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October 15, 2007

Members of the Colorado General Assembly
c/o the Office of Legislative Legal Services
State Capitol Building

Denver, Colorado 80203

Dear Members of the General Assembly:

The mission of the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) is consumer protection. As a part of
the Executive Director’'s Office within DORA, the Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform
seeks to fulfill its statutorily mandated responsibility to conduct sunset reviews with a focus on
protecting the health, safety and welfare of all Coloradans.

DORA has completed the evaluation of the Colorado Real Estate Commission (Commission) and the
Colorado Division of Real Estate (Division), including the function of making errors and omissions
insurance available to licensees and certain service of process requirements. | am pleased to
submit this written report, which will be the basis for my office's oral testimony before the 2008
legislative committee of reference. The report is submitted pursuant to section 24-34-104(8)(a), of
the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which states in part:

The department of regulatory agencies shall conduct an analysis of the performance
of each division, board or agency or each function scheduled for termination under this
section...

The department of regulatory agencies shall submit a report and supporting materials
to the office of legislative legal services no later than October 15 of the year preceding
the date established for termination...

The report discusses the question of whether the regulatory program provided under Parts 1, 2, 4, 6
and portions of 3, of Article 61 of Title 12, C.R.S., serves to protect the public health, safety or
welfare. The report also discusses the effectiveness of the Commission and Division staff in carrying
out the intent of the statutes and makes recommendations for statutory and administrative changes
in the event this regulatory program is continued by the General Assembly.

Sincerely,

1) 2

D. Rico Munn
Executive Director
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Executive Summary

Quick Facts

What is Regulated? Real estate brokers, who facilitate
real estate transactions, and subdivision developers,
which include developers of timeshares, condominium
conversions and raw land subdivisions.

Who is Regulated? In fiscal year 05-06 there were
32,546 active regulated individuals and entities:

e 32,335 real estate brokers

e 211 subdivision developers

How is it Regulated? The Colorado Real Estate
Commission is a Type 1 commission housed in the
Division of Real Estate of the Department of Regulatory
Agencies. In practice, the Commission licenses real
estate brokers and registers subdivision developers. To
become licensed, a real estate broker must complete a
prescribed course of education, pass a written
examination and undergo a fingerprint-based criminal
history background check. To become registered, a
subdivision developer must provide documentation
demonstrating its compliance with relevant statutes.
Real estate brokers and subdivision developers are
subject to disciplinary action if they violate Colorado
laws or Commission rules.

What Does it Cost? The fiscal year 05-06 expenditure
to oversee this program was $3.3 million and there were
37 full-time equivalent employees associated with this
program.

In 2007, license costs were: New Renewal
Real Estate Brokers $150 $84
Subdivision Developers $739  $151

What Disciplinary Activity is There? Between fiscal
years 01-02 and 05-06, the Commission’s disciplinary
proceedings consisted of:

Complaints Filed 3,651
Revocations 73
Suspensions 55

Where Do | Get the Full Report? The full sunset
review can be found on the internet at:
http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm

Key Recommendations

Continue the Colorado Real Estate
Commission, the Colorado Division of Real
Estate and the regulation of real estate
brokers and subdivision developers for nine
years, until 2017.

Without question, the purchase of a home is, for
most Coloradans, the single largest purchase
they will ever make. Considering the
complexities involved in a real estate transaction,
an incompetent or unscrupulous real estate
broker could cause severe financial hardship to
his or her clients, as well as other parties
involved in the transaction, through theft, fraud,
misrepresentation, negligence and improper title
work resulting in clouded title to the subject real
estate. Most of the Commission’s regulatory
authority over subdivision developers pertains to
ensuring that subdivision developers make the
proper disclosures to purchasers. Therefore,
continued regulation of real estate brokers and
subdivision developers is justified.

Continue to mandate that licensed real estate
brokers maintain errors and omissions
insurance, and repeal the Commission’s
involvement in procuring a group policy and
the sunset provision pertaining to errors and
omissions insurance.

Since the General Assembly first mandated that
licensed real estate brokers obtain errors and
omissions insurance, over $16 million has been
returned to consumers through claims filed with
the Commission’s group errors and omissions
insurance policy. Therefore, the mandate to
obtain errors and omissions insurance should be
continued. However, since the state mandates
that other professions obtain liability insurance
but makes no provision in law for the state to
assist those professions in complying with such
mandates, and since the Commission’s group
policy may, indirectly, encourage incompetent
practitioners to remain in practice, the
Commission’s involvement in procuring a group
errors and omissions policy should be repealed.
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...Key Recommendations Continued

Repeal all statutory provisions relating to licensed real estate salespeople.

The General Assembly prohibited the Commission from issuing any new real estate salesperson licenses after
December 31, 1996, and on that date, there were 9,062 active real estate salesperson licenses. Since that
time, holders of real estate salesperson licenses have been able to remain on inactive status or convert to real
estate broker licenses. In June 2007, there were 942 inactive salesperson licenses. Since these individuals
have had over 10 years to convert their licenses to real estate broker licenses, it is reasonable to conclude that
if they have not already done so, they never will. Therefore, the statutory provisions relating to real estate
salespeople should be repealed.

Require an annual, four-hour Commission Update Course and require the Commission to approve all
other continuing education courses.

Active real estate broker licensees must complete 24 hours of mandatory continuing education every three
years, eight of which must consist of the Commission Update Course. The Commission Update Course is
designed by the Commission, consists of two, four-hour courses, and focuses on current statutes and rules.
Since the laws impacting real estate transactions, and thus real estate brokers, are constantly evolving, the
Commission Update Course should be expanded to include annual, four-hour courses. Additionally, since
there are relatively few restrictions on who may teach the remaining continuing education courses, the
Commission should be charged with approving course content.

Alter the composition of the Commission by replacing the individual with subdivision development
experience with a member of the general public.

Five members comprise the Commission: three licensed real estate brokers; an individual with experience in
subdivision development and a public member. Since the primary mission of the Commission is to license and
discipline, when warranted, real estate brokers, and since there have been relatively few instances in which
the Commission has needed the expertise of the Commission member with subdivision experience, the
Commission member with subdivision experience should be replaced by another member of the general
public.

Major Contacts Made During This Review

American Resort Development Association
Association of Real Estate License Law Officials
Building Owners and Managers Association of Metro Denver
Colorado Association of Mortgage Brokers
Colorado Association of Mortgage Lenders
Colorado Association of Realtors
Colorado Bureau of Investigation
Colorado Department of Higher Education, Division of Private and Occupational Schools
Colorado Division of Real Estate
Colorado Real Estate Commission
Land Title Association of Colorado
National Land Council
Office of the Colorado Attorney General, Consumer Protection Section
Office of the Colorado Secretary of State, Business Division

What is a Sunset Review?

A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine whether or not
they should be continued by the legislature. Sunset reviews focus on creating the least restrictive form of
regulation consistent with protecting the public. In formulating recommendations, sunset reviews consider the
public's right to consistent, high quality professional or occupational services and the ability of businesses to
exist and thrive in a competitive market, free from unnecessary regulation.

Sunset Reviews are Prepared by:
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550, Denver, CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/opr
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Background

The Sunset Process

Regulation, when appropriate, can serve as a bulwark of consumer
protection. Regulatory programs can be designed to impact individual
professionals, businesses or both.

As regulatory programs relate to individual professionals, such programs
typically entail the establishment of minimum standards for initial entry and
continued participation in a given profession or occupation. This serves to
protect the public from incompetent practitioners. Similarly, such programs
provide a vehicle for limiting or removing from practice those practitioners
deemed to have harmed the public.

From a practitioner perspective, regulation can lead to increased prestige and
higher income. Accordingly, regulatory programs are often championed by
those who will be the subject of regulation.

On the other hand, by erecting barriers to entry into a given profession or
occupation, even when justified, regulation can serve to restrict the supply of
practitioners. This not only limits consumer choice, but can also lead to an
increase in the cost of services.

There are also several levels of regulation. Licensure is the most restrictive
form of regulation, yet it provides the greatest level of public protection.
Licensing programs typically involve the completion of a prescribed
educational program (usually college level or higher) and the passage of an
examination that is designed to measure a minimal level of competency.
These types of programs usually entail title protection — only those individuals
who are properly licensed may use a particular title(s) — and practice
exclusivity — only those individuals who are properly licensed may engage in
the particular practice. While these requirements can be viewed as barriers
to entry, they also afford the highest level of consumer protection in that they
ensure that only those who are deemed competent may practice and the
public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used.

Certification programs offer a level of consumer protection similar to licensing
programs, but the barriers to entry are generally lower. The required
educational program may be more vocational in nature, but the required
examination should still measure a minimal level of competency. Additionally,
certification programs typically involve a non-governmental entity that
establishes the training requirements and owns and administers the
examination. State certification is made conditional upon the individual
practitioner obtaining and maintaining the relevant private credential. These
types of programs also usually entail title protection and practice exclusivity.



While the aforementioned requirements can still be viewed as barriers to
entry, they afford a level of consumer protection that is lower than a licensing
program. They ensure that only those who are deemed competent may
practice and the public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s)
used.

Registration programs can serve to protect the public with minimal barriers to
entry. A typical registration program involves an individual satisfying certain
prescribed requirements — typically non-practice related items, such as
insurance or the use of a disclosure form — and the state, in turn, placing that
individual on the pertinent registry. These types of programs can entail title
protection and practice exclusivity. Since the barriers to entry in registration
programs are relatively low, registration programs are generally best suited to
those professions and occupations where the risk of public harm is relatively
low, but nevertheless present. In short, registration programs serve to notify
the state of which individuals are engaging in the relevant practice and to
notify the public of those who may practice by the title(s) used.

Finally, title protection programs represent one of the lowest levels of
regulation. Only those who satisfy certain prescribed requirements may use
the relevant prescribed title(s). Practitioners need not register or otherwise
notify the state that they are engaging in the relevant practice, and practice
exclusivity does not attach. In other words, anyone may engage in the
particular practice, but only those who satisfy the prescribed requirements
may use the enumerated title(s). This serves to indirectly ensure a minimal
level of competency — depending upon the prescribed preconditions for use of
the protected title(s) — and the public is alerted to the qualifications of those
who may use the particular title(s).

Licensing, certification and registration programs also typically involve some
kind of mechanism for removing individuals from practice when such
individuals engage in enumerated proscribed activities. This is generally not
the case with title protection programs.

As regulatory programs relate to businesses, they can enhance public
protection, promote stability and preserve profitability. But they can also
reduce competition and place administrative burdens on the regulated
businesses.

Regulatory programs that address businesses can involve certain capital,
bookkeeping and other recordkeeping requirements that are meant to ensure
financial solvency and responsibility, as well as accountability. Initially, these
requirements may serve as barriers to entry, thereby limiting competition. On
an ongoing basis, the cost of complying with these requirements may lead to
greater administrative costs for the regulated entity, which costs are ultimately
passed on to consumers.



Many programs that regulate businesses involve examinations and audits of
finances and other records, which are intended to ensure that the relevant
businesses continue to comply with these initial requirements. Although
intended to enhance public protection, these measures, too, involve costs of
compliance.

Similarly, many regulated businesses may be subject to physical inspections
to ensure compliance with health and safety standards.

Regulation, then, has many positive and potentially negative consequences.

The regulatory functions of the Colorado Real Estate Commission
(Commission) and the Colorado Division of Real Estate (Division), including
the function of making available errors and omissions insurance to licensees
and certain service of process requirements, in accordance with Parts 1, 2, 4,
6, and portions of 3 of Article 61 of Title 12, Colorado Revised Statutes
(C.R.S.), shall terminate on July 1, 2008, unless continued by the General
Assembly. During the year prior to this date, it is the duty of the Department
of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) to conduct an analysis and evaluation of the
Commission and the Division pursuant to section 24-34-104, C.R.S.
Importantly, this review does not address real estate appraisers (Part 7),
brokerage relationships (Part 8) or mortgage brokers (Part 9), since each of
these Parts, except Part 8, is scheduled for future sunset review.

The purpose of this review is to determine whether the Commission, the
Division, the currently prescribed regulation, or all three should be continued
for the protection of the public and to evaluate the performance of the
Commission and staff of the Division. During this review, the Commission
and the Division must demonstrate that the Commission, the Division and
regulation serve to protect the public health, safety or welfare, and that the
regulation is the least restrictive regulation consistent with protecting the
public. DORA'’s findings and recommendations are submitted via this report
to the legislative committee of reference of the Colorado General Assembly.
Statutory criteria used in sunset reviews may be found in Appendix A on page
80.

Methodology

As part of this review, DORA staff attended Commission meetings,
interviewed Division staff and Commission members, reviewed Commission
records and minutes including complaint and disciplinary actions, interviewed
officials with state and national professional associations, reviewed Colorado
statutes and Commission rules, and reviewed the laws of other states.



Profile of the Profession

The Commission and the Division regulate the real estate industry in
Colorado. Pertinent to this sunset review are the Commission’s regulatory
functions relating to real estate brokers and subdivision developers, and
provisions relating to pre-owned housing home warranty service contracts.
Although the Division is also charged with regulating real estate appraisers
and mortgage brokers, those occupations lie beyond the scope of this review.
Similarly, statutory provisions addressing brokerage relationships are beyond
the scope of this review.

Real Estate Brokers

Real estate is “land and anything permanently affixed to the land, such as
buildings, fences, and those things attached to the buildings.™

Real estate brokers, very simply, assist buyers and sellers in completing real
estate sales or lease transactions. These transactions can involve
residential, commercial, agricultural or undeveloped real estate.

To become a licensed real estate broker, an interested person must complete
a course of study from an approved real estate training program and then
pass a licensing examination.

In Colorado, there are three, legally recognized types of real estate brokers:
associate, independent and employing. An associate real estate broker is
one who has been licensed for less than two years and works under the
supervision of an independent or employing broker. This can be thought of
as an apprentice period.

An independent real estate broker requires no supervision, so the
independent real estate broker may work for a real estate brokerage firm and
may supervise associate real estate brokers, or he or she may be
independent of a real estate brokerage firm.

An employing real estate broker requires no supervision and very likely
supervises a large number of associate and independent real estate brokers
in a real estate brokerage firm.

! Black’s Law Dictionary, Sixth Edition, West Publishing Co., 1990, p. 1263.
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Real estate brokers may work independently or they may be affiliated with a
larger brokerage. Real estate brokerages are often, though not always,
recognizable brands, such as Coldwell Banker or Re/MAX. These real estate
brokerages do not employ real estate brokers, per se. Rather, real estate
brokers are independent contractors to the real estate brokerage and often
share a portion of their commissions with the real estate brokerage and may
pay a “desk fee” in order to maintain a desk at the real estate brokerage’s
offices. An employing real estate broker is typically responsible for the real
estate brokers affiliated with a particular real estate brokerage.

Real estate brokers typically work on commission, which is generally paid by
the seller. A typical commission in Colorado is six percent of the actual
closing price. If two real estate brokers are involved — one representing the
seller and one representing the buyer — the two real estate brokers typically
split this commission such that each earns three percent of the closing price.
If the same real estate broker represents both the buyer and the seller, which
is allowable under a transaction broker arrangement, the real estate broker is
said to have “double ended” the deal and the single real estate broker earns
the entire six percent commission, or the real estate broker may offer a
discount of one or two percent.

However, when a real estate broker is affiliated with a real estate brokerage,
a portion of the commission is paid to the real estate brokerage. Depending
on the experience and level of sales closed by a particular real estate broker,
the real estate brokerage may retain up to two percent of the real estate
broker’s three percent commission, leaving the real estate broker with only
one percent.

A real estate broker may represent a seller in a real estate transaction, in
which case the real estate broker is often referred to as “seller's agent.”
Alternatively, a real estate broker may represent a buyer in a real estate
transaction, in which case the real estate broker is often referred to as
“buyer’s agent.” Importantly, although the term “agent” is used, the law of
agency is not strictly applicable to real estate brokers. Rather their duties are
defined in statute.

These relationships must be established early in the relationship with the
client and the Commission has promulgated disclosure forms that must be
provided by the real estate broker and signed by the prospective client.



Finally, a real estate broker may become a transaction broker, with the
consent of the parties to the transaction. In such a situation, the real estate
broker ceases acting as an agent for either party and merely facilitates the
transaction. This situation typically arises when a seller’'s agent encounters a
buyer who does not already have a buyer’s agent but wants to make an offer
on the seller’'s property. In such a situation, the seller must consent to the
real estate broker ceasing to be the seller’'s agent and becoming a transaction
broker. This is accomplished through the completion of a Commission-
promulgated disclosure form.

A seller's agent will often conduct a market analysis, which involves
examining recent sales of similar real estate in the surrounding area, to assist
the seller in determining a reasonable asking price for the particular piece of
real estate.

Additionally, the real estate broker, with the seller’'s assistance, will complete
a number of statutorily required disclosures. These disclosures pertain to, but
are not necessarily limited to, the seller's knowledge of structural defects,
whether the property was used as a methamphetamine laboratory and not
properly remediated and the presence of lead-based paint and radon.

If the seller’s agent has access to a multiple listing service (MLS), the seller’s
agent will post, or list, the property. The MLS listing includes a detailed
description of the property, including, in the case of residential real estate, the
address, square footage, number and types of rooms, school districts,
property taxes, homeowner associations and fees (if applicable), and the
asking price.

The seller's agent may also engage in a number of activities to market the
property and to generate interest in it. These activities may include, but are
not limited to, holding open houses, printing and distributing direct mail post
cards and running newspaper or other advertising. The real estate broker
pays for most of these items directly, so the real estate broker has a greater
incentive to sell the property and recoup these costs through the commission.

A buyer’s agent helps a potential buyer find real estate to purchase. If the
buyer has not already done so, the real estate broker may direct the buyer to
obtain a pre-qualification letter from a mortgage lender or mortgage broker.
This will assist both the buyer and the buyer’s agent in identifying properties
that fall within the buyer’s price range.

Additionally, the buyer’s agent will query the buyer as to the type of property
desired, preferred locations and other relevant factors.



If the real estate broker has access to an MLS, the MLS may be accessed
and a list of potential properties is generated. The buyer may review this list
and narrow the field down to a handful of properties for which the buyer’s
agent will contact the seller’'s agent (or, more likely, the real estate brokerage
with which the seller’s agent is affiliated) to schedule a showing.

Once the buyer identifies a property to purchase, the buyer's agent works
with the buyer to draft a contract, or “offer.” Again, the Commission has
promulgated form contracts that must be used by licensed real estate
brokers.

Included in the buyer’s offer are the purchase price, a proposed closing date
and a number of tasks that must be completed by specified dates. These
other tasks may include, but are not limited to, obtaining title documents,
having the property inspected, having a survey performed, etc.

If everything goes smoothly, the parties close on the property, usually at the
offices of a title company, when the buyer provides the required funds, and
the seller deeds the property to the buyer and turns over the keys.

Subdivisions

In general, a subdivision is any real estate that is divided into 20 or more
interests intended solely for residential use.?

In a more practical sense, subdivisions include:

e Timeshares;

e Condominium conversions; and

e Raw ground developments (lots of 35 acres or more where no
buildings are included in the purchase price).

Colorado law requires subdivision developers to register with the Division and

to make certain disclosures such that prospective buyers can make informed
decisions regarding whether to purchase.

Pre-owned Housing Home Warranty Service Contracts

Pre-owned housing home warranty service contracts (service contracts) are
statutorily included in this sunset review, although neither the Commission nor
the Division has any regulatory authority over such agreements.

2§ 12-61-401(3)(a), C.R.S.



Service contracts are typically provided by the seller of real estate to the
buyer. Put simply, they offer limited warranty protection to the buyer over
elements of the property that are included in the individual service contract.
Typically, service contracts cover items such as structural components of the
property (i.e., roof, foundation, basement, walls, ceilings, floors, etc.), utility
systems (i.e., electrical systems, heating and cooling systems, plumbing
systems, etc.), and appliances (i.e., stoves, washers, dryers, dishwashers,
etc.).

Importantly, a service contract can exclude many of these items, but such
exclusions must be clearly listed.

History of Regulation

The real estate industry has been regulated in Colorado since 1925, when the
General Assembly created the Real Estate Brokers Board (Board) in the
Office of the Secretary of State. The Board initially regulated real estate
brokers and real estate salespeople.

The Board consisted of three Governor-appointed members and was
renamed the Colorado Real Estate Commission (Commission) in 1963. That
same year, the General Assembly enacted legislation that placed subdivision
developers under the Commission’s jurisdiction.

Under the Administrative Organization Act of 1968, the Commission was
transferred to DORA's Division of Registrations as a Type | agency.

In 1971, the General Assembly created the Real Estate Recovery Fund
(Recovery Fund), thereby allowing injured clients who won claims against
licensed real estate brokers or salespeople who were not able to pay the
judgments entered against them, to be made whole. Once judgment had
been entered, a claim was filed with the Commission to receive funds from
the Recovery Fund.

In 1975, the General Assembly established formal educational requirements
that had to be satisfied in order to become licensed as a real estate
salesperson or real estate broker.

In 1979, the Commission’s size was increased to five members and it was
transferred to the Division of Real Estate (Division) in DORA. That same
year, the Commission and the Division became cash funded.

In 1990, the General Assembly enacted laws regulating real estate appraisers
and creating the Board of Real Estate Appraisers (BOREA). The Division
was charged with providing day-to-day administrative support to BOREA, just
as the Division does to the Commission.
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The licensing of real estate salespeople ceased in 1996. Those previously
licensed as such were required to become inactive or, if they desired to
continue practicing, to become licensed real estate brokers.

In 1998, the General Assembly enacted legislation requiring licensed real
estate brokers to obtain errors and omissions insurance and further provided
that the Commission should contract with an insurance carrier for a group
policy under which any licensee could obtain coverage.

In 2003, the General Assembly substantially rewrote the laws governing
brokerage relationships between real estate brokers and their clients by
clearly defining the various roles that real estate brokers can and may play in
various types of real estate transactions.

In 2006, the General Assembly, following a 2005 sunrise review, enacted
legislation that imposed regulation on mortgage brokers by creating a
registration program.

The following year, the General Assembly enacted at least five additional bills
directly impacting the mortgage lending industry, including the licensure of
mortgage brokers.



Legal Framework

The real estate industry in Colorado is governed by both state and federal
laws. The federal Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) primarily
addresses lending practices, but is worth mentioning here, as it serves as a
guidepost for many real estate closing practices.

In general, RESPA prevents lenders from charging excessively high
settlement charges on federally guaranteed loans and requires lenders to fully
disclose all costs and fees associated with the loan. More importantly, in
terms of the regulation of the real estate industry, RESPA requires that
certain disclosures be made at various stages of the real estate transaction
process. Some of these disclosures include, but are not limited to, closing
costs, escrow costs, property taxes, etc. All of these provisions are intended
to provide the buyer with important information prior to closing.

More pertinent to this sunset review, however, are Colorado’s statutes
governing real estate. The statutes creating the Colorado Real Estate
Commission (Commission) and setting forth the duties and responsibilities of
the Commission and the Colorado Division of Real Estate (Division) can be
found in Article 61 of Title 12 of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.).
These statutes are divided into nine Parts:

Part 1: Brokers and Salespersons

Part 2: Brokers’ Commissions

Part 3: Recovery Fund

Part 4: Subdivisions

Part 5: Rental Location Agents (repealed)

Part 6: Pre-owned Housing Home Warranty Service Contracts
Part 7: Real Estate Appraisers

Part 8: Brokerage Relationships

Part 9: Mortgage Brokers

The following discussion is limited to those Parts (1, 2, part of 3, 4 and 6) that
are within the scope of this sunset review. The regulation of real estate
appraisers under Part 7 is scheduled to repeal on July 1, 2013. The
regulation of mortgage brokers under Part 9 is scheduled to repeal on July 1,
2011. The laws pertaining to brokerage relationships under Part 8 are not
scheduled to repeal.
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Real Estate Brokers and the Commission

To oversee the regulation of real estate brokers, the General Assembly has
created the five-member, Governor-appointed Commission.® The
Commission comprises three members who are licensed real estate brokers,
one member with expertise in subdivision development and one member to
represent the general public.’

Commission members serve three-year terms® and are compensated at the
rate of $50 per day of actual service, plus actual and necessary expenses.®

The Commission has sole authority to deny, suspend and revoke all real
estate broker licenses.” To assist the Commission in carrying out its duties,
and to administer and enforce the statutes, DORA’s Executive Director
employs a division director and staff.®

A real estate broker is, in very general terms, a person or business entity that
sells, exchanges, buys, rents or leases, or that offers or negotiates to sell,
exchange, buy, rent or lease real estate in consideration of compensation by
fee, commission, salary or anything of value.®

Importantly, exemptions to this definition are codified and include, but are not
limited to those engaging in the above referenced activities when they or their
employer own the real property at issue.*®

The Commission is authorized to promulgate standard forms for use in real
estate transactions.’* Towards this end, the Commission has promulgated 43
distinct forms covering a wide range of issues:*

Listing contracts;

Sales contracts;

Addenda to contracts;

Disclosure documents;
Counterproposals;

Agreements to amend/extend contract;
Closings;

Exchange contracts;

Deeds of trust; and

Promissory notes.

% §12-61-105(1), C.R.S.

*§12-61-105(1), C.R.S.

®§12-61-105(1), C.R.S.

® §§ 12-61-105(2) and 24-34-102(13), C.R.S.
7§12-61-105(3), C.R.S.

8§12-61-106, C.R.S.

°§12-61-101(2), C.R.S.

108 12-61-101(4), C.R.S.

1 § 12-61-803(4), C.R.S.

2 commission Rule F-7.
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There are two basic paths to licensure as a real estate broker in Colorado: by
examination and by reciprocity.

To become licensed as a real estate broker by examination, a candidate must
be at least 18 years old,*® be legally present in the United States,** and
submit a set of fingerprints for the conduct of a state and national criminal
history background check utilizing the records of the Colorado Bureau of
Investigation (CBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Additionally, a candidate for licensure must have received a degree from an
accredited degree-granting college or university with a major in real estate, or
successfully complete a course of study from an accredited college or
university or a school approved by the Division of Private and Occupational
Schools (DPOS).*® This course of study must consist of at least:

e 48 hours in real estate law and practice;'’
e 48 hours in understanding and preparing Colorado real estate
contracts;*® and
e 72 hours as follows: *°
0 24 hours in real estate closings;
0 8 hours in trust accounts and recordkeeping;
o 8 hours in current legal issues; and
0 32 hours in practical applications.

On a quarterly basis,?° the Commission is required to compile and publish the
licensing examination pass rates for each educational institution approved to
provide real estate courses of study.?

Finally, candidates for licensure by examination must take and pass a
licensing examination prepared by or under the supervision of the
Commission. The Commission may contract with a vendor to develop,
administer and grade examinations and to administer licensee records.?

The licensing examination consists of a general portion and a Colorado
portion. Candidates must pass both portions of the examination, but not
necessarily on the same date.*

1% § 12-61-103(4)(a), C.R.S.

14 § 24-34-107(1)(a), C.R.S.

15§ 12-61-103(1)(b)(l), C.R.S.

16 § 12-61-103(4)(a), C.R.S.

17§ 12-61-103(4)(a)(l), C.R.S.

18 § 12-61-103(4)(a)(1l), C.R.S.

19§ 12-61-103(4)(a)(Ill), C.R.S., and Commission Rule A-17.
20 § 12-61-108.5(3), C.R.S.

2! 88 12-61-108.5(1) and (2), C.R.S.
22 § 12-61-103(6)(a), C.R.S.

2 Commission Rule A-5.
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The examination must include the following topics:?*

Ethics;

Reading;

Spelling;

Basic mathematics;

Principles of land economics;

Appraisal,

Financing;

Colorado law pertaining to deeds, trust deeds, mortgages, listing
contracts, contracts of sale, bills of sale, leases, agency, brokerage,
trust accounts, closings and securities; and

Preparation of a real estate closing statement.

A person who completes these steps is then eligible to be licensed as an
associate real estate broker.

A person who is a licensed real estate broker in another jurisdiction may
obtain a Colorado license by reciprocity if:*°

the other jurisdiction requires passage of a real estate broker licensing
examination;

the real estate broker has been licensed in that jurisdiction for at least
two years;

the real estate broker possesses credentials and qualifications that are
substantially equivalent to the requirements in Colorado for licensure
by examination; and

the other jurisdiction will issue real estate broker licenses to applicants
from Colorado in a similar manner.

Additionally, a candidate for licensure by reciprocity who possesses a real
estate broker’s license in another jurisdiction must complete 48 hours of
instruction in understanding and preparing Colorado real estate contracts®®
and 24 hours in real estate closings.?’

24 8 12-61-103(6)(a), C.R.S.
%5 § 12-61-103(6)(b), C.R.S.
%6 § 12-61-103(4)(b), C.R.S.
2" § 12-61-103(4)(b), C.R.S., and Commission Rule A-17(a).
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A candidate for licensure by reciprocity who possesses a real estate
salesperson license in another jurisdiction must complete courses covering:

e 48 hours in understanding and preparing Colorado real estate
contracts; *® and
e 72 hours as follows:*°
0 24 hours in real estate closings;
0 8 hours in trust accounts and recordkeeping;
0 8 hours in current legal issues; and
o0 32 hours in practical applications.

A real estate broker license may be issued to a business entity, but in its
application for licensure, the business entity, or brokerage, must designate an
individual real estate broker who will be responsible for managing and
supervising all of the licensed activities of the brokerage.®® This broker is
commonly referred to as the employing broker. A 90-day temporary license
may be issued to a real estate brokerage to prevent hardship.!

To convert from an associate real estate broker to an independent real estate
broker, the real estate broker must have held an active associate real estate
broker license for two years.*

To convert from an associate real estate broker or an independent real estate
broker to an employing real estate broker, the real estate broker must
complete a 24-hour course in brokerage administration.

Prior to 1997, Colorado also licensed real estate salespeople.®* These
licenses were valid for three years, and any licensed real estate salesperson
seeking renewal in 2000 had three options: allow the license to lapse, go on
inactive status®> or become a licensed real estate broker.*® If the licensed
real estate salesperson opted to go on inactive status, to come off of such
status, the licensee must become a licensed real estate broker.®’

To convert a real estate salesperson license into an associate real estate
broker license, the candidate must pass the Colorado portion of the real
estate broker licensing examination or complete a 24-hour course of study
that must include closings and contract preparation.®

28 § 12-61-103(4)(c), C.R.S.

29§ 12-61-103(4)(c), C.R.S., and Commission Rule A-17.
% § 12-61-103(7)(a), C.R.S.

®! § 12-61-103(7)(c), C.R.S., and Commission Rule A-26.
%2 § 12-61-103(6)(c)(l), C.R.S.

%3 § 12-61-103(6)(c)(Il), C.R.S.

% §12-61-103.5(1), C.R.S.

% §12-61-103.5(3), C.R.S.

% §12-61-103.5(2), C.R.S.

%7 § 12-61-103.5(3), C.R.S.

* §12-61-103.5(2), C.R.S.
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Every licensed real estate broker must maintain an errors and omissions
insurance policy.>*® The Commission is required to make such insurance
available to all licensees by contracting with an insurance carrier for a group
policy,” the terms and conditions of which are to be determined by the
Commission.** If the Commission is unable to obtain such insurance at a
reasonable premium, licensees must obtain their own insurance.*?

Among other things, the Commission has determined that the group policy
must provide, at a minimum:*3

e Coverage for all acts for which a real estate broker’s license is
required, excluding any illegal or fraudulent acts;

e That the coverage cannot be cancelled by the insurance carrier except
for non-payment of the premium;

e At least $100,000 of coverage for each real estate broker per covered
claim;

e An annual aggregate of at least $300,000 per real estate broker;

e A deductible that does not exceed $1,000 for claims, and no deductible
for legal expenses;

e That the insurance carrier is obligated to defend all covered claims and
the ability of the insured to select counsel of choice;

e Coverage of a real estate broker’s use of lock boxes, which coverage
shall not be less than $25,000 per occurrence; and

e The ability of a real estate broker to obtain higher or excess coverage,
upon payment of an additional premium.

Licensed real estate brokers that do not reside in Colorado are not required to
maintain a place of business in Colorado so long as they maintain a place of
business in another state.**

Real estate broker licenses are valid for three years* from the date of
issuance.” Renewal is contingent upon completion of statutorily mandated
continuing education*’ and a criminal history background check.*®

% §12-61-103.6(1), C.R.S.

0§ 12-61-103.6(1), C.R.S.

1 § 12-61-103.6(3), C.R.S.

2 § 12-61-103.6(2)(a), C.R.S.

3 Commission Rule D-14.

* §12-61-107(1), C.R.S.

*® § 12-61-110(1)(f), C.R.S.

® Commission Rule B-1.

*7'§ 12-61-110.5, C.R.S.

“8 § 12-61-110(4)(a), C.R.S., and Commission Rule A-15.
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A licensee has two options with respect to completing the mandated
continuing education requirement: retaking and passing the Colorado portion
of the licensing examination or completing 24 hours of continuing education,
eight of which must include the Commission Update Course.** The
Commission Update Course has been divided, by Commission rule, into two,
four-hour courses.>

The Commission Update Course is developed by the Commission and is
designed to ensure reasonable currency of real estate knowledge and
includes an update of current statutes and rules.®® At the conclusion of the
Commission Update Course, a written examination is given®? and must be
passed with a score of 70 percent or better.>*

The remaining 16 hours of continuing education must address one or more of
the following subjects:>*

Real estate law

Property exchanges

Real estate contracts

Real estate finance

Real estate appraisal

Real estate closing

Real estate ethics

Condominiums and cooperatives

Real estate time-sharing

Real estate marketing principles

Real estate construction

Land development

Real estate energy concerns

Real estate geology

Water and waste management
Commercial real estate

Real estate securities and syndications
Property management

Real estate computer principles
Brokerage administration and management
Agency

Any other subject matter approved by the Commission

9§ 12-61-110.5(1)(c), C.R.S.
0 Commission Rule B-3(a).
* § 12-61-110.5(2), C.R.S.
52 § 12-61-110.5(2), C.R.S.
3 Commission Rule B-3(c).
* § 12-61-110.5(3), C.R.S.
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Additionally, the Commission has expressly excluded the following types of
courses from qualifying for continuing education credit:>®

Sales or marketing meetings conducted in the general course of a real
estate brokerage practice;

Orientation, personal growth, self-improvement, self-promotion or
marketing sessions;

Motivational meetings or seminars; and

Examination preparation or examination technique courses.

The Commission may, upon its own motion, and shall, upon receipt of a
complaint, investigate any licensee. After a hearing and a finding that a
licensee has violated the statute or Commission rules, the Commission may
impose a fine not to exceed $2,500 per offense, impose a censure, place the
licensee on probation, suspend or revoke the license.*®

Grounds for discipline include:>’

Engaging in most conduct that involves fraud, deceit or
misrepresentation;

Violating any provision of the Colorado Consumer Protection Act;

Acting for more than one party in a transaction without the knowledge
of all parties thereto;

Failing to account for or remit, within a reasonable time, any money
coming into the possession of the real estate broker and failing to keep
records relative to such money;

Converting, diverting or commingling funds;

Failing to provide the buyer or seller with a closing statement of the
transaction;

Paying a commission or other valuable consideration for performing
any of the functions of a licensed real estate broker to a person not
duly licensed;

Violating any provision of Article 61 of Title 12, C.R.S., or any rule of
the Commission;

Being convicted of or entering a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to
any of a number of enumerated crimes under state law, or their
equivalents under federal law or the laws of other states, or failing to
notify the Commission of such in a timely manner;

5 Commission Rule B-5.
% §12-61-113(1), C.R.S.
% §12-61-113(1), C.R.S.
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Violating or aiding and abetting in the violation of the Colorado or
federal fair housing laws, or failing to notify the Commission of such in
a timely manner;

Having demonstrated unworthiness or incompetency;

Failing to exercise reasonable supervision of licensed real estate
brokers;

Claiming, arranging for, or taking any secret or undisclosed amount of
compensation in connection with any acts for which a license as a real
estate broker is required;

Having a license as a real estate broker, real estate salesperson or
subdivision developer suspended or revoked in any jurisdiction;

Failing to keep records documenting proof of completion of mandated
continuing education; and

Violating any statutory provision relating to affiliated business
arrangements.

Additionally, an employing real estate broker can be held accountable for
those under his or her supervision only if the employing real estate broker had
actual knowledge of the unlawful act or violation, or had been negligent in the
supervision.*®

Employing real estate brokers are responsible for:>

Maintaining all trust accounts and trust account records;
Maintaining all transaction records;

Developing office policies and periodically reviewing those policies with
all employees;

Taking reasonable steps to ensure that violations of statutes, rules and
office policies do not occur or reoccur; and

Providing adequate supervision of all real estate brokers employed by,
and all offices operated by, the employing broker.

An affiliated business arrangement is, generally, an arrangement in which a
provider of settlement services has either an affiliate relationship with or a
direct beneficial ownership interest of more than one percent in another
provider of settlement services, and the provider of settlement services or an
associate thereof, directly or indirectly refers settlement business to another
provider of settlement services.®

8 §12-61-118, C.R.S.
%% Commission Rule E-30.
% §12-61-113.2(1)(a), C.R.S.
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Settlement services include a wide range of services, such as those related to
titles, mortgages, real estate brokering, real estate appraisals, and
inspections.®*

Affiliated business arrangements are permissible, so long as the licensed real
estate broker discloses the relationship to the parties at the time of closing,?
the use of an affiliated business is not required,®® the licensed real estate
broker does not give or receive any fee or kickback to or from the affiliated
business® and the real estate broker discloses all of his or her affiliated
business arrangements to the Commission on an annual basis.®

All money collected by the Commission and the Division is deposited in the
Division’s cash fund.®®

Real Estate Recovery Fund

The Real Estate Recovery Fund (Recovery Fund) existed to provide
reimbursement of actual and direct out-of-pocket losses, court costs and
reasonable attorney fees that remained unpaid on judgments entered against
licensed real estate brokers.®’

However, the General Assembly repealed the Recovery Fund, effective May
27, 2005, and mandated that no claims against the Recovery Fund could be
made unless the civil action was commenced within 30 days thereafter.®® As
a result, the statutory provisions governing the Recovery Fund will repeal
when the last claim has been paid.®®

If a claimant is unable to provide personal service on a real estate broker in
order to file a suit that could generate a claim under the Recovery Fund, the
claimant may serve the Colorado Secretary of State.”

o1 § 12-61-113.2(1)(c), C.R.S.

62 § 12-61-113.2(2)(b), C.R.S.

6% § 12-61-113.2(2)(c), C.R.S.

64§ 12-61-113.2(2)(d), C.R.S.

6% 8§ 12-61-113.2(3) and (4), C.R.S.

¢ §8 12-61-111, 12-61-113(7), 12-61-404(3) and 12-61-405(3), C.R.S.
67 § 12-61-302(4), C.R.S.

68 § 12-61-302(2), C.R.S.

% § 12-61-302(11)(b), C.R.S.

0§ 12-61-303(6)(a), C.R.S.
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Subdivision Developers

A subdivision is any real property that is divided into 20 or more interests
intended solely for residential use and offered for sale, lease or transfer.”
Specifically excluded from the definition of subdivisions are:"?

e Memberships in campgrounds;
¢ Bulk sales and transfers between developers;
e Property, the sales price of which includes the cost a residential
building; and
e Property that, at the time of closing:
o Is situated on a street or road that is improved to the standards
of the county, city or town in which the property is located;
0 Has a feasible plan to provide potable water and sewage
disposal; or
0 Has adequate telephone and electricity facilities installed and in
place.

Before selling, leasing or transferring, or agreeing or negotiating to sell, lease
or transfer, any subdivision or any part thereof, the developer of the
subdivision must register with the Commission.”

To register, the subdivision developer must submit to the Commission, among
other things: "

e The names and addresses of all natural persons possessing a 24-
percent or greater financial or beneficial interest in the business of the
subdivision developer;

e The length of time and the locations where the subdivision developer
has been engaged in the business of real estate sales or development;

e Any felony of which the subdivision developer has been convicted in
the preceding 10 years; and

 Information concerning the subdivision to be developed, including:”
0 The location of the subdivision;
0 The name of the subdivision;

o Evidence that the subdivision has been registered or will be
registered in accordance with local requirements;

o Evidence of title or other interest in the subdivision;

™ § 12-61-401(3)(a), C.R.S.

2 § 12-61-401(3)(b)(Il), C.R.S.
% §12-61-402(1), C.R.S.

™ § 12-61-403(2)(a), C.R.S.

’® § 12-61-403(3), C.R.S.
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0 A statement that standard Commission-approved forms will be
used for contracts of sale, notes, deeds, etc.;

0 A statement regarding the availability of legal access, sewage
disposal, water, electricity, gas and telephone in the subdivision;

o0 A statement as to whether survey monuments are in place; and

0 A statement as to whether a common interest community has
been or will be created.

All subdivision developer registrations expire on December 31 of each year.”

The Commission may impose an administrative fine not to exceed $2,500 per
violation, issue letters of admonition, place a subdivision developer registrant
on probation, refuse to issue a registration and suspend or revoke a
subdivision developer registration, after finding that a violation of the statutes
or Commission rules has occurred.”’

Grounds for discipline against a subdivision developer include:’®

Engaging in most conduct involving fraud, deceit or misrepresentation;

Being convicted of, or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to a crime
involving fraud, deceit, false pretense, theft, misrepresentation, false
advertising, or dishonest dealing;

Disposing of, concealing, diverting, converting or failing to properly
account for any funds or assets of any purchaser or any homeowners’
association under the control of the subdivision developer;

Failing to comply with any stipulation or agreement made with the
Commission;

Failing to comply with or violating Colorado law pertaining to
subdivisions or any rule of the Commission;

Refusing to honor a buyer’s request to cancel a contract for purchase
when the request was made within five days after execution of the
contract;

Violating the Colorado Consumer Protection Act;
Using documents not approved by the Commission; and

Failing to disclose encumbrances to prospective buyers.

7% § 12-61-404(2), C.R.S.
7§ 12-61-405(1), C.R.S.
"8 § 12-61-405(1), C.R.S.
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Pre-owned Housing Home Warranty Service Contracts

A pre-owned housing home warranty service contract (service contract) is any
contract where a person undertakes, for a predetermined fee, with respect to
a specified period of time, to maintain, repair or replace any or all of the
following elements of a specified pre-owned home:"®

Structural components (i.e., the roof, foundation, basement, walls
ceilings or floors);

Utility systems (i.e., electrical, plumbing and heating/cooling systems);
and

Appliances (i.e., stoves, washers, dryers and dishwashers).

Neither a service contract company, nor a lending institution may require any
buyer or seller, or person refinancing a home, to purchase a service
contract.®

Every service contract must contain:®*

A specific list of all limitations in coverage and all items or elements
excluded from coverage;

The procedure to follow to obtain repairs or replacements;

The time period within which repairs will be made or replacements
provided;

The specific duration of the service contract, including the exact date of
termination;

Whether the service contract is transferable; and

A statement that actions under a service contract may be covered by
the Colorado Consumer Protection Act or the Unfair Practices Act.

7§ 12-61-602(6)(a), C.R.S.
80 88 12-61-611 and 12-61-614, C.R.S.
81§ 12-61-611.5, C.R.S.
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Program Description and Administration

The Colorado Real Estate Commission (Commission) is charged with
administering and enforcing the regulatory programs pertaining to real estate
brokers and subdivision developers, both of which fall within the scope of this
sunset review.

The Colorado Division of Real Estate (Division) is charged with providing
support to the Commission and the Colorado Board of Real Estate Appraisers
(BOREA), and with administering and enforcing the regulatory program
pertaining to mortgage brokers. Although neither the real estate appraiser
nor mortgage broker program is the subject of this sunset review, some
figures are provided herein so as to give a better picture of the Division’s
overall workload.

The five-member, Governor-appointed Commission generally meets on the
first Tuesday of each month. Attendance of Commission members is
generally good and a handful of members of the public often attend.

Table 1 illustrates, for the five fiscal years indicated, the Division’s overall
expenditures and staffing levels.

Table 1
Agency Fiscal Information
. Total Program Full-Time Equivalent
Fiscal Year .

Expenditures Employees
01-02 $3,508,328 37.0
02-03 $3,953,316 37.0
03-04 $3,798,301 37.0
04-05 $4,116,100 37.0
05-06 $3,267,155 37.0

Due to various statutory changes resulting in additional staff, as of the time of
this writing, the Division has 44.5 full-time equivalent (FTE) employees.
These employees are organized into four main sections, the Office of the
Director, Investigations and Compliance, Licensing and Operations Support,
and Education and Consumer Outreach.

The Office of the Director consists 2.0 FTE and includes the Division Director

(1.0 FTE Management), who heads the Division, and the Director’s assistant
(1.0 FTE Program Assistant Il).
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The Investigations and Compliance section consists of 26.5 FTE, is headed
by the Investigations and Compliance Director (1.0 FTE General Professional
VI) and is itself organized into four units or “programs”: Real Estate Program
(9.0 FTE), Appraiser Program (4.5 FTE), Mortgage Broker Program (5.0 FTE)
and Program Support (7.0 FTE).

The Real Estate Program is headed by the Real Estate Program Manager
(1.0 FTE General Professional V) and is staffed by 3.0 FTE Criminal
Investigator 1, 3.0 FTE Compliance Investigator I, 2.0 FTE Financial/Credit
Examiner Ill. This program is charged with investigating complaints relating
to real estate brokers and subdivision developers and conducting audits of
such.

The Appraiser Program is headed by the Appraiser Program Manager (1.0
FTE General Professional V) and is staffed by 2.5 FTE Compliance
Investigator Il and 1.0 FTE Compliance Investigator I. This program is
charged with investigating complaints relating to real estate appraisers.

The Mortgage Broker Program is headed by the Mortgage Broker Program
Manager (1.0 FTE General Professional 1IV) and is staffed by 4.0 FTE
Compliance Investigator I. This program is charged with investigating
complaints relating to mortgage brokers.

The Program Support unit is headed by the Program Support Manager (1.0
FTE General Professional 1V) and is staffed by 3.0 FTE Program Assistant I,
1.0 FTE Program Assistant Il and 2.0 FTE Program Assistant Ill. This
program is charged with providing general administrative support to the rest
of the Investigations and Compliance section.

The Licensing and Operations Support section is headed by 1.0 FTE Office
Manager Il and is staffed by 1.0 FTE General Professional Ill, 1.0 FTE
Program Assistant |, 4.0 FTE Administrative Assistant Ill, 6.0 FTE
Administrative Assistant 1l, 1.0 FTE Accounting Technician | and 1.0 FTE
Technical Support.  This unit is responsible for processing license
applications and issuing licenses once applications are complete, and for
ensuring the smooth operation of the Division by answering telephone calls,
photocopying and ordering supplies.

Finally, the Education and Consumer Outreach section is staffed by 1.0 FTE
General Professional V. This section is responsible for overseeing the
continuing education programs and for coordinating the Division’s community
outreach efforts.
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Licensing
Real Estate Brokers

An individual or business entity may obtain licensure as a real estate broker
by following one of three paths: by examination; by reciprocity; or by
conversion from a salesperson license.

Table 2 illustrates, for the fiscal years indicated, the number of real estate
broker and real estate appraiser licenses issued by examination, reciprocity
and renewal, as well as the total number of active licenses.

Table 2
Licensing Information by License Type

Number of Licenses
Examination Reciprocity Renewal TOTAL ACTIVE
REB REA | REB REA REB REA REB REA
01-02 | 3,002 840 105 32 7,653 1,302 | 29,132 | 4,147
02-03 | 4,218 | 1,686 | 145 28 14,034 781 31,178 | 3,542
03-04 | 4,441 | 1,152 | 187 32 15,096 | 1,980 | 31,963 | 5,538
04-05 | 4,848 733 215 57 16,339 | 1,457 | 37,544 | 5,345

05-06 | 5,002 577 242 55 15,236 | 1,698 | 32,335 | 5,771

REB = Real Estate Brokers
REA = Real Estate Appraisers

Fiscal
Year

Although the number of active real estate broker licensees has gradually
increased over time, there was a noticeable decrease between fiscal years
04-05 and 05-06. Although no one can say for certain why this occurred,
Division staff attributes the decline to the corresponding difficulties of the real
estate market in Colorado during this time. Given the turbulent market
conditions, a greater number of real estate brokers left the business than in
previous years.

Clearly, though, the most common route to licensure as a real estate broker is
by examination, and the number of people seeking such licensure has
steadily increased over the period indicated.

To obtain a real estate broker license by examination, a candidate must: 1)
have a degree in real estate from an accredited college or university or
complete 168 hours of education from a school approved by the Colorado
Division of Private and Occupational Schools (DPOS); 2) submit a set of
fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) for a criminal history
background check of CBI and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) records;
3) take and pass the licensing examination; and 4) pay the required fees.
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The 168-hour, DPOS-approved real estate educational programs must cover:

e 48 hours in real estate law and practice;

48 hours in understanding and preparing Colorado real estate
contracts;

32 hours in practical real estate applications;

24 hours in real estate closings;

8 hours in trust accounts and recordkeeping; and

8 hours in current legal issues.

Since July 1, 2005, all current real estate broker licensees and all applicants
for new licenses have been required to submit fingerprints to CBI for a
criminal history background check. For new licensees, this is done at the
time of license application. For renewing real estate brokers, this is done at
the time of renewal. Regardless of whether it is a new or renewing real estate
broker, the fingerprints are submitted directly to CBI and a fee of $39.50
($17.50 for CBI and $22 for FBI) is paid directly to CBI. Results of the
criminal history background checks are then electronically sent directly to the
Division.

Since implementation of the fingerprint-based criminal history background
check process, at least two problems have arisen. First, it can easily take up
to three or four months from the time the fingerprints are submitted to CBI for
the Division to receive the results. This can cause unanticipated delays in
renewing licenses.

Another problem has been unreadable fingerprints. This has caused
additional delays and has inadvertently caused some licenses to lapse, since
the Division cannot renew a license until the criminal history background
check has been completed. Some licensees and license candidates have
submitted fingerprints to CBI numerous times. In some instances, the
fingerprints are unreadable because they were taken incorrectly. In other
instances, the fingerprints simply lack discernable, identifying characteristics.
As a result, the Division has been in a quandary as to whether and how it can
issue licenses to such individuals since sections 12-61-103(1)(b)(l)
(addressing new licenses) and 12-61-110.8(1) (addressing renewal licenses),
Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), require fingerprint-based criminal history
background checks.

In addition to licensing individual real estate brokers, the Commission also
licenses real estate brokerages, which are business entities. In the case of
real estate brokerages, however, the brokerage merely needs to employ a
responsible broker, typically an employing real estate broker, who is licensed
as an individual.
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Table 3 illustrates, for the fiscal years indicated, the number of real estate
brokerages licensed by the Commission.

Table 3
Real Estate Brokerages

Fiscal Year | Number of Real Estate Brokerages

01-02 3,761
02-03 4,193
03-04 4,163
04-05 4,391
05-06 4,560

Finally, once a person has been licensed for two years, during which time the
licensee is often referred to as an associate real estate broker, the licensee
can upgrade to an independent real estate broker simply by applying to the
Commission and paying a $5-fee. Alternatively, the associate real estate
broker could upgrade to an employing real estate broker by completing a 24-
hour course in brokerage administration and paying a $5-fee to the
Commission.

Table 4 illustrates, for calendar years 2000 through 2006, the number of
licensed real estate brokers who have converted to another type of real estate
broker license.

Table 4
Real Estate Broker License Conversions

Calendar Associateto Associate to I EEEme Ent Total
. to .
Year Independent  Employing E . Conversions
mploying
2000 178 159 78 415
2001 217 166 87 470
2002 297 225 127 649
2003 297 226 96 619
2004 364 286 126 776
2005 488 486 180 1,154
2006 506 455 197 1,158
TOTAL 2,347 2,003 891 5,241
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As this data reflects, a significant number of individuals convert to a higher
level of licensure, but compared to the overall number of real estate broker
licensees, relatively few pursue conversion.

The manner in which a candidate obtains a Colorado real estate broker’s
license by reciprocity depends, in part, on the jurisdiction that issued the
original license. In short, someone holding a real estate license from another
jurisdiction can obtain a license in Colorado, provided the other jurisdiction’s
licensing requirements are substantially equivalent to Colorado’s (typical for
an endorsement provision) and that original jurisdiction will issue a license to
a Colorado licensee based on similar criteria (typical for a reciprocity
provision).

This has led the Commission to enter into recognition agreements with other
jurisdictions. As of the time of this writing, the Commission has entered into
such agreements with 26 other jurisdictions: Alabama, Alberta, Arkansas,
Connecticut, Georgia, Idaho, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico,
New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota,
Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.?

In addition, the Commission has limited recognition agreements with 10
states: Florida, lllinois, Indiana, Maine, Missouri, Maryland, Rhode Island,
South Carolina, Virginia and Washington.?®

Table 5 illustrates the various requirements a licensee from a jurisdiction with
which the Commission has a recognition agreement must satisfy in order to
receive a license in Colorado.

8 «__icense Recognition,” downloaded from Hwww.dora.state.co.us/real-
estate/licensing/recognition.htmH on January 16, 2007.
¥ uLicense Recognition,” downloaded from Hwww.dora.state.co.us/real-
estate/licensing/recognition.htmH on January 16, 2007.
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Table 5
Colorado Licensing Requirements for
License Holders from Other Jurisdictions

Requirements for
Colorado
Associate Real
Estate Broker

Requirements for
Colorado
Independent Real
Estate Broker

Requirements for
Colorado

License Held
and Type of

Jurisdiction Employing Broker

Real Estate License

License
Salesperson
license in other
jurisdiction.

License

Salesperson
license in other
jurisdiction.

o0 Colorado portion o0 Colorado portion of

Salesperson
license in other
jurisdiction.

Colorado portion of

Real Estate of examination examination. examination.
Salesperson —
Limited Recognition 0 2 years active 2 years active
licensure. licensure.
24 hours education
in brokerage
administration.

0 Salesperson 0 Salesperson Salesperson
license in other license in other license in other
jurisdiction. jurisdiction. jurisdiction.

o Colorado portion of Colorado portion of
Real Estate examination. examination.
Salesperson — Full
Recognition 0 2 years active 2 years active
licensure. licensure.

24 hours education
in brokerage
administration.

o Broker license in o Broker license in
other jurisdiction. other jurisdiction.

Real Estate Broker
— Limited
Recognition

o Colorado portion o Colorado portion of
of examination. examination.

0 2 years active
licensure.

Broker license in
other jurisdiction.

Colorado portion of
examination.

2 years active
licensure.

0 Broker license o0 Broker license with
with equivalent equivalent level of
level of authority authority from other
from other jurisdiction.
jurisdiction.

Real Estate Broker
— Full Recognition

O 2 years previous
licensure.

Broker license with
equivalent level of
authority from other
jurisdiction.

2 years previous
licensure.

Source: Colorado Real Estate Broker Application

This scheme is somewhat complicated by the fact that Colorado does not

license salespeople, but most other jurisdictions do.
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An individual holding a real estate broker license from Ohio must complete
the Commission Update Course, complete 24 hours of education in real
estate closings and pass the Colorado portion of the Commission’s licensing
examination.

Licensees from 27 other jurisdictions, including 10 Canadian provinces and
the U.S. territories of Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands,? with
which the Commission has no type of license recognition agreement must
satisfy all of Colorado’s requirements for initial licensure by examination.

Finally, as of January 1, 1997, the Commission ceased renewing and issuing
new real estate salesperson licenses. As a result, all real estate licenses
issued prior to this date either lapsed or were placed on inactive status, at the
request of the licensee, by January 1, 2000.

As of June 30, 2007, there were 942 inactive salesperson licensees. These
individuals cannot reactive their licenses as real estate salespeople, but they
can convert their licenses into real estate broker licenses. To do this, an
individual must: 1) complete a 24-hour course of study on closings and
contract preparation; and 2) take and pass the Colorado portion of the
Commission’s licensing examination.

Table 6 illustrates, for calendar years 2000 through 2006, the number of
inactive salesperson licenses that converted to real estate broker licenses,
and the types of real estate broker licenses to which the salesperson
licensees converted.

Table 6
Real Estate Salesperson License Conversions

Conversion to Conversion to

Conversion to

Calendar . - Total Number of
Associate Independent Employing .
Year Conversions
Broker Broker Broker
2000 1,167 99 41 1,307
2001 655 61 27 743
2002 236 49 11 296
2003 194 38 5 237
2004 114 45 5 164
2005 73 34 6 113
2006 25 5 3 33
TOTAL 2,464 331 98 2,893

Additionally, for the first four months of 2007, five additional real estate
salesperson licenses converted to real estate broker licenses: four became
associate real estate brokers and one became an independent real estate
broker.

8 u«License Recognition,” downloaded from Hwww.dora.state.co.us/real-
estate/licensing/recognition.htmH on January 16, 2007.
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It is not surprising to see the largest number of conversions occurring in 2000,
since that was the year in which all salesperson licenses either lapsed or
went on inactive status, meaning that if a licensed real estate salesperson
wanted to continue to practice, he or she had to convert to a real estate
broker license.

Similarly, it is not surprising to see that since 2000, the number of
conversions has declined dramatically from year to year. The longer a person
has been out of practice the more difficult it becomes to re-enter the field.

In 2007, the license fees for real estate brokers were $150 for a new license
and $84 for renewals.

Regardless of how the real estate broker obtains a license, errors and
omissions insurance is required. The Commission has entered into a contract
with Rice Insurance Services Company (Rice) for a group policy to cover all
real estate brokers in Colorado. However, real estate brokers may also
obtain errors and omissions insurance on their own.

According to Division staff, there are at least 27 different insurance carriers
writing errors and omissions insurance for Colorado real estate brokers.
Regardless, two companies, Rice and Williams Underwriting (Williams), have
dominated the real estate errors and omissions market in Colorado from the
beginning.

Table 7 illustrates what the Commission’s group policy must cover and

compares such requirements to what an independently obtained errors and
omissions insurance policy must cover.
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Table 7
Required Errors and Omissions Policy Requirements

Commission’s lneleper ey

Provision Obtained

Group Plan

Insurance
Coverage for all acts for which a real estate license is
required, except those illegal, fraudulent or other acts X X
which are normally excluded from such coverage.
Coverage is for not less than $100,000 for each licensed
individual and entity per covered claim, regardless of the
number of licensees or entities to which a settlement or X X
claim may apply, with an annual aggregate of not less than
$300,000 per licensed individual or entity.

Coverage of a licensee’s use of lock boxes, which

coverage shall not be less than $25,000 per occurrence. X X
An option, upon payment of an additional premium, to

obtain an extended reporting period of not less than 365 X X
days.

That the insurance carrier cannot cancel the coverage

unless the licensee does not pay the required premium, X

becomes inactive, has his or her license revoked or, in the
case of an applicant, is denied a license.

Pro-ration of premium for coverage that is purchased
during the course of a calendar year, but with no refunds X
of unused premiums.

The obligation of the insurance carrier to defend all claims
and the ability of the insured licensee to select counsel of
choice subject to the written permission of the carrier,
which shall not be unreasonably withheld.

The ability of the insured licensee, upon payment of an
additional premium, to obtain higher or excess coverage or
to purchase additional coverage from the group carrier as
may be determined by the carrier.

That coverage is individual and license-specific and will
cover the licensee regardless of changes in employing X
broker.

A conformity endorsement allowing a Colorado resident
licensee to meet the errors and ommissions insurance
requirement for an active license in another group X
mandated state without the need to purchase separate
coverage in that state.

The insurance carrier cannot cancel coverage, except

pursuant to and in conformance with section 10-4-109.7, X
C.R.S.

Payment of claims by the insurance carrier shall be on a

first dollar basis and the carrier shall look to the insured for X

payment of any deductible.

That the insurance carrier execute an affidavit in a form
specified by the Commission attesting that the
independent policy is in force and, at a minimum, complies
with all relevant conditions set forth in the Commission’s X
rules and that the carrier will immediately notify the
Commission, in writing, of any cancellation or lapse in
coverage of any independent policy.

An independently obtained insurance policy, therefore, must match the
Commission’s group policy in terms of coverage and limitations. Differences
may arise in terms of cancellation and portability.
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The popularity of the Commission’s group policy has waned in recent years.
Table 8 provides data, for calendar years 1998 through 2006, regarding the
number of licensed real estate brokers who have opted to purchase the
Commission’s group policy.

Table 8
Participation in the Commission’s Group Policy

Calendar Year Number of Covered Real Estate Brokers

1998 32,095
1999 32,477
2000 31,605
2001 33,090
2002 35,271
2003 37,132
2004 21,695
2005 22,865
2006 21,358

Williams had the contract for the Commission’s group policy until 2004.
Williams bid on and won the contract for that year and subsequent years, but
backed out at the last minute claiming that it was having difficulties with its
underwriter and the promised premium. The Division put the contract out for
bid again, and both Willilams and Rice bid on the contract. This time, the
contract was awarded to Rice. Since Williams already had a relationship with
Colorado’s real estate brokers and was able to continue to offer insurance
outside of the Commission’s group policy, many real estate brokers elected to
remain with Williams, thus the decline in participation in the Commission’s
group policy that began in 2004.

Table 9 provides historical data regarding the premiums for this policy.

Table 9
Errors and Omissions Insurance
Historical Premiums for Commission’s Group Policy

Calendar Year Group Policy Premium

1998 $68
1999 $68
2000 $68
2001 $75
2002 $75
2003 $100
2004 $230
2005 $215
2006 $230
2007 $239
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The premiums for the group policy have increased dramatically in the 10
years since the General Assembly first imposed the errors and omissions
insurance requirement.

Table 10 illustrates the claims history under the Commission’s group policy.

Table 10
Historical Claims Data for the Commission’s Group Policy

Open

Open

Calendar To_tal Op_en CIo_sed Loss Paid Expense Paid Total Open
Year Claims|Claims Claims Reserves Losses Reserves Expenses & Incurred
1998 304 0 304 $0 $1,203,059 $0 $1,136,764 | $2,339,823
1999 410 0 410 $0 $1,439,013 $0 $1,658,039 | $3,097,052
2000 345 4 341 | $35,000 |$1,825,311| $62,130 |$1,918,567 | $3,841,008
2001 598 0 598 $0 $2,087,920 $0 $2,483,714 | $4,571,634
2002 581 4 577 | $200,150 | $2,872,534 $0 $3,404,918 | $6,477,602
2003 562 4 558 $5,680 |$3,970,344 $0 $2,702,897 | $6,678,921
2004 272 13 259 | $100,000 |$1,087,215| $75,973 | $1,448,902 | $2,712,090
2005 274 41 233 | $744,000 | $1,149,705 |$288,949| $1,160,903 | $3,343,557
2006 206 71 135 | $217,566 | $689,889 |$298,968| $209,046 |$1,415,469
2007 43 28 15 $85,750 $4,000 | $32,000 $0 $121,750
TOTAL | 3,595 | 165 | 3,430 ($1,388,146|$16,328,990($758,020($16,123,750($34,598,906

Columns in Table 10 addressing “reserves” indicate dollar values not yet paid.
These are the carriers’ estimates as to what the actual costs will be. Columns
addressing “expenses” reflect, for the most part, legal fees.

Because it takes time to process a claim, the more recent the claims data, the
more likely the data will reveal a higher number of open cases and higher
reserve amounts, relative to paid amounts. As claims are processed and
closed, the dollar amounts paid under the policy can reasonably be expected
to increase.

It is also important to note that the Commission’s group policy is a “claims
made” type of policy, meaning that the carrier providing the errors and
omissions insurance during the year in which a claim is made, not necessarily
the year in which the loss occurred, is responsible for processing the claim.
For example, if the incident leading to the loss occurred in 2006, but the claim
is filed in 2008, the carrier of the policy in effect for 2008 processes the claim.

As Table 10 demonstrates, the Commission’s group policy has returned over
$16 million to injured Colorado residents in the past 10 years. Similarly,
however, the group policy has paid over $16 million in attorney fees, court
costs and other expenses.
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To ensure compliance with the errors and omissions insurance requirement,
the Commission requires real estate brokers to attest to their compliance at
the time of initial licensure and when licenses are renewed.

Additionally, all licensed real estate brokers must complete 24 hours of
continuing education every three years. The three-year cycle is based on the
licensee’s license renewal cycle. These 72 hours of continuing education
must include eight hours of the Commission Update Course and 16 hours of
electives.

The Commission Update Course has been divided into two, four-hour courses
and licensees must take one course in two of the three years in the renewal
cycle. The update courses, generally, cover changes in Colorado law,
Commission rules and Commission-approved forms. A written examination is
given at the end of each update course.

The remaining 16 hours of mandated continuing education must address one
or more of the following:

¢ Real estate law ¢ Real estate geology

e Property exchanges e Water and waste

e Real estate contracts management

e Real estate finance e Commercial real estate

e Real estate appraisal e Real estate securities and

¢ Real estate closings syndications

e Real estate ethics e Property management

e Condominiums and e Real estate computer
cooperatives principles

e Real estate time-sharing e Brokerage administration

e Real estate marketing and management
principles e Agency

e Real estate construction e Any other subject approved

e Land development by the Commission

e Real estate energy concerns

Prior to 2005, the Division maintained an Education Unit that approved course
content and audited licensee records to ensure compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

However, the Education Unit was abolished in 2005, and with it the Division’s
approval of continuing education courses. Additionally, statutory changes in
2007 further reduced control over real estate continuing education by
removing restrictions on who could provide the Commission Update Course.
At present, virtually anyone can provide any continuing education course to
licensees, so long as those courses are related to the subjects enumerated
above.
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Additionally, prior to 2005, the Division’s Education Unit randomly audited
1,000 real estate broker licensees each year (500 in the spring and 500 in the
autumn) for compliance with the continuing education requirements.
According to Division staff, these audits typically revealed that approximately
10 percent of those audited had failed to comply with the mandated
requirements. No such audit has been completed since Spring 2005.

To ensure compliance with the continuing education requirement, the
Commission requires real estate brokers to attest to their compliance at the
time of license renewal. No other efforts are undertaken to ensure
compliance.

As an alternative to satisfying the continuing education requirement, licensees
are able to retake the Colorado portion of the Commission’s licensing
examination. Although most licensees opt to complete continuing education,
between January 1, 2006, and April 1, 2007, 15 licensees opted to retake the
examination. Of these, two failed, resulting in a pass rate of 84.6 percent.

Finally, all licensees and license applicants must attest to the fact that they
are legally present in the United States. In addition, if the Commission
receives a complaint against a licensee, the licensee is required to submit
documentary verification that the licensee is legally present in the United
States.

Subdivision Developers

Subdivisions primarily consist of timeshares that are marketed in Colorado,
regardless of where the property is located, condominium conversions and
raw land subdivisions with lots over 35 acres. A raw land subdivision is one
that does not include a home, and very often these projects lack infrastructure
(i.e., water, roads, electricity, telephone, etc.) as well.

Table 11 illustrates, for the five fiscal years indicated, the number of new
subdivision developer registrations, supplemental filings and registration
renewals.

Table 11
Subdivision Registration Information

Fiscal Year = New Supplemental Renewal TOTAL ACTIVE

01-02 39 35 190 190
02-03 22 61 188 188
03-04 32 44 168 168
04-05 22 44 182 182
05-06 29 40 211 211
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Although the Commission registers subdivision developers, not individual
projects, Division staff estimates that there are approximately 300 active
projects in Colorado at any given time.

To register as a subdivision developer, an applicant must submit the following
information to the Commission:

e The names and addresses of all natural persons owning 24 percent or
more of the subdivision developer;

e The length of time and the locations where the subdivision developer
has been engaged in the business of real estate sales or development;

e Any felony of which the subdivision developer has been convicted in
the preceding 10 years;

e The states in which the subdivision developer is licensed or registered
as such; and

e Information concerning the subdivision to be developed, including:
0 The location of the subdivision;

The name of the subdivision;

Evidence of title;

Evidence that Commission-approved forms will be used;

O O O O

Evidence of disclosures that will be provided to purchasers
regarding legal access and utilities; and

o Evidence of whether there is or will be a homeowners’
association and information pertaining thereto.

The Commission must complete its review of the application for registration
within 60 days.

If the subdivision developer alters its offering (i.e., if a timeshare offering
changes from sales of a 1/52 interest to a 1/12 interest), a supplemental filing
must be made. These are generally approved within 14 days.

Finally, all subdivision developer registrations must be renewed annually. As
a result, the numbers for renewals and total active registrations reported in
Table 11 are identical.

Once a project has been sold out, or, in the case of timeshares, the
subdivision developer ceases its marketing activity in Colorado, the
registration may be allowed to lapse.

The initial subdivision developer registration fee is $739, and the renewal fee
is $151. If a supplemental filing is made, the fee is $243.
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Finally, the Division also registers mortgage brokers.®® As of June 30, 2007,
the Division had 5,520 active mortgage broker registrations. The mortgage
broker registration program is not part of this sunset review, but this figure is
reported for informational purposes and to give an overall picture of the
Division’s workload.

Taking into account real estate salespeople, real estate brokers, real estate
appraisers, subdivision developers and mortgage brokers, the Division is
involved in the regulation of almost 50,000 individuals and entities.

Examinations

The Commission’s real estate broker licensing examination consists of a
national portion and a Colorado portion. The national portion is approved by
the Association of Real Estate Licensing Law Officials (ARELLO), must be
completed in 120 minutes and consists of 80 multiple-choice items covering:®°

Property ownership (7 items);

Land use controls and regulations (7 items);

Valuation and market analysis (6 items);

Financing (7 items);

Laws of agency (10 items);

Mandated disclosures (7 items);

Contracts (10 items);

Transfer of property (6 items);

Practice of real estate (10 items);

Real estate calculations (6 items); and

Specialty areas, such as property management, landlord/tenant,
subdivisions, commercial/income property and business opportunities
(4 items).

The Colorado portion is approved by the Commission, must be completed in
110 minutes and consists of 74 multiple-choice items covering:®’

Duties and powers of the Commission (2 items);

Licensing requirements (3 items);

Requirements governing the activities of licensees (10 items);
Additional topics, such as property management, landlord/tenant,
water rights, surface versus subsurface rights, taxes, mortgage brokers
and lenders, Colorado Fair Housing Act, securities, redemption and

8 pursuant to Senate Bill 07-203, all active mortgage broker registrations will convert to licenses on
January 1, 2008.

8 Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin, PSI licensure:certification, January 11, 2007, pp. 3-5.
87 Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin, PSI licensure:certification, January 11, 2007, pp. 3-5.
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foreclosure processes, Colorado Homestead Exemption and statutory
power of attorney (9 items);

Colorado forms and contracts (20 items);

Recordkeeping and trust accounts (6 items);

Closings and settlements (13 items); and

Brokerage relationships (11 items).

To pass the national portion, the examinee must answer 60 items correctly,
and to pass the Colorado portion, the examinee must answer 52 items
correctly.®®

Between January 1, 2006, and April 1, 2007, the pass rates for first-time
Colorado license candidates were 76.91 percent on the national portion and
70.47 percent on the Colorado portion.

Although candidates must pass both portions of the examination to become
licensed, both portions need not be passed on the same day and a passing
score is valid for one year.

The Commission has contracted with PSI licensure:certification (PSI) to
administer the real estate broker licensing examination. Candidates may
register for the examination on-line, by fax, by mail or over the telephone.

The examination is administered via computer, and candidates can take it at
any of PSI's seven Colorado testing centers, which are located in Colorado
Springs, Durango, Fort Collins, Grand Junction, Greenwood Village, Pueblo
and Wheat Ridge.

The initial examination fee is $71 to take both portions of the examination.
For those candidates needing to retake either or both portions, the fee is $66.

Additionally, candidates can have their fingerprints taken at a PSI testing
center and PSI then submits the fingerprints to CBI. The fee for this is
$59.50.

Inspections

Because many licensed real estate brokers manage trust accounts, receive
client money (i.e., earnest money or rents), etc., and since subdivision
developers must comply with certain recordkeeping and other financial
obligations, the Division routinely audits the financial records of licensed real
estate brokers and registered subdivision developers.

8 Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin, PSI licensure:certification, January 11, 2007, p. 3.
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An audit may be conducted as the result of the Commission’s receipt of a
complaint, or on a random basis. Table 12 illustrates, for the fiscal years
indicated, the number of financial audits Division staff has conducted.

Table 12

Financial Audit Information
Fiscal Number of Financial Audits |
Year REB SUB
01-02 551 16
02-03 690 5
03-04 411 11
04-05 416 41
05-06 462 3
Total 2,530 76

REB = Real Estate Brokers
SUB = Subdivision Developers

Although the number of audits conducted of real estate brokers dropped
significantly between fiscal years 02-03 and 03-04, in each year since then,
the Division has conducted an increasing number of audits.

In addition to financial audits, until Spring 2005, Division staff also audited
real estate broker licensees for compliance with the continuing education
requirements. When these audits were conducted, Division staff reports,
approximately 10 percent of licensees were found to have been out of
compliance.

Complaints/Disciplinary Actions

The Commission receives complaints against real estate brokers and
subdivision developers, and the Board of Real Estate Appraisers (BOREA)
receives complaints against real estate appraisers. Complaints may come
from members of the public, or the Commission or the BOREA may initiate
complaints on their own motion.

Regardless of the origin of the complaint, Division staff is charged with
investigating it. As a result, Table 13 illustrates, for the fiscal years indicated,
the number of complaints originated against each license type.
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Table 13
Complaint Information by License Type

License Type FY 01-02 | FY 02-03 ‘ FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06

Real Estate Brokers 721 768 700 741 702
Real Estate Appraisers 123 115 231 171 184
Subdivision Developers 4 6 4 2 3

TOTAL 848 889 935 914 889

Put into the context of the relative number of licensees/registrants, these
figures are not surprising. With over 32,000 active real estate broker
licenses, it is to be expected that this license category would generate the
largest number of complaints.

These complaints can be broken down into various categories, as depicted in
Table 14.

Table 14
Complaint Information
Real Estate Brokers and Subdivision Developers

Nature of FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06
Complaints
Advertising 7 22 0 14 0 6 0 34 0
Breach of
Fiduciary Duty 31 25 0 14 0 10 0 7 0
Civil Rights 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0
Continuing
Education Non- 87 149 0 108 0 119 0 3 0
Compliance
Criminal 10 15 0 34 0 35 o | 175 | o
Conviction
Dishonest Dealing 58 45 0 61 0 42 0 37 0
False Promise 36 22 2 34 1 22 2 8 1
Za's'.f'ed. 58 75 0 47 0 54 0 11 0
pplication

Failure to Disclose
Acting for More 8 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 0
than One Party
Failure to Disclose
Interest in a 7 2 0 1 0 7 0 3 0
Transaction
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Nature of FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06

Complaints

Failure to Keep a
Record of a 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0
Transaction

Failure to Present
Offer

Failure to
Supervise/Train

Fee Dispute 22 0 15 0 7 0 34 0 28 0

Misrepresentation,

- 36 0 44 0 47 1 36 0 53 1
Negligent

Misrepresentation,

Willful 145 3 111 4 47 0 54 0 18 0

Paying a Valuable
Consideration to
an Unlicensed
Person

Practicing w/o a
License

Representing a
Real Estate Broker
other than the
Broker with whom
the Licensee is
Licensed

Sign Crossing 2 0 6 0 8 0 14 0 4 0

Standard of

. 174 0 171 0 196 0 214 0 195 0
Practice

Stipulation
Violation

Theft/Conversion/
Commingling

Trust Account

o 21 0 24 0 27 2 27 0 36 0
Violations

TOTAL 721 4 768 6 700 4 741 2 702 3

REB = Real Estate Brokers
SUB = Subdivision Developers

Advertising complaints include allegations concerning false advertising, failing
to note the name of the employing brokerage in advertising and advertising
without a valid brokerage agreement in place (i.e., advertising a home for sale
before the seller has agreed to use that real estate broker for the sale).

Falsified applications typically involve failure to disclose a past criminal
conviction.
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Sign crossing occurs when a real estate broker enters into a brokerage
relationship with a client that already has such a relationship with another real
estate broker.

Disturbingly, as Table 14 reflects, the greatest number of complaints against
real estate brokers pertains to standards of practice.

The sharp increase in complaints between fiscal years 04-05 and 05-06
involving criminal convictions can be directly attributed to the requirement
that, effective with renewals in 2005, renewing real estate brokers were
required to submit fingerprints for criminal history background checks.

Notably, there have been relatively few complaints involving subdivision
developers. With such low numbers, it is difficult to identify any actual trends,
but most complaints seem to center around false promises and
misrepresentations.

When Division staff receives a complaint, standard practice is to send a letter
to the licensee to provide notice that a complaint has been received, and to
provide the licensee with an opportunity to respond. Additionally, the licensee
is required to provide documentary evidence that the licensee is legally
present in the United States.

Depending on the response, some investigations end there. Other
investigations may proceed to the point where documents are requested and
records audited. In the end, these complaints result in either dismissal or
disciplinary action, as depicted in Table 15.
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Table 15
Final Agency Actions
Real Estate Brokers and Subdivision Developers

. FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06
Type of Action

Revocation 12 0 31 0 12 0 3 0 15 0
Surrender of 0 0 0 0 N/A 0 5 0 6 0
License
Suspension 11 0 13 0 7 0 10 0 14 0
P_ropat!on / Practice 4 0 4 0 5 0 1 0 6 0
Limitation
Alternative
Discipline
(Education and/or 79 0 126 0 92 2% 12 0 26 0
Fine/Administrative
Fee)
Letter of 0 0 3 0 8 0 0 0 0 0
Admonition
License Granted
with Probation / 5 0 9 0 10 0 20 0 20 0
Practice Limitations
License Denied 2 0 2 0 4 0 0 14 0
Injunction 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Fine® N/A 1 N/A 0 N/A 0 13 0 40 0
Public Censure 66 1% 8 0 21 0 9 0 25 0
TOTAL
DISCIPLINARY 179 1 196 0 159 2 80 0 166 0
ACTIONS
Negotiated
Settlements 30 1 32 1 30 0 N/A 1 N/A 1
TOTAL 609 3 635 6 537 2 145 2 428 1

DISMISSALS®
REB = Real Estate Brokers
SUB = Subdivision Developers

Data regarding the surrender of licenses is not available for fiscal year 03-04
because Division staff made no distinction between revocations and
surrenders in its recordkeeping for that year. As a result, the 12 revocations
reported for fiscal year 03-04 may include some instances where a license
was voluntarily surrendered.

8 sanctions in both cases included a $1,000-administrative fee.

% Prior to fiscal year 04-05 Division staff did not track or maintain statistics regarding the number and
value of fines imposed.

°1 The Public Censure included a $2,000 fine.

92 Figures for total dismissals include negotiated settlements.
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A negotiated settlement occurs when the licensee and complainant settle
their differences and the result of that settlement nullifies the underlying
complaint. For example, if a licensee promises to give the complainant a
refrigerator and fails to deliver a refrigerator, the complainant may file a
complaint alleging false promise. However, if the licensee subsequently
delivers a refrigerator, the promise is no longer false, so Division staff
dismisses the case as a negotiated settlement.

To ensure that a particular licensee does not develop a practice of fulfilling
such promises only when a complaint is filed, and thereby harming additional
consumers, the Division tracks such information and will take disciplinary
action if a pattern develops.

Statistics regarding such cases were not maintained as a separate
classification of dismissal after fiscal year 03-04, so data is not available for
subsequent fiscal years. Similarly, figures provided for total dismissals may
include negotiated settlements for fiscal years 04-05 and 05-06.

Since there were relatively few complaints involving subdivision developers, it
is not surprising to see that there are relatively few disciplinary actions against
them.

It is clear from the figures reported in Table 15 that the Commission is willing
to revoke or suspend a license when appropriate. It is equally clear that the
Commission is just as likely to issue a public censure, issue a fine or impose
some type of alternative discipline.

Uniquely, the Commission has the authority to issue public censures, which
are published in the Commission’'s newsletter, as well as letters of
admonition. When a letter of admonition is issued, the licensee may request
that the letter be vacated and that the case proceed to hearing. However,
such is not the case with a public censure. This is primarily because the
Commission routinely makes a public censure part of a stipulation, along with
a fine. Since the licensee agrees to the public censure, there is nothing to
appeal or vacate.

As a result, the Commission tends to issue far more public censures than
letters of admonition. This practice has an additional benefit in terms of
deterrence. While most licensees do not know what a letter of admonition is,
most seem to be well aware of the meaning of a public censure and seek to
avoid receiving one.
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The subject of “alternative discipline,” or “diversion,” is intriguing.  The
Commission tends to use this tool for minor offenses where there is no direct
public harm and the behavior can be easily corrected. The Commission
typically requires the licensee to take some kind of remedial coursework and
couples that requirement with an “administrative fee.” Like public censures,
most alternative discipline is meted out through stipulation. Division staff
tracks alternative discipline so that if a pattern of behavior develops with
respect to a particular licensee, more formal disciplinary action can be taken.

Finally, the Commission is also authorized to issue fines up to $2,500 per
violation. Table 16 illustrates the degree to which the Commission has
utilized this disciplinary tool.

Table 16
Fines — Real Estate Brokers

Fiscal Year Number of Fines Imposed | Total Value of Fines Imposed

01-02 Not Available® Not Available
02-03 Not Available Not Available
03-04 Not Available Not Available
04-05 13 $11,250
05-06 40 $42,500

Division staff did not track the number or value of fines imposed prior to fiscal
year 04-05, so such figures are not available.

Unlike in most regulatory programs, the fines imposed by the Commission
and collected by the Division are deposited into the Real Estate Cash Fund,
as opposed to the state’s General Fund. This situation is the result of the
General Assembly’s repeal of the Real Estate Recovery Fund (Recovery
Fund) in 2005. Prior to this repeal, money collected from fines went into the
Recovery Fund.

Finally, an important measure of agency efficiency, as well as an agency’s
success at public protection, is the amount of time that elapses between
when a complaint is received and when final agency action occurs.

The length of time that a complaint remains open is a concern for both
consumers and licensees. From the licensee perspective, this is the length of
time during which a licensee who perhaps did nothing wrong must live and
work under the specter of possible disciplinary action. This can,
understandably, be quite stressful, so the quicker the agency can dispose of
the matter, the better.

% Prior to fiscal year 04-05 Division staff did not track or maintain statistics regarding the number and
value of fines imposed.
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From a consumer protection perspective, the longer a case remains open, the
longer a potentially incompetent or dishonest practitioner can continue to
practice, thereby inflicting additional harm.

Timely, thorough investigations, therefore, are essential to all concerned.
Table 17 illustrates the average time to closure for the fiscal years indicated.

Table 17
Average Time to Closure

Fiscal Year Average Time to Closure (Days)

01-02 123
02-03 105
03-04 133
04-05 236
05-06 163
06-07 74

Of paramount concern is the average time to closure identified for fiscal year
04-05. Division staff attributes this figure to an enormous backlog of cases
and admits that this is an unacceptable figure. As a result, steps were
implemented that reduced the average time to closure to a six-year low of 74
days in fiscal year 06-07. Division staff now attempts to close cases within
180 days of receipt.

Real Estate Recovery Fund

Although the General Assembly effectively repealed the Real Estate
Recovery Fund (Recovery Fund) as of July 1, 2005, it merits some discussion
here because of the manner in which it was repealed and because section
12-61-303(6), Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), directs DORA to address
an aspect of the Recovery Fund in this sunset review.

The Recovery Fund is a mechanism whereby consumers who win judgments
against licensed real estate brokers who are unable to pay such judgments
can recover those judgments by making claims against the Recovery Fund.

The repeal of the Recovery Fund was designed such that no claims may be
made against the Recovery Fund unless the underlying civil action was
commenced on or before June 30, 2005. However, the statute does not
make it clear that potential claimants are required to notify the Division of
such suit.
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As a result, in August 2005, Division staff mailed letters to the 41 parties with
open claims directing these parties to respond to the Division or their claims
would be closed. Thirteen parties responded.

By May 2007, only two open cases remained. Division staff estimates that
these two open claims, if awarded, will total no more than approximately
$55,000.

However, Division staff is uncomfortable with the enforceability of closing 28
of the 41 cases in 2005. As a result of this and due to the fact that the parties
to the two open claims have until June 2010 to perfect their claims on the
Recovery Fund, the Recovery Fund cannot yet be completely repealed.

An additional reason for addressing the Recovery Fund in this sunset review
is the service of process provision contained in section 12-61-303(6), C.R.S.
If a party seeking to file a lawsuit against a licensed real estate broker cannot
locate that real estate broker for service of process purposes, then, by law,
the real estate broker is deemed to have appointed the Colorado Secretary of
State (SOS) as agent for such purpose.

The SOS reported to DORA that no such service has occurred, or if it has, the
SOS has no way to determine the number or the parties involved without
knowing the names of the parties involved. This is due to the computer
systems maintained by the SOS.
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Analysis and Recommendations

Recommendation 1 — Continue the Colorado Real Estate Commission,
the Colorado Division of Real Estate and the regulation of real estate
brokers and subdivision developers for nine years, until 2017.

The first sunset criterion asks whether regulation is necessary to protect the
public health, safety or welfare. As applied to this sunset review, it is
necessary to address the consumer protection aspects of:

The regulation of real estate brokers

The regulation of subdivision developers

The Colorado Real Estate Commission (Commission)
The Colorado Real Estate Division (Division)

Without question, the purchase of a home is, for most Coloradans, the single
largest purchase they will ever make. Considering the complexities involved
in a real estate transaction, an incompetent or unscrupulous real estate
broker could cause severe financial hardship to his or her clients, as well as
other parties involved in the transaction, through theft, fraud,
misrepresentation, negligence and improper title work resulting in clouded title
to the subject real estate.

Most consumers seem to recognize these complexities and have expressed a
willingness to pay real estate brokers to help them navigate through their real
estate transactions. This is evidenced by the fact that, in 2006, 77 percent of
homebuyers used a real estate broker in their real estate transactions.®* In
2005 alone, consumers are estimated to have spent more than $60 billion on
real estate brokerage services.*

Thus, consumers have spoken — the services offered by real estate brokers
are in demand. But have real estate brokers actually caused harm?

Among the regulatory duties of the Commission and the Division are those of
receiving and investigating complaints against real estate brokers and taking
disciplinary action when warranted.

As Tables 2, 13 and 15 on pages 25, 41 and 44, respectively, show, in fiscal
year 05-06, 32,335 Colorado-licensed real estate brokers generated 702
complaints resulting in 166 disciplinary actions. Since real estate brokers can
cause public harm, it is reasonable to conclude that regulation of them is
justified.

% The 2006 National Association of Realtors Profile of Home Buyers and Sellers, The National
Association of Realtors (2006), p. 46.

% p. Woodall and S. Brobeck, “State Real Estate Regulation: Industry Dominance and its Consumer
Costs,” Consumer Federation of America, July 2006, p. 2.
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However, Tables 11, 13 and 15 on pages 36, 41 and 44, respectively, show
that, in fiscal year 05-06, 211 registered subdivision developers generated
only three complaints resulting in no disciplinary actions. It is reasonable to
conclude, therefore, that subdivision developers cause little actual harm. But
is the potential for harm sufficient to justify continued regulation?

Subdivision developers must register if their projects include not only raw land
subdivisions, but also condominium conversions and timeshares. Most of the
Commission’s regulatory authority over subdivision developers pertains to
ensuring that subdivision developers make the proper disclosures to
purchasers. Absent regulation, it is possible that many of these disclosures
would not be made or would be incomplete, thereby harming the public.

Both real estate brokers and subdivision developers can cause harm to
consumers. As a result, it is reasonable to conclude that the public interest is
served by the continued regulation of real estate brokers and subdivision
developers.

However, the means by which real estate brokers and subdivision developers
are regulated lead to additional questions. Is regulation best effected by the
Commission, or could the Division adequately protect the public without the
expertise offered by the Commission? A secondary question is whether the
Division should continue as a division of state government, or whether its
mission could be more effectively conducted by merging it into another
division of state government, such as the Division of Registrations.

As currently constituted, three licensed real estate brokers, an individual with
experience in developing subdivisions and a member of the public comprise
the Commission. These individuals bring with them the expertise necessary
to examine evidence and determine whether a violation of the statutes or
Commission rules occurred and whether disciplinary action is warranted.

The Commission, therefore, should be continued.

Finally, the question of whether the Division should continue or sunset must
be addressed. Since regulation is necessary to protect the public, the
functions of the Division cannot be allowed to sunset. However, the fourth
sunset criterion requires an analysis of whether the agency performs its
statutory duties efficiently and effectively. In other words, can the functions of
the Division be more efficiently performed in another manner?

To answer this question, the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA)

explored whether any efficiencies or cost savings could be realized by
merging the Division into another division of state government.
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DORA's Division of Registrations (Registrations) seemed a logical merger
candidate. Since both the Division and Registrations regulate individual
practitioners they face many of the same issues with respect to examination
development and administration, licensing, complaint processing,
investigations and enforcement.

However, considering the workload of both divisions, any cost savings to be
realized through a reduction in workforce would be minimal. Registrations
would need additional staff to take on the added work that regulating real
estate brokers, subdivision developers, mortgage brokers and real estate
appraisers would entail.

Similarly, minimal cost savings would be realized from merging information
technology systems. Both divisions rely heavily on vendors to perform many
license application, examination development and examination administration
functions. Since these are minimal costs to the state to begin with, very little
in terms of cost savings could be realized.

In the end, therefore, the apparent reasons for merging the two divisions are
less convincing. Furthermore, the two divisions are different in at least one
respect — although they both regulate individuals, the Division also regulates
an industry.

Like the Division of Banking regulates the banking industry, the Division of
Financial Services regulates the credit union industry, the Division of
Insurance regulates the insurance industry and the Division of Securities
regulates the securities industry, the Division regulates Colorado’s real estate
industry.

Taking these comparisons even further, the Divisions of Insurance and
Securities also regulate individuals, just as does the Division. It is
reasonable to conclude, therefore, that since the Division more closely
resembles the Divisions of Insurance and Securities than it does
Registrations, the Division should continue as a division.

However, the current regulatory structure is not perfect. As a result, this
report contains numerous statutory and administrative recommendations to
improve consumer protection without unnecessarily burdening the regulated
communities. Since none of these recommendations represent major policy
shifts, nine years seems an appropriate length of time for which to continue
regulation, the Commission and the Division.

Since the regulation of real estate brokers and subdivision developers is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and since the
Commission and the Division are the best vehicles to implement and oversee
that regulation, regulation, the Commission and the Division should be
continued for nine years, until 2017.
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Recommendation 2 — Continue to mandate that licensed real estate
brokers maintain errors and omissions insurance, and repeal the
Commission’s involvement in procuring a group policy and the sunset
provision pertaining to errors and omissions insurance.

All licensed real estate brokers must obtain and maintain errors and
omissions insurance.®®  Furthermore, the Commission is charged with
contracting with an insurer for a group errors and omissions policy.”” If the
Commission is unable to obtain such a policy at a premium that it considers to
be reasonable, licensed real estate brokers must obtain such insurance
independently.®®

Additionally, sections 12-61-103.6(5) and 24-34-104(39)(b)(VI1), Colorado
Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), specifically direct DORA to address the issue of
the Commission’s role in obtaining the group policy in this sunset review.

Inherent in determining the level of Commission involvement in obtaining a
group policy is the degree to which errors and omissions insurance is
necessary to protect the public.

As Table 10 on page 34, demonstrates, since the General Assembly first
mandated that licensed real estate brokers obtain errors and omissions
insurance, over $16 million has been returned to consumers through claims
filed with the Commission’s group errors and omissions insurance policy.

However, this $16 million-figure may not capture the entire story. Recall that
licensed real estate brokers need not obtain errors and omissions insurance
through the Commission’s group policy. They may obtain insurance
independently. Unfortunately, the Division was unable to obtain accurate
enrollment figures from the Commission’s group policy insurance carrier, so it
is not possible to determine the percentage of licensed real estate brokers
that obtain coverage under the Commission’s group policy. This, in turn,
makes it impossible to estimate the total dollar value of all claims paid to
Colorado consumers by virtue of errors and omissions insurance.

Regardless, at least $16 million was returned to consumers. The public
protection value of the mandate, therefore, is clear and the mandate should
be continued.

However, should the Commission contract for a group policy?

% § 12-61-103.6(1), C.R.S.
%7 § 12-61-103.6(1), C.R.S.
% §12-61-103.6(2)(a), C.R.S.
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One reason to retain the Commission’s group policy relates to the availability
of affordable errors and omissions insurance in certain geographic regions of
the state, as well as for certain types of real estate practice. Anecdotally,
members of the real estate broker community reported to DORA that without
the Commission’s group policy, the premiums for errors and omissions
insurance in certain rural areas would be prohibitively high. Similarly, these
individuals contend that certain types of practice, for example real estate
brokers that specialize in deals involving ranches, would face similar cost
issues.

Additionally, imposing a mandate without any assistance in complying with
that mandate and without any mechanisms to ensure compliance with the
mandate would likely create an atmosphere where noncompliance with the
mandate becomes attractive. Many licensees, it is feared, unable to afford or
obtain the mandated errors and omissions insurance, would continue to
practice without errors and omissions insurance. Since the Division verifies
compliance with the mandate merely by requiring an attestation of compliance
upon license renewal, it becomes clear why the incentive to skirt the mandate
would be attractive.

Furthermore, at least 14 other states mandate that real estate professionals®
obtain and maintain errors and omissions insurance.’®® Additionally, and
more importantly to the debate on the Commission contracting for a group
policy, all but two of these states contract for a group policy.***

However, there is considerable evidence that argues in support of repealing
the Commission’s involvement in procuring the group policy. Such arguments
focus on cost, consistency and consumer protection.

Of the 14 states mandating errors and omissions insurance, the annual
premium for Colorado is the highest, at $239 per year, and is $13 higher than
the next highest state (Louisiana) and $105 higher than the least expensive
state (North Dakota).'%> These differences can be attributed to several
factors, including, differences in mandated coverage, claims history and
property values.

With respect to the issue of cost, some argue that by repealing the
requirement that the Commission procure a group policy and by allowing the
free market to operate, insurance premiums can be expected to decrease for
many licensees.

% The term “professionals” is used here since most other state license not only real estate brokers, but
also real estate salespeople.

100 «Errors and Omissions Insurance — Part Two,” ARELLO - Digest of Real Estate Laws and Current
Issues, Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, 2007, p. 158.

101 “Errors and Omissions Insurance — Part Two,” ARELLO — Digest of Real Estate Laws and Current
Issues, Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, 2007, p. 158.

102 “Errors and Omissions Insurance — Part Two,” ARELLO — Digest of Real Estate Laws and Current
Issues, Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, 2007, p. 158.
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Additionally, the General Assembly has mandated that at least four other
professions (acupuncturists, podiatrists, chiropractors and optometrists'®)
maintain some form of malpractice insurance. In none of these instances is
the state involved in obtaining a group policy or otherwise assisting licensees
in complying with the requirement. In this sense, the Commission’s group
policy is inconsistent with other regulatory models in Colorado.

Finally, it is reasonable to question whether the requirement that the
Commission procure a group policy encourages the continued practice of
incompetent real estate brokers, thereby jeopardizing public protection. Since
the market is not allowed to raise premiums on those licensees with extensive
claims histories, such individuals can continue to practice with subsidized
insurance and, at least potentially, harm additional consumers. If the free
market were allowed to operate, such individuals could be denied coverage —
leading them to cease practice or to practice without the mandated coverage
— or their premiums could be adjusted accordingly — leading them to cease
practicing due to high premiums or, at a minimum, potentially lowering the
premiums for other real estate brokers with better claims histories. In the
end, the Commission’s group policy may actually increase the very public
harm that the group policy aims to mitigate.

Since the mandate to obtain and maintain errors and omissions insurance
has returned at least $16 million to Colorado consumers over the life of the
mandate, the mandate to obtain errors and omissions insurance should be
continued. However, since the Commission’s group policy is unique among
state-mandated malpractice insurance provisions, since rates may decrease if
the free market is allowed to operate and since the Commission’s group
policy may serve to undermine public protection, the statutory provisions
requiring the Commission to procure a group policy should be repealed.

Additionally, since this type of issue would be explored in a sunset review
absent a specific direction from the General Assembly to do so, the repeal
and sunset review provisions found in section 12-61-103.6(5), C.R.S., should
be repealed.

193 pyrsuant to section 12-40-126(1)(a), C.R.S., optometrists must fulfill certain financial responsibility

requirements, which may be satisfied by obtaining malpractice insurance.
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Recommendation 3 - Amend the service of process provisions to allow
service on licensed real estate brokers who cannot be located, by
registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the last known
address of the real estate broker.

Two provisions in the real estate statutes address service of legal process on
licensed real estate brokers who cannot be located. Both of these provisions
state that such service may be made on the Colorado Secretary of State
(SOS).

First, section 12-61-107(2), C.R.S., provides that all licensed real estate
brokers consent to service of process on the SOS.

Second, section 12-61-303(6)(a), C.R.S., provides that any licensed real
estate broker upon whom personal service cannot be made in connection
with a claim against the Real Estate Recovery Fund (Recovery Fund) is
deemed to have consented to service of process on the SOS. This provision
goes on to provide that such service of process is to comply with the
requirements of section 7-105-104, C.R.S.

Importantly, sections 12-61-303(6)(b) and 24-34-104(39)(b)(VIl), C.R.S.,
explicitly direct DORA to address the service of process provision relating to
the Recovery Fund.

Sections 12-61-107(2) and 12-61-303(6)(b), C.R.S., are problematic for
several reasons. First, the SOS prefers not to be involved in such issues.
The SOS has made a concerted effort to change the business filing statutes,
as well as various other specific statutes, such as those discussed here, to
allow service of process by certified or registered mail, return receipt
requested. The date of service is then deemed to be the earlier of the date of
receipt by the person being served, the date of the signature on the return
receipt if signed by someone other than the person being served, or five days
after mailing.

An additional problem, with respect to the provision pertaining to the
Recovery Fund, is that the SOS has no way of determining how often the
SOS has been served. To determine whether the SOS has been served and
the statutory provision under which such service was made would require a
manual search of SOS records for each entity registered with the SOS. As a
result, it is not possible to easily determine the extent to which the service of
process provision relating to the Recovery Fund has been utilized.

Finally, the General Assembly repealed section 7-105-104, C.R.S., the
service of process provision referenced in the Recovery Fund provision, in
section 347 of House Bill 03-1377 (HB 1377). Section 217 of HB 1377
enacted the service of process procedures envisioned by this
Recommendation 3.
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The purpose of provisions such as these is to ensure that a party to a lawsuit
receives proper notice of that lawsuit so that a defense can be mounted.
When the party can be located, service of process is relatively easy. The
problem arises when the party cannot be located, but justice and court rules
demand that notice be given in some manner. Thus, some service of process
provisions allow service on the SOS, which essentially acts as an agent for
the party that cannot be located. By allowing service in this manner, the party
bringing the lawsuit can demonstrate to the court that reasonable steps were
taken to notify the opposing party.

However, an alternative to service on the SOS, and one preferred by the
SOS, and previously authorized by the General Assembly in section 7-90-
704, C.R.S., is to allow service of process to that party’s last known address
by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested. This allows the party
attempting to serve the process to demonstrate that a reasonable attempt
was made. Additionally, such service is recognized to have been made on
the earlier of the date of actual receipt by the party being served, the date the
return receipt is signed by someone other than the party being served, or five
days after mailing.

If the party being served is still at that location, then process has been served
and there are no problems. If the party being served is no longer at that
location, then the service is returned and service is effective five days after
mailing, thus allowing the party serving the process to move forward.

Since the General Assembly has previously approved, in other statutory
provisions, service of process by certified or registered mail, return receipt
requested, sections 12-61-107(2) and 12-61-303(6)(a), C.R.S., should be
amended in a similar manner.

Additionally, since it currently is, and will be with the recommended
amendments, impossible to determine whether the service of process
provision pertaining to the Recovery Fund has been used, the repeal and
sunset review provisions in section 12-61-303(6)(b), C.R.S., should be
repealed.

Recommendation 4 - Repeal all statutory provisions relating to licensed
real estate salespeople.

Prior to 2000, the Commission licensed not only real estate brokers, but also
real estate salespeople. In short, licensed real estate salespeople could do
all of the things that licensed real estate brokers can do, but they had to be
employed by licensed real estate brokers.'® Real estate salespeople could
not work independently.

104§ 12-61-101(3), C.R.S.
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The General Assembly prohibited the Commission from issuing any new real
estate salesperson licenses after December 31, 1996.'® Furthermore, the
General Assembly prohibited the Commission from renewing any active real
estate salesperson licenses after December 31, 1999.%°°

As a result, licensed real estate salespeople were faced with three choices: 1)
convert to a real estate broker license; 2) allow the license to lapse or 3)
place the license on inactive status.

According to Commission records, on December 31, 1996, the last date on
which a new real estate salesperson license could be issued, there were
9,062 active real estate salesperson licenses.

To convert to a real estate broker license, a real estate salesperson licensee
must either pass the Colorado portion of the Commission’s licensing
examination or complete a 24-hour course addressing real estate closings
and contract preparation.®’

As Table 6 on page 30 demonstrates, 2,893 real estate salesperson
licensees converted to licensed real estate brokers between 2000 and 2006.

Not surprisingly, the largest number of conversions (1,307) occurred in 2000,
the year in which real estate salesperson licensees were forced to decide
what to do with their licenses. Additionally, the number of conversions has
steadily declined since then, to a low of 33 in 2006, indicating that the longer
the real estate salesperson licensee is out of the real estate business, the
less likely that individual is to seek license conversion.

More importantly, however, is the fact that approximately 32 percent of real
estate salesperson licensees have converted to licensed real estate broker
licensees.

Additionally, by June 30, 2007, Commission records reveal that there were
942 inactive real estate salesperson licenses.

All of this means that in the 10% years since the Commission issued the last
real estate salesperson license, approximately 90 percent of those licensees
have either allowed their licenses to lapse or have converted to real estate
broker licensees, leaving approximately 10 percent still on inactive status.

105 8 12-61-103.5(1), C.R.S.
106 & 12-61-103.5(2), C.R.S.
107 8§ 12-61-103.5(2), C.R.S.
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These 942 individuals have had over 10 years to convert their licenses to real
estate broker licenses. It is reasonable to conclude that if they have not
already done so, they will never convert, or if they do, very few will do so.
This theory is proven by the declining number of conversions demonstrated in
Table 6.

Alternatively, if these individuals have not participated in a real estate
transaction for over 10 years, it is reasonable to question whether passing the
Colorado portion of the Commission’s licensing examination or taking a 24-
hour course is enough to ensure that such individuals are competent enough
to practice as real estate brokers.

By repealing all references to real estate salespersons, those on inactive
status would still be able to obtain licensure as real estate brokers, they would
simply have to comply with all of the requirements for initial licensure.

Since only approximately 10 percent of licensed real estate salesperson
licensees remain on inactive status and since allowing these individuals to
convert to real estate broker licensees after almost 11 years presents a
potential risk to the public, all references to real estate salesperson licenses
should be repealed.

Recommendation 5 - Require an annual, four-hour Commission
Update Course and require the Commission to approve all other
continuing education courses.

Active real estate broker licensees must complete 24 hours of mandatory
continuing education (MCE) every three years, eight of which must consist of
the Commission Update Course.'® The Commission Update Course must
focus on current statutes and rules, and licensees must take and pass a
written test.!®  The Commission, through the Division, creates the
Commission Update Course. As a practical matter, these eight hours are
obtained by completing two, four-hour courses. The remaining 16 hours are
considered electives.

Alternatively, a licensee may opt to take the Colorado portion of the
Commission’s licensing examination.® According to Commission records,
between January 1, 2006, and April 1, 2007, 15 licensees opted to take the
Colorado portion of the Commission’s licensing examination rather than
obtain the required MCE credits. Of these, 13 passed the examination.

108 85 12-61-110(4)(a) and 12-61-110.5(1)(c), C.R.S.
109 8 12.61-110.5(2), C.R.S.
110 8 12.61-110.5(1)(c), C.R.S.

58



Thus, the vast majority of licensees opt to obtain MCE credits to satisfy this
requirement of licensure.

However, there are several concerns with respect to the MCE required of
licensed real estate brokers. These concerns surround the issues of what is
taught, who is teaching and how compliance is being assured.

Licensed real estate brokers are required to complete 16 hours of MCE in one
or more of the following topics:***

Real estate law

Property exchanges

Real estate contracts

Real estate finance

Real estate appraisal

Real estate closings

Real estate ethics

Condominiums and cooperatives

Real estate time-sharing

Real estate marketing principles

Real estate construction

Land development

Real estate energy concerns

Real estate geology

Water and waste management
Commercial real estate

Real estate securities and syndications
Property management

Real estate computer principles
Brokerage administration and management
Agency

Other subjects approved by the Commission

Additionally, the Commission has determined, kl)%lzrule, that the following types

of courses do not satisfy the MCE requirement:
e Sales or marketing meetings conducted in the general course of a real
estate brokerage practice;
e Orientation, personal growth, self-improvement, self-promotion or
marketing sessions;
e Motivational meetings or seminars; and
e Examination preparation or technique courses.

Thus, the range of subjects that qualify for MCE credit is vast.

111 8 12.61-110.5(3), C.R.S.
12 commission Rule B-5.
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These 16 hours of MCE must be “acquired from educational programs
contributing directly to the professional competence of a licensee.”**

Thus, there is no real control over who provides MCE courses.

Additionally, prior to 2005, the Division audited approximately 1,000 real
estate broker licensees each year (500 in the spring and 500 in the autumn)
for compliance with the MCE requirements. However, no such audit has
been conducted since Spring 2005.

Rather, the Division now seeks to ensure compliance with the MCE
requirement by asking for verification of compliance by requiring licensees to
attest that they are in compliance on their license renewal applications.

In short, aside from the Commission Update Course, virtually anyone can
teach any subject and no one is looking to ensure that licensees are in
compliance, and, as of 2007, virtually anyone can teach the Commission
Update Course.

Without question, the Commission Update Course is valuable and its
completion should continue to be a requirement of licensure. The laws
impacting real estate transactions, and thus real estate brokers, are
constantly evolving. In the 2007 legislative session alone, at least 15 real
estate-related laws were enacted.

The Commission Update Course, as a Commission-designed course that
informs licensees regarding the latest statutory and rules changes, as well as
changes to Commission-promulgated forms, is vital to consumer protection.
Without this assurance that real estate brokers remain current on the laws of
the state, the public is put at risk.

Indeed, since the laws, rules and forms change every year, real estate broker
licensees should be required to attend an annual four-hour Commission
Update Course.

However, the remaining hours of MCE electives remain problematic because
the Commission has no assurance that only approved subjects are being
taught. As a result, licensees may find out, after the fact, that they are not in
compliance with the MCE requirement if the Commission determines that a
particular course should not be counted as satisfying the MCE requirement.

113 § 12-61-110.5(2), C.R.S.
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To correct this situation, and to enhance public protection by ensuring that
only those courses that increase practitioner competence are counted toward
satisfying the MCE requirement, the Commission should be directed to
approve all elective MCE courses.

Since the Commission Update Course is valuable in that it ensures that
licensed real estate brokers receive information, at least on an annual basis,
about changes in the laws, rules and forms that impact them and the clients
they serve, and since the Commission designs the course, the required eight
hours over three years should be expanded to four hours each year, or 12
hours over three years.

Additionally, since the remaining electives can be taught by virtually anyone
on virtually any subject, the Division should be directed to approve all MCE
course offerings.

In the end, then, the statutes should be revised such that licensed real estate
brokers complete 24 hours of continuing education every three years, 12 of
which must consist of the Commission Update Course and 12 of which are
electives approved by the Commission.

Recommendation 6 - Alter the composition of the Commission by
replacing the individual with subdivision development experience with
a member of the general public.

Five members comprise the Commission: three licensed real estate brokers;
an individual with experience in subdivision development and a public
member.** Traditionally, one of the licensed real estate brokers has been an
individual engaged in commercial real estate transactions.

Since the primary function of the Commission is to license and discipline,
when warranted, real estate brokers, the experience and expertise of the
three licensed real estate brokers on the Commission is essential.

Similarly, since the primary mission of the Commission is to protect the public
health, safety and welfare, a member of the public must serve on the
Commission to ensure that the voice of consumers is heard.

However, it is reasonable to question the degree to which the public is served
by reserving a seat on the Commission for an individual with subdivision
development experience.

114§ 12-61-105(1), C.R.S.
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Although the Commission registers subdivision developers, as Table 13, on
page 41, clearly shows, very few complaints are filed against subdivision
developers. In fact, during the five-year period examined during the course of
this review, only 19 complaints were filed with the Commission. Furthermore,
according to the information provided in Table 15 on page 44, only one of
these complaints resulted in any kind of disciplinary action by the
Commission, and that was minimal, entailing only a public censure and a
$2,000-fine.

The question, then, becomes whether the public is better served by retaining
on the Commission the rarely needed expertise of an individual with
subdivision experience, or by replacing this member with another licensed
real estate broker or another member of the public.

With three licensed real estate brokers serving on the Commission and no
noticeable lack of subject matter expertise, it is reasonable to conclude that
an additional licensed real estate broker is not necessary to the Commission’s
function of licensing and disciplining real estate brokers.

With only one member of the public serving on the Commission, the primary
mission of which is to protect the public, the Commission is arguably deficient
in this area.

At least 42 other states have real estate regulatory boards or commissions.**®
The average number of public members serving on such bodies is 1.7.'°
Thus, with only one public member, the Commission already has fewer public
members than its peers in other states.

More importantly, during the course of this review, a representative of DORA
attended Commission meetings and observed Commission deliberations
regarding disciplinary actions. At the January 2007 Commission meeting, a
case arose involving a licensed real estate broker who had pleaded guilty to
conspiracy to commit mail and wire fraud in 1998 and who failed to disclose
this fact until 2006. The real estate broker had stolen over $1.6 million in a
non-real estate-related fraud scheme, and when ordered to appear in court,
fled the country for almost two years before returning so that a co-conspirator
could receive treatment for terminal cancer.

The Commission’s deliberations on this case reveal why additional public
members are necessary. One of the licensed real estate broker members of
the Commission placed a great deal of emphasis on the letters of
recommendation submitted on behalf of the licensee because the
Commission member was personally familiar with the authors of those letters.

115 “Board/Council/Commission Structure,” ARELLO — Digest of Real Estate License Laws and Current
Issues, Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, 2007, p. 13.
116 “Board/Council/Commission Structure,” ARELLO — Digest of Real Estate License Laws and Current
Issues, Association of Real Estate License Law Officials, 2007, p. 13.
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The Commission’s sole public member, however, expressed grave concerns
over allowing such a licensee to continue practicing.

Regardless, the Commission voted to enter into a stipulated agreement with
the licensee. The stipulation that was offered, but which had not yet been
accepted by the licensee as of this writing, would require the licensee to
accept a public censure and probation for five years.

The seventh sunset criterion asks, in pertinent part, “whether final disposition
of complaints are in the public interest or self-serving to the profession.”**” It
is clear that this particular licensee poses a threat to consumers, but the
Commission set aside this risk in favor of the licensee.

From this, it is reasonable to conclude that additional public representation on
the Commission is necessary to ensure the public health, safety and welfare.

Since the Commission does not regularly require the expertise offered by an
individual with subdivision development experience and since consumers will
be better protected by the addition of additional public representation on the
Commission, the Commission seat reserved for an individual with subdivision
development experience should be replaced by an additional public member
seat.

Recommendation 7 - Reform the process by which out-of-state real
estate brokers obtain licensure in Colorado by replacing the licensure
by reciprocity statutory scheme with a licensure by endorsement
scheme.

A real estate broker licensed in another jurisdiction can obtain a license in
Colorado, without having to satisfy Colorado’s educational and examination
requirements, if the jurisdiction in which the real estate broker is licensed: 1)
requires passage of a licensing examination; 2) the original jurisdiction’s
licensure requirements are substantially equivalent to those of Colorado; 3)
the real estate broker has been licensed for two years; and 4) the original
jurisdiction issues licenses to Colorado licensees in the same manner as is
outlined here.**®

This provision is relatively unique in Colorado law in that the first three points
are typical of a licensure by endorsement provision. The fourth point,
however, is more typical of a licensure by reciprocity provision.

117 8 24-34-104(9)(b)(VII), C.R.S.
118 § 12-61-103(6)(b), C.R.S.
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The vast majority of Colorado’s licensing statutes contain licensure by
endorsement provisions. The advantage of such provisions is that they
ensure that the public is protected, because only an individual who has a
license from a jurisdiction with substantially similar licensing requirements as
Colorado can obtain a Colorado license through this expedited manner, while
not conditioning the licensure of such individuals on whether the original
jurisdiction will similarly issue a license to a Colorado licensee. Public
protection is assured with a minimal barrier to entry.

Reciprocity provisions, on the other hand, are often protectionist and do little
to enhance public protection. Whether another state will issue a license to
Colorado licensee based on similar criteria is irrelevant to protecting Colorado
consumers. Rather, such a scheme only serves to limit the supply of
practitioners in Colorado. Thus, these types of provisions are both
protectionist and fail to enhance public protection.

Since reciprocity provisions do not enhance public protection, and since
endorsement provisions provide adequate protection, the reciprocity provision
should be amended to repeal the reciprocity clause and to retain the
endorsement clause.

Recommendation 8 - Include in the grounds for discipline having had
a Colorado-issued license to engage in certain, enumerated
professions, suspended or revoked for engaging in conduct
constituting fraud, deceipt, breach of a fiduciary duty or
misrepresentation.

The Commission has the authority to discipline a Colorado-licensed real
estate broker if that individual is licensed in another jurisdiction(s) and the
license(s) in the other jurisdiction(s) has been disciplined.**® However, if a
Colorado-licensed real estate broker also holds, for example, a Colorado-
issued mortgage broker registration’?® or securities broker-dealer license,
disciplinary action against such a license, no matter the grounds, do not
constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the Commission.

This is particularly problematic in an era when many individuals hold many
types of licenses to provide clients a sort of “one-stop-shopping” experience.
For example, a licensed real estate broker could hold a mortgage broker
license, thereby being able to assist a client with financing, and an insurance
producer license, thereby being able to assist a client in obtaining hazard
insurance.

119 8 12-61-113(1)(v), C.R.S.
120 pyrsuant to Senate Bill 07-203, all active mortgage broker registrations will convert to licenses on
January 1, 2008.
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According to Commission and Division records, as of March 21, 2007, of the
4,670 registered mortgage brokers, 995 were also licensed real estate
brokers.

When the General Assembly first enacted regulation of mortgage brokers in
2006, it recognized the problem raised in this Recommendation 8 and
directed the Director of the Division to deny a mortgage broker registration to
an individual who has held one of the following types of licenses (regardless
of the jurisdiction that issued the license) that was suspended or revoked
based on fraud, deceit, material misrepresentation, theft or the breach of a
fiduciary duty:**

Mortgage broker

Real estate broker

Real estate salesperson

Real estate appraiser

Insurance producer

Attorney

Securities broker-dealer
Securities sales representative
Investment advisor

Investment advisor representative

In short, the grounds for the initial suspension or revocation are
demonstrative of an individual’s trustworthiness. If an individual committed
fraud as a securities broker-dealer, for example, that individual should not be
afforded the opportunity to commit fraud as a mortgage broker.

Similarly, the types of licenses that are enumerated pertain to professions and
occupations that pertain to real estate and other financial transactions.

However, none of these provisions apply to the Commission with respect to
real estate brokers, and they should.

For all of these reasons, the grounds for discipline by the Commission should
be amended to include the suspension or revocation of a license to practice
one of these professions when that suspension or revocation was based on
fraud, deceit, material misrepresentation, theft or the breach of a fiduciary
duty.

121 § 12-61-905(1)(c), C.R.S.
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Recommendation 9 - Include in the grounds for discipline being
convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to certain
enumerated crimes, including computer crimes, crimes involving
controlled substances, and crimes involving moral turpitude.

Before granting a real estate broker license to an individual, the Commission
is authorized to determine “the truthfulness, honesty, and good moral
character of any applicant.”*??

The primary mechanism the Commission utilizes to make this determination
is the fingerprint-based criminal history background check.'?® Additionally,
the Commission requires, by rule, candidates to provide documentation
regarding any convictions or pleas of guilty or nolo contendere entered in any
case involving a felony, or any like municipal code violation, within 10 years
prior to application.'*

As a result, if the crimes of which a candidate was convicted or entered a plea
indicate a lack of truthfulness, honesty or good moral character, the
Commission could deny a license to the applicant. This is a broad standard
and the Commission has a considerable amount of discretion in making these
determinations with respect to issuing a license.

However, the enumerated list of grounds upon which the Commission can
discipline a license contain no similar provisions.*?® In fact, the grounds for
discipline include a specific list of criminal convictions upon which the
Commission may take disciplinary action. Table 18 provides a summary of
the crimes, the conviction of which and upon which the Commission may
base discipline.

122 § 12-61-103(3), C.R.S.

123 § 12-61-103(1)(b), C.R.S.
124 commission Rule A-12(a).
125§ 12-61-113, C.R.S.
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Table 18

Criminal Violations Constituting Grounds for Discipline

Title = Article  Part Description
18 3 1 Homicide and Related Offenses
18 3 2 Assaults
18 3 3 Kidnapping
18 3 4 Unlawful Sexual Behavior
18 4 1 Arson
18 4 2 Burglary and Related Offenses
18 4 3 Robbery
18 4 4 Theft
Forgery, Simulation, Impersonation and Related
18 5 1
Offenses
18 5 2 Fraud in Obtaining Property or Services
Fraudulent and Deceptive Sales and Business
18 5 3 :
Practices
18 5 4 Bribery and Rigging of Contests
18 5 5 Offenses Relating to the Uniform Commercial Code
18 5 7 Financial Transaction Device Crime Act
18 5 8 Equity Skimming and Related Offenses
18 8 3 Bribery and Corrupt Influences
18 15 1 Making, Financing or Collection of Loans
18 17 1 Colorado Organized Crime Control Act

Source: § 12-61-113(1)(m), C.R.S.

Because the statute specifically enumerates these offenses, the rules of
statutory construction dictate that this list is exhaustive of the criminal

convictions upon which the Commission can base discipline.

However, there are additional crimes that relate to whether an individual can
be expected to practice safely and which can serve as grounds for denying a
license, but not as grounds for disciplining a license. These crimes include

those listed in Table 19.
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Table 19
Criminal Violations Exempt from Disciplinary Action

Title | Article || Part | Section Description

18 5 9 All Identity Theft and Related Offenses

18 5.5 1 All Computer Crime

18 6 1 All Criminal Abortion

18 6 3 All Incest

18 6 4 All Wrongs to Children

18 6 6 All Harboring a Minor

18 6 7 All Contributing to Delinquency

18 6 8 All Domestic Violence

18 7 1 All Obscenity - Offenses

18 7 3 All Public Indecency

18 7 4 All Child Prostitution

18 7 5 Al Se>_<ua||y Explicit Materials Harmful to
Children

18 7 6 All V!sual Representation Containing Actual
Violence

18 7 7 All Sexual Conduct in Penal Institutions

18 7 8 All Criminal Invasion of Privacy

18 18 4 404 Unlawful Use of a Controlled Substance

18 18 4 405 Uplawfu! Distribution, Manufa}cturlng,
Dispensing, Sale or Possession

18 18 4 406 Felo__ny Offenses Relating to Marijuana and
Marijuana Concentrate
Keeping, Maintaining, Controlling, Renting,
or Making Available Property for Unlawful

18 18 4 41l Distribution or Manufacture of Controlled
Substances
Unlawful Possession of Materials to Make

18 18 4 412.5 Methamphetamine and Amphetamine.
Sale or Distribution of Materials to

18 18 4 4l2.7 Manufacture Controlled Substances

18 18 4 4128 Retail Sale of Methamphetamine Precursor
Drugs
Obtaining Controlled Substances by

18 18 4 415 Fraudulent or Deceitful Means
Inducing Consumption of Controlled

18 18 4 416 Substances by Fraudulent Means

18 18 4 422 Imitation Controlled Substances

18 18 4 423 Counterfeit Controlled Substances

All of the offenses listed in Table 19 involve truthfulness, honesty and good
moral character, and as such, could serve as grounds for the denial of a real
estate broker license. However, since they are not included in the
enumerated offenses constituting grounds for discipline, the Commission
could not take disciplinary action against a licensee convicted of one of these
crimes.
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This creates an absurd situation where the Commission can deny a license to
such an individual, but once licensed, an individual could not be disciplined
for the very same offense.

Importantly, all of the crimes enumerated in Table 19 relate to the practice of
real estate brokers, either directly or indirectly. For example, real estate
brokers have access to sensitive personal and financial information, thereby
legitimizing concerns over individuals who have been convicted of identity
theft or computer crimes having access to such information.

Real estate brokers transport clients to showings of prospective home
purchases. Public protection is enhanced by ensuring that the licenses of
individuals who have been convicted of selling or manufacturing controlled
substances are scrutinized.

Similarly, during a showing, a real estate broker may accompany a single
client into an empty building. Public protection is enhanced by ensuring that
the licenses of individuals who have been convicted of certain sex-related and
other violent crimes are scrutinized.

Therefore, the criminal offenses enumerated in Table 19 should be added to
the grounds upon which the Commission can base disciplinary action.

Recommendation 10 - Authorize the Commission to accept, for
purposes of licensure, name-based criminal history background checks
when the Colorado Bureau of Investigation confirms that a license
candidate’s fingerprints are unreadable.

All applicants for initial and renewal licensure as real estate brokers must
submit their fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) for a
criminal history background check.’®® No accommodation is made for those
individuals whose fingerprints are unreadable, or, more technically,
“unclassifiable.”

According to Division staff, approximately seven percent of applicants who
submit fingerprints for criminal history background checks have been deemed
to have unclassifiable fingerprints. Rather than deny or place on inactive
status, as appropriate, the licenses of such individuals, the Commission
passed an emergency rule in March 2007 that would have placed a license
on inactive status unless the applicant or licensee could show: 1) that CBI
had determined that the licensee’s fingerprints were unclassifiable; 2) that the
licensee had complied with CBI procedures regarding name-based criminal
history background checks; and 3) the licensee or applicant made a good
faith effort to comply with the law.

126 8§ 12-61-103(1)(b), 12-61-110(4)(a) and 12-61-110.8, C.R.S.
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The name-based criminal history background check then became the
background check used for licensure or renewal purposes.

However, the Office of Legislative Legal Services (LLS) determined, during its
annual review of agency rules, that the Commission lacked the statutory
authority to promulgate such a rule because the statutes authorizing criminal
history background checks expressly require fingerprint-based criminal history
background checks and make no allowance for any alternatives.

As a result, LLS informed the Commission that the rule would be disallowed.
Rather than challenge the conclusions of LLS, the Commission allowed the
emergency rule to expire in June 2007.

To deny a license or to place an active license on inactive status, thereby
rendering that individual unable to practice, simply because the applicant
attempts to comply with the law, but through no fault of his or her own, his or
her fingerprints are unclassifiable, borders on the unconscionable.

Therefore, a statutory change is necessary so as to avoid the unwarranted
denial or placement on inactive status of such licenses.

In the 2007 legislative session, the General Assembly passed House Bill
1294. This bill, which addressed a similar problem encountered by the
emergency medical technician regulatory program at the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment, included the following
language:

The [D]epartment may acquire a hame-based criminal history
record check for a certificate holder or an applicant who has
twice submitted to a fingerprint-based criminal history record
check and whose fingerprints are unclassifiable.

Since real estate broker licensees and license applicants have had problems
with unreadable fingerprints and since the General Assembly has previously
addressed this issue with respect to the emergency medical technician
certification program, the Commission should be authorized to accept name-
based criminal history background checks if the CBI determines that the
individual’'s fingerprints are unclassifiable and the individual complies with the
CBI procedures relating to name-based criminal history background checks.
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Recommendation 11 - Direct that all money collected by the Division
and Commission as the result of the imposition of fines or administrative
fees be deposited in the state’s General Fund.

At least three statutory provisions relating to the Commission, the Division
and regulation of real estate brokers and subdivision developers direct that all
money, including fines, collected by the Commission, the Division or both, be
credited to the Division of Real Estate Cash Fund (Cash Fund).'?’

Sections 12-61-113(7) and 12-61-405(3), C.R.S., require that all money
collected as fines be credited to the Cash Fund. Prior to 2005, however, and
the repeal of the Recovery Fund, all fine money went to the Recovery Fund.
House Bill 05-1264 amended these sections to direct this money from the
mostly defunct Recovery Fund to the Cash Fund.

Ordinarily, when an agency is given fining authority, any funds generated by
such fines are credited to the state’s General Fund. This is done so that the
agency has no incentive to impose fines, other than taking legitimate
disciplinary action.

Additionally, the title of section 12-61-111, C.R.S., reads, “Disposition of
fees.” However, it requires “all moneys” collected by the Commission be
credited to the Cash Fund. Since the title of this section is “Disposition of
fees,” this section should be amended to include only fees collected by the
Commission.

In addition, the statutes should be amended to also address any
“administrative” or other pseudo-disciplinary mechanisms that require a
licensee-respondent to pay what looks like a fine.

Many stipulated agreements that the Commission enters into with licensee-
respondents, for relatively minor violations, require the payment of
“administrative fees” in addition to other sanctions, such as the taking of
remedial coursework and the imposition of “diversion.”

Since these stipulated agreements essentially constitute dismissals by the
Commission and require the consent of the licensee-respondent, the fact that
the Commission lacks the express statutory authority to engage in such a
practice is less troubling than it otherwise could be.

What is troubling, however, is that in imposing an administrative fee the
Commission is essentially imposing a fine, but under a different name.

127 These provisions include, but may not necessarily be limited to, sections 12-61-111, 12-61-113(7)

and 12-61-405(3), C.R.S.
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Given the current statutory framework where all money collected by the
Commission is credited to the Cash Fund, this distinction is less important
than it will be when this Recommendation 11 is adopted. At that time, the
General Assembly should specify that administrative fees and any other
imposition of a monetary penalty be credited to the state’s General Fund.

Some may argue that fees and fines should be credited to the Cash Fund to
prevent an increase in license fees. However, the data contained in Table 16
on page 46, reveals that the Commission collected approximately $42,500 in
fines in fiscal year 05-06 from licensed real estate brokers. Table 2 on page
25, reports that the Commission issued or renewed 15,236 real estate broker
licensees that same year. To make up for this loss of funding, license fees
can be expected to increase by approximately $2.80 per license, or with a
license valid for three years $0.93 per year. This is not an exorbitant sum.

Finally, with few exceptions, when the General Assembly empowers a
regulatory program with the authority to impose fines, those fines are credited
to the state’s General Fund. Examples of such regulatory programs include,
but are not limited to, accountants,**® audiologists,**° hearing aid providers,**°
collection agencies,**! pharmacists and pharmacies,’** electricians,**®
engineers,™* professional land surveyors,** architects,** chiropractors,™*’
lay midwives,**® physical therapists,™*® plumbers**® and veterinarians.*** That
fines imposed by the Commission are credited to the Cash Fund, therefore, is
inconsistent with other regulatory programs in Colorado.

For all of these reasons, the General Assembly should direct that all fines
collected by the Commission be credited to the state’s General Fund.

128 § 12-2-123(5)(b), C.R.S.
129 § 12-5.5-105(4), C.R.S.
1%0 § 12-5.5-205(4), C.R.S.
131 § 12-14-136(2), C.R.S.
132 § 12-22-125.2(5), C.R.S.
133 § 12-23-118(7), C.R.S.
134 § 12-25-105(9), C.R.S.
135 § 12-25-205(8), C.R.S.
136 § 12-25-308(4)(b), C.R.S.
137 § 12-33-117(1.5), C.R.S.
138 § 12-37-107(2), C.R.S.
139 8 12-41-122(2), C.R.S.
140 & 12.58-116.5(4), C.R.S.
141 §12-64-111(4), C.R.S.
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Recommendation 12 - Clarify that the Director of the Division is the
appointing authority for Division staff.

Under Colorado’s Constitution,

The head of each principal department shall be the appointing
authority for the employees of his office and for heads of
divisions, within the personnel system, ranking next below the
head of such department. Heads of such divisions shall be the
appointing authorities for all positions in the personnel system
within their respective divisions.**?

Since the Division is a division of DORA, the Executive Director of DORA
appoints the Division Director and the Division Director, in turn, appoints the
Division’s staff. This is how the process should work according to the
Colorado Constitution and this is how the process works in practice.

However, section 12-61-106(1), C.R.S., clearly conflicts with the Colorado
Constitution and current practice:

The executive director of the department of regulatory agencies
is authorized by this section to employ, subject to the provisions
of the state personnel laws of the state, a director for the
commission and such attorneys, deputies, investigators, clerks,
and assistants as are necessary to discharge the duties
imposed by [the provisions of this article].

According to this statutory provision, DORA’s Executive Director is the
appointing authority for the Division Director and the staff of the Division.

Since this conflicts with the Colorado Constitution, this statutory provision
should be amended to clarify that the Executive Director of DORA is the
appointing authority for the Division Director, and that the Division Director is
the appointing authority for Division staff.

Administrative Recommendation 1 - Randomly audit real estate broker
licensees for compliance with continuing education, errors and
omissions insurance and legal presence requirements.

Recall that all licensed real estate brokers must: 1) complete a certain
number of hours of continuing education; 2) maintain errors and omissions
insurance; and 3) be legally present in the United States. Not only are these
requirements of licensure, but they are also important consumer protection
provisions.

142 Colo. Const. Art. XII, § 13(7).
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As addressed in earlier sections of this sunset report, continuing education in
the form of the Commission Update Course is crucial to ensuring that
licensed real estate brokers remain up to date with current law, Commission
rules and Commission-approved forms. Failure to stay current on such
issues could result in consumer harm.

Additionally, errors and omissions insurance is crucial to protecting
consumers. It is vital that licensees obtain and maintain adequate coverage
in the event a client is economically harmed and needs to be made whole.

Finally, the General Assembly convened in special session in 2006 to enact
laws requiring all licensees to demonstrate that they are in the United States
legally.

However, to ensure compliance with these licensing requirements and public
protection provisions, the Commission merely requires real estate brokers to
attest to their own compliance at the time of initial licensure or when renewing
a license, as the case may be.

In the case of legal presence, the Commission requires a licensee to submit
documentary verification if a complaint is ever filed against that licensee.
This same practice was instituted for errors and omissions insurance, on a go
forward basis, effective July 25, 2007, after a series of questions from DORA
of Division staff regarding this issue.

Aside from the initial attestation on the renewal application, the Division
undertakes no additional efforts to ensure compliance with the continuing
education requirement.

More can be, and in the past was, done to ensure compliance with these
important consumer protection requirements. Prior to Spring 2005, Division
staff routinely audited the records of real estate broker licensees to verify
compliance with the continuing education requirements. The Commission
terminated this process when the Division abolished its Education Unit.

In addition, prior to Spring 2007, the insurance carrier that provided coverage
under the Commission’s group errors and omissions policy, as well as the
other dominant errors and omissions carrier, reported to the Commission,
electronically, those real estate brokers to whom it provided errors and
omissions coverage. Licensees that obtained coverage independently were
required to submit verification of such coverage directly to the Commission.
The Commission terminated this process when the Division determined that,
after trying for over a year, the vendor with whom the Division had contracted
for examination and license records management services could not reliably
process these data streams.
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Although an electronic match of insurance and license information would
seem to be the most efficient mechanism for verifying compliance with the
errors and omissions insurance requirement, considering the vendor’s
lackluster past performance, and considering the fact that the Commission
has not, until very recently, required licensees to verify coverage unless a
complaint is filed, reinstating the electronic reporting process seems
unjustified.

However, simply requiring licensees to verify compliance with the errors and
omissions insurance requirement when a complaint is filed seems
inadequate. If a consumer is harmed and files a complaint, and only then
does the Commission discover that the licensee does not have errors and
omissions insurance, it is too late for that consumer.

Therefore, to ensure that licensees are true in their attestations and to verify
that licensees continue to comply with the continuing education, legal
presence and errors and omissions insurance requirements, the Commission,
through the Division, should immediately begin auditing licensee records for
verification of compliance with these requirements.

Administrative Recommendation 2 - Ensure that the Commission’s
licensing examination is revised such that it tests for knowledge of
current law.

Recall that the Commission’s licensing examination consists of two portions:
a national portion developed by the Association of Real Estate License Law
Officials (ARELLO) and the Colorado portion. The Division has contracted
with an outside vendor, PSI licensure:certification (PSI), to administer the
entire examination and to develop the Colorado portion of the examination.

According to a representative of PSI, the Colorado portion of the examination
is reviewed and updated, as necessary, every 18 months.

However, the laws to which Colorado-licensed real estate brokers must
adhere and have knowledge of change on an annual basis. For example,
during the 2007 legislative session, the General Assembly enacted at least 15
laws that will have some impact on the practice of real estate brokers in this
state, yet the issues presented in these new laws will not appear on the
Commission’s licensing examination until well after their effective dates.
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This presents both consumer protection and licensee competency issues, as
well as examination validity concerns. The consumer protection concern is
self-evident: individuals are receiving real estate broker licenses based on
their knowledge of old law and based on their potential ignorance of new law.
Can consumers depend on a newly licensed real estate broker to know the
law? The fact that the real estate broker holds a license represents that the
state has found this individual to be minimally competent, but is he or she?

The licensee competency issue is equally troubling. In order to pass the
Commission’s licensing examination, a candidate must master his or her
knowledge of the laws upon which the examination is based, rather than the
laws under which the candidate will practice. This requires a newly licensed
real estate broker to unlearn what he or she just mastered to pass the
examination and then to master what the law actually requires. It is
reasonable to conclude that individuals in this situation will become confused
as to which laws are applicable and which are not.

Finally, can the Commission’s licensing examination be considered valid if it
tests on obsolete material? A license issued by the Commission represents
to the public that the licensee is minimally competent. However, is this a
legitimate assertion given the facts stated herein?

In order to avoid all of this, the Division should require PSI to revise the
Commission’s licensing examination on a more frequent basis so that it
adequately reflects the laws, rules and other requirements under which
license candidates will actually be expected to practice competently.

Administrative Recommendation 3 - When the Division’s contract with
the current examination services and license records management
vendor expires, do not renew the contract and instead identify a
vendor that can perform more satisfactorily.

In 2005, the Division contracted with PSI to develop and administer the
Commission’s licensing examination and to maintain licensee records,
including disciplinary actions and whether a licensee has errors and
omissions insurance. However, according to DORA'’s information technology
section, the Division’s interactions with PSI were problematic from the very
beginning and continue to be so.

As outlined in various sections throughout this report, PSI was unable to
receive and reliably process electronic data concerning errors and omissions
insurance, and it reviews the test items on the Commission’s licensing
examination every 18 months, despite the fact that the laws, rules and forms
upon which that examination is based change at least annually if not more
frequently.
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In addition to these issues, there are other problems. Various tables in this
report contain data relating to licensing statistics. As basic government
accountability measures, these data should have been relatively easy to
extract from PSI's computer systems. However, Division staff expressed
concern upon receipt of DORA’s requests for such statistics. This concern
was rooted in the fact that such statistics are not easily extracted from PSI’s
systems.

To its credit, Division staff has managed to work around many of PSI's
inabilities. However, as a vendor to the State of Colorado, PSI's performance
leaves much to be desired.

For these reasons, when the Division’s contract with PSI expires in 2008, the
Division should actively seek a different vendor to provide the required
services.

Administrative Recommendation 4 - Explore the possibility of
specifically creating the Division as a Type 2 agency, and pursue
legislation if appropriate.

In very general terms, Colorado state government is organized into principal
departments which consist of Type 1 and Type 2 divisions and Type 1 and
Type 2 boards and commissions.

A Type 1 agency is one that exercises,

its prescribed statutory powers, duties, and functions, including
rulemaking, regulation, licensing, and registration, the
promulgation of rules, rates, regulations, and standards, and the
rendering of findings, orders, and adjudications, independently
of the head of the principal department.’*®

Thus, Type 1 agencies are generally recognized as policy-autonomous. That
is, they operate, by and large, outside the direct control of the executive
director.

Regardless, even with Type 1 agencies, the principal department directs and
supervises the agencies’ budgeting, purchasing, planning and related
management functions.™**

With respect to Type 2 agencies, all of these powers are vested in the
principal department itself.**>

143 § 24-1-105(1), C.R.S.
144 § 24-1-105(1), C.R.S.
195 § 24-1-105(2), C.R.S.
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With respect to the Commission and the Division, however, this issue is
complicated. Under the Administrative Organization Act of 1968, the
Commission was transferred to DORA under a Type 1 transfer (meaning it
became a Type 1 agency), as a division.'*® As a result, there is no clear
statutory distinction between the Commission as a five-member commission,
and the Division that consists of staff. In short, there are no statutory
provisions specifically creating the Division, although the Division and the
Division Director are referenced throughout the real estate statutes.

Thus, the Commission, as a commission, is clearly a Type 1 commission, but
the status of the Division and its staff has not been clearly and specifically
addressed in statute. This situation was, in all likelihood, a technical
oversight that should be corrected.

Out of all of the other divisions in DORA, only the Public Utilities Commission
was also transferred to DORA as a division.'*” The Banking Board was
transferred to DORA as a Type 1 board and allocated to the Division of
Banking, which is created in the same section as that in which the transfer
occurs, but the Division of Banking is not designated as a Type 1 or Type 2

agency.'*®

The transfer language with respect to all other divisions makes a distinction
between the relevant board or commission and the relevant division, and
most of them are Type 1 agencies and all are Type 1 boards or commissions.

By way of comparison, most other divisions in state government are Type 2
agencies. Additionally, most boards and commissions are Type 1 boards and
commissions.*® However, relatively few divisions outside of DORA have
governing boards or commissions.

Having a Type 1 agency supporting a Type 1 board or commission can be
problematic in terms of clear roles and responsibilities and clean lines of
accountability.

For example, if the Commission is a Type 1 entity and the Division, too, is a
Type 1 entity, problems can arise when the Commission sets a policy course
that conflicts with the ideals of the staff of the Division.

146 § 24-1-122(2)(k), C.R.S.

147 8§ 24-1-122(2)(a) and 40-2-103, C.R.S.

148 § 24-1-122(2)(d), C.R.S.

9 See, generally §§ 24-1-111 through 24-1-128.7, C.R.S.
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The most reasonable solution to this problem is to create a Division of Real
Estate and make it a Type 2 agency, while retaining the Commission as the
Type 1 governing body of the Division. Such a change would make a clear
distinction between the Commission and the Division staff and would more
clearly delineate the relative roles, responsibilities and accountabilities of
each.

This approach has precedence both in and out of DORA. Within DORA, the
Division of Financial Services is a Type 2 agency, and the Financial Services
Board is a Type 1 board.'®* Similarly, in the Department of Natural
Resources, the Division of Wildlife is a Type 2 agency, and the Wildlife
Commission is a Type 1 commission.**

This recommendation is made to clarify the roles, responsibilities and
accountability of the Commission and staff of the Division. It is a good
government-type of recommendation and, in the future, when DORA identifies
similar types of situations, similar recommendations will likely be made. This
is most easily evidenced by a similar recommendation in the sunset report of
the Colorado Public Utilities Commission, which, like this sunset report, is
presented to the General Assembly for consideration during the 2008
legislative session.

However, this is an issue that arose late in the sunset process, and, as a
result, it was not possible to obtain the input of interested parties and
stakeholders. So as to avoid potentially serious unintentional consequences,
therefore, this recommendation is made to the principal department (DORA,
in this case), the Division and the Commission. DORA, the Division and the
Commission should explore this issue, determine the consequences such a
change would have on operations and the relationship between the
Commission and Division staff, and, if appropriate, pursue legislation at a
later date.

150 8 24-1-122(2)(c), C.R.S.
151 § 24-1-124(3)(h), C.R.S.

79



Appendix A - Sunset Statutory Evaluation Criteria
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Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public
health, safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the
initial regulation have changed; and whether other conditions have
arisen which would warrant more, less or the same degree of
regulation;

If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and
regulations establish the least restrictive form of regulation consistent
with the public interest, considering other available regulatory
mechanisms and whether agency rules enhance the public interest
and are within the scope of legislative intent;

Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its
operation is impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules,
procedures and practices and any other circumstances, including
budgetary, resource and personnel matters;

Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency
performs its statutory duties efficiently and effectively;

Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission
adequately represents the public interest and whether the agency
encourages public participation in its decisions rather than
participation only by the people it regulates;

The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic
information is not available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts
competition;

Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures
adequately protect the public and whether final dispositions of
complaints are in the public interest or self-serving to the profession;

Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes
to the optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry
requirements encourage affirmative action;

Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to
improve agency operations to enhance the public interest.
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