This issue brief provides information about how to register a number on the Colorado and federal no-call lists; an overview of Colorado's regulation and enforcement of telemarketers; an explanation of which calls are not subject to telemarketing laws; and a summary of federal provisions regarding telemarketing.
Federal and state laws allow Medicaid applicants and clients who have their benefits denied, terminated, or reduced to appeal the decision. This issue brief provides an overview of the Medicaid appeals process in Colorado.
This issue brief provides an overview of the Colorado unemployment insurance (UI) program, including UI benefits, funding, and solvency in the context of recent economic downturns. Economic downturns result in increased claims on regular state UI benefits. The speed and intensity of changes in UI claims during the COVID-19 Pandemic have been unprecedented.
The use of carbon-free energy sources, or energy sources that emit minimal to no greenhouse gases (GHGs) to produce electricity, is increasing. Nuclear energy, which is a carbon-free energy source, already accounts for about 20 percent of the electricity generated in the United States, but there are concerns about its potentially harmful health and environmental impacts. This issue brief provides an overview of nuclear energy, its history in Colorado, public health and safety concerns, and recent technology advancements.
In 2013, Colorado eliminated precinct polling places and established voter service and polling centers (VSPCs). This issue brief outlines the services provided at VSPCs, location factors, VSPC hours, and staffing requirements for VSPCs.
This issue brief provides an overview of state and local laws regulating the landlord-tenant relationship, discusses the state and federal agencies that enforce fair housing laws, and lists several resources for landlords and tenants in dispute.
Colorado was the first state to enact a law regulating on-demand transportation network companies (TNCs). This issue brief provides an overview of rideshare service options in Colorado and examines the measure enacted by the General Assembly in the 2014 legislative session addressing the regulation of TNCs.
This issue brief provides an overview of early literacy education and assessment programs, specifically the provisions of the Colorado Reading to Ensure Academic Development (READ) Act, the assessment of reading skills, and the oversight of local education providers as it pertains to literacy education.
Three state taxes apply to marijuana, but medical and retail marijuana are taxed differently. Both medical and retail marijuana are subject to the 2.9 percent state sales tax, which is applied to most purchases in the state. Tax revenue collected from the sale of marijuana is deposited in two different funds: the Building Excellent Schools Today (BEST) Fund and the Marijuana Tax Cash Fund (MCTF)