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by Mistia Zuckerman

This issue brief examines the specific
ownership tax, which was enacted in 1937 and is
contained in Article X, Section 6, of the Colorado
Constitution. This ad valorum tax is based on the
value of the vehicle and paid each year that a
vehicle is registered. It is imposed on cars,
trucks, trailers, mobile homes, and special mobile
machinery operated on Colorado highways. The
taxable values, vehicle classes, and tax rates for
the specific ownership tax are established in state
law, but the tax is collected by each county.

Ad Valorem Taxes

Ad valorum taxes include both real property
taxes and taxes on motor vehicles. Ad valorem
is derived from the Latin term ad valentiam, which
means "according to the value." This type of tax
is charged as a percentage of the value of the
product. Property taxes, fees on motor vehicles,
and duties on imported goods are all examples of
ad valorem taxes. Colorado's specific ownership
tax is a type of ad valorem tax. Many states
impose a recurring, value-based tax or fee on
motor vehicles, but Colorado is the only state that
uses the term specific ownership tax.

Ad valorum taxes are different from sales
taxes in a number of ways. While sales taxes are
transactional taxes that are imposed only at the
time of transaction, ad valorem taxes are usually
recurring. Sales taxes are often built into the total
purchase price for motor vehicles, which often
includes the Manufacturer's Suggested Retail
Price (MSRP), dealer destination charges,
preparation costs, and other fees. The sales tax
is collected by the retailer at the time of the
purchase from the creditor who finances the
transaction and is then remitted to the state by

the retailer. By contrast, the specific ownership
tax is paid annually and collected by counties for
all classes of vehicles except Class A, which are
collected by the Department of Revenue (DOR).

Determining the Specific Ownership Tax

Two calculations are necessary to determine
the specific ownership tax. The first calculation
uses the purchase price or MSRP to find the
taxable value. The second calculation uses the
year of registration to find the tax rate.

The value of the vehicle. |In order to impose
a value-based tax, the value of the property must
first be determined. Colorado bases its formula
on either the MSRP or the purchase price,
depending on the class of vehicle. State law
defines six different classes of vehicles. Table 1
lists these six different vehicle classes, describes
the type of motor vehicle that makes up each
class, and gives the taxable value calculation.

Tax rate. The tax rates for trucks, trailers,
and semi-trailers depend on the vehicle's weight
when it is empty. For example, tax rates for
Class A and B trucks with an empty weight
greater than 16,000 pounds are applied to the
actual purchase price, whereas rates for trucks
weighing 16,000 pounds or less are applied to
75 percent of the MSRP. For passenger motor
vehicles in Class C and trailers in Class D, tax
rates are applied to 85 percent of the MSRP.
The taxable values of farm and construction
equipment in Class F are based on a number of
factors, including whether it is driven on a
Colorado highway, whether it is used only for
agriculture, and if the MSRP is available."

'Section 42-3-104 (3) C.R.S.
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Table 1

Taxable Value by Motor Vehicle Class

Class Description

Taxable Value

persons or property over public highways

A Truck, truck tractor, trailer, or semitrailer classified as an
interstate commercial carrier and used to transport

< 16,000 Ibs. = 75% of MSRP
> 16,001 Ibs. = actual purchase price

property over public highways in the state

B Truck, truck tractor, trailer, or semitrailer classified for
personal use and not used to transport persons or

< 16,000 Ibs. = 75% of MSRP
> 16,001 Ibs. = actual purchase price

(largely passenger vehicles)

Cc Motor vehicles not included in Class A or Class B

85% of MSRP

trailer coach

D Utility trailer, camper trailer, multipurpose trailer, and

85% of MSRP

F Special mobile machinery not used for agricultural
purposes and self-propelled construction equipment

85% of MSRP if available or 100% of its
original retail delivered price to the customer

Source: Sections 42-3-106 and 42-3-107, C.R.S.

The year of registration. Because the value
of the vehicle depreciates with time, the specific
ownership tax rate decreases with the age of the
vehicle. Once the taxable value for the vehicle is
determined, it is necessary to look at the year of
registration. Table 2 illustrates the tax rate per
year of registration as defined by Colorado law.?

Table 2
Tax Rates by Year of Registration

Year Classes A-C Class D Class F
1 2.10% 2.10% 2.10%
2 1.50% 1.50% 1.50%
3 1.20% 1.20% 1.25%
4 0.90% 0.90% 1.00%
5 0.45 or $10* 0.45% 0.75%
6-9 0.45% or $10* 0.45% | 0.50% or $5*
10 + $3 0.45% or $3* | 0.50% or $5*

Source: Section 42-3-107, C.R.S.
*whichever is greater

Calculating the specific ownership tax.
Once the class of vehicle and the registration
year are known, it is possible to calculate the
specific ownership tax. For example, the taxable
value of a family car would be calculated at
85 percent of the MSRP because itis a Class C
vehicle (see Table 1). If it had an MSRP of
$30,000, the following calculation would be
applied to find the taxable value:

$30,000 MSRP x 0.85 = $25,500

2Section 42-3-107, C.R.S.

If this is the vehicle's second year of
registration, the taxable value is then multiplied
by a tax rate of 1.5 percent (see Table 2) to
determine the specific ownership tax.

$25,500 x 0.015 = $382.50

This calculation results in a specific
ownership tax of $382.50 for the given vehicle for
that particular year of registration.

Exemptions. Current law exempts vehicles
owned by governments, farm tractors and
implements of husbandry primarily used in
agricultural operations, and special mobile
machinery not operated on public roads from the
tax. For some classes of vehicles, exemptions
are also available for the following persons:

* a member of the Armed Forces who is
currently serving under orders in
Colorado;

* a veteran receiving compensation from
the Veterans Administration for a
50 percent or more, service-connected,
permanent disability;

* amember of the Armed Forces who was
incarcerated by an enemy of the
United States during armed conflict or
who survived the attack on Pearl Harbor;
and

e a Purple Heart or Medal of Valor
recipient.
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