I TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI - For Your Information

Nonresident Real Estate Transactions -
Required Withholding

GENERAL INFORMATION

Corporations that do not maintain a
permanent place of business in Colorado,
and nonresident individuals, estates and
trusts are subject to Colorado income tax
withholding on the sales of Colorado real
estate in excess of $100,000. The with-
holding tax, if required, will be the
smaller of

a) two percent (2%) of the sales price to
the nearest dollar, or

b) the net proceeds from the sale. (“Net
proceeds from the sale” means the net
amount that would otherwise be due to
the seller on the settlement sheet.)

The tax is withheld at the time of closing
by the title insurance company, its agent,
or any other person providing closing and
settlement services. The tax is submitted
to the Colorado Department of Revenue,
where it will be credited to the seller’s
income tax account as an estimated tax
payment. The seller can claim credit for
the estimated payment against the
income tax liability when filing a Colorado
income tax return for the year of the sale.
Taxpayers must file a Colorado individual
income tax return to claim the estimated
payment credit. [§39-22-604.5 C.R.S.]

HOWTOFILE THE TAX

The form “Information with Respect to a
Conveyance of a Colorado Real Property
Interest” (DR 1083) provides information
about the transferor (the person or entity
that owned the property and is selling it),
details of the transaction, reasons for
withholding or not withholding tax, and
determination of amount of tax withheld.
The reverse side of the form provides
affirmations that sellers may sign to claim
exemption from the withholding.

The form “Payment of Withholding Tax
on Certain Colorado Real Property
Interest Transfers” (DR 1079) is required
when remitting Colorado tax withheld.
The form must be filed within 30 days of
the date of closing.

NOTE: On the DR 1079, use the name
and Social Security number/Colorado
account number of the taxpayer(s) who
will claim the withholding tax on the
Colorado income tax return. Do not use
the name and account number of the real
estate company acting as an agent of the
taxpayer(s) in the property sale. Also
include the social security number/
Colorado account number on the check to
prevent problems associated with credit-
ing the payment to the proper taxpayer.
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WHEN MUSTFORM DR 1083 BE
FILED?

Except as otherwise specified in the
exceptions listed below, a DR 1083 must
be completed and filed to report sales of
Colorado real property. The form must be
filed within 30 days of the date of closing.

WHEN IS THE DR 1083 NOT
REQUIRED TO BE FILED?

¢ The selling price of the property is less
than $100,000.

¢ The seller is an individual, estate,
trust, partner or partnership and both
the federal Form 1099-S (to report the
sales to the Internal Revenue Service)
and the authorization, if any, for
disbursement of funds from the sale
show the seller as having a Colorado
address.

¢ The seller is a government agency.

¢ The seller is a corporation that is
incorporated under Colorado law or is
currently registered with the Secretary
of State’s office as qualified to transact
business in Colorado.

¢ The transferee (the buyer of the
property) is a bank or a corporate
beneficiary under a mortgage or under
a deed of trust, and the property was
acquired by foreclosure or by deed in
lieu of foreclosure.

WHEN MUST FORM DR 1083 BE
COMPLETED AND SUBMITTED
WITHOUT A TAX PAYMENT?

Withholding is not required but the Form
1083 must be completed when:

¢ the 1099-S shows a non-Colorado
address but the individual, estate or
trust affirms Colorado residency at the
time of the sale, or

¢ the seller, corporation or partnership
signs the affirmation of permanent
place of business within Colorado, or

¢ the seller, who is an individual, signs
the affirmation that the property was
his/her principal residence immedi-
ately prior to the transfer, or

¢ the seller signs an affirmation that no
Colorado income tax will be due on the
sale, or

¢ there would have been withholding,
but there were no net proceeds due to
the seller, or

¢ the seller is a partnership, required to
file an annual return of income for
federal income tax purposes.

By signing the affirmation, the seller
assumes responsibility for complying with
state income tax laws.

WHEN IS WITHHOLDING
REQUIRED?

In all cases other than those listed in the
section above, withholding must be made
and Forms DR 1083 and DR 1079 must be
completed and submitted to the Colorado
Department of Revenue.

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs, commonly used forms and
additional tax information are available

on the Web at: www.taxcolorado.com

For additional Colorado tax information
visit the "Tax Information Index" which
covers a variety of topics including links
to forms, publications, regulations,
statutes and general questions and
answers. The "Tax Information Index" is

located at www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning
a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language. Although the
FYIs represent a good faith effort to provide
accurate and complete tax information, the
information is not binding on the Colorado
Department of Revenue, nor does it replace,
alter or supersede Colorado law and regula-
tions. The Executive Director, who by
statute is the only person having authority to
bind the Department, has not formally

reviewed and/or approved these FYTs.
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