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BEFORE FILING A COMPLAINT
Contact the dealership and provide the information 
concerning the problem. If the general manager or 
owner does not satisfactorily resolve the problem, a 
complaint may be filed with the Auto Industry Division 
(AID).

EXAMPLES OF A COMPLAINT
An inquiry into a complaint is limited to alleged violations 
of the motor vehicle law.

Examples of law violations could be:

Failing to deliver title within 30 days of the sale.
Failing to meet all terms and conditions contained 
in the written contract.
Tampering with an odometer or giving a false 
odometer statement.
Willfully misrepresenting or failing to disclose any 
information required by law.
Intentionally publishing or circulating any 
advertising that is misleading or inaccurate.
Selling vehicles that do not meet the safety and 
emission equipment requirements.
Failing to give notice of approval or rejection on a 
finance deal to the customer within a reasonable 
time.
Selling a salvage vehicle without proper 
disclosure.
Selling a vehicle that is known to be stolen.
Not maintaining a place of business and minimum 
operating hours.
Selling a vehicle to a resident of the AIR Program 
area without an emissions certificate/voucher.

OTHER TYPES OF COMPLAINTS
There are certain circumstances that are not violations 
of the motor vehicle dealer law.

The consumer does not have 72 hours to change his 
or her mind on a car deal. When the contract is signed, 
the vehicle is bought and sold as of the contract date.
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The dealer does not have to repair the vehicle after 
the sale when the vehicle is sold without a warranty 
and “AS IS,” unless it is a safety item.

The Auto Industry Division cannot require a dealer to 
honor a verbal agreement. The consumer is provided 
a “State Disclosure Form” indicating that any verbal 
agreements are not enforceable.

The Auto Industry Division cannot dictate good 
business practices or ethical behavior. Complaints 
concerning these issues cannot be investigated.

MOTOR VEHICLE WARRANTIES
If any repair work was not part of a vehicle sales 
contract, it is outside the jurisdiction of the AID. The 
local District Attorney does have jurisdiction over illegal 
actions by an automotive repair facility. A complaint 
concerning repair work may be filed with the District 
Attorney’s office.

LEMON LAW
The Lemon Law applies only to new vehicles under one 
year old. It does not apply to used vehicles purchased 
by consumers who encounter repair problems. The 
procedures for filing a complaint under the Lemon Law 
are found in the vehicle owner’s manual. The AID has a 
publication on Colorado’s Lemon Law that is available 
to consumers.

HOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT
The Auto Industry Division requires a formal written 
complaint. A verbal complaint presented over the 
telephone or in person cannot be accepted.

The consumer complaint forms DR2121 and 
DR2122 should be completed explaining the specific 
circumstances of the situation including dates, times, 
and persons involved. A copy of all paperwork 
related to the complaint must be attached. Also include 
a home address and daytime telephone number. For 
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convenience, a handwritten or typed complaint may be 
filed instead of using forms DR2121 and DR2122.

The complaint may be mailed to State of Colorado, 
Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division, 
Denver, CO  80261-0016 or delivered in person to 
1881 Pierce St., Lakewood, CO.

WHO HANDLES THE COMPLAINTS
The Auto Industry Division has jurisdiction to inquire 
into complaints in cases where a consumer has 
purchased a car, truck, trailer, or motorcycle from a 
licensed Colorado dealer and a violation of the law 
has allegedly occurred. Also, the AID will investigate 
unlicensed sales activity. They do not have jurisdiction 
to inquire into a complaint between private parties.

COMPLAINT RESOLUTION
When a complaint is received, it is assigned to a 
Compliance Specialist or Investigator. During the 
course of the resolution, the AID may contact the 
complainant to discuss the issues raised and may 
also encourage the dealer to contact the complainant 
directly to resolve the complaint. 

After receiving information from both parties, the AID 
determines if the facts support a violation of the law, 
The fact-gathering process takes about 30 days, 
depending on the complexity of the issue.

COMPLAINT FINDINGS
If it is determined that a violation of the law did not 
occur, the complainant will be notified.

If it is determined that a violation occurred, the dealer 
and complainant are notified. The AID will attempt 
to mediate a fair resolution between the dealer and 
the complainant. The complainant will be advised of 
the dealer’s agreement and time table to resolve the 
complaint.

Depending on the complaint, the AID may suggest 
civil litigation or recommend another agency. Neither 
the AID nor the Board can order or direct a dealer to 
give a refund to the complainant. The dealer may make 
such an offer in an effort to resolve the complaint. 
The complainant may have to pursue a civil suit or 
claim against the dealer’s bond to obtain a monetary 
resolution. Claims against a dealer’s bond must 
normally be supported by a Dealer Board finding of a 
violation or by a court judgment.

Upon conclusion, the complainant will be notified by 
telephone or in writing of the action taken. It typically 
takes approximately 30 days to complete the complaint 
resolution process.

FURTHER INFORMATION:
If you have questions about the forms, the complaint 
process, or an assigned complaint, contact the Auto 
Industry Division at (303) 205-5604. The FAX number 
is (303) 205-5977. The AID Internet home page is 
located at www.revenue.state.co.us/dlr/home.asp and 
has information available for consumers and dealers.

Walk-in assistance is provided at the Department of 
Revenue, 1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO.
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