
AUTO INDUSTRY DIVISION

Buyer Agent
Application Information

BUYER AGENT DEFINITION
A buyer agent is any person that is retained or
hired by a consumer for a fee or other thing of
value to assist, represent or act on behalf of a
consumer in purchasing or leasing a
motor vehicle. A person whose business
includes the purchase of motor vehicles
primarily for resale or lease (i.e. a motor vehicle
dealer) cannot be a buyer agent.  Any one
having an ownership or financial interest in or
an employment relationship with a dealership
cannot be licensed as a buyer agent.  Licensed
salespersons cannot obtain a buyer agent
license because they receive compensation from
a dealer.  Buyer agents are strictly prohibited
from being employed or receiving any fee from
a dealer.

SUBMITTING APPLICATIONS
Applications may be submitted anytime
throughout the year.  The Auto Industry
Division will review the application and grant
or deny a license based on the fitness of the
applicant and its owners.  Fitness is defined by
state law as relating to criminal, licensing and
financial character or record.   The  decision is
normally made within 30 days of receipt of the
application.  If the license is denied, the appli-
cant will be notified in writing and then may
request an administrative hearing before the Ex-
ecutive Director of the Department of Rev-
enue or his/her designee.

APPLICATION PACKET
The buyer agent application packet may be
obtained by contacting the Auto Industry
Division at (303) 205-5604.  The application
packet includes:
· DR2105  “Buyer Agent License Application”
· CR0100  “Colorado Business Registration”
· FYI - General 14 - “Opening a Business in

Colorado”
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Each application must be completed providing
all information requested and answering each
question.  Note,  it is the business entity that is
applying for the license, not the individual
owner(s).  The license is issued in the name of
the business entity.   The owner, partner,
corporate officer, or LLC manager must sign
each application.

If the applicant is applying as a partnership,
including husband and wife partnerships, the
applicant must provide a copy of the partner-
ship agreement.

If the applicant is a corporation or limited
liability company (LLC), one copy of each
document listed below must be submitted:
· Articles of Incorporation or Organization

with the Secretary of State’s annotation
“Filed Copy” plus ID Number.

· Secretary of State’s Certificate of Incorpo-
ration/Certificate of Authority for foreign
corporation.

· Secretary of State Certificate of Assumed or
Trade Name, If DBA is different than corpo-
rate or company names.

APPLICATION FEES
The license fee is $325 for first time appli-
cants.  Checks may be made payable to the
Colorado Department of Revenue.  This and
other licensing fees are subject to change
on July 1 of each year.

CREDIT BUREAU REPORTS
The Auto Industry Division will obtain a
credit bureau report from Trans Union Corpo-
ration.  This report is a reflection of the
applicant’s financial fitness similar to financial
statements.  Derogatory information on the
credit report, such as bankruptcy, foreclosure,
judgments, liens, charge-offs, repossessions

www.revenue.state.co.us/dlr/home.asp



Page 2 of 2

and collection actions may result in a rejec-
tion of the application.  If there is derogatory
information on the credit report, the appli-
cant must explain or resolve the action.

SURETY BOND REQUIREMENTS
Buyer agents are required to have a $5,000
surety bond.  Applicants must contact an
insurance or bonding company to determine if
they are bondable.  The bond form used must
be approved by the Attorney General’s Office;
most Colorado bonding companies have the
proper form.   The bond must remain in effect
for the same 12 months as the license and may
be continued from year to year.

The bonding company must indicate that the
entity is being bonded as a buyer agent.  Please
ensure that the bonding company has indicated
that the bond is for a buyer agent not a sales-
person or dealer.

The full legal name and DBA of the applicant
must appear on the “principal” line of the bond
as follows:

Individual:
John T. Smith, DBA Smith Motors

Partnership:
John T. Smith and Thomas R. Jones, DBA
Nice Cars

Corporation:
ABC Car Sales, Inc.

Or: ABC Car Sales, Inc., DBA XYZ Car Sales
(if operating under an assumed name).

Limited Liability Company:
ABC Car Sales, LLC

Or: ABC Car Sales, LLC., DBA XYZ Car Sales,
LLC (if operating under an assumed name).

TRADE NAME REGISTRATION
Sole proprieterships and general partnerships
are required to register their trade name (DBA)
with the Department of Revenue on form
DR0592.  Applicants should ensure that no
other business is using the same trade name.
The issuance of a buyer agent’s license by this
office does not grant any exclusive rights to the

trade name.  Buyer agents should guard
against using a trade name that gives the
false impression that they sell motor vehicles.
All other entities, such as corporations and
LLC’s, must register their trade name with
the Colorado Secretary of State.  For addi-
tional information, contact the Secretary of
State at (303) 894-2251.

NEW BUSINESS START-UP
The Department of Revenue’s Taxpayer Service
Division, the Department of Regulatory Agen-
cies and the Federal Small Business Adminis-
tration offer one-stop assistance to persons who
want to start a new business.

The New Business Office is located at the World
Trade Center, 1625 Broadway, Room 805,
Denver.  This office provides assistance and
information in a number of areas including
trade name registration, sales tax licenses,
employee withholding tax, unemployment
insurance, worker’s compensation insurance,
and licenses and permits.  The staff also of-
fers management and financial referral assis-
tance.   Additional information regarding start-
ing a new business is available on FYI General
14 “Opening a Business in Colorado”.

SUBMIT THE APPLICATION PACKET
The application packet may be delivered in
person to 1881 Pierce Street in Lakewood or
mailed to the Auto Industry Division, Denver,
CO  80261-0016.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
If additional information is  required contact the
Auto Industry Division at (303) 205-5604.

Walk-in assistance is provided at the Depart-
ment of Revenue, 1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood.

The FAX number is (303) 205-5977.  The
e-mail address is dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us
for the Auto Industry Division.

The Division’s Internet homepage is located at
www.revenue.state.co.us/dlr/home.asp and
has information and forms available for
consumers, dealers and buyer agents.


