
  Colorado State University
Cooperative Extension. 8/02.

www.ext.colostate.edu

C O N S U M E R S E R I E S

FINANCE
Colorado Unemployment Insurance no. 9.163
by D. Thilmany, M. Miller, and J. Tranel1

Quick Facts...

With few exceptions, any
business that paid $1500 in
wages in a quarter of the current
year or previous year must pay
unemployment taxes.

Seasonal businesses are
exempt from paying the tax
during non-seasonal times.

If an agricultural labor employer
pays either cash wages of
$20,000 or more to one or more
workers in any calendar quarter,
or employs 10 workers for 20
weeks during the year, they must
pay into the state unemployment
fund.

Agricultural crew leaders are
responsible for paying the
unemployment insurance taxes
for their employees.

The state unemployment insurance program is a joint federal-state
operation in which the state operates its own program within the guidelines
established by the federal government.  Known as the Federal-State
Unemployment Insurance Program, the general purpose is to provide
temporary financial relief for those individuals who are unemployed
through no fault of their own.  The unemployment insurance payments are
meant as a “stop-gap” measure for individuals who are actively looking for
employment.  State law determines eligibility for unemployment insurance,
benefit amounts, and the length of time benefits are available.  The majority
of states, Colorado included, finance the unemployment benefits through
taxes on employers.

Who Pays for Unemployment Insurance?
In Colorado, most employers are liable for paying into the Colorado

Unemployment Insurance Fund.  Any business that paid wages of at least
$1500 in a quarter of this year or last year, or a business that employed at
least one person for any part of a day for 20 weeks during this year or last
year must pay the tax.  The rules are different for agricultural employers,
domestic employers, and non-profit organizations where different liability
criteria prevail based on the amount of wages paid and number of
employees.

Others that must pay into the fund include religious, educational, or
charitable nonprofit organizations that have four or more employees for 20
weeks during the calendar year, even though they may be exempt from
federal unemployment taxes.  Additionally, an employer that employs
domestic help in a private home and pays cash wages of $1,000 or more to
one or more workers in any calendar quarter must pay unemployment taxes.
Any state agency, state-operated hospital or school of higher education, or a
political subdivision of the state is responsible for paying unemployment
insurance as well.

Seasonal Employers
If a business is seasonal in nature, it is exempt from paying the

unemployment tax during the non-seasonal portion of the year.  In order to
be considered seasonal business employers must meet the following criteria:

• Customarily employ workers in a functionally distinct occupation
only during a regularly recurring period or periods of less than 26 weeks in
a calendar year.

• Do not employ more than 25 percent of the total number of
workers in such functionally distinct occupation outside the seasonal period
that were employed in such occupation during the previous seasonal period.



• Do not employ any workers in such functionally distinct
occupation for a period of 44 consecutive days following the seasonal
period.

Who Is Covered By Unemployment Insurance?
Generally, any individual who is paid wages and performs a service

for an employer who is required to pay the unemployment insurance tax is
in covered employment.

Who Is Not Covered by Unemployment Insurance?
Although most employees are covered, there are exceptions to the

law.  Domestic servants whose employer has not paid cash wages of $1,000
or more to one or more workers in a calendar quarter are exempted from
coverage along with real estate and direct sales workers.  For this group,
there must be a written contract that provides the person will not be treated
as an employee for federal tax purposes.  All fees, whether or not paid in
cash, must be directly related to sales or the performance of services, instead
of the number of hours worked.  Others, such as student work study
employees, insurance sales personnel working completely on commission,
and members of National Guard units are also exempted from coverage.  For
a complete listing of the exempted occupations, please see the Employers
Handbook published by the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment.

The Tax Rate
Although there may be extenuating circumstances, such as any

delinquencies or the size of the account, the basic tax rate for the majority of
employers is 0.017 plus an annually computed surtax.  For 2000, the surtax
was 0.022 resulting in a combined rate of 0.0192 on the first $10,000 of
each employee’s annual earnings.  Note that the construction business may
have a different tax base.

Agriculture
Although the general rules for unemployment taxation apply to

agriculture, there are some differences.  An employer of agricultural labor
that pays either cash wages of $20,000 or more to one or more workers in
any one-calendar quarter, or employs 10 workers for 20 weeks during the
calendar year must pay into the unemployment fund.  Crew leaders for
agricultural farm workers are responsible for paying the unemployment
insurance.  A crew leader is an individual who furnishes people to perform
farm labor for another person, pays, either on his or her own behalf or on
behalf of another person, the people furnished by him or her for farm labor,
and has not made a written agreement with another person under which the
farm workers are designated as employees of that person.

For more information:

• State Unemployment fact sheet:
http://workforcesecurity.doleta.gov/
unemploy/uifactsheet.asp

• Colorado Unemployment Benefits:
http://unempben.cdle.state.co.us/
regulation/default.asp

• Frequently Asked Questions:  http://
unemploytax.cdle.state.co.us/
unemp_ins_tax_faq.html

• Tax rates and regulations and forms:
http://unemploytax.cdle.state.co.us/
EmployersHandbook/tax.htm
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