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Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms  and  other  services:
(303)  238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:
(303) 238-SERV  (7378)
Fuel Tax: (303) 205-8205
www.taxcolorado.com

GENERAL INFORMATION

This FYI explains state licensing and tax
information for wholesalers and
manufacturers of alcohol beverages.
Licensing is administered by the Liquor
Enforcement Division, and liquor taxes are
administered by the Taxpayer Service
Division. Each division listed in this FYI
must be contacted separately for
assistance with the liquor issues under its
jurisdiction.

LIQUOR ENFORCEMENT DIVISION

Application Procedures
To become a licensed liquor or 3.2% beer
distributor in the State of Colorado, you
must submit a completed “Colorado Liquor
or Beer License Application” (DR 8409).
Bonds are no longer required.

Licensing Fees
Licensing fees range from $70 for a limited
winery to $1,050 for a liquor wholesaler.  In
addition to licensing fees, there is a one-
time application fee of $1,125 for each
license.

Wholesalers and brewers should contact the
Liquor Enforcement Division at (303) 205-
2300 for additional information con-cerning
licensing and fee requirements.

FYI – For Your Information
TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

Colorado Alcohol Beverage Wholesalers and
Manufacturers

U.S. Government Requirements
In addition to a state license, federal law
requires you to pay a special occupational
tax before you begin business and by July 1
each year thereafter. An application for a
wholesaler’s or brewer‘s permit is also
required. Contact the Alcohol and Tobacco
Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB).  You may
also access their Web site at www.ttb.gov

Business Changes
If you move your business and/or change
your trade name with no change in
ownership, you must contact the Liquor
Enforcement Division, 1881 Pierce St.,
Room 108, in Lakewood, CO 80214, (303)
205-2300, before a change is made.

Before there is a change in ownership or
type of ownership (sole proprietorship,
partnership, corporation, etc.), you must
contact the Liquor Enforcement Division
for re-licensing.

Further Information
For more detailed information on liquor
licensing, contact the Liquor Enforcement
Division, (303) 205-2300.

Copies of the liquor and beer code
regulations may be purchased for $20 plus
shipping and tax from the State Forms
Center, (303) 370-2165.
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TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

Tax Rates
Colorado liquor excise tax rates are as
follows:

8¢ per gallon for 3.2% Beer

8¢ per gallon for Malt Liquor (beer)

per gallon for Hard Cider
(apple and pear only)

7.33¢ per liter for Vinous Liquor

     60.26¢ per liter for Spirituous Liquor

licensed wineries and sold, offered for sale
or used in this state.

Effective July 1, 1997, the tax amount will
be determined using an annual graduated
rate.  The graduated rate shall be
applicable for the 12-month period
beginning on the first day of July each year.
The graduated annual rate is 5 cents per
liter for the first 9,000 liters, 3 cents per
liter for the next 36,000 liters, and 1 cent
per liter for all additional amounts.

Effective July 1, 2006, the sale and direct
shipment of wine produced in Colorado or
out-of-state is permitted to personal
consumers in Colorado under certain
conditions.  A Wine Direct Shipper's Permit
must be obtained.  Please refer to FYI
Excise 21 "Shipment of Wine to Personal
Consumers in Colorado" for more
information.  To apply for a Wine Direct
Shipper's  Permit you must submit a
completed "Application for Wine Shipment
Permit" (DR 8475) to the Liquor
Enforcement Division.  Contact the Liquor
Enforcement Division at (303) 205-2300 for
more information regarding licensing.

Filing Requirements
A “Monthly Report of Excise Tax for Alcohol
Beverages” (DR 0442) along with
supplemental schedules and payment of tax
is to be filed on or before the 20th day of the
month following the month in which such
alcohol beverages are first sold in this state.
Purchases of liquor and beer must be
reported on the schedule entitled
“Wholesalers Report of Liquor and Beer
Purchases” (DR 0445).  Wholesalers are not
required to submit invoices.  However, all
records pertaining to the purchase of any
and all alcohol beverages must be available
upon request.

A "Monthly Report of Excise Tax for
Winery-Shipper Permittees" (DR 0448) will
be mailed to out of state wineries by the
Colorado Department of Revenue each
month. The following information will be
preprinted: licensee name, "DBA" or trade
name, address, and account number. The
return and payment are to be filed on or
before the 20th day of the month following
the month in which such wine is sold in
this state. If the amount due is under $.50
round down and if the dollar amount is $.51
and over round up to $1.00. It is
permissible to use a blank DR 0442 in place
of the pre-printed DR 0448.

Effective July 1, 1997, “hard cider” is
statutorily defined as an alcohol beverage
containing at least one-half of one percent
and less than seven percent alcohol by
volume that is made by fermentation of
the natural juice of apples or pears,
including but not limited to flavored hard
cider and hard cider containing not more
than 0.392 grams of carbon dioxide per
hundred milliliters.  For the purposes of
Article 47, C.R.S., hard cider shall in all
respects be treated as vinous liquor except
where expressly provided otherwise.

NOTE:  All cider that does not meet the
definition of “hard cider,” but is within the
definition of “vinous liquors,” shall con-
tinue to be taxed as vinous liquor.
Grape excise tax is due on all grapes of
vinifera variety or other produce imported
into or grown in Colorado, and used in the
production of wine in this state by a
licensed Colorado winery.

Grape excise tax rate is as follows:

$10 per ton on and after July 1,
1996

Surcharge Rates
Colorado imposes a Vinous Surcharge and
a Colorado Winery Surcharge to support
the Colorado Wine Industry Development
Fund.

The Vinous Surcharge of one cent (1¢) per
liter is due on all vinous liquors (wines)
sold in Colorado through June 30, 2000.

Effective July 1, 2000, the one-cent (1¢) per
liter continues to be due on all vinous
liquors (wines) sold in Colorado, however, it
will be known as a Wine Development Fee.

The Colorado Winery Surcharge is due on
all vinous liquors produced by Colorado

8¢
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“First sold” means the sale or disposal which
occurs when a licensed wholesaler sells,
transfers, or otherwise disposes of product,
or when a manufacturer sells to a licensed
wholesaler or consumer.

If licensed manufacturers or wholesalers
wish to pay the liquor excise tax upon
manufacture, or upon receipt of alcohol
beverages, rather than when first sold, such
wholesaler or manufacturer should contact
the Excise Tax Accounting Section at (303)
205-8211 extension 6848.  Ask to enter in to
a “Memorandum of Understanding” with the
Department of Revenue.  The Memorandum
of Understanding must be approved by the
Department.

The Colorado Liquor Code provides special
rules for the tax treatment of malt liquor
(beer) and/or fermented malt beverage (3.2%
Beer).

Any beer or 3.2% Beer sold at wholesale by a
brewer that has procured a wholesaler’s
license (wholesaler to wholesaler) shall be
unloaded and placed in the physical
possession of the other wholesaler, at that
wholesaler’s licensed premises, where it is
inventoried for the purpose of tax collection
prior to delivery to a retailer.  The receiving
wholesaler shall be liable for the payment of
the excise tax under these circumstances.
For more information, see §12-47-402 (1),
C.R.S.

Any beer sold at wholesale by a brewpub
(manufacturer to wholesaler) shall be
unloaded and placed in the physical
possession of the wholesaler, at that
wholesaler’s licensed premises before it is
sold to retailers.  The brewpub
(manufacturer) shall be liable for the
payment of excise tax due when first sold to
the wholesaler.

The Department of Revenue will send you
the DR 0442 or DR 0448 return each month
on which the following information will be
preprinted: licensee name, “DBA” or trade
name, address, and account number.  Note
that trade name registration and
information for individuals and general
partnerships will be handled by the Colorado
Secretary of State beginning May 30, 2006.
Failure to receive a form, however, does not
relieve you of your legal responsibility to file
the return by the due date.  If for some
reason you do not receive your return,
contact the Department and one will be sent
to you.  A return is to be filed even if no tax

is due for that month.  Be sure to write
your account number on all checks and
correspondence.  You may obtain this form
by downloading it from the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com

If you want to use a computerized printout
or facsimile of any form required by the
department, you must first obtain written
approval by sending a sample of the
computerized printout or facsimile to:
Colorado Department of Revenue, Excise
Tax Account Section, 1375 Sherman St.,
Room 237, Denver, CO  80261.

Payment may also be made through
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).  To
make payments through EFT use Form
DR 5785 "Authorization For Electronic
Funds Transfer for Tax Payment" to
arrange EFT filing.  You may obtain this
form by downloading it from the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com

NOTE:  Credits for tax overpayment in
prior filing periods cannot be claimed on
the DR 0442.  You must instead request a
refund by filing a “Claim for Refund” (DR
0137) with the Excise Tax Accounting
Section, Colorado Department of Revenue,
1375 Sherman St., Room 237, Denver, CO
80261.

Colorado Liquor Excise Tax
Exemptions on Wine, Spirituous Liquor
(Spirits) and Beer

Sales of wine and spirituous liquor to
federally ceded property (e.g., military) are
exempt from state liquor excise tax.  Sales
of fermented malt liquor (3.2% beer) and
malt liquor (beer) are not exempt from the
state liquor excise tax.

Alcohol beverages shipped outside of
Colorado by a licensed manufacturer or
wholesaler are exempt from the state liquor
excise tax.

Brewers, distillers or wholesalers may
claim a credit or refund for the amount of
state liquor excise tax paid on alcohol
beverages sold when such alcohol beverages
are rendered unsaleable by reason of
damage or destruction.  Credit will be
allowed upon submission of evidence
satisfactory to the Department of Revenue
that excise tax was actually paid.  When
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reporting this credit, submit an affidavit
explaining circumstances, count and
destruction.

When planning a destruction of alcohol
beverages, contact the Excise Tax
Accounting Section in writing at 1375
Sherman St., Room 237, Denver, CO 80261
at least 4 weeks prior to the destruction
date.  A department representative may
attend to witness the destruction.

NOTE: Liquor tax credits are not allowed
on any alcohol liquors rendered unsaleable
due to spoilage.

Recordkeeping
Colorado law requires you to keep accurate
and complete records of your purchase, sale
and transfer activities of alcohol beverages
for a period of three years.

Penalties and Interest
If excise tax is not paid when due, penalty is
charged and due at a rate of ten percent
(10%) of the amount of tax due.  Interest is
charged on the total of tax and penalty at a
rate of one percent (1%) per month or
fraction of a month from the date the tax
became due until paid.
Failure to pay any liquor excise tax due
may result in the state licensing authority,
after a public hearing, suspending or
revoking your liquor license.

Other Liquor FYIs and Information
•  Questions regarding liquor excise taxes
should be referred to the Excise Tax
Accounting Section at (303) 205-8211
extension 6848.

•  FYI Excise 20 "Bringing Personal Liquor
Stock into Colorado."

•  FYI Excise 21 "Shipment of Wine to
Personal Consumers in Colorado."

E-SERVICES FOR BUSINESS
The following services are accessible at
www.taxcolorado.com under "Online
Services."

Electronic Payment (EFT).  Businesses
can make payments on the Internet or by
telephone.  Register to make Electronic
Payment via our no-cost ACH debit service.
See Form DR 5785 "Electronic Payment
Authorization" to sign up.

Sales Tax ZeroFile - Safely and easily file
a Colorado Sales Tax Return (Form DR
0100) for state and state-collected local
sales tax when you have zero net sales (line
3 of form DR 0100) and no sales tax due.
Any filing period type (monthly, quarterly,
annually, and seasonal) is eligible.
Retailers with only one location and with
net sales of zero and no payment due may
use this system.  There is no need to send a
paper form.  Also available by calling (303)
205-TAX0 (8290).

Sales Tax Account History -  Allows
businesses to review their tax account
payments back to December 2002.  Users
will need their account number to obtain a
PIN for security purposes.

The following services are available on the
Web under www.taxcolorado.com "Sales
Tax Information" as well as by telephone at
(303) 238-FAST (3278):

Local Sales Tax Rates - A fast way to
find sales tax rates for ANY local
jurisdiction.

Sales Tax License Verification -
Confirm whether a Colorado sales tax
license or exemption certificate is valid.  If
you have a sales tax license or exemption
certificate number, you can find this
information quickly.

Retailers' Sales Tax Rates -  Check on
the sales tax rates at your specific business
location(s).

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs and commonly used forms are
available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information
concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics
in simple and straightforward language.
Although the FYIs represent a good faith
effort to provide accurate and complete tax
information, the information is not binding
on the Colorado Department of Revenue,
nor does it replace, alter, or supersede
Colorado law and regulations.  The
Executive Director, who by statute is the
only person having authority to bind the
Department, has not formally reviewed
and/or approved these FYIs.


