

# CRIME CLASSIFICATION GUIDE

# A LISTING OF STATUTORY CRIMES AND TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS IN COLORADO

Colorado Legislative Council Research Publication No. 499 April 2002

This guide is a compilation of statutory crimes in Colorado. For each offense, a brief description of the elements of the crime and the statutory citation are provided. The compilation of crimes is organized in two parts as follows:

#### CRIMES LISTED BY LEVEL OF OFFENSE

#### **CRIMES LISTED BY CRIME TYPE**

The sentencing scheme for felonies, misdemeanors, petty offenses, and traffic infractions is listed at the beginning of each of those sections in the first part of this compilation. The crimes in the second part of the compilation are listed by C.R.S. title. The crimes in Title 18 are further divided into categories such as: Offenses Against Persons, Offenses Against Property, etc.

To help locate a particular classification of offenses in the first part of the compilation, the bottom of each page is identified with an abbreviation of the classification. For example, 1F is used for Class 1 Felonies, 1M for Class 1 Misdemeanors, and TI for Traffic Infractions.

This guide will be periodically updated. Any comments or suggestions for improvement or correction are appreciated and will be given consideration for the next publication. The list of offenses is current through the 2001 legislative session.

#### CRIMES LISTED BY LEVEL OF OFFENSE

#### **FELONIES**

Class 1 Felonies

Class 2 Felonies

Class 3 Felonies

Class 4 Felonies

Class 5 Felonies

Class 6 Felonies

Unclassified Felonies

#### **MISDEMEANORS**

Class 1 Misdemeanors

Class 2 Misdemeanors

Class 3 Misdemeanors

**Unclassified Misdemeanors** 

#### **PETTY OFFENSES**

Class 1 and 2 Petty Offenses

#### **UNCLASSIFIED OFFENSES**

#### TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS

Class A and Class B Traffic Infractions



[State Home Page | Colorado General Assembly | Legislative Agencies ]

#### **FELONIES**

This section contains a current listing of felony offenses. Felony offenses are categorized as follows: class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, class 5, class 6, and unclassified felonies. The penalty for the commission of a certain felony offense depends on its classification. The penalty scheme for felonies is indicated in Table 1 below.

Table 1: Sentencing Scheme for Felonies Committed on or After July 1, 1993

Class of Crime	Minimum Sentence	Maximum Sentence	Mandatory, Parole
Class 1	Life Imprisonment	Death	Cast of Casterina (Casterina (Cas
Class 2	8 years \$5,000 fine	24 years \$1,000,000	5 years
Class 3 (extraordinary risk of harm*)	4 years \$3,000 fine	16 years \$750,000	5 years
Class 3	4 years \$3,000 fine	12 years \$750,000	5 years
Class 4 (extraordinary risk of harm*)	2 years \$2,000 fine	8 years \$500,000	3 years
Class 4	2 years \$2,000 fine	6 years \$500,000	3 years
Class 5 (extraordinary risk of harm*)	1 year \$1,000 fine	4 years \$100,000	2 years
Class 5	1 year \$1,000 fine	3 years \$100,000	2 years
Class 6 (extraordinary risk of harm*)	1 year \$1,000 fine	2 years \$100,000	1 year
Class 6	1 year \$1,000 fine	18 mos \$100,000	1 year

<sup>\*</sup>Felony crimes that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society include the following: sexual assault or first degree sexual assault as it existed prior to 7/1/2000; second degree sexual assault as it existed prior to 7/1/2000; second degree sexual assault as it existed prior to 7/1/2000; unlawful sexual contact or third degree sexual assault as it existed prior to 7/1/2000; sexual assault on a child; sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust; sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist; aggravated incest; aggravated robbery; child abuse; unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale, or possession of a controlled substance; any §16-11-309 crime of violence; and stalking.

It is important to note that not all persons convicted of a felony offense receive a sentence to prison. Colorado law authorizes many alternatives to prison including deferred prosecution; deferred sentencing; probation; and community corrections.

The crimes in this listing are grouped according to the statutory title in which they appear. In addition, those crimes that appear in Title 18 are further designated by their article. For example, crimes in Article 3 of Title 18 are identified as "Offenses Against the Person."

All listings are current through 2001 session laws.

# **CLASS 1 FELONIES**

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation	
Offe	enses A	Against Persons	
1.	<b>Mur</b> degre	der in the first degree. A person commits the class 1 felony of murder in the first ee if:	18-3-102
	a)	After deliberation and with the intent to cause the death of a person other than himself, he causes the death of that person or of another person; or	(1) (a)
•	b)	Acting either alone or with one or more persons, he commits or attempts to commit arson, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, sexual assault in the first or second degree as prohibited by section 18-3-402 or 18-3-403, or a class 3 felony for sexual assault on a child as provided in section 18-3-405 (2), or the crime of escape as provided in section 18-8-208, and, in the course of or in furtherance of the crime that he is committing or attempting to commit, or of immediate flight therefrom, the death of a person, other than one of the participants, is caused by anyone; or	(1) (b)
	c)	By perjury or subornation of perjury he procures the conviction and execution of any innocent person; or	(1) (c)
	d)	Under circumstances evidencing an attitude of universal malice manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life generally, he knowingly engages in conduct which creates a grave risk of death to a person or persons other than himself, and thereby causes the death of another; or	(1) (d)
	e)	He commits unlawful distribution, dispensation, or sale of a controlled substance to a person under the age of eighteen years on school grounds as provided in section 18-18-407 (2), and the death of such person is caused by the use of such controlled substance; or	(1) (e)
	f)	The person knowingly causes the death of a child who has not yet attained twelve years of age and the person committing the offense is one in a position of trust with respect to the victim.	(1) (f)
2.	muro office	t degree murder of a peace officer or fireman. A person who commits der in the first degree, as defined in section 18-3-102, and the victim is a peace or or fireman engaged in the performance of his duties, commits the felony crime rst degree murder of a peace officer or fireman.	18-3-107 (1)
3.	inten up ar	t degree kidnapping. Any person who does any of the following acts with the thereby to force the victim or any other person to make any concession or give nything of value in order to secure a release of a person under the offender's actual oparent control commits first degree kidnapping:	18-3-301 (1)
	a)	Forcibly seizes and carries any person from one place to another; or	(1) (a)
	b)	Entices or persuades any person to go from one place to another; or	(1) (b)

#### **Offenses Against Persons**

c) Imprisons or forcibly secretes any person. (1) (c)

Whoever commits first degree kidnapping is guilty of a class 1 felony if the person kidnapped shall have suffered bodily injury; but no person convicted of first degree kidnapping shall suffer the death penalty if the person kidnapped was liberated alive prior to the conviction of the kidnapper.

18-8-206 (1) (a)

(2)

4. **Assault during escape.** Any person confined in any lawful place of confinement within the state who, while escaping or attempting to escape, commits an assault with intent to commit bodily injury upon another person with a deadly weapon, or by any means of force likely to produce serious bodily injury, commits a class 1 felony if the person has been convicted of a class 1 felony.

#### Offenses Involving Disloyalty

 Treason. A person commits the class 1 felony of treason if he levies war against the state of Colorado or adheres to its enemies, giving them aid and comfort.

## **CLASS 2 FELONIES**

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
Colo	orado Medical Treatment Decision Act	
1.	<b>Falsifying or forging a declaration</b> . Any person who falsifies or forges a declaration of another, and the terms of the declaration are carried out, resulting in the death of the purported declarant, commits a class 2 felony.	15-18-113 (3)
Inch	noate Offenses	
2.	<b>Criminal attempt.</b> If a person intentionally engages in conduct which constitutes a substantial step toward the commission of a class 1 felony, that person commits a class 2 felony.	18-2-101 (4)
3.	<b>Criminal conspiracy.</b> If a person agrees to commit a crime with one or more persons, that person commits criminal conspiracy. Conspiracy to commit a class 1 felony is a class 2 felony (The penalty provisions for criminal conspiracy are contained in section 18-2-206 (1)).	18-2-201
4.	<b>Criminal solicitation.</b> A person who attempts to persuade another person to commit a class 1 felony commits a class 2 felony. (The penalty provisions for criminal conspiracy are contained in section 18-2-206 (1)).	18-2-301 (5)
Offe	enses Against the Person	
5.	<b>Murder in the second degree</b> . A person commits the class 2 felony of murder in the second degree if he knowingly causes the death of a person.	18-3-103 (3)
6.	<i>First degree kidnapping.</i> First degree kidnapping is a class 2 felony if the kidnapped person was liberated unharmed.	18-3-301 (3)
7.	<b>Second degree kidnapping.</b> Second degree kidnapping is a class 2 felony if the person kidnapped is a victim of a sexual assault or a robbery.	18-3-302 (3)
8.	<b>Sexual assault</b> : Sexual assault is a class 2 felony when: (a) more than one person aids the actor in the assault; or (b) the victim suffers serious bodily injury; or (c) the actor uses a deadly weapon, or uses an article fashioned in a manner to cause a person to reasonably believe that the article is a deadly weapon, or represents verbally that the actor is armed with a deadly weapon, and uses the deadly weapon, article, or representation to cause the victim to submit.	18-3-402 (5)

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
Offe	nses Against Property	
9.	First degree burglary. This is a class 2 felony if controlled substances within a pharmacy or other place having lawful possession thereof are involved.	18-4-202 (3)
10.	<b>Aggravated robbery of controlled substances</b> . It is a class 2 felony if robbery of controlled substances from the legal possessor involves the use of a deadly weapon in the robbery, placing the victim in fear of death or injury, or being aided and abetted by an armed confederate.	18-4-303 (2)
Offe	nses Involving the Family Relations	
11.	<b>Criminal abortion</b> . Abortion by any means other than justified medical termination or birth is criminal abortion when the woman dies because of the criminal abortion is a class 2 felony.	18-6-102 (2)
12.	<b>Pretended criminal abortion</b> . Any person who intentionally pretends to end a real or apparent pregnancy other than by justified medical termination or birth commits pretended criminal abortion and if the woman dies because of a pretended abortion, it is a class 2 felony.	18-6-103 (2)
13.	<b>Child abuse.</b> If a person knowingly or recklessly commits child abuse and such abuse results in the death of a child, it is a class 2 felony.	18-6-401 (7) (a) (I)
Wro	ongs to At-Risk Adults and At-Risk Juveniles	
14.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles</b> . A person who commits a crime of assault in the first degree when the victim is an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 2 felony.	18-6.5-103 (3) (a)
15.	Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Sexual assault or first degree sexual assault against an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile is a class 2 felony	18-6.5-103 (7) (a)
16.	Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Sexual assault on a child when the victim is an at-risk juvenile is a class 2 felony when the actor uses force, threat, threat of retaliation, or commits the abuse as part of a pattern.	18-6.5-103 (7) (d)
17.	Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust when the victim is an at-risk juvenile is a class 2 felony when the victim is less than 15 years of age.	18-6.5-103 (7) (e)

#### Offenses Relating to Morals

18. **Pandering of a child.** If anyone induces a child to commit prostitution by threatening 18-7-403 (2) or intimidating the child, the person commits a class 2 felony.

#### Offenses — Governmental Operations

- 19. **Aiding an escape**. If the person aided was in custody or confinement for conviction 18-8-201 (4) of a class 1 or class 2 felony, it is a class 2 felony to aid in such person's escape.
- 20. **Assault during escape**. It is a class 2 felony to commit an assault with intent to injure while attempting to escape from confinement for conviction of a felony other than a class 1 felony.
- 21. **Holding hostages.** If, while escaping from lawful custody or confinement, a person holds another hostage by force or threat, he commits a class 2 felony.
- 22. **Escape.** It is a class 2 felony to knowingly escape confinement following conviction 18-8-208 (1) of a class 1 or 2 felony.

#### Offenses Relating to Firearms and Weapons

23. **Explosives or incendiary devices.** Any person knowingly using such device in the commission or attempt to commit a felony is a class 2 felony.

#### Miscellaneous Offenses

24. Unlawfuluse of gamma hydroxybutyrate (GHB). The knowingly unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, sale, or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute, dispense, or sell GHB or their immediate chemical precursors or analogs or to knowingly cause or attempt to cause any other person to unknowingly consume or receive the direct administration of GHB or ketamine or the immediate precursors or chemical analogs for such substances is a class 2 felony if the violation is subsequent to a prior conviction for such a violation.

#### Colorado Organized Crime Control Act

25. Racketeering activities. It is a class 2 felony to knowingly invest proceeds from a pattern of racketeering activity or collection of an unlawful debt in real property or any enterprise, to participate in racketeering activities, or to conspire to participate in racketeering activities. (The penalty provisions for racketeering activities are contained in section 18-17-105 (1)).

18-17-104

#### Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992

- 26. **Unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale, or possession.** It is a class 2 felony to dispense, sell, or distribute a schedule I or II controlled substance, or to conspire with or induce another to undertake such activity when the offense is committed subsequent to a prior conviction of the same offense.
- 18-18-405 (2) (a) (II)
- 27. Unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale, or possession. The knowing unlawful manufacture, dispensing, sale, distribution, possession, or possession with intent to manufacture, dispense, sell, or distribute flunitrazepam or to induce, attempt to induce or conspire with one or more other persons to manufacture, dispense, sell, distribute, possess or possess with intent to manufacture, dispense, sell, or distribute flunitrazepam is a class 2 felony if the violation is committed subsequent to a prior conviction for a violation involving flunitrazepam.

18-18-405 (2.5) (a)

#### **CLASS 3 FELONIES**

C.R.S. Citation

# Fraudulent practices. Any person who willfully violates the provisions of section 11-51-501 regarding the fraudulent offer, sale, or purchase of any security, directly or indirectly, commits a class 3 felony. Colorado Commodity Code Unlawful activities — commodity sales. Any violation of any provision of article 53 of title 11 or violation of section 11-53-108, C.R.S., when the person makes a statement which is false or misleading is a class 3 felony.

### Colorado Municipal Bond Supervision Act

3. **Misleading filing.** Any person who willfully makes a false or misleading statement 11-59-115 (1) in any document filed with the securities commissioner commits a class 3 felony.

#### **Medical Practice**

**Elements of Offense** 

 Unprofessional conduct Dispensing or injecting an anabolic steroid for a second or subsequent violation unless dispensed pursuant to a written prescription or dispensed by a practitioner is a class 3 felony.

#### **Colorado Limited Gaming Act**

Personal pecuniary gain or conflict of interest. Any person who issues, 12-47.1-838 (2) suspends, revokes, or renews any license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act for any personal pecuniary gain or any thing of value commits a class 3 felony.

#### **Inchoate Offenses**

6.	<b>Criminal attempt.</b> If a person intentionally engages in conduct which constitutes a substantial step toward the commission of a class 2 felony, that person commits a class 3 felony.	18-2-101 (4)
7.	Conspiracy. Conspiracy to commit a class 2 felony is a class 3 felony.	18-2-206 (1)
_		

8. **Criminal solicitation.** A person who attempts to persuade another person to commit 18-2-301 (5) a class 2 felony, commits a class 3 felony. (Penalty provisions for criminal solicitation are the same as those for criminal attempt contained in section 18-2-101 (4).)

#### Offenses Against the Person

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
9.	<b>Second degree murder</b> . When a person knowingly causes the death of another where the act causing the death was performed upon a sudden heat of passion caused by a serious and highly provoking act of the victim, affecting the person causing the death sufficiently to excite an irresistible passion in a reasonable person, it is a class 3 felony.	18-3-103 (3) (b)
10.	<b>Vehicular homicide.</b> When a person operates or drives a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or both, and such conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another, it is a class 3 felony.	18-3-106 (1) (c)
1.1.	Assault in the first degree. If any person intentionally causes serious injury to another person through the use of a deadly weapon or conduct which creates a grave risk of death, or in the commission of a crime or flight therefrom he causes serious injury to another, or, if a person threatens a peace officer or fireman or person employed by a detention facility with a deadly weapon with intent to cause harm, that person commits a class 3 felony.	18-3-202 (2) (b)
12.	Assault in the second degree. It is considered a class 3 felony if the person who is assaulted, other than a participant in the crime, suffers serious bodily injury during the commission or attempted commission of or flight from the commission or attempted commission of murder, robbery, arson, burglary, first degree escape, first degree kidnaping, first or second degree sexual assault, or class 3 felony sexual assault on a child.	18-3-203 (2) (b.5)
13.	<b>Criminal extortion.</b> Whoever threatens another to induce the person to do an act against his will or refrain from doing a lawful act commits aggravated criminal extortion, which is a class 3 felony, if the person issues such threat by means of chemical or biological agents, weapons, poison, or radioactive agents.	18-3-207 (4)
14.	<b>Second degree kidnapping.</b> Second degree kidnapping is a class 3 felony if the kidnaping is accomplished with intent to sell, trade, or barter the victim for consideration or does not include sexual assault or robbery but is accomplished by the use of a deadly weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to cause a person to reasonably believe that the article is a deadly weapon or if the kidnapping is accomplished by the perpetrator representing that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon.	18-3-302 (4)
15.	<b>Enticement of a child.</b> Enticement of a child is a class 3 felony if the defendant has a previous conviction for enticement of a child or sexual assault on a child. A person commits the crime of enticement of a child if he invites or persuades, or attempts to invite or persuade, a child under the age of fifteen years to enter any vehicle, building, room, or secluded place with the intent to commit sexual assault in any degree upon said child.	18-3-305 (2)

#### **Elements of Offense** C.R.S. Citation 16. **Sexual assault.** Sexual assault is a class 3 felony when the actor: (a) causes 18-3-402 (2) submission of the victim through physical force or violence; or (b) the actor causes submission of the victim by threat of death, serious bodily injury, extreme pain or kidnapping and the victim believes the actor can execute the threats; or (c) the actor causes the victim to submit by threatening future retaliation; or (d) the actor has substantially impaired the victim's power to appraise or control the victim's conduct by use of any drug, intoxicant, or other means; or (e) the victim is physically helpless and the actor knows the victim is physically helpless and has not consented. 17. Sexual assault on a child. An actor commits a class 3 felony if he subjects a victim 18-3-405 (2) who is less than fifteen years of age to any sexual contact, and the actor is at least four years older than the victim, and the actor applies force, or threatens death, injury, kidnaping, or future retaliation. 18. Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust. Sexual assault on a child 18-3-405.3 (2) by one in a position of trust is a class 3 felony if the victim is less than fifteen years of age or the actor commits the offense as part of a pattern or sexual abuse. Offenses Against Property First degree arson. A person who sets fire to, or through the use of explosives, causes 18-4-102 (2) to be damaged or destroyed any building or occupied structure commits a class 3 felony. First degree burglary. If a person unlawfully enters a building with intent to commit 20. 18-4-202 (2) a crime and if said person assaults or menaces any person, or is armed with explosives or a deadly weapon, he commits a class 3 felony. **Second degree burglary**. A class 3 felony is committed if a person unlawfully enters 21. 18-4-203 (2) a place with intent to commit a crime against a person or property and when: (a) it is a burglary of a dwelling; or (b) the objective of the burglary is theft of controlled substances. 22. **Aggravated robbery.** If possession or use of a deadly weapon is involved in a robbery 18-4-302 (3) by the actor or an accomplice, aggravated robbery is a class 3 felony. 23. **Theft**. Theft is a class 3 felony if the value of the thing involved is fifteen thousand 18-4-401 (2) (d) dollars or more. 24. **Theft.** Theft is a class 3 felony if the person has committed theft more than once within 18-4-401 (4) a six-month period without being charged for the earlier offense and the aggregate value of the things involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more. 25. **Theft of rental property.** Theft of rental property is a class 3 felony where the value 18-4-402 (5) of the property involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more. **Theft of rental property.** Theft of rental property twice or more within a period of six 26. 18-4-402 (6) months without having been placed in jeopardy for prior offenses and when the aggregate value of the property is fifteen thousand dollars or more is a class 3 felony.

-11-

- 27. Aggravated motor vehicle theft. A person who takes any motor vehicle from another without authorization and who either retains control for over twenty-four hours, commits a crime, removes the vehicle from the state, causes property damage or bodily injury, or attempts to alter the license plates, identification number, or the vehicle itself, commits a class 3 felony if the value of the motor vehicle or vehicles involved is more than fifteen thousand dollars or if the defendant has twice previously been convicted of charges separately brought and tried.
- 28. **Theft by receiving.** When a person receives, retains, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of another's property, knowing that said property has been stolen, and he intends to deprive the owner permanently of the property, and the value of the property is fifteen thousand dollars or more, the person commits a class 3 felony.
- 29. Theft by receiving. When the value of the property involved is five hundred dollars or more and the person is engaged in the business of buying and selling of stolen goods for profit, theft by receiving is a class 3 felony.
- 30. **Theft by receiving.** When a person commits theft by receiving twice or more within a period of six months without being placed in jeopardy for the prior offenses and the aggregate value of the things involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more, he or she commits a class 3 felony.
- 31. **Criminal mischief**. A person who knowingly damages real or personal property of another valued fifteen thousand dollars or more in the aggregate commits a class 3 felony.

#### Offenses Involving Fraud

- Defrauding a secured creditor or debtor. A person who, with intent to defraud a creditor, impairs, renders worthless or unenforceable any security interest, or who sells, assigns, transfers, conveys, pledges, encumbers, conceals, destroys, or disposes of any collateral subject to a security interest, and the value of the collateral is fifteen thousand dollars or more, commits a class 3 felony.
- Defrauding a secured creditor or debtor. If a creditor, with intent to defraud a debtor, sells, assigns, transfers, conveys, pledges, buys, or encumbers a promissory note or contract signed by the debtor, and the amount owed on such note or contract is fifteen thousand dollars or more, he commits a class 3 felony.
- 34. Unauthorized use of a financial device. Any person who uses a financial transaction device for the purpose of obtaining cash, credit, property, or services or for making financial payment, with intent to defraud, commits unauthorized use of a financial device. If such cash, credit, property, or service obtained or financial payment made exceeds fifteen thousand dollars, it is a class 3 felony.

35. Sale of a financial transaction device. Any person who, with intent to defraud, sells or has in his possession to sell, two or more financial transaction devices which he knows to be lost, stolen, forged, altered, counterfeited, or delivered under a mistake commits a class 3 felony.

18-5-704 (2)

36. Sale of a blank financial transaction device. Any person who delivers, circulates, or sells two or more blank financial transaction devices which have not been embossed or magnetically encoded with the name of the account holder, personal identification code, expiration date, or other proprietary institutional information, commits a class 3 felony.

18-5-705 (5)

Elem	ents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
Com	puter Crime	
37.	<b>Computer crime</b> . Any person who commits computer crime and the loss, damage, value of services, thing of value taken, or cost of restoration or repair caused is fifteen thousand dollars or more, it is a class 3 felony.	18-5.5-102 (3) (a)
Offe	nses Involving the Family Relations	
38.	Aggravated incest. A person commits aggravated incest who knowingly marries a natural child, inflicts sexual penetration or intrusion on, or subjects to sexual contact a natural child, stepchild, adopted child, and certain other whole or half blood relatives. The provision does not apply to a legal marriage to a stepchild or adopted child. Aggravated incest is a class 3 felony.	18-6-302 (2)
39.	<b>Child abuse.</b> When a person acts with criminal negligence and the child abuse results in the death of the child, it is a class 3 felony.	18-6-401 (7) (a) (II)
40.	<b>Child abuse</b> . When a person acts knowingly or recklessly and the child abuse results in serious bodily injury to the child, it is a class 3 felony.	18-6-401 (7) (a) (III)
41.	<b>Trafficking in children</b> . Selling, exchanging, bartering, or leasing a child and receiving money or other consideration or thing of value for the child as a result of such transaction is a class 3 felony.	18-6-402 (3)
42.	<b>Sexual exploitation of children</b> . A person who, for any commercial purpose, knowingly causes a child to engage in or be used for explicit sexual conduct or traffics in sexually exploitative material, commits sexual exploitation of a child which is a class 3 felony.	18-6-403 (5)
43.	<b>Procurement of a child for sexual exploitation</b> . Any person who intentionally gives, transports, provides, or makes available, or offers to do the same for the purpose of sexually exploiting a child, commits a class 3 felony.	18-6-404
Wro	ngs to At-risk Adults and At-Risk Juveniles	
44.	<i>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles</i> . Any person who commits the crime of assault in the second degree when the victim is an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 3 felony.	18-6.5-103 (3) (b)
45.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles</b> . Any person who commits robbery when the victim is an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 3 felony.	18-6.5-103 (4)
46.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles</b> . Any person who commits theft in the presence of the victim when the victim is an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 3 felony when the value of the item involved is five hundred dollars or more.	18-6.5-103 (5)

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
47.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles.</b> Any person who commits a crime of sexual assault in the second degree and the victim is an at-risk adult or an atrisk juvenile commits a class 3 felony.	18-6.5-103 (7) (b)
48.	Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Any person who commits third degree sexual assault and the victim is an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile commits a class 3 felony if the person compels the victim to submit by use of force, intimidation, or threat or if the actor engages in treatment or examination of a victim for other than bona fide medical purposes or in a manner inconsistent with reasonable medical practices or if the actor, with or without sexual contact, induces or coerces a child to expose intimate parts or to engage in sexual contact for the purpose of the actor's own sexual gratification.	18-6.5-103 (7) (c)
49.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles.</b> Sexual assault on a child when the victim is an at-risk juvenile is a class 3 felony.	18-6.5-103 (7) (d)
50.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles.</b> Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust when the victim is an at-risk juvenile is a class 3 felony when the victim is 15 years of age or older but less than 18 years of age.	18-6.5-103 (7) (e)
51.	Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist when the victim is an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile is a class 3 felony when the actor knowingly inflicts sexual penetration or sexual intrusion on the victim and the actor is a psychotherapist and the victim is a client or the actor is a psychotherapist and the victim is a client and the sexual penetration or intrusion occurred by means of therapeutic deception.	18-6.5-103 (7) (f)
Offe	nses Relating to Morals	
52.	<b>Pimping.</b> Any person who knowingly lives on or is supported or maintained by any money earned by another person through prostitution commits pimping, which is a class 3 felony.	18-7-206
53.	<b>Soliciting for child prostitution</b> . A person who solicits another, arranges a meeting, or directs another to a place for the purpose of child prostitution commits a class 3 felony.	18-7-402 (2)
54.	<b>Pandering of a child.</b> Anyone who arranges or offers to arrange a situation in which a child may practice prostitution commits a class 3 felony.	18-7-403 (2)
55.	<b>Procurement of a child.</b> Any person who intentionally gives, transports, provides, or makes available or offers to do the same for the purpose of child prostitution commits a class 3 felony.	18-7-403.5
56.	<b>Keeping a place of child prostitution</b> . Any person who exercises control over a place which offers seclusion or shelter for the purpose of prostitution of or by a child commits a class 3 felony.	18-7-404 (2)

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
57.	<b>Pimping of a child.</b> Any person who lives on or is supported by money or other thing of value procured by a child through prostitution commits a class 3 felony.	18-7-405
58.	<b>Inducement of child prostitution</b> . Any person who by word or action (other than menacing or criminal intimidation) induces a child to engage in prostitution commits a class 3 felony.	18-7-405.5 (2)
<b>59.</b>	<b>Patronizing a prostituted child.</b> A class 3 felony is committed by anyone who engages in an act which involves child prostitution, or by anyone who enters a place of prostitution with the intention of engaging in child prostitution.	18-7-406 (2)
Offe	nses — Governmental Operations	
60.	<b>Aiding escape</b> . If a person assists another person in escaping and the person aided has been convicted of a felony other than a class 1 or class 2 felony, said person commits a class 3 felony.	18-8-201 (5)
61.	Assault during escape. If a person who is being held or charged with but not convicted of a felony attempts to escape and assaults another intentionally with a deadly weapon, or another means of force likely to produce injury, he commits a class 3 felony.	18-8-206 (1) (c)
62.	<b>Assault during escape.</b> If a person in custody is charged with, held for, or convicted of a misdemeanor or petty offense, and attempts to escape and assaults another intentionally with a deadly weapon or another means of force likely to produce injury, he commits a class 3 felony.	18-8-206 (1) (d)
63.	<b>Escapes.</b> If a person who has been convicted of a felony other than a class 1 or class 2 felony escapes from custody or confinement, he commits a class 3 felony.	18-8-208 (2)
64.	<b>Riots in detention facilities.</b> A person who engages with two or more other persons in violent conduct, using a deadly weapon, or any article used or fashioned in a manner to cause a person to reasonably believe that the article is a deadly weapon, or represents that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon which creates grave danger and obstructs performance of institutional functions, commits a class 3 felony.	18-8-211 (2) (a)
65.	<b>Bribery</b> . A class 3 felony is committed if a person offers a pecuniary benefit to a public official with the intent to influence some action, or if he is a public official and accepts a bribe.	18-8-302 (3)
66.	<b>Aggravated intimidation of a witness or victim.</b> If, in an attempt to influence a witness or victim, a person either: a) is armed with a deadly weapon and intends, if resisted, to kill, maim, or wound any person; or b) knowingly wounds any person or puts any person in a reasonable fear of death or bodily injury, he commits a class 3 felony.	18-8-705 (3)

67. **Retaliation against a witness or victim.** A person who intentionally inflicts harm or injury upon any person or property as retaliation for testimony given in any official proceeding commits a class 3 felony.

18-8-706 (2)

68. **Retaliation against a juror**. If an individual uses a threat, act of harassment, or act of harm or injury upon any person or property, which action is directed to or committed upon a juror who has served for a criminal or civil trial involving the individual or a person or persons on whose behalf the individual is acting, or upon a member of the juror's family, an individual in close relationship to the juror, or an individual residing in the same household with the juror, as retaliation or retribution against the juror, he commits a class 3 felony.

18-8-706.5 (2)

#### Offenses Against Public Peace, Order, and Decency

- 69. **Endangering public transportation**. If a person tampers with a facility of public transportation intentionally to cause damage which would result in possible bodily harm or death, or intends to commit a crime on the public conveyance or threatens anyone with a deadly weapon on a public conveyance, he or she commits a class 3 felony.
- 70. **Vehicular eluding.** Vehicular eluding which results in death to another person is a 18-9-116.5 class 3 felony.

Elen	nents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
Mise	cellaneous Offenses	
71.	Unlawful use of gamma hydroxybutyrate (GHB). It is a class 3 felony to knowingly manufacture, distribute, dispense, sell, or possess with intent to manufacture, distribute, dispense, or sell GHB or to knowingly cause or attempt to cause any other person to unknowingly consume or receive the direct administration of GHB or ketamine or the immediate precursors or chemical analogs for either substance.	18-13-123 (5)
Unif	form Controlled Substances Act of 1992	
72.	Controlled substances. It is unlawful to manufacture, dispense, sell, possess, or distribute a controlled substance, and it is a class 3 felony:	18-18-405
	<ul> <li>if a person is convicted on a first offense for such activity in the case of schedule</li> <li>I or II controlled substances; or</li> </ul>	(2) (a) (I)
	<ul> <li>if a person is convicted for a second or subsequent offense for such activity in the case of a schedule III controlled substance.</li> </ul>	(2) (b) (II)
73.	Unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale, or possession. It is a class 3 felony for any person to knowingly manufacture, dispense, sell, distribute, possess, or possess with intent to manufacture, dispense, sell, or distribute flunitrazepam or to induce, attempt to induce, or conspire with one or more other persons to manufacture, dispense, sell, distribute, possess, or possess with intent to manufacture, dispense, sell or distribute flunitrazepam.	18-18-405 (2.5) (a)
74.	<b>Offenses relating to marijuana</b> . The following offenses involving marijuana or marijuana concentrate are class 3 felonies:	18-18-406
	<ul> <li>a second or subsequent conviction of dispensing (with consideration) over one ounce of marijuana by a person age 18 or over to a person age 15 to 17, or any amount of marijuana concentrate (with or without consideration) to a person under age 18, or dispensing any amount of marijuana (with or without consideration) by a person age 18 or over to a person under age 15;</li> </ul>	(7) (c)
	<ul> <li>a second or subsequent conviction for cultivating, growing, producing, processing, or manufacturing marijuana or its concentrate on land owned or controlled by the person, or allowing these activities on his land; and</li> </ul>	(8) (a) (II) (B)
	<ul> <li>a second or subsequent conviction for manufacturing, dispensing, selling, possessing, or distributing marijuana or its concentrate.</li> </ul>	(8) (b) (III) (B)
75.	<b>Money laundering - illegal investments.</b> A person commits a class 3 felony if he knowingly or intentionally violates any of the provisions of paragraphs (a) through (d) of section 18-18-408 regarding money laundering or illegal investments pursuant to the Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992,	18-18-408

76. **Imitation controlled substances**. Any person aged 18 or over who distributes an imitation controlled substance to a person under 18 after a previous conviction of the same charge commits a class 3 felony.

18-18-422 (2) (b) (II)

#### Offenses Related to Limited Gaming

77. **Personal pecuniary gain or conflict of interest**. Any person who issues, 18-20-113 (2) suspends, revokes, or renews any license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act for any personal pecuniary gain or any thing of value commits a class 3 felony.

#### Government — State Department of Personnel

78. **State agency contracts — criminal liability**. Any person, other than a bona fide employee working solely for a person providing professional services, who offers, agrees, or contracts to solicit or secure for any other person state agency contracts for professional services and who, in so doing, receives any type of consideration contingent upon or resulting from the making of the contract commits a class 3 felony.

24-30-1406 (1)

#### Government — State Department of Revenue

79. State lottery — criminal penalties. Any person who, for personal pecuniary gain, issues, suspends, revokes, or renews a contract for gaming materials, or who violates the provisions concerning conflicts of interest in the operation of the state lottery commits a class 3 felony.

24-35-215 (3)

#### Government — State Department of Public Health and Environment

80. **Department of Health — penalties.** Tampering with a public water system or with drinking water after its withdrawal for or treatment by a public water system is a class 3 felony.

25-1-114 (5) (b) (l)

#### Human Services Code — Department of Human Services

81. **Fraudulentacts**. Obtaining public assistance or vendor payments to which one is not entitled, or public assistance or vendor payments greater than those to which one is entitled, by means of a willfully false statement or representation, or by impersonation, or by any other fraudulent device is a class 3 felony when the value of the assistance or payment is fifteen thousand dollars or greater (see 18-4-401 (2) (d)).

26-1-127 (1)

#### Colorado Public Assistance Act

82. **Fraudulent acts.** Obtaining food stamps to which one is not entitled by false statement or representation or by impersonation is a class 3 felony when the value of the food stamps is fifteen thousand dollars or more (see 18-4-401 (2) (d)).

26-2-305 (1)

83. **Trafficking in food stamps**. Trafficking in food stamps is a class 3 felony if the value of the food stamps is fifteen thousand dollars or more.

26-2-306 (2) (d)

84. **Trafficking in food stamps**. Trafficking in food stamps twice or more within a period of six months without having been placed in jeopardy for the prior offense or offenses is a class 3 felony when the aggregate value of the food stamps involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more.

26-2-306 (3)

#### Colorado Medical Assistance Act

85. **Personal needs trust fund.** Unlawful use of a patient personal needs trust fund is a class 3 felony if the amount involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more.

26-4-504 (8) (d) (IV)

#### Automobile Theft Law

86. **Tampering with a motor vehicle**. Tampering with a motor vehicle is a class 3 felony if the damage is fifteen thousand dollars or more or causes bodily injury to any person.

42-5-103 (2) (c)

87. **Theft of motor vehicle parts**. Theft of motor vehicle parts is a class 3 felony if the value of the thing involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more.

42-5-104 (2) (c)

## **CLASS 4 FELONIES**

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
Safe	ty — Industrial and Commercial Explosives	
1,	<b>Death by negligence.</b> Any person who knowingly and unlawfully places or allows explosives to be placed on a vehicle which results in the death of another commits a class 4 felony.	9-6-104
Pro	fessions and Occupations Acupuncturists	
2.	<b>Acupuncturists</b> — <b>grounds for disciplinary action</b> . Sexual contact, intrusion, or penetration with a patient during the course of patient care by an acupuncturist is a class 4 felony.	12-29.5-108 (3)
Inch	noate Offenses	
3.	<b>Criminal attempt.</b> If a person intentionally engages in conduct which constitutes a substantial step toward the commission of a class 3 felony, that person commits a class 4 felony.	18-2-101 (4)
4.	Criminal conspiracy. Conspiracy to commit a class 3 felony is a class 4 fe	loni§-2-206 (1)
5.	<b>Criminal solicitation</b> . A person who attempts to persuade another person to commit a class 3 felony commits a class 4 felony. (Penalty provisions for criminal solicitation are the same as those for criminal attempt contained in section 18-2-101.)	18-2-301 (5)
Offe	enses Against the Person	
6.	<b>Manslaughter.</b> A person commits manslaughter, a class 4 felony, if: (a) such person recklessly causes the death of another person; or (b) such person intentionally causes or aids another person to commit suicide.	18-3-104 (2)
7.	<b>Vehicular homicide</b> . If a person causes the death of another while recklessly operating a motor vehicle, such person commits a class 4 felony.	18-3-106 (1) (c)
8.	Assault in the second degree. A person commits assault in the second degree if: (a) he intentionally causes serious bodily injury to another; or (b) he attempts to cause serious bodily injury with a deadly weapon; or (c) with intent to prevent a peace officer or firefighter from doing his duty he causes bodily injury; or (d) he recklessly causes serious injury by means of a deadly weapon; or (e) he harms someone by means of administering a drug or other substance; or (f) when lawfully confined he uses physical force against a peace officer or firefighter in the performance of his duties. Assault in the second degree is a class 4 felony.	18-3-203 (2) (b)
9.	<b>Vehicular assault</b> . When a person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs and causes serious bodily injury to another, it is a class 4 felony.	18-3-205 (1) (c)

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
10.	<b>Criminal extortion</b> . A class 4 felony is committed when a person threatens a person, his property, or his reputation, to induce that person to act against his will to do an act or refrain from doing a lawful act.	18-3-207 (4)
11.	<b>Second degree kidnaping.</b> Any person who kidnaps a child not his own and under the age of eighteen years of age commits a class 4 felony, if the person kidnaped is not a victim of sexual assault or robbery, and the use of a deadly weapon is not employed.	18-3-302 (5)
12.	<b>Violation of custody.</b> Any person who, in the course of taking or enticing any child under the age of 18 from the custody of his or her parents, guardian, or other lawful custodian or who violates an order of any district or juvenile court granting the custody of a child under 18 years of age to any person, agency, or institution with the intent to deprive the lawful custodian of the custody of a child under the age of 18 and who, in the course of doing so, removes a child under the age of 18 from the country commits a class 4 felony.	18-3-304 (2.5)
13.	<b>Enticement of a child</b> . A person commits the crime of enticement of a child if he invites or persuades or attempts to invite or persuade a child under the age of 15, to enter a vehicle, building, or room with the intent to commit sexual assault. This is a class 4 felony.	18-3-305 (2)
14.	<b>Sexual assault</b> . An actor who knowingly inflicts sexual intrusion or sexual penetration on a victim commits a class 4 felony if: (a) he causes the submission of a victim by means of sufficient consequence reasonably calculated to cause submission against the victim's will; or (b) the actor knows the victim is unable to appraise the nature of the victim's conduct; or (c) the actor knows that the victim submits believing the actor to be the victim's spouse; or (d) the victim is less than fifteen years of age and the actor is four years older than and is not the spouse of the victim; or (e) the victim is at least fifteen years old but less than seventeen years old and the actor is at least ten years older than the victim and is not the victim's spouse; or (f) the victim is in custody of law or detained in a hospital or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary authority over the victim and uses the position of authority to coerce the victim to submit unless the act is a lawful search; or (g) the actor, while purporting to offer a medical service, engages in treatment or examination of the victim for other than bona fide medical purposes.	18-3-402 (2)
15.	<b>Unlawful sexual contact</b> . Unlawful sexual contact is a class 4 felony when an actor compels a victim to submit by the use of force, intimidation, or threat or if the actor engages in treatment or examination of a victim for other than bona fide medical purposes or in a manner inconsistent with reasonable medical practices or if the adult actor knowingly, with or without sexual contact, induces or coerces a child by any of the means set forth in section 18-3-402 to expose intimate parts or to engage in any sexual activity with another person for the actor's own sexual gratification.	18-3-404 (2)
16.	<b>Sexual assault on a child.</b> Any actor who subjects to sexual contact a child that is less than fifteen years of age while that actor is at least four years older than the victim commits a class 4 felony.	18-3-405 (2)

17. Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust. Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust is a class 4 felony if the victim is fifteen years of age or older but less than eighteen years of age and the offense is not committed as part of a pattern of sexual abuse.

18. **Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist**. Sexual penetration or sexual intrusion on a victim by an actor when the actor is a psychotherapist and the victim is a patient is a class 4 felony.

18-3-405.5 (1) (b)

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
Offe	nses Against Property	
19.	<b>Second degree arson</b> . A person who damages or destroys by fire or explosive the property of another, other than a building or occupied structure, commits second degree arson. If the damage caused is valued at over one hundred dollars, it is a class 4 felony.	18-4-103 (2)
20.	<b>Third degree arson</b> . A person who, by means of fire or explosives, intentionally damages any property with intent to defraud commits a class 4 felony.	18-4-104 (2)
21.	<b>Fourth degree arson</b> . A person who starts or maintains a fire on his or another's property and thereby places another in danger of bodily injury or death commits a class 4 felony.	18-4-105 (2)
22.	<b>Second degree burglary</b> . A person commits a class 4 felony if he unlawfully enters a building with the intent to commit a crime against a person or property.	18-4-203 (2)
23.	<b>Third degree burglary</b> . It is a class 4 felony if the object of the burglary is the theft of a controlled substance, lawfully kept in or upon the property burglarized.	18-4-204 (2)
24.	<b>Robbery.</b> A person who takes anything of value from a person by the use of force, threats, or intimidation commits a class 4 felony.	18-4-301 (2)
25.	<b>Theft</b> : A class 4 felony is committed when a person knowingly exercises control over anything which is valued at five hundred dollars or more, but less than fifteen thousand dollars, without authorization or by threat or deception.	18-4-401 (2) (c)
26.	<b>Theft</b> If theft is committed on two or more occasions within six months, and the person is not placed in jeopardy for the prior offense, and the aggregate value of the things involved is between five hundred dollars and fifteen thousand dollars, a class 4 felony is committed.	18-4-401 (4)
27.	Aggravated motor vehicle theft. A person who takes any motor vehicle from another without authorization and who either retains control for over twenty-four hours, commits a crime, removes the vehicle from the state, causes property damage or bodily injury, or attempts to alter the license plates, identification number, or the vehicle itself, commits a class 4 felony if the motor vehicle or vehicles involved is valued at fifteen thousand dollars or less.	18-4-409 (3) (a)
28.	<b>Theft by receiving.</b> If a person receives a thing of value which is valued at five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars which he believes or knows to be stolen, and he intends to deprive the lawful owner permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value, he commits a class 4 felony.	18-4-410 (4)
29.	<b>Theft by receiving.</b> When a person commits theft by receiving twice or more within a period of six months without having been placed in jeopardy for the prior offenses and the aggregate value of the things involved is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars, it is a class 4 felony.	18-4-410 (7)
30.	<b>Criminal mischief.</b> A person commits a class 4 felony when in a single criminal episode he knowingly damages real or personal property and the aggregate damage is more than five hundred dollars but less than fifteen thousand dollars.	18-4-501 (1)

Elen	nents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
31.	<b>Second degree criminal trespass.</b> It is a class 4 felony if a person unlawfully enters or remains on fenced or enclosed premises classified as agricultural land, with the intent to commit a felony.	18-4-503 (2) (b)
Offe	nses Involving Fraud	
32.	<b>Controlled substances — consumption by fraudulent means.</b> Any person who fraudulently causes another person to unknowingly consume or receive the direct administration of any controlled substance commits a class 4 felony.	18-5-116 (2)
Com	puter Crime	
33.	<b>Computer crime.</b> If the loss, damage, value of service, or thing of value taken or cost of restoration or repair caused by computer crime is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars, computer crime is a class 4 felony.	18-5.5-102 (3) (a)
Offe	nses Involving the Family Relations	
34.	<b>Criminal abortion</b> . Any person who intentionally ends the pregnancy of a woman by any means other than justified medical termination or birth commits the class 4 felony of criminal abortion.	18-6-102 (2)
35.	<b>Incest.</b> Any person who knowingly marries, inflects sexual penetration or sexual intrusion, or subjects to sexual contact, an ancestor or descendant, a brother or sister of the whole or half blood, or an uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece of the whole blood commits incest which is a class 4 felony.	18-6-301 (1)
36.	<b>Child abuse.</b> A person who causes serious bodily injury to a child while acting with criminal negligence commits a class 4 felony.	18-6-401 (7) (a) (IV)
37.	<b>Sexual exploitation of children</b> . The second or subsequent offense of sexual exploitation of a child by possession of sexually exploitative material is a class 4 felony.	18-6-403 (5)
38.	<b>Contributing to delinquency.</b> Inducing, aiding, or encouraging a child to violate any state or federal law, municipal or county ordinance, or court order is a class 4 felony.	18-6-701 (2)
Wro	ongs to At-risk Adults and At-risk Juveniles	
39.	Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Any person whose conduct amounts to criminal negligence and such negligence results in the death of an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 4 felony.	18-6.5-103 (2) (a)

40. First degree assault against at-risk adults or at-risk juveniles. Any person who commits a crime of assault in the first degree and the victim is an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile commits a class 4 felony if the act causing the injury is performed, not after deliberation, upon a sudden heat of passion, caused by a serious and highly provoking act of the intended victim, affecting the person causing the injury sufficiently to excite an irresistible passion in a reasonable person.

41. **Theft from at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles**. Any person who commits theft 18-6.5-103 (5) from an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile by means other than the use of force, threat, or intimidation commits a class 4 felony without regard to the value of the thing taken.

#### Offenses - Governmental Operations

- 42. **Accessory to crime**: A person who renders assistance to another who has committed a crime in order to prevent his apprehension and punishment commits a class 4 felony if he knows that the person being assisted has committed a class 1 or class 2 felony.
- 43. Introducing contraband in the first degree. If a person attempts to introduce a dangerous instrument, alcoholic beverage, controlled substance, or marijuana into a detention facility, or if a person is confined in a detention facility and makes any of these items, he commits a class 4 felony.
- 44. **Possession of contraband.** Possession of contraband which involves a dangerous 18-8-204.1 (3) instrument is a class 4 felony.
- 45. **Escapes.** If a person has been charged but not convicted of a felony and he escapes 18-8-208 (3) confinement, he commits a class 4 felony.
- 46. **Attempt to escape.** If a person who is in custody or confinement following the conviction of a felony attempts to escape, he commits a class 4 felony.
- 47. **Attempt to influence a public servant**. Any person who attempts to influence any public servant by means of deceit, threat of violence, or economic reprisal commits a class 4 felony.
- 48. **Perjury in the first degree**. If a person makes a materially false statement under oath in any official proceeding, he commits perjury in the first degree, which is a class 4 felony.
- 49. **Bribe-receiving by a witness**. A witness accepting any benefit for the purpose of influencing his presence or testimony at an official proceeding commits a class 4 felony.
- 50. **Bribing a juror.** A person who attempts to influence a juror's decision by offering or conferring any benefit upon the juror commits a class 4 felony.
- 51. **Bribe-receiving by a juror**. Any juror who accepts any benefit for the purpose of 18-8-607 (2) influencing his vote commits a class 4 felony.

**Elements of Offense** C.R.S. Citation 52. *Intimidating a juror*. A person commits a class 4 felony, if he attempts to influence 18-8-608 (2) a juror's vote by use of threat of harm or injury to any person or property. 53. **Jury tampering.** Jury tampering in any class 1 felony trial is a class 4 felony.18-8-609 (2) 54. Bribing a witness or victim. A person commits a class 4 felony when he offers or 18-8-703 (2) confers any benefit upon a witness or victim, in any official proceeding, members of the witness or victim's family, or persons in close relationship to or residing in the same household with a witness or victim in an attempt to influence that witness or victim. 55. Intimidating a witness or victim. If, in an attempt to influence a witness or victim, 18-8-704 (2) a person threatens harm or injury to any person or property, he commits a class 4 felony. **Tampering with a witness or victim.** A person commits a class 4 felony if he 56. 18-8-707 (2) attempts to influence a victim or witness without bribery or threats. **Arming rioters.** If a person supplies a deadly weapon or destructive device for use 57. 18-9-103 (2) in a riot, or teaches another to use such weapon or device in a riot, he commits a class 4 felony. 58. **Engaging in a riot**. If, in the course of rioting, a person employs a deadly weapon 18-9-104 (1) or destructive device or any article used or fashioned in a manner to cause a person to believe that the article is a deadly weapon, or if in the course of rioting, the actor represents verbally or otherwise that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon, he commits a class 4 felony. 59. *Harassment-stalking.* Stalking is a class 4 felony for a second or subsequent 18-9-111 (5) (a.5) offense if such offense occurs within seven years of the date of a prior conviction for stalking. 60. **Harassment - stalking.** Stalking is a class 4 felony when, at the time of the offense, 18-9-111 (5) (b) there was a temporary or permanent restraining order, injunction, or condition of bond, probation, or parole or any other court order in effect against such person prohibiting the stalking behavior. **Vehicular eluding.** Any person who attempts to elude a peace officer while 61. 18-9-116.5 operating a motor vehicle, and which results in bodily injury to another person, commits a class 4 felony. Failure to leave premises upon request of a peace officer. Any person who 62. 18-9-119 (5) barricades or refuses police entry to any premises through use or threat of force, fails to leave upon request by a peace officer outside the structure, and holds another person hostage with use of a deadly weapon commits a class 4 felony. 63. **Ethnic intimidation.** Ethnic intimidation is a class 4 felony if the offender is 18-9-121 (3) physically aided or abetted by one or more other persons during the commission of the offense.

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation	
64.	<b>Animal-fighting — penalty</b> . Any person committing a second or subsequent violation commits a class 4 felony.	18-9-204 (2)	
65.	<b>Telecommunications crime.</b> A person who knowingly uses cloning equipment to create a cloned cellular phone commits a class 4 felony.	18-9-309 (2) (b)	
66.	<b>Telecommunications crime.</b> A second or subsequent violation of knowingly cloning equipment to create a cloned cellular phone is a class 4 felony.	18-9-309 (2.5)	
67.	<b>Telecommunications crime.</b> A person commits a class 4 felony if he or she knowingly uses cloning equipment to: intercept signals, including signals transmitted to or from a cellular phone, between a telecommunications provider and persons using telecommunications services, or between persons using telecommunications services; or create a cellular phone.	18-9-309 (4) (a)	
68.	<b>Telecommunications crime.</b> A person commits a class 4 felony if he or she aids, abets, advises, or encourages one or more persons who engage in the activities described in section 18-9-309 (4) (a).	18-9-309 (4) (b)	
Offe	Offenses Relating to Firearms and Weapons		
69.	<b>Possessing a dangerous or illegal weapon</b> . A person who knowingly possesses a dangerous weapon commits a class 4 felony for a second violation and for each subsequent violation.	18-12-102 (3)	
70.	<b>Possession of weapons by previous offenders.</b> A second or subsequent offense of possession of a weapon by a person who has previously been convicted of or adjudicated for a felony and when the weapon is a dangerous weapon or when the conviction was for or the adjudication was based on an offense involving burglary, arson, or any felony involving the use of force or the use of a deadly weapon is a class 4 felony.	18-12-108 (5)	
71.	Unlawfully providing a handgun to a juvenile or permitting a juvenile to possess a handgun. Any person who intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly provides a handgun to any person under the age of 18, or any person who knows of such juvenile's possession of a handgun and fails to make reasonable efforts to prevent such possession, commits unlawfully providing a handgun to a juvenile or permitting a juvenile to possess a handgun, a class 4 felony.	18-12-108.7 (1) (b)	
72.	Unlawfully providing a handgun to a juvenile or permitting a juvenile to possess a handgun. Any person who intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly provides a handgun to a juvenile or who permits a juvenile to possess a handgun, even though the person is aware of a substantial risk that such juvenile will use a handgun to commit a felony offense, or who fails to make reasonable efforts to prevent the commission of the offense, commits the crime of unlawfully providing or permitting a juvenile to possess a handgun, a class 4 felony.	18-12-108.7 (2) (b)	

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
73.	<b>Possession, use, or removal of explosives or incendiary devices</b> . Any person who knowingly possesses or controls an explosive or incendiary device commits a class 4 felony.	18-12-109 (2)
74.	<b>Possession, use, or removal of explosives or incendiary devices</b> . Any person who removes any explosive or incendiary device from the premises of a lawful possessor without his consent, commits a class 4 felony.	18-12-109 (5)
75. ·	<b>Possession, use, or removal of explosives or incendiary devices.</b> Any person who possesses any explosive or incendiary parts commits a class 4 felony.	18-12-109 (6)
76.	<b>Possession, use, or removal of explosives or incendiary devices.</b> Any person who possesses a valid permit issued under the provisions of article 7, title 9, C.R.S., or an employee of a permittee acting within the scope of his employment, who knowingly dispenses, distributes, or sells explosive or incendiary devices to a person not authorized to possess or control such devices, commits a class 4 felony.	18-12-109 (8)
77.	<b>Unlawful purchase of firearms.</b> Any person who knowingly purchases or otherwise obtains a firearm on behalf of or for transfer to a person who the transferor knows or reasonably should know to be ineligible to possess a firearm commits a class 4 felony.	18-12-111 (1)
Miscellaneous Offenses		
78.	<b>Dueling.</b> Persons who by agreement engage in a fight with deadly weapons commit dueling, which is a class 4 felony.	18-13-104 (2)
79.	Hazardous wastes violations. Any person who abandons a vehicle containing hazardous wastes or intentionally spills such wastes on a street, highway, or public or private property without consent, commits a class 4 felony.	18-13-112 (3)

Elements of Offense C.R.S. Citation Offenses — Making, Financing, or Collection of Loans Extortionate extension of credit. Any agreement between a creditor and a debtor 80. 18-15-102 to the effect that delay or failure in making repayment for extension of credit will result in the use of extortionate means of collection results in extortionate extension of credit, which is a class 4 felony. Collection of extensions of credit by extortionate means. Any person who uses 81. 18-15-107 (2) extortionate means to collect any extension of credit commits a class 4 felony. Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992 82. Controlled substances. It is unlawful to manufacture, dispense, sell, possess, or 18-18-405 distribute a controlled substance, and it is a class 4 felony: if the violation is based on the possession of a controlled substance listed in (2) (a) (l) schedule II; or if a person is convicted of a first offense for such activity in the case of (2) (b) (l) schedule III controlled substances; or if a person is convicted of a second or subsequent offense for such activity in (2) (c) (II) the case of schedule IV controlled substances. 83. Offenses relating to marijuana. The following offenses involving marijuana or 18-18-406 marijuana concentrate are class 4 felonies: a second or subsequent conviction for possession of eight or more ounces of (4) (b) (II) marijuana or any amount of marijuana concentrate; an initial conviction of dispensing (with consideration) over one ounce of (7) (a) marijuana by a person aged 18 or over to a person aged 15 to 17 or any amount. of marijuana concentrate (with or without consideration) to a person under age 18; an initial conviction of dispensing any amount of marijuana (with or without (7) (b) consideration) by a person aged 18 or over to a person under age 15; an initial conviction of cultivating, growing, producing, processing, or (8) (a) (II) (A) manufacturing marijuana or its concentrate on land owned or controlled by the person or allowing such activities on his land; an initial conviction of manufacturing, dispensing, selling, possessing, or (8) (b) (III) (A) distributing marijuana or its concentrate. **Unlawfulacts.** Violation of any of the unlawful acts listed in paragraphs (o) through 84. 18-18-414 (5) (t) of section 18-18-414 (1) pursuant to the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. 85. *Fraud and deceit.* Violation of the provisions of section 18-18-415 regarding 18-18-415 (2) (b) obtaining controlled substances by fraud or deceit is a class 4 felony if the violation is committed subsequent to a prior conviction for the same offense.

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation	
86.	Controlled substances —inducing consumption by fraudulent means. It is a class 4 felony when a person by means of fraud or misrepresentation, causes another to unknowingly consume any controlled substance.	18-18-416 (2)	
87.	<i>Imitation controlled substances.</i> The manufacture, distribution, or possession with intent to distribute an imitation controlled substance is a class 4 felony when the violation is committee subsequent to a prior conviction for the same offense.	18-18-422 (1) (b) (II)	
88.	Imitation controlled substances. Distribution of an imitation controlled substance by a person 18 or older to a person 18 or younger is a class 4 felony.	18-18-422 (2) (b) (l)	
Gov	ernment — State Department of Human Services		
89.	Fraudulent acts. Obtaining public assistance or vendor payments when not entitled, or public assistance or vendor payments greater than those to which one is justly entitled, by means of a willfully false statement or representation or by impersonation or by any other fraudulent device is a class 4 felony when the value of the assistance or payments is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars (see 18-4-401 (2) (c)).	26-1-127 (1)	
Colo	orado Public Assistance Act		
90.	<b>Fraudulentacts.</b> Obtaining food stamps to which one is not entitled by false statement or representation or by impersonation is a class 4 felony when the value of the stamps is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars (see 18-4-401 (2) (c)).	26-2-305 (1)	
91.	<b>Trafficking in food stamps</b> . Trafficking in food stamps is a class 4 felony if the value of the food stamps is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars.	26-2-306 (2) (c)	
92.	<b>Trafficking in food stamps</b> . Trafficking in food stamps twice or more within a period of six months without having been placed in jeopardy for the prior offense or offenses is a class 4 felony when the aggregate value of the food stamps is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars.	26-2-306 (3)	
Colorado Medical Assistance Act			
93.	<b>Personal needs trust fund.</b> Unlawful use of a patient personal needs trust fund is a class 4 felony if the amount involved is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars.	26-4-504 (8) (d) (III)	

Government — Local Hazardous Substance Incidents

#### **Elements of Offense**

#### C.R.S. Citation

94. Hazardous substance incidents. Any person who intentionally causes or substantially contributes to the occurrence of a hazardous substance incident commits a class 4 felony. 29-22-108 (1)

#### Agriculture - Branding and Herding

95. **Theft of certain animals**. Any person who commits theft of, or knowingly kills, sells, drives, leads, transports, rides away, purchases, or in any manner deprives the owner of the immediate possession of any cattle, horses, mules, sheep, goats, swine, or asses, either live or slaughtered, commits a class 4 felony.

35-43-128

#### Regulation of Vehicles and Traffic

96. Accidents involving death or personal injuries. Drivers involved in accidents resulting in death or personal injuries shall immediately stop and remain at the scene, and shall fulfill the requirements concerning giving of certain information and the rendering of aid. A person who violates any provision of this section commits a class 4 felony if the accident resulted in the death of any person.

42-4-1601 (2) (c)

#### **Automobile Theft Law**

97. **Theft of motor vehicle parts**. Theft of motor vehicle parts two times or more within a period of six months without having been placed in jeopardy for the prior offense or offenses is a class 4 felony when the aggregate value of the things involved is fifteen thousand dollars or more.

42-5-104 (3)

#### **CLASS 5 FELONIES**

#### **Elements of Offense**

C.R.S. Citation

#### **Election Offenses**

 Penalties for election offenses — forgery. Anyone who forges, makes, or alters any ballot, petition, nomination paper, or letter of acceptance, declination, or withdrawal, commits forgery in the second degree, which is a class 5 felony. 1-13-106

#### Colorado Antitrust Act of 1992

2. **Illegal restraint; monopolization; bid rigging.** Violation of any of the provisions of sections 6-4-104, 6-4-105, or 6-4-106 of the Colorado Antitrust Act of 1992 regarding illegal restraint or trade or commerce, monopolization, and bid-rigging is a class 5 felony.

6-4-117 (2)

#### Colorado Charitable Solicitations Act

- 3. **Charitable fraud.** The commission of charitable fraud according to section 6-16-111 (2) (1) (b), (c), (d), (f), or (g) is a class 5 felony.
- 4. **Charitable fraud.** Charitable fraud pursuant to section 6-16-111 (1) (a) or (e) 6-16-111 (3) involving three separate contributors in any one solicitation campaign is a class 5 felony.

#### Division of Labor - Industrial Claim Appeals Office

Penalty for false statements — Industrial Commission — Division of Labor.
 If, under the statutory provisions of the sections concerning the Industrial Commission — Division of Labor, anyone willfully makes a false statement or misrepresentation for the purposes of obtaining benefit under said section, he commits a class 5 felony.

#### Labor and Industry - Enforcement and Penalties

6. **Penalty for false statements/Workers' Compensation Act of Colorado.** If anyone willfully makes a false statement or misrepresentation material to the claim in order to obtain benefits under articles 40 to 47 of title 8, Colorado Revised Statutes, concerning labor benefits, he or she commits a class 5 felony.

#### Financial Institutions — State Banking Commissioner

7. **Penalty for violation or non-performance of duties concerning the State Banking Commission.** Any person who willfully fails to perform any act required, or commits any act in violation of his duties concerning bank examinations and liquidations, commits a class 5 felony.

11-20-117

#### Financial Institutions — Organization and Powers

8. **Defrauding savings and loan associations**. Any employee of any savings and loan association who attempts to steal or defraud the association of any of its funds, securities, or properties, commits a class 5 felony.

11-41-127 (1)

#### Professions and Occupations — Acupuncturists

9. **Acupuncturists — grounds for disciplinary action**. A subsequent violation within three years of the date of conviction of any of the provisions of section 12-29.5-106 (1) (a) through (i), C.R.S., outlining grounds for disciplinary action for acupuncturists, is a class 5 felony.

12-29.5-108 (1)

#### **Medical Practice**

 Unprofessional conduct. Dispensing or injecting an anabolic steroid unless dispensed pursuant to a written prescription or dispensed by a practitioner is a class 5 felony. 12-36-129 (2.5)

#### Professions and Occupations - Mental Health

11. Mental health occupations. A subsequent violation within three years of a previous conviction of any of the provisions regarding mandatory disclosure of information to clients; title use restrictions; performing outside of the area of training, experience or competence; using any designation implying licensure when such license has been revoked; and selling or fraudulently obtaining or furnishing a license to practice is a class 5 felony.

12-43-226 (2)

**Elements of Offense** C.R.S. Citation Professions and Occupations — Alcoholic Beverages 12. Gambling activity - premises licensed to sell alcohol. It is a class 5 felony, in 12-47-901 (5) (n) (II) the case of an establishment licensed to sell alcoholic beverages, to permit or authorize gambling activity, except that which is conducted by an authorized nonprofit organization. Colorado Limited Gaming Act Violation of taxation provisions — gaming. Any person who makes any false or 13. 12-47.1-603 (1) (a) fraudulent return in an attempt to defeat or evade taxes imposed pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony. 14. Violation of taxation provisions -- gaming. Any person who, twice within a year, 12-47.1-603 (1) (d) fails to pay taxes due or file a return pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony. Violation of taxation provisions - gaming. Any person who willfully aids, 15. 12-47.1-603 (1) (e) assists, procures, counsels, or advises, in any matter before the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission, a return, affidavit, claim, or other document which is fraudulent or contains false information, commits a class 5 felony. 16. False statement on application. Any person who knowingly makes a false statement 12-47.1-802 in any application for a license, or who fails to keep books and records to substantiate receipts or expenses, or who falsifies any books or records relating to any transaction connected with any limited gaming, or who knowingly violates any of the provisions of the provisions of the Colorado Limited Gaming Act or any rule or regulation promulgated by the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission commits a class 5 felony. 17. **Slot machines — shipping notices.** Violation of any of the provisions regarding 12-47.1-803 (1) (b) the shipping or importing of a slot machine into the State of Colorado is a class 5 felony. 18. **Cheating.** Cheating at any limited gaming activity by an owner, employee of, or 12-47.1-822 (3) player at a limited gaming establishment is a class 5 felony if the person is a repeat gambling offender. 19. *Fraudulent acts — gaming.* Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-12-47.1-823 (2) 823 regarding fraudulent gaming acts is a class 5 felony if the person is a repeat gambling offender. 20. **Use of a device for calculating probabilities.** Use or possession of any device 12-47.1-824 (2) used to assist in projecting the outcome of a game, keep track of cards played, or analyze the probability of an event occurring or the strategy for playing or betting is a class 5 felony when the person is a repeat gambling offender.

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
21.	Counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens — unlawful devices, equipment, products, or materials. Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-825 regarding the use of counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens, unlawful coins or devices, and the possession of certain unlawful devices, equipment, products, or materials commits a class 5 felony when the person is a repeat gambling offender.	12-47.1-825 (8)
22.	<b>Cheating game and devices.</b> Knowingly conducting, operating, or allowing any cheating or thieving game or device, or knowingly dealing, conducting, or operating any game with cards or devices which have been marked or tampered with is a class 5 felony when the offender is a repeat gambling offender.	12-47.1-826 (2)
23.	Unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution of equipment and devices associated with limited gaming. Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-827 regarding the unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment and devices associated with limited gaming is a class 5 felony when the offender is a repeat gambling offender.	12-47.1-827 (4)
24.	<b>Unlawfulentry</b> . Unlawful entry into the premises of a licensed gaming establishment by a person whose name is on the list of persons who are to be excluded and ejected from gaming establishments is a class 5 felony.	12-47.1-828 (3)
25.	<b>False or misleading information</b> . Providing any false or misleading information pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act is a class 5 felony.	12-47.1-839 (2)
Profe	essions and Occupations — Outfitters and Guides	
26.	<b>Issuance of certificate of registration</b> . A second or subsequent conviction of any of the provisions regarding the requirements for issuance of a certificate of registration for outfitters is a class 5 felony.	12-55.5-107.5 (1)
Prof	essions and Occupations — Pawnbrokers	
27.	<b>Pawnbrokers</b> . A second or subsequent conviction for a violation of article 56 of title 12 within three years of the date of a prior conviction constitutes a class 5 fe	12-56-104 (4) lony.
28.	<b>Pawnbrokers.</b> Any customer who knowingly gives false information with respect to the information a pawnbroker is required to obtain and keep, commits a class 5 felony.	12-56-104 (5)
Dom	estic Matters — Parent and Child	
29.	<b>Nonsupport of spouse and children</b> . Any person who willfully neglects, fails, or refuses to provide reasonable support and maintenance for his spouse or for his children commits a class 5 felony.	14-6-101 (1)

# **Colorado Medical Treatment Decision Act**

30. **Colorado Medical Treatment Decision Act**. Any person who falsifies or forges 15-18-113 (2) a declaration of another commits a class 5 felony.

#### Inchoate Offenses

- 31. **Criminal attempt**. Criminal attempt to commit a class 4 felony is a class 5 felogy2-101 (4)
- 32. *Criminal conspiracy*. Conspiracy to commit a class 4 felony is a class 5 felony 8-2-206 (1)
- 33. **Criminal solicitation**. Any person who attempts to persuade another person to commit 18-2-301 (5) a class 4 felony commits a class 5 felony. (See 18-2-101 (4)).

## Offenses Against the Person

- 34. *Criminally negligent homicide*. Any person who causes the death of another person by conduct amounting to criminal negligence commits criminally negligent homicide, a class 5 felony.
- 35. **Assault in the first degree**. If assault in the first degree is committed but in the heat of passion caused by a highly provoking act of the victim, affecting the person causing the injury sufficiently to excite an irresistible passion in a reasonable person, and without an interval between the provocation and the injury sufficient for the voice of reason and humanity to be heard, it is a class 5 felony.
- 36. **Vehicular assault**: Any person who drives a motor vehicle in a reckless manner, and this conduct is the proximate cause of the serious bodily injury to another, commits a class 5 felony.
- 37. **Menacing.** Any person who menaces another by use of a deadly weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to cause a person to reasonably believe that the article is a deadly weapon, or who represents verbally or otherwise that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon, commits a class 5 felony.
- 38. **Violation of custody.** Any person who takes or entices any child under the age of 18 from the custody of his parents, guardian, legal custodian, or person with parental responsibilities with respect to the child commits a class 5 felony.
- 39. **Violation of custody**. Any parent who violates an order of court granting custody of a child or parental responsibilities with respect to a child under 18 to any person, agency, or institution, with the intent to deprive the lawful custodian or person with parental responsibilities of the custody or care of the child, commits a class 5 felony.

# Offenses Against Property

40. **Third degree burglary**. A person who enters or breaks into any vault, safe, cash register, coin vending machine, product dispenser, money depository, safety deposit box, coin telephone, coin box, etc., commits a class 5 felony.

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
53.	<i>Unlawful activity concerning the selling of land.</i> If any person, with intent to defraud, sells the same land twice, he commits a class 5 felony.	18-5-302 (1)
54.	<b>Failure to pay over assigned accounts</b> . A class 5 felony is committed when an assignor for the collection of a debt account fails to pay the assignee any money collected from the debtor, where the sum of money involved is five hundred dollars or more.	18-5-502
55.	<b>Concealment or removal of secured property</b> . If a person has given security interest in personal property and conceals or removes the encumbered property from Colorado without written consent, he commits a class 5 felony where the amount of the proceeds withheld is five hundred dollars or more.	18-5-504
56.	<b>Failure to pay over proceeds.</b> Any person giving security interest and retaining possession of the encumbered property and having liberty of sale or other disposition, and who wrongfully fails to pay to the secured creditor the amounts due on account thereof, commits a class 5 felony where the amount of the proceeds withheld is five hundred dollars or more.	18-5-505
57.	<b>Unauthorized use of a financial device</b> . Any person who uses a financial transaction device for the purpose of obtaining cash, credit, property, or services or for making financial payment, with intent to defraud, commits the unauthorized use of a financial device. If such cash, credit, property, or services obtained or financial payments made exceeds five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars, it is a class 5 felony.	18-5-702 (3) (c)
58.	<b>Criminal possession of a financial transaction device</b> . Any person who has in his possession four or more financial transaction devices issued to different account holders with the intent to defraud or which he knows to be lost, stolen, or delivered under a mistake commits a class 5 felony.	18-5-703 (4)
59.	<b>Sale of a financial transaction device</b> . Any person who, with intent to defraud, sells or has in his possession to sell, any financial transaction device which he knows to be lost, stolen, forged, altered, counterfeited, or delivered under a mistake, commits a class 5 felony.	18-5-704 (1)
60.	<b>Criminal possession of a blank financial transaction device</b> . Any person who has in his possession two or more blank financial transaction devices and who intends to use, deliver, circulate, or sell them without the authorization of the issuer or manufacturer commits a class 5 felony.	18-5-705 (3)
61.	<b>Sale of a blank financial transaction device</b> . Any person who delivers, circulates, or sells one blank financial transaction device which has not been embossed or magnetically encoded with the name of the account holder, personal identification code, expiration date, or other proprietary institutional information commits a class 5 felony.	18-5-705 (4)

# 62. Unlawful manufacture of a financial transaction device. A person commits a class 5 felony if he commits unlawful manufacture of a financial transaction device, with intent to defraud, by: a) falsely making or manufacturing such a device; b) falsely altering or adding codes or information to such a device; or c) falsely completing such a device. 63. Equity skimming. Equity skimming of real property is a class 5 felony.

**Elements of Offense** C.R.S. Citation Offenses Involving the Family Relations **Pretended criminal abortion**. Any person who intentionally pretends to end the real 64. 18-6-103 (2) or apparent pregnancy of a woman by means other than justified medical termination or birth commits a class 5 felony. **Domestic Violence Domestic violence — sentencing.** Any person convicted of any offense which 18-6-801 (7) would otherwise be a misdemeanor, the underlying factual basis of which includes an act of domestic violence and such person has been three times previously convicted of a felony or misdemeanor or municipal ordinance violation, the underlying factual basis of which included an act of domestic violence, shall be convicted of a class 5 felony. Wrongs Against At-risk Adults and At-risk Juveniles Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Any person whose conducts 18-6.5-103 (2) (b) amounts to criminal negligence when the negligence results in serious bodily injury to an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 5 felony. 67. Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Any person who commits a 18-6.5-103 (3) (b) crime of assault in the second degree when the victim is an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile and the act was committed upon a sudden heat of passion, caused by a serious and highly provoking act of the victim, causing an irresistible passion in a reasonable person, commits a class 5 felony. 68. Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles. Any person who commits 18-6.5-103 (5) theft, and commits any element of the offense in the presence of the victim when the victim is an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile commits a class 5 felony when the value of the thing involved is less than five hundred dollars.

# Offenses Relating to Morals

- 69. **Prostitution with knowledge of being infected with AIDS**. Prostitution with 18-7-201.7 (2) knowledge of being infected with AIDS is a class 5 felony.
- 70. **Pandering**. Any person who induces another person by menacing or criminal intimidation to commit prostitution or by arranging for another to practice prostitution commits a class 5 felony.

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
Offe	nses — Governmental Operations	
71.	<b>Sexual conduct in penal institutions.</b> An employee of a correctional facility or jail who engages in sexual conduct with an inmate commits a class 5 felony if the sexual conduct includes sexual intrusion or sexual penetration.	18-7-701 (1) (b)
72.	<b>Accessory to crime.</b> Being an accessory to crime is a class 5 felony if the offender knows that the person being assisted is suspected of or wanted for a class 1 or class 2 felony.	18-8-105 (4)
73.	<b>Accessory to crime</b> . Being an accessory to crime is a class 5 felony if the offender knows that the person being assisted has committed, or has been convicted of, or is charged with, or is suspected of or wanted for a felony other than a class 1 or class 2 felony.	18-8-105 (5)
74.	<b>Disarming a peace officer</b> . Disarming a peace officer is a class 5 felony. A person commits disarming a peace officer if he knowingly, without justification and without consent, removes the firearm of a peace officer who is acting under color of his official authority.	18-8-116 (2)
75.	Aiding escape from mental hospital. Any person who aids the escape of an inmate in a mental hospital knowing the person was committed pursuant to the criminal insanity statute commits a class 5 felony.	18-8-201.1
76.	<b>Escape.</b> A person who has been confined pursuant to the criminal insanity law commits a class 5 felony if he escapes his confinement and travels outside of the state of Colorado.	18-8-208 (6) (c)
77.	<b>Escape</b> . A person commits a class 5 felony if he escapes while in custody or confinement pursuant to the "Uniform Extradition Act."	18-8-208 (8)
78.	<b>Attempt to escape.</b> If a person, while in custody or confinement and held for or charged with but not convicted of a felony, attempts to escape from the custody or confinement, he commits a class 5 felony.	18-8-208.1 (2)
79.	<b>Escape.</b> A person who is in custody or confinement for a felony offense which is unclassified and escapes commits a class 5 felony.	18-8-210
80.	<b>Riots in correctional institutions</b> . A person confined in any correctional institution commits a class 5 felony if, during a riot, he intentionally disobeys an order to move, disperse, or refrain from specified activities.	18-8-211 (3)
81.	Unauthorized residency by parolee or probationer from another state. A probationer or parolee from another state who, in order to stay in the state, is required to have permission of the administrator of the Interstate Compact for Parolee Supervision, and does not receive such approval, commits a class 5 felony.	18-8-213 (2)
82.	<b>Embezzlement of public property</b> . A class 5 felony is committed when a public servant converts public moneys or properties to his own use or to any use other than the public use as authorized by law.	18-8-407 (2)

<u>Elen</u>	nents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation	
83.	<b>Jury tampering.</b> Knowing participation in the fraudulent processing or selection of jurors or prospective jurors or attempting to communicate with or influence jurors other than as a part of the official trial proceedings is a class 5 felony.	18-8-609 (2)	
Offe	nses Against Public Peace, Order, and Decency		
84.	<b>Inciting riot</b> . Any person who incites, urges, instructs, or signals a group of five or more persons to engage in a riot and injury to a person or damage to property results therefrom commits a class 5 felony.	18-9-102 (3)	
85.	Harassment — stalking. Stalking is a class 5 felony for a first offense.	18-9-111 (5) (a)	
86.	<b>Vehicular eluding.</b> Any person who, while operating a motor vehicle, knowingly eludes or attempts to elude a peace officer also operating a motor vehicle, and who operates the vehicle in a reckless manner, commits a class 5 felony when no bodily injury or death occurs.	18-9-116.5	
87.	Failure to leave premises on request of peace officer. Any person who barricades or refuses police entry to any premises through use or threat of force and fails to leave upon request by a peace officer outside the structure, and holds a hostage by feigning possession of a deadly weapon commits a class 5 felony.	18-9-119 (7)	
88.	<b>Terrorist training activities.</b> Any person who teaches, demonstrates, practices with, or is instructed in the use, application, or making of firearms, explosive or incendiary devices, or techniques capable of causing injury or death and who knows that the same will be used in the furtherance of a civil disorder commits a class 5 felony.	18-9-120 (2)	
89.	<b>Ethnic intimidation</b> . Knowingly causing bodily injury to another person because of that person's actual or perceived race, color, religion, ancestry. or national origin constitutes a class 5 felony.	18-9-121 (3)	
90.	Killing animals in contest. Any person or association of persons who advertise, conduct, or otherwise promote any contest the object of which is the fighting of dogs for monetary gain or entertainment commits a class 5 felony.	18-9-204 (2)	
91.	<b>Unlawfulownership of dangerous dog.</b> Any person who owns a dangerous dog when the dog causes the death of a person commits a class 5 felony.	18-9-204.5 (3) (d)	
92.	<b>Wiretapping and eavesdropping devices prohibited</b> . Any person who possesses instruments or devices for wiretapping or eavesdropping with intent to unlawfully use or employ such devices commits a class 5 felony upon a second or subsequent offense.	18-9-302	
Gambling			
93.	<b>Professional gambling.</b> A person who engages in professional gambling and is a repeated gambling offender commits a class 5 felony.	18-10-103 (2)	
Offe	enses Involving Disloyalty		

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
94.	<b>Insurrection.</b> Any person who intentionally, by force, resists the execution of state law or engages or participates with any armed force to invade the state, commits the class 5 felony of insurrection.	18-11-102 (2)
95.	<b>Advocating overthrow of government.</b> Anyone who advocates the destruction or overthrow of the government of the United State or of Colorado by violent force or action commits sedition, which is a class 5 felony.	18-11-201 (2)
96.	<b>Membership in anarchistic and seditious associations.</b> Any person who is a member of an unlawful organization which advocates violent and forceful change in the state of Colorado or in the United States commits a class 5 felony.	18-11-203 (2)
Offe	nses Relating to Firearms and Weapons	
97.	<b>Possessing a dangerous or illegal weapon.</b> A person who knowingly possesses a dangerous weapon commits a class 5 felony.	18-12-102 (3)
98.	<b>Use of stun guns</b> . The use of a stun gun in the commission of a criminal offense is a class 5 felony.	18-12-106.5
99.	Offenses relating to firearms. Any person who has within five years previously been convicted of possessing an illegal weapon, possessing a defaced firearm, unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon, or using a weapon in a prohibited manner, shall upon conviction for a second or subsequent offense be guilty of a class 5 felony.	18-12-107
100.	Illegal discharge of a firearm. Illegal discharge of a firearm is a class 5 felo	n <b>ỷ</b> 8-12-107.5 (3)
101.	<b>Possession of weapons by previous offenders</b> . Possession of a weapon by a previous offender subsequent to the offender's conviction for a felony, or for conspiracy or attempt to commit a felony, is a class 5 felony when the weapon is a dangerous weapon.	18-12-108 (2) (b)
102.	<b>Possession of weapons by previous offenders</b> . Possession of a weapon by a previous offender subsequent to the offender's conviction for a felony, or for conspiracy or attempt to commit a felony, is a class 5 felony when the previous conviction was for burglary, arson, or any felony involving the use of force or a deadly weapon.	18-12-108 (2) (c)
103.	<b>Possession of weapons by previous offenders.</b> Possession of a weapon by a previous offender subsequent to the person's adjudication for a felony, or for attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony, is a class 5 felony when the weapon is a dangerous weapon.	18-12-108 (4) (b)
104.	<b>Possession of weapons by previous offenders</b> . Possession of a weapon by a previous offender subsequent to the offender's adjudication for a felony, or for conspiracy or attempt to commit a felony, is a class 5 felony when the previous adjudication was for burglary, arson, or any felony involving the use of force or a deadly weapon.	18-12-108 (4) (c)
105.	<b>Possession of handguns by juveniles.</b> Possession of any handgun by a person who has not attained the age of 18 years is a class 5 felony for a second or subsequent offense.	18-12-108.5 (1) (c) (II)

106. Possession of explosives. Any person who manufacturers or possesses or who gives, mails, sends, or causes to be sent any false, facsimile, or hoax explosive or incendiary device to another person or places any such purported explosive or incendiary device in or upon any real or personal property commits a class 5 felony.

18-12-109 (7)

#### Miscellaneous Offenses

107. Violation concerning sale of secondhand property. Upon a second or subsequent conviction within a three-year period, any dealer in secondhand property who fails to make record of a sale exceeding thirty dollars, to deliver such record to local law enforcement agencies, or to retain such record for a one-year period commits a class 5 felony.

18-13-114 (6) (a)

# Offenses - Making, Financing, or Collection of Loans

108. Financing extortionate extensions of credit. Any person advancing money or property to another whom he reasonably suspects will use such money or property for the purpose of making an extortionate extension of credit commits a class 5 felony.

#### Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992

- 109. Unlawfuluse of a controlled substance. Any person who uses any controlled substance, except its lawful administration for bona fide medical needs, commits a class 5 felony in the case of a schedule I or II controlled substance.
- 110. Unlawful activity relating to controlled substances. It is unlawful to manufacture, dispense, sell, possess, or distribute a controlled substance, and it is a class 5 felony:
  - if a person is convicted of a first offense for such activity in the case of schedule (2) (c) (l)
     IV controlled substances; or
  - if a person is convicted of a second or subsequent offense for such activity in the case of schedule V controlled substances.
- 111. *Offenses relating to marijuana*. The following offenses relating to marijuana or marijuana concentrate are class 5 felonies:
  - a second or subsequent conviction for possession of more than one ounce but (4) (a) (II) less than eight ounces of marijuana;
  - an initial conviction for possession of eight ounces or more of marijuana or any (4) (b) (l) amount of marijuana concentrate.
- 112. **Unlawfuluse of marihuana in a detention facility.** Any person confined in any detention facility in this state commits a class 5 felony for a second or subsequent violation where both the initial and subsequent violations involved possessing more than one ounce of marihuana.
- 113. *Fraud and deceit*. Violation of any of the provisions of section 18-18-415 regarding obtaining a controlled substance by fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or subterfuge is a class 5 felony.
- 114. *Imitation controlled substances*. The manufacture, distribution, or possession with intent to distribute an imitation controlled substance is a class 5 felony.
- Counterfeit substances. The knowing intent to manufacture, deliver, or possess or to intentionally make, distribute, or possess any equipment designed to reproduce a counterfeit controlled substance is a class 5 felony.

# 18-18-423 (3)

18-18-422 (1) (b) (l)

## Offenses Related to Limited Gaming

Elements of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
116. Violation of taxation provisions. Any person who makes any false or fraudulent return in attempting to defeat or evade taxes imposed by the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony.	18-20-103 (1) (a)
117. Violation of taxation provisions — gaming. Any person who, twice or more within one year, fails to pay tax due within 30 days after the date due, or fails to file a return within 30 days after the date the return is due, pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony.	18-20-103 (1) (d)
1.18. Violation of taxation provisions — gaming. Any person who wilfully aids or assists in, or procures, counsels, or advises the preparation or presentation of a return, affidavit, claim, or other document which is fraudulent or false pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony.	18-20-103 (1) (e)
119. False statement on application. Any person who knowingly makes a false statement in any application for a license or who provides false or misleading information or who fails to keep books and records to substantiate receipts or expenses or who falsifies any books or records related to any transaction connected with limited card games or slot machines or who knowingly violates any of the provisions of or rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class	18-20-104 5 felony.
120. <b>Slot machines.</b> Any violation of the provisions of section 18-20-105 (1) regarding the requirements for shipping notices of slot machines commits a class 5 felony.	18-20-105 (1)
121. Cheating. Cheating at any limited gaming activity is a class 5 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act and is a repeat gambling offender.	18-20-106 (3)
122. Fraudulent acts — gaming. Violation of any of the provisions of section 18-20-107 regarding fraudulent acts pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act is a class 5 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Act and is a repeat gambling offender.	18-20-107 (2)
123. Use of device for calculating probabilities. Any person who uses or possesses a device intended to project the outcome of a game, keep track of cards played, analyze the probability of the occurrence of an event in the game or analyze the strategy for playing a game pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Act and is a repeat gambling offender.	18-20-108 (2)
124. Counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens — unlawful coins or devices. Violation of any of the provisions of section 18-20-109 regarding the use of counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens or unlawful coins or devices or the possession or unlawful devices, equipment, products or materials pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act is a class 5 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Act and is a repeat gambling offender.	18-20-109 (8)

- 125. Cheating game and devices. Any person who knowingly conducts or allows any cheating or thieving game or conducts any game played with cards or a mechanical device which has been marked commits a class 5 felony when the person has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act and is a repeat gambling offender.
- 18-20-110 (2)
- 126. Unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification
  of equipment and devices associated with limited gaming. Any person who
  violates any of the provisions of section 18-20-111 regarding the unlawful manufacture,
  sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment or devices related to
  limited gaming commits a class 5 felony when the offender has been issued a license
  pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act and is a repeat gambling offender.
- 127. Unlawful entry by excluded and ejected persons. Any person who enters the licensed premises of a limited gaming licensee or who has any personal pecuniary interest in any limited gaming licensee or establishment when that person's name is on the list of persons who are to be excluded and ejected from such premises commits a class 5 felony.
- 128. *False or misleading information*. Any person who provides any false or misleading 18-20-114 (2) information pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 5 felony.

# State History, Archives and Emblems

129. **Punishment for illegal use of state emblems and symbols**. Illegal use of the seal 24-80-902 of the state of Colorado is a class 5 felony.

## Government - State Department of Public Health and Environment

130. **Department of Public Health — penalties**. An attempt or threat to tamper with a public water system or with drinking water after its withdrawal for or treatment by a public water system is a class 5 felony.

#### Government — Local Hazardous Substance Incidents

131. *Hazardous substance incidents*. Any person who willfully, recklessly, or with criminal negligence causes or substantially contributes to the occurrence of a hazardous substance incident commits a class 5 felony.

#### Wildlife — Law Enforcement and Penalties

132. *Illegal sale of wildlife.* It is unlawful for any person to sell or purchase or offer for sale or purchase any wildlife or to solicit another person in the illegal taking of any wildlife for the purpose of monetary or commercial gain or profit. Violation with respect to big game, endangered species, or eagles, constitutes a class 5 felony.

133. **Willful destruction of wildlife.** It is unlawful for any person to take or to solicit another person to take any wildlife and detach or remove, with the intent to abandon the carcass or body, only the head, hide, claws, teeth, antlers, horns, internal organs, or feathers or any or all of such parts or to kill and abandon any wildlife. Violation, with respect to big game, eagles and endangered species is a class 5 felony.

33-6-117 (1) (a)

# Agriculture — Slaughter, Processing, and Sale of Meat Animals

134. **Sale of diseased meat**. The unlawful sale of diseased meat for slaughter or human consumption is a class 5 felony.

35-33-204 (2)

## Agriculture — Sale of Stock

135. Selling livestock without bill of sale — theft. Any person who sells livestock which does not carry the seller's brand, or for which he has no bill of sale or power of attorney, is guilty of a class 5 felony (see section 18-4-401 (5)).

35-54-105 (1)

Elements of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
Property — Real and Personal — Lien on Wells and Equipment	
136. <b>Penalty for removing property covered by a lien on a well or equipment</b> . Any person who removed property covered by a lien on a well or equipment when the lien has been filed is guilty of a class 5 felony (see section 18-4-401(5)).	38-24-108
Taxation — Procedure and Administration	
137. <b>Tax amnesty program</b> . The following violations involving the tax amnesty program are class 5 felonies:	39-21-118
<ul> <li>willfully attempting to evade or defeat any tax administered;</li> </ul>	39-21-118 (1)
<ul> <li>failing to collect or account for or pay such tax;</li> </ul>	39-21-118 (2)
<ul> <li>willfully making or subscribing a return, statement, or document that is not true or not correct as to every material matter; and</li> </ul>	39-21-118 (4)
<ul> <li>willfully aiding or assisting in the fraudulent or false giving of information</li> </ul>	ati <b>399</b> n.21-118 (5)
Taxation - Income Tax	
138. <b>Residential energy credit.</b> Violation of any of the provisions regarding allocation of energy credits to a commercial lending institution is a class 5 felony.	39-22-114 (5) (c)
Automobile Theft Law	
139. Accidents involving death or personal injury. The driver of any vehicle who fails to stop at an accident resulting in serious bodily injury to another in which he or she was directly involved commits a class 5 felony.	42-4-1601 (2) (b)
140. Stolen motor vehicle parts. Any person who buys, sells, exchanges, or alters the appearance of a motor vehicle or motor vehicle part which is the property of another, or any person who aids in the commission of any such act and who knows or should know that such motor vehicle or motor vehicle part is stolen property, commits a class 5 felony.	42-5-102 (1)
141. Stolen motor vehicle parts. Any person who, except as needed for legitimate repairs, intentionally removes, alters, or obliterates a motor vehicle identification number, manufacturer's number, or engine number or who knowingly possesses a motor vehicle or motor vehicle part containing a removed, altered, or obliterated vehicle identification number, manufacturer's number, or engine number commits a class 5 felony.	42-5-102 (2)
142. <b>Tampering with a motor vehicle</b> . Tampering with a motor vehicle is a class 5 felony if the damage is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand d	42-5-103 (2) (b) lollars.
143. Theft of motor vehicle parts. Theft of motor vehicle parts is a class 5 felony if the value of the thing involved is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars.	42-5-104 (2) (b)

144. **Theft of motor vehicle parts.** Theft of motor vehicle parts two or more times within a period of six months without having been placed in jeopardy for the prior offense or offenses is a class 5 felony if the aggregate value of the things involved is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars.

42-5-104 (3)

- 53 - **5F** 

<b>CLASS</b>	6	FE	LO	NI	ES
--------------	---	----	----	----	----

Elements of Offense		C.R.S. Citation
Offer	nses Related to the Election Code	
1.	<b>False information regarding residence</b> . Any person who votes by giving a false place of residence commits a class 6 felony.	1-2-228 and 1-13-709.5
Offer	nses Related to Consumer and Commercial Affairs	
2.	<b>Promoting pyramid promotional scheme</b> . Anyone who is convicted of a second or subsequent offense of promoting a pyramid promotional scheme commits a class 6 felony.	6-1-114
Offer	nses Related to Labor and Industry	
3.	<b>Armed guards</b> . Anyone who brings workmen into this state to guard other persons or property with arms, or removes them from one place to another without a permit from the governor, commits a class 6 felony.	8-2-106
Offer	nses Related to Industrial and Commercial Safety	
4.	<b>Willful negligence to observe construction requirement</b> If any lives are lost by reason of the willful negligence and failure to observe the construction and fire regulations for buildings to be used for public assemblages, the person through whose default such loss of life was occasioned commits a class 6 felony.	9-1-106
5.	<b>Unlawfully transporting explosives</b> . Any person who unlawfully transports explosives in violation of Article 6 of Title 9 commits a class 6 felony.	9-6-103
Offe	nses Related to Insurance	
6.	<b>Violation of insurance laws.</b> Any insurer who wilfully violates the provisions of Article 8 of Title 10 (Regulation of Insurance Holding Companies), commits a class 6 felony.	10-3-810
Offe	nses Related to Financial Institutions	
7.	<b>Violation of banking laws</b> Any person responsible for any act or omission expressly declared to be criminal by the banking code, if the act or omission was intended to defraud, commits a class 6 felony.	11-11-108 (1) (b
8.	<b>Violation of industrial banking laws.</b> Any person associated with an industrial bank who embezzles or misapplies funds of an industrial bank in an amount exceeding five thousand dollars commits a class 6 felony.	11-22-114 (3)

Civil liability for wrongful disclosure of financial record. A director, executive officer, controlling person, or employee of a foreign capital depository or an officer, employee, or agent of a state or local agency who knowingly discloses a financial record in violation of any of the privacy protection provisions of the Colorado Foreign Capital Depository Act commits a class 6 felony.

- 10. **Violation of securities act** Any person who wilfully violates the provisions of the 11-51-603 (2) "Securities Act" (Article 51 of Title 11) commits a class 6 felony.
- 11. **Violation of "Uniform Facsimile Signature of Public Officials Act"**. Any 11-55-105 person who violates the provisions of Article 55 of Title 11 commits a class 6 felony.

## Offenses Related to Professions and Occupations

- 12. **Violation of automobile dealer "Antimonopoly Financing Law"**. Any person 12-6-210 who violates the provisions of Part 2 of Article 6 of Title 12 commits a class 6 felony.
- 13. Farm products. A person commits a class 6 felony if that person:
  - makes fraudulent charges or returns for the handling, sale, or storage or for any 12-16-115 (1) (a) service in connection with the handling, sale, or storage of farm products;
  - willfully fails or refuses to render a true account of sales or storage or to make a 12-16-115 (1) (b) settlement thereon to pay for farm products received within the time and in the manner required by part 1 of article 16 of title 12;
  - intentionally makes false or misleading statements as to market conditions for farm 12-16-115 (1) (c) products or false or misleading statements as to the condition, quality, or quantity of farm products received, handled, sold, or stored;
  - engages in fictitious sales, in collusion, or in unfair practices to defraud the 12-16-115 (1) (d) owners; or
  - acts as a dealer, small volume dealer, agent, or transporter without having obtained 12-16-115 (1) (e) a license or acts as a dealer or agent without having executed and delivered a surety bond as provided in part 1 of article 16 of title 12.

**Elements of Offense** C.R.S. Citation 14. **Farm commodity warehousing.** A person commits a class 6 felony if that person: makes fraudulent charges or returns for the handling, sale, or storage or for the 12-16-221 (1) (a) rendering of any service in connection with the handling, sale, or storage of any commodities: willfully fails or refuses to render a true account of sales or storage or to make a 12-16-221 (1) (b) settlement thereon or to pay for commodities received within the time and in the manner required by part 2 of article 16 of title 12; intentionally makes false or misleading statements as to the market conditions for 12-16-221 (1) (c) commodities or false or misleading statements as to the condition, quality, or quantity of commodities received, handled, sold, or stored; engages in fictitious sales, in collusion, or in unfair practices to defraud the 12-16-221 (1) (d) owners; acts as a commodity handler without a license or filing a surety bond or letter of 12-16-221 (1) (e) willfully alters or destroys any negotiable warehouse receipt or the record of such 12-16-221 (1) (j) receipt or issuing a receipt without preserving a record thereof; or issues a receipt when the commodity described is not available; or issues, with intent of defraud, a second receipt for a commodity for which a valid negotiable warehouse receipt is already outstanding and in force; or while any valid receipt is outstanding and in force, sells, pledges, mortgages, encumbers, or transfers a commodity in violation of the provisions of part 2 of article 16 of title 12 without the written consent of the holder of the receipt. 15. **Drugs and druggists.** Violating any of the provisions of part 1 of article 22 of title 12-22-127 12, for a second or subsequent time, constitutes a class 6 felony. 16. False advertising of cancer cure. Any person who is convicted of a third or 12-30-107 (2) subsequent offense of willfully and falsely representing a device, substance, or treatment as being of value in the treatment, alleviation, or cure of cancer, commits a class 6 felony. 17. **Podiatrists.** Any person who presents as his own the diploma, license, certificate, or 12-32-109 (1.5) credentials of another, or who gives false or forged evidence to the Colorado Podiatry Board in connection with the application for license to practice podiatry, or who practices podiatry under an assumed name or who falsely impersonates a licensee commits a class 6 felony. **Medical practice.** A second or subsequent offense of any person, association or 18. 12-36-129 (1) corporation practicing medicine without complying with the provisions of article 36 of title 12 is a class 6 felony. 19. **Medical practice.** A person who practices medicine under a false or assumed name 12-36-129 (2) or who uses false or forged evidence to obtain a license commits a class 6 felony.

**Elements of Offense** C.R.S. Citation 20. **Midwifery—unlawful practices.** Any person who practices direct-entry midwifery 12-37-108 without first complying with the registration requirements and the disclosure requirements for a second or subsequent offense commits a class 6 felony. 21. **Practicing nursing without a license**. A professional or practical nurse who 12-38-123 (2) practices without a license or during suspension of a license, or who fraudulently obtains a license commits a class 6 felony if convicted of a second or subsequent violation with three years of the first violation. 22. **Nurse aide—unlawful acts.** A subsequent violation of any of the provisions of 12-38.1-118 (2) section 12-38.1-118 (1), C.R.S., regarding the practice and certification of nurse aides is a class 6 felony. 23. **Nursing home administrator — unlawful acts.** A subsequent violation within 12-39-116 (2) 3 years of the date of a first conviction of any of the provisions of section 12-39-116, C.R.S., regarding the practice and licensure of nursing home administrators is a class 6 felony. **Practice of optometry.** Violation of any of the provisions of article 40 of title 12 24. 12-40-124 regarding the practice of optometry for a third or subsequent offense is a class 6 felony. 25. **Procuring food or accommodations with intent to defraud**. Any person who 12-44-102 procures food or accommodations with intent to defraud and without making payment, and the amount due under the agreement with the public establishment is more than five hundred dollars, commits a class 6 felony. 26. **Cheating.** Cheating at any limited gaming activity is a class 6 felony when the 12-47.1-822 (3) offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act. 27. **Fraudulent acts—gaming.** Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-12-47.1-823 (2) 823 regarding fraudulent gaming acts is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act. 28. Use of a device for calculating probabilities. Use or possession of any device 12-47.1-824 (2) used to assist in projecting the outcome of a game, keep track of cards played, or analyze the probability of an event occurring or the strategy for playing or betting is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act. 29. Counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens — unlawful devices, equipment, 12-47.1-825 (8) products, or materials. Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-825 regarding the use of counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens, unlawful coins or devices, and the possession of certain unlawful devices, equipment, products, or materials is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.

30. **Cheating game and devices.** Knowingly conducting, operating, or allowing any cheating or thieving game or device, or knowingly dealing, conducting, or operating any game with cards or devices which have been marked or tampered with is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.

- 31. **Manufacture, sale, distribution of equipment and devices associated with** 12-47.1-827 (4) **limited garning.** Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-827 regarding the unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment and devices associated with limited gaming is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.
- 32. **Acting as subdivision developer without registering**. Any person who acts as 12-61-407 a subdivision developer without having been properly and legally registered commits a class 6 felony.

#### Offenses Related to Courts and Court Procedure

- 33. **Confidentiality—courts.** Releasing information regarding a decision of a court of 13-1-128 (4) record before such decision is publicly announced by the court is a class 6 felony.
- 34. **Avoiding writ** Any person who attempts to avoid a writ of habeas corpus commits 13-45-114 a class 6 felony.

#### **Inchoate Offenses**

- 35. *Criminal attempt*. Criminal attempt to commit a class 5 or class 6 felony is a class 6 18-2-101 (4) felony.
- 36. **Criminal attempt** Criminal attempt to commit a felony defined outside of the criminal 18-2-101 (5) code and for which no penalty is specified is a class 6 felony.
- 37. **Conspiracy**. Conspiracy to commit a felony defined outside of the criminal code and 18-2-201 (5) for which no penalty is specified is a class 6 felony.
- 38. Conspiracy. Conspiracy to commit a class 5 or class 6 felony is a class 6 felote/2-206 (1)

## Offenses Against the Person

39. Assault in the second degree. When assault in the second degree is committed upon a sudden heat of passion, caused by a highly provoking act of the victim, affecting the person causing the assault sufficiently to excite an irresistible passion in a reasonable person, and without an interval between the provocation and the injury sufficient for the voice of reason and humanity to be heard, it is a class 6 felony.

40. Sex offenders against children — duty to register. Failure to register as a 18-3-412.5 (4) (b) convicted sex offender or submitting false information on a registration form is a class 6 felony for a second or subsequent offense. In addition to any other penalty, a mandatory one-year sentence to the Department of Corrections is imposed for this offense.

# Offenses Against Property

- 41. **Aggravated motor vehicle theft.** Second degree aggravated motor vehicle theft is a class 6 felony when the value of the motor vehicle or vehicles involved is five hundred dollars or more but less than fifteen thousand dollars.
- 42. **Theft of medical records or medical information**. Any person who obtains medical records or medical information without authorization and who uses the records or information for his own use or the use of another commits theft of medical records or medical information, which is a class 6 felony.
- 43. **Unlawfultransfer for sale of sound recordings**. Any person who, without the consent of the owner, transfers any copyrighted sound recordings with the intent to sell such article on which such sounds are recorded or to cause the same to be sold for profit or used for promotion, commits a class 6 felony.

# Offenses Involving Fraud

- 44. **Criminal possession of first degree forged instrument** Any person who possesses 18-5-105 a forged instrument and intends to use the instrument to defraud, commits a class 6 felony.
- 45. *Criminal possession of forgery devices*. Any person who possesses forgery devices 18-5-109 (2) with the intent to fraudulently use them commits a class 6 felony.
- 46. **Criminal impersonation**. Any person who assumes a false or fictitious identity or 18-5-113 (2) capacity and in such identity or capacity does an act with intent to unlawfully gain a benefit for himself or another or to injure or defraud another commits a class 6 felony.
- 47. Fraud by check. Fraud by check is a class 6 felony if the fraudulent check was for the sum of five hundred dollars or more, or if the offender is convicted of fraud by check involving the issuance of two or more checks within any 60 day period totaling five hundred dollars or more, or if the offender has been twice previously convicted under this section.
- 48. *Fraud by check*. Fraud by check is a class 6 felony if the fraudulent check was drawn on an account which did not exist or which had been closed for a period of 30 days or more prior to issuance of the check.
- 49. **Issuing a false financial statement**. A person who issues two or more false financial 18-5-209 (5) statements for the purpose of obtaining two or more financial transaction devices in order to obtain property, services, or money commits a class 6 felony.

- 50. **Receiving deposits in a failing financial institution**. Any officer, manager, or other person directing a financial institution, who receives deposits or investments, knowing that the institution is insolvent, commits a class 6 felony.
- 51. **Unlawful activity concerning the selling of land**. Any person who knowingly makes a false representation as to the existence of an ownership interest in land which he has as a seller or which his principal has, and which is relied upon, commits a class 6 felony.
- 52. **Commercial bribery and breach of duty to act disinterestedly.** A person commits 18-5-401 (1) a class 6 felony if he solicits, accepts, or agrees to accept any benefit as consideration for knowingly violating or agreeing to violate a duty of fidelity to which he is subject.
- 53. Commercial bribery and breach of duty to act disinterestedly. A person who holds himself out to the public as being engaged in the business of making disinterested selection, appraisal, or criticism of commodities, property, or services commits a class 6 felony if he knowingly solicits, accepts, or agrees to accept any benefit to alter, modify, or change his selection, appraisal, or criticism.
- 54. **Commercial bribery and breach of duty to act disinterestedly.** A person commits 18-5-401 (3) a class 6 felony if he confers or offers or agrees to confer any benefit the acceptance of which would be a felony under subsections 18-5-401(1) and 18-5-401(2).
- 55. **Bribery in sports**. Any person involved in bribery in sports contests or of sports 18-5-403 (3) participants commits a class 6 felony.
- 56. **Fraudulent receipt.** A warehouseman who fraudulently issues a receipt for goods 18-5-506 knowing that the goods have not been actually received by the warehouseman, or are not under his actual control at the time of issuing the receipt, commits a class 6 felony.
- 57. **Duplicate receipt not marked.** A warehouseman who issues a duplicate or additional negotiable receipt for goods knowing that a former negotiable receipt for the same goods is outstanding and uncancelled, without placing upon the face thereof the word "duplicate", commits a class 6 felony.
- 58. **Criminal possession of a financial transaction device**. Any person who has in his possession two or more financial transaction devices, with the intent to defraud or which he knows to be lost, stolen, or delivered under a mistake commits a class 6 felony.
- 59. Criminal possession of a blank financial transaction device. Any person who has in his possession a blank financial transaction device and who intends to use, deliver, circulate, or sell it without the authorization of the issuer or manufacturer commits a class 6 felony.
- 60. **Criminal possession of forgery devices**. A person commits a class 6 felony if he possesses any tools, photographic equipment, printing equipment, or other device used in the unauthorized manufacture, printing, embossing, magnetic encoding, or altering of a financial transaction device.

Elen	nents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
61.	Equity skimming. Equity skimming of a vehicle is a class 6 felony.	18-5-803 (2)
Con	nputer Crime	
<b>62</b> .	<b>Computer crime.</b> A person commits a class 6 felony if he or she accesses a computer, computer network, or computer system without authorization, exceeds authorized access to, or uses a computer, computer network, or computer system without authorization or in excess of authorized access after having been previously convicted of such o	18-5.5-102 (3) (b) ffense.
Offe	enses Involving the Family Relations	
63.	<b>Bigamy</b> . Any married person who, while still married, marries or cohabits with another commits bigamy which is a class 6 felony.	18-6-201 (2)
64.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles</b> . A crime against an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile is a class 6 felony when the crime amounts to criminal negligence resulting in bodily injury.	18-6.5-103 (2) (c)
65.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles.</b> A person who commits unlawful sexual contact or third degree sexual assault against a victim who is an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile commits a class 6 felony.	18-6.5-103 (7) (c)
66.	<b>Crimes against at-risk adults and at-risk juveniles.</b> A psychotherapist who commits sexual assault against a client who is an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile commits a class 6 felony.	18-6.5-103 (7) (f)
Offe	enses Relating to Morals	
67.	Obscenity. Wholesale promotion of obscenity to a minor is a class 6 felony.	18-7-102 (1.5) (b)
68.	Obscenity. Promotion of obscenity to a minor is a class 6 felony.	18-7-102 (2.5) (b)
69.	<b>Patronizing a prostitute with knowledge of being infected with AIDS.</b> Patronizing a prostitute with knowledge of being infected with AIDS is a class 6 felony.	18-7-205.7 (2)
70.	<b>Indecent exposure.</b> A third or subsequent offense of indecent exposure to a child is a class 6 felony.	18-7-302 (4)
71.	<b>Sexual conduct in penal institutions.</b> An employee of a correctional facility or jail who engages in sexual conduct with an inmate commits a class 6 felony if the conduct consists solely of sexual contact.	18-7-701 (1) (a)

Elements of Offense

C.R.S. Citation

Offenses Related to Governmental Operations

72. Accessory to crime. Being an accessory to a crime is a class 6 felony when the crime 18-8-105 (5)

73. *False report of explosives*. Any person who reports that a bomb or other explosive, chemical or biological agent, poison or weapon, or harmful radioactive substance has been placed in any public or private place or vehicle, knowing that the report is false, commits a class 6 felony.

is a class 6 felony.

74. *Introducing contraband in the second degree.* Any person who introduces 18-8-204 (3) contraband, as defined in section 18-8-204, into a detention facility commits a class 6 felony.

75. **Possession of contraband in the first degree**. Any person confined in a detention 18-8-204.1 (2) facility who possesses contraband (other than a dangerous instrument) commits a class 6 felony.

76. **Violation of bail bond conditions.** If a person has been accused of a felony and is 18-8-212 (1) released on bail bond, he commits a class 6 felony if he knowingly fails to appear for trial or if he knowingly violates the condition of the bail bond.

77. **Compensation for official behavior.** A person commits a class 6 felony if he accepts 18-8-303 (1) compensation for having, as a public servant, given a decision, opinion, recommendation, or vote favorable to another or for having otherwise exercised a discretion in his favor, or if he offers compensation for such a favor.

78. **Designation of supplier prohibited.** Any public servant who requires or directs a bidder or contractor to deal with a particular person in procuring goods or services required in submitting a bid to or fulfilling a contract with any government commits a class 6 felony.

79. *Misuse of official information*. Any public servant, in contemplation of official action by himself or in reliance on information to which he has access in his official capacity and which has not been made public, commits a class 6 felony if he: (1) acquires a pecuniary interest in any property, transaction, or enterprise which may be affected by such information or official action; or (2) speculates or wagers on the basis of such information or official action; or (3) aids, advises, or encourages another to do any of the foregoing with intent to confer on any person a special pecuniary benefit.

80. **Issuing a false certificate.** A public servant who is authorized to make and issue 18-8-406 official certificates or other official written instruments commits a class 6 felony if he makes and issues such an instrument containing a statement which he knows is false.

81. **Tampering with physical evidence**. Tampering with physical evidence is a class 6 18-8-610 (3) felony.

# Offenses Against Public Peace, Order and Decency

- 63 - **6F** 

Elen	nents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
82.	Firearms, explosives, or incendiary devices in facilities of public transportation. A person commits a class 6 felony if, without legal authority, he has any loaded firearm or explosive or incendiary device in his possession in, or carries, or brings any of such items into, any facility of public transportation.	18-9-118
83.	<b>Unlawful ownership of dangerous dog.</b> Unlawful ownership of a dangerous dog when the dog inflicts bodily injury upon a person is a class 6 felony for a second or subsequent violation.	18-9-204.5 (3) (c)
84.	<b>Wiretapping prohibited</b> . Wiretapping that does not involved a cordless phone is a class 6 felony.	18-9-303 (2)
85.	Eavesdropping prohibited. Eavesdropping is a class 6 felony.	18-9-304 (2)
86.	<b>Illegal telecommunications equipment</b> Any person who makes, possesses, or uses illegal telecommunications equipment, commits a class 6 felony for a second or subsequent violation within five years of a previous violation.	18-9-309 (2.5)
87.	<b>Unlawful use of information</b> . Any person who, having obtained information pursuant to a court order for wiretapping or eavesdropping, knowingly uses, publishes, or divulges the information to any person or in any manner not authorized by law commits a class 6 felony.	18-9-310
Offe	nses Involving Gambling	
88.	<b>Possession of gambling devices</b> . Possession of gambling devices by a repeating gambling offender is a class 6 felony.	18-10-105 (2)
89.	<b>Gambling information</b> . Any person who knowingly transmits or receives gambling information commits a class 6 felony if he is a repeating gambling offender.	18-10-106 (1)
90.	<b>Gambling premises.</b> A repeating gambling offender who maintains gambling premises commits a class 6 felony.	18-10-107 (3)

# Offenses Involving Disloyalty

91. *Inciting destruction of life or property*. Any person who advocates the unlawful destruction of private or public property by the use of physical force, or the unlawful injury of any person, or the unlawful taking of human life, as a policy or course of conduct, under circumstances constituting a clear and present danger that violent action will result therefrom, commits a class 6 felony.

18-11-202

# Offenses Related to Firearms and Weapons

92. **Possession of weapons by previous offender.** A person who knowingly possesses, uses, or carries a firearm or any other weapon subsequent to the person's conviction for attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony commits a class 6 felony.

18-12-108 (2) (a)

93. **Possession of weapons by previous offender.** A person who knowingly possesses, uses, or carries a firearm or any other weapon subsequent to the person's adjudication for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a felony, commits a class 6 felony.

18-12-108 (4) (a)

## Miscellaneous Offenses

94. **Criminal libel**. It is a class 6 felony to publish or disseminate any statement or object tending to blacken the memory of one who is dead, or to impeach the reputation or expose the natural defects of one who is alive, exposing him to public hatred, contempt, or ridicule.

18-13-105 (3)

# Offenses - Making, Financing, or Collection of Loans

95. **Criminal usury**. Any person who knowingly charges, takes, or receives any money or other property as a loan finance charge where the charge exceeds an annual percentage rate of forty-five percent or the equivalent for a longer or shorter period commits a class 6 felony.

18-15-104 (1)

- 96. *Financingcriminal usury*. Any person who finances criminal usury commits a class 18-15-106 6 felony.
- 97. **Records of criminal usury**. Any person who possesses or conceals records of criminally serious transactions with intent to aid, assist, or facilitate criminal usury commits a class 6 felony.

18-15-108 (1)

#### Offenses Related to Purchases of Valuable Articles

98. Violation of "Purchase of Valuable Articles" statute. Any person who violates the provisions of article 16 of title 18, concerning the purchase and sale of valuable articles, or who knowingly gives false information regarding the seller of a valuable article commits a class 6 felony.

#### **Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992**

99. **Unlawfuluse of marihuana in a detention facility.** Any person confined in any detention facility in this state who possesses or uses up to eight ounces of marihuana commits a class 6 felony.

# Offenses Related to Limited Gaming

- 100. **Cheating.** Cheating at any limited gaming activity is a class 6 felony when the offender 18-20-106 (3) has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.
- 101. Fraudulent acts. Violation of any of the provisions of section 18-20-107 regarding 18-20-107 (2) fraudulent acts pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.
- 102. Use of device for calculating probabilities. Any person who uses or possesses a device intended to project the outcome of a game, keep track of cards played, analyze the probability o the occurrence of an event in the game or analyze the strategy for playing a game pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act commits a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Act.
- 103. Counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens unlawful coins or devices. Violation of any of the provisions of section 18-20-109 regarding the use of counterfeit or unapproved chips or tokens or unlawful coins or devices or the possession of unlawful devices, equipment, products or materials pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act is a class 6 felony when the offender has been issued a license pursuant to the Act.
- 104. Cheating game and devices. Any person who knowingly conducts or allows any cheating or thieving game or conducts any game played with cards or a mechanical device which has been marked commits a class 6 felony when the person has been issued a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.
- 105. Manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment and devices associated with limited gaming. Any person who violates any of the provisions of section 18-20-111 regarding the unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment or devices related to limited gaming commits a class 6 felony when the offender has been issues a license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act.

#### Offenses Related to Education

- 66 - **6F** 

106. Interest in contracts — penalty. Neither the Commissioner of Education nor any treasurer, superintendent, or other officer or agent shall be directly or indirectly interested in any contract or other agreement for building, repairing, fumishing, or supplying said school, and no drawbacks or secret discounts whatever shall be given to or received by any such person on account of any articles or materials fumished to or labor done for said school. Any person violating the provisions of this section commits a class 6 felony.

#### Offenses Related to State Government

- 107. Personal profit on state moneys unlawful. If the State Treasurer or any employee in the Department of the Treasury accepts any fee in consideration of the deposit of state moneys with any person or in consideration of any agreement or arrangement touching upon the use of state moneys he commits a class 6 felony.
- 108. Unlawful acts State Treasurer. Any person who pays to the State Treasurer or an employee of that office any fee in consideration of the deposit or investment of state moneys with any person commits a class 6 felony.
- 109. Procedures vouchers and warrants. Any person (State Treasurer or Controller 24-30-202 (15) or any other state officer or employee) who receives any profit in consideration of the loan or deposit of state moneys for any purpose not authorized by law commits a class 6 felony.
- 110. Procedures vouchers and warrants. Any person who offers compensation to the 24-30-202 (16) State Treasurer or Controller or to any other state officer or employee in consideration of the loan or deposit with such person of state moneys commits a class 6 felony.
- 111. *False claims for disaster relief.* Any person who fraudulently makes a misstatement 24-32-2503 of fact in connection with an application for financial assistance for disaster relief and who thereby receives assistance to which he is not entitled commits a class 6 felony.
- 112. **State lottery**. Any person violating any disclosure provision required under the state 24-35-215 (4) lottery statute by providing any false or misleading information commits a class 6 felony.
- 113. **Public printing contracts penalty for bribe**. Any person who either offers to pay another not to bid for a public printing contract or any person who accepts payment for not bidding for a public printing contract commits a class 6 felony.

# Offenses Related to the Military and Veterans

114. **Misuse of property and funds by military**. Any officer or enlisted person who 28-3-701 misuses military property or funds commits a class 6 felony.

#### Offenses Related to Wildlife, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation

115. License agents — reports — board of claims. Any license agent who fails to account for licenses or who fails to pay over to the division its authorized representative moneys received from the sales of licenses and all donations received, when the amount in question is two hundred dollars or more, commits a class 6 felony.

33-4-101 (11) (b)

116. Pass and registration agents — reports — board of claims. Any pass or registration agent who fails to account for passes and registrations or who fails to pay over to the division or its authorized representative moneys received from the sale of passes and registrations when the amount in question is two hundred dollars or more, commits a class 6 felony.

33-12-104 (11) (b)

34-46-105

## Offenses Related to Mineral Resources

- 117. **Mining equipment violation**. Any person who violates the provisions of Article 46 of Title 34 concerning mining equipment and the transportation thereof commits a class 6 felony.
- 118. *Failure to account for mine proceeds*. Any owner, manager, or agent employed in extracting gold who neglects to account for, or pay over and deliver, all the proceeds thereof to which the owner is entitled commits a class 6 felony.

Elem	nents of Offense	C.R.S. Citation
Offe	nses Related to Agriculture	
119.	<b>Chemigation — penalties</b> . Utilization of chemigation without a permit is a class 6 felony.	35-11-115 (1)
120.	<b>Wrongfulbranding — penalty</b> . Any person who brands an animal which is the property of another or obliterates an existing brand is guilty of a class 6 felony (theft by means other than the use of force, intimidation, or threat is a class 6 felony without regard to the value of the thing taken — see section 18-4-401(5)).	35-43-116
121.	<b>Who may take up estrays.</b> Any person who takes into custody and retains possession of any estray without notifying the State Board of Stock Inspection Commissioners within the time provided by statute is guilty of a class 6 felony.	35-44-108
122.	<b>Concealing estray</b> . Any person who conceals any estray found or taken into his custody, or changes any mark or brand thereon, or carries the same beyond the county limits, or knowingly allows the same to be done, or neglects to notify or give information of estrays to the State Board of Stock Inspection Commissioners is guilty of a class 6 felony.	35-44-111
123.	<b>Shipping prior to inspection</b> . Any person who violates the provisions of the law concerning the transportation of livestock prior to inspection commits a class 6 felony, if it is for a third or subsequent violation.	35-53-112 (1)
124.	<b>Wrongful use of inedible meat</b> . Any person who adds to, mixes with, or substitutes an inedible meat for food intended to be used for human consumption commits a class 6 felony.	35-59-113
Offe	nses Related to Natural Resources	
125.	<b>Weather modification</b> . Any person who fails to obey an order issued by the director of the Department of Natural Resources to cease conducting weather modification because of the lack of a permit or a license commits a class 6 felony.	36-20-123 (2) (b)
126.	<b>Weather modification</b> . Any person responsible for conducting a weather modification operation without first having procured a license and permit or any person who contracts with another person known to be unlicensed and without a permit to conduct a weather modification operation commits a class 6 felony.	36-20-126 (1) (a)

## Offenses Related to Water and Irrigation

127. Penalty for fraud by officer of water and irrigation district. Any officer of a 37-7-104 water or irrigation district who misuses district money commits a class 6 felony.

- 128. Officer interested in contracts. Any drainage district officer who is interested in any contract awarded by the board or in the profits thereof, or who receives a bribe or gratuity, commits a class 6 felony.
- 129. *Officer interested in contracts*. Any director or officer of the Grand Junction 37-31-123 Drainage District who is interested in any contract awarded by the board, or in the profits thereof, or who receives a bribe or gratuity, commits a class 6 felony.
- 130. **Officer interested in contracts.** Any director or officer of an irrigation district who is interested in any contract awarded by the board, or in the profits thereof, or who receives a bribe or gratuity, commits a class 6 felony.
- 131. *Officer interested in contracts*. Same offense as above as applied to Irrigation District 37-42-110 (6) Law of 1921 is a class 6 felony.
- 132. *Officer interested in contracts*. Same offense as described above and as applied to 37-44-142 officers or directors of an Internal Improvement district is a class 6 felony.

# Offenses Related to Real and Personal Property

- 133. Altering or using altered certificate. Any person who alters or forges or causes to be altered or forged any certificate issued pursuant to the provisions of article 29 or title 38, or any written transfer thereof, or any other notation placed thereon by the director or under his authority respecting the mortgaging of the manufactured home therein described or who uses or attempts to use any such certificate for the transfer thereof, knowing the same to have been forged or altered, commits a class 6 felony.
- 134. Theft of certificate. Theft of a certificate of title to real estate is a class 6 felor3/8-36-192
- 135. Fraudulently procuring certificate of title to land. Whoever fraudulently procures 38-36-194 any certificate of title to land commits a class 6 felony.
- 136. *Forging seal or signature*. Any person who forges the seal of the registrar of titles 38-36-195 commits a class 6 felony.

#### Offenses Related to Taxation

- 70 - **6F** 

137. **Department of Revenue employees.** Any officer or employee of the Department of Revenue who: (1) extorts or willfully oppresses any person through use of his authority; (2) knowingly demands greater sums than are authorized by law or receives any fee, compensation, or reward for the performance of his job; (3) makes opportunity for any person to defraud the state by intentionally failing to perform his duty; (4) conspires or colludes with any other person to defraud the state; (5) knowingly makes opportunity for any person to defraud the state; (6) commits or omits to do any act with the intent to enable any other person to defraud the state; or (7) makes or signs any fraudulent entry in any book or makes or signs any fraudulent certificate, return, or statement; or (8) fails to report to the executive director in writing any information concerning a violation of any revenue law; or (9) demands directly or indirectly, any sum of money for the settlement of any charge or complaint commits a class 6 felony.

39-21-112 (7) (b)

138. Officers or employees taking fees or rewards. Any executive director or any inheritance or gift tax analyst or other employee of the Department of Revenue who takes or demands for his own use any fees or rewards from any person commits a class 6 felony.

39-23-150

139. **Motor fuel and special fuel tax — no distributor license.** It is unlawful for any person to act as a motor fuel distributor, supplier, importer, exporter, carrier, or blender in this state without having a license therefor. If a person engages in such a business without a license he commits a class 6 felony.

39-27-104 (3)

#### Offenses Related to Utilities

140. Owner driving stock on track. If the owner of any stock drives any stock on the line of the track of any railway company with intent to injure the company he commits a class 6 felony.

#### Offenses Related to Vehicles and Traffic

- 141. **Driving after revocation prohibited.** Aggravated driving with a revoked license is 42-2-206 (1) (b) (II) a class 6 felony.
- 142. **Altering or using altered certificate**. Any person who alters or forges or causes to 42-6-143 be altered or forged any certificate of title to any automobile commits a class 6 felony.

## **UNCLASSIFIED FELONIES**

#### **Elements of Offense**

# Making profit on public money. The making of profit, directly or indirectly, out of state, county, city, town or school district money, or using the same for any purpose not authorized by law, by any public officer, is a felony.

- 2. **Colorado Antitrust Act of 1992.** Violation of the provision of sections 6-4-104, 6-4-105, or 6-4-106 of the Colorado Antitrust Act of 1992 is a felony.
- Riots in detention facilities. It is a felony if a person engages in a riot in a detention facility, but does not employ a deadly weapon or destructive device.
- 4. Knowing endangerment. Any person who knowingly releases into the air any hazardous air pollutant and who knows at the time that such action places another person in imminent danger or death or serious bodily injury is guilty of a felony.
- Hazardous waste. Transporting hazardous waste to a facility having no permit; making any false statement or representation in any document filed or used for purposes of compliance with the law; and destroying, altering, or concealing any record required to be maintained pursuant to the statutes regarding storage, treatment, transportation, disposal, or handling of hazardous waste is a felony.
- Officers not to reveal information. Revealing information which is stamped confidential pertaining to mine and metallurgical processes, ore bodies or deposits, or to the location, course, or character of underground workings is a felony.
- False or fraudulent return, statement penalty. Any
  person or corporation who willfully violates any of the provisions
  of section 39-26-120 regarding false or fraudulent sales tax returns
  commits a felony.

#### C.R.S. Citation

Colorado Constitution, Article X, Section 13

6-4-117 (2) Punishment is by a fine of not more than one million dollars.

18-8-211 (2) (b) The punishment is imprisonment in a correctional facility for not less than two years nor more than ten years.

25-7-122.1 (3) (a) Punishment is a maximum fine of \$50,000 per each day of violation or up to four years imprisonment or both.

25-15-310 (3) The punishment is a fine of up to \$50,000 per day of violation or up to four years imprisonment or both.

34-21-106 (2) The punishment is a fine of \$1,000 to \$5,000 and removal from position.

39-26-120 (2) The punishment is a fine of \$100,000 to \$500,000.

-73- **UNCF** 

# **MISDEMEANORS**

This section contains a current listing of misdemeanor offenses. Misdemeanor offenses are categorized as follows: class 1, class 2, class 3, class 1 misdemeanor traffic offenses, class 2 misdemeanor traffic offenses, and unclassified misdemeanors. The penalty for the commission of a misdemeanor offense depends on its classification. The penalty scheme for misdemeanors is indicated in Table 2 below.

Table 2: Sentencing Scheme for Misdemeanors

Class of Misdemeanor	Minimum Sentence	Meximum Sentence
Class 1 (extraordinary risk of harm*)	6 months jail or \$500 fine or both	24 months jail or \$5,000 fine or both
Class 1	6 months jail or \$500 fine or both	18 months jail or \$5,000 fine or both
Class 2	3 months jail or \$250 fine or both	12 months jail or \$1,000 fine or both
Class 3	\$50 fine	6 months jail or \$750 fine or both
Class 1 Traffic Offense	10 days jail or \$100 fine or both**	1 year jail or \$1,000 fine or both
Class 2 Traffic Offense	10 days jail or \$10 fine or both **	90 days jail or \$300 fine or both
Unclassified	Specified in statute	Specified in statute

"ivisoemeanor orienses which present an extraordinary risk or narm to society include the rollowing: child abuse; third degree assault; third degree sexual assault; unlawful sexual contact; sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist; and the manufacture, dispensing, sale, distribution, or possession of a controlled substance listed in Schedule V of Part 2 of Article 18 of Title 18.

It is important to note that not all persons convicted of a misdemeanor offense receive a sentence to the county jail. Many offenders receive a sentence to probation.

The crimes in this listing are grouped according to the statutory title in which they appear. In addition, those crimes that appear in Title 18 are further designated by their article. For example, crimes in Article 3 of Title 18 are identified as "Offenses Against the Person."

All listings are current through 2001 session laws.

<sup>\*\*</sup>Certain traffic offenses may carry a points assessment against the offender's driver's license pursuant to Section 42-2-127, C.R.S.

CLASS 1 MISDEMEANORS				
Offense		C.R.S. Citation		
Election Code	Offenses			
	a false certificate in connection with an election	1-13-105		
Uniform Com	mercial Code			
	falsification of a repossessor bond application or misrepresentation of on contained in the application	4-9-629 (e)		
Consumer and	d Commercial Affairs Offenses			
	a pyramid promotional scheme or commission of any deceptive trade practice ring aid dealer	6-1-114		
attorney g	ng business as a commercial telephone seller without having registered with the eneral and after receiving notice of noncompliance from the attorney general tattorney	6-1-305 (1) (a)		
	gly engaging in any unlawful telemarketing practice as defined in section 6-1- b) to (1) (h)	6-1-305 (1) (b)		
Offenses Relat	ted to Financial Institutions			
6. Violation	n of statute governing industrial banks	11-22-114 (2)		
7. Embezzlo	ement of funds from industrial bank of less than \$5,000	11-22-114 (3)		
8. Violation	n of statute governing industrial banks for which no other penalty is	ial banks for which no other penalty is provided117		
9. Performi removal	ng any duty or exercising any power of a credit union after suspension or order	11-30-106 (8) (b) (IV)		
	ng the identity of a customer under investigation or audit of a foreign capital by to another person not associated with the investigation or audit	11-37.5-213 (2)		
	ng financial records that violate the privacy protection provisions of foreign epositories	11-37.5-215 (2)		
	g any duty or exercising any power of a domestic savings and loan association pension or removal order	11-44-106.5 (2) (c)		
Offenses Rela	ted to Professions and Occupations			
13. Any viola dealers	ation of part 1 of article 6 of title 12 regarding the licensure of motor vehicle	12-6-121		
	-77-	1M		

<u>Offe</u>	C.R.S. Citation		
14.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding slaughterers by any person, company, or corporation within three years of a previous violation	12-11-109 (2)	
15.	Unlawful butchering of another's animals	12-11-110 (3)	
16.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-14-128 (1) through (4) of the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act	12-14-129	
17.	Violation of any of the provisions of article 14.5 of title 12, the Colorado Credit Services Organization Act	12-14.5-110 (1)	
18.	Committing fraud or deception in the procurement of a farm products license	12-16-115 (1) (g)	
19.	Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Commissioner of Agriculture concerning administration of the Farm Products Act	12-16-115 (1) (h)	
20.	Interfering or hindering an authorized representative of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the Farm Products Act	12-16-115 (1) (i)	
21.	Failure of a licensed cash buyer to pay in cash or farm products for any transaction without first complying with the bonding requirements of section 12-16-106.	12-16-115 (1) (I)	
22.	Purchasing \$20,000 or more worth of farm products in one year for processing or resale, or purchasing \$2,500 or more worth or farm products in any single transaction by one who is licensed as a small-volume dealer	12-16-115 (1) (m)	
23.	Violation of any unspecified provision of the Farm Products Act	12-16-116 (2)	
24.	Committing fraud or deception in the procurement of a farm commodity warehouse license	12-16-221 (1) (g)	
25.	Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the Commodity Warehouse Act	12-16-221 (1) (h)	
26.	Interfering or hindering an authorized representative of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the Commodity Warehouse Act	12-16-221 (1) (i)	
27.	Violation of any unspecified provision of the Commodity Warehouse Act	12-16-222 (2)	
28.	Failure to comply with a citation, a stipulated settlement agreement, or an order issued pursuant to an administrative hearing after exhausting other remedies available pursuant to the electricians' statute	12-23-118 (5) (c)	
29.	Violation of any of the provisions of the electricians' statute	12-23-119 (2)	
30.	Violation of any of the provision of section 12-26.1-101 regarding background checks at gun shows	12-26.1-101 (1)	
31.	Providing false information to a gun dealer for a background check at a gun shtew26.1-102 (2)		
32.	Failure of a gun show promoter to post notice setting forth the requirement for background checks	12-26.1-104 (2)	
33.	Sexual contact by an acupuncturist with a patient during the course of patient care29.5-108 (2)		

-78- **1M** 

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
14.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding slaughterers by any person, company, or corporation within three years of a previous violation	12-11-109 (2)
15.	Unlawful butchering of another's animals	12-11-110 (3)
16.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-14-128 (1) through (4) of the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act	12-14-129
<b>17.</b>	Violation of any of the provisions of article 14.5 of title 12, the Colorado Credit Services Organization Act	12-14.5-110 (1)
18.	Committing fraud or deception in the procurement of a farm products license	12-16-115 (1) (g)
19.	Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Commissioner of Agriculture concerning administration of the Farm Products Act	12-16-115 (1) (h)
20.	Interfering or hindering an authorized representative of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the Farm Products Act	12-16-115 (1) (i)
21.	Failure of a licensed cash buyer to pay in cash or farm products for any transaction without first complying with the bonding requirements of section 12-16-106.	12-16-115 (1) (I)
22.	Purchasing \$20,000 or more worth of farm products in one year for processing or resale, or purchasing \$2,500 or more worth or farm products in any single transaction by one who is licensed as a small-volume dealer	12-16-115 (1) (m)
23.	Violation of any unspecified provision of the Farm Products Act	12-16-116 (2)
24.	Committing fraud or deception in the procurement of a farm commodity warehouse license	12-16-221 (1) (g)
25.	Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the Commodity Warehouse Act	12-16-221 (1) (h)
26.	Interfering or hindering an authorized representative of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the Commodity Warehouse Act	12-16-221 (1) (i)
27.	Violation of any unspecified provision of the Commodity Warehouse Act	12-16-222 (2)
28.	Failure to comply with a citation, a stipulated settlement agreement, or an order issued pursuant to an administrative hearing after exhausting other remedies available pursuant to the electricians' statute	12-23-118 (5) (c)
29.	Violation of any of the provisions of the electricians' statute	12-23-119 (2)
30.	Violation of any of the provision of section 12-26.1-101 regarding background checks at gun shows	12-26.1-101 (1)
31.	Providing false information to a gun dealer for a background check at a gun s	sh168426.1-102 (2)
32.	Failure of a gun show promoter to post notice setting forth the requirement for background checks	12-26.1-104 (2)
33.	Sexual contact by an acupuncturist with a patient during the course of patient	CH2e29.5-108 (2)

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
34.	Performing or attempting to perform an abortion in violation of the Colorado Parental Notification Act	12-37.5-106
35.	A second violation of any of the provisions regarding the practice of optometr	ry12-40-124
36.	Violation of provisions of the Respiratory Therapy Practice Act	12-41.5-112 (2)
37.	Violation of Indian Arts and Crafts Sales statute	12-44.5-107
38.	Disclosure of confidential records or information of the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission in violation of the provisions of section 12-47.1-527	12-47.1-527 (4) (a)
39.	Failure to pay tax due pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act within 30 days after the due date	12-47.1-603 (1) (b)
40.	Failure to file a return pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act within 30 days after the due date	12-47.1-603 (1) (c)
41.	Willful refusal to pay a winner of any limited gaming game	12-47.1-817 (2)
42.	Cheating at any limited gaming activity by a person other than a licensee	12-47.1-822 (3)
43.	Violation of any of the provisions prohibiting fraudulent acts pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act by a person other than a licensee	12-47.1-823 (2)
44.	Use of any device for calculating probabilities pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act by a person other than a licensee	12-47.1-824 (2)
45.	Unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment and devices pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act by a person other than a licensee	12-47.1-827 (4)
46.	Violation of any of the provisions of the Colorado Limited Garning Act, except as otherwise specified	12-47.1-832
47.	Violation of any provision of article 56 of title 12 by a pawnbroker	12-56-104 (4)
48.	Subsequent act of acting as a real estate appraiser without first having obtained a license or certificate within three years after the date of a conviction for the same vio	12-61-712 (2) lation
Offe	nses Related to Courts and Court Procedure	
49.	Divulging or disseminating any information contained in an environmental audit report by a public entity, employee, or official. In addition, the entity, employee, or official may be found in contempt of court and assessed a penalty of up to \$10,000	13-25-126.5 (5) (b) (II)
Offenses Related to Probate, Trusts, and Fiduciaries		
50.	Willfully concealing, defacing, damaging or destroying a declaration as to medical or surgical treatment of another person pursuant to the Colorado Medical Treatment Decision Act	15-18-113 (1)

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
51.	Willfully withholding information concerning the revocation of the declaration as to medical or surgical treatment of another person pursuant to the Colorado Medical Treatment Decision Act	15-18-113 (4)
Offe	nses Related to Criminal Proceedings	
52.	Knowing or intentional disclosure of confidential records or information in violation of the provisions regarding a Crime Stopper Organization	16-15.7-104 (2) (b)
Offe	nses Against the Person	
53.	Assault in the third degree	18-3-204
54.	Sexual assault of a victim who is at least fifteen years of age but less than seventeen years by an actor who is at least ten years older than the victim and not the victim's	18-3-402 (3) spouse
55.	Unlawful sexual contact	18-3-404 (2)
56.	Sexual contact by an actor with a client when the actor is a psychotherapist and the client is the patient	18-3-405.5 (2) (b)
57.	Failure to register as a sex offender when convicted of misdemeanor unlawful sexual behavior	18-3-412.5 (4) (b) (II)
Offe	nses Against Property	
58.	Theft of trade secret	18-4-408 (3)
59.	Manufacture, use, possession, or deactivation of a theft detection shielding de-	vit <b>28</b> -4-417 (3)
60.	First degree criminal tampering	18-4-505
61.	Defacing or destruction of written instruments evidencing a property right with intent to defraud	18-4-507
Offe	nses Involving Fraud	
62.	Second degree forgery	18-5-104 (2)
63.	Use of forged academic record	18-5-104.5
64.	Criminal simulation	18-5-110 (2)
65.	Trademark counterfeiting	18-5-110.5
66.	Offering a false instrument for recording in the second degree	18-5-114 (4)
67.	Issuing a false financial statement for purposes of obtaining a financial transaction device in order to obtain property, services, or money	18-5-209 (4)

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
68.	Criminal possession of one financial transaction device	18-5-703 (2)
Offe	nses Involving the Family Relations	
69.	Distributing abortifacient	18-6-105 (2)
70.	Child abuse — knowingly and recklessly when the child abuse results in any injury other than serious bodily injury	18-6-401 (7) (a) (V)
71.	Sexual exploitation of a child by possession of sexually exploitative material	18-6-403 (5)
72.	Violation of a restraining order when the restrained person has previously been convicted of violation of a restraining order or an analogous municipal ordinance, or when the restraining order is issued pursuant to section 18-1-1001	18-6-803.5 (2) (a)
73.	Knowing neglect of an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile or knowingly acting in a manner likely to be injurious to the physical or mental welfare of an at-risk adult or at-risk juvenile	18-6.5-103 (6)
Offenses Relating to Morals		
74.	Wholesale promotion of obscenity	18-7-102 (1) (b)

Offense C.R.S. Citation Offenses — Governmental Operations Indecent exposure to a child following a prior conviction for any such offense 18-7-302 (3) 75. 76. Concealing death thereby preventing a determination of the cause of death 18-8-109 77. Abuse of public records 18-8-114 (1) 78. Aiding escape if the person aided was in custody or confinement and charged with, held 18-8-201 (6) for, or convicted of a misdemeanor or a petty offense 79. Possession of contraband in the second degree 18-8-204.2 (2) 80. Escape while confined pursuant to insanity statute (article 8, title 16, C.R.S.) if charged 18-8-208 (6) (a) with a misdemeanor at the proceeding in which person was committed 81. Escape while confined pursuant to insanity statute (article 8, title 16, C.R.S.) if charged 18-8-208 (6) (b) with a felony at the proceeding in which person was committed 82. Trading in public office 18-8-305 (3) 83. Perjury in the second degree 18-8-503 (2) 84. Failure of a peace officer to report use of force by another peace officer 18-8-802 (1) (c) 85. Inciting riot, if no injury to person or property 18-9-102 (3) Harassment with the intent to intimidate or harass another person because of that person's 86. 18-9-111 (2) actual or perceived race, color, religion, ancestry, or national origin 87. Desecration of place of worship or burial of human remains 18-9-113 (1) (b) 88. Failure or refusal to leave premises or property through use of or threatened use of force 18-9-119 (4) after being requested to do so by a peace officer or holding another person hostage during the same episode; recklessly or knowingly causing a peace officer to believe that he possesses a deadly weapon 89. Placing another person in fear of imminent lawless action directed at that person or that 18-9-121 (3) person's property while knowing that such words or conduct will likely produce bodily injury to that person or that person's property; or knowingly causing damage to or destruction to another person's property because of that person's actual or perceived race, color, religion, ancestry, or national origin 90. Cruelty to animals 18-9-202 (2) (a) 91. Ownership of a dangerous dog when the dog inflicts serious bodily injury to another 18-9-204.5 (3) (c) person 92. Tampering or drugging of livestock 18-9-207 93. Wiretapping of a cordless phone 18-9-303 (2)

#### Gambling

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
94.	Engaging in professional gambling — first offense	18-10-103 (2)
Offe	nses Relating to Firearms and Weapons	
95.	Possession of an illegal weapon	18-12-102 (4)
96.	Possession of a defaced firearm	18-12-103
97.	Defacing a firearm	18-12-104
98.	Providing a firearm other than a handgun to a juvenile without the consent of the juvenile's parent or guardian	18-12-108.7 (3)
Misc	ellaneous Offenses	
99.	Violation of the provisions of, or providing false information pursuant to section 18-13-111, regarding purchases of copper or copper alloy, aluminum, or magnesium	18-13-111 (3)
100.	Failure of secondhand dealer to keep records of each sale or trade of secondhand property or failure to maintain required information pursuant to such sale	18-13-114 (6) (a)
101.	Trading with a secondhand dealer, or any secondhand dealer who knowingly gives false information pursuant to information required by section 18-13-114 (2)	18-13-114 (6) (b)
Offe	nses — Making, Financing, or Collection of Loans	
102.	Violation of the provisions of section 18-15-109 regarding loan finders	18-15-109 (4)
Unif	orm Controlled Substances Act of 1992	
103.	Unlawful use of a controlled substance listed in schedule III, IV, or V of part 3 of article 22 of title 12	18-18-404 (1) (b)
104.	Unlawful distribution of controlled substances listed in schedule V of part 2 of article 18 of title 18	18-18-405 (2) (d) (I)
105.	Possession of more than one ounce of marihuana but less than eight ounces	18-18-406 (4) (a) (I)
106.	Violating provisions relating to the registry of patients authorized to engage in the medical use of marijuana	18-18-406.3 (2) (a)
107.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 18-18-411 regarding keeping, maintaining, controlling, renting, or making available property for unlawful distribution or manufacture of controlled substances	18-18-411 (4)
108.	Publication of any advertisement or solicitation in order to promote the distribution of imitation controlled substances	18-18-422 (3) (b)

# Offenses Related to Limited Gaming

<u>Offense</u>	C.R.S. Citation
109. Failure to pay tax due under the Colorado Limited Gaming Act within 30 days after the return is due	e 18-20-103 (1) (b)
110. Failure to file a return required by the Colorado Limited Gaming Act within 30 days after the return is due	er 18-20-103 (1) (c)
111. Cheating pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act, by a person other than a license	e 18-20-106 (3)
112. Committing any fraudulent act pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act, by person other than a licensee	a 18-20-107 (2)
113. Using a device for calculating probabilities pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Action by a person other than a licensee	t 18-20-108 (2)
114. Unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, marking, altering, or modification of equipment and devices associated with limited gaming pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gamin Act by a person other than a licensee	
115. Recruitment of a juvenile for a criminal street gang	18-23-102 (2)
Offenses Related to the Children's Code	
116. Request of information by an operator of a facility or agency licensed to provide chil care, from the central registry of child protection, concerning a person who is neither a employee or applicant for employment	
117. Permitting or willfully encouraging the release of data or information contained in the central registry of child protection to persons not permitted access to such	
Offenses Related to Higher Education and Vocational Training	
118. Divulging data on students or personnel of any state-supported institution by the director of the Colorado Commission on Higher Education or by any commission employed except as provided by law	
Offenses Related to State Government	
119. Offering to pay fee contingent upon making a contract for professional services with state agency	a 24-30-1406 (2)
120. Soliciting or securing a contract for professional services with a state agency an receiving a fee contingent upon the making of a contract	d 24-30-1406 (3)
<ol> <li>Divulging information disclosed in any restricted or protected document, program, of dataset located at the GGCC</li> </ol>	or 24-30-1604 (2) (b)
122. Wearing or duplicating the badge or uniform of the Colorado State Patrol with the inter of representing oneself as a member of the Colorado State Patrol	nt 24-33.5-219 (2)

<u>Offer</u>	<u>1se</u>	C.R.S. Citation	
123.	Conducting an athletic or special event on a state highway when a permit for said event has not been issued or violation of the terms of a permit which has been issued for an athletic or special event	24-33.5-226 (2.5) (b)	
124.	Knowingly misrepresenting identification regarding criminal history of the transferee or lawfulness of the gun purchase which deceives a transferor of a firearm	24-33.5-424 (10) (b)	
125.	Any false statement regarding the installation, alteration, or repair of any fire suppression system	24-33.5-1206.5 (2)	
126.	Knowingly disturbing an unmarked human burial	24-80-1305 (1)	
Heal	th — Related Offenses		
127.	Violation, by any officer of employee or agent of the state or local department of health, of the provisions of section 25-1-122 (4) and (5) regarding confidential public health reports or records	25-1-122 (6)	
128.	Violation of the Infant Immunization Act by releasing or making public confidential immunization records or epidemiological information	25-4-1705 (5) (e) (III) (A)	
129.	Violation of the Infant Immunization Act by releasing or making public confidential immunization records or epidemiological information in exchange for money or any other thing of value	25-4-1705 (5) (e) (III) (B)	
Human Services Code Offenses			
130.	Unlawful retention of patient personal needs fund twice or more within a 6 month period without having been placed in jeopardy for the prior offenses.	26-4-504 (8) (c)	
Offe	nses Related to Wildlife, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation		
131.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 33-4-101.3 regarding the taking of black bears	33-4-101.3 (6)	
132.	Violation of sections 33-6-114.5 (2), (3) or (4) regarding the possession, transportation, irriportation, exportation, and release of native and nonnative fish	33-6-114.5 (7) (a)	
133.	Operation of a vessel by a river outfitter or guide while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance	33-32-107 (4) (b)	
Agriculture — Related Offenses			
134.	Removal or disposal of detained or embargoed pesticide or device by sale or otherwise, without prior permission, or removal or alteration of the tag or marking	35-9-123 (3)	
135.	Violation of any of the provisions of sections 35-9-120 (1) (a), (b), (c), (e), (f), (h), (j), (k), (2) (a), (b), (c), or (g) pursuant to the Pesticide Act	35-9-125 (2)	

<u>Offer</u>	<u>ise</u>	C.R.S. Citation
136.	Violation of any of the provisions of sections 35-10-117 (1) (a), (b), (c), (e), (g), (2) (a), (b), (c), (d), (3) (a), or (4) (a) of the Pesticide Applicators' Act	35-10-123 (2)
137.	Violation of the provisions of section 35-27-113 (6) regarding the sale, barter, or distribution of seed and seed beans.	35-27-113 (6)
138.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 25-41.5-109 pursuant to the Alternative Livestock Act	35-41.5-115
139.	Violation of the provisions of section 35-42.5-101 regarding duties and restrictions relating to animal shelters and pounds	35-42.5-101 (3)
140.	A second or subsequent violation of any provision or requirement of article 55 of title 35 regarding public livestock markets or of any rule or regulation adopted by the state board of stock inspection commissioners	35-55-117
Taxa	tion Offenses	
141.	County officials acquiring land by tax sale	39-11-151 (3)
142.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the placement of labels, stamps, or other federal requirements related to cigarettes	39-28-104.5 (5)
143.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the placement of labels, stamps, or other federal requirements related to tobacco products	39-28.5-111 (5)
Offe	nses Related to Vehicles and Traffic	
144.	Tampering with an ignition interlock device	42-2-126.3
145.	Operating a motor vehicle while individual's license is revoked	42-2-206 (1) (a) (l)
146.	Driving any motor vehicle, bicycle, or motorized bicycle in a careless and imprudent manner when the careless actions are the proximate cause of bodily injury or death to another (class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1402 (2)
147.	Owning or driving a motor vehicle without an insurance policy in effect, failure to present evidence of insurance when asked to do so by a peace officer (class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1409 (4) (a)
148.	Failing to stop at accident resulting in injury to another person (class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1601 (2) (a)
149.	A second conviction within five years of failure to stop a vehicle when meeting or overtaking from either direction a school bus which has stopped with visual signal lights in operation (class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1903 (6) (b)
150.	Violation of any provision of section 42-6-202 regarding used motor vehicle s	sa4@s6-203

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
151.	Knowingly disclosing information form the Uninsured Motorist Identification Database to an unauthorized individual	42-7-606 (2)
152.	Violation of any provision of parts 1, 2, or 3 of article 20 of title 42 regarding the transport by vehicle of hazardous materials	42-20-111
153.	Intentionally transporting hazardous materials without a permit in violation of section 42-20-201	42-20-204 (1)
154.	Knowingly violating any of the terms and conditions of an annual or single trip hazardous materials transportation permit	42-20-204 (3)
155.	Intentionally blocking obstructing, or closing a public highway that extends to public land without good cause	43-2-201.1 (1)

### **CLASS 2 MISDEMEANORS**

<u>Offe</u>	<u>nses</u>	C.R.S. Citation
Elec	tion Code Offenses	
1.	False statements relating to candidates or questions submitted to electors	1-13-109 (2)
2.	Willfully and intentionally violating provisions of the Fair Campaign Practices Act or failing to disclose campaign contributions or expenditures	1-45-113 (1)
Con	sumer and Commercial Affairs Offenses	
3.	Violation of the provisions of section 6-16-111 (1) (a) or (e) of the Colorado Charitable Solicitations Act	6-16-111 (3)
Offe	enses Related to Labor and Industry	
4.	Disclosing who signed a petition or how a person voted in a labor election or refusing to call an election	8-3-108 (1) (c) (V)
5.	Release of confidential data obtained pursuant to the collection of data and statistics regarding the workers' compensation system of Colorado	8-44-113 (1) (a)
Offe	enses Related to Industrial and Commercial Safety	
6.	Willfully or maliciously removing markings used to mark the location of underground facilities	9-1.5-103 (4) (b.5)
Insu	rance — Related Offenses	
7.	Violation of Fraudulent Claims and Arson Information Reporting Act	10-4-1007
8.	Knowingly or willfully making any materially false certificate, entry, or memo on any of the books or papers of any captive insurance company or on any statement filed or to be filed in the Division of Insurance	10-6-128.5 (4)
Offe	enses Related to Financial Institutions	
9.	Making a false derogatory statement regarding the financial condition of a sta	atel bazaki 22
10.	Making a false derogatory statement regarding the financial condition of any industrial bank	11-22-109 (15)
11.	Second violation of provisions relating to the "Colorado Foreign Depository	A¢t'-37.5-503 (2)
12.	Operation by a foreign savings and loan association of an office in this state in order to sell its shares or accounts or make new loans in this state	11-43-101

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.S. Citation
Offe	nses Related to Professions and Occupations	
13.	Practicing barbering or cosmetology without a license or knowingly employing a barber or cosmetologist without a license	12-8-127 (1)
14.	Willful violation, procurement, aiding, or abetting in violation of the Bingo and Raffles Law	12-9-114
15.	Willful violation of the "Colorado Professional Boxing Safety Act"	12-10-110 (2)
16.	Violation of any provision of part 1 of article 22 of title 12 regarding drugs and druggists	12-22-127
17.	The practice of medicine without complying with the provisions of, or violation of any provision of the Colorado Medical Practice Act	12-36-129 (1)
18.	Practicing or offering or attempting to practice direct-entry midwifery without first complying with registration and disclosure requirements	12-37-108 (1)
19.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-38.1-118 (1) regarding practice as a nurse aide	12-38.1-118 (2)
20.	Violation of any provision of sections 12-47-901 (1)(a), (1)(b), (1)(c), (1)(f), (1)(g), (1)(i), (1)(k), (1)(l), (5)(a)(l), or (5)(b) regarding alcoholic beverages	12-47-903 (2) and (3)
21.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-47.1-809 regarding a person under 21 years who is allowed to participate, play, or collect winnings pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act	12-47.1-809 (4)
22.	Failure to display operator and premises license pursuant to the Colorado Limited Gaming Act	12-47.1-830 (2)
23.	Knowing and willful violation of the duties of a notary public	12-55-116 (1)
24.	Impersonating a notary public	12-55-117
25.	Violation of the terms of a contract, by a pawnbroker, for purchase involving a fixed price	12-56-104 (3) (b)
26.	Unlicensed wagering or betting on the results of a pari-mutuel horse or greyhound race	12-60-703.5
27.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-60-507 (1) regarding investigation, denial, suspension, and revocation actions against racing licensees	12-60-801 (1)
28.	Violation of Preowned Housing Home Warranty Service Contract statute	12-61-612
Offe	nses Related to Courts and Court Procedure	
29.	Willful harassment of a juror by an employer	13-71-134 (2)
Inch	oate Offenses	
30.	Criminal attempt to commit a class 1 misdemeanor	18-2-101 (6)

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.S. Citation
31.	Conspiracy to commit a class 1 misdemeanor	18-2-206 (4)
Offe	enses Against the Person	
32.	False imprisonment; knowingly confining or detaining another without the other's consent and without proper legal authority.	18-3-303
Offe	enses Against Property	
33.	Second degree arson (any property of another, other than a building or occupied structure, if the damage is less than \$100)	18-4-103 (3)
34.	Fourth degree arson (knowingly or recklessly starting or maintaining a fire or causing an explosion and by so doing placing another in danger of death or serious bodily injury or placing any building or occupied structure of another in danger of damage, if only property is thus endangered and the value of the property is \$100 or more)	18-4-105 (3)
35.	Theft (if the value of the thing involved is \$100 or more but less than \$500)	18-4-401 (2) (b)
36.	Theft of rental property (if the value of the thing involved is \$100 or more but less than \$500)	18-4-402 (3)
37.	Aggravated motor vehicle theft in the second degree if the value of the vehicle is less than \$500	18-4-409 (4)
38.	Theft by receiving where value of thing involved is \$100 or more but less that	an <b>i \$504</b> 10 (3)
39.	Criminal mischief where the aggregate damage to the real or personal property is \$100 or more but less than \$500	18-4-501 (1)
40.	Second degree criminal trespass if the premises have been classified as agricultural land pursuant to section 39-1-103 (1.6)	18-4-503 (2) (a)
41.	Second degree criminal tampering	18-4-506
42.	Tampering with equipment associated with oil or gas and (2) gathering opera	ti <b>óß</b> s4-506.3 (1) and (2)
43.	Tampering with utility meter	18-4-506.5 (1) and (2)
44.	Defacing or destroying landmarks or monuments	18-4-508 (1) and (2)
45.	Defacing public or private property	18-4-509 (1)
46.	Defacing, causing, aiding, or permitting the defacing of public or private property without consent by use of paint, spray paint, ink, or other method. In addition, convicted person must personally make repairs to damaged property	18-4-509 (2)
47.	Any violation of section 18-4-701 regarding theft of cable television service	18-4-701 (4)
Offe	enses Involving Fraud	
48.	Criminal possession of third degree forged instrument	18-5-107

-91-

2M

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.S. Citation	
49.	Trademark counterfeiting for a first offense involving fewer than 100 items with a value of less than \$1,000	18-5-110.5 (2) (a) (I)	
50.	Obtaining signature by deception	18-5-112 (3)	
51.	Fraud by check if the fraudulent check was for the sum of \$100 or more and less than \$500 or if it involves the issuance of two or more checks within any 60-day period totaling \$100 or more and less than \$500	18-5-205 (3) (b)	
52.	Opening a checking account using false identification or an assumed name for the purpose of issuing fraudulent checks	18-5-205 (5)	
53.	Defrauding a secured creditor or debtor if the value of the collateral or amount owed is \$100 or more but less than \$500	18-5-206 (1) (b) and (2) (b)	
54.	Purchase on credit to defraud	18-5-207	
55.	Issuing a false financial statement	18-5-209 (2)	
56.	Fraud in effecting sales	18-5-301 (1)	
57.	Bait advertising	18-5-303 (3)	
58.	Failure to pay over assigned accounts where the amount of such proceeds withheld is less than \$500	18-5-502	
59.	Concealment or removal of secured property where the value of the property concealed or removed is less than \$500	18-5-504	
60.	Failure to pay over proceeds of security interest in personal property where the amount of the proceeds withheld is less than \$500	18-5-505	
61.	Fraudulently issuing a false statement of the receipt for goods	18-5-507	
62.	Issuing a negotiable receipt for goods without stating fully the ownership of such goods	18-5-509	
63.	Delivery of goods knowing that a negotiable receipt of those goods is outstanding and uncancelled, without obtaining the possession of that receipt before the time of delivery	18-5-510	
64.	Depositing goods to which the person does not have title or upon which there is a security interest and taking a negotiable receipt for such goods with the intention of negotiating for value without disclosing the want of title or the existence of the security interest	18-5-511	
65.	Unauthorized use of a financial transaction device if the value of the cash, credit, property, or services obtained or of the financial payment made is \$100 dollars or more but less than \$500 dollars	18-5-702 (3) (b)	
Computer Crime			
66.	Computer crime if the loss, damage, cost of repair, or thing taken is valued at \$100 or more but less than \$500	18-5.5-102 (3)	

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.Ş. Citation	
Offe	nses Involving the Family Relations		
67.	Knowingly marrying a bigamist	18-6-202	
68.	Knowing or reckless child abuse committed with criminal negligence not resulting in serious bodily injury	18-6-401 (7) (a) (VI) and (b) (I)	
69.	Harboring a minor	18-6-601 (2)	
70.	Violation of a restraining order	18-6-803.5 (2) (a)	
Offe	nses Relating to Morals		
71.	Promotion of obscenity	18-7-102 (2) (b)	
72.	Keeping a place of prostitution	18-7-204 (2)	
73.	Promoting sexual immorality	18-7-208 (3)	
74.	Indecent exposure to a child	18-7-302 (2)	
75.	Violation of any of the provisions of title 18, article 7, part 5, regarding sexually explicit materials and children	18-7-502 (6)	
Offe	nses — Governmental Operations		
76.	Resisting arrest	18-8-103 (4)	
77.	Obstructing a peace officer or fireman	18-8-104 (4)	
78.	Impersonating a peace officer	18-8-112	
79.	Soliciting unlawful compensation	18-8-304	
80.	Failure to disclose conflict of interest by a public servant	18-8-308 (3)	
81.	Official oppression	18-8-403 (2)	
82.	First degree official misconduct	18-8-404 (2)	
83.	Willful harassment of a juror	18-8-614 (2)	
Offe	nses Against Public Peace, Order, and Decency		
84.	Engaging in a riot without a deadly weapon	18-9-104 (1)	
85.	Disorderly conduct — discharging a firearm in a public place or displaying deadly weapon in manner calculated to alarm	18-9-106 (3)	
86.	Violation of the provisions of section 18-9-110 regarding public buildings — trespass, interference	18-9-110 (8)	
87.	Hindering transportation	18-9-114	

<u>Offe</u>	<u>nses</u>	C.R.S. Citation
88.	Barricading or refusing police entry to any premises or property or failing to leave any premises or property when requested to do so by a peace officer and, in the same criminal episode, knowingly holding another person hostage or confining or detaining such person without his consent	18-9-119 (3)
89.	A second or subsequent violation of ownership of a dangerous dog when the dog inflicts bodily injury upon another person	18-9-204.5 (3) (b)
90.	A second or subsequent violation of ownership of a dangerous dog when the dog injures or destroys any domestic animal	18-9-204.5 (3) (e) (II)
91.	Unauthorized release of an animal	18-9-206 (2)
92.	Possessing devices used for wiretapping or eavesdropping	18-9-302
Gam	abling	
93.	Possession of gambling device or record	18-10-105 (2)
Offe	nses Relating to Firearms and Weapons	
94.	Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon	18-12-105 (1)
95.	Prohibited use of weapons	18-12-106 (1)
96.	Illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile	18-12-108.5 (1) (c) (l)
Miso	cellaneous Offenses	
97.	Abuse of corpse	18-13-101 (2)
98.	Firing of woods or prairie	18-13-109
99.	Abuse of property insurance	18-13-119.5 (5)
100.	Transport, storage, or usage of drip gasoline by unauthorized agents	18-13-120 (4)
Unif	form Controlled Substances Act	
101.	Manufacture, sale, or delivery of drug paraphernalia	18-18-429
102.	Advertisement of drug paraphernalia	18-18-430
Offe	enses Related to State Government	
103.	Subsequent failure to register as a fire suppression contractor after previous convictions of acting or advertising as a fire suppression contractor when not registered a	24-33.5-1206.5 (1) s such
104.	Violation of lottery ticket statutes	24-35-215 (1)

Offenses C.R.S. Citation

105. Failure to notify local law enforcement with knowledge that an unmarked human burial 24-80-1305 (2) is unlawfully disturbed

#### Offenses Related to Health

106. Violation of the provisions of the Pet Animal and Psittacine Bird Dealerships statute713 (1)

-95- **2M** 

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.S. Citation
Hum	an Services Code Offenses	
107.	Any person who obtains public assistance or vendor payments to which he is not entitled, or public assistance or vendor payments greater than those to which he is justly entitled, by means of a willfully false statement or representation, or by impersonation, or by any other fraudulent device, if the amount of overpayment to which the recipient or vendor is not entitled is \$100 or more but less than \$500	26-1-127 (1)
108.	Obtaining food stamps to which one is not entitled by false statement or representation or by impersonation when the value of the stamps is \$100 or more but less than \$500 dollars	26-2-305 (1)
109.	Trafficking in food stamps when the value of the food stamps is \$100 or more but less than \$500	26-2-306 (2) (b)
110.	Unlawful use of a patient personal needs trust fund when the amount involved is \$100 or more but less than \$500	26-4-504 (8) (d) (II)
111.	Violation of Blind-made Products statute	26-8.3-105 (3)
112.	Representing any medical service as reimbursable or subject to payment under the Reform Act for the Provision of Health Care for the Medically Indigent when it is not reimbursable or subject to payment	26-15-112
Offe	nses Related to County Governments	
113.	Conflict of interest of county coroners	30-10-619 (4)
114.	Violation of county dog licensing and control statute which results in bodily i	in <b>)\$0</b> 7 <b>;1</b> 5-102 (2)
Offe	nses Related to Municipal Governments	
115.	Violation of any of the provisions of 31-2-225 regarding formation and reorganization of municipal governments	31-2-225 (2)
116.	Tampering with initiative or referendum petition	31-11-115
Offe	nses Related to Special Districts	
117.	Interference with the examination, by the state auditor, of the books, records, reports, or vouchers of the Denver Metro Major League Baseball Stadium District	32-14-109 (2) (b)
118.	Interference by a director, employee, or agent of the metropolitan football stadium district of a state auditor's examination	32-15-109 (2) (b)
Offe	nses Related to Wildlife, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation	
119.	Damage to state property under the control of the division of wildlife	33-15-109

<u>Offer</u>	<u>ises</u>	C.R.S. Citation
120.	Operation of a river outfitting business by a river outfitter without a valid outfitters license	33-32-107 (1)
121.	Operation of a river vessel with wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property	33-32-107 (2) (c)
Offe	nses Related to Mineral Resources	
122.	Divulging confidential information in an application for a reclamation permit from the Mined Land Reclamation Board	34-32-112 (9)
123.	Knowingly or wilfully disclosing the confidential information in a reclamation permit or notice of intent to conduct exploration	34-32.5-112 (8)
Agri	culture — Related Offenses	
124.	Violation of the provisions of section 35-9-120 (1) (g), (2) (d), or (2) (f) of the Pesticide Act	35-9-125 (3)
125.	Violation of the provisions of section 35-10-117 (1) (f), (2) (f), (2) (g), (4) (b), or (5) of the Pesticide Applicators Act	35-10-123 (3)
126.	To make, install, sell or offer to sell, use or allow use of weights or measure, any counterfeit seal, or seal of the Commissioner of Agriculture without proper au	35-14-132 (1) uthority
127.	Any subsequent violation of any provision of the Colorado Bee and Bee Pro-	d <b>us</b> s2 <b>8</b> a111
128.	Sale of adulterated or diseased meat	35-33-204
129.	Violation of the provisions regarding the advertisement and sale of meat anim	na <b>l</b> s6-33-302 (12)
130.	Operating a food plan, locker plant, or meat processing facility without a vali	d 315c <b>e</b> n3se101 (3)
131.	Violation of any of the provisions of the Slaughter, Processing, and Sale of Meat Animals Act	35-33-406
132.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 35-80-108 of the Pet Animal Care and Facilities Act	35-80-114
Offe	nses Related to Real and Personal Property	
133.	Removal of any improvements from encumbered property without first obtaining the written consent of the lien holder	38-39-105 (2)
Offe	nses Related to Utilities	
134.	Failure of an agent of a public utility to comply with an order or requirement of the Public Utilities Commission	40-7-106

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.S. Citation
135.	Failure of an agent of a corporation other than a public utility to comply with an order or requirement of the Public Utilities Commission	40-7-108
136.	Failure of a motor vehicle carrier to comply, or helping another in noncompliance with any order, decision, rule, or regulation of the Public Utilities Commission	40-10-113
137.	Failure of a contract motor vehicle carrier to comply, or helping another in noncompliance with any order, decision, rule, or regulation of the Public Utilities Commission	40-11-111
138.	Operation of a motor vehicle, by a motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as a public utility, for its business	40-16-107 (1)
Offe	nses Related to Vehicles and Traffic	
139.	Driving without a valid driver's license or driving a vehicle without the correct class of license (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-101 (10)
140.	Refusal to hand driver's license to peace officer upon demand (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-115 (2)
141.	Failure to immediately surrender license for an offense which makes revocation mandatory (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-124 (1) (a)
142.	Failure to immediately surrender license upon conviction of driving under the influence or excessive alcohol content (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-129
143.	Failure to immediately surrender license after having pled guilty or nolo contendere for a drug-related offense for which revocation of a license is mandatory; failure to surrender license within five days of having sworn to not being in immediate possession of the license (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-130
144.	Making false application for a new license before the expiration of the period of suspension or revocation (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-132 (3)
145.	Unlawful possession or use of license (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-136 (6)
146.	Making false affidavit or knowingly swearing or affirming falsely to any matter pursuant to part 1 of article 2 or title 42 regarding drivers licenses (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-2-137
147.	Failing to surrender an individual's license or permit to the court after being convicted of driving while under restraint	42-2-138 (1) (f)
148.	Fraudulently applying for the prorated specific ownership tax for special mobile machinery (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-3-107 (16.5) (e)
149.	Display or possess fictitious, cancelled, revoked, suspended or altered vehicle registration; failure to surrender such vehicle registration upon demand; use of false information in any application for vehicle registration (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-3-133 (2) (b)

<u>Offer</u>	nses	C.R.S. Citation
150.	Failure or refusal to comply with any lawful order or direction of a police officer (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-107
151.	The sale of tires not in compliance with set standards (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-228 (8) (b)
152.	Alteration of a vehicle's suspension system (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offens	s <b>el)</b> 2-4-233 (3)
153.	Violation of any rule or regulation pursuant to section 42-4-235 regarding minimum standards for commercial vehicles (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-235 (5)
154.	Violation of the provisions regarding wheel and axle loads (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-507 (6)
155.	Violation of the provisions regarding the gross weight of vehicles and loads (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-508 (4)
156.	Refusal or failure to stop and submit vehicle and load to a weighing (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-509 (3)
157.	Violation of the provisions regarding permits for excess size and weight and for mobile homes (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-510 (12) (a)
158.	Driving 25 m.p.h. or more in excess of the reasonable and prudent speed or in excess of the maximum lawful speed limit of 55 m.p.h. (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offers)	42-4-1101 (12) ense)
159.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding speed contests (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1105 (3)
160.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding reckless driving (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1401 (2)
161.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding careless driving when such action does not result in bodily injury or death to another (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense	42-4-1402 (2) e)
162.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the operation of bicycles and other human-powered vehicles pursuant to section 42-4-106.5 (class 2 misdemeanor traffic	42-4-1412 (12) (a) offense)
163.	Eluding or attempting to elude a police officer when operating a motor vehicle (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1413
164.	Failure to stop, when involved, at the scene of an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1602 (1)
165.	Failure to notify the operator of an unattended vehicle of damage caused to such vehicle when causing such damage (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1604
166.	Failure to notify the road authority of an accident resulting only in damage to fixtures or traffic control devices on or adjacent to a highway (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1605

<u>Offenses</u>		C.R.S. Citation
167.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 42-4-1606 regarding duty to report accidents (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1606 (6)
168.	Violation of the provisions regarding offenses by persons controlling vehicles (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1704
169.	Violation of the provisions regarding notice to appear or pay fine and failure to appear to pay fine (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1716 (3)
170.	Violation of the provisions not otherwise specified in title 42, article 4, part 18, regarding towing and storage of vehicles	42-4-1812
171.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding stops, signs, and the passing of school buses (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-4-1903 (6) (a)
172.	Tampering with a motor vehicle when the damage is less than \$500	42-5-103 (2) (a)
173.	Theft of motor vehicle parts when the value of the things involved is less that	ar <b>4 \$5000</b> 04 (2) (a)
174.	Repossession of a motor vehicle without notification of the appropriate law enforcement agency	42-6-146 (2)
175.	Driving or owning a vehicle in violation of the provisions f section 42-8-105(1) to (5) (Clearance of motor vehicles at port of entry weigh stations) or 42-8-106 (Issuance of clearance certificates) (class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense)	42-8-109(1)
176.	Violation of any of the provisions of or any rule or regulation promulgated pursuant to parts 4 or 5 of article 20 of title 42 regarding permits for and the transport of nuclear materials	42-20-405 (1)

# CLASS 3 MISDEMEANORS

<u>Offen</u>	<u>se</u>	C.R.S. Citation
Offen	ses Related to Labor and Industry	
1.	Release of confidential records regarding petroleum storage tanks	8-20.5-105 (2)
Offen	ses Related to Insurance	
2.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding preneed funeral contracts or violation of a cease and desist order issued regarding preneed funeral contracts	10-15-118 (1)
Offen	ses Related to Financial Institutions	
3.	Operating a foreign capital depository in violation to the "Colorado Foreign Capital Depository Act"	11-37.5-503 (1)
4.	Violation of any of the provisions or any rule or order of the Colorado Municipal Bond Supervision Act	11-59-115 (2)
Offen	ses Related to Professions and Occupations	
5.	Violation of any provision of the Accountants statute or a cease and desist order issued pursuant to section 12-2-126	12-2-129
6.	Violation of the provisions regarding the practice of architecture	12-4-113 (1)
7.	Acting as a motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, distributor, wholesaler, branch, representative, agent, or salesperson unless duly licensed	12-6-121
8.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding slaughterers	12-11-109 (1)
9.	The practice of engineering in violation of the provisions of part 1 of article 25 of title 12 relating to engineers and surveyors	12-25-105 (6)
10.	Violation of the provisions of part 1 of article 25 of title 12 relating to engineers and surveyors by a person, partnership, professional association, joint stock company, or corporation	12-25-105 (7)
11.	The practice of professional land surveying in violation of any of the provisions of part 2 of article 25 of title 12	12-25-205 (3.5)
12.	Violation of the provisions of part 2 of article 25 of title 12 relating to engineers and surveyors	12-25-205 (4)
13.	Violation of any of the provisions of article 28 of title 12 regarding firework	vs12-28-110
14.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 12-29.5-106 (1)(a) to (1)(i) — grounds for disciplinary action regarding the practice of acupuncture	12-29.5-108 (1)

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation		
	15.	The practice of podiatry by any person, association, or corporation, without complying with the provisions of article 32 of title 12 or the violation of any provision of said article	12-32-109 (1)	
	16.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-32-117 regarding the division of podiatrists' fees	12-32-117 (1)	
	17.	Violation of the provisions of article 33 of title 12 regarding chiropractors	12-33-120	
	18.	Violation of the provisions of article 35 of title 12 pursuant to the Dental Practice Law of Colorado	12-35-132 (1)	
	19.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-36-125 regarding the division of medical fees related to an independent advertising or marketing agent	12-36-125 (1) (a)	
	20.	Receiving pay or compensation in violation of section 12-36-125 regarding the practice of medicine, by any person, firm, association or corporation	12-36-127	
	21.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-38-123 (1) regarding the licensing of medical nurses	12-38-123 (2)	
	22.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-39-116 (1) regarding the practice and licensure as a nursing home administrator	12-39-116 (2)	
	23.	Violation of the provisions of article 40 of title 12 regarding the practice of o	optometry24	
	24.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-41-121 (1) regarding the licensing and practice of physical therapy	12-41-121 (2)	
	25.	Violation of the provisions of section 12-42-119 (1) regarding the licensing of or practicing as a psychiatric technician	12-42-119 (1)	
	26.	Violation of the provisions of subsection (1) of section 12-43-226 regarding mental health occupations and licensure	12-43-226 (2)	
	27.	Practice of psychotherapy by an unlicensed psychotherapist if not included in the data base of unlicensed psychotherapists	12-43-702.5	
	28.	Unlawfully possessing a notary's journal or seal	12-55-118	
	29.	Violation of Plumbers statute	12-58-116 (2)	
	30.	Acting as a real estate appraiser without a license or certificate	12-61-712 (2)	
	31.	The practice of veterinary medicine without a license	12-64-114 (2)	
	Courts and Court Procedure			
	32.	Failure to obey a juror summons without justifiable excuse	13-71-111	
	33.	Willful misrepresentation of a material fact on a juror questionnaire	13-71-115 (1)	

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation	
34.	Criminal attempt to commit a misdemeanor other than a class 1 misdemeanor	r 18-2-101 (7)	
35.	Conspiring to commit a misdemeanor defined outside of Title 18 for which no penalty is specifically provided	18-2-201 (5)	
36.	Conspiracy to commit a misdemeanor other than a class 1 misdemeanor	18-2-206 (5)	
37.	Menacing (knowingly placing or attempting to place another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury by any threat or physical action)	18-3-206 (1)	
38.	Reckless endangerment (recklessly engaging in conduct which creates a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to another)	18-3-208	
Offer	nses Against Property		
39.	Fourth degree arson (if only property is endangered and the value of the property is less than \$100)	18-4-105 (4)	
40.	Theft (if the value of the thing involved is less than \$100)	18-4-401 (2)	(a)
41.	Theft of rental property (if the value of the property involved is less than \$10	0018-4-402 (2)	
42.	Theft by receiving where the value of the thing involved is less than \$100	18-4-410 (2)	
43.	Criminal mischief where the aggregate damage to property is less than \$100	18-4-501 (1)	
44.	Second degree criminal trespass — entering or remaining in or upon premises which are enclosed in a manner designed to exclude intruders or which are fenced	18-4-503 (2)	
<b>45</b> .	Third degree criminal trespass if the premises have been classified by the county assessor as agricultural land	18-4-504 (2)	(a)
46.	Abandonment of a motor vehicle	18-4-512 (4)	
47.	Criminal use of noxious substance	18-4-513 (1)	
48.	Unlawful trafficking in unlawfully transferred articles (sound recordings)	18-4-603 (2)	
49.	Dealing in unlawfully packaged recorded articles (sound recordings)	18-4-604 (2)	
Offe	nses Involving Fraud		
50.	Unlawfully using slugs	18-5-111(4)	
51.	Fraud by check where the amount is less than \$100	18-5-205 (3)	(a)
52.	Defrauding a secured creditor or debtor, if the value of the collateral or the amount owed is less than \$100	18-5-206 (1) and (2) (a)	(a)
53.	Dual contracts to induce loans	18-5-208	
54.	Altering an identification number	18-5-305 (5)	
55.	Rigging publicly exhibited contests	18-5-402 (1)	and (2)

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
56.	Issuance of a bad check	18-5-512 (3)
Com	puter Crime	
57.	Computer crime if less than \$100	18-5.5-102 (3)
Offer	nses Involving the Family Relations	
58.	Child abuse when a person acts with criminal negligence but where no death or injury results	18-6-401 (7) (b) (II)
Offer	nses Relating to Morals	
59.	Prostitution	18-7-201 (3)
60.	Soliciting for prostitution	18-7-202 (2)
61.	Pandering by arranging or offering to arrange a situation in which a person may practice prostitution	18-7-203 (2)
62.	Indecent exposure to a person 15 years or older	18-7-302 (2) (a)
Offer	nses — Governmental Operations	
63.	Obstructing government operations	18-8-102 (3)
64.	Compounding (accepting or agreeing to accept money for refraining from seeking prosecution for an offense or refraining from reporting a crime to law enforcement authorities)	18-8-108 (3)
65.	False reporting to authorities	18-8-111 (2)
66.	Impersonating a peace officer	18-8-113 (3)
67.	Escape while in custody or confinement following conviction of a misdemeanor or petty offense or violation of municipal ordinance	18-8-208 (4)
68.	Violation of bail bond conditions	18-8-212 (2)
69.	Simulating the legal process	18-8-611 (2)
70.	Failure to obey a juror summons	18-8-612 (2)
71.	Willful misrepresentation of material fact on a juror questionnaire	18-8-613 (2)
Offe	nses Against Public Peace, Order and Decency	
72.	Disobedience of public safety orders under riot conditions	18-9-105
73.	Disorderly conduct — fighting with another in a public place	18-9-106 (3)

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation	
74.	Obstructing highway or other passageway	18-9-107 (3)	
<b>75</b> .	Disrupting lawful assembly	18-9-108 (2)	
76.	Interference with staff, faculty, or students of educational institutions	18-9-109 (5)	
77.	Harassment	18-9-111 (2)	
78.	Desecration of venerated objects	18-9-113 (1) (a)	
79.	Violation of a restraining order related to public conveyances	18-9-115.5	
80.	Unlawful conduct on public property	18-9-117 (3)	
81.	Barricading or refusing police entry to any premises or property through use of or threatened use of force, or, knowingly refusing or failing to leave any premises or property upon the request of a peace officer	18-9-119 (2)	
82.	Knowingly obstructing, detaining, hindering, impeding, or blocking another person's entry to or exit from a health care facility	18-9-122 (2)	
83.	Knowingly approaching another person within 8 feet of that person, without consent, for the purpose of passing information to, displaying a sign to, or engaging in oral protest, education, or counseling with that person within a radius of 100 feet from any entrance to a health care facility	18-9-122 (3)	
84.	Hazing	18-9-124	
85.	Unlawful ownership of a dangerous dog when the dog inflicts bodily injury upon any other person	18-9-204.5 (3) (b)	
86.	Unlawful ownership of a dangerous dog when the dog injures or destroys any domestic animal	18-9-204.5 (3) (e) (l)	
87.	Abuse of telephone and telegraph service	18-9-306 (1)	
88.	Make, possess, or use illegal telecommunications equipment	18-9-309 (2)	
Gambling			
89.	Transmitting or receiving gambling information	18-10-106 (1)	
90.	Maintaining gambling premises	18-10-107 (3)	
Offenses Involving Disloyalty			
91.	Mutilation — contempt of flag	18-11-204 (3)	
Miscellaneous Offenses			
56.	Interference with persons with disabilities	18-13-107 (4)	

Offens	C.R.S. Citation		
92.	Removal of timber from state lands without lawful authority	18-13-108	
93.	Violation of the provisions of subsection (8) of section 18-13-114 regarding the sale or trade of secondhand merchandise	18-13-114 (8)	
94.	Violation of the provisions of subsection (1) of section 18-13-115 by a secondhand dealer or operator of a flea market	18-13-115 (3)	
95.	Violation of any of the provisions of subsection (1) of section 18-13-116 regarding sales tax licenses required of secondhand dealers	18-13-116 (2)	
96.	Violation of any of the provisions of subsection (1) of section 18-13-117 regarding the requirement of secondhand dealers to keep records of sales	18-13-117 (2)	
Unifo	rm Controlled Substances Act		
97.	Failing to honor written promise to appear for possessing one ounce or less of marihuana	18-18-406 (2)	
Child	ren's Code Offenses		
98.	Violation of the provisions of subsections (1) or (3.5) of section 19-3-304 regarding the reporting of child abuse or neglect	19-3-304 (4) (a)	
99.	Failing to provide notice to the court by a child placement agency of any suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action taken by the state against the agency	19-5-207 (9)	
Offen	ses Related to Higher Education		
100.	Violation of the provisions of section 23-2-103 regarding the conferring of an honorary or academic degree	23-2-105	
Offenses Related to State Government			
101.	Using a state-installed postage meter for private purposes	24-30-1111 (2)	
102.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 24-33.5-1206.1 regarding registration of a fire suppression contractor	24-33.5-1206.5 (1)	
103.	Violation of rights of persons with assistance dogs	24-34-804 (2)	
104.	Charging a fee for information developed by the Small Business Assistance Center and not disclosing that the information is available at no cost from the center	24-48.5-102 (4)	
105.	Theft or mutilation of library property	24-90-117	

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
106.	Violation of Transportation Subsystem requirements of the Colorado Emergency Medical Services Act	25-3.5-306
107.	Violating provisions of section 25-4-1808 relating to the sale of shellfish and shellfish dealer certification	25-4-1813
108.	Operation, by an area operator, of a passenger tramway which has not been licensed or when the license has been suspended or who fails to comply with an order	25-5-707 (4)
109.	Violation of any provision of the State Hazardous Waste Siting Act	25-15-211
110.	Violation of any of the provisions of the State Hazardous Waste Incinerator	<b>5215</b> mg5. <b>A501</b> 3

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation	
Huma	an Services Code Offenses		
111.	Obtaining public assistance or vendor payments to which one is not entitled or which are greater than those to which one is entitled, by means of a willfully false statement or representation, or by impersonation, or by any other fraudulent device, when the value of the assistance or payment is less than one hundred dollars (see section 18-4-401 (2))	26-1-127 (1)	
112.	Any recipient of public assistance who fails to notify the department of the receipt of property or income in excess of that declared at the time of determination of eligibility or of any other change in circumstances affecting the recipient's eligibility	26-1-127 (2) (a)	
113.	A recipient or vendor of public assistance who falsifies any required report	26-1-127 (3)	
114.	Obtaining food stamps to which one is not entitled by false statement or representation or by impersonation is a class 3 misdemeanor when the value of the stamps is less than one hundred dollars (see 18-4-401 (2))	26-2-305 (1)	
115.	Any recipient of food stamps who fails to notify the department of any change in circumstances affecting the recipient's eligibility or the amount of food stamp coupons or authorization to purchase cards and who by such failure receives benefits in excess of those to which he was in fact entitled	26-2-305 (2)	
116.	Trafficking in food stamps when the value is less than \$100 dollars	26-2-306 (2) (a)	
117.	Unlawful retention of patient personal needs funds	26-4-504 (8) (c)	
118.	Unlawful retention of patient personal needs funds when the amount involved is less than \$100	26-4-504 (8) (d) (l)	
Offen	ses Related to Military and Veterans		
119.	Refusal to appear, testify, or produce evidence pursuant to trial procedures under the Colorado Code of Military Justice	28-3.1-312 (1)	
Offen	ses Related to Local Governments		
120.	The release of information without express written consent, required to be provided by subsection (2) of section 107, article 22, title 29 regarding the listing of hazardous substances	29-22-107 (2) (c) (III)	
Wildl	ife, Parks, Outdoor Recreation		
121.	Failure, by a river outfitter, to have one personal flotation device for each person on board	33-32-107 (2) (a)	
122.	Operation, by a river outfitter, of a vessel in a careless or imprudent manner without due regard for conditions, or, in such a manner as to endanger any person, property, or wildlife	33-32-107 (2) (b)	

Offen:	<u>se</u>	C.R.S. Citation
Offen	ses Related to Agriculture	
123.	Violation of section 35-9-120 (2) (e) of the Pesticide Act	35-9-125 (4)
124.	Intentional violation of any of the provisions of or of rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to the Colorado Nursery Act	35-26-109 (1)
125.	Violation of any provision of, or rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to, the Weed Free Forage Crop Certification Act	35-27.5-107
126.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding inspection of cattle entering a custom feedlot	35-43-130 (2)
127.	Fraudulent use of a permanent hauling transportation permit for rodeo and other horses	35-53-129 (1)
128.	Fraudulent use of an annual transportation permit for cattle or alternative live	es <b>35</b> 683-130 (1)
129.	Violation of any provision or requirement of or rule or regulation promulgated pursuant to the Public Livestock Markets statute	35-55-117
Taxat	ion Offenses	
130.	A second or subsequent conviction for failure to provide an itemized list of household furnishings by a mobile home dealer	39-5-203 (3) (b)
131.	Engaging in the business of selling at retail in this state without securing a li	c88s26-103 (4)
Offen	ses Related to Utilities	
132.	Operating a towing vehicle on a public way without holding a valid permit	40-13-110 (2)
Offen	ses Related to Vehicles and Traffic	
133.	Copying, duplicating, or reproducing a driver's license for the purpose of resale, manipulation, or reuse of the license	42-2-136 (6) (b)
134.	Violating provisions of law regarding identification cards issued by Department of Revenue	42-2-310
135.	Providing for the movement of a manufactured home, by an owner of a manufactured home, without being the holder of a paid ad valorem tax certificate and a transportable manufactured home permit	42-4-510 (12) (b)
136.	Violation of any of the provisions of part 1 of article 5 of title 42 regarding motor vehicle theft not otherwise specified	42-5-108
137.	Releasing an impounded vehicle from a garage or service station without an official release or court order when such vehicle has been ordered held by an officer of the Colorado State Patrol	42-13-105
138.	Violation of a rule or regulation promulgated pursuant to section 42-20-105 regarding the transport of hazardous materials by motor vehicle	42-20-109 (1)

-111-

3M

Offense	C.R.S. Citation

139. Violation of a rule or regulation promulgated pursuant to section 42-20-108 regarding the transport of hazardous materials by motor vehicle both in interstate and intrastate transportation 42-20-109 (2)

140. Failure to give immediate notice to law enforcement of a hazardous materials spill when 42-20-113 (4) transporting hazardous materials as cargo

-112- **3M** 

# **UNCLASSIFIED MISDEMEANORS**

## Offense C.R.S. Citation

#### **Election Code Offenses**

EIC	ction Code Offenses	
1.	Handling of a voting machine or electronic voting equipment or device by an elected official	1-5-607, 1-13-708.5 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
2.	Willful destruction, defacing, mutilation, or suppression of a petition; willful neglect in filing or delaying delivery of a petition; concealing or removing a petition from the possession of the person authorized to have custody of it; aiding, counseling, procuring, or assisting any person in doing any of the above acts	1-12-108 (10) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
3.	Violation of duty imposed by election code	1-13-107 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
4.	Wagers with electors	1-13-110 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
5.	Interference with distribution of election material	1-13-113 (\$750 maximum fine, and replacement costs)
6.	Failure to comply with requirements of secretary of state	1-13-114 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail
7.	Interfering with or impeding registration	1-13-201 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
8.	Unlawful qualification as taxpaying elector	1-13-202 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
9.	Procuring false registration	1-13-203 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)
10.	Adding names after registration closed	1-13-204 (\$200 to \$500 fine)
11.	County clerk signing wrongful registration	1-13-205 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
12.	Influencing, by a deputy county clerk and recorder, a person to affiliate with a political party	1-13-208 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
13.	Influencing, by a high school registrar, a person to affiliate with a political party	1-13-209 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
14.	Fraud at precinct caucus, assembly, or convention	1-13-301 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
15.	Fraudulent voting in precinct caucus, assembly, or convention	1-13-302 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

### <u>Offense</u>

#### C.R.S. Citation

16.	Voting more than once, procuring another to vote fraudulently, impersonating any elector, procuring another to impersonate any elector, influencing any voter by bribery or duress, or receiving money for casting of vote at precinct caucus, assembly, or convention	1-13-303 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
17.	Bribery of petition signers	1-13-401 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
18.	Tampering with nomination papers	1-13-402 (1) and (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
19.	Defacing of petitions other than nominating petitions	1-13-403 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
20.	Tampering with election notices or supplies	1-13-601 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
21.	Interference with election official	1-13-701 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
22.	Interference with election watcher	1-13-702 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
23.	Tampering with registration book, registration list, or pollbook	1-13-703 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
24.	Unlawfully refusing ballot or permitting unlawful vote	1-13-704 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
25.	Unlawfully delivering and receiving ballots at polls	1-13-706 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
26.	Inducing defective ballot	1-13-707 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
27.	Tampering with voting equipment	1-13-708 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
28.	Interference with voter while voting	1-13-711 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
29.	Disclosing or identifying vote	1-13-712 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
30.	Intimidation	1-13-713 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
31.	Electioneering — removal of ballots before closing of polls	1-13-714 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
32.	Liquor in or near polls	1-13-715 (3) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

Offe	<u>ense</u>	C.R.S. Citation
33.	Destroying, removing, or delaying delivery of election records	1-13-716 (3) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
34.	Destruction of election supplies	1-13-717 (\$5 to \$100 fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
35.	Unlawful release of information concerning ballot count	1-13-718 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
36.	Employer's unlawful acts regarding carripaigns, elections, and voting	1-13-719 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
37.	Unlawfully giving or promising money or employment in return for a vote or non-vote	1-13-720 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
38.	Unlawful receipt of money or jobs in return for a vote or non-vote	1-13-721 (1) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
39.	Defacing or removing abstract of votes cast	1-13-722 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
40.	Neglect of duty and destruction of seal on ballots or ballot boxes	1-13-723 (1) and (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
41.	Mailing other material with absentee voter's ballot	1-13-801 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
42.	Absentee voter applications and deliveries outside county clerk and recorder's office	1-13-802 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
43.	Tampering with initiative or referendum petition	1-40-131 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
Off	enses Related to the Legislature	
44.	Failing or refusing to obey any summons issued by the General Assembly	2-2-314 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
45.	Willfully violating the rules and regulations of the General Assembly	2-2-404 (7) (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
46.	Willfully disclosing the contents of any report prepared by the state auditor prior to approval	2-3-103.7 (1) (\$500 maximum fine)
47.	Interfering with legislative audit	2-3-107 (2) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or 1 month to 1 year jail, or both)
Uniform Consumer Credit Code Offenses		
48.	A supervised lender who willfully makes charges in excess of those permitted by Uniform Consumer Credit Code	5-5-301 (1) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

Offense C.R.S. Citation

49. One other than a supervised lender who willfully engages in 5-5-301 (2) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 the business of making supervised loans without a licenseyear jail, or both) 50. Failing to comply with Uniform Consumer Credit Code 5-5-301 (3) (\$1,000 maximum fine) concerning notification or payment of fees 51. Failure to comply with Uniform Consumer Credit Code 5-5-302 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year concerning disclosure and advertising jail, or both) 52. Violation of the provisions of article 10 of title 5, the 5-10-901 (1) (\$500 maximum fine) Colorado Rental Purchase Agreement Act Consumer and Commercial Affair Offenses 53. Selling any article or product below cost for the purpose of 6-2-105 (1) (a) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 injuring competitors and destroying competition months jail, or both) 54. Selling or advertising motor fuel for less than the cost to a 6-2-105 (1) (b) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 vendor for the purpose of injuring or destroying competition months jail, or both) 55. Secret rebates or refunds not extended to all purchasers 6-2-108 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both) 6-2-116 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 56. Violation of any of the provisions of sections 6-2-103 to 6-3-108 or 6-2-110 of the Unfair Practices Act months jail, or both) Offenses Related to Corporations and Associations 57. Damaging property of a ditch and reservoir company 7-42-109 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both) 58. Misuse of or trafficking in articles or supplies upon which a 7-73-109 (\$10 to \$50 fine) name, mark, or device has been filed with the Secretary of State 59. Failure or refusal of a domestic or foreign corporation to 7-116-109 (3) (\$500 maximum fine) answer, truthfully and fully, interrogatories propounded by the Secretary of State 60. Failure or refusal of an officer or director of a domestic or 7-116-109 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine) foreign corporation to answer, truthfully and fully, interrogatories propounded by the Secretary of State, or signing a document filed with the Secretary of State which is known to be false in any material respect 61. Failure or refusal by a nonprofit corporation to respond to 7-136-109 (3) (\$500 maximum fine) interrogatories from the Secretary of State regarding whether the nonprofit corporation has complied with applicable

statutes

-116- UNCM

# 62. Failure or refusal by a nonprofit corporation or its officers or directors to respond to interrogatories from the Secretary of State regarding whether the nonprofit corporation has complied with applicable statutes or signs documents known to be false

#### C.R.S. Citation

7-136-109 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine)

#### Offenses Related to Labor and Industry

63.	Failure of employee or employer to furnish information to the
	Division of Labor as required

- 64. Obstructing the performance of duties of the Industrial Claims Appeals Office
- 65. Using statutory provisions for the purpose of unjustly maintaining a given condition of affairs through delay
- 66. Declaring or causing a lockout contrary to law
- 67. An employee going on strike contrary to law
- 68. Inciting, encouraging, or aiding a lockout or strike contrary to law
- 69. Failure of witness to appear and testify in response to a subpoena authorized by the director of the division of labearch day in default)

70. Violation of any of the statutory provisions governing the

- Industrial Claim Appeals Office in the Division of Laborjail, or both)
  71. Failure, refusal, or neglecting to perform any duty or to obey 8-1-140 (2) (\$
- any lawful order or court degree as provided in the statutory provisions governing the Industrial Claim Appeals Office in the Division of Labor
- 72. Coercingemployeesbecauseoflabororganizationconnection
- Obtaining workmen by misrepresentation, false advertising, or false pretenses
- 74. Unlawfully preventing employees from participating in politics
- 75. Unlawfully blacklisting or publishing a blacklist
- 76. Unlawfully publishing notice of boycott, unlawfully intimidating workmen, or unlawfully maintaining a blacklist

- 8-1-114 (2) (\$200 fine if an employer and \$25 fine if an employee)
- 8-1-116 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-1-125 (3) (\$100 maximum fine)
- 8-1-129 (1) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-1-129 (2) (\$50 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-1-129 (3) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-1-139 (1) (\$100 maximum fine, or 30 days for
- 8-1-140 (1) (\$100 minimum fine, or 60 days or iail, or both)
  - 8-1-140 (2) (\$100 minimum fine for each day such violation, failure, neglect, or refusal continues)
- 8-2-103 (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 6 months to 1 year jail, or both)
- 8-2-105 (\$2,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 8-2-108 (1) (\$2,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 8-2-111 (\$50 to \$250 fine, or 30 to 90 days jail, or both)
- 8-2-115 (\$10 to \$250 fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)

Offens	<u>a</u>		
OHGHS	<u> </u>		

77.	Forbidding or preventing an employee or other entity under one's control to testify before a committee of the General Assembly or a court of law	8-2.5-101 (1) (a) (\$1,000 maximum fine)
78.	Intimidating a legislative witness	8-2.5-101 (1.5) (c) (\$1,000 maximum fine)
79.	Interference with official in performance of duties under the Labor Peace Act	8-3-116 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
80.	Violation of the provisions of the Labor Peace Act	8-3-122 (\$50 to \$500 fine)
81.	Unlawfully claiming tips or gratuities unless a notice is posted	8-4-116 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
82.	Falsely denying amount or validity of wage claim	8-4-117 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
83.	Discriminating against migratory laborer who has filed any complaint or instituted proceedings	8-4-124 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
84.	Discriminating against employee who serves on a wage board	8-6-115 (\$200 to \$1,000 fine)
85.	Payment of less than the minimum wage	8-6-116 (\$100 to \$500 fine, 30 days to 1 year jail, or both)
86.	Permitting a minor to be employed in violation of the Youth Employment Opportunity Act	8-12-116 (1) (\$20 to \$100 fine)
87.	Violation of provisions regarding Youth Employment Opportunity Act	8-12-116 (2) (\$20 to \$100 fine)
88.	Violation of eight-hour day statute	8-13-103 (\$250 to \$500 fine, or 90 days to 6 months jail, or both)
89.	Violation of hours of duty for firemen	8-13-108 (\$100 to \$500 fine, or up to 100 days jail, or both)
90.	Violation of statutes on Protection of Building Employe	es8-14-105 (\$50 to \$500 fine)
91.	Violation of statute giving preference of Colorado labor on public works	8-17-103 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
92.	Violation of statutes concerning fuel products	8-20-229 (\$50 to \$300 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
93.	Violation of statutes concerning containers of gas or gaseous compounds	8-20-305 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
94.	Violation of regulations of the State Inspector of Oils	8-20-403 (\$500 maximum fine)
95.	Violation of statutes concerning liquefied petroleum gas	8-20-412 (\$50 to \$300 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
96.	Violation of Colorado Antifreeze Law	8-20-812 (\$50 to \$300 fine)

- 97. Violation of brake fluid product standards statute
- 98. Failure of a company or corporation who contracts with a landowner or lessee of a farm or ranch to provide insurance coverage or compensation for injury or death.
- 99. Cutting of rates, rebating, or other method, whereby any employer is given the benefit of or obtains a rate lower than that approved by Commissioner of Insurance
- 100. Violating provision concerning confidential records in **Employment and Training Division**
- 101. Failure to attend and testify or produce documents before **Employment and Training Division**
- 102. Making, requiring, or accepting any deduction from wages to finance employer's taxes
- 103. Charging fee to individual claiming benefits under **Employment Security law**
- 104. Making a false statement of material fact with intent to defraud under Employment Security law
- 105. Making a false statement of material fact with intent to defraud, or failing or refusing to pay required taxes, or to furnish reports as required, or to refuse the inspection of records, under the Employment Security law
- 106. Violation of Employment Security law for which a penalty is not provided

#### Offenses Related to Industrial and Commercial Safety

- 107. Violation of public assemblage building construction requirements
- 108. Failing to have doors open outward in buildings for public assemblage
- 109. Violation of statutes regarding the sale and use of fire extinguishers
- 110. Violation of statute concerning boiler location
- 111. Failure of boiler inspectors to perform duty
- 112. Violation of statute regarding the marking and packaging of explosives

#### C.R.S. Citation

- 8-20-904 (\$50 to \$300 fine)
- 8-41-401 (4) (b) (\$500 maximum fine or up to 60 days jail or both)
- 8-44-104 (\$100 maximum fine)
- 8-72-107 (1) (\$20 to \$200, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 8-72-108 (2) (\$200 maximum fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
- 8-80-101 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-80-102, 8-81-101(3) (\$20 to \$200 fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
- 8-81-101 (1) (a) (\$25 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-81-101 (2) (\$25 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 8-81-101 (3) (\$20 to \$200 fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
- 9-1-102 (\$500 maximum fine)
- 9-1-104 (\$200 maximum fine)
- 9-3-104 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
- 9-4-108 (1)(4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 9-4-111 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or 2 months to 1 year jail, or both)
- 9-6-107 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

UNCM

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
113.	Manufacture, sell, store, transport, or use explosives without obtaining a permit	9-7-111 (\$25 to \$500 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
Insu	rance Related Offenses	
114.	Defamation of another insurance company	10-1-120 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
115.	False testimony in reference to any matter material to an investigation by the insurance commissioner	10-1-204 (4) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
116.	False certification of any books or papers filed with the Division of Insurance in the course of an investigation	10-1-204 (5) (up to \$5,000 fine, or 2 to 12 months jail, or both)
117.	Procuring, receiving, or forwarding applications for insurance in, or to issue or to deliver policies for any insurance company not legally authorized to do business in this statement.	10-3-104 (\$100 fine, or 2 months jail, or both) tate
118.	Violation of insurance laws	10-3-111 (\$1,000 maximum fine and up to 1 year jail)
119.	Violation of restrictions on increase of capital of insurance companies	10-3-114 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
120.	Failing to comply with orders of Insurance Commissioner when company is under conservatorship	10-3-411 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 2 years jail, or both)
121.	Filing application for receivership of a domestic insurance company without approval of the application by the Insurance Commissioner	10-3-504.5 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or 1 month to 1 year jail, or both)
122.	Violation of the provisions regarding the regulation of insurance activities related to disclosure of HIV test res	10-3-1104.5 (6) (\$500 to \$5,000 fine, or 6 ultronths to 2 years jail, or both)
123.	Noncompliance with statutes governing mutual insurance companies and mutual protective associations	10-12-103 (1) (\$500 to \$1,500 fine)
124.	Paying dividend or refund in violation of statute	10-12-216 (2) (1 week to 1 year jail)
125.	Noncompliance with statutes governing interinsurance contracts	10-13-110 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine)
126.	Willfully making false or fraudulent representation in or with reference to any application for membership in fraternal benefit society or for the purpose of obtaining money from any society	10-14-704 (1) (\$500 to \$2,500 fine, or 30 days to 1 year jail, or both), (3) (\$100 to \$500 fine), and (4) (up to \$2,000 fine)
Offe	nses Related to Financial Institutions	
127.	Violation of the provisions of the Public Deposit Protection Act by an official bank custodian	11-10.5-111 (4) (b) (\$200 to \$500 mandatory fine)

# 128. Violation of the provisions of the Public Deposit Protection Act by a officer, or manager

- 129. Unauthorized conduct of banking business
  - Receipt of deposits while insolvent
  - · Unlawful service as officer or director
  - Unlawful gratuity, compensation, or transactions
  - Unlawful concealment of transactions
  - Unlawful payment of penalties and judgment against others
  - Embezzlement or misapplication of funds
- 130. Carrying on a trust company business without a license
- 131. Unlawful use of the words "credit union"
- 132. Defamation of another savings and loan association
- Circulating false information concerning savings and loan association
- 134. Violation of provisions governing officers and directors of savings and loan associations
- 135. Violation, by a member of the Financial Services Board, of the oath to keep secret all information acquired by them in the discharge of their duties
- 136. Testifying falsely in reference to any matter being investigated by Commissioner of Insurance
- 137. Willfully making a false certificate, entry, or memorandum upon the books of a savings and loan association filed with the Division of Savings and Loan
- 138. Noncompliance with orders of Division of Savings and Loan
- 139. Failure of government official to deposit public moneys only in eligible savings and loan associations

# C.R.S. Citation

11-10.5-111 (4) (c) (\$200 to \$2,000 mandatory fine)

11-11-108 (1) (a) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

- 11-23-119 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 11-30-105 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
- 11-40-107 (\$300 to \$1,000 fine, or 3 months to 1 year jail, or both)
- 11-40-108 (\$300 maximum fine, or 6 months to 1 year jail, or both)
- 11-41-127 (2) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 11-44-101.6 (8) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 11-44-109 (5) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
- 11-44-109 (6) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or 2 months to 1 year jail, or both)
- 11-44-114 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 11-47-118 (2) (\$200 to \$500 mandatory fine)

#### Offenses Related to Professions and Occupations

140. Failure, by a motor vehicle dealer, wholesaler, or used motor vehicle dealer which issues a draft or check, to honor such draft or check causing loss to a third party 12-6-121.6 (2) (mandatory \$2,500 fine)

<u>Offense</u>	C.R.S. Citation
141. Violation of Sunday Closing law	12-6-303 (\$75 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
142. Violation of Bail Bondsmen statute	12-7-109 (2) and (3) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
143. Violation of Cemeteries statute	12-12-115 (3) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
144. Violation of Life Care Institutions statute	12-13-112 (\$10,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
145. Violation of Commercial Driving Schools statute	12-15-120 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
146. Violation of Dance Halls statute	12-18-104 (\$25 to \$300 fine, or 10 to 30 days jail, or both)
147. Violation of Escort Services statute	12-25.5-113 (1) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
148. Violation of Firearm Dealers statute	12-26-103 (\$25 to \$100 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
149. Violation of Cancer Cure Control statute	12-30-106 (2) and 12-30-107 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
150. The diagnosis, treatment, or prescription for the treatment of cancer by anyone other than a licensed physician, licensed osteopath, or licensed dentist	12-30-107 (1) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
151. Willfully and falsely representing a device, substance, or treatment as being of value in the treatment, alleviation, or cure of cancer	12-30-107 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
152. Procuring food or accommodations with intent to defraud, if under \$50	12-44-102 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
153. Violation of Massage Parlor Code statute	12-48.5-111 (1) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
154. Violation of Mercantile License statute	12-51-106 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

157. Refusal to permit the inspection of applicable documents, records, or other items required to be maintained by outfitters and guides, when requested to do so by peace officer

155. Violation of Money Orders statute

156. Violation of Mortuaries statute

12-55.5-107 (3) (\$100 fine)

years jail, or both)

12-52-115 (\$10,000 maximum fine)

12-54-118 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 2

- 158. Engaging in activities as an outfitter or representing oneself as an outfitter without first obtaining a certificate of registration; acting as an outfitter if such registration has been suspended or revoked or has expired
- 159. Working as an outfitter guide when not 18 years of age or without possession of a valid instructor's card in first aid or standard first aid or evidence of equivalent training
- 160. Violation of Private Occupational School statute
- 161. Violation of Real Estate statute
- 162. Willfully failing to appear and respond to subpoena in investigation by Real Estate Commission

#### C.R.S. Citation

12-55.5-107.5 (1) (\$1,000 to \$5,000 fine, or up to one year jail, or both)

12-55.5-108 (2) (\$100 fine)

12-59-122 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

12-61-119 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

12-61-121 (\$25 fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both for each day of offense)

-123-

#### Offense C.R.S. Citation Offenses Related to Courts and Court Procedure 163. Violation of provisions regarding the abolition of common 13-20-208 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 90 law civil actions for breach of promise to marry, alienation days jail, or both) of affections, criminal conversation and seduction 164. Failure of judge to bind any witness or prisoner by 13-45-106 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to recognizance 1 year jail, or both) Offenses Related to Domestic Matters 165. Knowingly violating provisions of the Uniform Marriage Act 14-2-113 (\$500 maximum fine) Offenses Related to Criminal Proceedings 166. Violating any of the provisions of section 16-3-107.5 16-3-107.5 (8) (\$5,000 maximum fine) relating to the transportation of prisoners 167. Noncompliance with provisions regarding extradition of 16-19-112 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 fugitives months jail, or both) Offenses Involving Fraud 168. Violation, by an employment agency, of the provisions of 18-5-307 (6) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 section 18-5-307 regarding fees paid to private employment year jail, or both) agencies Offenses Relating to Morals 169. Dispensing violent films to minors 18-7-601 (3) (\$1,000 fine first offense, \$5,000 fine second and subsequent offenses) Offenses Related to Governmental Operations 170. Attempt to escape while in custody or confinement following 18-8-208.1 (3) (2 to 4 months jail to run conviction of a misdemeanor or petty offense consecutively with other sentences)

#### Offense C.R.S. Citation **Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992** 171. Violation of paragraphs (e) through (n) of subsection 1 or of 18-18-414 (4) (up to \$500 fine, or up to 1 year subsection 2 of section 18-18-414, Uniform Controlled jail, or both) Substances Act of 1992 Offenses Related to the Children's Code 172. Charging money for consent to adoption 19-5-213 (2) (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 90 days jail, or both) **Education Related Offenses** 173. Refusing to take oath when required by school census 22-1-113 (\$1 to \$10 fine) enumerator 174. School district officer or employee who refuses to perform 22-32-123 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 90 duty required by law when directed to perform such dutylays jail, or both) 22-61-101 (2) (\$50 maximum fine, or up to 90 175. Discrimination in teacher employment days jail, or both) 22-61-105 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 6 176. Allowing a teacher to instruct without taking oath or months jail, or both) affirmation Offenses Related to Higher Education 177. Violation of any of the provisions of the Forest Products 23-30-404 (1) (Fine of twice the retail value of the forest products involved) statute Offenses Related to State Government 178. Violation of Public Official Disclosure law 24-6-202 (7) (\$1,000 to \$5,000 fine) 179. Wilfully filing a false or incomplete report or wilfully 24-6-203 (7) (\$50 to \$1,000 fine) failing to provide the statement of value pursuant to the Public Official Disclosure Law 180. Violation of provisions regulating lobbyists 24-6-309 (1) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both) 181. Failure of any officer to deliver any money to his sureties or 24-13-114 (\$500 to \$5,000 fine) acts in performance of his duties after failing to give a new bond 182. Violation of proclamation of state of riot statute 24-20-204 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both) 24-22-108 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine and removal 183. Neglect of duty by State Treasurer from office at court's discretion)

O	ffa	n	CΔ
v	rre	:11	2C

- 184. Refusal of State Treasurer to pay warrant
- Drawing or issuing any warrant upon the State Treasurer not authorized by law
- Willfully neglecting or refusing to perform duties prescribed by fiscal rules promulgated by the controller
- 187. Divulging information, by the Department of Administration, in a confidential document
- 188. Violation of statute regarding manufacture of equipment for camper trailers and camper coaches
- 189. Discrimination in places of public accommodation
- 190. Publication of discriminatory matter
- Denying or interfering with the rights to or enjoyment of public facilities by the blind and other handicapped persons
- 192. Contracts for public printing with prohibited persons
- 193. Violation of statute regarding requirements for public printing contracts
- 194. Failure to furnish abstracts or copies pursuant to the Public Records statute
- 195. Violation of Public Open Records law
- 196. Violation of Criminal Justice Records law
- 197. Divulging information regarding a recommendation of the Commission on Judicial Discipline before such recommendation is filed with the Supreme Court
- Appropriating, excavating, injuring, or destroying any historical, prehistorical, or archaeological resource on public land without a permit
- Destroying, defacing, removing or injuring monuments or marks erected to mark the Santa Fe trail
- 200. Violating the limitation on picking the state flower
- Destroying, damaging, defacing, or taking anything from a designated ghost town

- 24-22-109 (1 year maximum jail)
- 24-30-202 (14) (Four-fold the amount of such warrant, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 24-30-202 (17) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine)
- 24-30-1105 (2) (b) (\$500 to \$5,000 fine, or 6 months to 2 years jail, or both)
- 24-32-909 (\$50 to \$100 fine)
- 24-34-602 (\$10 to \$300 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 24-34-705 (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 30 days to 90 days jail, or both)
- 24-34-802 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
- 24-70-217 (\$1,000 maximum fine)
- 24-70-228 (\$1,000 maximum fine)
- 24-72-110 (2) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine)
- 24-72-206 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 24-72-309 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 24-72-402 (Up to a \$500 fine)
- 24-80-409 (1) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
- 24-80-801 (\$100 fine, or 30 to 90 days jail, or both)
- 24-80-908 (\$5 to \$50 fine)
- 24-80-1202 (\$2,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

Health Related Offe	enses
---------------------	-------

2	202.	Violation of Health laws	25-1-114 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
2	203.	Violation of Public Health laws	25-1-514 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
2	204.	Unlawful disposition of dead animals	25-1-612 (\$5 to \$50 fine)
2	205.	Selling or permitting to run at large a diseased domestic animal	25-1-663 (\$5 to \$100 fine, or 10 to 90 days jail, or both)
2	206.	Importing a diseased domestic animal	25-1-664 (\$100 to \$5000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
2	207.	Violation of Regional Health Department statute	25-1-716 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
2	208.	Making a false statement on any vital statistics record	25-2-118 (1) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
2	209.	Violation of the provisions of the Vital Statistics Act	25-2-118 (2) (Up to \$100 fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
2	210.	Operating hospital without license	25-3-105 (\$50 to \$500 fine)
2	211.	Unlawfully maintaining or allowing to exist a nuisance — unsanitary conditions	25-4-106 (\$200 maximum fine)
2	212.	Violation of Disease Control statute	25-4-111 (\$200 maximum fine)
2	213.	Violation of Prenatal Examination statute	25-4-204 (\$300 maximum fine)
2	214.	Violation of Blindness in Newly Born statute	25-4-305 (\$10 to \$50 fine, or up to 50 days jail)
2	215.	Violation of Venereal Disease statute	25-4-407 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
Ž	216.	Violation of Tuberculosis statute	25-4-509 (1) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both, plus order of isolation, quarantine, or treatment)
2	217.	Failure to make required reports pursuant to the Tuberculosis statute	25-4-509 (2) (\$100 maximum fine)
2	218.	Violation of Rabies Control statute	25-4-614 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail)
2	219.	Violation, by a retail food store owner, of any of the provisions of the Retail Food Store Sanitation Act	25-4-1312 (Up to \$500 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)

- 220. Releasing or making public confidential information from a medical record regarding the results of a test for the HIV virus
- 221. Violation of Enrichment of Flour and Bread statute
- 222. Violation of the provisions of section 25-5-403 (1) of the Colorado Pure Food and Drug Law
- 223. Sale, furnishing, or giving to any person under 18 years of age, any confectionery which contains alcohol in excess of one-half of one percent by volume
- 224. Misbranding of imported meat
- 225. Violation of section 25-5-504 of the Hazardous Substances statute
- 226. Refusal to allow inspections provided for in the Dairy Products statutes or obstructing the proper officers from performing duties provided for in such statutes
- 227. Violation of the provisions not otherwise prescribed in part1 of the Dairy Products statute
- 228. Violation of any of the provisions regarding imitation dairy products
- 229. Violation of the provisions of the Colorado Frozen Desserts Act
- 230. Knowing violation of any requirement or prohibition of an emission control regulation listed in section 25-7-122.1 (1)
   (b) pursuant to the Colorado Air Pollution Prevention and Control Act
- Knowing violation of any requirement, prohibition, or order regarding an operating permit for emission of pollutants or failure to pay the permit fee
- 232. Making any false statement, omission, alteration, representation, or certification in any document required pursuant to the Colorado Air Pollution Prevention and Control Act

- 25-4-1409 (2) (\$500 to \$5,000 fine, or 6 months to 2 years jail, or both)
- 25-5-206 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail)
- 25-5-405 (1) (\$1000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 25-5-405 (4) (Up to \$750 fine)
- 25-5-411 (1) (n) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or 30 to 90 days jail, or both)
- 25-5-504 (1) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both) (\$3,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both if with intent to defraud or mislead, or for second or subsequent offenses)
- 25-5.5-114 (Up to \$100 fine, or up to 30 days jail)
- 25-5.5-116 (\$10 to \$200 fine, and up to 60 days jail)
- 25-5.5-209 (Up to \$1000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 25-5.5-312 (Up to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 25-7-122.1 (1) (b) (up to \$25,000 fine per day of violation)
- 25-7-122.1 (1) (c) (up to \$25,000 fine per day of violation; penalty doubled for a second conviction within two years of first conviction)
- 25-7-122.1 (2) (up to \$12,500 fine per violation)

#### C.R.S. Citation

233.	Negligent violation of any requirement or prohibition of an
	emission control regulation pursuant to the Prevention of
	Significant Deterioration Program under the Colorado Air
	Pollution Prevention and Control Act

25-7-122.1 (3) (d) (up to \$12,500 fine per day of violation)

225 Falaifi in a dan wasanta salata dan antanananina with watar

234. Failure to notify of discharge of oil in waters of the state 25-8-601 (2) (\$10,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

235. Falsifying documents related to or tampering with water quality monitoring device

25-8-610 (1) (\$10,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

236. False representation as a certified water treatment plant operator pursuant to the Water and Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators statute

25-9-110 (1) (\$3,000 maximum fine)

237. Violation of sections 25-11-107 (1), (2), and (2.5) of the Radiation Control statute

25-11-107 (3) (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 30 to 90 days jail, or both)

238. Selling motor vehicle in violation of noise restriction statute

25-12-106 (3) (\$50 to \$300 fine)

239. Violation of Recreation Land Preservation statute

25-13-114 (\$500 maximum fine)

240. Transporting any hazardous waste to a facility without a permit, or treating, storing, or disposing such waste without a permit; false representation in any application or record required by the State Hazardous Waste Management Program 25-15-310 (2) (\$25,000 maximum fine per day of violation)

241. Storage of hazardous waste, by a hazardous waste generator, exceeding the 90-day storage period or any extension thereof

25-15-310 (4) (b) (\$25,000 maximum fine per day of violation)

242. Falsifying identification or misrepresenting medical condition on identification device

25-20-107 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)

 Conducting or maintaining a personal care boarding home without having obtained a license from the Department of Health 25-27-103 (1) (a) (\$50 to \$500 fine)

#### **Human Services Code Offenses**

 Divulging confidential information of the Department of Social Services 26-1-114 (5) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)

245. Violation of Child Care Centers statute

26-6-112 (\$300 to \$500 fine)

#### Offenses Related to Institutions

<u>Offense</u>	C.R.S. Citation
246. Incurring or contracting any indebtedness, by any officer of any state institution, for, on behalf of, or in the name of such institution or in the name of the state in excess of the sum appropriated by the General Assembly for the use and support of such institution for the fiscal year	27-2-106 (\$300 maximum fine)
Offenses Related to Military and Veterans	
247. Discrimination against officers or enlisted men of the military in employment	28-3-506 (\$500 maximum fine)
248. Interference with officer or enlisted man of National Guard while on duty	28-3-507 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail)
249. Destroying, damaging, selling, or illegally disposing of military property	28-3-702 (\$500 maximum fine or up to 6 months jail)
Offenses Related to Local Governments	
250. Divulging sales tax information by employee of municipality or county	29-2-106 (4) (c) (II) (\$1,000 maximum fine and removal from office)
251. Impersonating a peace officer	29-5-102 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
Offenses Related to County Governments	
<ol> <li>Sheriff who charges excessively for service of process or who refuses to serve process; charging for constructive mi</li> </ol>	30-1-107 (\$5 to \$50 fine) ileage
253. Public officer neglecting or refusing to perform offici	ial aso-1-110 (\$10 to \$200 fine)
254. Refusing to pay over to County Treasurer or State Treasurer the fees of his office	30-1-117 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
<ol> <li>Acting as County Commissioner after failing to give bond or after judgment of removal from office has been enter</li> </ol>	30-10-315 (\$500 to \$5,000 fine, or 30 days to ed 6 months jail)
256. Failure of County Treasurer to perform duties	30-10-726 (\$50 to \$500 fine, removal from office at the court's discretion)
257. Defacing or destroying notice to leave attended and to extinguish camp fire	30-15-202 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
258. Discharging firearms in designated areas where it is unlawful	30-15-303 (\$100 maximum fine)
259. Violation of Solid Waste Disposal Site statute	30-20-114 (\$2,000 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail or both)
260. Failure of County Commissioner to publish financial statement of county	30-25-111 (3) (\$100 maximum fine)

- 261. Violation of Limitation on Levy statute
- 262. Transferring title to or selling subdivided land before final plat has been approved
- 263. Erecting, constructing, altering, or using any building or structure in violation of county zoning regulation or unlawfully using a building or land in violation of county zoning regulation
- 264. Violating any provision of the area building code

#### C.R.S. Citation

- 30-25-206 (\$1,000 maximum fine, removal from office)
- 30-28-110 (4) (a) (\$500 to \$1,000 fine)
- 30-28-124 (1) (a) and (1) (b) (l) (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 10 days jail, or both)
- 30-28-209 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 10 days jail, or both)

#### Offenses Related to Municipal Governments

- 265. Mayor or member of the governing body of any city or town who receives illegal compensation
- 266. Willful destruction, defacement, mutilation, or suppression of a recall petition or willful neglect in filing or delays in delivering a recall petition for a municipal official or any other tampering with such petition
- Penalty for Municipal Election Offenses not otherwise specified
- 268. Wrongfully or willfully destroying, defacing, mutilating, suppressing, neglecting or failing to cause nomination papers to be filed by the proper time
- 269. Offering or knowingly permitting anyone to offer a bribe or promise of gain to an elector in exchange for signing any nomination or election paper, or accepting such bribe or promise of gain
- 270. Destroying, concealing, or suppressing official ballots, tally sheets, registration book or lists, or pollbook by an election official, or failure to deliver such to the clerk within the prescribed time
- 271. Willfully destroying or defacing any ballot or tally sheet, or willfully delaying the delivery of such, or concealing or removing such from the polling place
- 272. Willfully and maliciously, on the part of an election judge, refusing or neglecting to receive the ballot of any registered elector or knowingly and willfully permitting any person to vote who is not entitled to vote at any election

- 31-4-407 (\$25 to \$100 fine)
- 31-4-503 (5) (Up to \$1,000 fine, or up to one year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1504 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1508 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1509 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1511 (1) and (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1512 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1513 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

_		
n	ffanca	ı
u	ttense	:

- 273. Revealing how a disabled voter voted after assisting such disabled person in voting
- 274. Violating, neglecting, or omitting to perform, on the part of a municipal official or election official, imposed election duty or administering a false oath
- 275. Violation of the offenses listed as unlawful receipt of money under the Municipal Election Code
- 276. Showing a ballot which has been prepared for voting in such a way as to reveal its contents or marking a ballot by means of which it can be identified
- 277. Violation of any of the offenses listed under "Delivering and receiving ballots at polls" in the Municipal Election Code year jail, or both)
- 278. Electioneering on election day within any polling place or in any public street or room or in any public manner within 100 feet of any building in which a polling place is located
- 279. Violation of the offenses listed under "Employer's unlawful acts" in the Municipal Election Code
- 280. Making use of, directly or indirectly, any force, violence, restraint, abduction, duress, or forcible or fraudulent device or contrivance, or to inflict or threaten to inflict, or to impede, prevent, or otherwise interfere a qualified elector, or to refrain from giving an elector his vote
- 281. Violation of any of the provisions of the offenses listed under "Unlawfully giving or promising money" in the Municipal Election Code
- 282. Attempting to influence or deter a voter or fraudulently changing or altering a ballot
- 283. Interfering with a voter when inside the immediate voting area or when marking a ballot or operating a voting machine
- 284. Introducing liquor into polls while any election is in process
- 285. Causing a ballot to misstate the wishes of the voter or causing other deceit with intent to induce a defective ballot to be cast
- 286. Altering in any way an abstract of voters posted outside a polling place
- 287. Making any bet or wager with a qualified elector upon any event arising out of an election

#### C.R.S. Citation

- 31-10-1514 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1515 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1516 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1517 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 31-10-1518 (4) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to
  - 31-10-1521 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1522 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1523 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1524 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1525 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1526 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1527 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1528 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1530 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
  - 31-10-1531 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

UNCM

-132-

<u>Offe</u>	<u>nse</u>	C.R.S. Citation
288.	Tampering with any notice of election or with any supplies or conveniences furnished to enable a voter to prepare his ballot	31-10-1532 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up 1 year jail, or both)
289.	Tampering with registration book, registration list, or pollbook	31-10-1533 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
290.	Tampering with a voting machine with intent to change the tabulation of votes	31-10-1534 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
291.	Interfering with an election official or inducing an election official to violate his duties	31-10-1535 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
292.	Taking or placing title to property in the name of another, or paying the taxes, or taking or issuing a tax receipt in the name of another for the purpose of attempting to qualify as a qualified taxpaying elector	31-10-1536 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
293.	Failing to keep registry of warrants or certificates of indebtedness	31-20-407 (\$100 to \$500 fine)
294.	Making or causing to be made a connection of sewers serving property in any unincorporated territory with a sewerage system of any city without a permit from said city	31-35-712 (\$10 to \$50 fine, or 20 to 90 days jail, or both)
Offe	nses Related to Special Districts	
295.	Maintaining a fire hazard within any fire protection district premises	32-1-1002 (3) (d) (\$50 to \$250 fine for each day of violation)
296.	Making a false alarm or cutting a fire alarm telegraph	32-1-1002 (4) (b) (\$300 maximum fine, or up t 90 days jail, or both)
297.	Damaging or destroying works of water and sanitation districts	32-4-545 (1) (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
298.	Wrongfully damaging, injuring, or destroying property, or impairing the usefulness of any facility, structure, improvement, equipment or other property of the Regional Transportation District, or interference with any officer, agent, or employee of the district in the discharge of his duties	32-9-160 (1) (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)

# Offenses Related to Wildlife, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation

299. Same as above, provision applied to an Urban Drainage and Flood Control District

32-11-815 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 90

days jail, or both)

to

- 300. Failure to account for licenses or failure to pay over to the Division of Wildlife moneys received from the sales of licenses and donations when the amount in question is less than \$200
- 301. Violation of any of the provisions of articles 1 to 6 of title 33 pursuant to the Division of Wildlife and Parks and Outdoor Recreation
- 302. Purchasing, applying for, or exercising the benefits conferred by a license when such license has been suspended
- 303. Procuring or using more than one license of a certain type in any one calendar year
- 304. Making a false statement in connection with applying for or purchasing a license, or accepting false information in connection with issuing a license
- 305. Taking wildlife without a proper and valid license
- 306. Hunting wildlife with a youth license when under 16 years of age unless personally accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid hunter education certificate
- 307. Taking big game, if under 14 years of age, or if between 14 and 18 years of age, not being accompanied by a person over 18 years of age
- 308. Possessing wildlife without a license at the site where the wildlife is kept
- 309. Fishing, if over 15 years of age, without a valid fishing license; If under 15 years of age, possessing more than 1/2 the bag or possession limit set by the commission
- 310. The transfer, sale, loan, or assignment of a lawfully acquired license to another person
- The purchase of any hunting or trapping license without a hunter education certificate by any person born on or after January 1, 1949
- 312. Violation of the provisions of section 33-6-109 regarding illegal possession of wildlife

- 33-4-101 (11) (a) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 33-6-104 (1) (\$50 fine and 5 license suspension points)
- 33-6-106 (6) (\$500 fine and a 2-year extension of the original suspension)
- 33-6-107 (1) (\$50 fine and 10 license suspension points; \$200 fine and 15 license suspension points for big game license)
- 33-6-107 (2) (\$200 fine and 15 license suspension points)
- 33-6-107 (3) (\$50 fine and 10 license suspension points; \$250 fine and 15 license suspension points for big game license)
- 33-6-107 (3.5) (\$50 fine and 5 license suspension points)
- 33-6-107 (4) (\$50 fine and 10 license suspension points)
- 33-6-107 (5) (\$50 fine and 10 license suspension points)
- 33-6-107 (6) (\$50 fine and 10 license suspension points)
- 33-6-107 (7) (\$200 fine and 15 license suspension points)
- 33-6-107 (8) (\$50 fine and 10 license suspension points)
- 33-6-109 (3) and (4) (\$250 to \$1,000 fine and 5 to 10 license suspension points per incident)

0	ffe	nse
~		

#### 313. Refusal to allow inspection of license and wildlife, a check 33-6-111 (1), (2), (3), and (4) (\$50 to \$1,000 of license and wildlife when requested to do so at a check fine and 5 to 10 license suspension points) station failure to tag wildlife, eluding an officer 314. Failure to retain evidence of wildlife sex and species 33-6-112 (\$100 fine, and 10 license suspension points for big game; \$50 fine and 5 license suspension points for all other wildlife) 315. Illegal sale of wildlife other than big game 33-6-113 (2) (b) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both, and 20 license suspension points) 316. Violation of section 33-6-114 regarding the transportation, 33-6-114 (4) (\$50 fine and 5 license suspension points per incident involving native wildlife; importation, exportation, and release of wildlife \$250 to \$1,000 fine and 5 license suspension points per incident involving nonnative or exotic wildlife) 317. Stealing wildlife not lawfully acquired or possessed 33-6-115 (1) (\$100 to \$500 fine and 20 license suspension points) 318. Tampering with a legally set trapping device 33-6-115 (2) (\$200 fine and 10 license suspension points) 319. Violation of section 33-6-116 regarding "Hunting, trapping, 33-6-116 (3) (\$100 fine and 20 license or fishing on private property-posting public lands" suspension points) 320. Willful destruction of wildlife other than big game, eagles, 33-6-117 (1) (b) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both and 20 license suspension and endangered species points) 33-6-118 (\$500 fine and 20 license suspension 321. Advertising, conducting, or offering to conduct a contest to kill big game animals points) 322. Failure to make a reasonable attempt to locate game wildlife 33-6-119 (1) (a) (\$100 fine and 15 license suspected of injury to take into possession suspension points for big game; when small game, \$50 fine and 15 license suspension points) 323. Failure to immediately dress or care for and provide for 33-6-119 (2) (If big game, \$300 fine and 15 human consumption the edible portion of any game wildlife license suspension points; \$100 fine and 10 license points for other game) 33-6-119 (3) (\$100 fine and 10 license 324. Using wildlife as bait suspension points) 33-6-120 (\$100 fine and 10 license suspension 325. Hunting, trapping, or fishing out of season or in a closed area points)

C.R.S. Citation

33-6-121 (2) (\$50 fine and 5 license suspension

points)

326. Violation of the provisions of section 33-6-121 requiring

hunters to wear daylight fluorescent orange garments

- 327. Hunting in a careless manner
- 328. Hunting under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance
- 329. Violation of the provisions of section 33-6-124 regarding use of a motor vehicle or aircraft to harass wildlife
- 330. Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle
- 331. Shooting from a public road
- 332. Hunting with artificial light
- Willfully damaging or destructing dens or nests or harassing wildlife
- 334. Knowingly or negligently allowing or directing a dog to harass wildlife
- 335. Damaging property or habitat under the Division of Wildlife's control
- 336. Using any Division of Wildlife property in violation of any commission rule or regulation
- Using toxicants, poisons, drugs, dynamite, explosives, or any stupefying substances for the purpose of taking or harassing any wildlife
- 338. Failure to account for passes and registrations or failure to pay over moneys received from the sale of passes and registrations to the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation
- 339. Operation of a vessel in a wanton manner or with willful disregard for the safety of persons or property
- Operation of a vessel while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- 341. Operating a sailboat or motorboat while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance
- 342. Knowing authorization of the operation of a motorboat or sailboat by another who is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance

- 33-6-122 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both, and 20 license suspension points)
- 33-6-123 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both, and 20 license suspension points)
- 33-6-124 (3) (\$200 fine and 15 license suspension points)
- 33-6-125 (\$50 fine and 15 license suspension points)
- 33-6-126 (\$50 fine and 5 license suspension points)
- 33-6-127 (\$200 fine and 20 license suspension points)
- 33-6-128 (1) (\$100 fine and 10 license suspension points)
- 33-6-128 (2) (\$200 fine)
- 33-6-129 (1) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both, and reimbursement for damages upon order of court)
- 33-6-129 (2) (\$50 fine)
- 33-6-130 (1) (\$200 fine and 20 license suspension points)
- 33-12-104 (11) (a) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 33-13-108 (3) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 33-13-108 (4) (\$100 or \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 33-13-108.1 (1) (a) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine or 5 (mandatory) to 180 days jail or both and 96 mandatory hours public service)
- 33-13-108.1 (13) (b) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine or up to 1 year jail or both)

<u>Offer</u>	<u>1se</u>	C.R.S. Citation
343.	Operation of a motorboat or sailboat when a court-ordered suspension is in effect	33-13-108.2 (1) (Mandatory 3 to 180 day jail and \$300 to \$1,000 fine for first offense; Mandatory 90 day to 1 year jail and \$500 to \$3,000 fine for 2nd offense)
344.	Operation of or riding water skis, aquaplanes, surfboards, innertubes, and similar devices while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance	33-13-110 (3) (b) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
345.	Operation of a snowmobile without regard for the safety of persons or property, or, operation of a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance	33-14-116 (6) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
346.	Eluding or attempting to elude a Division of Parks and Recreation officer	33-15-105 (\$300 fine)
347.	Leaving a fire unattended on lands under the control of the Division of Wildlife	33-15-106 (2) (\$100 fine plus fire suppression reimbursement costs upon order of the court)
348.	Starting, building, tending, or maintaining a fire in a careless or reckless manner that indicates either a lack of due regard for the fire hazard present or a wanton and willful disregard for the safety of persons	33-15-106 (3) (\$1,000 fine)
349.	River Outfitter violation of safety equipment provision of 33- 13-106	33-32-107(2)(a) (\$100 fine)
Offe	nses Related to Mineral Resources	
350.	Use, except in an emergency, of explosives for mining- related purposes without first obtaining a permit	33-24-103 (2) (\$25 to \$300 fine)
351.	Failure to securely cover or fence an abandoned rnine or removing such cover or fence without permission	34-24-110 (1) (Up to \$300 fine)
350.	Trespassing into any mine	34-24-110 (3) (\$50 to \$500 fine, or up to ten days jail, or both)
351.	Removing or destroying any covering or fencing placed around or over any abandoned or inactive mine	34-24-111 (\$50 to \$300 fine, or up to six months jail, or both)
352.	Entering any active or inactive mine unless accompanied by, or with prior written permission from, the operator of the mine	34-24-112 (3) (\$50 to \$500 fine, or up to ten days jail, or both)
353.	Unlawful financial interest in mining operation	34-33-122 (9) (\$2,500 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
354.	Threatening employees or owners of mine	34-45-102 (\$250 maximum fine, or 30 days to 6 months jail)

<u>Offer</u>	<u>nse</u>	C.R.S. Citation
355.	Keeping and using false or fraudulent scales or weights for weighing ore	34-53-102 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
356.	Altering or changing true value of ore	34-53-103 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
419.	Violation of provisions regarding memoranda of ore sales	s 34-54-106 (\$50 to \$500 fine, or 6 months jail, or both)
420.	Making a false entry or statement in regards to reports required by the Oil and Gas Conservation Act	34-60-121 (2) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or 6 months jail, or both)
421.	Violation of statute regulating oil wells and boreholes	34-61-108 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
Agri	culture — Related Offenses	
422.	Failing or refusing to give information to Commissioner of Agriculture as required by the agricultural statistics state	35-2-104 (\$10 to \$500 fine) ute
423.	Failure to give information to county assessor as required by the agricultural statistics statute	35-2-105 (\$25 to \$200 fine plus costs of prosecution)
424.	Disclosure of confidential reports made to the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the agricultural statistics statu	35-2-106 (\$500 maximum fine plus costs of utprosecution, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
425.	Violation of anhydrous ammonia statute	35-13-108 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or 30 days to 6 months jail)
426.	Violation of statute regulating processing of eggs	35-21-107 (1) (\$500 maximum fine)
427.	Malfeasance of fruit and vegetable inspector	35-23-110 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
428.	Violation of statute or interference with the duties of the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the inspection of agricultural products statute	35-23-116 (\$500 maximum fine, or 3 months jail, or both)
429.	Violation of Controlled Atmosphere Storage of Apples	/36:23.5-107 (2) (\$500 maximum fine)
430.	Violation of the Colorado Bee Act	35-25-111 (maximum \$100 fine)
431.	Violation of Agriculture Marketing Act of 1939	35-28-116 (2) (\$50 to \$500 fine, or 10 days to 6 months jail, or both)
432.	Violation of Colorado seal of quality statute	35-29-109 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
433.	Violation of destruction of food products statute	35-31-104 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or 30 days to 1 year jail, or both)
434.	Offering, for purpose of obtaining bounty, the scalp of any coyote or wolf that was killed outside of the state	35-40-111 (\$10 to \$50 fine)

O	ffe	'n	se
$\mathbf{}$	"	, I I	Ju

# 435. Brand or cause to be branded any livestock with a brand which has not been recorded with the state

- 436. Branding of maverick without authorization
- 437. Willful injury of a person by driving stock on another's land
- 438. Failing to comply with requirements to brand calves
- 439. Herding or grazing of stock on public domain range not entitled to be herded or grazed thereon
- 440. Permitting livestock to graze or run at large in any municipality or public highway if it is separated from the land of such owner by a fence
- 441. Taking livestock into custody without compliance with the
- 442. Allowing horses or mules to run at large
- 443. Allowing an inferior bull or inferior ram to run at large 35-48-103 (3) (\$100 maximum fine)
- 444. Shipping or driving livestock into state without an official health certificate
- 445. Transporting or driving sheep from authorized inspection district, without giving due notice to an authorized inspector
- 446. Moving livestock from a quarantined area in violation of a quarantine order
- 447. Refusing to permit inspection of animals reacting to tuberculin test, or refusing to clean buildings and premises of disease-propagating substances and to disinfect such premises
- 448. Violation of statutes concerning the control and eradication of brucellosis
- 449. Unlawful manufacture or sale of an imal biological products
- 450. Violation of any of the provisions of article 52 of title 35 regarding hogs
- 451. Making a false certificate by a brand inspector pursuant to transportation of livestock statute
- 452. Shipping animals other than those described in inspection certificate or substituting others therefor

#### C.R.S. Citation

35-43-105 (3) (\$50 to \$500, or 30 days to 1 year jail, or both)

35-43-118 (2) (3 months to 1 year jail)

35-43-120 (2) (\$25 to \$100 fine)

35-43-129 (4) (\$100 to \$500 fine and up to 90 days jail)

35-45-104 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

35-46-105 (2) (\$10 to \$200 fine)

35-46-109 (\$10 to \$500 fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)

35-47-103 (\$25 to \$500 fine)

35-50-103 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)

35-50-106 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)

35-50-110 (2) (\$500 to \$2,000 fine, or 90 days to 1 year jail, or both)

35-50-130 (\$100 to \$500, or up to 90 days jail, or both)

35-50-145 (\$500 to \$2,000, or up to 90 days jail, or both)

35-51-102 (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 30 days to 1 year jail, or both)

35-52-111 (\$500 maximum fine)

35-53-103 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

35-53-106 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

#### **Offense** C.R.S. Citation

453.	Violating or disregarding any of the provisions of a proclamation by the Governor prohibiting the importation of livestock into this state or a designated area	35-53-111 (2) (\$300 to \$3,000 fine, or 30 days to 1 year jail, or both)
454.	Violation of any of the provisions of sections 35-53-101 to 35-53-112 regarding shipping animals prior to inspectio	35-53-112 (1) (\$200 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 andays to 1 year jail, or both)
455.	Violation of statutes regarding inspection and transportation of carcasses	35-53-120 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)
456.	Transporting animals without a permit from the owner of such animals, making a false or forged permit, or refusing to exhibit a permit	35-53-124 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)
457.	Failing to have cattle inspected on arrival at market before they are taken to the scales for weighing	35-53-126 (\$100 to \$500 fine)
458.	Failure to give or receive a bill of sale for livestock sold	35-54-102 (\$25 to \$500 fine, or 30 days to 6 months jail, or both)
459.	Operation of a public livestock market without a license	e35-55-102 (6) (\$25 to \$100 fine)
460.	Violation of Inedible Meat Rendering and Processing Act of 1967	35-59-112 (\$200 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
461.	Violation of any of the provisions of the Colorado Commercial Feed Law	35-60-112 (1) (\$100 to \$250 fine)
462.	Using information which is entitled to protection as trade secrets for personal advantage	35-60-112 (6) (\$100 minimum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
463.	Destroying property of fair exhibitor, visitor, or lessee; wrongfully gaining admission to fairgrounds	35-65-110 (\$5 to \$25 fine, or up to 30 days jail)

Offenses Related to Natural Resources			
464.	Trespassing, committing depredations, or negligently starting fires, or cutting or removing timber from a state forest without authority	36-7-201 (7) (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)	
465.	Making a false statement in application for weather modification permit, failing to file reports as required, or violating any provision of the Weather Modification Act of 1972	36-20-126 (2) (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)	

# Offenses Related to Water and Irrigation

466. Construction of works in a manner harmful to conservancy 37-3-106 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine) district

<u>Offer</u>	<u>1se</u>	C.R.S. Citation		
467.	Preventing the board of directors of any conservancy district, or their agents, from entering upon lands within the district in order to make surveys and examinations	37-3-113 (\$50 maximum fine)		
468.	Destruction or removal of bench marks, witness marks, stakes, or other reference marks, placed by the surveyors or engineers of a conservancy district	37-7-102 (\$100 maximum fine)		
469.	Willful damage to conservancy district works	37-7-103 (1) (\$500 maximum fine and costs)		
470.	Refusal to regulate flow of water into canal as required by state engineer	37-80-117 (\$100 maximum fine)		
471.	False report of water gauge heights	37-80-118 (\$500 maximum fine)		
472.	Interference with, injuring, or destroying water recording instrument	37-80-119 (\$500 maximum fine)		
473.	Diverting water into ditch, canal, flume, or reservoir contrary to order of state engineer	37-84-112 (2) (\$500 maximum fine)		
474.	Willfully neglecting or refusing to deliver water, or preventing or interfering with the proper delivery of water to persons having a right thereto	37-84-121 (\$10 to \$100 fine, or up to 1 month jail, or both)		
475.	Division engineer's willful neglect in prompt measurement of water necessary for land irrigation	37-84-122 (\$10 to \$100 fine, or up to 1 month jail, or both)		
476.	Collecting excessive fees or a bonus for delivery of water	37-85-109 (\$100 to \$5,000 fine, 3 months to 1 year jail, or both)		
477.	Refusal to deliver water which can be lawfully delivered	37-85-110 (\$100 to \$5,000 fine, or 3 months to 1 year jail, or both)		
478.	Interfering with or damaging any state reservoir	37-88-107 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)		
479.	Cutting or breaking gate, bank, or side of any ditch, canal, flume, or reservoir with intent to injure or to steal the water	37-89-101 (\$5 to \$300 fine, or up to 90 days jail)		
480.	Interfering with adjusted headgate	37-89-103 (1) (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 60 days jail, or both)		
481.	Violation of water well construction and pump installation statute	37-91-111 (2) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)		
Offe	Offenses Related to Real and Personal Property			
482.	Violation of the provisions of subsection (1) of section 38-29-112 regarding the transfer of certificate of title to a manufactured home	38-29-112 (2) (\$250 to \$1,000 fine, or 10 days to 6 months jail, or both)		

O	ffe	nse
v	116	113C

# 483. Procuring, if a resident of this state, a certificate of title to a manufactured home in any county of the state other than the county in which the home is to be used as a residence

- 484. Violation of the provision of subsection (1) of section 38-29-141 regarding the sale or transfer of a title to a manufactured home
- 485. Violation of the provisions of section 38-29-142 regarding notification of the repossession of a manufactured home
- 486. Failure to file notice of a change of location with the county assessor and treasurer pursuant to the Titles to Manufactured Homes Act
- 487. Violation of sections 38-33-106 or 38-33-107 of the Condominium Ownership Act
- 488. Knowing violation of the provisions of article 51 of title 38 regarding minimum standards for land surveys and plats
- 489. Willful and knowing violation of article 53 of title 38 regarding perpetuation of land survey monuments

# C.R.S. Citation

38-29-120 (\$50 to \$100 fine, or 10 days to 6 months jail, or both)

38-29-141 (2) (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 10 days to 6 months jail, or both)

- 38-29-142 (2) (\$50 to \$100 fine)
- 38-29-143 (2) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine)
- 38-33-108 (\$500 maximum fine)
- 38-51-110 (2) (\$150 to \$1,500 fine)
- 38-53-110 (2) (\$150 to \$1,500 fine)

#### **Taxation Offenses**

- 490. Divulging confidential information from tax records
- 491. Recording of document without collecting documentary fee
- 492. Failure or refusal to pay documentary fee when such payment is required; willfully and knowingly creating a consideration greater or less than the actual consideration in connection with the granting or conveying of title to real property by any instrument to which the documentary fee applies
- 493. Officer or employee of the Department of Revenue divulging information obtained in an investigation; any officer or employee of the Department of Revenue engaging in the business of tax accounting in an effort to defeat or cancel any tax assessed by the state
- 494. Failure to file a tax return and pay taxes
- 495. Willfully failing to pay gift tax, make a return, or supply information required by law
- 496. Failing to collect or pay sales tax as required

39-1-116 (\$100 to \$500 fine, or up to 3 months jail, or both)

39-13-105 (\$50 fine)

39-13-106 (2) (\$50 to \$500 fine, or 10 days to 3 months jail, or both)

39-21-113 (6) (\$1,000 maximum fine, removal from office if an officer or employee of the state)

39-21-118 (3) (\$50,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both plus costs of prosecution)

39-25-113 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)

39-26-102 (22) (penalty is pursuant to article 26)

<u>Offer</u>	<u>nse</u>	C.R.S. Citation
497.	Advertising that tax will be assumed or absorbed	39-26-108 (\$1,000 maximum fine, 1 year jail, or both)
498.	Retaining excess sales tax	39-26-112 (\$1,000 maximum fine, 1 year jail, or both)
499.	Making false statement in connection with application for refund of taxes	39-26-114 (2) (d) (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
500.	Making a false statement on an invoice or application for gasoline permit or an application for a refund of taxes, or using the gasoline other than as stated in the permit	39-27-103 (3) (c) (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
501.	Acting as distributor of special fuel without a license	39-27-104 (1) (a) (\$75 fine)
502.	Importing into this state special fuel without first obtaining a single trip permit	39-27-105 (5) (d) (\$75 fine)
Offe	nses Related to Utilities	
503.	Violation of statutes governing common carriers	40-9-104 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine)
504.	Violation of statutes governing motor vehicle carriers	40-10-108 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
505.	Violation of statutes governing contract motor carriers	40-11-107 (\$1,000 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
506.	Concealing the evidence of the killing or wounding of any animal by a railroad train	40-27-113 (\$200 maximum fine, or up to 30 days jail, or both)
Offe	nses Related to Aircraft and Airports	
507.	Violation of Aeronautics Act of 1937	41-1-108 (\$500 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
508.	Operation of an aircraft while under the influence of alcohol or one or more drugs or a combination of alcohol and drugs	41-2-102 (1) (a) (\$300 to \$1,000 fine, or five mandatory days to one year jail, or both)
509.	Operation of an aircraft by any person who is an habitual user of any controlled substance	41-2-102 (1) (b) (\$300 to \$1,000 fine, or five mandatory days to one year jail, or both)
510.	Operation of an aircraft with excessive alcohol content	41-2-102 (2) (a) (\$300 to \$1,000 fine, or five mandatory days to one year jail, or both)

#### Offenses Related to Vehicles and Traffic

- 511. Use of equipment and supplies furnished for the discharge of duties pursuant to the Uniform Motor Vehicle Law for private or pleasure purposes
- 512. Driving a motor vehicle when license is under restraint for an offense other than an alcohol-related offense
- 513. Driving when license is under restraint for an alcohol-related offense
- Driving a commercial vehicle while not yet 21 years of age or while in possession of more than one valid driver's license
- 515. Performing commercial driver's license tests or acting as a commercial driver's license testing unit or tester when not duly licensed pursuant to the Commercial Driver's License Act
- 516. Failure to register vehicle in Colorado within thirty days of becoming a resident of Colorado
- 517. Knowingly providing fraudulent information or documents to obtain registration of a motor vehicle
- 518. Knowingly providing fraudulent information or documents to obtain renewal of registration for a motor vehicle
- 519. Operating an unsafe vehicle
- 520. Operating an unsafe vehicle when a non-owner of the vehicle
- 521. Possession of a counterfeit emissions sticker, or issuance of a counterfeit emissions sticker
- 522. Violation of the provisions of section 42-4-313 regarding emissions stickers
- 523. Violation of any of the provisions of section 42-4-313 by a nonowner driver
- 524. Violation of any of the provisions regarding visible emissions from diesel-powered motor vehicles
- 525. Operation of a heavy-duty diesel motor vehicle which does not comply with emissions regulations or which does not display a valid inspection sticker

- 42-1-207 (\$300 maximum fine, or up to 6 months jail, or both)
- 42-2-138 (1) (a) (\$50 to \$500 fine at the court's discretion and 5 mandatory days to 6 months jail)
- 42-2-138 (1) (d) (l) (\$500 to \$1,000 fine at the court's discretion and 30 mandatory days to 1 year\_jail)
- 42-2-404 (3) (\$25 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 42-2-408 (2) (\$25 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 42-3-103 (4) (a) (\$500 fine)
- 42-3-105 (1) (c) (II) (\$500 fine and a \$500 civil fine)
- 42-3-112 (3) (b) (II) (\$500 fine and a \$500 civil fine)
- 42-4-203 (4) (a) (l) (\$100 fine; \$5 fine if repairs made or vehicle is disposed of)
- 42-4-203 (4) (b) (l) (\$100 fine; \$5 fine if repairs made or vehicle is disposed of)
- 42-4-313 (1) (c) and (2) (b) (\$25 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
- 42-4-313 (3) (c) (\$15 fine)
- 42-4-313 (3) (d) (\$15 fine)
- 42-4-413 (2) (c) (l) and (2) (d) (l) (\$100 fine)
- 42-4-414 (3) (a) (\$25 to \$300 fine)

- 526. Violation of any rule or regulation establishing standards for the testing or inspection of heavy-duty diesel motor vehicles
- 527. Display of a disability distress flag by any person who is not a paraplegic or a person with a disability
- 528. Fraudulently using or transferring a parking placard issued to a person with a disability
- 529. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- 530. Driving while ability impaired by alcohol or drugs
- 531. Driving a vehicle when an habitual user of a controlled substance
- 532. Driving a vehicle when the amount of alcohol in the blood is 0.10 or more grams per 100 milliliters of blood or 0.10 more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath at the time of the alleged offense or within 2 hours after driving
- 533. Violationofregulationspertainingtoschoolbusoperators
- 534. Failure to keep daily dealer records
- 535. Failure to transfer certificate of title
- 536. Registering a motor vehicle owned by a person who is a resident of the state at any address other than the address which the vehicle is principally operated or where the owner resides
- 537. Sell, transfer, or dispose of a motor vehicle without complying with the requirements of part 1 of article 6 of title 42
- 538. Failure to comply with the provisions of section 42-6-210 regarding disclosure requirements upon transfer of ownership of a salvage vehicle
- 539. Driving while under suspension or revocation

- 42-4-414 (3) (b) (\$100 to \$300 fine)
- 42-4-611 (\$100 to \$300 fine, 10-90 days jail or both)
- 42-4-1208 (11) (\$500 fine and a \$500 civil fine)
- 42-4-1301 (1) (a) (\$300 to \$1,000 fine and 5 mandatory days to 1 year jail plus 48 mandatory to 96 hours of public service)
- 42-4-1301 (1) (b) (\$100 to \$500 fine and 2 mandatory days to 180 days jail plus 24 mandatory to 48 hours of public service)
- 42-4-1301 (1) (c) (\$300 to \$1,000 fine and 5 mandatory days to 1 year jail plus 48 mandatory to 96 hours of public service)
- 42-4-1301 (2) (a) (\$300 to \$1,000 fine and 5 mandatory days to 1 year jail plus 48 mandatory to 96 hours of public service)
- 42-4-1904 (3) (\$5 to \$100 fine, or up to 1 year jail, or both)
- 42-5-105 (4) (\$500 maximum fine)
- 42-6-110 (2) (\$15 to \$500 fine, or 10 days to 60 months jail, or both)
- 42-6-139 (3) and (4) (\$500 fine and a \$500 civil fine)
- 42-6-142 (2) (\$100 to \$500 fine, or 10 days to 6 months jail, or both)
- 42-6-206 (4) (\$1,500 maximum fine for a first offense, \$5,000 fine for each subsequent offense)
- 42-7-422 (\$50 to \$500 fine and 5 days to 6 months jail)

Offense		C.R.S. Citation
sub	rging evidence of ability to respond in damages or bmitting false statement evidencing automobile liability licy	42-7-505 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
541. Fai	ilure to surrender license when required	42-7-506 (1) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
542. Vi	olation of Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act	42-7-507 (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
	ilure to have insurance or bond for a motor vehicle when quired	42-7-510 (3) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
	ilure by motor vehicle repair facility or employee to ovide a written or oral estimate or invoice	42-9-112 (1) (\$500 to \$2,000 fine per violation)
mo	olation of any of the prohibited acts regarding repair of a otor vehicle by a repair facility or employee of such cility	42-9-112 (2) (\$500 to \$1,000 fine per violation)
	olation of any of the prohibited acts in the Motor Vehicle epair Act other than those in sections 42-9-112 (1) and (2)	42-9-112 (2.5) (\$500 per violation)
	ansportation of hazardous materials without a permit in plation of any of the provisions of 42-20-201	42-20-204 (\$250 fine)
	ansportation of hazardous materials by motor vehicle in a anner inconsistent with the authorized route	42-20-305 (2) (\$250 fine for 1st offense; \$250 to \$500 fine for 2nd offense within 1 year)
Offenses	s Related to Highways and Roads	
549. Vi	olation of Outdoor Advertising Act	43-1-417 (2) (\$100 to \$1,000 fine)
550. Vi	olation of junkyard statute	43-1-508 (\$25 to \$100 fine)
	ilure to register a motor vehicle within 30 days of coming a resident	42-3-103 (4) (a) (\$500 fine)
	ollecting toll upon a road when a judgment has been tered against the owners or operators of said road	43-3-318 (\$100 maximum fine, or up to 90 days jail, or both)
553. Al	lowing stolen vehicle to be stored	43-5-205 (\$100 maximum fine)
554. Ob	ostructing highway	43-5-301 (\$10 to \$300 fine)
555. Ov	verflowing highway	43-5-303 (\$10 to \$300 fine)

#### **PETTY OFFENSES**

This section contains a current listing of petty offenses. Petty offenses have two categories, class 1 and class 2. The penalty for the commission of a petty offense depends on its classification. A *class 1 petty offense* carries no minimum possible penalty, but a maximum possible penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a \$500 fine. The penalty for a *class 2 petty offense* is a fine specified in the section defining the offense. Only in very limited circumstances does a class 2 petty offense carry possible jail time.

It is important to note that not all persons convicted of a class 1 petty offense that carries potential jail time actually receive a sentence to a county jail. Many receive a sentence to probation. Offenders convicted of a class 1 petty offense are entitled to apply for probation whereas those convicted of a class 2 petty offense are not.

The crimes in this listing are grouped according to the statutory title in which they appear. Crimes that appear in Title 18 are further designated by their article. For example, crimes in Article 4 of Title 18 are identified as "Offenses Against Property."

All listings are current through 2001 session laws.

# **CLASS 1 PETTY OFFENSES**

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
Offe	nses Against Property	
1.	Third degree criminal trespass	18-4-504 (2)
2.	Defacing posted property	18-4-510
Offe	nses Involving Fraud	
3.	False statements as to circulation	18-5-304
4.	Unauthorized use of a financial transaction device when the value is less than one hundred dollars	18-5-702 (3) (a)
Offe	nses Relating to Morals	
5.	Patronizing a prostitute	18-7-205 (2)
6.	Prostitute making a display	18-7-207
7.	Pubic indecency	18-7-301 (2)
Offe	enses — Governmental Operations	
8.	Accessory to a crime if the crime is designated as a misdemeanor	18-8-105 (6)
9.	Refusal to permit inspections	18-8-106 (1)
10.	Refusing to aid a peace officer	18-8-107
11.	Inducing prisoners to absent themselves	18-8-202
12.	Aiding escape from civil process	18-8-205
13.	Escape from custody or confinement while being held for or charged with but not convicted of a misdemeanor, petty offense, or municipal ordinance	18-8-208 (5)
14.	Second degree criminal misconduct	18-8-405 (2)
15.	Designation of insurer by a public servant	18-8-408 (2)
16.	False swearing	18-8-504 (2)
Off	enses Against Public Peace, Order and Decency	
17.	Disorderly conduct in violation of 18-9-106 (1) (a)- (c)	18-9-106 (3)

Offense		C.R.S. Citation		
18.	Loitering	18-9-112 (2)		
19.	Throwing missiles at vehicles	18-9-116		
20.	Bringing alcoholic beverages, bottles, or cans into the major league baseball stadium	18-9-123 (3)		
21.	Refusal to yield party line	18-9-307 (2)		
22.	Requesting the use of a party line on the pretext that an emergency exists, knowing that no emergency exists	18-9-307 (3)		
23.	Failure by a person, firm, or corporation providing telephone directories to provide notice of the party line requirements in 18-9-307	18-9-308		
24.	Automated dialing systems prohibited	18-9-311		
Gambling				
25.	Gambling	18-10-103 (1)		
Offenses Involving Disloyalty				
26.	Display of a flag on any state, county, municipal or other public building or adjacent grounds other than the flag of the United States of America or of the state of Colorado or any of its subdivisions, agencies or institutions	18-11-205 (1)		
27.	Display of a flag other than the flag of the United States of America or of the state of Colorado or any of its subdivisions, agencies or institutions in a pace likely to cause a breach of the peace	18-11-205 (2)		
Miscellaneous Offenses				
28.	Fighting by agreement— dueling	18-13-104 (1)		
29.	Unlawful to discard or abandon iceboxes or motor vehicles and similar item 18-13-106			
30.	Use of a cane or walking stick which is white or white tipped with red or metallic in color or a leash blaze orange in color on any accompanying dog in a public place by a person who is not wholly or partially blind, or wholly or partially deaf or both	18-13-107 (1)		
31.	Abuse of health insurance	18-13-119 (4)		

Hotel Facility Rates: Posting - Notice

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation		
32.	Violation by any owner, agent, lessee, or manager of any hotel facility of Section 18-14-102, (Accommodations and rates posted) or Section 18-14-103, (Advertising prohibited - when)	18-14-104		
Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992				
33.	Abusing toxic vapors	18-18-412		
34.	Possession of prescribed controlled substances in a container other than that in which it was dispensed and unable to show legal ownership	18-18-413		
Offense Related to Health				
35.	Violation of the Individual Sewage Disposal Systems Act	25-10-113 (1)		
Offense Related to Wildlife, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation				
36.	Attempting to take wildlife using either a leghold trap, body-gripping design trap, or by poison or snare	33-6-203 (2)		
Offense Related to Agriculture				
37.	Violation of cattle in feedlots	35-43-130 (2)		
Offense Related to Real and Personal Property				
38.	Failure to surrender Colorado certificate of title by an owner of a manufactured home upon the destruction or dismantling of such home	38-29-118 (1)		

<u>Offe</u>	C.R.S. Citation			
Offenses Related to Vehicles and Traffic				
39.	Perjury on a motor vehicle registration application	42-3-140		
40.	Violation of the duties of dealers regarding assembled motor vehicles	42-5-106		
41.	Failure to surrender Colorado certificate of title by an owner of any motor vehicle upon the destruction, dismantling, or sale for salvage of such vehicle	42-6-136 (1)		

# **CLASS 2 PETTY OFFENSES**

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation			
Consumer and Commercial Affairs Offenses					
1.	Prohibited sending or collection on unsolicited goods	6-6-103 (3) (maximum \$250 fine)			
Offenses Related to Professions and Occupations					
2.	Failure by a licensee to report to the police a wound inflicted by a firearm, knife or sharp instrument believed to have occurred during the course of a crime	12-36-135 (1) (maximum \$300 fine, 90 days jail or both)			
3.	Violation of any of the provisions of article 46 of title 12 regarding fermented malt beverages, article 47 of title 12 regarding alcoholic beverages, or article 48 of title 12 regarding special event liquor permits	12-47-903 (1) (maximum \$250 fine)			
4.	Underage wagering	12-60-601 (3) (maximum \$100 fine)			
5.	Violation of rules promulgated by the Colorado racing commission	12-60-801 (2) (maximum \$100 fine)			
Offenses Against Property					
6.	Theft by resale of a lift ticket or coupon	18-4-416 (maximum \$300 fine)			
7.	Littering	18-4-511 (4) (mandatory \$20 - \$500 fine, 1st conviction, \$50-\$1,000 2nd conviction, \$100 - \$1,000 3rd conviction)			
8.	Riding or using public transportation services without paying a fare or having proof of prior fare payment	18-4-802 (\$100 maximum fine)			
Offenses Related to Firearms					
9.	Failure by a licensed firearm dealer to post a sign in a visible area stating that it is illegal to purchase or transfer a firearm to an individual who is ineligible to have one	18-12-111 (2) (b) (\$250 fine)			

### Offense C.R.S. Citation Miscellaneous Offenses Sell of a metal beverage container with a detachable opening 18-13-113 (4) (\$50 - \$100 fine) 11. Furnishing cigarettes or tobacco products to minors 18-13-121 (1) (\$200 fine) Purchasing of cigarettes or tobacco products by a minor 12. 18-13-121 (2) (a) (\$100 fine or community service to be credited to the repayment of the fine) Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992 13. Possession of not more than one ounce of marihuana 18-18-406 (1) (maximum \$100 fine) Open and public display, consumption, or use of not more than 18-18-406 (3) (a) (l) (maximum \$100 fine/15 one ounce of marihuana days jail) Possession of drug paraphernalia 18-18-428 (2) (maximum \$100 fine) Children's Code Offenses Failure to maintain the confidentiality of child abuse report 9-1-307 (1) (c) (maximum \$100 fine) 19-5-304 (6) (maximum \$500 fine) Failure by a confidential intermediary to keep information 17. obtained during an investigation confidential; failure for a confidential intermediary to obtain consent from a sought-after biological relative and the person who initiated a search that the two want to communicate with one another Offenses Related to State Government 18. Violation of the privacy of user records by a publicly-supported 24-90-119 (3) (maximum \$300 fine) library or library system official, employee, or volunteer Health - Related Offenses Unauthorized use of information in the voluntary adoption registry 19. 25-2-113.5 (8) (maximum \$500 fine) Failure of an attending physician, health care provider, laboratory 25-4-1409 (1) (maximum \$300 fine) or person providing laboratory tests to report to the department of public health on every individual known to have a diagnosis of

#### **Human Services Code Offenses**

HIV infection.

AIDS, HIV-related illness, or HIV infection, including death from

Offense C.R.S. Citation 21. Failure to keep confidential, the reports of mistreatment or self-26-3.1-102 (7) (c) (maximum \$300 fine) neglect of an at-risk adult Disclosing reported information about the financial information of 22. 26-3.1-204 (7) (c) (maximum \$300 fine) an at-risk adult Offenses Related to Local Governments 23. Violation of any county rule/regulation regarding the use of public 29-7-101 (2) (maximum \$300 fine) recreation lands and facilities Offenses Related to County Governments Violation of a county resolution adopted pursuant to pet animal 30-15-102 (1) (maximum \$300 fine/90 days control and licensing not involving bodily injury iail or both) 25. Leaving a campfire unattended 30-15-201 (1) (\$50 fine) 26. Violation of a county ordinance adopted for control or licensing 30-15-402 (1) (maximum \$1000 fine for of those matters of purely local concern each violation) Offenses Related to Wildlife, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation 33-6-115.5 (3) (maximum \$500 fine and 20 27. Intentional interference with lawful activities of hunting, trapping, and fishing license suspension points) 28. Using a leghold trap, instant kill body-gripping design trap, 33-6-203 (3) (\$25 fine for first offense, \$50 poison, or snare by a property owner or lessee but without for subsequent offenses) complying with the notification requirements Operation of a motorized vehicle on a designated nonmotorized 29. 33-11-112 (\$25 fine) trail Unauthorized transfer, sale, or assignment of a pass or registration 30. 33-12-105 (1) (\$100 fine) issued under articles 10 to 15 of Parks and Outdoor Recreation Making a false statement, giving false information in connection 31. 33-12-105 (2) (\$100 fine and voiding of with selling or purchasing a pass or registration or any alteration pass or registration) of same Failure to obtain or make readily available to a parks and 32. 33-12-105 (3) (\$25 fine) recreation or peace officer, a valid pass or registration

Failure to pay a special district toll for access road mainten age 2-107 (2) (\$25 fine)

33.

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation
34.	Operation of a vessel on the waters of the state without a registration issued by the division of wildlife, or failure to produce registration upon demand of division of wildlife officer	33-13-103 (4) (\$25 fine)
35.	Failure to display a vessel number	33-13-104 (1) (\$10 fine)
36.	Failure to have vessel registration on board and available for inspection	33-13-104 (2) (\$25 fine)
37.	Failure to have required equipment on board a vessel operated on the water of the state	33-13-106 (5) (\$50 fine)
38.	Owner or operator of a vessel livery permitting a vessel to depart from his/her premises not being equipped or registered as required by article 13 of Title 33	33-13-107 (2) (\$50 fine)
39.	Violating the minimum age requirements of motor boat operators	33-13-107.1 (\$50 fine)
40.	Operating a personal watercraft between one half hour after sunset and one half hour before sunrise	33-13-108 (1) (a.5) (\$50 fine)
41.	Operating or giving permission for operation of a vessel in violation of the prohibited vessel operations of section 33-13-108 (1) (a)	33-13-108 (1) (b) (\$25 fine)
42.	Careless operation of a vessel	33-13-108 (2) (b) (\$50 fine)
43.	Failure to give aid, or name and information to others when involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty of a vessel, or failure to report same, as provided in the rules and regulations of the board of parks and outdoor recreation	33-13-109 (6) (\$25 fine)
44.	Operation or manipulation of a vessel, towrope, or other device in a careless or imprudent manner or in such a way as to cause persons using water skis, an aquaplane, surfboard, innertube or other similar device to collide with another person or objection.	33-13-110 (1) (c) (\$50 fine)
45.	Operation of water skis, an aquaplane, a surfboard, an innertube, or any similar device without a personal flotation device	33-13-110 (2) (d) (\$25 fine)
46.	Failure to obey an order regarding the closure of waters by the board of parks and outdoor recreation	33-13-111 (3) (\$50 fine)
47.	Failure of a snowmobile dealer to require a purchaser of a snowmobile to complete a registration application and pay the registration fee	33-14-102 (2) (a) (\$50 fine)
48.	Operation of a snowmobile without a current registration	33-14-102 (9) (\$35 fine)

Failure to display an assigned registration number on a 33-14-104 (8) (a) (\$10 fine) 49. snowmobile 50. Violation of restrictions on minor operators of snowmobile 3-14-109 (3) (\$25 fine) Violation of snowmobile operation on right-of-way of streets, 51. 33-14-111 (3) (\$15 fine) roads, or highways Violation of statute regarding crossing roads, highways, and 52. 33-14-112 (3) (\$25 fine) railroad tracks by snowmobile 53. Operation of a snowmobile on private property without prior 33-14-113 (\$50 fine) permission from the owner, lessee, or agent 54. Operation of a snowmobile on a public street or highway without 33-14-114 (3) (\$25 fine) proper equipment Failure to report a snowmobile accident resulting in property 55. 33-14-115 (4) (\$25 fine) damage of \$1,500 or more or injuries resulting in hospitalization or death to law enforcement Operation of a snowmobile in a careless or imprudent man@14-116 (5) (\$50 fine) 56. Owner of a snowmobile permitting it to be operated in violation 57. 33-14-116 (7) (\$25 fine) of article 14 of title 33 58. Hunting wildlife from a snowmobile; operating or riding a 33-14-117 (3) (\$20 fine) snowmobile while in possession of a firearm or bow unless same is properly stored and secured; pursuing, driving, or otherwise intentionally disturbing or harassing any wildlife by use of a snowmobile unless protecting crops or other property 59. Operation of an off-highway vehicle in violation of section 33-33-14.5-102 (7) (\$35 fine) 14.5-102, C.R.S. regarding off-highway vehicle registration - fees applications - requirements - exemptions. 60. Failure by an off-highway vehicle dealer to require a purchaser to 33-14.5-102 (8) (\$50 fine) complete a registration application and pay the registration fee before the off-highway vehicle leaves the dealer's premises Violating provisions relating to the licensing and registration of 61. 33-14.5-102 (9) (f) (\$35 fine) a non-resident owned or operated off-highway vehicle Failure to display the number assigned to an off-highway vehicle 62. 33-14.5-104 (7) (\$25 fine) or failure to show proof of registration to a peace officer upon demand Violation of off-highway vehicle operation on streets, roads, and 63. 33-14.5-108 (2) (\$25 fine) highways

64.	Operation of an off-highway vehicle without proper equipred 4.5-109 (2) (\$25 fine)	
65.	Failure to obtain and or display an off-highway use permi	t 33-14.5-112 (6) (\$25 fine)
66.	Failure to notify, within 48 hours, law enforcement of an off- highway vehicle accident resulting in property damage of \$1,500 or more or injuries resulting in hospitalization or death	33-14.5-113 (4) (\$25 fine)
67.	Refusal to allow an officer having authority to enforce the provisions of articles 10 to 15 and 32 of title 33, to make use of a motor vehicle or other means of transportation when the public health, safety, welfare, or necessity requires	33-15-101 (2) (\$50 fine)
68.	Violation of the provisions of articles 10 to 15 and 32 of title 33 or any rule or regulation of the Board of Parks and Outdoor Recreation that does not have a specific penalty listed	33-15-102 (1) (\$25 fine)
69.	Leaving a fire unattended or failing to thoroughly extinguish a fire before leaving it on any property under the control of the division of wildlife	33-15-106 (2) (\$50 fine)
70.	Littering upon any land or water under the control of the division of wildlife	33-15-108 (\$20 to \$500 fine)
71.	Unlawful camping	33-15-107 (\$25 fine)
72.	Violation of statutes regarding the operation of vehicles and vessels on state property	33-15-110 (2) (\$25 fine)
73.	Operation of a vehicle on property under the control of the division of wildlife in a careless or imprudent manner	33-15-112 (\$50 fine)
74.	Skiing on a ski slope or trail posted as "Closed"; skiing while ability impaired or under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance; skier leaving the vicinity of a collision with another skier or person in which injuries are involved, without giving name and current address to an employee of the ski area; or knowingly entering upon public or private lands adjoining a ski area when such land has been closed by its owner and so	33-44-109 (12) (maximum \$300 fine) posted

## Offense Related to Agriculture

75. Violation of the pest control act, except for sections 35-4-107 and 35-4-114 (maximum \$500 fine) 35-4-110.5

#### Offenses Related to Water and Irrigation

76. Person or corporation preventing the board of directors of the Rio 37-48-131 (maximum \$50 fine) Grande Water Conservation District or its employees or agents, from having access land to make surveys and examinations

#### **Taxation Offenses**

77. Seller of a mobile home knowingly failing to provide an itemized list of household furnishings which are included in the selling price of the mobile home at the time of the sale

39-5-203 (3) (b) (\$200 fine)

#### Offenses Related to Vehicles and Traffic

78. Air pollution violations, motor vehicle

42-4-412 (1) (a) (\$25 fine)

79. Owner of a manufactured home moving the home without being the holder of a paid ad valorem tax certificate and a transportable manufactured home permit

42-4-510 (12) (b) (\$200 fine)

80. Parking an unauthorized motor vehicle on private property in any area designated and marked for authorized vehicles

42-4-1210 (3) (\$25 fine)

#### Offenses Related to Highways and Roads

81. Violation of auto and tourist camps, hotels and motels (Section 43-5-201 et.seq.)

43-5-207 (maximum \$100 fine)

# **UNCLASSIFIED OFFENSES**

This section contains a current listing of offenses for which there is a penalty but no felony or misdemeanor classification. The penalty is contained within the statute describing the offense.

All listings are current through 2001 session laws.

## **UNCLASSIFIED OFFENSES**

<u>Offense</u>		C.R.S. Citation			
Ele	Election Code Offenses				
1.	Offenses related to mail ballots	1-13-112 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)			
2.	Personating an elector	1-13-705 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)			
3.	Knowingly voting in wrong precinct	1-13-709 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)			
4.	Voting twice	1-13-710 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)			
5.	Offenses relating to absentee voting	1-13-803 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)			
Insi	urance Related Offenses				
6.	Illegal payment of dividends	10-3-204 (2) (\$1,000 maximum fine)			
Mis	scellaneous Offenses				
7.	Possession or consumption of ethyl alcohol by a minor	18-13-122 (\$100 maximum fine and up to 24 h of community service)			
Health -Related Offenses					
8.	Violation of Mattresses and Bedding statute	25-5-316 (civil penalty of up to \$1,000)			
Offenses Related to Municipal Governments					
9.	Voting more than once or offering more than one ballot	31-10-1519 ((\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 1) months jail, or both)			
10.	Fraudulently voting in any precinct not of residence	31-10-1520 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)			

#### **Offense**

#### C.R.S. Citation

11. Falsely personating any registered elector

- 31-10-1529 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)
- 12. Knowingly violating the provisions of article 10 of title 31 relative to the casting of absent voters' ballots or aiding in connection with any fraudulent absentee ballot to be cast

31-10-1537 (\$5,000 maximum fine, or up to 18 months jail, or both)

#### **Traffic Offenses**

13. Violation of any of the provisions regarding motor vehicles and obstructed windows - prohibited materials - windshield wiper requirements

42-4-227(3)(a) (\$50 fine)

14. Installer who violates provisions governing motor vehicles and obstructed windows - prohibited materials

42-4-227 (3) (b) (\$500 to \$5,000 fine)

15. Presenting false insurance identification for the purpose of proving financial responsibility in an automobile accident

42-7-301.5 (\$500 fine)

## **TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS**

This section contains a current listing of traffic infractions. Traffic infractions have two categories, class A and class B. The penalty range for the commission of a class A or class B traffic infraction is a \$15 to \$100 fine. In addition, certain traffic infractions may carry the assessment of points against a driver's license pursuant to Section 42-2-127, C.R.S.

All listings are current through 2001 session laws.

# **TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS**

This section contains a current listing of traffic infractions. Traffic infractions have two categories, class A and class B. The penalty range for the commission of a class A or class B traffic infraction is a \$15 to \$100 fine. In addition, certain traffic infractions may carry the assessment of points against a driver's license pursuant to Section 42-2-127, C.R.S.

All listings are current through 2001 session laws.

# **TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS**

<u>Offe</u>	<u>nse</u>	C.R.S. Citation
1.	Driving a motor vehicle with an expired license, driving or operating a motor vehicle without a valid license in immediate possession	42-2-101 (10) (class B traffic infraction)
2.	Violation of special restrictions on certain drivers	42-2-105 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
3.	Violation of section 42-2-105.5 relating to restrictions placed on drivers under the age of seventeen	42-2-105.5 (class A traffic infraction)
4.	Violation of provisions regarding instruction permits and temporary licenses	42-2-106 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
5.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding restricted licenses	42-2-116 (6) (class A traffic infraction)
6.	Failure to notify the Department of Revenue, within ten days, of a change in address or name by marriage after applying for or receiving a driver's license or motor registration number	42-2-119 (3) (class B traffic infraction)
7.	Permitting an unauthorized minor to drive	42-2-139 (2) (class B traffic infraction)
8.	Permitting an unauthorized person to drive	42-2-140 (2) (class B traffic infraction)
9.	Violation of any provision of part 1 of article 2 of title 42 for which no other penalty is specified	42-2-142 (class B traffic infraction)
10.	Failure to register a motor vehicle, trailer, or semi trailer within 45 days of purchase	42-3-103 (1) (class B traffic infraction)
11.	Violation of the provisions of section 42-3-113 (3) regarding the placement of number plates to a motor vehicle other than a motorcycle	42-3-123 (3) (class B traffic infraction)
12.	Violation of the provisions regarding the expiration of temporary, new, and old license plates, and reflectorized	42-3-124 (1) (a) (class B traffic infraction) plates
13.	Use of a temporary vehicle registration tag after the expiration of the period for which it was issued	42-3-124 (3) (a) (class B traffic infraction)
14.	Operation of a vehicle which is not registered; lending registration card to another vehicle	42-3-133 (2) (a) (class B traffic infraction)
15.	Permit the use of any noncommercial or recreational vehicle, truck, or truck tractor registered as a collector's item to transport cargo or passengers for profit or hire in any business or commercial enterprise	42-3-133 (2) (c) (class B traffic infraction)
16.	Violation of any provision of article 3 of title 42 for which no other penalty is provided in said article	42-3-142 (class B traffic infraction)

17.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding who may restrict the right to use highways	42-4-106 (8) (class B traffic infraction)
18.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding bicycles, motorized bicycles, animals, skis, skates, and toy vehicles on highways	42-4-109 (13) (class B traffic infraction) ways
19.	Operating a neighborhood electric vehicle on a highway or limited access highway	49-4-109.5 (class B traffic infraction)
20,	Violation of any of the provisions regarding obstruction of view or driving mechanism	42-4-201 (8) (class A traffic infraction)
21.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding unsafe vehicles - identification plates	42-4-202 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
22.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding lighted lamps required for a vehicle	42-4-204 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
23.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding headlamps on vehicles	42-4-205 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
24.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding tail lamps and reflectors on vehicles	42-4-206 (7) (class B traffic infraction)
25.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding vehicle clearance and identification	42-4-207 (6) (class B traffic infraction
26.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding vehicle stop lamps and turn signals	42-4-208 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
27.	Violation of the provision regarding vehicle lamp or flag on a projecting load	42-4-209 (class A traffic infraction)
28.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding lamps on parked vehicles	42-4-210 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
29.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding lamps on farm equipment and other vehicles and equipment	42-4-211 (8) (class B traffic infraction)
30.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding vehicle spot lamps and auxiliary lamps	42-4-212 (5) (class B traffic infraction)
31.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding audible and visual signals on emergency vehicles	42-4-213 (6) (class A traffic infraction)
32.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding visual signals on service vehicles	42-4-214 (6) (class B traffic infraction)
33.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding signal lamps and devices - additional lighting equipment	42-4-215 (9) (class B traffic infraction)
34.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding multiple-beam road lights	42-4-216 (3) (class B traffic infraction)

- 174 - **TI** 

35.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding use of multiple- beam lights	42-4-217 (2) (class A traffic infraction)
36.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding single-beam road- lighting equipment	42-4-218 (2) (class B traffic infraction)
37.	Violation of the provision regarding the number of lamps permitted on a motor vehicle	42-4-219 (class B traffic infraction)
38.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding bicycles - motorized bicycles - motor-driven cycles - lighting equipment - department control - use and operation	42-4-220 (14) (class B traffic infraction)
39.	Violation of the provisions regarding bicycle equipment	42-4-221 (9) (class B traffic infraction)
40.	Wrongful use of lights or signals by volunteer fire departments	42-4-222 (1) (class B traffic infraction)
41.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding motor vehicle brake equipment	42-4-223 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
42.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding homs or warning devices	42-4-224 (6) (class B traffic infraction)
43.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding motor vehicle mufflers - prevention of noise	42-4-225 (3) (class B traffic infraction)
44.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding exterior placement of mirrors on motor vehicles	42-4-226 (3) (class B traffic infraction)
45.	Violation of provisions regarding tinted windows and windshield wipers	42-4-227 (3) (a) (class B traffic infraction)
46.	Violation of any of the provisions of subsections 42-4-225 (1), (2), (3), (5), or (6) regarding restrictions on motor vehicle tire equipment	42-4-228 (8) (a) (class A traffic infraction)
47.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding safety glazing material in motor vehicles	42-4-229 (5) (class B traffic infraction)
48.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding who must carry motor vehicle emergency lighting equipment	42-4-230 (5) (class B traffic infraction)
49.	Violation of the provision regarding motor vehicle parking lights	42-4-231 (class B traffic infraction)
50.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding minimum safety standards for motorcycles and motor-driven cycles	42-4-232 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
51.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding slow-moving vehicles - display of emblem	42-4-234 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
52.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding child restraint systems required for motor vehicles	42-4-236 (7) (class B traffic infraction)

53.	Operation of a motor vehicle while not wearing a safety belt or while any passenger is not wearing a safety belt	42-4-237 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
54.	Violation of any of the provisions of section 42-4-314 regarding tampering with automobile air pollution control systems	42-4-314 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
55.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the width of vehicles	42-4-502 (6) (class B traffic infraction)
56.	Violation of the provisions regarding projecting loads on passenger vehicles	42-4-503 (class B traffic infraction)
57.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the height and length of vehicles	42-4-504 (7) (class B traffic infraction)
58.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding longer vehicle combinations	42-4-505 (5) (class B traffic infraction)
59.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding trailers and towed vehicles	42-4-506 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
60.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the liability for damage to highways	42-4-512 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
61.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding obedience to official traffic control devices	42-4-603 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
62.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding traffic control signal legends	42-4-604 (2) (class A traffic infraction)
63.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding flashing sig	n42-4-605 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
64.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the display of unauthorized signs or devices upon or in view of a public highway	42-4-606 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
65.	Interference with any official traffic control device or any railroad sign or signal	42-4-607 (class B traffic infraction)
66.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding signals by hand or signal device	42-4-608 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
67.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the method of giving hand and arm signals	42-4-609 (2) (class A traffic infraction)
68.	Violation of the provision regarding the displaying of any unauthorized insignia on a motor vehicle	42-4-610 (class B traffic infraction)
69.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding inoperative or malfunctioning traffic signals	42-4-612 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
70.	Failing to pay a required fee, toll, rate, or charge established by a rural transportation authority	42-4-613 (class A traffic infraction)

71.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding vehicles approaching or entering an intersection	42-4-701 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
72.	Violation of the provision regarding vehicles turning left	42-4-702 (class A traffic infraction)
73.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding entering a highway through a stop or yield intersection	42-4-703 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
74.	Violation of the provision regarding entering a roadway from any place other than another roadway	42-4-704 (class A traffic infraction)
75.	Failure to yield the right-of-way upon approach of an emergency vehicle	42-4-705 (class A traffic infraction)
76.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding obedience to railroad signals	42-4-706 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
77.	Failure to stop a railroad grade crossing	42-4-707 (6) (class A traffic infraction)
78.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding moving heavy equipment at railroad grade crossings	42-4-708 (6) (class B traffic infraction)
79.	Violation of the provision regarding a required stop when traffic is obstructed	42-4-709 (class A traffic infraction)
80.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding emergence of a motor vehicle from or entering an alley, driveway, or built	42-4-710 (4) (class A traffic infraction) ilding
81.	Violation of the provisions regarding driving on mountain highways	42-4-711 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
82.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding driving in a highway work area	42-4-712 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
83.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding pedestrian obedience to traffic control devices and traffic regulations	42-4-801 (4) (class B traffic infraction) s
84.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding pedestrians' right-of- way in crosswalks	42-4-802 (6) (class A traffic infraction)
85.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding pedestrian crossing at other than crosswalks	42-4-803 (5) (class B traffic infraction)
86.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding pedestrians upon highways	42-4-805 (9) (class B traffic infraction)
87.	Violation of the provision prohibiting driving through a safety zone	42-4-806 (class A traffic infraction)
88.	Violation of the provision requiring drivers to exercise due care	42-4-807 (class A traffic infraction)
89.	Failure of drivers and pedestrians to yield to handicapped person	42-4-808 (1) (\$15 to 100 fine) (class A traffic infraction)

**– 177 –** 

90.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding required position and method of turning a motor vehicle	42-4-901 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
91.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding limitations on turning a motor vehicle around	42-4-902 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
92.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding required signals for turning movements	42-4-903 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
93.	Violation of any of the provisions making exceptions to the requirement that vehicles drive on the right side	42-4-1001 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
94.	Violation of the requirements for passing oncoming veh	icles-4-1002 (class A traffic infraction)
95.	Violation of the provisions regarding overtaking a vehicle on the left	42-4-1003 (2) (class A traffic infraction)
96.	Violation of the provisions regarding overtaking a vehicle on the right	42-4-1004 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
97.	Violation of the provisions limiting overtaking on the let	ft 42-4-1005 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
98.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding one-way roadways and rotary traffic islands	42-4-1006 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
99.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding driving on roadways laned for traffic	42-4-1007 (2) (class A traffic infraction)
100.	Following too closely in any motor vehicle	42-4-1008 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
101.	Violation of the provisions prohibiting coasting upon a downgrade	42-4-1009 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
102.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding driving on divided or controlled-access highways	42-4-1010 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
103.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the use of runaway vehicle ramps	42-4-1011 (3) (class A traffic infraction)
104.	Use of a high occupancy vehicle lane in violation of imposed restrictions	42-4-1012 (3) (a) (class A traffic infraction)
105.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding driving in excess of the maximum posted speed limit	42-4-1101 (12) (class A traffic infraction)
106.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding minimum speed regulations	42-4-1103 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
107.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding speed limits on elevated structures	42-4-1104 (4) (class A traffic infraction)
108.	Violation of the provision regarding starting a parked ve	ehitale4-1201 (class A traffic infraction)

- 178 - **TI** 

# **Offense**

# C.R.S. Citation

109.	Violation of the provisions regarding parking or abandonment of vehicles	42-4-1202 (2) (class B traffic infraction)
110.	Violation of any of the provisions prohibiting stopping, standing, or parking in specified places	42-4-1204 (7) (class B traffic infraction)
111.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding parking at a curb or the edge of a roadway	42-4-1205 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
112.	Violation of the provision regarding an unattended motor vehicle	42-4-1206 (class B traffic infraction)
113.	Violation of the provision regarding the opening and closing of vehicle doors	42-4-1207 (class B traffic infraction)
114.	Exercising the parking privileges for the handicapped by one who is not a handicapped person	42-4-1208 (6) (class B traffic infraction)
115.	Use of a disabled veteran special license plate or a license plate or placard issued to a handicapped by a person who is not a disabled veteran or handicapped	42-4-1208 (7) (class B traffic infraction)
116.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding limitations on backing a vehicle	42-4-1211 (2) (class A traffic infraction)
117.	Driving a vehicle under 21 years of age when a breath analysis shows an alcohol concentration of at least 0.02 but not more than 0.05 grams of alcohol per two hundred ten liters of breath	42-4-1301 (2) (a.5) (class A traffic infraction)
118.	Violation of the provision prohibiting the following of fire apparatus	42-4-1403 (class A traffic infraction)
119.	Violation of the provision prohibiting a motor vehicle from crossing a fire hose	42-4-1404 (class B traffic infraction)
120.	Occupying a trailer while it is being moved upon a public highway	42-4-1405 (class B traffic infraction)
121.	Violation of any of the provisions prohibiting foreign matter on highways	42-4-1406 (5) (class B traffic infraction)
122.	Violation of the provision prohibiting spilled loads on highways	42-4-1407 (3) (class B traffic infraction)
123.	Driving a motor vehicle that does not have splash guards on streets or highways	42-4-1407.5 (4) (class B traffic infraction)
124.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the operation of motor vehicles on property under the control of or owned by parks and recreation districts	42-4-1408 (3) (class B traffic infraction)
125.	Violation of any of the provisions regarding the use of earphones while driving a motor vehicle	42-4-1411 (2) (class B traffic infraction)

#### **Offense**

#### C.R.S. Citation

- 126. Driving a motor vehicle upon a highway using dyed diesel fuel
- 42-4-1414 (2) (a) (class B traffic infraction)
- 127. Violation of any of the provisions regarding riding on motorcycles
- 42-4-1502 (5) (class A traffic infraction)
- 128. Violation of any of the provisions regarding operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic
- 42-4-1503 (6) (class A traffic infraction)
- 129. Violation of the provision prohibiting a person riding upon a motorcycle from clinging to another vehicle
- 42-4-1504 (class A traffic infraction)
- 130. Failure to have a copy of an annual or single trip hazardous
   42 materials transportation permit in the cab of the vehicle transporting hazardous materials after obtaining such permit
  - 42-20-204 (2) (class B traffic infraction)