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TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI – For Your Information

Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Fuel Tax: (303) 205-8205
www.taxcolorado.com

GENERAL INFORMATION

What is Passenger Mile Tax?

Colorado law requires payment of the
passenger-mile tax when vehicles
designed to carry passengers are operated
for the transportation of passengers for
compensation.

A passenger mile tax account is required
for owners and operators of commercial
vehicles designed for 14 or more
passengers when:

• transporting passengers who operate
intrastate.

• International Fuel Tax Agreement
(IFTA) carriers transporting passengers
interstate.

NOTE:  Passenger mile tax must be
reported in addition to the IFTA report.

A vehicle carrying passengers that makes
two trips or less each month in Colorado
is allowed to pay the tax on a trip-by-trip
basis.  The fee is $25 or the actual tax,
whichever is greater.  The formula used to
calculate the tax is $0.001 x number of
passengers x number of Colorado miles.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES AND
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

You must submit a completed
“Application for Passenger Mile Tax
Account ”(DR 0278).

One license will be issued to each
passenger mile tax account. You are

required to make copies of the license for
each qualified vehicle. Any vehicle subject
to passenger mile tax must have a valid
license in the vehicle at all times.  Failure
to display a copy of the license will subject
the operator to purchase of a trip permit.

The license is valid for the current
calendar year.  The license will be
renewed automatically each year
providing that the account is in good
standing.

EXEMPTIONS

The passenger-mile tax does not apply to
passenger services rendered within the
boundaries of a city, city and county, or
incorporated town by a company engaged
in the mass transportation of people by
buses or trolley coaches.

The passenger-mile tax does not apply
to taxicabs, hotel buses, sightseeing
buses, or limousines operated
exclusively within the boundaries of a
city, city and county, or incorporated
town.

NOTE:  Commercial passenger carriers
operated by public school districts,
churches, boy or girl- scout troops, or
similar organizations are exempt from the
passenger-mile tax if no direct charge is
made for transportation to the user of the
service.

The above exemptions do not apply to
commercial passenger carriers, including
mass transit vehicles, when the vehicles
are operated outside the above-designated
areas.

Passenger Mile Tax
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BOND REQUIREMENTS

A bond will not be required except in
those instances when a licensee fails to
file timely reports, when taxes have not
been remitted or when an examination of
the accounts indicates a financial
guarantee is necessary.  The bond (if
required) must be twice the estimated
average net tax liability for the reporting
period.  This bond is to be determined by
the Department of Revenue.

RECORDKEEPING

A complete record of all trips must be
maintained.  For audit purposes, all
records must be retained for three years
from the due date of the return or date
filed (whichever is later).
Each trip must be recorded with the
following information:

•  date of the trip
•  vehicle identification number (VIN)
•  origin
•  destination
•  miles traveled in Colorado
•  number of passengers
•  number of passenger miles

The passenger mile detail of passenger
buses (DR 0011) should be used to track
this information.  A copy of the DR 0011 is
attached to this FYI.

FILING REQUIREMENTS

The Department of Revenue will send you
a quarterly passenger mile tax return (DR
0133).   This return will be mailed out
near the end of the quarter and is due by
the end of the following month (i.e., the
return for the period of April – June
would be due July 31).

Failure to receive the form does not
relieve you of your legal responsibility to
file the return by the due date. Notify the
department, if for some reason you do not
receive the form.

PORT CLEARANCE

Buses with a passenger capacity of 14 or
less (inclusive of driver) do not have to
stop and clear Colorado Ports of Entry.

Commercially licensed buses with more
than a 14 passenger capacity are not
required to stop and clear provided that
the bus is legally licensed and registered
to operate in the state of Colorado.

NOTE:  This information does not apply
to vehicles registered and used as
recreational vehicles.

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs and commonly used forms are
available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information
concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics
in simple and straightforward language.
Although the FYIs represent a good faith
effort to provide accurate and complete
tax information, the information is not
binding on the Colorado Department of
Revenue, nor does it replace, alter, or
supersede Colorado law and regulations.
The Executive Director, who by statute is
the only person having the authority to
bind the Department, has not formally
reviewed and/or approved these FYIs.



DR 0011  (12/05)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Use this form to calculate your "Passenger Mile Tax" to be entered on line 1 of your Passenger Mile Tax Return
(DR 0133). You must retain this passenger mile detail in your own records and make it available to the Colorado
Department of Revenue upon request.

Instructions-For Each Trip Provide:
1) The Date of the Trip
2) The Vehicle I.D. or Unit Number
3) The Point of Departure
4) The Final Destination (treat each stopping point at which you load or unload passengers as a "Final Destination," even

though you might be continuing on with the same vehicle.)
5) Miles Traveled in Colorado
6) The Number of Passengers

For each trip, multiply the Colorado miles in column 5 times the number of passengers in column 6 to determine the taxable
passenger miles. Enter this figure in column 7. Photocopy this form if additional lines are needed.
Add all the numbers in column 7 to determine the total passenger miles for the reporting period. Enter this number on line 8
at the bottom of this form.

Name

(2)
Vehicle I.D. Number

(1)
Date

(3)
From

(4)
To

(5)
Miles Traveled in

Colorado

(6)
No. of

Passengers

(7)
Passenger Miles

(5) X (6)

Account Number Period

Total Passenger Miles

(Total Passenger Miles) (Passenger Mile Tax)
8) _______________ X $.001 = _____________       Enter this figure on Line 1 of DR 0133

▼

PASSENGER MILE DETAIL BY PASSENGER BUSES
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