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October 15, 2007 
 
Members of the Colorado General Assembly 
c/o the Office of Legislative Legal Services 
State Capitol Building 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
 
Dear Members of the General Assembly: 
 
The mission of the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) is consumer protection.  As a part of 
the Executive Director’s Office within DORA, the Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
seeks to fulfill its statutorily mandated responsibility to conduct sunset reviews with a focus on 
protecting the health, safety and welfare of all Coloradans. 
 
DORA has completed the evaluation of the functions of the Division of Insurance related to the 
licensing of insurance producers.  I am pleased to submit this written report, which will be the basis 
for my office's oral testimony before the 2008 legislative committee of reference.  The report is 
submitted pursuant to section 24-34-104(8)(a), of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which 
states in part: 
 

The department of regulatory agencies shall conduct an analysis of the 
performance of each division, board or agency or each function scheduled for 
termination under this section... 
 
The department of regulatory agencies shall submit a report and supporting 
materials to the office of legislative legal services no later than October 15 of the 
year preceding the date established for termination… 

 
The report discusses the question of whether the regulatory program provided under Article 1 of Title 
10, C.R.S., serves to protect the public health, safety or welfare.  The report also discusses the 
effectiveness of the Division of Insurance and staff in carrying out the intent of the statutes and 
makes recommendations for statutory changes in the event this regulatory program is continued by 
the General Assembly. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
D. Rico Munn 
Executive Director 
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Executive Summary 

 
Quick Facts 

 
What is Regulated?  Insurance producers, also known 
as insurance agents, solicit, negotiate, deliver, renew 
and sell insurance policies to individual citizens as well 
as businesses in Colorado. 
 
Who is Regulated? In fiscal year 05-06, there were 
100,626 individual insurance producers holding 132,908 
active licenses. 
 
How is it Regulated?  The Colorado Commissioner of 
Insurance (Commissioner) licenses insurance producers 
and approves them to sell various lines of insurance 
(also known as lines of authority), including life, accident 
and health, variable life and variable annuity, property, 
casualty and personal lines.  Depending on the line of 
authority, an insurance producer must complete a 
certain number of hours of pre-licensure, as well as 
continuing, education and pass an examination. 
 
What Does it Cost? In 2007, license fees were: 
 
                                                     New      Renewal 
Resident                                        $52.50     $ 13.50 
Nonresident                                   $93.50    $ 41.50 
Resident Surplus Lines                $269       $269 
Nonresident Surplus Lines           $409       $409 
 
What Disciplinary Activity is There?  Between fiscal 
years 01-02 and 05-06, the Commissioner’s disciplinary 
proceedings with respect to insurance producers 
consisted of: 
 
Complaints Filed                       1,915 
Revocations                                 125 
Suspensions                                506 
 
Where Do I Get the Full Report?  The full sunset 
review can be found on the internet at: 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm
 

Key Recommendations 
 
Continue the regulation of insurance 
producers for 11 years, until 2019. 
The relatively low number of consumer 
complaints filed against insurance producers 
can be attributable to the comprehensive 
requirements insurance producers must satisfy 
prior to selling insurance products in Colorado, 
as well as the various sections within the 
Division of Insurance that actively investigate 
potential issues and complaints.  The 
comprehensive regulation of insurance 
producers serves to insulate consumers from 
potential harm regarding insurance products.  As 
a result, the regulation of insurance producers 
should be continued for 11 years, until 2019. 
 
Allow insurance producers to obtain a crop 
hail line of authority in Colorado. 
Colorado law authorized the sale of crop hail 
insurance until 2001, at which time Colorado 
statutes were amended to repeal this line of 
authority in compliance with an effort to remain 
consistent with recommendations made by the 
National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners’ Producer Licensing Working 
Group (PLWG).  Since that time, however, the 
PLWG has reversed itself and now recommends 
reauthorizing the crop hail line of authority.  
 
Repeal the statutory provision requiring the 
Commissioner to reject the registration of 
any name that is similar to another currently 
on file. 
The Commissioner is responsible for ensuring 
that no insurance producer sells insurance under 
a trade name that is similar to the trade name 
used by any other insurance producer.  Since the 
Office of the Colorado Secretary of State 
registers trade names, and thereby ensures that 
no two trade names are deceptively similar, the 
requirement that the Commissioner perform the 
same function is unnecessarily duplicative, and 
should be repealed. 
 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm


 

 

…Key Recommendations Continued 
 
Require insurance producers who have their licenses revoked or who surrender their licenses to wait 
two years before applying for new licenses. 
Revocation proceedings can be lengthy and expensive and are typically undertaken only when the alleged 
conduct is so egregious that the licensee must be removed from practice in order to protect the public.  
However, the insurance statutes make no provision for an individual who has had an insurance producer 
license revoked to wait to apply for a new license.  This not only poses a risk to the public, but also requires 
the Commissioner to incur additional expenses in processing the new application and, if it is denied and 
appealed, additional legal expenses. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Major Contacts Made During This Review 
Colorado Association of Health Plans 

Division of Insurance  
Producer Advisory Council members 

Professional Independent Insurance Agents of Colorado 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What is a Sunset Review? 
A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine 
whether or not they should be continued by the legislature.  Sunset reviews focus on creating the 
least restrictive form of regulation consistent with protecting the public.  In formulating 
recommendations, sunset reviews consider the public's right to consistent, high quality professional 
or occupational services and the ability of businesses to exist and thrive in a competitive market, free 
from unnecessary regulation. 
 

Sunset Reviews are Prepared by: 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 

Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550, Denver, CO 80202 

www.dora.state.co.us/opr
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BBaacckkggrroouunndd  
 

TThhee  SSuunnsseett  PPrroocceessss  
 
Regulation, when appropriate, can serve as a bulwark of consumer 
protection.  Regulatory programs can be designed to impact individual 
professionals, businesses or both.   
 
As regulatory programs relate to individual professionals, such programs 
typically entail the establishment of minimum standards for initial entry and 
continued participation in a given profession or occupation.  This serves to 
protect the public from incompetent practitioners.  Similarly, such programs 
provide a vehicle for limiting or removing from practice those practitioners 
deemed to have harmed the public. 
 
From a practitioner perspective, regulation can lead to increased prestige and 
higher income.  Accordingly, regulatory programs are often championed by 
those who will be the subject of regulation. 
 
On the other hand, by erecting barriers to entry into a given profession or 
occupation, even when justified, regulation can serve to restrict the supply of 
practitioners.  This not only limits consumer choice, but can also lead to an 
increase in the cost of services. 
 
There are also several levels of regulation.  Licensure is the most restrictive 
form of regulation, yet it provides the greatest level of public protection.  
Licensing programs typically involve the completion of a prescribed 
educational program (usually college level or higher) and the passage of an 
examination that is designed to measure a minimal level of competency.  
These types of programs usually entail title protection – only those individuals 
who are properly licensed may use a particular title(s) – and practice 
exclusivity – only those individuals who are properly licensed may engage in 
the particular practice.  While these requirements can be viewed as barriers 
to entry, they also afford the highest level of consumer protection in that they 
ensure that only those who are deemed competent may practice and the 
public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Certification programs offer a level of consumer protection similar to licensing 
programs, but the barriers to entry are generally lower.  The required 
educational program may be more vocational in nature, but the required 
examination should still measure a minimal level of competency.  Additionally, 
certification programs typically involve a non-governmental entity that 
establishes the training requirements and owns and administers the 
examination.  State certification is made conditional upon the individual 
practitioner obtaining and maintaining the relevant private credential.  These 
types of programs also usually entail title protection and practice exclusivity.  
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While the aforementioned requirements can still be viewed as barriers to 
entry, they afford a level of consumer protection that is lower than a licensing 
program.  They ensure that only those who are deemed competent may 
practice and the public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) 
used. 
 
Registration programs can serve to protect the public with minimal barriers to 
entry.  A typical registration program involves an individual satisfying certain 
prescribed requirements – typically non-practice related items, such as 
insurance or the use of a disclosure form – and the state, in turn, placing that 
individual on the pertinent registry.  These types of programs can entail title 
protection and practice exclusivity.  Since the barriers to entry in registration 
programs are relatively low, registration programs are generally best suited to 
those professions and occupations where the risk of public harm is relatively 
low, but nevertheless present.  In short, registration programs serve to notify 
the state of which individuals are engaging in the relevant practice and to 
notify the public of those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Finally, title protection programs represent one of the lowest levels of 
regulation.  Only those who satisfy certain prescribed requirements may use 
the relevant prescribed title(s).  Practitioners need not register or otherwise 
notify the state that they are engaging in the relevant practice, and practice 
exclusivity does not attach.  In other words, anyone may engage in the 
particular practice, but only those who satisfy the prescribed requirements 
may use the enumerated title(s).  This serves to indirectly ensure a minimal 
level of competency – depending upon the prescribed preconditions for use of 
the protected title(s) – and the public is alerted to the qualifications of those 
who may use the particular title(s). 
 
Licensing, certification and registration programs also typically involve some 
kind of mechanism for removing individuals from practice when such 
individuals engage in enumerated proscribed activities.  This is generally not 
the case with title protection programs. 
 
As regulatory programs relate to businesses, they can enhance public 
protection, promote stability and preserve profitability.  But they can also 
reduce competition and place administrative burdens on the regulated 
businesses. 
 
Regulatory programs that address businesses can involve certain capital, 
bookkeeping and other recordkeeping requirements that are meant to ensure 
financial solvency and responsibility, as well as accountability. Initially, these 
requirements may serve as barriers to entry, thereby limiting competition.  On 
an ongoing basis, the cost of complying with these requirements may lead to 
greater administrative costs for the regulated entity, which costs are ultimately 
passed on to consumers.   
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Many programs that regulate businesses involve examinations and audits of 
finances and other records, which are intended to ensure that the relevant 
businesses continue to comply with these initial requirements.  Although 
intended to enhance public protection, these measures, too, involve costs of 
compliance. 
 
Similarly, many regulated businesses may be subject to physical inspections 
to ensure compliance with health and safety standards.   
 
Regulation, then, has many positive and potentially negative consequences.   
 
The regulatory functions of the Division of Insurance (DOI) with respect to 
insurance producer licensing, in accordance with Article 1 of Title 10, 
Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), shall terminate on July 1, 2008, unless 
continued by the General Assembly.  During the year prior to this date, it is 
the duty of the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) to conduct an 
analysis and evaluation of the DOI related to the licensing of insurance 
producers pursuant to section 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
 
The purpose of this review is to determine whether the currently prescribed 
regulation should be continued for the protection of the public and to evaluate 
the performance of the DOI in relation to the regulation of insurance 
producers.  During this review, the DOI must demonstrate that the regulation 
serves to protect the public health, safety or welfare, and that the regulation is 
the least restrictive regulation consistent with protecting the public.  DORA’s 
findings and recommendations are submitted via this report to the legislative 
committee of reference of the Colorado General Assembly.  Statutory criteria 
used in sunset reviews may be found in Appendix A on page 28. 
 
 

MMeetthhooddoollooggyy  
 
As part of this review, DORA staff attended Producer Advisory Council 
meetings, interviewed DOI staff, reviewed DOI records including complaint 
and disciplinary actions, interviewed officials with state and national 
professional associations, interviewed insurance producers, reviewed 
Colorado statutes and DOI rules, and reviewed the laws of other states. 
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PPrrooffiillee  ooff  tthhee  IInndduussttrryy  
 
The DOI is charged with regulating the entire insurance industry in Colorado.  
This is a daunting task, considering the tremendous volume and complexity of 
insurance products available to consumers.  Additionally, the DOI is also 
responsible for regulating insurance carriers (companies), which includes 
licensing, discipline, market conduct examinations, etc. Due to the fact that 
regulating the insurance industry is broad, complex and expansive, the scope 
of this sunset review is limited to an analysis of the functions of the DOI 
related to the licensing of insurance producers.  
 
Insurance producers are charged with soliciting, negotiating, delivering, 
renewing and selling insurance policies to individual citizens as well as 
businesses in Colorado.  In order to offer insurance products, insurance 
producers are required to obtain a license from the DOI, and that license must 
remain in good standing. 
 
The DOI monitors, imposes disciplinary actions and resolves complaints 
related to insurance producers.  The DOI regulates insurance producers to 
serve the public interest in the following areas:1
 

• Providing a prompt, effective complaint resolution process for Colorado 
consumers; 

• Providing prompt and effective service and education to Colorado 
consumers, the public, and regulated entities; 

• Promoting and preserving a sound, competitive insurance marketplace 
through effective state regulation; 

• Promoting access to affordable insurance that allows for adequate 
consumer choice; 

• Promoting and developing more streamlined, uniform, and efficient 
regulatory processes; and 

• Ensuring that management systems are in place to operate the DOI 
efficiently and effectively. 

 
Additionally, the Commissioner of Insurance (Commissioner) is responsible 
for ensuring that the business of insurance is conducted in accordance with 
the laws of the state.  Section 10-1-108(7), C.R.S., describes the 
Commissioner’s duties: 
 

It is the duty and responsibility of the Commissioner to supervise 
the business of insurance in the state to assure that it is 
conducted in accordance with laws of this state and in such a 
manner as to protect policyholders and the general public. 

                                            
1 Colorado Division of Insurance, About the Division, retrieved June 19, 2007, from 
www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/about/About1.html 
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Insurance Lines of Authority 
 
Insurance producers may sell multiple lines of insurance, which requires them 
to hold a separate line of authority (license) for each line sold.  Currently, 
there are 14 lines of authority in Colorado.   
 
Additionally, the lines of authority are divided into two categories:  major and 
limited.  Major lines of authority are more commonly purchased insurance 
products, while limited lines of authority are not as widely held by either 
businesses or the general public.  In Colorado, the major lines of authority 
include: 
 

• Life; 
• Accident and health; 
• Variable life and variable annuity; 
• Property; 
• Casualty; and 
• Personal lines. 

 
Insurance producers possessing a life insurance line of authority may offer 
various products to their clients, including: 
 

• Term life insurance; 
• Universal life insurance; and 
• Whole life insurance. 

 
Term life insurance offers protection for consumers for a specified period of 
time, usually 1 to 30 years, or until a specified age.   
 
Universal life insurance offers the consumer flexibility when choosing the 
amount of insurance to be purchased as well as the payment of the premium.  
Within a universal life insurance policy, the consumer, as his or her needs 
change, may adjust the amount of coverage and the premium paid.   
 
Whole life insurance provides a guaranteed death benefit for the insured’s 
entire life, unlike term life insurance, which provides coverage for a specified 
period.   
 
Additionally, accident and health insurance is coverage for sickness, bodily 
injury, or accidental death.2  In other words, accident and health insurance 
covers a person’s medical expenses if he or she is sick or injured. 
 

                                            
2 § 10-2-407(1)(b), C.R.S. 
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Variable life insurance provides death benefits and cash values that vary in 
accordance with the performance of a selected investment portfolio.3  In order 
to possess a variable life insurance license in Colorado, an insurance 
producer must possess a life insurance line of authority as well as an active 
securities license, which must be registered with the National Association of 
Securities Dealers by passing one of three securities examinations (6, 63 or 
7).  If an insurance producer possesses both the Colorado life insurance line 
of authority and an active securities license, he or she is eligible to receive a 
variable life insurance line of authority. 
 
Variable annuity products are often complex investment vehicles and can 
provide a stream of income for a long period of time.  As a result, annuities 
are mainly used for retirement income, although they can be used to assist in 
paying for a child’s college tuition, creating a trust fund, or providing income 
for a surviving spouse. 
 
Property insurance coverage is for the direct or consequential loss or damage 
to property of every kind.4  Property insurance includes fire insurance, flood 
insurance, earthquake insurance and home insurance. 
 
Casualty insurance coverage protects the insured against legal liability, 
including for death, injury, or disability or damage to real or personal 
property.5  Otherwise stated, casualty insurance provides the insured 
coverage for unforeseen accidents, which may include auto liability insurance 
for car accidents. 
  
Personal line insurance is the final major line of authority available to 
Colorado residents.  Personal line insurance includes property and casualty 
insurance sold to individuals and families primarily for noncommercial 
purposes.6
 
There are also a variety of limited lines of insurance available to Colorado 
residents.  Available limited lines of insurance include: 
 

• Credit insurance; 
• Title insurance; 
• Bail bond; 
• Travel ticket;  
• Surplus; 
• Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO) and nonprofit hospital; and 
• Crop hail. 

 

                                            
3 Variable Universal Life Insurance:  Is it Worth it?  Retrieved June 29, 2007, from 
http://www.consumerfed.org/pdfs/VULReport0203.pdf 
4 § 10-2-407(1)(d), C.R.S. 
5 § 10-2-407(1)(e), C.R.S. 
6 § 10-2-407(1)(n), C.R.S. 

 

 6



 
Credit insurance is purchased on a debtor to provide indemnity for a loan 
balance if the debtor is unable to repay the loan due to income loss.  
Otherwise stated, credit insurance protects the debtor by repaying the loan if 
the debtor experiences an unexpected loss of income (e.g., if a debtor is laid 
off from his or her job).   
 
Title insurance is a policy that protects a buyer against errors or omissions or 
defects in the title of real property.7  Title insurance also protects buyers from 
undisclosed or unseen defects in the property. 
 
There are three types of bail bonding agents in Colorado, including:   
 

• Surety bond agents; 
• Professional cash bond agents; and 
• Cash bonding agents.  

 
Surety bond agents issue bonds on behalf of one or more surety companies.   
 
Professional cash bond agents furnish bail for compensation in any court or 
courts in Colorado in connection with judicial proceedings. Professional cash 
bond agents are not eligible to be full-time salaried officers or employees of 
an insurer.8
 
Cash bonding agents provide bail for compensation; however, cash bonding 
agents are not employed by surety companies.   
 
The information related to insurance producers will not include bail bonding 
agents for the remainder of this report.  Due to the complexity of the bail 
bonding industry, the DOI’s licensing of bail bonding agents receives its own 
sunset review, which is scheduled for 2012.  
 
Travel ticket insurance protects the insured on vacations from unexpected or 
unforeseen circumstances, including, but not limited to, lost luggage and trip 
cancellations.   
 

                                            
7 Financial terms glossary, Denver Real Estate, retrieved June 19, 2007, from 
http://www.kristalsellsdenver.com/finance_glossary.htm 
8 § 10-12-101(7), C.R.S. 
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Surplus lines of insurance cover unusual risks or exposures that traditional 
(major lines of authority) do not cover.  Examples of surplus lines include, but 
are not limited to:9
 

• A developer re-building homes and businesses in a hurricane-prone 
area; 

• A sports celebrity who wants to insure his or her legs or hands; 
• A school district building a new school; 
• A nonprofit that seeks to provide food, medical care and education in 

developing countries;  
• A research lab working on a promising, yet unproven, new drug; and  
• A law firm specializing in intellectual property work. 

 
Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO) and nonprofit hospital lines of 
authority cover the solicitation of membership in a health maintenance 
organization or nonprofit hospital, medical-surgical or health service.10  
Effective January 2002, the HMO and nonprofit hospital lines of authority are 
no longer issued in Colorado. However, existing licenses may be renewed 
until the licensee fails to meet the continuing education requirements.11

 
Crop hail is insurance coverage that includes planted and growing crops.  
Crop hail coverage insures against the loss of agricultural production or 
income due to specified or multiple perils (e.g., changes in market prices) or 
weather events.  Effective January 2002, crop hail licenses are no longer 
issued in Colorado; however, existing licenses may be renewed by the DOI. 
 
Colorado, specifically the DOI, no longer issues HMO, nonprofit hospital and 
crop hail lines of authority. The National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners (NAIC) Producer Licensing Working Group (PLWG) was 
created to address reciprocity or uniformity within the states that agreed to 
participate in the reciprocity agreement.  The PLWG recommended 
discontinuing the aforementioned lines of authority in order to eliminate lines 
of authority that were not being utilized.  
 
As a result, the PLWG recommended that states that were issuing the HMO, 
nonprofit hospital and crop hail lines of authority discontinue doing so.  In 
order to remain reciprocal with other states participating in the reciprocity 
agreement, a law was passed in Colorado to discontinue issuing new licenses 
for these lines of authority. 
 
 

                                            
9 National Association of Professional Surplus Lines Offices, Ltd., What is Surplus Lines?  Retrieved 
June 20, 2007, from http://www.napslo.org/content/Careers/WhatisSurplusLines_/surpluslines.htm 
10 DOI.  Regulation 1-2-10 § 9(A). 
11 DOI.  Regulation 1-2-10 § 9(B). 
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HHiissttoorryy  ooff  RReegguullaattiioonn  
 
Colorado began regulating insurance through the State Auditor’s Office in 
1883.  The Colorado Department of Insurance was formed in 1913, in 
response to widespread growth in the industry.  In the mid-1960s, the 
Insurance Department became part of DORA as the Division of Insurance 
(DOI).  The head of the DOI is the Commissioner of Insurance, who is 
appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.12

 
In 1999, the U.S. Congress enacted the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (GLBA).  
The GLBA repealed Depression-era restrictions against affiliations between 
banks, insurance companies and securities firms, while affirming the 
functional regulation of insurance by the states.  The GLBA also contained 
provisions requiring the states to achieve reciprocity or uniformity as it relates 
to insurance producer licensing, including continuing education requirements, 
effective November 12, 2002, or face the pre-emption of non-resident 
licensing by the National Association of Registered Agents and Brokers. 
 
Since the passage of the GLBA, the NAIC has focused on responding to the 
call for increased uniformity as it relates to the regulation of insurance by the 
states. The NAIC also assists states in meeting the deadlines established in 
the GLBA as it relates to producer licensing, as well as in creating the 
standards for uniformity in company and producer licensing.   
 
In 2002, Colorado adopted the NAIC’s Producer Licensing Model Act (Act).  
One of the purposes for adopting the Act was to ensure that Colorado 
remained reciprocal with other states’ insurance producer requirements.   
 

                                            
12 Colo. Const. Art. IV, § 23. 
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LLeeggaall  FFrraammeewwoorrkk  
 

State statutes and the rules promulgated thereunder by the Division of 
Insurance (DOI) govern insurance producers in Colorado.  Specifically, Article 
2 of Title 10, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), contains the statutory 
directives for the licensing of insurance producers in Colorado.  The 11 parts 
that comprise Article 2 include: 
 

• General; 
• Prelicensure education; 
• Continuing education; 
• Licensing and appointment of insurance producers;  
• Nonresident licenses; 
• Banks and bank holding companies; 
• Business conduct of licensees; 
• Disciplinary actions; 
• Reinsurance intermediary model act; 
• Managing general agents act; and 
• Effective date - applicability. 

 
Part 1 defines the role of the Commissioner of Insurance (Commissioner) in 
promulgating insurance producer rules, as well as the administration of the 
remainder of the insurance Producer Licensing Model Act.  Part 1 also 
outlines the specific characteristics that exempt insurance employees from 
being defined as insurance producers, including:13

 
Any employee of an insurance company, including an insurance 
producer, who is engaged in the performance of usual or 
customary executive, administrative, or clerical duties, which do 
not include the negotiation or solicitation of insurance and do not 
receive a commission. 

 
Additionally, Part 2 addresses the prelicensure education requirements for 
insurance producers in Colorado.  Prelicensure education must be completed 
as a condition of initial licensure for candidates who attempt to obtain life, 
sickness and accident, or property and casualty lines of authority.14  In order 
to be eligible to take an insurance producer written examination in Colorado, 
a candidate must complete prelicensure education requirements for the 
aforementioned lines of authority.   
 

                                            
13 § 10-2-105(2)(a), C.R.S. 
14 § 10-2-201(1)(a), C.R.S. 
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Prelicensure education is not required in the following circumstances:15

 
• A candidate is applying to reinstate a canceled or expired resident 

insurance producer license in Colorado when his or her license has 
been inactive for one year or less; 

• A candidate is applying for a temporary license; 
• A candidate who is applying for a resident license in Colorado was 

previously licensed in his or her former resident state, and has 
completed or satisfied prelicensure education as required by his or her 
domiciled state; and 

• A candidate applying for a non-resident license in Colorado holds a 
line or lines of authority in his or her home state. 

 
Part 3 addresses the continuing education requirements for insurance 
producers in Colorado.  Insurance producers in Colorado are required to 
complete up to 24 hours of continuing education instruction by attending such 
courses or programs of instruction as may be approved by the 
Commissioner.16  At least three of the 24 hours of continuing education must 
be courses in ethics.17  It is the responsibility of the insurance producer to 
maintain records sufficient to document successful completion of 24 hours on 
a biennial basis.18  Supporting documents must be:19

 
• Maintained by the producer for five years following license 

continuation; and 
• Available for audit by the DOI or the continuing education 

administrator. 
 
Part 4 requires insurance producers to possess a valid Colorado license in 
order to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance products.20  Prior to receiving a 
license in Colorado, insurance producer candidates are required to pass a 
written examination.21  The examination fee, as outlined in DOI rule, is $73.22

 

                                            
15 § 10-2-202(1), C.R.S. 
16 § 10-2-301(1), C.R.S. 
17 § 10-2-301(1), C.R.S. 
18 DOI Regulation 1-2-4 § 5(A). 
19 DOI Regulation 1-2-4 § 5(D)(2)(b). 
20 § 10-2-401(1), C.R.S. 
21 § 10-2-402(1), C.R.S. 
22 Division of Insurance.  DOI Regulation 1-2-10 § 12. 
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A candidate must also complete a resident insurance producer application 
verifying a number of issues, including, but not limited to:23  
 

• The candidate is at least 18 years of age; 
• The candidate has not committed any act which is grounds for denial, 

suspension, or revocation; and 
• The candidate is a resident of Colorado or is a resident of another 

state and his or her insurance producer license is in good standing. 
 
Part 5 contains the provisions governing non-resident licenses.  A non-
resident insurance producer may be issued a license to sell insurance 
products, excluding bail bonding agents, if he or she meets the following 
criteria:24

 
• Maintains a license in good standing in the person’s home state; 
• Holds a similar license that is awarded on the same basis in the non-

resident’s home state and for the same line or lines of authority applied 
for in Colorado; 

• Submits the proper request for licensure and has paid the appropriate 
fees; 

• Files with the Commissioner a current certification of license status; 
and 

• Submits or transmits to the Commissioner the application for licensure 
that the person submitted to his or her home state, or in lieu of the 
application, a completed uniform application. 

 
Part 6 contains the provisions for prohibiting misleading advertising regarding 
the sale of insurance products.  Specifically, Part 6 prohibits financial 
institutions, or any subsidiary, affiliate, or employee of a financial institution 
from issuing advertising that would lead a reasonable person to believe that 
the State of Colorado or the federal government:25

 
• Is responsible for insurance sales activities of the financial institution 

or any subsidiary, affiliate or employee thereof;  
• Guarantees any return on insurance products or is a source of 

payment of any insurance obligations sold by the financial institution or 
any subsidiary, affiliate or employee thereof. 

 

                                            
23 § 10-2-404(1), C.R.S. 
24 § 10-2-502(1), C.R.S. 
25 § 10-2-605(1), C.R.S. 
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Part 7 outlines the business conduct for insurance producers.  Specifically, 
Part 7 requires any insurance producer using an assumed name, including 
without limitation, a trade or fictitious name, under which the insurance 
producer conducts business to register the name with the Commissioner prior 
to using the assumed name.26  Producers must provide written notice to the 
Commissioner of any change in or discontinuance of the use of any name.27

 
Part 8 contains the provisions for disciplinary actions against insurance 
producers in Colorado.  An insurance producer may have his or her license 
suspended, revoked, refused to continue or renewed for any of the following 
reasons:28

 
• Any incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or materially untrue information 

in the license application; 
• Any cause for which issuance of the license could have been refused 

had it then existed and been known to the Commissioner at the time of 
issuance; 

• Violation of, or noncompliance with, any insurance law, or violation of 
any lawful rule, order, or subpoena of the Commissioner at the time of 
issuance; 

• Obtaining or attempting to obtain any such license through 
misrepresentation or fraud; 

• Improperly withholding, misappropriating, or converting to the 
licensee’s or applicant’s own use any moneys or property belonging to 
policyholders, insurers, beneficiaries, or others received in the course 
of the business of insurance; 

• Misrepresentation of the terms of any actual or proposed insurance 
contract or application for insurance; 

• Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; 
• Commission of any unfair trade practice or fraud; 
• The use of fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices or 

demonstrating incompetence, untrustworthiness, or financial 
irresponsibility in Colorado or elsewhere; 

• Suspension, revocation, or denial of an insurance license in any other 
state, province, district, or territory; 

• Forgery of another’s name to an application for insurance to any 
document related to an insurance transaction; 

• Cheating on an examination, including, but not limited to, improperly 
using notes or any other reference material to complete an 
examination; 

• Failure to fully meet licensing requirements; 
• Knowingly accepting insurance business from a person who is not 

licensed; 

                                            
26 § 10-2-701, C.R.S. 
27 DOI.  Regulation 1-2-10 § 8. 
28 § 10-2-801(1), C.R.S. 
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• Failing to comply with an administrative or court order imposing a child 

support obligation; or 
• Failing to pay state income tax or comply with any administrative or 

court order directing payment of state income tax. 
 
Part 9 contains the Reinsurance Intermediary Act, which outlines the 
pretenses under which a reinsurance producer may sell insurance in 
Colorado.  The Reinsurance Intermediary Act also requires that the 
reinsurance producer possess an active insurance producer license prior to 
selling reinsurance products. 
 
Part 10 contains the Managing General Agents Act, which outlines the 
licensure requirements for Managing General Agents (MGA) in Colorado. An 
MGA is a person, firm, association or corporation who negotiates and binds 
ceding reinsurance contracts on behalf of an insurer or manages all or part of 
the insurance business of an insurer.29

 
The licensure requirements for MGAs in Colorado are as follows:30  
 

• The Commissioner requires that only licensed insurance producers in 
Colorado are permitted to act in the capacity of an MGA; 

• The Commissioner requires that no person, firm, association or 
corporation may act in the capacity of an MGA representing an insurer 
domiciled in Colorado with respect to risks located outside Colorado 
unless such person is licensed as an insurance producer in Colorado;    

• The Commissioner may require a bond in an amount acceptable to the 
Commissioner for the protection of the insurer; and 

• The Commissioner may require the MGA to maintain an errors and 
omissions policy.  

 
Finally, Part 11 requires insurance producers to renew existing licenses upon 
expiration.  Specifically, Part 11 requires the Commissioner to determine the 
timeframe in which a license must be renewed in Colorado.  
 
Insurance producer licenses are: 

 
subject to payment of a continuation fee by the last day of the 
producer’s birth month during the second year after issuance of 
the license and then by the last day of the producer’s birth month 
every two years thereafter.31

 
 
 
 
                                            
29 § 10-2-1002(2)(a), C.R.S. 
30 § 10-2-1003(1), C.R.S. 
31 DOI Regulation 1-2-10 § 5(B). 
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PPrrooggrraamm  DDeessccrriippttiioonn  aanndd  AAddmmiinniissttrraattiioonn  
 
The Division of Insurance (DOI) is responsible for a broad range of 
compliance-related activities concerning the insurance industry in Colorado.  
Specifically related to the regulation of insurance producers, there are four 
sections that actively regulate insurance producers: 
 

• Compliance; 
• Investigations; 
• Licensing; and 
• Consumer Affairs. 

 
The Compliance Section is charged with ensuring that all regulated entities 
are in compliance with all insurance laws.  This section analyzes and applies 
insurance laws, identifies and analyzes legal and policy issues and develops 
strategies for addressing compliance issues.  Additionally, the Compliance 
Section: 

 
• Monitors the marketplace to identify new or emerging trends related to 

insurance issues; and 
• Acts as a resource for market conduct investigations. 

 
The Investigations Section is responsible for investigating alleged violations of 
the insurance statutes by insurance producers.  The Investigations Section’s 
scope of responsibilities includes: 
 

• Collecting evidence against a suspected violator; 
• Contacting witnesses; 
• Conducting interviews; and  
• Taking written statements from alleged victims. 

 
Upon receiving and analyzing information collected, the Investigations 
Section prepares cases that are referred to the Attorney General’s Office, 
Business and Licensing Section for further action, or negotiates stipulated 
agreements.  For example, the Investigations Section could settle a violation 
with an insurance producer by imposing a fine, revoking an insurance 
producer license or suspending the insurance producer’s license. 
 
The Licensing Section monitors all aspects of insurance producer licensing in 
Colorado, including ensuring that individuals who are attempting to secure an 
insurance producer license in Colorado complete the appropriate 
requirements.   
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Finally, the Consumer Affairs Section is responsible for fielding inquiries and 
complaints from consumers regarding insurance issues.  The Consumer 
Affairs Section handles a large volume of requests from a variety of sources, 
including: 
 

• Individual consumers; 
• Employers; 
• Insurance producers (agents and brokers); and  
• Companies concerned about competitors. 

 
Insurance producers are required to obtain a license for each line of authority 
they choose to possess.  Currently, the DOI regulates 132,908 insurance 
licenses (56,715 resident and 76,193 non-resident), representing all lines of 
authority in Colorado.  Individuals may possess more than one insurance 
license; there are 100,626 individual licensed insurance producers in 
Colorado.  In order to be eligible to solicit and sell insurance products in 
Colorado, an individual must satisfy a variety of requirements prior to 
receiving a license.       
 
 

LLiicceennssiinngg  
 
There are several criteria an individual must satisfy prior to obtaining an 
insurance producer license (and ultimately selling insurance products): 
 

• Completing prelicensure education; 
• Obtaining a license to sell insurance products in Colorado; and  
• Completing continuing education credits.   

 
Prelicensure Education  
 
All applicants for a major line(s) of authority including life, health, property, 
casualty or personal lines of authority are required to fulfill the prelicensure 
requirements prescribed by the DOI.  
 
Prelicensure education was established to provide a baseline level of 
competency for insurance producers prior to selling products.  Specific 
exemptions to required prelicensure education apply to insurance producers 
who wish to apply for reinstatement of an expired or canceled existing 
insurance producer license if the license has been inactive for less than one 
year.  Also, a prospective insurance producer may be extended an exemption 
from the prelicensure education requirement if he or she is applying for a 
temporary license.  A temporary license can be used for no more than 180 
days in Colorado.  An insurance producer who was previously licensed in 
another state and completed the prelicensure requirements is not required to 
complete the prelicensure education requirement prior to receiving a license. 
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All individuals interested in obtaining a resident insurance producer major line 
of authority (excluding variable life and variable annuity) must satisfactorily 
complete the prelicensure education requirements prior to taking the licensing 
examination.  Prelicensure education requirements are divided into two 
categories:  Basic and Specific lines of authority.  Basic prelicensure 
education requirements include:32

 
• Three hours of Principles of Insurance; 
• Four hours of Legal Concepts and Regulations; and  
• Three hours of Ethics. 

 
It is important to note that individuals applying for more than one major line of 
authority only need to fulfill the aforementioned requirements once.33

 
In addition to the basic prelicensure education requirements outlined above, 
an individual who is moving forward in his or her completion of the required 
prelicensure education requirements must complete an additional set of hours 
for each line of authority.  The additional hours are as follows:34

 
• Life insurance – 40 hours; 
• Health insurance – 40 hours; 
• Property insurance – 20 hours; 
• Casualty insurance – 20 hours; and 
• Personal lines insurance – 10 hours. 

 
Prelicensure education can be fulfilled in a variety of ways in Colorado:35

 
• Completion of a baccalaureate degree program with a major in 

insurance from an accredited university or college; 
• Professional designation through a recognized course of study, i.e., 

Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), Chartered Property Casualty 
Underwriter (CPCU), etc.; 

• Completion of a full-time prelicensure education program operated by 
a qualified domestic company with a qualified home office located in 
Colorado;  

• Completion of approved courses or programs; or 
• Completion of a prelicensure course in the former state of licensure if 

entering Colorado on a letter of clearance. 
 

                                            
32 State of Colorado, Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook, p.4 (January 2007). 
33 DOI Regulation 1-2-5 § 3. 
34 State of Colorado, Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook, p.4 (January 2007). 
35 DOI Regulation 1-2-5 § 4. 
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Individuals who are new residents to Colorado and have an insurance 
producer license from another state can send a letter of clearance to the DOI.  
A letter of clearance is used for the purpose of terminating an insurance 
producer’s resident producer license in one state and applying for a new 
resident license in a new state.36   
 
Prelicensure education and programs are subject to certification by the 
Commissioner of Insurance (Commissioner).  Any full-time program of 
prelicensure education operated by an insurance company with a qualified 
home office located in Colorado is not required to submit courses for review 
and certification by the Commissioner.37  However, all other prelicensure 
education courses must be submitted to the Commissioner for approval.  
Requests must include a Program of Training Approval Request Form in 
addition to the following information:38

 
• Course or program outline showing individual topic(s) to be covered 

and hours to be satisfied; 
• Copies of all proposed study materials.  Publicly published text or other 

study materials require submission of the title, edition date, publisher, 
and authority.  The DOI may request the text of other materials, as 
necessary; 

• Instructor qualifications; 
• Method of measuring satisfactory completion; and 
• Payment of a nonrefundable fee, currently $20. 

 
Once approved, a course may be offered for five years without additional 
notice to the DOI so long as the course content is not materially changed, 
except to reflect changes in the insurance laws.   
 
Additionally, Colorado, as well as a number of other states, participates in a 
reciprocal agreement.  If an applicant has an insurance producer license from 
one state that is a party to the agreement, the applicant does not have to take 
additional classes in order to obtain an insurance producer license in 
Colorado.   
 
If, however, prelicensure training is not required by the applicant’s home state 
and the applicant has been licensed in another state less than one year, he or 
she is required to complete Colorado’s prelicensure education requirements.   
 
An individual who is licensed in any of the 50 states or the District of 
Columbia or U.S. Virgin Islands for more than a year is exempt from 
Colorado’s prelicensure education requirements.39   
 
                                            
36 Colorado Division of Insurance.  Request for Letter of Clearance.   
37 DOI Regulation 1-2-5 § 6. 
38 DOI Regulation 1-2-5 § 6. 
39 State of Colorado, Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook, p. 4 (January 2007). 
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Upon completing the prelicensure education requirements, an individual is 
eligible to pursue state licensure to sell insurance products to consumers.  
Prospective insurance producers must pass a written examination, which is 
administered by Promissor, an examination services vendor, and pay a $73-
fee. 
 
Appendices B and C beginning on page 29, illustrate the number of insurance 
licenses (resident and non-resident) for each line of authority in Colorado for 
fiscal years 01-02 through 05-06.   
 
 

EExxaammiinnaattiioonnss  
 
Examinations to obtain an insurance producer license in Colorado were 
developed by DOI staff in conjunction with Promissor.  Development teams 
consisted of DOI staff, industry personnel, and examination developers 
employed by Promissor.  Each major line of authority examination consists of 
two parts:  basic insurance product knowledge and insurance laws, rules, 
regulations and practices that are unique to Colorado.40  
 
Limited lines of authority examinations are also administered in Colorado.  
The length and format of the limited lines of authority examinations vary, but 
they are usually one-part examinations covering both product knowledge and 
state laws, rules and regulations.41

 
DOI contracts with Promissor to administer the insurance producer 
examinations.  Additionally, prior to taking the examination, an individual must 
complete an application and pay the $73-fee.  Once the applicable fees have 
been paid, an individual must reserve a time to take the examination.  The 
examination is offered Monday through Friday at various sites located 
throughout the state. Currently there are seven test locations, including:42

 
• Durango; 
• Colorado Springs; 
• Denver/Greenwood Village; 
• Greeley; 
• Grand Junction; 
• Pueblo; and 
• Denver/Wheat Ridge. 

 

                                            
40 State of Colorado, Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook, p.11 (January 2007). 
41 State of Colorado, Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook, p.11 (January 2007). 
42 State of Colorado, Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook.   (January 2007). 
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During fiscal years 01-02 through 05-06, Promissor administered 
approximately 102,048 examinations in Colorado for both major and limited 
lines of authority.  Appendix D on page 37 provides a detailed illustration of 
the number of examinations administered, as well as the corresponding 
passing rate for each test. 
 
Continuing Education Credits 
 
Insurance producers who pass the written examination and obtain state 
licensure to sell insurance products in Colorado must satisfy continuing 
education requirements as delineated in DOI rules:43

 
• After the first continuation cycle, every insurance producer who is 

licensed in Colorado and not otherwise specifically exempted, must 
complete 24 credit hours of approved courses biennially; 

• At least 18 of the 24 credit hours must be in approved courses in the 
authorities for which the insurance producer is licensed; 

• At least three of the 24 hours of continuing education must be courses 
in ethics; and  

• A maximum of six of the 24 hours must be in approved courses on 
subjects designated by the Commissioner whenever the 
Commissioner determines that continuing education in such subjects 
is needed to protect insurance consumers. 

 
Additionally, as part of the reciprocal agreement by participating states 
(currently 47 states participate in the continuing education reciprocal 
agreement) non-resident producers who are licensed and in good standing 
within their domiciled state are not required to complete continuing education 
requirements in addition to the continuing education requirements in his or 
her home state.  Colorado actively participates in the continuing education 
reciprocal agreement.   
 
 

FFeeeess  
 
The Commissioner, by rule, as authorized in section 10-2-413, Colorado 
Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), is responsible for establishing insurance producer 
fees for both initial licenses and renewal of existing licenses in Colorado.  
There is a different fee structure established for both resident and non-
resident producers.  Table 1 outlines the fee schedule for resident and non-
resident insurance producers in obtaining a new license in Colorado, while 
Table 2 illustrates the fee schedule for Colorado insurance producers 
regarding the renewal of an existing license.   

                                            
43 DOI Regulation 1-2-4 § 5(A). 
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Table 1 
New License 

 Table 2 
Renewal License 

License Type Fee  License Type Fee 
Resident  $52.50  Resident  $13.50 
Non-resident $93.50  Non-resident  $41.50 
Resident Surplus Lines $269  Resident Surplus Lines $269 
Non-resident Surplus Lines $409  Non-resident Surplus 

Lines 
$409 

Professional Bail Bonding  $248  Professional Bail Bonding $248 
 
The cost differential between resident and non-resident licenses for both new 
and renewal licenses is standard practice in most states.  That is, most states 
charge higher licensing fees for non-resident insurance producers than for 
resident insurance producers.   
 
The State of Colorado is in line with other states regarding the fees it charges 
for insurance producer licenses.  In fact, the State of Colorado generally falls 
in the lower end of fees for various insurance producer licenses.   
 

CCoommppllaaiinnttss//DDiisscciipplliinnaarryy  AAccttiioonnss  
 
The DOI receives a variety of complaints regarding insurance producers.  
Complaints against insurance producers in Colorado are initiated by 
consumers, fellow insurance producers or insurance companies (carriers).  
Table 3 outlines the complaints filed against insurance producers between 
fiscal years 01-02 and 05-06.   
 

Table 3 
Insurance Producer Complaint Information 

 
Nature of Complaint FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 

Standard of Practice 27644 35045 26646 86247 15648

Other 0 0 0 1 4 
Total  276 350 266 863 160 
 

                                            
44 273 Marketing and Sales, 1 Underwriting, 2 Claims Handling. 
45 346 Marketing and Sales, 1 Underwriting, 3 Claims Handling. 
46 264 Marketing and Sales, 2 Underwriting. 
47 855 Marketing and Sales, 1 Underwriting, 3 Claims Handling, 3 Policy Holder Service.  Approximately 
400 of the 855 Marketing and Sales investigations opened in Fiscal year 04-05 were opened to identify 
bail bond producers that had not filed, or had failed to file timely annual reports. 
48 154 Marketing and Sales, 2 Underwriting, 1 Policyholder Service. 
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As noted in Table 3, there were 160 complaints filed against insurance 
producers in fiscal year 05-06.  Complaints filed against insurance producers 
vary greatly.  For example, one complaint filed against an insurance producer 
in fiscal year 05-06 alleged that the insurance producer altered the license 
issued by the State of Colorado.  Specifically, the insurance producer altered 
the license to include property insurance line of authority on his license even 
though he did not complete the appropriate requirements to include the 
property line of authority on his license.  The complaint alleges that the 
insurance producer sold several automobile policies while he was not 
licensed to do so. 
 
Additionally, the DOI received a compliant against an insurance producer 
alleging that he replaced a prior variable annuity sold to his parents with new 
policies.  The complaint also alleges that his parents were not aware of the 
surrender charges, fees, surrender period, tax consequences and that the 
new policies were not suitable for his parents.   
 
The DOI also imposes disciplinary actions on insurance producers in 
Colorado.  There are a variety of forms of discipline the DOI may impose on 
insurance producers, depending on the violation and the discipline history of 
the insurance producer’s license.  Table 4 outlines the final actions imposed 
on insurance producers during the indicated fiscal years.   
 
Although the number of disciplinary actions appears to be high for each fiscal 
year outlined in Table 4, it is relatively low compared to the total number of 
insurance producers licensed in Colorado.  For example, in fiscal year 05-06, 
there were 352 total disciplinary actions against insurance producers who 
were licensed; however, this number is low when compared to the total 
number of licensed insurance producers during the same timeframe.  In fact, 
there were 100,626 insurance producers possessing 132,908 insurance 
licenses in Colorado.    
 

Table 4 
Final Disciplinary Actions 

 
Type of Action FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 

Revocation 17 15 16 37 40 
Surrender of License 3 1 1 0 2 
Suspension 111 179 145 21 50 
Fines 36 71 49 156 87 
Probation/Practice Limitation 1 6 9 4 4 
License Denied 30 23 22 19 36 
Other 42 87 59 156 87 
Total Disciplinary Actions 240 382 301 423 352 
Actions Related to Unauthorized 
Insurance 

116 46 36 12 9 
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The DOI utilizes a number of disciplinary actions, as referenced in the 
aforementioned table.  The DOI imposes discipline on insurance producers 
for a variety of offenses.  For example, in fiscal year 05-06, an insurance 
producer’s license was summarily suspended for violating a number of 
Colorado insurance laws, including the unsuitable sale of annuities to seniors.   
 
The DOI may also impose fines on insurance producers for violations of state 
statutes, rules or any other procedures enforced by the DOI.  Table 5 
illustrates the fines imposed by the DOI in fiscal years 01-02 through 05-06. 
 

Table 5 
Insurance Producer Fines 

 
Fiscal Year Number of Fines Imposed Total Value of Fines Imposed 

01-02 36 $73,100 
02-03 71 $78,400 
03-04 49 $71,151 
04-05 156 $285,300 
05-06 87 $275,550 

 
As illustrated in Table 5, there are a number of fines imposed on insurance 
producers.  For example, an insurance producer in fiscal year 05-06 was 
ordered to pay a $3,000-fine as part of a stipulated agreement in order to 
resolve allegations that he forged a premium cost containment certificate.   
 
Finally, the DOI may order restitution payments to consumers who may have 
been taken advantage of financially.  Table 6 outlines the restitutions ordered 
by the DOI from insurance producers during fiscal years 01-02 through 05-06; 
however, the DOI was unable to provide the total amount of restitution 
ordered in fiscal years 01-02 and 02-03.  This is due to the fact that data was 
not entered into the database accurately.   
 

Table 6  
DOI-Ordered Restitution  

 
Fiscal Year Number of Times Restitution 

was Ordered 
Amount of Restitution 

Ordered 
01-02 6 - 
02-03 6 - 
03-04 7 $53,505 
04-05 2 $28,200 
05-06 8 $86,025 

 
The DOI may order restitution payments for a variety of reasons.  For 
example, in fiscal year 05-06, an insurance producer was ordered to pay 
$1,828 in restitution to a consumer as part of a stipulated agreement to 
resolve allegations that the insurance producer violated Colorado insurance 
law, including fiduciary responsibility.   
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AAnnaallyyssiiss  aanndd  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonnss  
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––    CCoonnttiinnuuee  tthhee  rreegguullaattiioonn  ooff  iinnssuurraannccee  pprroodduucceerrss  
ffoorr  1111  yyeeaarrss,,  uunnttiill  22001199..  
 
The first sunset criterion asks whether regulation is necessary to protect the 
public health, safety and welfare.  The Division of Insurance (DOI) regulates 
insurance producers in Colorado.  Due to the complexity of insurance 
products available to Colorado consumers, and the potential for harm against 
consumers, regulation of insurance producers by the DOI is warranted.   
 
Currently, there are 100,628 individual insurance producers who possess 
132,908 insurance licenses (both resident and non-resident) in Colorado.  
Insurance producers sell a variety of products, including major and limited 
lines of insurance.  In Colorado, major lines of insurance include: 
 

• Life; 
• Accident and health; 
• Variable life and variable annuity; 
• Property; 
• Casualty; and 
• Personal lines. 

 
Available limited lines of insurance include: 
 

• Credit; 
• Title; 
• Bail bond; 
• Travel ticket; 
• Surplus lines; 
• Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO) and nonprofit hospital; and  
• Crop hail. 

 
In 2002, Colorado adopted the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners (NAIC) Producer Licensing Model Act (Act).  The National 
NAIC developed the Act in 2002.  One of the purposes for adopting the Act 
was to ensure that Colorado remained reciprocal with other states’ insurance 
producer requirements.   
 
Additionally, the Act includes requirements for prelicensure education, line of 
authority examinations and continuing education.  The aforementioned 
requirements enhance consumer protection by ensuring that insurance 
producers meet basic levels of competency as well as complete continuing 
education requirements. 
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During the last five fiscal years, the DOI has received relatively few 
complaints regarding insurance producers given the large number of licensed 
insurance producers in Colorado.  In fact, there were only 160 insurance 
producer complaints in fiscal year 05-06, while there were approximately 
100,626 licensed insurance producers selling billions of dollars in annual 
premiums related to various insurance products.   
 
The relatively low number of consumer complaints filed against insurance 
producers can be attributable to the comprehensive requirements insurance 
producers must satisfy prior to selling insurance products in Colorado, as well 
as the various sections within the DOI that actively investigate potential 
issues and complaints.   
 
The comprehensive regulation of insurance producers by the DOI, as well as 
the requirements within the Act, serve to insulate consumers from potential 
harm regarding insurance products in Colorado.  As a result, the regulation of 
insurance producers by the DOI should be continued for 11 years, until 2019.   
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  22  ––  AAllllooww  iinnssuurraannccee  pprroodduucceerrss  ttoo  oobbttaaiinn  aa  ccrroopp  hhaaiill  
lliinnee  ooff  aauutthhoorriittyy  iinn  CCoolloorraaddoo..  
 
Currently, the DOI does not issue new crop hail lines of authority to insurance 
producers in Colorado.  However, the DOI does permit the renewal of 
existing crop hail lines of authority.  Insurance producers who possess the 
crop hail line of authority must complete the required continuing education 
and remain in good standing with the DOI in order to renew an existing 
license.   
 
In 2001, a statutory change occurred that prohibited the DOI from issuing 
new crop hail line of authority licenses in Colorado.  The NAIC created a 
Producer Licensing Working Group (PLWG) to address reciprocity or 
uniformity within the states (including Colorado) that agreed to participate in 
the reciprocity agreement.  The PLWG was charged with eliminating lines of 
authority that were not being utilized and crop hail was one of those lines.   
 
However, the PLWG recently agreed to re-introduce the crop hail line of 
authority for reciprocity among participating states.  As a result, in order to 
remain reciprocal, the DOI has requested that the crop hail line of authority 
be available to insurance producers.  That is, insurance producers should, 
once again, be able to secure a crop hail line of authority in Colorado.     
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RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  33  ––  EElliimmiinnaattee  tthhee  pprroovviissiioonn  rreeqquuiirriinngg  tthhee  
CCoommmmiissssiioonneerr  ooff  IInnssuurraannccee  ttoo  rreejjeecctt  tthhee  rreeggiissttrraattiioonn  ooff  aannyy  nnaammee  tthhaatt  
iiss  ssiimmiillaarr  ttoo  aannootthheerr  ccuurrrreennttllyy  oonn  ffiillee..    
 
Under section 10-2-701, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), the 
Commissioner of Insurance (Commissioner) is responsible for determining 
whether to register a name that could potentially conflict with another similar 
name already registered.  Internally, the DOI has outlined extensive 
guidelines that seek to address what constitutes a similar name.  However, 
due to the fact that new issues may arise with what constitutes a similar 
name, the DOI continually needs to update the guidelines in an attempt to 
form comprehensive guidelines.  
 
Currently, the Secretary of State’s Office approves names for businesses.  If 
there are concerns with the usage of a similar name regarding insurance 
producers in Colorado, the DOI currently makes the determination whether a 
name can be used.  Due to the fact that the Secretary of State already 
approves similar names, it is redundant and unnecessary for the DOI to be 
responsible for denying similar name requests.   
 
Eliminating the requirement of the DOI to deny a similar name language in 
statute may potentially reduce the producer licensing workload, while 
allowing the DOI staff to further focus on the regulation of insurance 
producers.  The elimination of the aforementioned requirement will serve to 
increase the DOI’s focus on consumer protection. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  44  ––  RReeqquuiirree  iinnssuurraannccee  pprroodduucceerrss  wwhhoo  hhaavvee  tthheeiirr  
lliicceennsseess  rreevvookkeedd  oorr  wwhhoo  ssuurrrreennddeerr  tthheeiirr  lliicceennsseess  ttoo  wwaaiitt  ttwwoo  yyeeaarrss  
bbeeffoorree  aappppllyyiinngg  ffoorr  nneeww  lliicceennsseess..  
 
Section 10-2-801, C.R.S., authorizes the Commissioner to revoke the license 
of an insurance producer for violating the insurance statues. 
 
Revocation proceedings can be lengthy and expensive and are typically 
undertaken only when the alleged conduct is so egregious that the licensee 
must be removed from practice in order to protect the public. 
 
Similarly, many licensees, when forced with the prospect of revocation 
proceedings, will voluntarily surrender their licenses. 
 
However, the insurance statutes make no provision for an individual who has 
had an insurance producer license revoked to wait to apply for a new license.  
As a result, such an individual could apply for a new license the very day that 
a revocation order becomes effective.  This not only poses a risk to the 
public, but also requires the DOI to incur additional expenses in processing 
the new application and, if it is denied and appealed, additional legal 
expenses. 
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As a result, at least 27 statutes regulating various professions and 
occupations in Colorado provide for a waiting, or “cooling off” period.  These 
periods range from between one and three years, with most (14 programs) 
requiring such individuals to wait two years before applying for a new license. 
 
The same concerns apply to insurance producers who surrender their 
licenses rather than face revocation proceedings.  These individuals should 
not be allowed to immediately apply for a new license. 
 
Since it is a waste of state resources to revoke the license of an insurance 
producer only to have that same individual immediately apply for a new 
license, since such a loophole is a risk to the public and since many other 
regulatory programs impose a waiting period, an insurance producer who has 
had a license revoked or who surrenders his or her license should be 
required to wait two years before applying for a new insurance producer 
license. 
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AAppppeennddiixx  AA  ––  SSuunnsseett  SSttaattuuttoorryy  EEvvaalluuaattiioonn  CCrriitteerriiaa  
 
(I) Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public 

health, safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the 
initial regulation have changed; and whether other conditions have 
arisen which would warrant more, less or the same degree of 
regulation; 

 
(II) If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and 

regulations establish the least restrictive form of regulation consistent 
with the public interest, considering other available regulatory 
mechanisms and whether agency rules enhance the public interest 
and are within the scope of legislative intent; 

 
(III) Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its 

operation is impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules, 
procedures and practices and any other circumstances, including 
budgetary, resource and personnel matters; 

 
(IV) Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency 

performs its statutory duties efficiently and effectively; 
 
(V) Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission 

adequately represents the public interest and whether the agency 
encourages public participation in its decisions rather than 
participation only by the people it regulates; 

 
(VI) The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic 

information is not available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts 
competition; 

 
(VII) Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures 

adequately protect the public and whether final dispositions of 
complaints are in the public interest or self-serving to the profession; 

 
(VIII) Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes 

to the optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry 
requirements encourage affirmative action; 

 
(IX) Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to 

improve agency operations to enhance the public interest. 
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AAppppeennddiixx  BB  ––  RReessiiddeenntt  LLiicceennssiinngg  IInnffoorrmmaattiioonn  
 

Table 7 
Life Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 1,327 7,180 8,507 
02-03 2,390 10,972 13,362 
03-04 2,840 13,377 16,217 
04-05 3547 10,257 13,804 
05-06 5,339 10,322 15,661 

 
 

Table 8 
Accident and Health Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 1,305 10,024 11,329 
02-03 1,710 15,164 16,874 
03-04 1,980 17,374 19,354 
04-05 2,543 12,181 14,724 
05-06 4,275 9,758 14,033 

 
 

Table 9 
Property Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 842 5,607 6,449 
02-03 1,188 8,250 9,438 
03-04 1,382 9,660 11,042 
04-05 1,663 7,118 8,781 
05-06 2,206 6,142 8,348 

 

 

 29



 
Table 10 

Casualty Insurance Licenses 
 

Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 
01-02 8,43 5,600 6,443 
02-03 1,182 8,250 9,432 
03-04 1,378 9,662 11,040 
04-05 1,670 7,100 8,770 
05-06 2,206 6,155 8,361 

 
 

Table 11 
Title Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 73 634 707 
02-03 102 730 832 
03-04 165 1,040 1,205 
04-05 194 689 883 
05-06 402 631 1,033 

 
 

Table 12 
Personal Lines Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 197 6 203 
02-03 92 29 121 
03-04 34 603 637 
04-05 128 233 361 
05-06 152 226 378 

 
 

Table 13 
Crop Hail Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 3 92 95 
02-03 0 151 151 
03-04 1 122 123 
04-05 2 103 105 
05-06 3 78 81 
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Table 14 

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Insurance Licenses 
 

Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 
01-02 15 703 718 
02-03 2 1596 1598 
03-04 1 1184 1185 
04-05 5 953 958 
05-06 6 852 868 

 
 

Table 15 
Nonprofit Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 1 144 145 
02-03 1 354 355 
03-04 0 247 247 
04-05 0 212 212 
05-06 1 183 184 

 
 

Table 16 
Credit Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 70 776 846 
02-03 174 972 1,146 
03-04 237 1,108 1,345 
04-05 295 797 1,092 
05-06 355 580 935 

 
 

Table 17 
Travel Ticket Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 31 309 340 
02-03 61 401 462 
03-04 69 742 811 
04-05 130 486 616 
05-06 250 209 459 
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Table 18 

Variable Insurance Licenses 
 

Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 
01-02 612 4,303 4,915 
02-03 815 7,240 8,055 
03-04 935 7,612 8,547 
04-05 1,311 5,198 6,509 
05-06 1,736 4,233 5,969 

 
 

Table 19 
Bail Bonds Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 19 209 228 
02-03 32 451 483 
03-04 41 236 277 
04-05 52 301 353 
05-06 108 118 226 

 
 

Table 20 
Surplus Lines Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 32 68 100 
02-03 36 234 270 
03-04 23 174 197 
04-05 30 154 184 
05-06 29 150 179 
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AAppppeennddiixx  CC  ––  NNoonn--RReessiiddeenntt  LLiicceennssiinngg  IInnffoorrmmaattiioonn  
 

Table 21 
Life Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 2,014 6,486 8,500 
02-03 2,850 6,646 9,946 
03-04 3,684 9,676 13,360 
04-05 4,829 8,967 13,796 
05-06 7,896 10,059 17,955 

 
 

Table 22 
Accident and Health Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 1,573 11,104 12,677 
02-03 2,104 11,236 13,340 
03-04 2,666 16,163 18,829 
04-05 3,736 10,621 14,357 
05-06 7,417 8,216 15,633 

 
 

Table 23 
Property Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 1,664 10,503 12,167 
02-03 2,659 10,812 13,471 
03-04 3,940 15,990 19,930 
04-05 4,446 11,511 15,957 
05-06 6,791 8,714 15,505 
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Table 24 

Casualty Insurance Licenses 
 

Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 
01-02 1,676 10,558 12,264 
02-03 2,674 10,881 13,555 
03-04 3,962 16,088 20,050 
04-05 4,476 10,980 15,456 
05-06 6,809 8,775 15,584 

 
 

Table 25 
Title Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 30 62 92 
02-03 43 75 118 
03-04 48 131 179 
04-05 83 93 176 
05-06 138 120 258 

 
 

Table 26 
Personal Lines Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 12 4 16 
02-03 193 21 214 
03-04 267 473 740 
04-05 844 451 1,295 
05-06 993 664 1,657 

 
 

Table 27 
Crop Hail Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 3 56 59 
02-03 0 77 77 
03-04 1 81 82 
04-05 0 52 52 
05-06 0 32 32 
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Table 28 

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Insurance Licenses 
 

Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 
01-02 2 100 102 
02-03 1 83 84 
03-04 1 114 115 
04-05 9 59 68 
05-06 3 42 45 

 
 

Table 29 
Nonprofit Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 0 9 9 
02-03 0 9 9 
03-04 0 11 11 
04-05 0 4 4 
05-06 0 4 4 

 
 

Table 30 
Credit Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 7 111 118 
02-03 14 131 145 
03-04 11 232 243 
04-05 21 97 118 
05-06 44 27 71 

 
 

Table 31 
Travel Ticket Insurance Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 1 7 8 
02-03 0 4 4 
03-04 2 10 12 
04-05 3 5 8 
05-06 5 4 9 
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Table 32 

Variable Insurance Licenses 
 

Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 
01-02 1,103 6,272 7,7375
02-03 1,434 6,865 8,299 
03-04 1,783 10,034 11,817
04-05 2,477 6,464 8,941 
05-06 3,646 5,254 8,900 

 
 

Table 33 
Bail Bonds Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 0 0 0 
02-03 0 0 0 
03-04 0 0 0 
04-05 0 0 0 
05-06 0 0 0 

 
 

Table 34 
Surplus Lines Licenses 

 
Fiscal Year New Licensees Renewal Total 

01-02 15 25 40 
02-03 97 84 181 
03-04 116 189 305 
04-05 164 278 442 
05-06 220 320 540 
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AAppppeennddiixx  DD  --  RReessiiddeenntt  EExxaammiinnaattiioonn  IInnffoorrmmaattiioonn  
 

LIFE EXAMS  TITLE EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           7641 66% N/A N/A 2001-2002 148 88% N/A N/A

2002-2003           7683 65% N/A N/A 2002-2003 206 83% N/A N/A

2003-2004           6896 63% N/A N/A 2003-2004 231 87% N/A N/A

2004-2005           7026 61% N/A N/A 2004-2005 231 80% N/A N/A

2005-2006           7744 57% N/A N/A 2005-2006 560 84% N/A N/A
ACCIDENT  & HEALTH EXAMS  PERSONAL LINES EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           5441 66% N/A N/A 2001-2002 623 78% N/A N/A

2002-2003           5377 63% N/A N/A 2002-2003 297 65% N/A N/A

2003-2004           5211 61% N/A N/A 2003-2004 75 64% N/A N/A

2004-2005           5524 58% N/A N/A 2004-2005 225 72% N/A N/A

2005-2006           5951 59% N/A N/A 2005-2006 297 51% N/A N/A
PROPERTY EXAMS  CROP HAIL EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           2651 65% N/A N/A 2001-2002 2 100% N/A N/A

2002-2003           2553 65% N/A N/A 2002-2003 0 0% N/A N/A

2003-2004           2880 61% N/A N/A 2003-2004 0 0% N/A N/A

2004-2005           2936 60% N/A N/A 2004-2005 0 0% N/A N/A

2005-2006           2953 55% N/A N/A 2005-2006 0 0% N/A N/A

 

 37



 

 
CASUALTY EXAMS  HMO EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           3020 56% N/A N/A 2001-2002 0 0% N/A N/A

2002-2003           2980 55% N/A N/A 2002-2003 0 0% N/A N/A

2003-2004           3248 54% N/A N/A 2003-2004 0 0% N/A N/A

2004-2005           3369 51% N/A N/A 2004-2005 0 0% N/A N/A

2005-2006           3313 55% N/A N/A 2005-2006 0 0% N/A N/A
 

RESIDENT EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
 

NON PROFIT EXAMS  VARIABLE EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           0 0% N/A N/A 2001-2002 0 0% N/A N/A

2002-2003           0 0% N/A N/A 2002-2003 0 0% N/A N/A

2003-2004           0 0% N/A N/A 2003-2004 0 0% N/A N/A

2004-2005           0 0% N/A N/A 2004-2005 0 0% N/A N/A

2005-2006           0 0% N/A N/A 2005-2006 0 0% N/A N/A
ATTORNEY TITLE EXAMS  PUBLIC ADJUSTER EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           0 0% N/A N/A 2001-2002 2 50% N/A N/A

2002-2003           0 0% N/A N/A 2002-2003 7 43% N/A N/A

2003-2004           0 0% N/A N/A 2003-2004 4 75% N/A N/A

2004-2005           0 0% N/A N/A 2004-2005 7 29% N/A N/A

2005-2006           0 0% N/A N/A 2005-2006 4 25% N/A N/A
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CREDIT EXAMS  BAILBONDS EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE %
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           365 72% N/A N/A 2001-2002 112 79% N/A N/A

2002-2003           467 80% N/A N/A 2002-2003 139 74% N/A N/A

2003-2004           418 72% N/A N/A 2003-2004 129 81% N/A N/A

2004-2005           544 67% N/A N/A 2004-2005 124 81% N/A N/A

2005-2006           397 71% N/A N/A 2005-2006 175 66% N/A N/A
TRAVEL TICKET EXAMS  SURPLUS LINES EXAMS 

FISCAL YEAR 
NUMBER OF 

WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE % 
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE %  FISCAL YEAR 

NUMBER OF 
WRITTEN 
EXAMS 

PASS RATE %
NUMBER OF 
PRACTICAL 

EXAMS 
PASS RATE % 

2001-2002           0 0% N/A N/A 2001-2002 0 0% N/A N/A

2002-2003           0 0% N/A N/A 2002-2003 4 75% N/A N/A

2003-2004           0 0% N/A N/A 2003-2004 22 91% N/A N/A

2004-2005           0 0% N/A N/A 2004-2005 16 81% N/A N/A

2005-2006           0 0% N/A N/A 2005-2006 20 95% N/A N/A
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