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Foreword

This booklet provides a brief
summary of Colorado's tax system.
Informationisprovided ontotal statetaxes
and each tax levied by the state. Rankings
on a state-by-state basis are provided for
Colorado's major tax sources to illustrate
how specific taxes compare to similar
taxes levied by other states. When
applicable, federal tax rates are aso
provided.

Revenues collected from a variety of
sources such as license and registration
fees, permit fees, fines, court costs,
interest earnings, Medicaid transfers, and
the Colorado Lottery, are excluded from
this report.

The 2002 version of the Colorado
Tax Handbook was prepared by
Legidative Council Staff. Questions or
comments about the content of this report
may be directed to Ron Kirk at (303) 866-
3521. Thisbookletisaso availableviathe
Internet.
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State Tax Collections FY 2000-01

Graph 1: Total Taxes

Ind. Income (53.3%)

Sales and
Use (26.1%)

Gasoline/Fuels
(7.0%) Cigarette/Tobacco/

/ — Liquor (1.3%)
Corporate |

Income (4.4%)

Unemp. &
Ins. Premiums
Other (4.0%) (3.9%)

Major Tax Source Collections

(in millions)
Individual Income ..................... $4,017.8
SdesandUse .......... i 1,969.1
Gasoling/Fuels. .. ..o 526.1
Corporatelncome ............... oo 329.7
Unemployment/Insurance Premiums . ........ 291.6
Cigarette/Tobacco/Liquor . ................. 97.3
Other ... 304.5
Total State TaxeS . . ..o $7,536.1

Comparison with Other States:

Total State Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax

Hawaii 1 $102.13
U.S. Average n/a $69.52
Colorado 46 $55.29
New Hampshire 50 $45.38

Source: U.S. Census Bureau data for FY 1999-00.
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Table 1: Ten-Year Comparison of Total
Tax Revenues ($in millions)

FY 1990-91 FY 2000-01
Tax
S Revenues gfe-rl.-coetr;: Revenues gfe-rl.-coetr;:

Sdles $779.8 24.6% $1811.2 24.0%
Use 669 2.1% 1579 2.1%
Cigarette 575 1.8% 581 0.8%
Tobacco 39 0.1% 99 0.1%
Liquor 191 0.6% 203 0.4%
Total Excise $927.2 29.2% $2,066.4 27.4%
Individual $1462.4 46.1% $4017.8 533%
Corporate 1150 3.6% 3207 4.4%
Total Income | $1,577.4 49.7% | 43475 57.7%
Efg?pmd $3428 10.8% $526.1 7.0%
Unemp. Ins. 1666 5.29% 1496 2.0%
Insurance 847 2.7% 1420 1.9%
Gaming 00 0.0% 888 1.2%
Estate 153 0.5% 826 1.1%
Workers 288 0.9% 430 0.6%
Comp.

Severance 219 0.7% 689 0.9%
Pari-Mutuel 84 0.3% 6.1 0.1%
a\;?gr??@() 11 0.0% 25 0.0%
g:g‘;ﬂse) 00 0.0% 126 0.2%
Total Other $669.6 211% | $1,122.2 14.9%
Total Tax $31742 | 1000% | $7536.1 | 100.0%

Totals may not sum due to rounding.
Source: State Controller's Office.
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Cigarette Tax

Enacted: 1964.

Citations: Title 39, Article 28, Part 1, C.R.S,,
and Section 39-22-623, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Cigarettes.
Rate: 20 cents per pack of 20.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $58.1 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue.
Wholesalers pay tax on or before the 10" day of
the month following the month of purchase.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Old Age
Pension Fund (85 percent) and the General Fund
(15 percent). Local governments receive 27
percent of the gross proceeds from the tax.

Comparison with Other States:

Cigarette and Tobacco Products
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax

Alaska 1 $2.73
U.S. Average n/a $1.08
Colorado 45 $0.53
Virginia 50 $0.07

Source: U.S. Census Bureau data for FY 1999-00.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002:

LargeCigarettes. . ... ... 71.4 ¢ per pack
Small Cigarettes . . . .. ... 34.0 ¢ per pack

(O 1o 1] 1 (- I GO TSSOSO 3

Estate Tax

Enacted: 1980 (the estate tax replaced the
inheritance tax, which was enacted in 1927).

Citations: Title 39, Article 23.5, C.R.S.
Tax Base: Imposed on the transfer of the taxable
estate of every decessed person who has a

permanent home in Colorado.

Rate: Equalsthefederal estatetax credit for state
death taxes.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $82.6 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue. Taxes
are due on or before the date the federal returnis
required to befiled.

Disposition of Revenue: After requirementsof the
Old Age Pension Fund are satisfied, the remainder
is credited to the General Fund.

Comparison with Other States:

Estate Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax

Wyoming 1 $4.01
U.S. Average n/a $1.03
Colorado 41 $0.48
Alaska 50 $0.14

Source: U.S. Census Bureau datafor FY 1999-00.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002: Thefirst $1 million
of the taxable estate is tax exempt.

Qbbb Estate Tax



Aircraft Fuel Tax

Enacted: 1988.

Citations:  Article X, Section 18, Colorado
Congtitution; Section 39-27-102 (1) (a) (1V);
Sections 39-26-104 and 202, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Gasoline used in genera aviation and
products specially prepared, sold, and used in jet
propelled aircraft, excluding commercial aircraft.

Rates: Vary by fuel type asfollows:

Fuel Tax Rate
Gallonage Tax:
Non-turbo prop and non-jet fuel ....... 6¢ per gallon
Turbo propand jetfuel ............. 4¢ per gallon
State Sales Tax:
Fuel used in interstate, intrastate, and foreign air
transportation . ........... .. ... ... 2.9%
Turbopropandjetfuel ................... 2.9%

FY 2000-01 Collections: $15.1 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue.
Distributors and users pay tax on or before the 25"
day of the month for the preceding month's sales.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Aviation
Fund.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002:

AviagtionFud ........... .. ..., 21.9¢ per galon

AIFCraft FUBL TaX .ot 5

Motor Fuel Tax

Enacted: 1919.

Citations:  Article X, Section 18, Colorado
Constitution; Title 39, Article 27, Part 1, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Gasoline, gasoline blends, and specia
fuelsincluding diesdl, kerosene, liquified petroleum
gases, and natural gas.

Rates: Vary by type of fuel asfollows:

Motor Fuel Tax Rate
Gasoline ............. .ot 22¢ per gallon
Specia Fuels ..................... 20.5¢ per gallon

FY 2000-01 Collections: $526.1 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue.
Distributors and users pay tax on or before the 25"
day of the month for the preceding month's sales.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Highway
Users Tax Fund (HUTF). The General Assembly
appropriates a portion of the receipts, known as
off-the-top deductions, to the Col orado State Patrol
and the Motor Carrier Services Division for
administrative functions and capital construction
projects.  After off-thetop deductions and
adminigtrative expenses, which are limited to 6
percent annual growth, moneys are distributed as
follows:

B bbbt Motor Fuel Tax



First 7 cents
State Highway Fund (65%);
counties (26%); and
cities (9%).

Above 7 cents
State Highway Fund (60%);
counties (22%); and
cities (18%).

Comparison with Other States:

Motor Fuel Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax
Montana 1 $9.69
U.S. Average n/a $3.88
Colorado 32 $4.25
New York 50 $0.85

Source: U.S. Census Bureau data for FY 1999-00.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002:

Gasoline:
gasohol (10%blend) ............ 13.0¢ per gallon
gasoline . ........... ... ... ..., 18.4¢ per gallon
Special Fuels(diesel) .............. 24.4¢ per galon
MOLOr FUET TaX v ssnssssseeenl

Gaming Tax

Enacted: 1991.

Citations: Article XVIII, Section 9, Colorado
Congtitution; Title 12, Article 47.1, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Adjusted Gross Proceeds (AGP).

Rates: Tax rates are set by the Colorado Limited
Gaming Control Commission.

Adjusted Gross Proceeds Tax Rate
$2,000,000aNd1€5S .. ..ot 0.25%
$2,000,001 t0 $4,000,000 . ..o\t 2%
$4,000,001 t0 $5,000,000 . ..o\ 4%
$5,000,001 t0 $10,000,000 . ...\ oo e et 11%
$10,000,001 t0 $15,000,000 ... ....oveerrrnn. .. 16%
$15,000,001L and OVEr .. ..ot 20%

FY 2000-01 Collections (gross): $88.8 million.

Administration: Division of Gaming within the
Department of Revenue. Taxes are collected
monthly and due by the 15" day of the month
following the end of the tax month.

Disposition of Revenue: After administrative
expenses, moneys are credited to the Limited
Gaming Fund. The state congtitution providesthat
moneys in the fund be allocated as follows: 28
percent to the State Historical Fund; 12 percent to
Gilpin and Teller Counties; 10 percent to Central
City, Black Hawk, and Cripple Creek; and the
remaining 50 percent to the General Fund or any
other fund the legidature designates. Moneys for
FY 2000-01 were distributed as follows:
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Distribution FY 2000-01 Amount

(in millions)
State Historical Fund (28.0%) ................ $23.6
Counties (12.0%) . .. oo oo 10.1
Towns (10.0%) ........coiiiiiiiann 8.4
General Fund (37.3%) . ... 314
Local Government Fund (5.5%) .. .............. 4.6
State Highway Fund (6.0%) .. ................ 5.1
Municipal Impact Fund (1.0%) ................ 0.8
Tourism Promotion Fund (0.2%) ............... 0.2
Total Net Distributions (100.0%) . ............. $84.2
Administrative Costs ... ... 4.6
Total Collections . .............. ... ... ... $88.8

Comparison with Other States: Of the eight
statesthat have gaming casinos, only Colorado and
South Dakota have limited stakes gaming.
Colorado's maximum single bet is $5 and South
Dakota's is $100.

GAMING TAX .ttt bbb bbb 9

Corporate Income Tax

Enacted: 1937.

Citations Article X, Sections17 and 19, Colorado
Congtitution; Title 39, Article 22, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Federa taxable income (exceptions
apply to interstate corporations).

Rate: 4.63 percent.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $329.7 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue. Thetax
return is due the 15" day of the fourth month
following the close of the corporation’ sfiscal year.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Generd
Fund.

Tax Credits:

Credit Amount

Alternative fuel —  50% - 85% of differential or

vehicle conversion actual cost.

Alternative fuel — Upto 62.5% of construction

refueling facility or acquisition cost limited to
$400,000 over 5 yrs.

Child carefacilities —  10% of investment in tangible
property.

L0 Corporate Income Tax



Credit

Amount

Colorado coal —
Colorado Works —
Program

Conservation —
easement

Contaminated land —
redevel opment

(municipalities with
apopulation of 10,000)

Cropsor livestock —

Historic preservation —
Low-incomehousng —

New business —
facilities

New investment —

Old investment —

Plastic recycling —

Corporate Income TaX.....c.c.......

$1 per ton purchased in excess
of 1988 purchases.!

20% of employer's expenses.

Fair market value up to
$100,000.

Investment up to $300,000
as follows: 50% of first
$100,000; 30% of next
$100,000; and 20% of next
$100,000.

25% of charitable contribution
up to $1,000.1

20% of costs up to $50,000.
30% of costs.

$50 per new employee and
for each $100,000 of
investment up to 50% of tax
liability.

1% of investment.!

10% of the federal
investment tax credit.*

20% of expenditures up to
$2,000.

Enterprise Zone Credits:

Credit Amount
Economic development —  50% of the contribution up to
plan $100,000 for economic devel -

opment, including promoting
child care, assistance for
homeless persons, or a non-
profit or government-funded
community development

project.?
Investment — 3% of investment.
Job training — 10% of training costs.
New business — $500 for each new employee
facility hired ($2,500 if facility is

located in an enhanced rural
enterprise zone) plus $200
for each employer-paid

health policy.®

New business — $1,000 for each new

agricultural employee hired ($1,500 if

processing facility facility islocated in an
enhanced rura enterprise
zone) .2

Research and — 3% of increased research

devel opment and development costs.

Rehabilitation of —  25% of the cost up to

vacant buildings $50,000 per building at least
20 years old and vacant for
two years.

Rural technology — 10% of investment up to
$100,000 to provide Internet
access.
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Comparison with Other States:

Corporate Income Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax

Alaska 1 $24.76
U.S. Average n/a $4.16
Colorado 36 $2.62
4 States 50 $0.00

Source: U.S. Census Bureau data for FY 1999-00.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002:

Table 2: Corporate Tax Rates

Taxable Income Tax

First $50,000 15 percent

Above: Up to:
$7,500 + 25% for

$50,000 $75,000 amount above $50,000
$13,750 + 34% for

$75,000 $100,000 amount above $75,000
$22,250 + 39% for

$100,000 $335,000 amount above $100,000
$113,900 + 34% for

$335,000 $10,000,000 amount above $335,000
$3,400,000 + 35% for

$10,000,000 $15,000,000 amount above
$10,000,000
$5,150,000 + 38% for

$15,000,000 $18,333,333 amount above
$15,000,000

Over $18,333,333 35 percent

Corporate INCOME TaAX....uorrrrrrerereerirererese st

Individual Income Tax

Enacted: 1937.

Citations:  Article X, Sections 17 and 19,
Colorado Constitution; Title39, Article22, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Coloradotaxableincomeisdetermined
by adding or subtracting the following
modifications from federa taxable income.

Additions:
+ amounts withdrawn from Medicd
Savings Accounts (MSAS);

+ federa deduction for conservation
easements and high tech scholarships
when Colorado credits are claimed:;

+ federa deduction for expenses at
certain clubs;

+ interest income from non-Colorado
state or local bonds;

+  lump-sum distributions from pension
plans; and

+  state income tax included in federd
itemized deductions.

Three of the following modifications are TABOR
refund mechanisms and are only allowed for years
when the TABOR surplus exceeds a certain
amount.

Lo Individual Income Tax



Subtractions:
- capital gainsfrom Colorado sources
(TABOR refund mechanisms):

* assets purchased prior to May 5, 1994,
* assets held for one to five years;

- charitable contributions in excess of $500 for
individuals who claim the federa standard
deduction (TABOR refund mechanism);

- contributions to qualified statetuition
programs,

- contributionsto a state MSA if not claimed as
a deduction on the federal return;

- ganor lossfrom the sale of property having a
higher Colorado basis than federa basis;

- interest, dividend, and capital gains up to
$1,500 and $3,000 for joint returns (TABOR
refund mechanism);

- interest income from state"investment
deposits' up to $20,000;

- marriage penalty of $1,500 (adjustment
applies to a joint return where the federal
standard deduction is claimed);

- pension, annuity, and self-retirement income

for persons 65 and older up to $24,000;
$20,000 for persons age 55-64;

Individual INCOME TaX...ceoiviviriirerereieiiese s 15

- portion of the federal net operating loss all ocated
to Colorado in the taxable year the loss is
sustained (appliesto losses incurred and carried
forward prior to January 1, 1987);

- state income tax refund or credit for
overpayment; and

- United States government interest.

Table 3 lists the TABOR refund mechanisms
(subtractions) and shows the tax years each is
expected to be available.*

Table 3: TABOR Refund Mechanisms
(CY 2001-2006)

TABOR Tax Years Modification Are Available (v)
g'u"tfj ey | ev ey | ey | ev | cv
i 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 2006
Capital
Gains Before v
May 1994
Charitable
Gifts v
> $500
Interest,
Dividends v
and Capital
Gains
Capital
Gains v
1to5 Years

Rate: 4.63 percent.

L6t Individual Income Tax




Alternative minimum tax: Inadditiontothe4.63
percent flat tax, an alternative minimum
tax (AMT) is imposed at a rate of 3.47 percent.
The AMT is imposed on the federal aternative
minimum taxable income after applying Colorado
modifications. The AMT is payable only to the
extent it isin excess of the normal tax.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $4,017.8 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue. Thedue
dateis April 15" unless an extension is granted by
the Department of Revenue.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Generd
Fund.

Tax Credits: Many of the corporate tax credits
are also available to individuals. In addition to
these credits, other individua credits include the
following:

Credit Amount
Child care — 50% of the monetary donation
contribution up to $100,000.

Child care/childtax — Thelarger of up to 50% of the

federal credit claimed or $200
for each qualified child age 5
and under.®

Credit Amount

Child care facilities — 20% of investment in tangible

Colorado minimum
tax

Long-term care

Individual Income Tax

property.
12% of the federal credit.

25% of insurance amount paid
up to $150 per policy.

Livestock —  4.63% of theincome deferred
pursuant to federal law for the
sde of livestock due to
weather-related conditions.

Other state taxes — Percentage based on taxes
paid to another state(s).

School-to-Career — 10% of investment in

Program qualified program.

TABOR Credits: Each of the following credits
partially refund the TABOR surplus.

Earned income — 10% of the federal credit
claimed.
Foster care home — $500 for the operation of each

qualifying home.

Individual development — 25% of the contribution up to

account (IDA) $100,000.

Rural health care — Up to one-third of the
professional student loan amount.

Child care/child tax — Up to 70% of the federal

credit claimed plus $300 for
each qualifying child age 5

and under.®
Child care — $300 for each qualifying home
operator child.
High technology —  25% of the contribution up to
scholarship 15% of tax owed.
Telecommunication — 15% of the contribution
education up to $10,000.
Agriculture Vaue- — The lesser of $15,000 or
Added Cash Fund 50% of investment for each
project up to $100,000 for
all projects.
L8 s Individual Income Tax



Credit Amount Comparison with Other States:

Private health — Amount paid for plan up to Individual Income Tax Collections
benefit plan $500. (per $1,000 income)

The preceding TABOR credits are allowed for

years only when the surplus exceeds a certain State Rank Tax
amount. Table 4 lists the TABOR credits and Oregon 1 $45.72
shows the tax years each is expected to be U.S. Average n/a $25.05
availables Colorado 18 $28.42
7 States 50 $0.00

Table 4: TABOR Credits Source: U.S. Census Bureau datafor FY 1999-00.

(CY 2001-2006)
Federal Income Tax Rates for 2002:

Tax Years Credits Are Available (v')
TABOR Table 5: Federal Tax Rates
Credit cy |cy | ey | cy | cy | cy
2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006
Single Filers Tax is:
Earned -
T 4 4 4 First $6,000 10 percent
Fost Above: Up to:
oster
0,
Care / $6,000 $27,950 ﬁg\?egfoggor amount
0,
IDA 4 $27.950 $67.700 ﬁ(,)f\i/%%; 722?:) for amount
Rural 0,
Prof. v $67,700 $141,250 2;3;22;’6; ?;%g’ for amount
Child $36,690 + 35% for amount
Care v $141,250 $307.050 [ ove $141,250
$94,720 + 38.6% for amount
High y Over $307,050 above $307,050
Tech Sch. X X -
Married Filers Tax is:
Eg‘ecom- First $12,000 10 percent
u.
Above: Up to:
Ag. Val 9
g. Value v $12,000 $46,700 2;(,)%%0;1 21% g:) for amount
Health o
Plan 4 $46,700 $112,850 ﬁéﬁf’gg;&fm amount
0,
$112,850 $171,950 igg\'iﬁgﬂggggm amount
0,
$171,950 $307,050 %é\,zggl;lsggafor amount
$89,281 + 38.6% for amount
Over $307,050 above $307,050
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Personal Exemption: $3,000.

Basic Standard Deduction:

Filing Status Amount
Head of household . ................ $6,900
Married filing jointly &

SUrVivingspouse . ............... $7,850
Married filing separately ............ $3,925
Single ... $4,700

Source: Commerce Clearing House, U.S. Master Tax Guide.

Individual INCOME TaX......coiveveiiieriiieeee e 21

Insurance Premiums Tax

Enacted: 1913.

Citations: Sections 10-3-209, 10-3.5-105,
10-5-111, and 10-6-128, C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the gross
amount of al premiums.

Rates: Vary by type of company and insurance as
follows:

Company/Insurance Type Tax Rate
Captive companies . ............. minimum of $5,000
Companies maintaining a

home officeinColorado .. .................. 1%
Other companiesnot exempted ... .............. 2%
Surpluslineinsurance ....................... 3%

FY 2000-01 Collections: $142.0 million.

Administration: Division of Insurance,
Department of Regulatory Agencies. Taxes are
due March 1% for the preceding calendar year.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Generd
Fund.

Tax Credit: Applied toward the state insurance
premiums tax due.

Credit Amount
Certified Capital — Up to 10% annually for
Companies each investment of

certified capital in
capital companies
(CAPCOs).

22 s Insurance Premiums Tax



Comparison with Other States:

Insurance Premiums Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax

West Virginia 1 $2.67
U.S. Average n/a $1.26
Colorado 40 $1.02
Oregon 50 $0.49

Source: U.S. Census Bureau datafor FY 1999-00.
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Liquor Tax

Enacted: 1935.
Citations: Section 12-47-503, C.R.S.
Tax Base: Alcoholic beverages.

Rates: Vary by type of beverage asfollows:

Beverage Tax Rate
Beer ... 8.00¢ per gallon
Colorado vinous liquors

(19,000 liters) . ... 13.33¢ per liter
Hardcider ....................... 8.00¢ per gallon
Maltliquors ........ ... .. ... .. ... 8.00¢ per gallon
Other vinousliquors . ................ 8.33¢ per liter
Spirituousliquors .. ................ 60.26¢ per liter
Exemptions:

—  fermented malt beverages or vinous liquor
made for family use (not for sale);

— sacramental wines sold and used for
religious purposes,

— up to one galon of an acoholic beverage
brought from aforeign country; and

— wines sold at public auctions.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $29.3 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue. Taxes
are due (from the manufacturer or first wholesaler)
on the 20" day of each month for the preceding
month's sales.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Old Age
Pension Fund and the Genera Fund. A portion of
the excise taxes (surcharges) on wines

2t Liquor Tax



is credited to the Colorado Wine Industry
Development Fund.

Comparison with Other States:

Liquor Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax
South Carolina 1 $1.41
U.S. Average n/a $0.53
Colorado 43 $0.21
Wyoming 50 $0.09

Source: U.S. Census Bureau datafor FY 1999-00.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002:

Beer (any acohol content) .......... $18.00 per barrel
(about 33¢ per 6-pack)
Distilled spirits .............. $13.50 per proof gallon
Hardcider ...................... $0.226 per gallon
Wines:
14% or less acohol ......... $1.07 per wine gallon
14%to 21%alcohol ......... $1.57 per wine gallon
21%to 24% acohol . ........ $3.15 per wine gallon
Artificialy carbonated
wine ......... ... $3.30 per wine gallon
Champagne and other
sparklingwines .......... $3.40 per wine gallon
LIQUOT TX1tettiiicieieie ittt 25

Pari-Mutuel Racing Tax

Enacted: 1947.

Citations: Title 12, Article 60, Part 7, C.R.S.
Tax Base: Grossreceiptsfrom wagering on horse
and greyhound racing events (handle) prior to the

distribution of the winnings.

Rates and Disposition of Revenue: Vary by
event asfollows:

Distribution and Event Tax Rate

Distribution to the General Fund:
Greyhound - Simulcast and Live

alwagers . ... 4.5%
Horse Racing - Simulcast

alwagers ... i 0.75%
Horse Racing - Live, the greater of:

alwagers . ... 0.75%

perraceday . ... $2,500

Distribution to CSU School of Veterinary Medicine (to be
used for equine research):
Horse Racing - Simulcast
al "exotic" wagers . ... 0.25%

Held in escrow for the Horse Owners and Breeders Fund:
Horse Racing - Simulcast
all "win, place, or show" wagers ....... 0.50%
al "exotic" wagers . ... 1.50%

FY 2000-01 Collections: $6.1 million.

26 s Pari-Mutuel Racing Tax



Administration: Department of Revenue.
Operators must remit taxes on the day of the event.
Horse breeders fund moneys are remitted on the
15" day of each month for the preceding month's
events. Distributionsto CSU are due on the 10" of
each month, for the preceding month.

Comparison with Other States:

Pari-Mutuel Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax
Montana 1 $0.23
U.S. Average n/a $0.04
Colorado 15 $0.05
15 States 50 $0.00

Source: U.S. Census Bureau datafor FY 1999-00.
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Passenger-Mile Tax

Enacted: 1931.
Citations: Section 42-3-134 (21), C.R.S.

Tax Base: Passenger milestraveled by passenger
buses with a capacity of 15 or more passengers.

Rates: One mill for each passenger mile traveled
($0.001 multiplied by the number of passengers
multiplied by the number of Colorado miles).

In lieu of the passenger-mile tax, a temporary
certificate of public convenience and necessity can
be obtained for a $7.50 fee. Passenger buses
registered in another state making occasiona trips
to Colorado may obtain atrip permit for a$18.75
fee or the amount of the passenger-mile tax due,
whichever is greater.

Exemptions: Thetax doesnot apply to passenger
service rendered within a city, city and county, or
incorporated town by a company that engages in
the masstransit of persons by bus or trolley coach.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $0.6 million.”

Administration: Department of Revenue. A
quarterly tax return is due on the last day of the
month for the preceding quarter.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenuesarecreditedto
the Highway Users Tax Fund.
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Sales and Use Tax

Enacted: Sales Tax, 1935; Use Tax, 1937.

Citations: Title39, Article 26, Part 1 (Sales Tax),
Part 2 (Use Tax), C.R.S.

Tax Base: Gross receipts from sales of tangible
personal property and alimited number of services
and from charges or costs of storing, using,
or consuming articlesof tangible persona property
purchased at retail.

Rate: 2.9 percent.

Exemptions: Since 1935, 62 types of sales/use
tax exemptions have been enacted. These
exemptionsreduced tax revenuesby $502.8 million
in FY 2000-01. The following 11 types of sdes
accounted for 94 percent of the tota revenue
impact.®

Exemptions Revenue Impact

(in millions)
Food for off-premises consumption ........... $186.2
Gasolineand specia fuel ..................... 99.6
Fuel for residential heat, light, and power ....... 39.3
Prescriptiondrugs . ............o .., 28.9
Governmental units .. ........ .. e 28.0
Cigarettes . ...t 26.4
Machinery or tools used in manufacturing.. . ..... 245
Salesto charitable organizations .............. 21.6
Energy used for industry or manufacturing. ... ... 6.8
Certain medical supplies and equipment ......... 5.7
Printersink and newsprint . . .................. 5.5
Subtotal ... $472.5
Othertypesofsales . ........................ 30.3
Total Revenue Impact of Exemptions . ....... $502.8

FY 2000-01 Collections: Sales; $1,811.2
million; Use: $157.9 million.
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Administration: Department of Revenue. State
sales and use taxes are collected by merchants
when a transaction occurs. Whenever taxes due
are $300 or more, the tax is paid monthly on the
20" day of the following month. Taxpayers with
liabilities less than $300 per month pay quarterly
and the tax is paid by the 20" day after the quarter
ends. Wholesalers file annually. Retailers are
entitled to retain 3.33 percent of the taxes to cover
collection expenses.

Disposition of Revenue: Old Age Pension Fund,
asrequired by the Colorado Congtitution; General
Fund; and the Highway Users Tax Fund.

Comparison with Other States:

State Sales and Use Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax

Hawaii 1 $47.05
U.S. Average n/a $22.47
Colorado 42 $14.45
5 States 50 $0.00

Source: U.S. Census Bureau data for FY 1999-00.
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Severance Tax

Enacted: 1977.

Citations: Title 39, Article 29, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The severance tax is imposed on the
production or extraction of metalic minerals,
molybdenum, oil and gas, il shale, and coal.

Rates: Vary by mineral type asfollows:

Mineral, Ore, or Other Tax Rate

Coal (assessed on tons per quarter):

First 300,000tons  .............c.c...... exempt

Over 300,000t0NS .. ... vvveen .. $0.54 per ton
Metallic Minerals (assessed on gross income):

First $19 million ...................... exempt

Over $19million ....................... 2.25%
Molybdenum:

First 625,000toNS . ..........ovin.... exempt

Over 625,000toNs . ........ccovveiinn. 5¢ per ton

Oil and Gas (assessed on net producer gains):
15 barrels or less per day (oil) or 90,000 cubic feet or

less (gas) per producingday  ............. exempt
Under $25,000 . ... 2%
$25,000-$99,999 .......... $500 + 3% over $25k
$100,000 - $299,999 ..... $2,750 + 4% over $100k
Over $300,000 .......... $10,750 + 5% over $300k

Oil Shale (gross proceeds; based on years of operation
beginning 180 days after production):
First 15,000 tons per day or the first 10,000 barrels per

day, whichever isgreater ............. exempt
Firstyear . ... 1%
SeCONd YEAr .« ..ot it 2%
Thirdyear ......... .. ... i 3%
Fourthyear ............ ... .. .. ......... 4%

FY 2000-01 Collections: $68.9 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue. Taxes
are collected annually on or beforethe 15" day of
the fourth month following the end of the taxable
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year, except for molybdenum which must be filed
by the 15" day of the month following the end of a
quarter.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the State
Severance Tax Fund, Loca Government Severance
Tax Fund, and General Fund (percentagesvary by
mineral type or fudl).

Tax Credits:

Credit Amount

Coal — 50% of tax liahility for coal
produced by underground
mines and for lignitic coal .

Impact assistance  — Contributions to local
governmentsto mitigate social
and economic impacts of
development activities.

Metallic minerals — Up to 50% of tax liability
toward property taxes paid.

Oil and gas — 87.5% of al property taxes

paid (somerestrictionsapply).

Comparison with Other States:

Severance Fuel Tax Collections
(per $1,000 income)

State Rank Tax
Alaska 1 $40.01
U.S. Average n/a $0.56
Colorado 19 $0.25
16 States 50 $0.00

Source: U.S. Census Bureau datafor FY 1999-00.
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Specific Ownership Tax

Enacted: 1937.

Citations:  Article X, Section 6, Colorado
Congtitution; Title 42, Article 3, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Motor vehicles operated on any
highway in the state.

Rates: Vary by Class A, B, or C and age of
vehicle as follows:®

Vehicle Class and Age Tax Rate
Trucks (A & B) and passenger motor vehicles (C):
year 2.10%
2YVear L 1.50%
year L 1.20%
Ahyear L. 0.90%
51h _ glh year:
trucks ....... the greater of 0.45% or $10.00
passenger motor vehicles . ........... 0.45%
10"yearandover ....................... $3

Above percentages are applied as follows:

Trucks:
empty wt. >16,0001bs. . . ... actual purchase price
empty wt. 16,000 Ibsor less .. ... 75% of MSRP
Passenger motor vehicles ............ 85% of MSRP
Exemptions:

— farm tractors and implements used in
agricultural operations,

— firefighting and police ambulances and
patrol wagons;

— mobile homes;
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— mobile machinery and sdf-propelled
construction equipment not operated on
highwaysiif the equipment is listed with and
assessed by the county assessor;

— one Class B and one Class C vehicle
weighing less than 6,500 pounds owned by
adisabled veteran or P.O.W.

— U.S. and Colorado government vehicles
including vehicles leased by the state; and

— vehicles displaying plates issued by the
U.S. Armed Forces in a foreign country
(45-day exemption).

FY 2000-01 Collections: $12.1 million state;
$399.4 million local government revenue for CY
2000.%°

Administration: ClassA vehicletaxes(interstate
commercial carriers) are collected by the
Colorado Department of Revenue and are due no
later than January 1% of each year. Counties
collect taxes for al other motor vehicles classes,
which are due at the time of registration each
year.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue from Class A
vehiclesis apportioned to the counties according
to the number of miles of state highways within
their jurisdiction. Revenuesfrom all other vehicle
classes are collected by counties and apportioned
annually among the county and each political
subdivision located within the county based upon
the proportion of property taxes levied within the
county during the preceding calendar year.
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Tobacco Products Tax

Enacted: 1986.

Citations: Title 39, Article 28.5, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Smoking and chewing tobaccos, such
as cigars, pipe tobacco, cheroots, snuff, and plug
or twist tobacco. Cigarettes are excluded.
Rates: Twenty percent of the manufacturer's list
priceor theinvoice price paid by the distributor to
amanufacturer or supplier.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $9.9 million.

Administration: Department of Revenue.
Distributors must file a "Tobacco Products Tax
Return" on a quarterly basis. The return and tax
payment must be filed by the 20" day of the
month following the reporting quarter.
Distributers are entitled to retain 3.33 percent of
taxes to cover collections.

Disposition of Revenue: Creditedtothe Old Age
Pension Fund (85 percent) and the General Fund
(15 percent). After the requirements of the Old
Age Pension Fund are satisfied, the remainder is
credited to the General Fund.

Comparison with Other States: See cigarettes.

Federal Tax Rates for 2002:

ChewingTobacco .................. 17¢ per pound
Cigars
Large (more than 3 |bs. per 1,000):
12.75% of wholesale capped at $30 per 1,000
Small (3 Ibs. or less per 1,000):
$1.59 to $42.50 per 1,000

PipeTobacco .................. 95.67¢ per pound
Snuff ... 51¢ per pound
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Unemployment Insurance Tax

Enacted: 1936.

Citations: Title 8, Article 76, and Section 8-70-
103 (26), C.R.S.

Tax Base: Thefirst $10,000 of annua earnings
paid by public and private employers to
employees.

Rates: Based on employer history and balancein
the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.

FY 2000-01 Collections: $149.6 million.

Employer Tax Rate

Regular rates (based on the history of benefits paid to the
employer's former employees relative to taxes paid):

First-year employers ................. 1.70%
Other employers . .............. 0.0% to 5.4%
Solvency tax™ . ... 0.000% to 0.006%
Surchargetaxrate ...................... 0.22%

Administration: Divison of Employment and
Training, Department of Labor and Employment.
Employers pay taxes quarterly for each calendar
year the employer is subject to the tax.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the
Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.

Tax Credit:2

Credit Amount
Employer surcharge/ — 20% of taxes
wage otherwise due on

taxable wages.
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Workers' Compensation Tax

Enacted: 1945.

Citations: Title 8, Article 46, Part 1, C.R.S. -
Subsequent Injury Fund; Part 2, C.RS. -
Colorado Major Medica Insurance Act.

Tax Base: Insurance premiums paid by persons,
partnerships, associations, corporations, captive
insurance companies/carriers, and employers
acting as self insurerswho insure their employees
against liability for personal injury or death.

Rates and Disposition of Revenue: Annualy
adjusted. The total tax, with surcharges,
beginning July 1, 2001, is 3.818 percent and
distributed as follows:

Distribution Tax Rate or Surcharge

Premium Cost Containment Fund:*

assessed on premiums .. ... ... ... ... 0.030%
Subsequent Injury and Major Medical Insurance Fund:
$15,000 per death and
assessed on premiums . ... ... ... ... 2.318%
Workers Compensation Cash Fund:
assessed on premiums . ... ... ... ... 1.470%
Total assessedonpremiums. .. ............. 3.818%

FY 2000-01 Collections: $43.0 million.

Administration:  Department of Labor and
Employment, Division of Workers Compensation
Employer Services. Taxes are paid biannually
and are due 30 days after the close of the
employment periods (January 1 through June 30,
and July 1 through December 31).
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End Notes

10.

11

12.

13.

Credit is only available to corporations.

Credits for contributions toward nonprofit or
government-funded community development projects
become available January 1, 2003.

Credits that apply to facilities in enhanced rural
enterprise zones become available January 1, 2003.
Auvailability is based on the June 2002 L CSforecast.
Thetax year isthe year for which taxes are owed.
This credit is subject to income limitations.

See End Note 4.

Collection amount is excluded from Table 1 in this
report because a portion of these revenues is fee-
based.

List of exemptions include only those that had a
revenueimpact in excessof $5.0 million (Department
of Revenue estimates).

For tax purposes, a truck, truck tractor, trailer, or
semitrailer that is classfied as an interstate
commercia carrier and used to transport persons or
property over public highwaysin the stateisa Class
A motor vehicle. Trucks not included in Class A
(non-interstate commercial carriers) are Class B
motor vehicles. Passenger automobiles are Class C
motor vehicles. Utility and camper trailers and
certain mobile machinery are Class D and F motor
vehicle types and are not included in this report.
Thereisno longer a Class E category.

Collection amounts are excluded from revenues in
Table 1 of this report because counties and loca
governments within a county's jurisdiction retain the
revenues generated from the tax.

Based on the June 2002 L CS forecast, the solvency
tax will be effectivein CY's 2003, 2004, and 2005.
Even though this tax credit was recently made
permanent by House Bill 02-1401, it is triggered by
the balance in the Unemployment Insurance Trust
Fund. Based onthe June 2002 L CSforecast, thistax
credit will be available in CY's 2001, 2002, 2006,
and 2007. It will not be available in CY's 2003,
2004, and 2005.

Self-insured employers can opt-out of thissurcharge
and pay atotal rate equal to 3.788 percent.
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