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COLORADO WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
By Louis Pino 

 

Colorado’s workers’ compensation law 
provides various benefits to employees who suffer 
work-related injuries and illnesses.  This issue brief 
provides an overview of the employer obligations 
to the program, workers’ compensation benefits, 
and how the program is administered. 
 
 

Background 
 

 The Workers’ Compensation Act provides 
wage replacement and medical benefits to 
employees injured in the course of employment in 
exchange for mandatory relinquishment of the 
employee’s right to sue his or her employer.1  The 
system is administered by state law. Colorado’s 
Workers’ Compensation Act was enacted in 1915. 
 

 The Division of Workers’ Compensation in the 
Colorado Department of Labor and Employment 
administers the workers’ compensation system.  
The division does not pay benefits on a claim.  
Instead, the employer’s workers’ compensation 
insurance company or the self-insured employer 
pays the benefits. Federal and railroad employees 
are covered under the Federal Employees 
Compensation Act. 
 

 Who is covered under the workers’ 
compensation law?  In general, all private and 
public employers in Colorado must provide each 
full-or-part-time worker with workers’ 
compensation insurance coverage.  Workers in 
certain occupations, such as real estate agents 
and independent contractors, are exempt from 
coverage.  Injuries caused by intoxication of 
alcohol or drugs, off-the-job incidents, or               
self-inflicted injuries are not covered by the law. 
_______________________ 
1Section 8-40-102, et seq., C.R.S. 

 

Employer Obligations 
 

 All Colorado employers are required to 
purchase workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage through a private insurance company or 
self-insure.  The cost of workers’ compensation 
insurance is paid entirely by the employer and may 
not be deducted from an employee’s wages.  
Insurance premiums are based on the employer’s 
claims experience or losses.  For example, 
premiums for logging businesses may be higher 
than premiums for an accounting firm.  In Colorado, 
there are three ways an employer may obtain 
workers’ compensation coverage as described 
below. 
 

 Commercial Insurance and Pinnacol 
Assurance.  Companies may purchase coverage 
from a commercial private insurance company, 
including Pinnacol Assurance.  
  

 Pinnacol Assurance was established as a 
political subdivision of the state under the 
provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Act.  
Pinnacol is required to write insurance policies for 
all businesses, regardless of their industry risk and 
claims experience.  Pinnacol is controlled by a 
nine-member board of directors, who are 
appointed by the Governor with the consent of the 
Senate. 
 

 Self-funding (individual).   Colorado statute 
allows qualified businesses to self-insure for 
workers’ compensation coverage.  Employers 
applying for self-insurance must regularly employ 
300 or more employees and have a minimum of 
$100 million in assets. 
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 Self-funding (groups).  Colorado law allows 
group pooling by public sector employers and trade 
or professional associations. 
 

 Employers who fail to provide workers’ 
compensation insurance coverage may face fines 
of up to $250 per day for the first violation and up 
to $500 per day for any subsequent violations.  A 
cease-and-desist order may also be issued until 
insurance coverage is obtained. 
 
 

Workers’ Compensation Benefits 
 

 Workers’ compensation benefits are based on 
the date of the injury, the severity of the injury, the 
length of time it takes to recover from the injury, 
and whether the injury is temporary or causes 
permanent impairment. 
 

 Medical benefits.  Under Colorado law, 
workers’ compensation insurance covers all 
reasonable and necessary medical expenses 
connected with an on-the-job injury.  The employee 
is required to receive care from an authorized 
doctor. 
 

 Temporary disability.  Employees who miss 
more than three shifts or three days of work as the 
result of an injury or illness may be eligible to 
receive a form of wage replacement called 
temporary disability benefits.  There are two types 
of temporary disability benefits: 
 

 Temporary total disability: An injured 
worker who is temporarily disabled and 
completely unable to work may receive 
temporary total disability benefits.  
Qualified employees are paid two-thirds of 
their average weekly wage (AWW) up to   
91 percent of their AWW. 
 

 Temporary partial disability:  Injured 
employees who can still work, but in a 
limited role, can receive temporary partial 
disability benefits.  The benefit amount is 
two-thirds of the difference between their 
pre-injury wage and what they are receiving 
from the part-time or modified employment.  

 

Workers can receive temporary disability 
benefits until an authorized doctor determines that 
the injury or disease causing the disability has 
become stable and does not require further 
medical treatment. 

 

 Permanent partial disability.  Workers who 
incur a permanent loss of function to a body part or 
body system may qualify for permanent partial 
disability benefits.  In general, recipients of 
permanent partial disability benefits have some 
lasting condition (e.g., loss of function affecting 
toes, fingers, vision, or hearing), but are still able to 
work.  The amount of benefits awarded is 
determined by an authorized physician. 
 

 Permanent total disability.  Permanent total 
disability is granted to an employee who is unable 
to work at all.  Benefits are based on two-thirds of 
the worker’s AWW at the time of the injury or illness 
and are paid for the lifetime of the injured worker. 
 

 Death benefits.  The workers’ compensation 
system also provides benefits to surviving 
dependents if someone is fatally injured on the job, 
and up to $7,000 for funeral expenses.  Benefits 
very based on the dependent’s relationship to the 
deceased. 
 

 Workers’ compensation income benefits 
received are not subject to federal or state taxes. 
 
 

Administration and Surcharge 
 

 The Division of Worker’s Compensation is a 
state agency that ensures that claims are properly 
handled and provides information about the 
workers’ compensation system.  The division 
resolves any disputes between the employee and 
the insurance company or employer.  
 

 Insurers and self-insured employers are 
required to pay a surcharge on a percentage of 
premiums to offset the cost of administering the the 
workers’ compensation system.  The surcharge 
rate is set by the division and collected 
semiannually. 

 


