
RegulationsRegulations
All Colorado snowmobiles, including those on 
trailers in parking lots and at trailheads, must
be registered with Colorado State Parks unless:

• Used exclusively for sanctioned 
snowmobile races (including 
out-of-state machines brought 
to Colorado for racing) or 

• Government owned.

The current year validation decal must be 
permanently affixed to each side of the upper
half of the cowling of the machine. (Dealers,
renters and manufacturers should contact 
the State Parks Registration Unit for details 
regarding registration fees and the display 
of decals on their machines.)

Snowmobile dealers are required to sell a 
snowmobile registration to anyone buying from
their inventory. Colorado residents may use their
dated snowmobile bill of sale as a temporary 
registration for the first 30 days of ownership.

A non-resident snowmobile permit is required
on all snowmobiles from another state or country
being used within the state of Colorado.  

Snowmobile registrations and non-resident 
permits are valid from October 1 through
September 30. The registration fee is $20.25.
All funds from the sale of snowmobile registrations
are earmarked for the Snowmobile Recreation
Fund. Purchase registrations and non-resident
permits at:

• State Parks service centers in Colorado
Springs, Fort Collins and Clifton.

• Some snowmobile dealers.

• Some state parks.

• State Parks Registration Unit
13787 S. Highway 85
Littleton, CO 80125

Snowmobile operators must carry their 
snowmobile registration certificate and 
show it to any peace officer upon request.

Streets, Roads
& Highways
It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile on the 
roadway or right-of-way (the area adjacent to 
the shoulder of the road) of ANY freeway.

It is unlawful to operate on the right-of-way 
of any operating railroad except to make a
right angle crossing of the tracks at their 
intersections with a road or highway.

To cross a railroad or highway:

• Come to a complete stop before crossing.

• Yield the right-of-way to all motor 
vehicle traffic.

• Cross at a right angle (90 )̊ to the 
roadway at the place where no 
obstruction prevents a quick, 
safe crossing.

You may operate on the roadways of streets 
and highways:

• During special snowmobile events and 
on snowmobile routes authorized by 
local subdivision (note that roads on 
the state highway system may not be 
used in this manner).

• On streets and highways not maintained
for winter motor vehicle traffic.

• When crossing railroad tracks, bridges 
or culverts.

• During any emergency condition 
declared by the Governor or his 
designated authority.

You may operate on the right-of-way of streets 
and highways:

• If you are as far as possible from the 
roadway and 

• If you are moving in the same direction
as the nearest lane of traffic during hours
of darkness.

Streets, Roads
& HighwaysNoiseNoise

SnowmobilingSnowmobiling

Any snowmobile manufactured between
January 1, 1971 and December 31, 1972 must
have a muffling system that reduces its noise
emission to 86 decibels or less on the A scale.

Snowmobiles manufactured on or after January
1, 1973 must have a muffling system that
reduce noise emissions to 84 decibels or less
on the A scale.

Snowmobiling is becoming one of the most 
popular winter sports in Colorado. In order 
to make sure snowmobilers enjoy their sport
safely and in harmony with the environment
and other winter sports enthusiasts, Colorado
law (33-14-C.R.S.) includes certain 
requirements for the registration and operation
of snowmobiles. These laws are enforced by
officers of Colorado State Parks and other state
law enforcement agencies. Paying attention 
to the laws and to snowmobile safety tips will
result in a safe, enjoyable winter sports season.

Colorado
Snowmobiling
F A C T S

Colorado State Parks
Registration Unit
13787 S. Highway 85
Littleton, CO 80125
(303) 791-1920
Law Enforcement
(303) 791-1954

Visit our Web site at www.parks.state.co.us
Any person who is excluded from participation in, denied the
benefits of, or otherwise subjected to discrimination under any
program of the Colorado Division of Parks and Outdoor
Recreation on the grounds of race, creed, color, sex, age, hand-
icap, or national origin, should contact the park manager, the
nearest local regional office, the Division headquarters in
Denver, Colorado - telephone (303) 866-3437 - or the National
Park Service, P.O. Box 37127, Washington, D.C. 20013-7127.
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Snowmobiling

OperationOperation
Snowmobiles operated between sunset and 
sunrise must have at least one headlight that
illuminates objects 100 feet ahead and one 
red tail light that can be seen from 500 feet. 

As an extra safety precaution, you may wish to
have your lights on at all times while operating
your snowmobile.

Snowmobiles may not be used to hunt or
harass wildlife. Report any instances of a
snowmobile being used to chase or hurt 
animals to the nearest law enforcement agency. 

Play it safe! It is unlawful to operate a 
snowmobile while under the influence of a 
controlled substance or alcohol. It is unlawful
to carry loaded firearms or strung bows on 
a snowmobile. It is unlawful to operate a 
snowmobile in a careless or reckless manner.

No one under the age of 10 may operate a 
snowmobile unless:

• They operate it only on lands owned 
or leased by a parent or guardian, or

• They are accompanied or immediately
supervised by someone 16 or older, or

• They are accompanied or immediately
supervised by someone 14 or older who
is certified in snowmobile safety.

Persons between the ages of 10 and 16 may
not operate a snowmobile in Colorado unless:

• They hold a snowmobile safety 
certificate, or

• They are accompanied or immediately
supervised (within sight distance) by
someone 16 or older, or

• They are accompanied or immediately
supervised (within sight distance) by
someone 14 or older who holds a snow-
mobile safety certificate, or

• They operate the snowmobile only 
on lands leased or owned by a parent 
or guardian.

Remember you must have the permission 
of landowners before snowmobiling on 
their property.

Any snowmobile accident resulting in death, 
personal injury or property damage must be 
reported immediately to the nearest law 
enforcement agency.

TipsTips
Always be sure your machine is in good 
mechanical condition and be thoroughly 
familiar with it before you ride.

Wear warm multi-layered protective clothing, 
a protective helmet and goggles or a visor.

Carry survival gear, maps, matches, compass,
flares, snowshoes or skies and a first aid kit.

Be familiar with the terrain you’ll be traveling
over. Know the weather forecast and the snow
and ice conditions before you leave.

Stay off ice if you are uncertain of its 
thickness. Drowning is a serious hazard 
to snowmobilers!

Play it safe: ALWAYS snowmobile with a buddy.

Make sure your trailer has safety chains 
and proper lighting and meets all other 
state requirements.

Be a good sport:

• Operate snowmobiles only on land and
trails designated for their use.

• Watch out for small trees and shrubs.

• Carry out your trash.

• Steer clear of wildlife and report any 
incidents of harassment or hunting 
of wildlife to the nearest law 
enforcement agency.

• Respect the rights of other winter sports
lovers. Everyone has the right to use and
enjoy our public lands.

Safety TrainingSafety Training
Colorado State Parks recommends safety 
training for everyone who operates a 
snowmobile. The free course consists of 
six hours of classroom instruction and an 
additional hour of performance testing on 
a snowmobile. You do not have to own a
machine in order to take the course.

Anyone between the ages of 10 and 16 who
wishes to operate a snowmobile on public
lands must be certified or supervised (within
sight distance) by someone who is. Adults are
encouraged to take snowmobile safety training.
In fact, more than 800 adult employees of
Colorado ski areas are certified each year!

Certificates in snowmobile safety are awarded
upon successful completion of a State Parks
approved training course. Such courses are
available throughout Colorado from local
snowmobile clubs, the Colorado Snowmobile
Association and Colorado State Parks. 


