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Colorado Labor and Employment Laws 

The Colorado Wage Act (C.R.S. 8-4-101 et seq.) requires Colorado employers to pay employees their earned wages in a timely manner.  
The Wage Act is commonly referred to as the Colorado Wage Law or Colorado Wage Claim Act. 

Payment of wages by direct deposit must be  
voluntarily authorized by the employee. Such 
direct deposit must be in the financial institution 
chosen by the employee.  

Applies to private sector employers in Colorado.  
Does not apply to public sector employers.  
Does not apply to independent contractors.  

COVERAGE 

• Wages are defined as all earned, vested, and 
determinable amounts for labor or service 
performed by employees, regardless of the 
method of calculation (e.g., time, task, piece, 
commission, etc.). 

• Bonuses or commissions earned in accordance 
with the terms of any agreement are wages. 

• Vacation pay earned in accordance with the 
terms of any agreement is wages.  

• Severance pay is not defined as wages.  

DEFINITION OF WAGES 

• Pay periods can be no greater duration than a 
calendar month or 30 days, whichever greater. 

• Paydays must occur no later than 10 days 
following the close of each pay period.  

PAY PERIODS AND PAYDAYS 

At least monthly, or at the time of payment of 
wages, the employer must furnish to the 
employee an itemized pay statement in writing 
showing: 
• Gross and net wages 
• All withholdings and deductions 
• Inclusive dates of the pay period 
• Name of the employee or SS# 
• Name and address of the employer 

PAY STATEMENTS 

DIRECT DEPOSIT 

DEDUCTIONS FROM WAGES 

Employer must post conspicuously a notice 
specifying the regular paydays and the time and 
place of payment. The notice must include any 
changes to paydays & time and place of payment. 

POSTING REQUIREMENTS  

Wages must be delivered to either the work site, 
employer’s local office, or the employee’s last 
known mailing address as follows: 
Employer ends the employment relationship 
1. If the accounting unit is scheduled to be 

operational, pay is due immediately. 
2. If the accounting unit is not scheduled to be 

operational, pay is due not later than 6 hours 
after the start of the accounting unit’s next 
regular workday. 

3. If the accounting unit is located off-site, then 
wages are due no later than 24 hours after 
the start of the accounting unit’s next regular 
workday. 

Employee quits or resigns 
Wages are due by or on the next regular payday.  

FINAL PAY 

If an employer refuses to pay all wages earned 
and vested through the employee’s last day of 
employment, the employee may: 
1. Make a written demand within 60 days after 

the date of separation specifying where to 
send the wages. 

2. If the employee’s earned wages are not 
mailed to the place specified in the demand 
and postmarked within 10 days after the 
receipt of the demand, the employer shall be 
liable for the wages and an amount equal to 
the greater of 50% of the wages due or the 
employee’s average daily wages, not to 
exceed 10 days, until such payment is made.  

3. The employee may only recover the above 
penalties in court; the Division cannot 
recover penalties for employees.  

WAGES OWED / PAY DEMAND 

1. The Director of the Division of Labor is 
required or authorized to conduct investigations 
and inquiries regarding alleged violations of 
the Wage Act. 

2. District Attorneys in Colorado may prosecute 
violations of the Wage Act. 

3. Employees may pursue wages in a civil action. 

ENFORCEMENT 

Employers may not intimidate, threaten, restrain, 
coerce, discharge, or in any manner discriminate 
against any employee who has filed a complaint 
under the Wage Act.  

DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED 

Any agreement, written or oral, by any employee 
purporting to waive or modify such employee’s 
rights in violation of the Wage Act shall be void.  

NONWAIVER OF RIGHTS 

All actions brought pursuant to the Wage Act shall 
be commenced within 2 years after the cause of 
action accrues. Willful violations of the Wage Act 
shall be commenced within 3 years after the cause 
of action accrues. 

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 

Permissible deductions from wages include: 
 

1. Deductions mandated by local, state, or federal 
law, such as taxes, FICA requirements, 
garnishments, and court-ordered deductions. 

2. Deductions for loans, advances, goods or 
services, and equipment or property provided by 
an employer to an employee pursuant to an 
enforceable written agreement. 

3. Deductions to cover the cost for theft if a report 
has been properly filed with law enforcement. 

 
4. Deductions authorized by an employee that are 

revocable, including medical insurance, savings 
plans, stock purchases, pension plans, charities, 
and deposits to financial institutions. 

5. Deductions for the amount of money or value of 
property that the employee failed to properly pay 
or return when the terminated employee was 
entrusted with such money or property. 

6. Deductions below the minimum wage applicable 
under FLSA are not authorized.  

This complimentary guide is provided by the 
Colorado Division of Labor. Its condensed and 
simplified content is for general informational 
purposes only, and does not constitute legal 

advice. For more information contact the 
Division, an attorney, or an HR professional.  
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OVERTIME 

Employers covered by the Wage Order must display a Wage Order poster in an area frequented by 
employees during the workday. Visit www.coworkforce.com/lab to obtain a free poster. 

POSTING REQUIREMENTS  

1. Employees are entitled to an uninterrupted and duty-free 
30-minute unpaid meal period when their work shift 
exceeds 5 consecutive hours. 

2. The employee must be completely relieved of all duties 
for the meal period. 

3. If the above conditions are not met, then the employee 
must be allowed to consume a meal on-duty, and be 
compensated for the entire on-duty meal period.  

The time during which an employee is subject to the control 
of an employer, including all the time when the employee is 
suffered or permitted to work whether or not required to do 
so, is compensable work time.  
Travel time 
All travel time spent at the control and direction of the 
employer, excluding normal home to work travel, is 
compensable work time. 
Sleep time: 24+ hours tour of duty 
Up to 8 hours of sleeping time can be excluded from 
compensable work time under certain circumstances. 
Sleep time: Less than 24 hours tour of duty 
Periods during which the employee is permitted to sleep are 
compensable work time, as long as the employee is on-duty.    

TIME WORKED 

Applies to private sector employers & employees 
in Colorado in the following 4 industries: 
1. Retail and Service 
2. Commercial Support Service 
3. Food and Beverage 
4. Health and Medical  
Does not apply to public sector employers.  
Does not apply to independent contractors.  
Does not apply to a variety of other industries 
such as construction, manufacturing, wholesale. 

INDUSTRY COVERAGE 

Minimum wage (MW) is $6.85 per hour for all 
adult employees and emancipated minors.  
Minimum wage credits and exceptions 
1. Up to $25 per week for lodging furnished by 

the employer may count towards MW. 
2. Reasonable cost of meals provided to the 

employee may count towards MW. 
3. Unemancipated minors under 18 may be 

paid $5.82 per hour. 
4. Employees with physical disability certified 

by the Director may be paid $5.82 per hour.  
5. Deductions from wages must be in 

accordance with the Wage Act.  

MINIMUM WAGE 

1. An employee engaged in an occupation 
where he or she customarily and regularly 
receives more than $30 per month in tips is 
defined as a tipped employee. 

2. Employers must pay a wage of at least $3.83 
per hour. If tips combined with wages do not 
equal minimum wage, the employer must 
make up the difference in cash wages. 

3. Employer-required sharing of tips with 
employees who are not customarily tipped 
(e.g., management, chefs) nullifies tip 
credits towards minimum wage. 

4. Deduction of credit card processing fees 
from tipped employees nullifies tip credits 
towards minimum wage.  

TIPPED EMPLOYEES 

• Employees are entitled to a compensated 10-minute rest 
period for each 4 hours of work or major fractions thereof. 
Wages may not be deducted for the rest period.  

• It is not required that the employee be permitted to leave 
the premises for the rest period.   

REST PERIODS 

1. The employer must pay the cost of the 
employee uniform if the uniform requires a 
specific make, logo, or material. 

2. Clothing that is considered ordinary street- 
wear does not constitute a uniform.  

3. Employers may require a reasonable deposit 
up to 50% of the cost of the uniform; must 
be refunded to the employee upon return.    

UNIFORMS  

• The Division has jurisdiction over 
all questions of fact regarding the 
Wage Order. 

• Any person may file a written 
complaint with the Division 
regarding alleged violations of the 
Wage Order. 

• Complaints must be filed within 2 
years of the alleged violation.  

Contact the Division for more 
information on the following 

exemptions: 
 
 

1. Administrative  
2. Executive/Supervisor  
3. Professional  
4. Outside sales  
5. Domestic employees  
6. Companions  
7. Casual babysitters 
8. Property managers 
9. Interstate drivers 
10. Driver helpers, loaders, 

mechanics  
11. Taxicab drivers 
12. Elected officials 
13. Volunteers 
14. Interns 
15. Prisoners 

EXEMPTIONS 

Whenever employers are subject to 
both federal and Colorado law, the law 
providing the greater protection or 
benefit for the employee will apply.  

DUAL JURISDICTION 

Employers shall not threaten, coerce, 
or discharge any employee because of 
participation in any investigation or 
hearing related to the Minimum Wage 
Act (C.R.S. 8-6-101 et seq.)  

REPRISALS  

Colorado Emergency Minimum Wage Order Colorado Emergency Minimum Wage Order Colorado Emergency Minimum Wage Order  

The Colorado Emergency Minimum Wage Order (7 CCR § 1103-1) regulates wages, hours, working conditions, and procedures for certain employers and 
employees in Colorado. The Wage Order is promulgated by the Colorado Division of Labor. The Wage Order, in some instances, provides different 
requirements than FLSA. Contact the U.S. DOL for information on FLSA and federal wage and hour laws (www.dol.gov or 1-866-4USWAGE).  

ENFORCEMENT 

MEAL PERIODS 

In general, non-exempt employees covered by the Wage 
Order must be paid time and one-half their regular rate of 
pay for any work in excess of: 
1. 40 hours per workweek. 
2. 12 hours per workday. 
3. 12 consecutive hours without regard to the start and end 

time of the workday. 
 

Exemptions from overtime 
1. Salespersons, parts-persons, and mechanics employed 

by automobile, truck, or farm implement dealers. 
2. Certain commissioned salespersons in retail and service. 
3. Certain ski industry employees. 
4. Certain medical transportation employees.    



1. Operation of any high pressure steam boiler 
or high temperature water boiler. 

2. Work which primarily involves the risk of 
falling from any elevated place located ten 
feet or more above the ground except that 
work defined as agricultural involving 
elevations of twenty feet or less above 
ground. 

3. Manufacturing, transporting, or storing of 
explosives. 

4. Mining, logging, oil drilling, or quarrying. 
5. Any occupation involving exposure to 

radioactive substances or ionizing radiation. 
6. Operation of  power-driven machinery: 

a) Woodworking machines 
b) Metal-forming machines 
c) Punching or shearing machines 
d) Bakery machines 
e) Paper products machines 
f) Shears 
g) Automatic pin-setting machines 
h) Power food slicers and grinders 

7. Any other power-driven machinery deemed 
hazardous by the Director. 

8. Slaughter of livestock and rendering and 
packaging of meat. 

9. Occupations directly involved in the 
manufacture of brick or other clay 
construction products, or silica refractory 
products. 

10. Wrecking or demolition, but not including 
manual auto wrecking. 

11. Roofing. 
12. Occupations in excavation operations. 

HAZARDOUS / PROHIBITED  

A minor is any person under the age of 18, except 
a person who has received a high school diploma 
or a passing score on the general educational 
development (GED) examination. 

DEFINITION OF A MINOR 

The CYEOA does not generally apply to the 
following: 
1. Schoolwork and supervised educational 

activities.  
2. Home chores. 
3. Work done for a parent or guardian, except 

where the parent or guardian receives any 
payment therefore. 

4. Newsboys and newspaper carriers. 
5. Actors, models, and performers are exempt 

from the age-related restrictions for minors 
under age fourteen. 

EXEMPTIONS FROM CYEOA 

Minors under the age of 9 cannot generally be 
employed. 

 
Permissible at age 9 or older: 
1. Delivery of handbills and advertising. 
2. Shoeshining.  
3. Gardening and care of lawns involving no 

power-driven lawn equipment. 
4. Cleaning of walks involving no power-

driven snow-removal equipment. 
5. Casual work usual to the home of the 

employer and not specifically prohibited. 
6. Caddying on golf courses. 
7. Occupations similar to the above.   
 
Permissible at age 12 or older: 
1. Sale and delivery of periodicals.  
2. Door-to-door selling and delivery of 

merchandise. 
3. Baby-sitting. 
4. Gardening and care of lawns, and cleaning 

of walks; contact the Division regarding use 
of power-driven equipment. 

5. Non-hazardous agricultural work. 
6. Occupations similar to the above.   
 
Permissible at age 14 or older: 
1. Non-hazardous occupations in 

manufacturing. 
2. Public messenger service and errands by 

foot, bicycle and public transportation. 
3. Operation of automatic enclosed freight and 

passenger elevators. 
4. Janitorial and custodial service. 
5. Office work and clerical work. 
6. Warehousing and storage, including 

unloading and loading of vehicles. 
7. Non-hazardous construction and non-

hazardous repair work.  
8. Occupations in retail food service. 
9. Certain gasoline service occupations. 
10. Occupations in retail stores. 
11. Occupations in restaurants, hotels, motels, or 

other public accommodations.  
12. Occupations related to parks or recreation. 
13. Occupations similar to the above.  
  
Permissible at age 16 or older: 
The occupations listed above and the operation of 
a motor vehicle if the minor is licensed to operate 
the motor vehicle for such use pursuant to 
Colorado Revised Statutes Article 2, Title 42. 

PERMISSIBLE OCCUPATIONS  

• The Director may grant exemptions from 
some provisions of the CYEOA.  

• Any employer, minor, minor’s parents or 
guardian, school official, or youth 
employment specialist may request an 
exemption.  

• Exemptions are evaluated on a case-by-case 
basis, and are granted or denied in accordance 
with the best interests of the minor.  

• Exemption determinations involve the scrutiny 
of such factors as the minor’s previous 
training and safety concerns. 

REQUEST AN EXEMPTION General Restrictions 
No employer shall be permitted to work a minor 
more than forty hours in a week or more than 
eight hours in any twenty-four-hour period. 
School Day Restrictions 
On school days, during school hours, no minor 
under the age of sixteen shall be permitted 
employment except as provided by a school 
release permit. After school hours no minor under 
the age of sixteen shall be permitted to work in 
excess of six hours unless the next day is not a 
school day. 
Nighttime Restrictions 
Except for babysitters, no minor under the age of 
sixteen shall be permitted to work between the 
hours of nine-thirty p.m. and five a.m., unless the 
next day is not a school day. An exception to this 
rule is a minor employed as an actor, model, or 
performer. 

WORK HOUR RESTRICTIONS 

Work permits are not required by Colorado law.  
Age Certificates 
Any employer desiring proof of the age of any 
minor employee or prospective employee may 
require the minor to submit an age certificate. 
Age certificates are issued by or under the 
authority of the school superintendent of the 
district or county in which the applicant resides. 
School Release Permits 
Any minor fourteen or fifteen years of age who 
wishes to work on school days during school 
hours shall first secure a school release permit. 
Such permit is issued only by the school district 
superintendent, his agent, or some other person 
designated by the board of education.   

WORK PERMITS 

Colorado Youth LawColorado Youth LawColorado Youth Law 

The Colorado Youth Employment Opportunity Act (C.R.S. 8-12-101 et seq.) regulates the employment of minors in Colorado. The Fair Labor Standards Act 
(FLSA) and its regulations do not permit the employment of minors in a variety of circumstances. When both federal and state laws apply, the more stringent 
standard must be observed. Contact the U.S. DOL for information on FLSA and federal youth laws (www.dol.gov or 1-866-4USWAGE).  

For more information on services and labor and employment topics, 
visit the Division website at www.coworkforce.com/lab  



• All regularly employed trial or grand jurors 
shall be paid regular wages, but not to exceed 
$50 per day unless by mutual agreement 
between the employee and employer, by their 
employers for the first 3 days of juror service 
or any part thereof. 

• State law protects a juror’s job; an employer 
shall not threaten, coerce, or discharge an 
employee for reporting for juror service as 
summoned.   

⇒ Information: www.courts.state.co.us 

It is a discriminatory or unfair employment 
practice for an employer in Colorado to terminate 
the employment of any employee due to that 
employee’s engaging in any lawful activity off the 
premises of the employer during nonworking 
hours, unless such a restriction either: 
1. Relates to a bona fide occupational 

requirement OR 
2. Is necessary to avoid a conflict of interest 

with any responsibilities to the employer or 
the appearance of such a conflict of interest. 

⇒ Information: Contact an attorney.  

• Employees who have 3 or more non-work 
hours available during the hours polls are open 
(typically 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.) on election 
day are not entitled to time off to vote. 

• Upon prior request (before election day) by 
the employee, employers must provide up to 2 
hours of paid time off to vote if the employee 
does not have 3 or more non-work hours 
between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.  

• The Secretary of State oversees elections.  
⇒ Information: www.elections.colorado.gov  

The Colorado Civil Rights Division handles claims of 
discrimination in employment, housing, and public 
accommodations in Colorado. 
⇒ Information: www.dora.state.co.us/civil-rights  

Colorado Workforce Centers provide easy access to a 
wide array of employment and training services and 
job opportunities in Colorado.  
⇒ Information: www.coworkforce.com/emp 

EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING 

The Colorado UI Program provides temporary and 
partial wage replacement to workers who have 
become unemployed through no fault of their own. 
⇒ Information: www.coworkforce.com/uib 

The Division of Workers’ Compensation administers 
the mandatory WC insurance program.  
⇒ Information: www.coworkforce.com/dwc 

Employment Laws and Agency ResourcesEmployment Laws and Agency ResourcesEmployment Laws and Agency Resources 

Colorado law states that any employer who 
provides information about a current or former 
employee’s job history or job performance to a 
prospective employer of the current or former 
employee is immune from civil liability and is not 
liable in civil damages for the disclosure or any 
consequences of the disclosure.  
This immunity shall not apply when: 
1. The information disclosed by the current or 

former employer was false AND 
2. The employer providing the information 

knew or reasonably should have known that 
the information was false. 

⇒ Information: Contact an attorney.  
Employees may have a higher priority in 
bankruptcy than other creditors. If your employer 
has filed for bankruptcy you will need to contact 
the appropriate bankruptcy court to enter a claim. 
The Division cannot assist in disputes when the 
employer has filed for bankruptcy.  
⇒ Information: www.cob.uscourts.gov  

Small claims courts in Colorado are a division of 
the county court system designed to provide a 
quick and inexpensive resolution to minor claims. 
Small claims courts are courts of limited 
jurisdiction; the court cannot award more than 
$7,500 in monetary awards.  
⇒ Information: www.courts.state.co.us  

Information on occupational wages, employment 
statistics, and labor force trends is available from 
Colorado Labor Market Information.   
⇒ Information: www.coworkforce.com/lmi 

Need more information? Find the answers in the Division’s 
comprehensive resource guide at www.coworkforce.com/lab/ab.pdf 

Bankruptcy cob.uscourts.gov 303-844-4045 

DOL dol.gov 720-264-3250 

EEOC eeoc.gov 303-866-1300 

Immigration uscis.gov 800-375-5283 

IRS irs.gov 800-TAX-1040 

NLRB nlrb.gov 303-844-3551 

OSHA osha.gov 303-844-5285 

FEDERAL AGENCIES 

Civil Rights dora.state.co.us/
civil-rights 303-894-2997 

Department of 
Labor & 

Employment 
coworkforce.com 303-318-8000 

Division of Labor coworkforce.com/
lab 303-318-8441 

Revenue revenue.state.co.us 303-238-7378 

Unemployment coworkforce.com/
uib 303-318-9000 

Workers’ 
Compensation 

coworkforce.com/
dwc 303-318-8700 

STATE AGENCIES 

OFF-DUTY ACTIVITIES 

VOTING AND PAY 

JURY DUTY AND PAY WORK LEAVE 

EMPLOYMENT REFERENCES 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

SMALL CLAIMS COURT 

EMPLOYER BANKRUPTCY 

LABOR MARKET INFORMATION 

DISCRIMINATION 

EMPLOYMENT-AT-WILL 

Holiday Pay 
Colorado wage law does not require nor prohibit any 
paid holidays. When an employee is paid for a non-
work holiday, the holiday hours do not count towards 
overtime unless actual work was performed.  
Sick Pay 
Colorado wage law does not require nor prohibit sick 
pay or leave. Colorado wage law does not require 
employers to provide paid leave due to illness.  
Severance Pay 
Colorado wage law does not require nor prohibit 
severance pay. Severance pay is a benefit offered by 
employers at their own discretion. 
Medical or Pregnancy Leave  
Colorado does not have a medical or pregnancy leave 
law that applies to the private sector. 
Domestic Abuse Leave  
Employees in Colorado may request or take up to 3 
working days of leave from work in any 12-month 
period, with or without pay, if the employee is the 
victim of domestic abuse, stalking, sexual assault, or 
other crimes related to domestic abuse.  
This leave law applies only to employers who employ 
50 or more employees and to employees who have 
been employed with the employer for 12+ months. 
⇒ Information: Contact an attorney.  

Colorado follows the legal doctrine of “employment-at-will”, which provides that employers and employees have an at-will relationship either of them may 
terminate at any time without advance notice or cause unless the employee is hired for a definite period of time or there is an agreement limiting the reasons for 

discharge. There are many exceptions to employment-at-will, including various exceptions created by the legislature and the courts such as discrimination, 
public policy, and contract law. Contact an attorney for more information.  


