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October 15, 2009 
 
 
Members of the Colorado General Assembly 
c/o the Office of Legislative Legal Services 
State Capitol Building 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
 
Dear Members of the General Assembly: 
 
The mission of the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) is consumer protection.  As a part 
of the Executive Director’s Office within DORA, the Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory 
Reform seeks to fulfill its statutorily mandated responsibility to conduct sunset reviews with a 
focus on protecting the health, safety and welfare of all Coloradans. 
 
DORA has completed the evaluation of the Colorado State Electrical Board. I am pleased to 
submit this written report, which will be the basis for my office's oral testimony before the 2010 
legislative committee of reference.  The report is submitted pursuant to section 24-34-104(8)(a), of 
the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which states in part: 
 

The department of regulatory agencies shall conduct an analysis of the performance 
of each division, board or agency or each function scheduled for termination under 
this section... 
 
The department of regulatory agencies shall submit a report and supporting 
materials to the office of legislative legal services no later than October 15 of the 
year preceding the date established for termination…. 

 
The report discusses the question of whether there is a need for the regulation provided under 
Article 23 of Title 12, C.R.S.  The report also discusses the effectiveness of the Board and staff in 
carrying out the intent of the statutes and makes recommendations for statutory and 
administrative changes in the event this regulatory program is continued by the General 
Assembly. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
D. Rico Munn 
Executive Director 

 



 

 

Bill Ritter, Jr. 
Governor 

 
D. Rico Munn 

Executive Director 

 
2009 Sunset Review: 
Colorado State Electrical Board 
 

Summary 
 
 
What Is Regulated? 
The Colorado State Electrical Board (Board) regulates the electrical profession by adopting the National 
Electrical Code (NEC) as the state code, licensing and registering electrical practitioners, and permitting 
and inspecting electrical installations where a regional inspection program does not exist. 
 
Why Is It Regulated?  
There is a built in hazard in using electricity; U.S. fire departments responded to an estimated 52,500 
home fires involving electrical failure or malfunction in 2006. These fires resulted in 340 civilian deaths, 
1,400 injuries, and $1.4 billion in direct property damage. Regulating electrical installations and installers 
reduces the likelihood of harm. 
 
Who Is Regulated?   
During fiscal year 07-08, the Board regulated 1,094 residential wiremen, 9,730 journeymen electricians, 
and 5,802 master electricians. It also registered 11,935 electrical apprentices and 3,476 electrical 
contractors. 
 
How Is It Regulated?  
The NEC is the foundation of electrical regulation in Colorado. Once the Board adopts the NEC as the 
state code, it is the standard applied to measure the qualifications of licensed professionals and it is the 
template applied by electrical inspectors examining electrical installations. 
 
What Does It Cost?   
From fiscal year 03-04 through 07-08, program expenditures averaged $3.8 million per fiscal year. 
 
What Disciplinary Activity Is There?   
Between fiscal years 03-04 and 07-08, the Board’s disciplinary activities included 328 total actions and 
177 fines, totaling $59,353. 
 
Where Do I Get the Full Report?   
The full sunset review can be found on the Internet at: www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm. 
 

 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm


 

 

Key Recommendations 
 
 
Continue the Electrical Practice Act for nine years, until 2019. 
Because of the extreme danger to the public from unqualified installers and faulty electrical installations, 
continuation of the Electrical Practice Act (Act) is vital. Deregulation of the electrical profession could 
result in a proliferation of electricity-related fires, injuries, and deaths. The Board, and the Board staff 
ensures that licensees are aware of and follow the most current code thereby protecting consumers’ 
health, safety, and welfare. 
 
 
Confer enforcement authority to the Board concerning regional compliance with state electrical 
code updates. 
The ultimate authority for regulating the electrical industry in Colorado lies with the Board. The Board 
licenses and disciplines licensees and is mandated by the Act to adopt minimum standards for performing 
electric related work using the NEC as its guide. 
 
While the Board is the clear oversight authority in these matters, the Act does not confer enforcement 
power to the Board over noncompliant, regional, permit and inspection jurisdictions. Therefore, no action 
can be taken when regional jurisdictions choose to ignore the mandates in the Act, disregard the will of 
the General Assembly, and provide less protection to the public it is obligated to protect. The General 
Assembly should give the Board power to act and protect the public. 
 
 
 

Major Contacts Made During This Review 
 

Colorado Attorney Generals Office 
Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council 

Colorado Counties Incorporated 
Colorado Division of Registrations 
Colorado State Electrical Board 

Colorado Municipal League 
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers 

International Code Council 
Jefferson County Division of Building Safety 
National Electrical Contractors Association 
Pikes Peak Regional Building Department 

Teller County Building Department 
 

 
 

What is a Sunset Review? 
A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine whether 
or not they should be continued by the legislature.  Sunset reviews focus on creating the least restrictive 
form of regulation consistent with protecting the public.  In formulating recommendations, sunset reviews 
consider the public's right to consistent, high quality professional or occupational services and the ability 
of businesses to exist and thrive in a competitive market, free from unnecessary regulation. 
 

Sunset Reviews are Prepared by: 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 

Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550, Denver, CO 80202 

www.dora.state.co.us/opr 
 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr
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BBaacckkggrroouunndd  
 

IInnttrroodduuccttiioonn

                                           

  
 
Enacted in 1976, Colorado’s sunset law was the first of its kind in the United States.  A 
sunset provision repeals all or part of a law after a specific date, unless the legislature 
affirmatively acts to extend it. During the sunset review process, the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies (DORA) conducts a thorough evaluation of such programs based 
upon specific statutory criteria1 and solicits diverse input from a broad spectrum of 
stakeholders including consumers, government agencies, public advocacy groups, and 
professional associations.    
 
Sunset reviews are based on the following statutory criteria: 
 

• Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public health, 
safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the initial regulation have 
changed; and whether other conditions have arisen which would warrant more, 
less or the same degree of regulation; 

• If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and regulations establish 
the least restrictive form of regulation consistent with the public interest, 
considering other available regulatory mechanisms and whether agency rules 
enhance the public interest and are within the scope of legislative intent; 

• Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its operation is 
impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules, procedures and practices and 
any other circumstances, including budgetary, resource and personnel matters; 

• Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency performs its 
statutory duties efficiently and effectively; 

• Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission adequately 
represents the public interest and whether the agency encourages public 
participation in its decisions rather than participation only by the people it 
regulates; 

• The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic information is not 
available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts competition; 

• Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures adequately protect 
the public and whether final dispositions of complaints are in the public interest or 
self-serving to the profession; 

• Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes to the 
optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry requirements encourage 
affirmative action; 

• Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to improve agency 
operations to enhance the public interest. 

 

 
1 Criteria may be found at § 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
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TTyyppeess  ooff  RReegguullaattiioonn  
 
Consistent, flexible, and fair regulatory oversight assures consumers, professionals and 
businesses an equitable playing field.  All Coloradans share a long-term, common 
interest in a fair marketplace where consumers are protected.  Regulation, if done 
appropriately, should protect consumers.  If consumers are not better protected and 
competition is hindered, then regulation may not be the answer. 
 
As regulatory programs relate to individual professionals, such programs typically entail 
the establishment of minimum standards for initial entry and continued participation in a 
given profession or occupation. This serves to protect the public from incompetent 
practitioners. Similarly, such programs provide a vehicle for limiting or removing from 
practice those practitioners deemed to have harmed the public.  
 
From a practitioner perspective, regulation can lead to increased prestige and higher 
income. Accordingly, regulatory programs are often championed by those who will be 
the subject of regulation.  
 
On the other hand, by erecting barriers to entry into a given profession or occupation, 
even when justified, regulation can serve to restrict the supply of practitioners. This not 
only limits consumer choice, but can also lead to an increase in the cost of services.  
 
Regulation, then, has many positive and potentially negative consequences.  
 
There are also several levels of regulation. 
 
Licensure 
 
Licensure is the most restrictive form of regulation, yet it provides the greatest level of 
public protection. Licensing programs typically involve the completion of a prescribed 
educational program (usually college level or higher) and the passage of an 
examination that is designed to measure a minimal level of competency. These types of 
programs usually entail title protection – only those individuals who are properly 
licensed may use a particular title(s) – and practice exclusivity – only those individuals 
who are properly licensed may engage in the particular practice. While these 
requirements can be viewed as barriers to entry, they also afford the highest level of 
consumer protection in that they ensure that only those who are deemed competent 
may practice and the public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used.  
 
Certification 
 
Certification programs offer a level of consumer protection similar to licensing programs, 
but the barriers to entry are generally lower. The required educational program may be 
more vocational in nature, but the required examination should still measure a minimal 
level of competency. Additionally, certification programs typically involve a non-
governmental entity that establishes the training requirements and owns and 
administers the examination. State certification is made conditional upon the individual 
practitioner obtaining and maintaining the relevant private credential. These types of 
programs also usually entail title protection and practice exclusivity.  



 
While the aforementioned requirements can still be viewed as barriers to entry, they 
afford a level of consumer protection that is lower than a licensing program. They 
ensure that only those who are deemed competent may practice and the public is 
alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used.  
 
Registration 
 
Registration programs can serve to protect the public with minimal barriers to entry. A 
typical registration program involves an individual satisfying certain prescribed 
requirements – typically non-practice related items, such as insurance or the use of a 
disclosure form – and the state, in turn, placing that individual on the pertinent registry. 
These types of programs can entail title protection and practice exclusivity. Since the 
barriers to entry in registration programs are relatively low, registration programs are 
generally best suited to those professions and occupations where the risk of public 
harm is relatively low, but nevertheless present. In short, registration programs serve to 
notify the state of which individuals are engaging in the relevant practice and to notify 
the public of those who may practice by the title(s) used.  
 
Title Protection 
 
Finally, title protection programs represent one of the lowest levels of regulation. Only 
those who satisfy certain prescribed requirements may use the relevant prescribed 
title(s). Practitioners need not register or otherwise notify the state that they are 
engaging in the relevant practice, and practice exclusivity does not attach. In other 
words, anyone may engage in the particular practice, but only those who satisfy the 
prescribed requirements may use the enumerated title(s). This serves to indirectly 
ensure a minimal level of competency – depending upon the prescribed preconditions 
for use of the protected title(s) – and the public is alerted to the qualifications of those 
who may use the particular title(s).  
 
Licensing, certification and registration programs also typically involve some kind of 
mechanism for removing individuals from practice when such individuals engage in 
enumerated proscribed activities. This is generally not the case with title protection 
programs.  
 
Regulation of Businesses 
 
Regulatory programs involving businesses are typically in place to enhance public 
safety, as with a salon or pharmacy.  These programs also help to ensure financial 
solvency and reliability of continued service for consumers, such as with a public utility, 
a bank or an insurance company. 
 
Activities can involve auditing of certain capital, bookkeeping and other recordkeeping 
requirements, such as filing quarterly financial statements with the regulator.  Other 
programs may require onsite examinations of financial records, safety features or 
service records.   
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Although these programs are intended to enhance public protection and reliability of 
service for consumers, costs of compliance are a factor.  These administrative costs, if 
too burdensome, may be passed on to consumers. 
 
 

SSuunnsseett  PPrroocceessss  
 
Regulatory programs scheduled for sunset review receive a comprehensive analysis.   
The review includes a thorough dialogue with agency officials, representatives of the 
regulated profession and other stakeholders.  To facilitate input from interested parties, 
anyone can submit input on any upcoming sunrise or sunset review via DORA’s website 
at: www.dora.state.co.us/pls/real/OPR_Review_Comments.Main.  
 
The regulatory functions of the Colorado State Electrical Board (Board) relating to 
Article 33 of Title 12, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), shall terminate on July 1, 
2010, unless continued by the General Assembly.  During the year prior to this date, it is 
the duty of DORA to conduct an analysis and evaluation of the Board pursuant to 
section 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
 
The purpose of this review is to determine whether the currently prescribed regulation of 
electricians and electrical installations should be continued for the protection of the 
public and to evaluate the performance of the Board and staff of the Division of 
Registrations (Division).  During this review, the Board and the Division must 
demonstrate that the regulation serves to protect the public health, safety or welfare, 
and that the regulation is the least restrictive regulation consistent with protecting the 
public. DORA’s findings and recommendations are submitted via this report to the 
legislative committee of reference of the Colorado General Assembly.   
 
 

MMeetthhooddoollooggyy  
 
As part of this review, DORA staff attended Board meetings; interviewed Division staff; 
reviewed Board records and minutes including complaint and disciplinary actions; 
interviewed Board members, officials with state and national professional associations, 
state electrical inspectors, and building officials from regional jurisdictions, observed 
field electrical inspections; reviewed Colorado statutes and Board rules; and reviewed 
the laws of other states. 
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PPrrooffiillee  ooff  tthhee  PPrrooffeessssiioonn

                                           

  
 
The National Electrical Code (NEC) is the foundation of electrical regulation in 
Colorado. The Colorado State Electrical Board (Board) adopts the NEC and uses it as 
the state electrical code. The code is the standard applied to measure the abilities of 
licensed professionals and it is the template applied by electrical inspectors examining 
electrical installations. 
 
The NEC is developed by the nonprofit National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA) 
and is updated every three years. The NEC updating process employs a five-step 
system that encourages input from interested parties.2 
 

1. Call for Proposals 
a. When the development process begins, public notice requests interested 

parties submit suggestions. 
 

2. Report on Proposals 
a. The Technical Committee discusses the suggestions and cannot report 

out any suggestion unless a consensus is reached. 
b. When consensus is reached, a report is issued for public review and 

comment. 
 

3. Report on Comments 
a. The Technical Committee meets to act on public comments concerning 

suggestions and cannot report out any suggestion unless a consensus is 
reached. 

b. When consensus is reached, a report with proposals is issued for public 
review. 

 

4. Action at the Technical Meeting 
a. NFPA membership meets in June of each year and discusses any 

proposals. The Technical Committee votes on any changes and 
amendments made at the meeting. 

 

5. Decision by the Standards Council 
a. Standards Council decides whether to adopt changes. 

 
Once the new NEC is adopted by the NFPA, the Board reviews it and decides whether 
to adopt it as the state code. When the Board approves the code, it becomes the 
standard for more than 16,500 licensed electricians, who execute more than 25,000 
electrical installations annually in Colorado.  
 

 
2 National Fire Prevention Association. How Codes and Standards are Developed. Retrieved May 19, 2009, from 
http://www.nfpa.org/categoryList.asp?categoryID=162&URL=Codes%20&%20Standards/Code%20development%20
process/How%20codes%20and%20standards%20are%20developed 
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There are roughly 25,000 people in Colorado employed at some level of the electrical 
profession as licensed practitioners, registered apprentices, and/or registered electrical 
contractors. To become one of the more than 16,500 licensed practitioners including: 
residential wiremen, journeymen electricians, or master electricians, one must 
demonstrate a combination of code knowledge, through examination, and proven 
practical ability, through on-the-job electrical experience, all of which is based on the 
code. The Board determines the specific qualifications for licensure and enforces 
industry and statutory norms through the Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division 
of Registrations. 
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LLeeggaall  FFrraammeewwoorrkk  
 

The General Assembly states in the Electrical Practice Act (Act) that the State Electrical 
Board (Board) is to be specifically involved in testing and licensing electricians, and the 
inspection of electrical installations where local jurisdictions do not perform them.3 
However, even where there is a local inspection authority, the Board is responsible for 
inspecting all installations at public schools.4  
 
The Board is a Governor-appointed, Senate-approved, nine-member, Type 1 board. It is 
made up of four electricians, two who are master electricians that are also contractors 
and two who are either master or journeyman electricians who are not contractors; two 
members who represent electrical utilities which render service to the public; one 
county- or municipality-employed building official; one active general contractor; and 
one member of the public at large.5 
 
The Board independently governs the electrician profession in Colorado. Though the 
Board’s functions and policies are administered and enforced by the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies’ (DORA), Division of Registrations (Division),6 because it is a Type 
1 board, statute grants it a large degree of autonomy. Section 105 of Title 24, Article 1, 
Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which authorized the placement of the Board into 
DORA reads, in part: 
 

(A type 1 board transfer) … shall exercise its prescribed statutory powers, 
duties, and functions, including rule-making, regulation, licensing, and 
registration, the promulgation of rules, rates, regulations, and standards, 
and the rendering of findings, orders, and adjudications, independently of 
the head of the principal department. 

 
The Act enumerates prescribed Board powers and duties, including: 
 

• Meet at least monthly;7 
• Adopt a state electrical code using the National Electrical Code as the minimum 

standard,8 and allow or disallow exemptions to the code;9 
• Adopt rules and regulations to enforce the Act and the code;10 
• Register apprentice electricians and qualified electrical contractors;11 
• License, through examination, endorsement, or reciprocity, master electricians, 

journeymen electricians, and residential wiremen;12 
• Establish fees for licenses, permits, and examinations;13 

                                            
3 § 12-23-100.2, C.R.S. 
4 § 12-23-116(7), C.R.S. 
5 § 12-23-102, C.R.S. 
6 § 12-23-103, C.R.S. 
7 § 12-23-104(1)(a), C.R.S. 
8 § 12-23-104(2)(a), C.R.S. 
9 § 12-23-104(2)(g), C.R.S. 
10 § 12-23-104(2)(a). C.R.S. 
11 § 12-23-104(2)(c), C.R.S. 
12 §§ 12-23-104(2)(c), 12-23-104(2)(j), and 12-23-109, C.R.S. 
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• Conduct hearings according to the provisions of the Act;14 and 
• Establish inspection fees in accordance with Act specifications15 and inspect 

electrical installations for code compliance.16 
 
Any staff, witness, consultant, or member of the Board, or complainant under the Act, is 
immune from civil and criminal liability under the Act, when acting in an official capacity 
and in good faith, on matters and concerns covered by the Act.17   
 
 

LLiicceennssiinngg

                                                                                                                                            

  
 
Prior to working as an electrician or referring to oneself as a master electrician, 
journeyman electrician, or residential wireman, one must be issued a license or a 
temporary permit by the Board.18 Practicing without a valid license is a Class 2 
misdemeanor for the first offense, and a Class 6 felony for any subsequent offense.19 A 
fee is charged for each examination and license category.20 When working as an 
electrician, every person must carry a license, permit, or registration with them.21 No 
political subdivision of state government may require a separate examination, 
certification, or license beyond what is required by the Act. However, a local 
government may require a free-of-charge registration for a contractor practicing within 
its jurisdiction.22 
 
To test for a master electrician’s license, a candidate must document:23 
 

• An electrical engineering degree from an accredited college or university and 
have one year of construction-related electrical experience; 

• An electrical trade school or community college degree and have four years of 
practical experience in electrical work; or 

• One year of practical experience in planning, laying out, supervising, and 
installing wiring, apparatus, or equipment for electrical light, heat, and power 
beyond the requirements for a journeymen’s license. 

 
To test for a journeyman electrician’s license, a candidate must document:24 four years, 
including two years commercial or industrial electrical work, as an apprentice electrician 
or four years of practical experience wiring, installing, and repairing electrical apparatus 
and equipment for light, heat, and power. 
 

 
13 § 12-23-112, C.R.S. 
14 §§ 12-23-104(2)(d), 12-23-104(2)(e), and 12-23-104(2)(h), C.R.S. 
15 § 12-23-117, C.R.S. 
16 § 12-23-104(2)(f), C.R.S. 
17 § 12-23-118.3, C.R.S. 
18 §§ 12-23-105 and 12-23-107, C.R.S. 
19 § 12-23-119, C.R.S. 
20 § 12-23-112, C.R.S. 
21 Colorado State Electrical Board Rules, 10.2. 
22 § 12-23-111(15), C.R.S. 
23 § 12-23-106(1), C.R.S. 
24 § 12-23-106(2), C.R.S. 
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A residential wireman candidate must document to the Board, two years of accredited 
training or two years practical experience wiring one-, two-, three-, and four-family 
dwellings.25 
 
The Act allows academic experience to substitute for the practical work experience 
requirements for both journeymen and residential wiremen candidates. A candidate with 
a degree in electrical engineering from an accredited college or university, or a graduate 
of an electrical trade school or community college shall be credited with one year of 
practical experience toward the license requirements. The Board is also directed by the 
Act, to credit substantially equivalent military training as a substitute for portions of the 
required practical work experience.26 
 
Electrical apprentices must be registered with the Board within 30 days of employment 
and the Board must be notified within 30 days of employment termination. An 
apprentice must work under the supervision of an electrical contractor and/or a licensed 
master electrician who is responsible for both Act and code compliance by the 
apprentice. One licensed supervisor may not supervise more than three apprentices at 
any given time on the jobsite.27 
 
The Board will issue a temporary working permit to a person who has met the 
requirements for a license examination, at that level of licensure for which the applicant 
will test. The permit is good only until the next examination is given and may be revoked 
at any time by the Board.28 Notwithstanding, a temporary permit is not valid for more 
than 30 days.29 
 
A license by endorsement is issued to an electrician licensed in another state with 
substantially equivalent licensing requirements, once the electrician proves he or she 
has met the Colorado requirements.30 
 
A Colorado journeyman’s license is issued to a license holder, in good standing, from 
another state but only if a reciprocal agreement exists between Colorado and the other 
state.31 
 

                                            
25 § 12-23-106(3)(a), C.R.S. 
26 §§ 12-23-106(2)(b) and 12-23-106(3)(b), C.R.S. 
27 § 12-23-110.5, C.R.S. 
28 § 12-23-110, C.R.S. 
29 Colorado State Electrical Board Rules, 4.1. 
30 § 12-23-109(1), C.R,S, 
31 § 12-23-109(2), C.R.S. and Reciprocol Agreement/Letter of Intent Regarding Journeyman Electrical Qualifications, 
May 9, 2000. 
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License Exemptions 
 
The Act includes several exemptions from the licensing requirements. Employees of 
electrical utilities, telephone, cable television, telegraph, and railroad entities are exempt 
from license requirements while carrying out work related to those businesses.32 
Property owners may perform electrical work on their own property or residence 
provided the work is permitted and inspected. However, no exemption applies to rental, 
lodging, or property intended for resale.33 Employees of any firm or corporation may 
work on property owned, leased, or rented by the firm or corporation, if the work is 
permitted and inspected according to the provisions of the Act.34 However, this 
exemption is not allowed if the firm or corporate owned property is rented to another 
party, is used for long or short-term lodging, or is open to the public. Routine 
maintenance, repair, or alteration of existing facilities is exempt from the licensing, 
permitting and inspection provisions of the statute. 35 
 
The Act also specifically delineates some narrow exemptions: 
 

• Electrical work performed in, around, or in conjunction with a mine covered by 
the Federal Mine Safety and Health Amendments Act of 1977; 

• Electrical systems in manufactured homes certified by the Division of Housing 
pursuant to section 24-34-715, C.R.S.; 

• Electrical installations under the exclusive control of an electric utility; 
• Low voltage installations, such as sprinkler systems, security systems, 

environmental controls, and sound systems; 
• The installation, maintenance, repair, and alteration of communication systems; 

and 
• Electrical work performed on federal property by federal employees. 

 
 

IInnssppeeccttiioonnss

                                           

  
 
All State electrical inspectors must be licensed journeyman or master electricians36 or, 
in some cases, have passed the residential wireman’s examination37 or hold a Board-
approved national certification and have two years practical inspection experience.38 
Local governments may perform inspections within their jurisdictions, provided the 
inspectors possess the same qualifications as state inspectors and are registered with 
the Board.39 
 

 
32 § 12-23-111(1), C.R.S. 
33 § 12-23-111(2), C.R.S. 
34 § 12-23-111(3), C.R.S. 
35 §§ 12-23-111(4) and 12-23-111(6), C.R.S. 
36 § 12-23-115(1)(a)(I), C.R.S. 
37 § 12-23-115(1)(a)(I)(A), C.R.S. 
38 § 12-23-115(1)(a)(I)(B), C.R.S. 
39 § 12-23-115(1)(b), C.R.S. 
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Regulated electrical work requires that a permit be issued by either the Board, through 
the electrical utility that provides service to the permit location, or a local building 
department when applicable.40 Permits are generally issued for one year but may be 
issued for up to three years.41 
 
The Act establishes several permit categories. Residential permits and the associated 
fees are determined by the square footage of the project.42 Nonresidential permit fees 
are based on the dollar value of the work.43 Local governments may not charge fees in 
excess of 15 percent of those established by the state.44 If electrical installations begin 
prior to filing a permit application, then the fee is doubled.45 
 
State inspectors must make inspections within three days of an application for 
inspection. If an inspection is not made within five working days from the date of the 
request, work may continue on the project without penalty from the Board.46 If an 
inspector finds that the installation is noncompliant, then a notice of disapproval, 
including needed corrective actions, must be sent to both the Board and the contractor 
within two days.47 If an inspector determines that the situation warrants it, he or she can 
order that all electrical service be discontinued until a situation is corrected. Any 
applicant may appeal a disapproval notice to the Board and a hearing must be granted 
within seven days.48 
 
Inspection Exemptions 
 
There are exemptions provided in the Act for installations performed under the exclusive 
control of electric utilities for generation, control, transformation, or distribution of electric 
energy49 and all buildings and facilities inside a fenced generating station, substation, 
control center, or communication facility.50 

 
Property used in, around, or in conjunction with any mine inspected pursuant to the 
Federal Mine Safety and Health Amendments Act of 1977 is not inspected or subject to 
the provisions of the Act.51 
 
Installations of systems that use the electricity supplied through the wiring from an 
inspected facility are exempt from inspection, i.e., the installation of sprinkler, sound, 
communications, alarm, or computer systems.52 
 

                                            
40 § 12-23-116(1), C.R.S. 
41 § 12-23-116(6), C.R.S. 
42 § 12-23-117(1)(a), C.R.S. 
43 § 12-23-117(1)(b), C.R.S. 
44 § 12-23-117(2), C.R.S. 
45 § 12-23-117(3), C.R.S. 
46 §§ 12-23-116(2) and 12-23-116(3), C.R.S. 
47 § 12-23-116(4), C.R.S. 
48 § 12-23-116(3), C.R.S. 
49 § 12-23-111(17))a), C.R.S. 
50 § 12-23-111(17)(b), C.R.S. 
51 §12-23-111(16), C.R.S. 
52 § 12-23-111(18-24), C.R.S. 
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DDiisscciipplliinnee  
 
The Board may deny, suspend, revoke, refuse to renew, any license or registration 
issued or applied for under the provisions of the Act, may place a licensee or registrant 
on probation, or may issue a letter of admonition or a written citation to a licensee, 
registrant, or applicant for licensure for any of the following reasons:53 
 

• Violating the Act, Board rules, any construction law enacted by a political 
subdivision, any labor law, any health law, any workers’ compensation law, or 
any Colorado or federal tax law; 

• Failing to adhere to occupational standards; 
• Misrepresenting oneself to the Board or the public: 
• Failing to adequately supervise employees according to the Act;  
• Being subject to disciplinary action in another jurisdiction for an action which is 

also a violation of Colorado legal provisions; and 
• Pleading guilty, nolo contendere, or being convicted of a felony. 

 
If the Board issues a citation to a licensee, the licensee may request a negotiated 
settlement, conducted under Board rules, or an administrative hearing to appeal the 
citation.54 
 
The Board must adopt a uniform fining schedule to be used in conjunction with, and in 
addition to the aforementioned disciplinary actions. The Act stipulates that first offenses 
are capped at $1,000, second offenses are capped at $2,000, and subsequent 
violations are capped at $2,000 per day that a violation occurs.55 Half of all fines 
collected under the Act are sent to the State Treasurer who credits the money to the 
General Fund and the Division sends the remaining funds to the local jurisdiction where 
the violation occurred.56 
 
If a license is revoked pursuant to the Act, the licensee may not apply for a new license 
for two years from the date of revocation.57 
 
All final actions and orders of the Board are subject to judicial review by the Court of 
Appeals.58 
 
 

BBooaarrdd  RRuulleess

                                           

  
` 
Pursuant to section 104(1)(a), of the Act, the Board generates rules necessary for the 
Division to administer the Act. The rules delineate standards for installation, by adopting 
the 2008 edition of the National Electrical Code. The Board rules also address the 
management of license applications and examinations, temporary work permits, and the 
enforcement and adjudication systems written in the statute. 

 
53 § 12-23-118(1), C.R.S. 
54 § 12-23-118(4), C.R.S. 
55 § 12-23-118(5), C.R.S. 
56 § 12-23-118(7)(a), C.R.S. 
57 § 12-23-118.1, C.R.S. 
58 § 12-23-120, C.R.S. 
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PPrrooggrraamm  DDeessccrriippttiioonn  aanndd  AAddmmiinniissttrraattiioonn  
 
The State Electrical Board (Board) is a Governor-appointed, Senate-approved, nine-
member, Type 1 board charged with the implementation of the Electrical Practice Act 
(Act). It is made up of four electricians, two who are master electricians that are also 
contractors and two who are either master or journeyman electricians who are not 
contractors; two members who represent electrical utilities which render service to the 
public; one county- or municipality-employed building official; one active general 
contractor; and one member of the public at large.59 The Board independently governs 
the electrical profession in Colorado. The Board adopts and uses the National Electrical 
Code as its standard for licensing and installations. 
 
The Act requires the Board to meet monthly. To fulfill the statutory requirement, Board 
meetings are face-to-face every other month and by conference call every other month. 
All Board proceedings, with the exception of licensee discipline discussions, are open to 
the public. The Colorado Attorney General’s office has determined disciplinary 
discussions to be a matter of attorney-client privilege and are held in a closed executive 
session. However, all actions taken by the Board as a result of the discussions must be 
taken in an open session. 
 
The program is cash funded. Its full-time equivalent (FTE) employees and expenditures 
vary only slightly from year to year. Average annual expenditures increased 
approximately 2.6 percent per year over the sunset review period. However, there was 
a decrease from fiscal year 05-06 to 06-07, which corresponds with a decrease in the 
number of licenses issued. Of the roughly 35 FTE utilized by the program annually, 
approximately 30 are allocated to inspector positions throughout Colorado and the 
remaining positions are allocated to the support staff such as the Program Director, 
Chief Inspector, Enforcement Unit Supervisor, two program assistants, and other 
administrative personnel. 
 

Table 1 
Electrical Board 

Fiscal Information60 
 

Fiscal Year Total Program Expenditure  FTE 
03-04 $3,703,579 35.5 
04-05 $3,712,446 35.5 
05-06 $3,994,290 37.0 
06-07 $3,984,206 34.2 
07-08 $4,178,684 34.6 

                                            
59 § 12-23-102, C.R.S. 
60 FTE in Table 1 does not include staffing in the centralized offices of the Division.  Centralized offices include the 
Director’s Office, Office of Investigations, Office of Expedited Settlement, Office of Examination Services, Office of 
Licensing, and Office of Support Services.  However, the cost of those FTE is reflected in the Total Program 
Expenditures.  The Board pays for those FTE through a cost allocation methodology developed by the Division and 
the Executive Director’s Office of the Department. 
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Act implementation is concentrated into two areas: the licensing and registration of 
electrical tradespersons and contractors, and the permitting and inspecting of electrical 
installations. Though there is overlap in administering the concentrations, the majority of 
the Board’s time is spent on issues surrounding the licensing, registering, and/or 
disciplining of individual electricians and electrical contractors, while the Board staff, 
employed by the Department of Regulatory Agencies’, Division of Registrations 
(Division), acts as the administrative arm of the Board, expends the majority of its 
manpower and time on installation inspections. Analysis of Board revenues during fiscal 
year 07-08, further illustrates the distribution of labor: 88 percent of revenues came from 
inspection fees while licensing fees accounted for 12 percent of the money brought in to 
the Board.61 
 
 

LLiicceennssiinngg  
 
Application 
 
An application for license or registration may be obtained at the Division office or on the 
Board website. Once completed, it must be returned to the Division’s Office of Licensing 
with the application fee. Currently the fee for a master electrician, journeyman 
electrician, or a residential wireman license is $20, the fee for an apprentice registration 
is $10, and a contractor’s registration is $30. The application and all supporting 
documentation is kept on file for one year from date of receipt. If the application process 
is not completed during that year, all information is purged and a new application, fee, 
and required information must be submitted before a license is issued.62  
 
If a license applicant wishes to work as an electrician prior to obtaining a license, he or 
she must request a temporary work permit when applying for a license. Only one 
temporary work permit can be issued per applicant and only at the time of original 
application. Temporary work permits are good up to 30 days. If, for any reason, an 
applicant fails to qualify for licensing, the applicant must cease and desist from working 
at the level of licensure granted by the temporary permit until passing the appropriate 
exam. If the applicant is not licensed in another category and wishes to work, the 
applicant must register as an apprentice and work with supervision.  
 

                                            
61 Department of Regulatory Agencies, Electrical Board, Retrieved December 16, 2008, from 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/about.htm#funding  
62 Colorado Division of Registrations, Application for Original License by Examination. Retrieved January 16, 2009, 
from http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/forms/ELECoriginal.pdf 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/requirements.htm#app#app
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/about.htm#funding
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Examination 
 
The electrical licensing examination is administered by Pearson Vue, a private testing 
agency, for qualified applicants who wish to obtain a residential wireman, journeyman, 
or master electrician license. Once an application has been approved, the applicant is 
provided information needed to acquire a candidate handbook which explains the 
required fee and advises how to schedule the examination. The examinations are 
offered several times every month in the various sites around the state including: 
Colorado Springs, Denver, Durango, Grand Junction, Greeley, Pueblo, and Wheat 
Ridge.63 A $76 examination fee is charged at the time the applicant registers for the 
examination and it covers the cost of the license, if the applicant passes the 
examination.64 
 
Table 2 outlines the number of examinations administered and the percentage of 
examinations passed by each license category during the sunset review period. 
Considering the entire timeframe, fiscal years 03-04 through 07-08, the overall pass rate 
for all license categories is approximately four of every ten candidates, 42 percent. The 
passing percentages for journeymen and master electricians are slightly higher, 
approximately 45 percent, while residential wiremen have a rate of only 36 percent. 
These numbers indicate that the examination is rigorous but that more experience 
positively correlates to better performance. 
 

Table 2 
Electrician Examinations 

Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08b 
 

Fiscal Year Number of Examinations Pass Rate 

03-04 
Residential Wireman – 331  
Journeyman  – 869 
Master- 457 

37% 
60% 
35% 

04-05 
Residential Wireman – 341  
Journeyman – 1144 
Master – 636 

41% 
56% 
45% 

05-06 
Residential Wireman – 332 
Journeyman – 978 
Master – 465 

30% 
34% 
50% 

06-07 
Residential Wireman – 254  
Journeyman – 1,151 
Master – 435 

34% 
34% 
51% 

07-08 
Residential Wireman – 334  
Journeyman – 1,309 
Master – 486 

36% 
33% 
51% 

 
                                            
63 Ibid. 
64 The examination fee was $74 dollars prior to March 2005. 
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There are different license requirements depending for which grade license an applicant 
applies. 65 

After December 31, 2005, the Board began mandating an Affidavit of Experience form, 
instead of work verification letters on company letterhead for all license types. No other 
format is accepted by the Board to document workplace experience. 

Residential Wireman  
 
A candidate must provide verification of two years of electrical construction wiring 
experience, for lights, heat, and power of one, two, three, and four family dwellings. 
Below, Table 3 outlines the residential wireman licensing activity during the review 
period. During the review period, there was an annual average of 1,061 active, licensed 
residential wiremen in Colorado with approximately an 80 percent renewal rate. 
 

Table 3 
Residential Wireman Licensure 
Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 

 
Fiscal Year Exam Endorsement Reinstatement Renewal Total 

03-04 123 0 21 0 1,128 

04-05 141 1 9 913 1,006 

05-06 97 0 21 0 1,123 

06-07 86 1 7 889 955 

07-08 120 1 16 0 1,094 
*Concerning the tables included in this licensing section of the sunset review, the figures for the various types of 
license acquisition do not equal the figures in the “total” column due to a number of circumstances, including 
computer system anomalies.  Many of these anomalies can be attributed to the date on which various reports 
are pulled, as well as when data is entered into the system. 

 
Journeyman Electrician 
 
A candidate must provide verification of four years electrical construction wiring 
experience for lights, heat, and power. At minimum, two years of that experience must 
be commercial and/or industrial work. Verification of experience must differentiate 
between the percentage of time spent installing commercial/industrial wiring and the 
percentage of time spent installing residential wiring. Table 4 depicts the licensing 
activity for journeymen during the review period. During that time, there was an annual 
average of 9,440 journeymen licensed and the renewal rate was approximately 90 
percent. 
 

                                            
65 DORA, Electrical Board Licensing Requirements. Retrieved January 16, 2009, from 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/requirements.htm 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/forms/ELECaffidavit_exp.pdf


 
Table 4 

Journeyman Electrician Licensure 
Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 

 

Fiscal Year Exam Endorsement / 
Reciprocity Reinstatement Renewal Total 

Active 
03-04 526 7 / 62 101 0 9,448 

04-05 646 11 / 85 64 8,703 9,245 
05-06 324 5 / 86 96 0 9,748 

06-07 382 6 / 77 38 8,678 9,028 

07-08 423 17 / 131 119 0 9,730 
 
Master Electrician 
 
A candidate must provide verification of five years of electrical experience; four years of 
that time must be electrical construction wiring for lights, heat, and power. At minimum, 
two years of that experience must be commercial and/or industrial work. One additional 
year must be in planning, laying-out, supervising, and installing wiring, apparatus, and 
equipment for electrical light, heat, and power. 
 
A master electrician applicant, who holds a Colorado journeyman electrician's license, is 
required to provide verification of one full year of planning and lay-out experience, in 
addition to the time previously verified. Table 5 depicts the licensing activity for master 
electricians during the review period. During that time, there was an annual average of 
5,466 active masters’ licenses and those licensees renewed at approximately a 95 
percent rate. 
 

Table 5 
Master Electrician Licensure 

Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 
 

Fiscal Year Exam Endorsement Reinstatement Renewal Total 

03-04 204 13 63 0 5,231 

04-05 288 17 35 5,024 5,270 

05-06 224 24 38 0 5,558 

06-07 218 37 32 5,257 5,471 

07-08 243 33 54 0 5,802 
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License by Endorsement or Reciprocity 
 
Colorado has reciprocal licensing agreements, for journeymen only, with Alaska, 
Arkansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North 
Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming. If a candidate wishes to obtain 
a license via reciprocity, he or she must submit an application, a $30 fee, and a copy of 
the state-issued license used to qualify under the reciprocal agreement.66 Unlike the 
endorsement process, the license is issued without further documentation based solely 
on the strength of a license in good standing and the reciprocal agreement. 
 

If a person wishes to get a residential wiremen, journeyman, or master electrician 
license by endorsement, he or she must pay a $20 fee and be able to document the 
following: 67 
 

• A current license issued by another state; 
• A passing grade on an examination based on the current, or immediately 

previous, edition of the National Electrical Code in effect in Colorado at the time 
of application; 

• The completion of the required years and type of experience for the comparable 
license or completion of a state or federally approved apprenticeship program; 
and 

• A record of experience and work history on an Affidavit of Experience form. 
 
Renewals 

Licenses are renewed during odd numbered years regardless of when they are issued. 
During the sunset review examination period, fiscal years 03-04 through 07-08, an 
average of 15,967 electrical practitioners held a license annually. During that time, more 
than 90 percent of the active licenses were renewed. 

Registration 

The Act requires that two classes of electrical professionals be registered with the 
Board: apprentice electricians and electrical contractors.68 

In Colorado, an individual employed in the electrical trade as an apprentice must be 
registered as an apprentice until obtaining a journeyman electrician's license. Though 
licensed, a residential wireman must also be registered as an apprentice if he or she 
chooses to work on nonresidential jobs. If an electrician fails to register as an apprentice 
as provided in the Act, the failure may result in disallowance of work experience.69 An 
employing electrical contractor is responsible for notifying the Division of an apprentice’s 
employment status within 30 days of both the hiring and the termination.70 
                                            
66 ibid. 
67 Division of Registrations, Application for License by Endorsement or Reciprocity-Electrician. Retrieved January 20, 
2009, from http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/forms/ELECendorsement.pdf 
68 §§ 12-23-104(2)(c), 12-23-110.5(3)(a), and 12-23-106(5)(a), C.R.S. 
69 DORA, Electrical Board Licensing Requirements. Retrieved January 16, 2009, from 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/requirements.htm 
70 DORA, Electrical Board Apprentice Information. Retrieved January 20, 2009, from 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/apprentice.htm 
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Table 6 depicts the apprentice registration activity during the review period. During the 
first three fiscal years of the review period, fiscal year 03-04 through 05-06, the average 
number of electrical apprentices working in Colorado was 15,955. However, that 
number decreased to an annual average of 12,399, representing a decline of more than 
22 percent, during the final two years of the review, fiscal years 06-07 and 07-08. The 
Board staff attributes the decline, in part, to a reporting system policy change. Currently, 
an employing contractor is responsible for reporting on-line. The new reporting system 
updates and terminates non-working apprentices often, so the actual number of 
practicing apprentices may not have dropped as radically as the data imply. Other 
possible explanations are a drop in the number of construction projects across Colorado 
and laws requiring U.S. residency for tradespeople. 
 

Table 6 
Electrical Apprentice Registration 
Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 

 
Fiscal Year Original Total 

03-04 1,681 15,939 
04-05 2,026 16,541 
05-06 2,519 15,386 
06-07 2,243 12,862 
07-08 2,029 11,935 

 
Becoming a registered electrical contractor, calls for a completed Colorado Electrical 
Contractor’s application, payment of the registration fee, and meeting the following 
criteria:71 
 

• Be, or employ, a Colorado licensed master electrician who is a full-time 
employee and is the responsible party for all electrical work performed by the 
company. The designated master electrician must sign an Acknowledgment of 
Responsibility form and may be the responsible party for only one company at a 
time; 

• Submit evidence of compliance with the workers’ compensation and 
unemployment compensation laws; and 

• Obtain an authority to conduct business in the State of Colorado from the 
Colorado Secretary of State's office if the applicant is not a Colorado-based 
corporation. Limited liability companies and partnerships must also contact the 
Secretary of State’s office. 

 
A contractor’s application is good for one year from date of receipt. After that time, if all 
supporting documentation required to complete an application is not received, the file is 
purged. Subsequently, an applicant must resubmit a new application packet and fee if 
he or she desires to become a registered contractor.72 
                                            
71 Colorado Division of Registrations, Application for Original License-Electrical Contractor. Retrieved January 20, 
2009, from http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/ec/ECapplication.pdf 
72 ibid. 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/ec/ECmaster.pdf
http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/ec/ECmaster.pdf
http://www.sos.state.co.us/pubs/business/main.htm
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There is also a registration expiration grace period for new applicants. If an applicant is 
issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date, he or she will 
be issued a license with the subsequent expiration date. For example, licenses issued 
between November 1, 2008 and February 28, 2009 reflected a license expiration date of 
February 28, 2011. Licenses issued prior to November 1, 2008 reflected an expiration 
date of February 28, 200973 and must renew during the upcoming renewal period.74 
 
Table 7 below, shows contractor registration activity during the sunset review period. 
The average number of electrical contractors registered to work in Colorado was 3,304. 
The renewal rate in fiscal year 04-05 was 90 percent falling to 81 percent in fiscal year 
06-07. 
 
 

Table 7 
Electrical Contractor Registration 
Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 

 
Fiscal Year Original Reinstatement Renewal Total 

03-04 278 69 0 3,276 
04-05 296 56 2,934 3,182 
05-06 257 65 0 3,453 
06-07 242 98 2,886 3,133 
07-08 256 100 0 3,476 

 
 

IInnssppeeccttiioonnss

                                           

  
 
Electrical installation inspections are performed by Board staff in areas that do not have 
a regionally-based permit and inspection program. The majority of Colorado counties 
have at least some geographical portion under the jurisdiction of the state inspection 
program. The exceptions to this general rule are: Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Denver, 
Douglas, Eagle, El Paso, Jefferson, Mesa, Pitkin, Pueblo, Routt, Summit, Teller, and 
Weld. However, even in these counties, the state program is responsible for the 
installation inspections in all public schools. 
 

 
73 All Electrical Contractor licenses expire on February 28 in odd numbered years and must be renewed to continue 
practicing. 
74 Colorado Division of Registrations, Application for Original License-Electrical Contractor. Retrieved January 20, 
2009, from http://www.dora.state.co.us/electrical/ec/ECapplication.pdf 



 
All public school electrical installations throughout the state are permitted and inspected 
by the state program, regardless of the presence of a regional program. However, 
permits, as issued in most cases, do not distinguish between schools and any other 
kind of project. Because they are not tracked separately, the number of public school-
related permits and inspections can only be estimated. Conservative estimates show 
that there was an average of 738 permits, requiring 2,319 inspections from fiscal year 
03-04 through 07-08. However, the number steadily increased during that period and 
the estimates for fiscal year 07-08 were 1,046 permits and 3,363 inspections. 
 
Table 8, below, delineates the total number of permits, of all kinds, issued and 
inspections performed by the state inspection program during the sunset review period. 

 
Table 8 

Permits and Inspections 
Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 

 
Fiscal Year Number of Inspections Number of Permits 

03-04 43,661 24,555 
04-05 46,257 25,662 
05-06 49,215 27,056 
06-07 48,680 26,190 
07-08 46,973 24,779 

TOTAL 234,786 128,242 
 
Regional jurisdictions may opt in or out of the state inspection program for a variety of 
reasons. According to Board staff, there are no definitive reasons that explain when or 
why a change is made, but generally changes are couched in manpower/workload 
issues. The following table shows the local jurisdictions changing the locus of inspection 
authority from calendar years 2005 through the beginning of 2009. One entire county, 
Lake, was added to the state permit and inspection program. The remaining 
jurisdictions are smaller political subdivisions that chose to be removed from the state 
program in favor of local permit and inspection programs. 
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Table 9 
Electrical Board  

Jurisdictional Inspection Changes 
 

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
Jurisdiction 

Added Removed Added Removed Added Removed Added Removed Added Removed 

Red Cliff      x     

Elizabeth         x   

Idaho Springs        x   

Lake County          x  

Fraser          x 

Granby           x 

Winter Park          x 

 
Regardless of which jurisdiction performs an inspection, the state code, as adopted by 
the Board, is supposed to be the minimum standard used to inspect installations,75 
every inspector in Colorado must have the same qualifications as the state inspectors, 
and every inspector must be registered with the Board.76 Once registered, an 
inspector’s registration form is filed with the Board and no effort is made to find out if an 
inspector is actively employed. The form is kept in case an inquiry concerning an 
inspector’s qualifications comes to the Board. 
 
 

CCoommppllaaiinnttss//DDiisscciipplliinnaarryy  AAccttiioonnss

                                           

  
 
Complaints come into the Board from several sources: other licensed professionals, 
local or state inspectors, and consumers. 
 
Table 10 shows the number and type of complaints filed with the Board during the 
review period. The overwhelming majority of the complaints involve practicing without a 
license or not performing electrical work up to the expected standards. The spike in the 
number of felony conviction complaints during fiscal year 06-07 is due to a change in 
Division practices recommended by a Colorado State Auditor’s report. That report 
advocated increased monitoring of felons by the Board. 
 

 
75 §§ 12-23-104(2)(a), and 12-23-116(2), C.R.S. 
76 § 12-23-115(1)(b), C.R.S. 



 
Table 10 

Complaint Information 
Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 

 
Nature of Complaints FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 FY 06-07 FY 07-08

Practicing w/o a License 31 44 67 54 49 

Standard of Practice 40 73 52 76 50 

Fee Dispute 0 0 0 0 0 

Scope of Practice 1 1 0 0 2 

Sexual Misconduct 0 0 0 0 0 

Substance Abuse 0 0 0 0 0 

Theft 0 0 0 0 0 

Felony Conviction 0 1 12 41 51 

License Application Fraud 1 0 0 2 2 

TOTAL 73 119 131 173 154 
 
Though there is variation, as Chart 1 on page 24 illustrates, complaints follow the same 
general path(s). After receiving a complaint, the Board sends a packet to the licensee 
complained against, with the evidence presented by the complainant, and instructions 
on how to respond and proceed. In rare cases that are deemed threatening, or if the 
complaint is filed against a habitual offender, the Board will send a complaint directly to 
the Division’s Office of Investigations (OI) for closer scrutiny. In most cases, following a 
reply made within 30 days, the complaint is sent to the Board for review at its monthly 
meeting. The Board first chooses whether to pursue the issue. If the Board deems that 
other action is warranted, it has several options to choose from: dismiss the charge and 
issue a confidential letter of concern (LOC); issue a letter of admonition (LOA) or a 
citation, which the licensee may choose to accept, ending the process, or contest in a 
hearing; direct staff to pursue a recommended disciplinary action, or refer the complaint 
to the OI for further inquiry. 
 
The cases the Board directs staff to pursue generally have Board-recommended 
disciplinary action attached, i.e., LOA, fine, probation, suspension, or revocation. 
Subsequently, depending on the gravity of the situation and the nature of the 
recommendation, the Board may forward the issue to the Attorney General’s Office 
(AGO), for prosecution. Still, most every issue goes to the Division’s Office of Expedited 
Settlement (ESP), which will confer with the licensee to resolve the issue with a 
stipulated settlement, i.e., disciplinary agreement. A stipulated settlement may contain 
one or more of the disciplinary actions available to the Board such as a probationary 
period, a fine, a practice limitation, or an LOA. If ESP and the licensee cannot come to a 
stipulated settlement, the issue is then forwarded to the AGO for prosecution. 
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When a complaint is sent to OI, it will include a comment from the Board, to facilitate the 
investigation. The comment explains why the case is being sent and a direction opining 
as to what it expects OI will find. Upon completion of the investigation, OI returns the 
case file to the Board with its findings. The Board decides to either dismiss or 
commence the disciplinary process through ESP, as noted above. 
 

Chart 1 
Electrical Board 

Disciplinary Action 
Flow Chart 
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Board

Board refers to ESP 

ESP negotiates with Board and 
Licensee 

No more Action 
 

Refer ESP 

Refers to AGO 

Dismissal 

 
Table 11 outlines the actions available to the Board to discipline licensees and the 
number of occurrences for each during the review period. During fiscal year 06-07, the 
number of revocations/surrenders/voluntary relinquishments, letters of admonition, and 
total disciplinary actions all had dramatic increases. These increases are attributable to 
the State Auditor’s report calling for closer scrutiny of convicted felons. 
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Table 11 
Final Agency Actions 

Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 
 

Type of Action FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 FY 06-07 FY 07-08 
Revocation / Surrender / 
Voluntary Relinquishment 

0 0 0 13 4 

Suspension 0 0 0 0 1 
Probation / Practice Limitation 6 13 22 33 43 
Letter of Admonition 0 10 7 23 13 
License Denied 0 0 0 0 0 

Citation with Fine 24 21 22 23 21 

Other  0 1 
Agreement 0 

7 
Cease & 
Desist 

1 Injunction 

21 
Cease & 
Desist 

TOTAL DISCIPLINARY 
ACTIONS 

30 45 51 99 103 

Dismissals 45  73 75 61 39 
Letter of Concern 0 1 3 9 5 
TOTAL DISMISSALS 45 74 78 70 44 
 
The Act demands that the Board develop a uniform schedule for fines.77 Table 12 lists 
the amounts available to be charged for each statutory violation. 
 

                                            
77 § 12-23-118(5)(a), C.R.S. 



 
Table 12 

Board Fines Schedule 
Effective 8-1-2008 

 
Offense 

Violation Colorado Revised 
Statute Citation 1st 2nd 3rd 

Failure of a journeyman to be licensed 
while engaging in electrical work  § 12-23-105 (1) $225 $600 Up to $2,000 

per day 
Failure of a master electrician to be 
licensed while engaging in electrical 
work  

§ 12-23-105 (1) $300 $600 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Failure of a residential wireman to be 
licensed while engaging in electrical 
work  

§ 12-23-105 (1) $150 $375 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Failure of an electrical contractor to 
register apprentice  § 12-23-110.5 (3) $225 $600 Up to $2,000 

per day 
Failure of an apprentice to work under 
the supervision of a licensed electrician § 12-23-110.5 (1) $50 $200 Up to $2,000 

per day 
Employment by an electrical contractor 
of unlicensed persons doing electrical 
work  

§ 12-23-118 (1)(k) $300 $600 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Failure of an electrical contractor to 
register  § 12-23-106 (5)(a) $750 $1,500 Up to $2,000 

per day 

Failure to supervise an apprentice  § 12-23-110.5 (1), (3)(b) 
§ 12-23-118 (1)(j) $375 $600 Up to $2,000 

per day 
Failure of an electrical contractor to 
maintain a supervisory ratio of one 
licensed electrician to three 
apprentices  

§ 12-23-110.5 (1) $375 $600 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Performing electrical work beyond the 
authorization of the electrical license or 
registration  

§ 12-23-105 (1) $375 $750 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Failure to obtain a permit and/or failure 
to obtain an inspection  § 12-23-116 $375 $900 Up to $2,000 

per day 
Failure to correct electrical code 
violations within a reasonable time (30 
days)  

§ 12-23-116 $450 $900 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Providing false or misleading 
advertising  § 12-23-118 (1)(h) $375 $750 Up to $2,000 

per day 
Deception, misrepresentation or fraud 
in obtaining or attempting to obtain a 
license (includes loaning a license)  

§ 12-23-118 (1)(i) $1,000 $2,000 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Failure to comply with other state or 
federal law (safety, health, insurance, 
tax)  

§ 12-23-118 (1)(p) $375 $750 Up to $2,000 
per day 

Other violations of the state electrical 
statute  § 12-23-118 (1) Up to 

$1,000 
Up to 

$2,000 
Up to $2,000 

per day 
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Table 13 shows the number of fines actually collected pursuant to the Act versus the 
total number of fines issued in Table 11. The reduction from the previous quantity is 
attributable to stipulated agreements negotiated between the Board and the offender. 
 

Table 13 
Fines Collected 

Fiscal Year 03-04 through 07-08 
 

Fiscal Year Number of Fines Collected Total Value of Fines Collected 
03-04 26 $10,358 
04-05 43 $10,418 
05-06 36 $12,028 
06-07 38 $11,700 
07-08 34 $14,850 
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AAnnaallyyssiiss  aanndd  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonnss  
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––  CCoonnttiinnuuee  tthhee  EElleeccttrriiccaall  PPrraaccttiiccee  AAcctt  nniinnee  yyeeaarrss,,  uunnttiill  22001199..  
 
Fire departments across the U.S. responded to an estimated 52,500 U.S. home fires 
involving electrical failure or malfunction in 2006. These fires resulted in 340 civilian 
deaths, 1,400 injuries, and $1.4 billion in direct property damage.78 The National 
Electrical Code (NEC) is the most widely adopted safety code in the world. The charge 
of the NEC is to provide practical safeguards from the hazards of using electricity79 by 
adopting standards for electrical system installation. 
 
The Electrical Practice Act (Act), directs the State Electrical Board (Board) to adopt the 
NEC as the state electrical code,80 be specifically involved in the testing and licensing of 
electricians, and provide for inspections of electrical installations where local inspection 
authorities are not providing such service.81 The Board is also responsible for policing 
the profession.82 
 
Because of the extreme danger to the public from unqualified installers and faulty 
electrical installations, continuation of the Act is vital. Deregulation of the electrical 
profession could result in a proliferation of electricity-related fires, injuries, and deaths. 
The Board and its staff ensure that licensees are aware of and follow the most current 
code, thereby protecting consumers’ health, safety, and welfare. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  22  ––  CCoonnffeerr  eennffoorrcceemmeenntt  aauutthhoorriittyy  ttoo  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  ccoonncceerrnniinngg  
rreeggiioonnaall  ccoommpplliiaannccee  wwiitthh  ssttaattee  eelleeccttrriiccaall  ccooddee  uuppddaatteess..

                                           

  
 
During the course of this sunset review, research uncovered multiple regional permit 
and inspection jurisdictions that had not adopted the state electrical code as the 
minimum standard for their programs as they are required by statute to do. There are 
several problems associated with this inaction; the regional jurisdictions are clearly 
defying the directives of the General Assembly laid out in the Act, but most importantly, 
the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens who live in those jurisdictions is 
compromised. 
 

 
78 National Fire Protection Association, Electrical Safety. Retrieved July 31, 2009, from 
http://www.nfpa.org/categoryList.asp?categoryID=1201&URL=Research%20&%20Rep%85&cookie%5Ftest=1 
79 National Fire Protection Association, Fact Sheet: Tamper-Resistant Receptacles. 
80 § 12-23-104(2)(a), C.R.S. 
81 § 12-23-100.2, C.R.S. 
82 § 12-23-118, C.R.S. 
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In adopting the Act, the General Assembly was unambiguous in expressing that the 
ultimate authority for regulating the electrical industry in Colorado lies with the Board. 
The Board licenses and disciplines licensees and is mandated by the Act to adopt 
minimum standards for performing electric-related work using the NEC as its guide. If a 
regional jurisdiction chooses to provide its own permitting and inspection program it may 
use a stricter code than the state code, but must use, at minimum, the standards in the 
state code. The Board powers and duties section of the Act reads, in part: 83 
 

Adopt, and from time to time revise, such rules and regulations not 
inconsistent with the law as may be necessary to enable it to carry into 
effect the provisions of this article. In adopting such rules and regulations, 
the board shall be governed when appropriate by the standards in the 
most current edition of the national electrical code or by any modifications 
to such standards made by the board after a hearing is held pursuant to 
the provisions of article 4 of title 24, C.R.S. These standards are adopted 
as the minimum standards governing the planning, laying out, and 
installing or the making of additions, alterations, and repairs in the 
installation of wiring apparatus and equipment for electric light, heat, and 
power in this state. A copy of such code shall be kept in the office of the 
board and open to public inspection. Nothing contained in this section 
shall prohibit any city, town, county, or city and county from making and 
enforcing any such standards that are more stringent than the minimum 
standards adopted by the board, and any city, town, county, or city and 
county which adopts such more stringent standards shall furnish a copy 
thereof to the board. The standards adopted by the board shall be prima 
facie evidence of minimum approved methods of construction for safety to 
life and property. 
 

This section of the Act is quite clear that the state code is the minimum standard to be 
used by any political subdivision. The inspection – application – standards section of the 
Act is also unambiguous in stating that any regional program must use the state code 
as its minimum standard:84 
 

Any electrical installation in any new construction or remodeling or repair 
… except in any incorporated town or city, any county, or any city and 
county having its own electrical code and inspection equal to the minimum 
standards as are provided in this article, shall be inspected by a state 
electrical inspector… 
 

Moreover, the Act states that any electrical inspector employed by a regional 
jurisdiction, “shall possess the same qualifications required of state inspectors under 
this section…”85 In other words, a regional inspector shall inspect installations, at 
minimum, according to the state code. 
 

                                            
83 § 12-23-104(2)(a), C.R.S. 
84 § 12-23-116(2), C.R.S. 
85 § 12-23-115(1)(b), C.R.S. 

http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=FifLink&t=document-frame.htm&l=jump&iid=COCODE&d=t.%2024,%20art.%204&sid=5ae26baf.54ec967d.0.0#JD_t24art4
http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=FifLink&t=document-frame.htm&l=jump&iid=COCODE&d=t.%2024&sid=5ae26baf.54ec967d.0.0#JD_t24
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Changes to the NEC, and subsequently to the state code, are not made in a vacuum. 
There are several steps in the process that amends the NEC that encourages both 
professional and public access. The state code adoption process also involves public 
hearing and input. The driving forces for any code change are the health, safety, and 
welfare of the general public and protecting consumers from electric-related harm. 
 
The most recent edition of the NEC, and state code, had three significant changes that 
improve safety. The expansion of arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection, the 
expansion of ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection, and the addition of 
tamper-resistant receptacles in certain areas were adopted.86 
 
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (USPSC) estimates that each year 
from 1990-1998 residential electrical distribution system fires caused an average of 326 
deaths, 1,481 injuries and $646 million in lost property. The USPSC also states that 
inclusion of AFCIs could have prevented 50 percent or more of the fires.87 
 
GFCIs have long been recognized as an essential component to an electrical system. 
GFCIs prevent electrocutions, some electrical fires, and reduce the severity of others by 
interrupting the flow of electricity.88 The 2008 NEC expanded the use of GFCIs in 
residences to basements, garages, and accessory buildings, eliminating most of the 
previous exemptions. 
 
Unlike receptacle (plug-outlet) caps, which can be lost, tamper-resistant receptacles 
have spring-loaded shutters that close the contact openings. Both springs must be 
compressed at the same time or the shutters do not open. Each year approximately 
2,400 children suffer severe shock and burns when they stick items into the slots of 
electrical receptacles. Adding the tamper-resistant receptacles to the 2008 NEC 
provides security against insertion of objects other than cord plugs into an outlet.89 
 
The protection of the public is enhanced by the addition of these provisions to both the 
NEC and the state code. If a regional permitting and inspection jurisdiction does not 
adopt the most recently approved state code as the minimum installation standard, as is 
demanded by statute, the public is in greater danger of harm. 
 
While the Board is the clear oversight authority in these matters, the Act does not confer 
any enforcement power to the Board. Therefore, no action can be taken against 
regional jurisdictions that choose to ignore the mandates in the Act, disregard the will of 
the General Assembly, and provide less protection to the public it is obligated to protect. 
The General Assembly should give the Board power to act and protect the consuming 
public. 
 

                                            
86 Johnston, Michael, “At Risk Below the Minimum” IAEI News, November-December, 2007. p56. 
87 U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Memorandum: Economic Considerations – AFCI Replacements. 
March 10, 2003, Retrieved July 28, 2009, from http://www.cpsc.gov/LIBRARY/FOIA/FOIA03/os/ecafci.pdf 
88 U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, GFCIs Fact Sheet. Retrieved July 28, 2009, from 
http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/99.html 
89 National Fire Protection Association, Fact Sheet: Tamper-Resistant Receptacles. 
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The Board should have the ability to strip the permit and inspection authority of any 
jurisdiction that does not adopt the state code as its minimum standard, within 12 
months from the day a new edition of the code is adopted by the Board. As stated, the 
adoption of the code does not occur in a vacuum. It is open and takes place over time, 
as does any new addition to the NEC. Every regional jurisdiction is well aware of all 
proposed changes long before adoption and has the ability to affect the adoption 
process from several access points. 
 
For those regional jurisdictions that choose to not conform to the statutory mandate and 
have permitting and inspection authority stripped, the state permitting and inspection 
program will take over as is provided in the Act. 
 
The end results of granting the Board greater enforcement authority over code adoption 
will be more jurisdictions complying with both the most current edition of the code and 
the Act, and a higher level of protection for more of Colorado’s citizens. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  33  ––  GGrraanntt  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  mmoorree  ddiissccrreettiioonn  iinn  ddeetteerrmmiinniinngg  ddiisscciipplliinnaarryy  
aaccttiioonn  aaggaaiinnsstt  aa  ccoonnttrraaccttoorr’’ss  ddeessiiggnnaatteedd  mmaasstteerr  eelleeccttrriicciiaann..  
 
The Act requires that every contractor name a full-time supervising master electrician to 
supervise and be responsible for all work performed by the contractor. The qualifying 
master licensee must notify the Board within 15 days of termination as the qualifying 
master for the contractor. 
 
Under section 12-23-106(5)(d), C.R.S., the only options the Board has in cases when 
the master does not comply with the notification requirement are to do nothing, or 
suspend or revoke the master’s license. The Board has a plethora of other disciplinary 
tools available to discipline licensees that are less severe than taking away a person’s 
livelihood. The Board also looks at every case that comes before it for discipline 
individually. Therefore, it should be able to examine circumstances surrounding the 
incident and use a punishment if that is deemed appropriate on an incident by incident 
basis. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  44  ––  SSttrriikkee  ccoonnffuussiinngg  llaanngguuaaggee  rreeggaarrddiinngg  iinnssppeeccttiioonn  
pprroocceedduurreess..  
 
Section 12-23-116(2), C.R.S., provides that if an electrical inspection is not performed 
within five days after the receipt of an application for inspection, work may resume on 
the job: 
 

A state electrical inspector shall inspect any new construction, remodeling, 
or repair subject to the provisions of this subsection (2) within three 
working days after the receipt of the application for inspection. If the 
inspection is not performed within five working days, work may resume on 
any such construction, repair, or remodeling. 
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This provision of the Act is both confusing and misleading. 
 
All types of work on a construction site are not stopped prior to an electrical inspection; 
typically there are many facets of the job that are ongoing and are not affected by an 
electrical inspection. Therefore, the assumption is that this section pertains only to 
electrical work which may be resumed, even though the Act is not clear. Despite the 
statutory declaration that work may resume, whenever the next inspection does occur, 
all electrical work must be code-compliant and accessible to the inspector. So if the 
contractor does resume working, it does so at its own peril. 
 
A passing, overall, final, building inspection cannot come about without an electrical 
inspection, and an electrical inspection cannot be performed without inspection of every 
aspect of the electrical installation, regardless of what the installer infers from the 
statutory provision. Also, without a final inspection a building cannot be occupied and 
most lenders will not fund a loan. 
 
To reduce confusion, protect both the installer from unneeded expense, and shield the 
consumer from harm, the General Assembly should repeal the following confusing 
language regarding inspections: “If the inspection is not performed within five working 
days, work may resume on any such construction, repair, or remodeling.” Subsequent 
to the change, inspectors will still have the requirement to inspect an installation within 
three days and contractors will not make an erroneous assumption that no inspection is 
needed. 
 
 
RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  55  ––  SSttrriikkee  tthhee  wwoorrdd  ““aalltteerraattiioonn””  ffrroomm  tthhee  eexxeemmppttiioonnss  iinn  sseeccttiioonn  
1122--2233--111111((22)),,  CC..RR..SS..,,  aanndd  ssppeecciiffiiccaallllyy  ddeeffiinnee  tthhee  pphhrraassee,,  ““mmaaiinntteennaannccee  aanndd  rreeppaaiirr..””

                                           

  
 
Currently, the “Exemption” section of the Act provides a license and inspection 
exemption “for maintenance, repair, or alteration of existing facilities” to a person’s own 
property or residence.90 
 
There have been problems due to the subjective nature and interpretation of the word 
alteration. Specifically, there are instances when owners have claimed the exemption 
from regulation asserting that an entire building addition is an alteration to an existing 
system. This provision was never meant to exempt a building owner from obtaining a 
permit and inspection for any work beyond replacing or repairing, lawfully-installed 
components. Erroneously invoking the exemption in these cases incurs costs for 
discipline and possible litigation by the Board, and may leave building occupants 
exposed to greater risk from electricity-related problems. 
 
Not inspecting any installation or modification beyond the most basic maintenance and 
repair poses a threat to public safety. 
 

 
90 § 12-23-111(2), C.R.S. 
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Eliminating the ambiguous word “alteration” and specifically defining what is meant by 
the phrase “maintenance and repair”,” will eliminate confusion and protect the public by 
demanding that all qualifying installations are permitted and inspected. 
 
 
RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  66  ––  RReeqquuiirree  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  ttoo  mmeeeett  aatt  lleeaasstt  aannnnuuaallllyy,,  rraatthheerr  tthhaann  
mmoonntthhllyy..  
 
The requirement, in section 12-23-104(1)(a), C.R.S., that the Board meet monthly is 
excessive based on the current caseload. Typically, a Type 1 board meets for most of 
an entire day when it discusses board business. An all day meeting for the Board is rare 
and every other month the meeting is telephonic, usually lasting one to three hours. 
 
Eliminating unnecessary Board meetings and scheduling future meetings to reflect 
deadlines and caseloads is a good way to reduce expenses and increase staff 
efficiency.  
 
Despite the rationale for statutorily modifying the schedule, the section also states that 
the Board may meet “…at other times it deems necessary.” Therefore, if the workload 
does increase, the Board has the ability to convene more often. Flexibility is key to 
efficiently administering the caseload. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  77  ––  RReeppllaaccee  oonnee  ooff  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  sseeaattss  aallllootttteedd  ttoo  aa  uuttiilliittyy  
rreepprreesseennttaattiivvee  wwiitthh  aa  sseeaatt  ffoorr  aa  ppuubblliicc,,  aatt--llaarrggee  rreepprreesseennttaattiivvee..  
 
The majority of the issues that the Board considers are licensee concerns. While it is 
valid to include one utility representative for the expertise it may provide with the 
occasional electrical supply issue, having two representatives of an industry the focus of 
which has nothing to do with regulating the profession or electrical installations 
according to the state electrical code is excessive. The Board would be better served 
with another public, at-large member whom the Governor could appoint from any 
segment of the population deemed appropriate. 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  88  ––  VVaalliiddaattee  lliicceennsseeee  ttiittllee  pprrootteeccttiioonn..  
 
Title protection is important because only those who satisfy certain prescribed 
requirements may use the relevant prescribed title. Titles serve to indirectly ensure a 
minimal level of competency for the consumer because the public assumes 
qualifications are satisfied by those that use the title.  
 
Section 12-23-107, C.R.S., conveys title protection to “licensed” electricians. 
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In common practice the terms master electrician, journeyman electrician, and residential 
wireman are rarely prefaced by the word licensed. If an advertisement states, “John 
Doe, Master Electrician,” the common inference is that John Doe is licensed. However, 
based on interpretations of current statute, if John Doe is not licensed, he has done 
nothing legally wrong by advertising himself as a master electrician without using the 
modifier “licensed.”  
 
To validate title protection, the General Assembly should strike the word “licensed” from 
section 12-23-107, C.R.S., and confer title protection to master electricians, journeyman 
electricians, and residential wiremen. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  99  ––  RReeppeeaall  tthhee  ssiizzee  aanndd  vvaalluuaattiioonn  ccrriitteerriiaa  iinn  sseeccttiioonn  1122--2233--111177,,  
CC..RR..SS..,,  aanndd  aallllooww  tthhee  DDiivviissiioonn  ttoo  eessttaabblliisshh  ppeerrmmiittttiinngg  ccrriitteerriiaa  aaddmmiinniissttrraattiivveellyy..  
 
Board administrative functions are cash funded by licenses and fees. The Division 
needs the flexibility to evaluate expenses directly related to the permitting and 
inspection process. Removing the size and monetary requirements in the Act for setting 
permit fees, will enable the Division to establish uniform rates based on actual expenses 
regardless of the square footage or dollar value of a job. 
 
Currently, the Division is forced by the Act to set fees based on criteria that are not 
linked with the internal market-based expenses incurred during permitting and 
inspection processes. Inserting flexibility into the process will produce efficiencies for 
the consumer, the contractor, and the Division. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  1100  ––  RReeppeeaall  sseeccttiioonn  1122--2233--111177((22)),,  CC..RR..SS..,,  ttyyiinngg  llooccaall  iinnssppeeccttiioonn  
aanndd  ppeerrmmiitt  ffeeeess  ttoo  ssttaattee  ffeeeess..  
 
Section 12-23-117(2), C.R.S., states that regional programs may not charge more than 
15 percent above the fees the state program charges. Local permitting and inspection 
fees have little to do with state fees and this provision is burdensome to local 
governments. 
 
This section forces a local jurisdiction to wait to establish its fees until after state fees 
are set, as well as live with a decision which may not be compatible with the local 
budget. 
 
This section should be repealed by the General Assembly to allow a regional jurisdiction 
to set fees based on its own expenses and be accountable to the local citizenry and 
construction professionals it serves. 
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AAddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––  SSeeeekk  ttoo  aammeenndd  tthhee  ssuunnsseett  rreevviieeww  bbiillll  ttoo  
iinncclluuddee  aannyy  tteecchhnniiccaall  cchhaannggeess  nneecceessssaarryy  ttoo  tthhee  AAcctt..  
 
During the course of the sunset review, both the Division and researchers found several 
places in the Act that need to be updated and clarified to reflect current practices, 
conventions, and technology. Issues such as the Act being made gender neutral; 
changing the title Program Administrator to Program Director; having permits issued by 
local utilities; changing inspection fees to permit fees; among several other technical 
issues, all should be addressed. 
 
Recommendations of this nature do not rise to the level of protecting the health, safety, 
and welfare of the public, but an unambiguous law makes for more efficient 
implementation. The entire Act, including every one of its provisions, is commonly only 
examined by the General Assembly during a sunset review. Therefore, the Board and 
the Division should review the whole Act and prepare an omnibus amendment to the 
sunset review bill which will rectify all identified technical problems.   
 
 

AAddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  22  ––  AAddoopptt  aa  BBooaarrdd  rreegguullaattiioonn  rreeqquuiirriinngg  aallll  ttrraaddee--
nnaammeedd  bbuussiinneesssseess  ttoo  bbee  lliisstteedd  wwiitthh  tthhee  BBooaarrdd..

                                           

  
 
The Board has regulatory authority over “entities” that operate an electrical business. 
Every person, firm, copartnership, association, or combination thereof must be 
registered with the Board91 and employ a master electrician who is responsible for all 
electrical work performed by the entity.92 Furthermore, no master electrician may be 
named as the responsible licensee for more than one entity and the master, “shall be 
actively engaged in a full-time capacity with that contracting company.”93 
 
If a Colorado corporation registers a trade name with the Secretary of State’s Office, the 
trade-named operation is not considered a separate business but the same corporate 
entity operating under the corporate umbrella. In other words, XYZ Corporation has 
John Doe as its master electrician. The XYZ Corporation uses three trade names all 
registered with the Secretary of State, companies X, Y, and Z. Because these are 
merely trade names and not separate companies, John Doe can be the responsible 
party for all electrical work performed by Company X, Company Y, and Company Z. 
 

 
91 §12-23-106(5)(a), C.R.S. 
92 §§ 12-23-106(5)(b), and 12-23-106(5)(c), C.R.S. 
93 § 12-23-106(5)(d), C.R.S. 
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A problem arises when a consumer has a problem with an installation executed by 
company Y. Because the Board has no record of trade names, it is forced to expend 
resources to find company Y and issue a cease and desist order (C&D) for contracting 
without being a Board-registered person, firm, copartnership, association, or 
combination thereof. Only after serving the C&D, does the Board learn that company Y 
is, in reality XYZ Corporation, and John Doe is the responsible master electrician. Once 
it is made aware that Company Y is simply a trade name, the Board can, at last, review 
the original complaint against master electrician John Doe. 
 
The extra steps cost in resources expended, but there is also a cost in consumer 
protection. The Board is the General Assembly-created body charged with regulating 
the electrical industry and acting on complaints. If a company operates under a trade 
name, in order to expeditiously act on a consumer complaint, the Board must know who 
the responsible master electrician is to hold him or her responsible. If the process is 
delayed there is a possibility that more consumers could be harmed. 
 
To solve these problems, the Board should require all trade names issued to a person, 
firm, copartnership, association, or combination thereof that is operating as a registered 
electrical contractor, to be listed with the Board. 
 
 

AAddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  33  ––  DDeeffiinnee  oonnee  yyeeaarr  ooff  oonn--tthhee--jjoobb  eexxppeerriieennccee  aass  
oonnee  ccaalleennddaarr  yyeeaarr  wwiitthh  aa  mmiinniimmuumm  ooff  22,,000000  hhoouurrss  oonn--tthhee--jjoobb..  
 
There are several places in the Act that require years of verifiable work experience as a 
condition for licensure. According to Board staff, a problem arises when a person 
applies for licensure who has worked a full calendar year on a part-time basis. The 
Board and the staff interpret a qualifying year as a person working at the trade on a full-
time basis. Defining a year as a calendar year with a minimum of 2,000 hours in the 
Board rules codifies current policy and may avert future problems. 
 
 

AAddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  44  ––  MMaaiinnttaaiinn  ppeerrmmiitt  aanndd  iinnssppeeccttiioonn  rreeccoorrddss  ffoorr  aa  
lloonnggeerr,,  DDiivviissiioonn--ddeetteerrmmiinneedd  ttiimmee  uussiinngg  aa  tteecchhnnoollooggyy--bbaasseedd  ssyysstteemm..  
 
The policy has been to keep hardcopy electrical permit and inspection records for a 
period of time determined by the state archivist and then purge them. There have been 
problems based on this policy. For example: a homeowner starts to finish the basement 
of his or her home, gets a rough electrical inspection so the work can be covered, but 
then gets sidetracked and doesn’t finish the job. Five years later the homeowner 
decides to finish the job but he or she misplaced the paperwork and the inspection 
record is kept by the state for only three years. Because there is no record of the rough 
electrical inspection, the homeowner will be forced to tear off the wall covering, expose 
the once inspected electrical work, and get another inspection, simply to finish the job. If 
there was a record of the previous inspection there would be no problem. 
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Why should the state be the backup for a consumer who misplaces vital records? Why 
should a state agency incur the expense of keeping records longer than the current 
policy dictates? First, the electrical permit and inspection program is all about customer 
service. The main reason inspections are performed is to serve and protect consumers 
from potentially dangerous problems. Keeping a record longer is an action in that same 
vain of public service. Second, information storage technology is typically inexpensive. 
 
Keeping hardcopy paper records for long periods of time is problematic for several 
reasons. However, the technology is available to keep records for a longer period of 
time than is the current practice without much problem or expense. If the government 
has the ability to change an internal policy and help consumers avoid harm from an out-
of-date policy, then it should. 
 
The Division should determine a period of time that is practical, based on program 
experience and need, and use technology to store permit and inspection records, rather 
than hardcopy records, for a longer period than is the current practice. 
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