
 

 

Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) 

 FAQs on COVID-19 Telehealth Services 
What is telehealth? How has it changed in light of the COVID-19 pandemic? 
The term “telehealth” generally refers to the exchange of medical information from one site to another through 

electronic communication to improve a patient’s health. 

In Colorado law, for insurance purposes, telehealth is defined in Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) Section 

10-16-123(4)(e). Individual professionals should check their respective practice acts, rules or policies to 

determine specific definitions and limitations regarding telehealth. 

Earlier this year, Governor Jared Polis issued a series of  Executive Orders temporarily suspending certain 

statutes to expand the use of telehealth services for both COVID-19-related care and non-COVID-19-related 

care due to the presence of COVID-19 in Colorado. In addition, the Colorado Legislature passed, and the 

Governor signed, ​SB20-212​ related to the reimbursement for telehealth services. While there were some 

changes to the telehealth laws ​through Executive Order 2020 20​,  extensions of that Order expired on July 27, 

2020. Therefore, current state law is now in effect.  

 

Now that the Executive Order has expired, as a healthcare practitioner, what must I do as far as 
remaining HIPAA compliant? 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) requirements were never waived under 

the telehealth EO and must be followed. 

What is the practical implication of the expiration of the Executive Order regarding telehealth for 
licensees under the auspices of the Division of Professions and Occupations? 
The Executive Order suspended the requirements of §12-245-217(2)(e)(II), C.R.S., and removed the 20-day 

cap for certain out-of-state mental health providers providing services to Colorado patients. The suspension  of 

the 20-day cap no longer remains in effect, reverting requirements back to what is included in the ​Mental 

Health Practice Act​, and board rules and policies. The Executive Order also suspended  §12-315-104(19)(b), 

C.R.S., regarding veterinarian-client patient relationships. The suspension expired and veterinarians should 

now follow ​current Colorado law.  

Does the expiration of the Executive Order change who can provide services to Colorado patients?  
Typically, telehealth requirements in Colorado are based on the location of the patient, not the location of the 
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practitioner. In most cases, a healthcare provider must be licensed in Colorado in order to treat Colorado 

patients, regardless of the provider’s location.  However, there are exceptions. Please refer to your individual 

profession’s statutes, rules and policies for more information. 

I am a Colorado licensee. I want to see Colorado patients via telehealth. Can I? 
The expiration of the telehealth Executive Order means Colorado licensees must now follow the current 

requirements set out in statute, rule, and policy and adhere to established telehealth guidelines. Please consult 

the individual statutes, policies and rules of your board or program on DORA’s website for more information. 

 

I am a Colorado licensee. I want to see an out-of-state patient via telehealth. Can I? 
Colorado licensees treating patients in another state need to follow the laws, rules, regulations and policies of 

the state where the patient is located. 

I am an out-of-state licensee. I want to see Colorado patients. Can I? 
The Executive Order allowed certain out-of-state mental health providers to treat patients who returned to 

Colorado during the COVID-19 pandemic without penalty (for example, a college student who returned to the 

state). That exception no longer exists with the expiration of the Executive Order.  If you hold a Colorado 

license, you may treat Colorado patients. If you do not, you should review the Colorado state laws, regulations, 

and policies for your profession. Another option would be to obtain a Colorado license via the endorsement 

process, ​if available​. 

 

I am an out-of-state practitioner, and Colorado allowed my mental health profession unlimited 
teletherapy treatment days of Colorado patients under the now expired Executive Order. Can I still treat 
Colorado patients via telehealth? 
While there were some changes to the teletherapy regulations through ​Executive Order D 2020 116​,  the 

Executive Order expired on July 27, 2020. Therefore, current state law is now in effect and requires all mental 

health professionals to know and practice within the established teletherapy guidelines, which are available​ ​on 

the website​ for each type of mental health provider. Section 12-245-217, C.R.S., outlines the exemptions for 

certain individuals, including out-of-state practitioners. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 
 
 
 

 

Current as of August 28, 2020 

https://apps.colorado.gov/dora/licensing/Default.aspx
https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__www.colorado.gov_governor_sites_default_files_inline-2Dfiles_D-25202020-2520116-2520Telehealth-2520Extension.pdf&d=DwMFaQ&c=sdnEM9SRGFuMt5z5w3AhsPNahmNicq64TgF1JwNR0cs&r=dC-nSjpwYsDKxzCYDGvdBEsaT8h_uuqw5TshYLIKxrs&m=Q0bGHFM1prs0NMCaSDJLFpAvkE4HfvZChkgcH2ziLHQ&s=DTOf3gIwcq2Qo255GQvSkTC5CWXeJ6FlO7MTUzIuwdc&e=
https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__dpo.colorado.gov_&d=DwMFaQ&c=sdnEM9SRGFuMt5z5w3AhsPNahmNicq64TgF1JwNR0cs&r=dC-nSjpwYsDKxzCYDGvdBEsaT8h_uuqw5TshYLIKxrs&m=Q0bGHFM1prs0NMCaSDJLFpAvkE4HfvZChkgcH2ziLHQ&s=8l8q_sipAs2ZdGsKeJ3ZNZoY9u2gACW9fqawlpbjdOI&e=
https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__dpo.colorado.gov_&d=DwMFaQ&c=sdnEM9SRGFuMt5z5w3AhsPNahmNicq64TgF1JwNR0cs&r=dC-nSjpwYsDKxzCYDGvdBEsaT8h_uuqw5TshYLIKxrs&m=Q0bGHFM1prs0NMCaSDJLFpAvkE4HfvZChkgcH2ziLHQ&s=8l8q_sipAs2ZdGsKeJ3ZNZoY9u2gACW9fqawlpbjdOI&e=
https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__dpo.colorado.gov_&d=DwMFaQ&c=sdnEM9SRGFuMt5z5w3AhsPNahmNicq64TgF1JwNR0cs&r=dC-nSjpwYsDKxzCYDGvdBEsaT8h_uuqw5TshYLIKxrs&m=Q0bGHFM1prs0NMCaSDJLFpAvkE4HfvZChkgcH2ziLHQ&s=8l8q_sipAs2ZdGsKeJ3ZNZoY9u2gACW9fqawlpbjdOI&e=


FAQs Related to Insurance Reimbursement 
 

Note: Insurance FAQs apply to fully insured plans regulated by the Division of Insurance, other rules may apply 

to Medicaid, Medicare, and ERISA self-funded plans. 

 

What effect did the passage of SB20-212 have on telehealth services? 
The legislature passed, and the Governor signed, legislation related to telehealth services in July 2020. That 

law, SB20-212, prohibits carriers offering health benefit plans from: 
 

● Imposing specific requirements on HIPAA compliant technologies that a provider used to deliver 

telehealth services, including limitations on audio orlive video technologies; 

● Requiring an individuals to have an existing relationship with a provider before receiving telehealth 

services from that provider; and 

● Imposing additional certification, location, or training requirements on providers as a condition for 

reimbursement for telehealth services 
 

The law also added remote monitoring services to the definition of telehealth. 
 

The Division of Insurance issued emergency telehealth services regulation 20-E-11, effective August 14, 2020. 

Pursuant to that regulation, the use of non-public facing remote communication products, including but not 

limited to audio only telephone calls, shall be considered HIPAA compliant for purposes of § 10-16-123, C.R.S. 

during the nationwide public health emergency period when OCR has enforcement discretion regarding HIPAA 

compliance and providers in Colorado are making a good faith provision of telehealth services. 

 

Which health plans are required to comply with SB20-212 and Emergency Regulation 20-E-11? 
SB 20-212 and DOI emergency regulation 20-E-11 apply to plans regulated by the State of Colorado, including 

individual, small group, and large group health benefit plans, managed care plans (i.e., HMOs), and student 

health plans.  
 

For Medicare providers and patients, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has released 

guidance expanding the use of telehealth services during the COVID-19 public health emergency. Providers 

are encouraged to visit the CMS ​Current Emergencies​ website for further information.  
 

For Health First Colorado (Medicaid) providers and patients, the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy 

and Financing (HCPF) has also released information on telehealth service delivery. Information is available on 

HCPF’s ​COVID-19 Information for Health First Colorado and CHP+ Providers and Case Managers​ website.  
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Employers with self-funded health plans are not regulated by the Division, as such plans are regulated at the 

Federal level (under ERISA). The Division strongly encourages employers that have self-funded health plans 

to request that the third-party administrators of their health plans comply with state and federal guidance, 

including the Division’s regulations on telehealth during the COVID-19 emergency. 
 
Which providers can be reimbursed for telehealth services?  
Under state law, Colorado Revised Statutes Section 10-16-123, carriers are required to reimburse health care 

providers ​who are licensed or otherwise authorized to ​deliver health care services in the state, as defined in 

Colorado Revised Statutes Section 10-16-102(56). This definition includes, but is not limited to: 
 

● Physicians; 

● Physician assistants and nurse practitioners; 

● Physical, occupational therapists, and speech therapists; 

● Licensed or certified mental health professionals; 

● Licensed clinical social workers, licensed social workers; and 

● Dentists.  
 

Providers who do not meet the definition in CRS Section 10-16-102(56), such as registered dietitians and 

nutrition professionals, are not covered by this regulation, but carriers may elect and are encouraged to cover 

telehealth services offered by such providers. The list of providers covered by the Division’s regulation may 

differ from ​Medicare guidance​.  
 
Are telehealth services subject to cost sharing requirements? 
Under state law, telehealth services may be subject to cost sharing requirements with one exception: During 

the pendency of the disaster emergency, carriers are required to cover cost sharing for in-network telehealth 

services ​for COVID-19 testing and treatment​, per DOI emergency regulation 20-E-09.  
 

CMS issued guidance on ​March 24, 2020​, encouraging all health insurers to cover telehealth services without 

cost sharing or other medical management requirements. Some health insurance companies have indicated 

they will waive cost sharing for telehealth services; consumers are encouraged to contact their company to 

determine if cost-sharing has been waived for telehealth services.  

 

Does a telephone-only call qualify as reimbursable for telehealth services during the emergency? 
Yes. Under the Division’s emergency regulation 20-E-11, as long as the federal government is exercising 

enforcement discretion related to the good faith provision of telehealth services, the provision of telehealth 

services using audio only telephone calls and non-public facing remote communication products shall be 

considered HIPAA compliant and subject to reimbursement for purposes of §10-16-123, C.R.S. 
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What types of services do not qualify for telehealth? 
During the COVID-19 public health emergency, health insurance companies are required to cover medically 

necessary services that can be appropriately delivered through telehealth. Telephone calls with health care 

provider office staff and other calls for administrative purposes, such as requests for refills, scheduling, and 

payment or billing issues are not billable services. Providers should also be careful not to double bill for 

services; for example, some follow-up visits may be considered to be part of a global package of services, and 

should not be billed as a separate encounter. Insurers are required to notify health care providers of any 

instructions necessary to facilitate billing for telehealth, and make this information prominently available on 

their websites. 

 
What requirements can the health insurance companies impose, such as prior authorization and other 
medical management requirements, as a condition of telehealth services?  
Health insurance companies cannot impose limitations on services, such as prior authorization and other 

medical management requirements, solely because the services are delivered via telehealth rather than 

in-person. The Division encourages insurers to streamline processes during the COVID-19 emergency so that 

covered persons can easily access needed telehealth services. 
 

Can an insurer require the use of certain types of platforms to reimburse?  
No. SB20-212 prohibits health insurance companies from imposing limitations on HIPAA-compliant 

technologies or “platforms” used to deliver telehealth services, including any limitations on the use of audio 

only or live video technologies. Consistent with HHS guidance, “non-public facing” remote communication 

platforms or products must be used for the provision of  telehealth services.  

  

A “non-public facing” remote communication product is one that, as a default, allows only the intended parties 

to participate in the communication. Non-public facing remote communication products would include, for 

example, platforms such as Apple FaceTime, Facebook Messenger video chat, Google Hangouts video, 

Whatsapp video chat, Zoom, or Skype. Such products also would include commonly used texting applications 

such as Signal, Jabber, Facebook Messenger, Google Hangouts, Whatsapp, or iMessage. Typically, these 

platforms employ end-to-end encryption, which allows only an individual and the person with whom the 

individual is communicating to see what is transmitted. The platforms also support individual user accounts, 

logins, and passcodes to help limit access and verify participants. In addition, participants are able to assert 

some degree of control over particular capabilities, such as choosing to record or not record the 

communication or to mute or turn off the video or audio signal at any point. 
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In contrast, public-facing products such as TikTok, Facebook Live, Twitch, or a chat room like Slack are not 

acceptable forms of remote communication for telehealth because they are designed to be open to the public 

or allow wide or indiscriminate access to the communication 

 
What settings are acceptable for providing or receiving telehealth services? 
Insurance companies cannot impose any requirements or limitations on telehealth services based on the site 

at which either the patient or the health care provider is located at the time the health care services are 

delivered. Per ​Office of Civil Rights (OCR)​ guidance, providers should use private locations and patients 

should not receive telehealth services in public or semi-public settings, absent patient consent or exigent 

circumstances. If telehealth cannot be provided in a private setting, covered health care providers should 

continue to implement reasonable HIPAA safeguards to limit incidental uses or disclosures of protected health 

information (PHI).  
 

Are there specific codes that health care providers should use to bill for telehealth services? 
Claim and billing questions for state-regulated insurance plans should be directed to the insurance company. 

In general, health care providers can bill typical code ranges for medically clinically appropriate services 

delivered via telehealth, using appropriate code modifiers and location codes. DOI emergency regulation 

20-E-11 directs health insurance companies to notify providers of any instructions necessary to facilitate billing 

for telehealth and post this information prominently on a public-facing website.  

 

Insurers may request that providers include a specific telehealth code (i.e., a place of services code or 

telehealth modifier) when submitting claims for reimbursement. However, health insurance companies must 

reimburse in-network providers for services delivered via telehealth at rates no lower than in-person services, 

and in compliance with state behavioral health parity laws.  

 

CMS maintains a list of services that may be furnished via telehealth to Medicare beneficiaries during the 

COVID-19 public health emergency, available here: 

www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-General-Information/Telehealth/Telehealth-Codes​. 

 

Information about billing and coding for telehealth services furnished to Health First Colorado (Medicaid) clients 

is available on the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing website at: 

www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-telemedicine 
 
How do the Division of Insurance’s telehealth requirements apply to catastrophic plans or high 
deductible health plans (HDHP)?  
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Catastrophic health benefit plans are generally not required to provide coverage of essential health benefits 

(EHB), including coverage for the diagnosis of treatment of COVID-19, before an enrollee meetings their plan 

deductible, with limited exceptions including: 1) the coverage of at least three primary care visits per year, and 

2) any cost sharing delivered for preventive services.  

 

However, on ​March 24, 2020​, CMS released guidance allowing carriers to amend catastrophic plans to ​allow 

pre-deductible coverage for telehealth services​, even if the specific telehealth services are not related to 

COVID-19.  In accordance with this guidance, the Colorado DOI will allow, and strongly encourages, insurance 

companies to cover all medically appropriate telehealth services without requiring enrollees to meet the 

deductible during the COVID-19 public health emergency. Insurers are NOT allowed to limit or eliminate other 

benefits to offset the costs of providing pre-deductible coverage for telehealth services.  

 

High deductible health plans (HDHP) are generally prohibited from covering any health care services, other 

than preventive care, until an enrollee has met the full plan deductible. However, in recognition of the nature of 

COVID-19 public health emergency, and the need to avoid administrative delays or financial disincentives that 

might otherwise impede testing for and treatment of COVID-19 for participants in HDHPs, the U.S. Internal 

Revenue Service (IRS) announced on ​March 11, 2020​ that ​all HDHPs will be allowed ​to cover medical care 

services received and items purchased associated with testing for and treatment of COVID-19 that are 

provided by a health plan without a deductible, or with a deductible below the minimum annual deductible 

otherwise required. In accordance with CMS guidance, the DOI will allow, and strongly encourage, health 

insurance companies to provide pre-deductible coverage for health care services, including services coverage 

via telehealth, for enrollees in HDHP. Carriers are NOT allowed to limit or eliminate other benefits to offset the 

costs of providing pre-deductible coverage for telehealth services.  

 
Will the DOI allow health insurance companies to amend plan benefits during a plan year to provide or 
expand coverage for telehealth services, and to reduce or eliminate cost sharing for such services? 

Yes. The DOI, in accordance with CMS guidance, will allow health insurance companies in the individual or 

group market to make mid-year changes to the health insurance product to provide greater coverage for 

telehealth services or to reduce or eliminate cost-sharing requirements for telehealth services, even if the 

specific telehealth services covered by the change are not related to COVID-19. Insurers are NOT allowed to 

limit or eliminate other benefits or to change rates to offset the costs of increasing the accessibility of telehealth 

benefits. 
 
How does HIPAA, and other privacy and confidentiality rules including 42 C.F.R. Part 2, apply to 
telehealth services during the COVID-19 public health emergency? 
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The U.S. Office of Civil Rights (OCR) has recognized that during the COVID-19 public health emergency, 

health care providers may need to communicate with patients and provide telehealth services through remote 

communications technologies, some of which may not fully comply with HIPAA requirements. To facilitate the 

expanded use of telehealth services in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the OCR announced on ​March 

17, 2020​, that it would will not impose penalties for noncompliance with the regulatory requirements under the 

HIPAA Rules against providers in connection with the good faith provision of telehealth during the COVID-19 

nationwide public health emergency. This exercise of discretion applies to telehealth provided for any reason, 

regardless of whether the telehealth service is related to the diagnosis and treatment of health conditions 

related to COVID-19. 

 

Coverage of telehealth services for mental health and substance use disorders is required under mental health 

parity laws, and of particular importance during the COVID-19 public health emergency. In addition to HIPAA, 

substance use information is subject to federal rules in 42 C.F.R. Part 2. The Substance Abuse and Mental 

Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), recognizing the difficulties that substance use disorder patients 

may face in accessing services during the COVID-19 public health emergency, released guidance on ​March 

19, 2020​ noting that  prohibitions on use and disclosure of patient identifying information under 42 C.F.R. Part 

2 would not apply in situations where a health care provider may not be able to obtain written patient consent 

for disclosure of substance use disorder records due to circumstances related to COVID-19. SAMHSA 

emphasized such flexibility is allowed only to the extent that, as determined by the provider(s), a medical 

emergency exists. Under the medical emergency exception, providers are required to make their own 

determinations whether a bona fide medical emergency exists for purposes of providing needed treatment to 

patients.  

 

CMS and SAMHSA issued further guidance related to mental health, behavioral health, and SUD services on 

June 29, 2020​ encouraging carriers to implement practices to expand the use of telehealth services during the 

COVID-19 emergency.  

 
Can health care providers in quarantine continue to provide and be reimbursed for telehealth services? 
Yes. carriers are not allowed to restrict the use of telehealth based on provider or patient location. A provider 

under quarantine can continue to provide ​and be reimbursed for telehealth services, as long as they are able 

and have access to the resources needed to provide appropriate care. Providers should follow ​ ​Office of Civil 

Rights (OCR)​ guidance regarding patient privacy and confidentiality, and take reasonable safeguards to limit 

incidental uses or disclosures of protected health information (PHI). 

 
What remote monitoring devices are included as part of telehealth service delivery? 

Current as of August 28, 2020 

https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/special-topics/emergency-preparedness/notification-enforcement-discretion-telehealth/index.html
https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/special-topics/emergency-preparedness/notification-enforcement-discretion-telehealth/index.html
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/covid-19-42-cfr-part-2-guidance-03192020.pdf
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/covid-19-42-cfr-part-2-guidance-03192020.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/CCIIO/Programs-and-Initiatives/Health-Insurance-Marketplaces/Downloads/Mental-Health-Substance-Use-Disorder-Resources-COVID-19.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/telehealth-faqs-508.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/telehealth-faqs-508.pdf


Remote monitoring devices are defined in SB20-212 to include the use of synchronous or asynchronous 

technologies to collect or monitor medical and other forms of health data for individuals at an originating site 

and electronically transmit that information to providers at a distant site so they can assess, diagnose, consult, 

treat, educate, provide care management, suggest self management, or make recommendations regarding the 

individual’s health care. Remote neuromonitoring related to surgical procedures is not included as part of 

telehealth services  

 

Does a health care provider need to have an existing relationship with a patient in order to be 
reimbursed for telehealth services?  
No. Under SB20-212, carriers are not allowed to require enrollees or health care providers to have a previously 

existing relationship in order for telehealth services to be reimbursed.  

 

What kinds of medications can be prescribed through telehealth? 
Health insurance companies are required to provide at least one additional refill of all necessary prescriptions 

to ensure plan enrollees have access to necessary medications, per the Division’s emergency regulation 

20-E-09.  

 

The federal government has waived certain restrictions around in-person visits with prescribers and/or 

treatment programs. On March 17, 2020, the Drug Enforcement Agency issued guidance permitting patients to 

be initiated on buprenorphine through a telehealth visit, without an in-person exam. SAMHSA released 

additional guidance on ​March 19, 2020​, reiterating that new opioid treatment program patients can be started 

on buprenorphine via telehealth, including phone only encounters. This flexibility does not apply to patients 

starting on methadone, which still requires an in-person visit to initiate treatment. Additional guidance released 

by the DEA on ​March 31, 2020​, confirms follow-up visits for both buprenorphine and methadone can be 

completed via telehealth, including phone only.  

 

Health care providers should follow federal and state guidance surrounding appropriate prescribing practices 

during the COVID-19 public health emergency, and stay informed of updates in a rapidly changing 

environment. Insurers must reimburse all medically necessary prescriptions to ensure patients, particularly 

those facing challenges to accessing treatment for behavioral health conditions, during the COVID-19 

emergency.  

 

 

### 

 

Current as of August 28, 2020 

https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/faqs-for-oud-prescribing-and-dispensing.pdf
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/dea-samhsa-buprenorphine-telemedicine.pdf

