assoc4 3.47% 1,087 897 930 757 757 840 694 720 588 588 543 452 468 386 385 434 363 376 311 311
USAA Casualty Ins Co4 2.76% 1,125 928 965 783 783 867 718 746 607 607 516 431 447 368 368 413 347 359 298 298
Median Premium 1,313 988 1,100 914 889 1,015 814 919 735 705 626 500 648 458 446 531 417 485 362 378

Allstate P & C Ins Co 0.74% 935 900 1010 847 742 734 703 791 656 579 502 474 541 441 390 395 368 421 341 303
Geico Indemnity Company 0.55% 1972 1404 1618 1395 1331 1434 1032 1192 1023 971 933 675 780 669 634 928 672 776 666 631
Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co 1.03% 1710 1365 1508 1254 1233 1283 1025 1130 941 925 823 658 724 603 593 697 558 613 511 502
Mid-Century Ins Co3(a) 3.64% 2135 1588 1459 1382 1316  2203 1579 1479 1372 1319 1258 901 842 789 754 1087 779 729 681 652
Progressive Halcyon Ins Co 0.33% 1592 1041 1351 997 992 1191 794 1024 751 754 765 520 663 492 496 732 510 640 481 486
Shelter Mutual Ins Co 0.64% 1454 1067 1211 974 926 1061 780 885 712 678 774 570 646 521 496 570 421 476 385 367
State Farm Fire & Casualty Co 1.74% 1347 1056 1191 921 970 1083 849 958 740 779 800 628 708 546 575 579 456 513 395 416
Median Premium 1,592 1,067 1,351 997 992 1,191 849 1,024 751 779 800 628 708 546 575 697 510 613 481 486

Allstate Indemnity Co 0.50% 1096 1092 1096 1003 922 807 804 808 730 678 615 612 615 556 517 637 635 639 570 534
American Bankers Ins Co Of FL 0.37% 1809 1273 1527 1183 1189 1487 1045 1254 971 977 1051 738 886 686 691 1036 728 874 677 680
American Standard Ins Co Of WI 3.00% 3033 1889 2209 1532 1828 2110 1315 1536 1067 1273 1452 906 1057 737 877 1072 669 780 545 648
Financial Indemnity Co 0.73% 2313 1375 1901 1362 1310 1874 1111 1543 1099 1059 1269 750 1046 735 712 1363 812 1137 782 760
Geico Casualty Co 0.72% 2143 1541 1769 1531 1447 1655 1199 1378 1187 1120 1221 891 1026 890 834 1182 863 993 859 806
Mendota Ins Co 0.80% 2899 1882 2078 1880 1884 2223 1444 1598 1441 1413  1556 1016 1125 1014 992 1461 952 1056 948 928
Titan Indemnity Co 0.69% 3394 2322 2736 2100 2160 2769 1865 2219 1685 1726 1964 1317 1566 1187 1211  1881 1233 1491 1112 1130
Median Premium 2,313 1,541 1,901 1,531 1,447 1,874 1,199 1,536 1,099 1,120 1,269 891 1,046 737 834 1,182 812 993 782 760
Notes:
(1)  Market share figures are the individual company's preferred, standard and non-standard programs written premium divided by the total direct written premium for all Colorado companies writing private passenger auto.
(2)  $200 deductible used.  Also, single car class factors were used for drivers A and B and multi-car class factors for drivers C and D.
(3)(a) Drivers A, B, C & D were quoted with a $200 Comprehensive deductible. (b) Drivers A & B were quoted with a $200 Comprehensive deductible. Drivers C & D were quoted with 30/60 BI/PD and UM, $240 Comprehensive and Collision deductible due to minimum requirements.
(4)  United Services Auto Assoc and USAA Casualty Ins Co coverage are generally available only to current, retired and former US military personnel and their dependents
(5)  New Business Discount applied.
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