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COPPER THEFT
by Jennifer Thomsen

As commodity metal prices have risen in
recent years, so has the occurrence of metal theft. 
Commodity metals are metals containing brass,
copper, copper alloy, aluminum, stainless steel, or
magnesium or another metal traded on the
commodity market.  Due to high demand
worldwide, particularly in developing nations
such as China and India, a large percentage of
metal thefts involve copper.  Copper thieves are
taking advantage of this high demand by stealing
and selling copper for high profits.  Construction
sites, utility companies, and farmers have been
hard hit by increasing incidents of copper theft. 
This issue brief provides an overview of Colorado
law addressing the theft and sale of commodity
metals such as copper.

Burglary, Robbery, or Theft of Metal

Several existing crimes may be applied to
situations where metals such as copper are stolen. 
In Colorado, it is second degree burglary to enter
a structure with the intent to steal something or to
commit a crime against a person or property. 
Second degree burglary is a class 3 or
class 4 felony, depending on the circumstances.  A
person who intentionally takes anything of value
from the person or presence of another individual,
using force, threats, or intimidation, commits
robbery.  Robbery is a class 4 felony.  Theft
occurs when an individual takes another's property
without authorization and with the intent to
deprive the owner of the property permanently. 

Theft can be anywhere from a class 2
misdemeanor to a class 3 felony, depending on the
value of the property stolen and the number of
offenses committed within a specified time
period.  Table 1 explains the different levels of
offenses for theft.

Table 1

Offense Levels for the Crime of Theft

Level of
Offense

Value of
Property

Other 
Circumstances

Class 2
misdemeanor

Less than
$500

Not applicable

Class 1
misdemeanor

$500 to
$1,000

Not applicable

Class 5 felony Regardless
of the value

Theft from the person of
another by means other
than the use of force,
threat, or intimidation

Class 4 felony $1,000 to
$20,000

Not applicable

Class 4 felony $1,000 to
$20,000

An individual commits
theft twice or more during
a six-month period and the
aggregate value of the
property is between
$1,000 and $20,000

Class 3 felony More than
$20,000

Not applicable

Class 3 felony More than
$20,000

An individual commits
theft twice or more during
a six-month period and the
aggregate value of the
property is more than
$20,000
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Purchases of Commodity Metals

Commodity metals are defined in state law as
metals containing brass, copper, copper alloy,
aluminum, stainless steel, or magnesium or
another metal traded on the commodity market
that sell for at least $0.50 per pound.  Colorado
law requires individuals who purchase commodity
metals to maintain a book or register that details
all transactions involving commodity metals.  The
book or register must contain information about
the identity of the seller and a signed statement
regarding the source of the metals, and must be
made available to any peace officer for inspection
at any reasonable time.  

The law specifies that the identity of metals
sellers must be verified by one of the following:

• a valid Colorado driver's license or
identification card;

• a valid driver's license from another state
that contains a picture identification;

• a military identification card;
• a valid United States passport;
• an alien registration card; or
• a nonpicture identification document

issued by a state or federal government
entity if the purchaser obtains a clear
imprint of the seller's right index finger or
another finger if the right finger does not
provide a clear imprint.

The book or register must contain:

• an affidavit, sworn and affirmed under
penalty of law, provided by the purchaser
and signed by the seller, affirming that the
seller is the owner of the commodity metal
or is otherwise entitled to sell the
commodity metal;

• the license plate number and description
of the vehicle or conveyance in which the
commodity metal was delivered;

• the date and place of each purchase of
commodity metal; and

• the description and quantity of the
commodity metal purchased.

The following transactions and materials are
exempt from the registry provisions:

• materials purchased from a public utility;
• materials purchased from an original

manufacturer;
• recyclable food and beverage containers,

except metal beer kegs;
• transactions between dealers or

governmental entities; and
• a transaction involving less than 25

pounds purchased from a single seller in a
single day.

Additionally, commodity metals purchased
must be held separate from any other materials for
at least five working days after they are purchased
unless a digital photograph or a video recording is
made of the transaction.  The photograph or
recording must be kept by the purchaser for at
least 90 days after the transaction.  Failing to
maintain a proper book or register,  providing
false information for a book or register, or failing
to hold commodity metals separate from other
stock is:

• a class 2 misdemeanor if the value of the
commodity metal is less than $500; and

• a class 1 misdemeanor if the value of the
commodity metal is $500 or more.
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