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Gun control is a much studied and debated
topic. Proponents of gun control argue that the
availability of firearms is directly linked to gun
deaths and injury, especially in situations of
domestic violence. Opponents counter that crime
victims who defend themselves with guns are
less likely to be injured or killed, and that gun
possession is a civil right, guaranteed by the
U.S. Constitution.

Public support for restrictions on the sale of
firearms decreased from a high of 78 percent in
the early 1990s to 43 percent in 2009, according
to Gallup's annual Crime Poll. In 2013,
49 percent of the public supported restrictions.
Federal and state laws impose requirements on
gun sellers, buyers, and owners. This issue brief
discusses some of those requirements as they
relate to Colorado citizens.

Ineligibility to Sell, Transfer, or Possess a
Firearm

Federal law. Federal law prohibits the
following individuals from possessing, receiving,
shipping, or transporting firearms or ammunition:

» those convicted of (or under indictment
for) crimes punishable by a term of
imprisonment of more than one year;

» fugitives from justice;

+ U.S. citizens who have renounced their
citizenship;

* illegal aliens;

* unlawful users of certain controlled
substances;

» those adjudicated as mental defectives or
incompetents or those committed to any
mental institution;

* those dishonorably discharged from the
armed forces

* any person subject to a court order
restraining that person from harassing,
stalking, or threatening an intimate
partner; and

* those convicted in any court of a
misdemeanor or felony crime of domestic
violence.

Federal law prohibits the sale of all firearms
and ammunition to individuals under the age of
18. The sale of shotguns and rifles (and related
ammunition) is permitted to individuals who are at
least 18 years old. Dealers are prohibited from
selling all other types of firearms and ammunition
to individuals under the age of 21.

Colorado law. Colorado law permits
firearms to be sold to purchasers in another
state, or purchased in Colorado from another
state, so long as the transactions comply with
federal law and the laws of the purchasing and
selling states. Colorado restricts ownership of
firearms and ammunition for persons subject to
certain civil or mandatory protection orders and
those convicted of certain offenses with an
underlying domestic violence component.

Large-capacity magazines. Large-capacity
magazines are those that can accept more than
15 rounds of ammunition or 28 inches of shotgun
shells. It is a misdemeanor to sell, transfer, or
possess large-capacity magazines in Colorado.
Itis a felony to use a large-capacity magazine in
the commission of a felony or violent crime.
Individuals may continue to possess
large-capacity magazines owned on or before
July 1, 2013.
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Background Checks

Background checks by federally licensed
firearms dealers. The federal Brady Handgun
Violence Prevention Act of 1993 (Brady Act)
requires federally licensed firearms dealers to
request a background check on individuals who
attempt buy or transfer a firearm. The Brady Act
requires that dealers be able to receive
requested background information immediately.

The Federal Bureau of Investigation's (FBI)
Justice Information Services Division processes
background checks for gun purchases and
transfers through the National Instant Criminal
Background Check System (NICS). The NICS
processes background checks for firearms
dealers by telephone or over the Internet. It
should take approximately 30 seconds for a
dealer to learn whether the transfer of a firearm
will violate state or federal law.

Thirty states currently use the NICS to
conduct all background checks. Thirteen states,
including Colorado, have agencies that act on
behalf of the NICS in a point-of-contact (POC)
capacity. The POC states agree to implement
and maintain their own NICS programs and
conduct background checks for firearm transfers
by electronically accessing the NICS. In
Colorado, the POC is the Colorado Bureau of
Investigation's (CBI) Instacheck Unit. The CBlis
required by statute to charge a fee for performing
the background checks. Seven states have a
partial POC arrangement with the FBI; where the
state agency performs background checks for
handgun purchases and the FBI performs checks
for long gun (shotgun and rifle) purchases.

Background checks by those other than
federally licensed dealers. Since 2013
Colorado has required background checks on
firearm transfers by any person who is not a
licensed gun dealer. The firearm transferor must
arrange for a licensed dealer to perform the
background check. The licensed dealer may
charge a fee up to $10 for the service.

Concealed Carry Permits

Permit criteria. Forty-eight states, including
Colorado, require individuals who wish to carry a
concealed weapon to obtain a permit." Colorado

1Alaska and Vermont do not require a permit to carry a
concealed handgun.

law requires sheriffs to issue a permit to any
applicant who meets all of the specified criteria.
The applicant must:

* be a legal resident of Colorado;

* be at least 21 years old;

* be eligible under state and federal laws to
possess a firearm;

* not have a conviction for perjury relating
to information provided or deliberately
omitted on a permit application;

» not chronically or habitually use alcoholic
beverages to the extent that normal
faculties are impaired;

* not be an unlawful user of or addicted to
a controlled substance;

* not be subject to a protection order; and

» demonstrate competence with a handgun
through certification as a firearms safety
instructor, participation in organized
shooting competitions, current military
service, certain prior military or law
enforcement service, or by completing a
handgun safety course not held entirely
online.

Duties of the sheriff. Sheriffs may deny,
revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a permit if the
sheriff has a reasonable belief that documented
previous behavior by the applicant makes it likely
the applicant will present a danger to himself or
herself or others if he or she is issued a permit. A
sheriff may suspend a permit if the permittee no
longer meets the specified criteria or becomes a
danger to himself or herself or to others.

Permit Renewal. Colorado permits are valid
for five years and may be renewed any time
within 120 days of the expiration date.
Permittees must remain qualified with regard to
the previously listed criteria at all times. Permits
may not be renewed six months or more past the
expiration date.

Reciprocity. An individual in Colorado may
use a concealed carry permit issued by a state
that recognizes the validity of Colorado permits if
that individual is currently a resident of the
issuing state or has lived in Colorado for no more
than 90 days.’

2States that recognize Colorado permits are: Alabama,
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia,
Idaho, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New
Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota,
Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas,
Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.



