
PAGE 1 OF 1
INCOME 33 (07/10)

Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms and other services:
(303) 238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:
(303) 238-SERV (7378)

www.taxcolorado.com

FYI – For Your Information
TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

Child Care Tax Credit
GENERAL INFORMATION
The Colorado child care credit is a
percentage of the child care credit claimed
for federal income tax purposes. The federal
credit is a child and dependent care credit.
It is allowed for expenses incurred in the
care of children under the age of 13 and for
expenses incurred in the care of disabled
dependents over the age of 12. However,
the Colorado child care credit is allowed
only with respect to the federal credit
allowed for the care of children under
the age of 13. [§39-22-119, C.R.S.]

If the federal adjusted gross income is:
More than . . . . . . . . . . Not more than:
$0 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $25,000
The Colorado percentage is:
50 percent
$25,000 . . . . . . . . . . . .   $35,000
The Colorado percentage is:
30 percent
$35,000 . . . . . . . . . . . .   $60,000
The Colorado percentage is:
10 percent

REFUNDABLE CREDIT
To the extent the Colorado child care/child
tax credit exceeds the Colorado tax, the
excess will be refunded.

PART-YEAR AND NONRESIDENTS
Part-year Colorado residents should
compute their Colorado child care credit as
though they were full-year residents and
pro-rate the credit in the ratio of their
modified federal adjusted gross income
subject to tax by Colorado over their total
modified federal adjusted gross income
(their Colorado Form 104PN, Line 34
percentage up to 100%). Nonresidents are
not eligible for the Colorado child care/child
tax credit.

EXAMPLE
Example A: Ellen Brown is single with
one dependent child, age 3. Ellen’s federal
adjusted gross income was $28,500 for the

year and her federal child care credit
claimed was $470. Her credit is 30% of
$470, or $141.

Example B: Joe Green claims a federal
child and dependent care credit with
respect to his mother who is 69 years old
and who is Joe’s disabled dependent. Joe
may not claim the Colorado child care/child
tax credit (see paragraph one of this FYI).

Example C: Bob and Alma Tanner have a
federal adjusted gross income of $55,000
and claim a federal child and dependent
care credit of $1,200 half of which is for
their 6 year old daughter in day care and
the other half is for Alma’s mother.  The
Tanner’s Colorado child care credit is 10%
of $600, or $60.

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs, commonly used forms and additional
tax information are also available on the
Web at www.taxcolorado.com

For additional Colorado tax information
visit the "Tax Information Index" which
covers a variety of topics including links to
forms, publications, regulations, statutes
and general questions and answers.  The
"Tax Information Index" is located at
www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning
a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language.  Although the
FYIs represent a good  faith effort to provide
accurate and complete tax information, the
information is not binding on the Colorado
Department of Revenue, nor does it replace,
alter or supersede Colorado law and
regulations.  The Executive Director, who by
statute is the only person having authority
to bind the Department, has not formally
reviewed and/or approved these FYIs.


