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COLORADO’S MINIMUM WAGE 
By Louis Pino

 
Federal law requires employers to pay their 

employees a minimum hourly wage.  States are 
allowed to set different pay standards than the 
federal minimum wage requirement; however, if 
the state and federal law differ, such as in 
Colorado, the higher wage prevails.   This issue 
brief provides an overview and history of federal 
and Colorado minimum wage laws and 
provides a summary of how other states 
compare to the federal standard.  
 
 

Federal Law 
 

 Background.  The federal minimum wage 
was instituted in 1938 as part of the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA).  It is the lowest hourly 
wage that employers may legally pay to most 
workers. Since its inception, the federal 
minimum wage has been increased 23 times, 
from $0.25 to its current level of $7.25 per hour 
for most workers and $2.13 per hour for 
workers that receive tips.  It was last increased 
in 2009. 
 

 Under the FLSA, tipped employees must be 
compensated at least $2.13 per hour in direct 
wages, and up to $5.12 in tips per hour can be 
applied toward meeting the minimum wage (tip 
credit).  If the employees’ direct cash wages 
and tips do not meet or exceed the minimum 
wage, the employer must make up the 
difference.  Tipped employees are individuals 
engaged in occupations in which they 
customarily and regularly receive more than 
$30 a month in tips. 
 
 

 
 There are some employees who can be 
paid below the federal minimum wage under 
the FLSA.  In general, such individuals include 
student, farm, seasonal, and recreational 
workers.  Workers with disabilities may be paid 
less than the federal minimum wage, but the 
employer is required to receive a certificate 
from the Wage and Hour Division within the 
U.S. Department of Labor.  The FLSA allows 
employers to pay employees under 20 years of 
age a lower wage for 90 calendar days from 
when they are first employed. 
 
 

Colorado Law 
 

 Prior to 2007, Colorado’s minimum wage 
law was set by federal law.  In 2006, Colorado 
voters adopted an amendment to the state 
constitution that raised the minimum wage from 
$5.15 per hour to $6.85 per hour beginning in 
2007.  The amendment also required that the 
minimum wage be adjusted each year, up or 
down, for changes in inflation, as measured by 
the Colorado consumer price index (CPI).  The 
CPI is a common measure for changes in the 
prices of goods and services, such as food, 
housing, gasoline, and medical care. The 2006 
amendment also set the minimum wage for 
tipped workers at $3.02 less than the state 
minimum wage, which equaled $3.83 in 2007.  
The minimum wage for tipped workers was 
$2.13 per hour plus tips before the amendment 
took effect. 
 
 In 2016, Colorado voters again amended 
the state constitution to increase the state 
minimum  wage  from  $8.31 to $9.30 per  hour
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beginning on January 1, 2017, and to increase 
annually thereafter by $0.90 per hour until it 
reaches $12.00 per hour on January 1, 2020.1 
The amendment also requires the rate to be 
adjusted each year thereafter by the increase in 
the CPI.  Colorado law does not allow cities to 
enact minimum wage laws separate from that of 
the state. 
 

 Table 1 shows the Colorado minimum wage 
and tipped employee minimum wage from 2006 
to 2020. 

Table 1  
Colorado State Minimum Wage, 2006-2020 

Effective Year Minimum Wage 
Tipped Employee 
Minimum Wage 

2006 $5.15 $2.13 
2007 $6.85 $3.83 
2008 $7.02 $4.26 
2009 $7.28 $4.26 
2010 $7.24 $4.22 
2011 $7.36 $4.34 
2012 $7.64 $4.62 
2013 $7.78 $4.76 
2014 $8.00 $4.98 
2015 $8.23 $5.21 
2016 $8.31 $5.29 
2017 $9.30 $6.28 
2018* $10.20 $7.18 
2019* $11.10 $8.08 
2020* $12.00 $8.98 

 

Source: Colorado Department of Labor and Employment 
*Wage increases are based on 2016 state constitutional 
amendment (Amendment 70). 

The Division of Labor Standards and 
Statistics, within the Colorado Department of 
Labor and Employment, sets the state’s minimum 
wage each year.  The division adopts a minimum 
wage order that describes which employees are 
covered by federal and state minimum wage 
provisions.   Employers are required to the post 
the Colorado Minimum Wage Order in a 
conspicuous place in all of their establishments.  
The current Colorado Minimum Wage Order, 
which is effective January 1, 2017, through 
December 31, 2017, can be found at the 
following website: 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdle/minimumw
age 
 
 Other states.  As of 2017, 29 states have set 
minimum wage rates higher than the federal rate 
of $7.25 per hour, with rates ranging from $0.25 
to $4.25 above the federal rate.   
 
 Figure 1 shows minimum wage laws for the 
50 states as of July 1, 2017, and indicates states 
that index their state minimum wage rates to a 
measure of inflation, like CPI.  
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
___________________ 
1Colo. Const. art. XVIII, §15 

Figure 1 
State Minimum Wage Laws, July 1, 2017 
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