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Dear Members of the General Assembly: 
 
The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies has completed the evaluation of the Colorado 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (Board).  I am pleased to submit this written report, which will be the 
basis for my office's oral testimony before the 2007 legislative committee of reference.  The 
report is submitted pursuant to section 24-34-104(8)(a), of the Colorado Revised Statutes 
(C.R.S.), which states in part: 
 

The department of regulatory agencies shall conduct an analysis of the performance of 
each division, board or agency or each function scheduled for termination under this 
section... 
 
The department of regulatory agencies shall submit a report and supporting materials to 
the office of legislative legal services no later than October 15 of the year preceding the 
date established for termination…. 

 
The report discusses the question of whether there is a need for the regulation provided under 
Part 1 of Article 6 of Title 12, C.R.S.  The report also discusses the effectiveness of the Board 
and staff in carrying out the intent of the statutes and makes recommendations for statutory and 
administrative changes in the event this regulatory program is continued by the General 
Assembly. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Tambor Williams 
Executive Director 
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Quick Facts 
 

What is Regulated? New and used motor vehicle 
dealers and salespersons, motor vehicle wholesalers, 
and wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers. 
 
Who is Regulated? In fiscal year 05-06 there were 
approximately 19,000 licenses issued and renewed by 
the Board: 
 
Motor vehicle salespersons: 16,459 
New motor vehicle dealers: 677 
Used motor vehicle dealers: 1,525 
Motor vehicle wholesalers/wholesale motor vehicle 
auction dealers: 7 
 
How is it Regulated?  The Board is a Type II board 
located in the Auto Industry Division of the Department of 
Revenue. In practice, the Board licenses motor vehicle 
dealers, salespersons, and motor vehicle wholesalers 
and wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers. This 
involves processing and evaluating applications from 
prospective licensees, enforcing minimum standards of 
sales and practice as defined by law, and disciplining 
those in violation of the law. 
 
What Does it Cost? The fiscal year 04-05 Auto 
Industry Division expenditures, including oversight and 
support of this program were $1,377,301, and there were 
21.2 FTE associated with this program. The direct costs 
associated with the Board’s meeting schedule in fiscal 
year 04-05 was $5,936. 
 
In fiscal year 05-06, license fees for motor vehicle 
dealers, wholesalers, and wholesale motor vehicle 
auction dealers was $325 for initial licensure, and $270 
for renewal. Licensure fees for salespersons consisted of 
$75 for an initial license, and $55 for license renewal.        
 

What Disciplinary Activity is There?  During the 
five-year period of fiscal year 01-02 to fiscal year 05-06, 
the Board’s disciplinary proceedings consisted of: 
 
Revocations                                  77 
Suspensions                                 41 
Probation                                    152 
Fines                                             72 
Other                                             70 
 

Where Do I Get the Full Report?  The full sunset 
review can be found on the internet at: 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm 

Key Recommendations 
 
Continue the Board until 2012. 
The licensing and oversight of motor vehicle 
dealers, salespersons, wholesalers, and 
wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers benefits 
the citizens of Colorado. The intent of the motor 
vehicle statutes is to protect the consumer and to 
create a feeling of confidence and trust in the 
dealer by the public. The complicated nature of 
the industry, the potential for consumer harm, and 
the actual consumer harm substantiate the need 
for continuing oversight of the industry.  
Consequently, as an essential component of the 
existing regulatory scheme, the Board should be 
continued until 2012. 
 
Increase the surety bond required of 
motor vehicle dealers to $50,000. 
Every Colorado new and used motor vehicle 
dealer is currently required to maintain a $30,000- 
surety bond, which is available for consumer 
reimbursement for loss or damage as a result of a 
dealer’s misrepresentations or fraudulent 
activities. The cost of this surety bond is generally 
one-percent of the bond amount (currently $300). 
An important factor relating to this surety bond is 
the escalating price of motor vehicles. In many 
instances, the amount of damages or loss to the 
consumer has exceeded the current surety bond 
amount of $30,000. The financial protection 
provided to the public is enhanced with a larger 
bond requirement. 
 
Alter the composition of the Board. 
The general purpose of including industry 
members on the Board is to include a degree of 
industry-related knowledge and expertise to assist 
the Board in the performance of its statutory 
functions. Although it is critical for the Board 
composition to contain individuals with an 
understanding of the industry, and share that 
necessary expertise, it is also important to have 
balanced representation on the Board of 
consumers and other professionals that interact 
and transact business with the motor vehicle 
industry. The existing composition of the Board 
should be modified to more accurately reflect the 
expertise necessary to evaluate and resolve 
complaints and disciplinary matters. The Board 
membership should be modified by replacing one 
new and one used motor vehicle dealer with a 
Colorado county clerk, and an individual 
employed in the motor vehicle financing sector. 
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Key Recommendations Continued 
 
 
Require the Board to utilize administrative law judges and hearing officers in disciplinary 
hearings.  
Individual Board members cite their heavy caseload for the Board’s inability to allocate time to address public 
policy and regulatory issues. The Board currently spends the majority of its meetings hearing testimony in 
appeals of license denial matters and routine disciplinary cases. The Board would be the recipient of numerous 
benefits by utilizing the services of judges and professional hearing officers in the disciplinary hearing process. 
In addition to giving the Board time to address important issues, other benefits include enhanced due process 
protection, a reduction of conflicts, consistency of decisions, and fewer appeals. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Major Contacts Made In Researching the 2006 Sunset Review of the Board 
 

Colorado Automobile Dealers Association 
Colorado Independent Automobile Dealers Association  

National Automobile Dealers Association 
National Independent Automobile Dealers Association 
American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators 

Denver Auto Auction 
Board and Auto Industry Division staff 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What is a Sunset Review? 
A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine 
whether or not they should be continued by the legislature.  Sunset reviews focus on creating the 
least restrictive form of regulation consistent with the public interest.  In formulating 
recommendations, sunset reviews consider the public's right to consistent, high quality professional 
or occupational services and the rights of businesses to exist and thrive in a highly competitive 
market, free from unfair, costly or unnecessary regulation. 
 

Sunset Reviews are Prepared By: 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 

Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550 

Denver, CO 80202 
www.dora.state.co.us/opr 

 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr
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TThhee  SSuunnsseett  PPrroocceessss  
 
The regulatory functions of the Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (Board) 
in accordance with Part 1 of Article 6 of Title 12, Colorado Revised Statutes 
(C.R.S.), shall terminate on July 1, 2007, unless continued by the General 
Assembly.  During the year prior to this date, it is the duty of the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies (DORA) to conduct an analysis and evaluation of the 
Board pursuant to section 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
 
The purpose of this review is to determine whether the Board should be 
continued for the protection of the public and to evaluate the performance of 
the Board and the Board’s staff. During this review, the Board must 
demonstrate that there is still a need for the Board and that the regulation is 
the least restrictive regulation consistent with the public interest.  DORA’s 
findings and recommendations are submitted via this report to the legislative 
committee of reference of the Colorado General Assembly.  Statutory criteria 
used in sunset reviews may be found in Appendix A on page 54. 
 
This report does not contain a review of the licensing functions of the 
Executive Director of the Department of Revenue related to motor vehicle 
manufacturers and related functions. These licensing and disciplinary 
functions, contained in Part 2 of Article 6 of Title 12, C.R.S., were the subject 
of a sunset report in 2002 pursuant to the General Assembly separating these 
functions from the Board’s sunset review. 
 
 

MMeetthhooddoollooggyy  
 
As part of this review, DORA staff attended numerous Board meetings, 
interviewed the Department of Revenue (DOR), Auto Industry Division (AID) 
staff, reviewed Board and AID records and minutes including complaint and 
disciplinary actions, interviewed officials with state and national professional 
associations, interviewed members of the industry and public, reviewed 
Colorado statutes and Board rules and regulations, and reviewed the laws of 
other states.  
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PPrrooffiillee  ooff  tthhee  PPrrooffeessssiioonn  

                                           

 
The motor vehicle industry in Colorado is a vital, thriving industry that has 
generated significant revenue for Colorado and its citizens. The following 
statistics, generated by the Colorado Automobile Dealers Association (CADA), 
demonstrate and highlight the importance of the motor vehicle industry to 
Colorado’s economy.1 
 

• In 2004, the automotive retailing industry generated a total of over 
33,300 jobs in Colorado.  

• In 2004, state residents earned over $1.67 billion as a result of 
automobile dealership operations in Colorado. 

• The average new motor vehicle dealership had over $4 million in payroll 
expense during 2004. 

• Automobile dealers (through taxes collected or paid) generated more 
than $465 million in revenue for the state and local governments in 
2004.  

• Sales at new vehicle dealerships in Colorado exceeded $12.7 billion in 
2004.  

• Colorado new vehicle dealerships sold over 461,000 new and used 
vehicles during 2004. 

• Total annual new vehicle retail sales in Colorado exceeded 190,000 
units during each of the six years from 1999 through 2004. 

 
The Board is statutorily responsible for administering motor vehicle dealer 
licensing laws, and promulgating rules and regulations relating to the licensure 
of motor vehicle dealers, wholesalers, salespersons, and wholesale motor 
vehicle auction dealers. The Board has the statutory authority to investigate 
complaints against new and used motor vehicle dealers, salespersons, 
wholesalers, and wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers, and to impose 
sanctions and discipline against licensees who violate state statutes and 
Board rules and regulations. 
 
The Board meets this responsibility through the assistance of the compliance, 
licensing, and investigations sections of the AID. The AID acts as the 
administrative arm for the Board in the licensing and regulation of new motor 
vehicle dealers, used motor vehicle dealers, wholesalers, wholesale motor 
vehicle auction dealers, and salespersons. 
 

 
1 The Economic Impact of Franchised New Vehicle Dealers on the Colorado Economy, 2005, p. 3, 
available at http://cadaonline.org/shared/IndustryStatistics/default.asp, accessed March 21, 2006 and 
August 14, 2006. 
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Activities of the AID include processing of license applications and fees, 
administering written examinations to applicants, providing educational 
services to licensees and the public, conducting compliance audits, working 
with consumers and dealers to resolve complaints, and investigating motor 
vehicle and criminal complaints.  
 
The Investigations Section of the AID also provides training seminars to the 
public and industry in an attempt to prevent title, odometer, and salvage fraud 
and provides training to licensees in proper title assignments, proper 
completion of required documents and advertising.  
 
Generally, the nine-member Board meets twice monthly to make policy 
decisions, consider licensing matters, review complaints, hold administrative 
disciplinary hearings, and take disciplinary action against licensees when 
appropriate.  
 
The Board members are appointed by the Governor to serve three-year terms. 
The Board is currently comprised of three new motor vehicle dealers; three 
used motor vehicle dealers, and three public members. 
 
 

HHiissttoorryy  ooff  RReegguullaattiioonn  
 
The Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Advisory Board (Advisory Board) was 
originally created in 1945 as a five-member advisory board made up 
exclusively of automobile dealers. Two members of the Advisory Board were 
appointed by the Governor and three by the Executive Director of the DOR 
(Executive Director). 
 
The Advisory Board was required to meet quarterly and advise the Executive 
Director on issues related to motor vehicle sales. The Executive Director 
conducted all disciplinary hearings. Advisory Board members were included at 
the discretion of the Executive Director. The Executive Director could delegate 
hearing functions to the Advisory Board. All licensing and disciplinary functions 
were the responsibility of the Executive Director. The Executive Director could 
request an opinion from the Advisory Board prior to promulgating a regulation, 
at his or her discretion. 
 
In 1953, the Executive Director was given authority to issue fines of between 
$75 and $500 for any violation of the statute or regulations. Violators could 
also be subject to up to six months in the county jail. The Advisory Board 
function was reduced to meeting only when called by the Executive Director, 
and only to review the specific matters referred to it by the Executive Director. 
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In 1971, House Bill 71-1378 expanded the duties of the Advisory Board. This 
bill created the Motor Vehicle Dealer Licensing Board (Board).  
 
The Board’s membership included representation from four new motor vehicle 
dealers, three used motor vehicle dealers and two public members. The 
licensing and disciplinary functions for dealers and salespeople were shifted 
from the Executive Director to the Board. 
 
The nine-member Board had regulatory responsibility for retail sales of motor 
vehicles including licensing of new and used motor vehicle dealers and 
salespeople. The Executive Director retained licensing authority over motor 
vehicle manufacturers, distributors and their representatives.  
 
In 1983, the first sunset review of the program was conducted. The report 
recommended continuing the regulation of motor vehicle dealers with a greater 
emphasis on consumer protection issues. A bill continuing the functions of the 
Board until 1992 was passed by the General Assembly and became law.  

 
The 1991 sunset review criticized the enforcement record of the Board. 
Recommendations implemented by the General Assembly as a result of the 
1991 sunset review included:  
 

• Increased the public representation on the Board;  

• Authorized the Board to implement fines of up to $10,000 for violations;  

• Deregulated non-wholesale auctioneers; and  

• Revised the examination process.  
 

An administrative recommendation made in the sunset report resulted in the 
reorganization of the Division of Motor Vehicles that separated the supervision 
of complaint investigation functions from the administrative hearing process. 
 
In 1998, mandatory license disqualifiers were enacted by the General 
Assembly. The disqualifiers generally consisted of denying licensure to any 
applicant with a felony conviction under Title 18, Articles 3, 4, and 5, C.R.S., 
within 10 years from the date of conviction.2 
 
The Department of Revenue’s Dealer Service Section (DSS) was reorganized, 
and became the Auto Industry Division in 1999. 
 
In 2000, the General Assembly enacted Senate Bill 00-17, which allowed 
motor vehicle dealers to maintain books and records at locations other than 
their principal place of business. 
 

                                            
2 § 12-6-118(7)(a)(I), C.R.S. 

 

4



 

Senate Bill 02-05, enacted by the General Assembly in 2002, allowed AID 
investigators to issue misdemeanor summons for unlicensed sales activity, 
and classified investigators as Level II Peace Officers. In 2002, the AID also 
implemented on-line access to motor vehicle dealer information for county 
clerks, bond companies, and wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers. 
 
The AID developed specialized training seminars in 2003, in the areas of 
motor vehicle advertising, title and odometer fraud, and document 
requirements for motor vehicle sales transactions.  
 
In 2004, pursuant to the General Assembly enacting House Bill 04-1053, the 
Board was authorized to discipline a licensee if said licensee failed to give 
timely notice to a prospective buyer regarding the acceptance or rejection of a 
motor vehicle purchase order agreement on a finance or consignment sale.  In 
2004, the AID additionally implemented a plan to stagger the issuance of 
license renewals over 12 months. This project distributes the AID’s workload 
throughout the year, instead of dealing with the majority of license renewals 
during a one-month period. 
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LLeeggaall  FFrraammeewwoorrkk  

                                           

 

The regulation of the sale of motor vehicles, and the entities and individuals 
that sell them, is found in Article 6 of Title 12 of the Colorado Revised Statutes 
(C.R.S.). The legislative declaration indicates reasons for the regulation of 
motor vehicle dealers.3 These reasons include: the public expects that a 
dealer will remain in business to provide service for purchased motor vehicles; 
to promote highway safety, consumer protection, and to promote consumer 
education. The declaration also indicates that the sale of motor vehicles by 
unlicensed dealers, or by licensed dealers or salespersons who have 
demonstrated unfitness, should be prevented.  
 
Section 12-6-102, C.R.S., provides definitions for terms to be used in the 
regulation of motor vehicle sales. Key defined terms include: “Consumer,” 
“Distributor,” “Motor vehicle,” “Motor vehicle dealer,” “Motor vehicle 
salesperson,” “Used motor vehicle dealer,” and “Wholesaler.”  
 
Farm tractors and other machines and tools used in the production, harvesting 
and care of farm products are not considered motor vehicles.4 Exempt from 
the definition of motor vehicle dealer, or used motor vehicle dealer are:  
 

(a) Receivers, trustees, administrators, executors, guardians, or 
other persons appointed by or acting under the judgment or 
order of any court;5  

(b) Public officers while performing their official duties;6  
(c) Employees of persons enumerated in the definition of "motor 

vehicle dealer" when engaged in the specific performance of 
their duties as such employees;7 

(d) A wholesaler or anyone selling motor vehicles solely to 
wholesalers;8  

(e) Mortgagees or secured parties as to sales in any one year of 
not more than 12 motor vehicles constituting collateral on a 
mortgage or security agreement, if such mortgagees or 
secured parties shall not realize for their own account from 
such sales any moneys in excess of the outstanding balance 
secured by such mortgage or security agreement, plus costs 
of collection;9  

 
3 § 12-6-101(1), C.R.S. 
4 § 12-6-102(12), C.R.S. 
5 §§ 12-6-102(13)(a) and (17)(a), C.R.S. 
6 §§ 12-6-102(13)(b) and (17)(b), C.R.S. 
7 §§ 12-6-102(13)(c) and (17)(c), C.R.S. 
8 §§ 12-6-102(13)(d) and  (17)(d), C.R.S. 
9 § 12-6-102(17)(e), C.R.S. 
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(f) Any person who only sells or exchanges no more than four 
motor vehicles which are collectors' items pursuant to section 
42-3-219, C.R.S., or pursuant to Article 12 of Title 42, 
C.R.S.;10   

(g) A motor vehicle auctioneer;11 and  
(h) An operator, as defined in section 42-4-2102(5), C.R.S., who 

sells a motor vehicle pursuant to section 42-4-2104, C.R.S.12 
 
Section 103 creates the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (Board). The Board 
consists of nine members, appointed by the Governor, serving three-year 
terms.13 The membership of the Board is equally divided statutorily between 
new motor vehicle dealers, used motor vehicle dealers and consumer 
members. Board members serve without compensation but are reimbursed for 
actual and necessary expenses while engaged in official duties.14  
 
The Board is required by section 104 to annually elect a president, first vice-
president and a second vice-president. The Board establishes its own meeting 
schedule, and a majority of the Board constitutes a quorum at any meeting or 
hearing. 
 
The Board has broad regulatory responsibilities to promulgate, amend, and 
repeal rules and regulations relating to those functions the Board is mandated 
to fulfill, including the administration, enforcement, issuance, and denial of 
licenses to motor vehicle dealers, motor vehicle salespeople, used motor 
vehicle dealers, wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers, and wholesalers, 
and the laws of the State of Colorado as it deems necessary.15  
 
The Board has the statutory authority to delegate to the Board’s Executive 
Secretary the authority to execute all actions within the power of the Board, 
including the issuance of licenses pursuant to the rules and regulations 
adopted by the Board.16 
 
The Board may issue subpoenas and conduct investigations through the 
Executive Director of the Department of Revenue (Executive Director), on its 
own motion, or upon a sworn complaint by any person, of any suspected 
violation of the licensing statute or the regulations promulgated by the Board. 
The Board has the authority to resolve disputes before requesting an 
investigation or hearing through its own action or by direction to the Executive 
Director.17  

                                            
10 § 12-6-102(17)(f), C.R.S. 
11 §§ 12-6-102(13)(f) and (17)(g), C.R.S. 
12 § 12-6-102(17)(h), C.R.S. 
13 §§ 12-6-103(1) and (2), C.R.S. 
14 § 12-6-103(3), C.R.S. 
15 § 12-6-104(3), C.R.S. 
16 § 12-6-104(3)(a.5), C.R.S. 
17 § 12-6-104(3)(f)(I), C.R.S. 
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Upon a finding of probable cause, the Board may conduct a hearing in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (APA). The Board may 
conduct hearings, delegate hearings to an administrative law judge (ALJ), or 
the Board may designate one of the Board’s members as a hearing officer to 
conduct a hearing in accordance with the APA.18 The Board is authorized to 
summarily issue cease and desist orders, if such orders are followed by 
compliance with notice and hearing requirements.19 After due notice and 
hearing, the Board may revoke, suspend, or order the Executive Director to 
issue or reinstate any license issued by the Board.20   
 
The Board, or an ALJ designated by the Board, may, after a hearing in 
accordance with the APA, deny, suspend, or revoke any license issued by the 
Board. The Board may impose fines of up to $10,000 for each violation of the 
statute or regulations by a licensee.21 The Board is required to promulgate 
guidelines to ensure that administrative penalties are equitable and relative to 
the seriousness of the offense.22  
 
The Board must prescribe forms to be utilized in the application process, and 
may request information of said applicants regarding their fitness to become 
licensed, as the Board considers appropriate and necessary. The statute 
defines the minimum standards for license applications. However, the Board 
may, by regulation, develop additional requirements.23 
 
The Board is to conduct an examination to test the competency of applicants 
for various dealer and salesperson licenses and to develop forms to be used 
as sales contracts for motor vehicles.24 The statute defines the minimum 
standards for motor vehicle sales and lease forms. The Board may, by 
regulation, develop additional requirements. It is the intent of the statute to 
ensure that all sales documents used by dealers clearly disclose price and 
terms to the consumer, including financing approval and conflicting oral 
representations.25 
 

                                            
18 § 12-6-104(3)(f)(II), C.R.S. 
19 § 12-6-104(3)(f.5), C.R.S. 
20 § 12-6-104(3)(e)(I), C.R.S. 
21 § 12-6-104(3)(m)(I)(A), C.R.S. 
22 § 12-6-104(3)(n), C.R.S. 
23 § 12-6-104(3)(g), C.R.S. 
24 § 12-6-104(j)(I), C.R.S. 
25 § 12-6-104(k)(I), C.R.S. 
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The statute defines the various classes of licenses and authorizes the 
activities permitted under specific licenses.26 The Board and Executive 
Director are required to issue licenses on a form to be prescribed by the 
Board, and licensees are required to display licenses at the licensee’s place of 
business.27 The Board and Executive Director are required by section 12-6-
110, C.R.S., to establish fees for each class of license.  Fees are to be set at a 
level that covers the direct and indirect costs of administering the program. All 
fees are paid to the state treasurer and are credited to the Auto Dealers 
License Fund (License Fund) established in section 12-6-123, C.R.S. The 
License Fund is subject to the normal appropriations process.  
 
Motor vehicle dealers, wholesalers, wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers 
and used motor vehicle dealers are required to file with the Board proof of a 
corporate surety bond issued by a company authorized in the state in the 
amount of $30,000.28 The purpose of the bond is to reimburse retail 
consumers for damages suffered because of fraud, misrepresentation or 
violations of the motor vehicle statute or regulations.29 Licensees who sell only 
small utility trailers are required to carry a $5,000-bond for the same 
purpose.30 Both new and used motor vehicle salespersons are required to 
obtain a bond in the amount of $5,000.31  
 
All bonds must be renewed annually. This may be accomplished by the 
issuance of a continuation certificate by the surety.32 These surety bonds can 
only be released after a finding of fraud by the Board or a court of competent 
jurisdiction.33 All corporate surety companies are required by section 12-6-
112.7, C.R.S., to provide notice to the Board and Executive Director within 30 
days after a claim is honored against a bond.  
 
All applicable fees must be paid at the time the application is filed with either 
the Board or the Executive Director. Applicants licensed by the Board are 
required to appoint the Executive Secretary to the Board as their agent for 
service of process for claims arising from any acts related to licensure 
violations.34 
 

                                            
26 § 12-6-108, C.R.S. 
27 § 12-6-109, C.R.S. 
28 §§ 12-6-111(1) and (2), C.R.S. 
29 § 12-6-111(2)(a), C.R.S. 
30 § 12-6-111(2)(a), C.R.S. 
31 § 12-6-112(1), C.R.S. 
32 §§ 12-6-111(3) and 12-6-112(3), C.R.S.  
33 §§ 12-6-111(2)(b) and 12-6-112(2), C.R.S. 
34 § 12-6-115(6), C.R.S. 
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New motor vehicle dealers and used motor vehicle dealers are required to 
obtain and maintain a principle place of business that meets the guidelines 
outlined in sections 12-6-116 and -117, C.R.S. Dealers that change their 
address or lines of vehicles are required to notify the Board. A dealer losing a 
new car franchise for any reason may be licensed as a used motor vehicle 
dealer at the discretion of the Board. All dealers are required to confiscate and 
return to the Board the salesperson license of any salesperson that changes a 
place of employment or terminates employment for any reason.  
 
Grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of all licenses issued by the 
Board are detailed in section 12-6-118, C.R.S. Material misstatements on the 
license application, willful failure to comply with the statute, coercion, engaging 
in illegal business practices and willful misrepresentation are among the 
grounds for disciplinary actions. All disciplinary actions are conducted 
according to the APA and are considered the final administrative action.35 
Under section 12-6-119, C.R.S., the Colorado Court of Appeals has initial 
jurisdiction to review all final actions of the Board that are subject to judicial 
review.   
  
Pursuant to section 12-6-121, C.R.S., violations of the statute are considered 
Class 1 misdemeanors except for unlicensed activities, which are considered 
Class 3 misdemeanors. Fines collected for unlicensed activity are awarded to 
the law enforcement agency investigating and issuing the citation for the 
violation, under the provisions of section 12-6-121.5, C.R.S.  
 
Failure to honor a draft or check in transactions between the various entities 
licensed by the Board is an offense against the licensee that could result in a 
disciplinary action.36 Failure to honor a draft or check, which results in a loss to 
a third party, is a misdemeanor resulting in a $2,500-fine.37 Any person 
suffering a loss or damage because of fraud by a dealer or a salesperson 
acting for the dealer has a right of action against the bonds of the dealer 
and/or salesperson.38  
 
In order to eliminate the impression that a vehicle is being offered for sale by a 
private party, all dealer advertisements must disclose that the vehicle offered 
for sale is being offered by a dealer.39 The Board has promulgated numerous 
additional advertising regulations.  
 
 
 
 
 

                                            
35 § 12-6-104(3)(m)(II), C.R.S. 
36 § 12-6-118(3)(e), C.R.S. 
37 § 12-6-121.6(2), C.R.S. 
38 §§ 12-6-111(2)(b) and 12-6-112(2), C.R.S. 
39 § 12-6-125, C.R.S. 
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RReellaatteedd  SSttaattuutteess    
 
Provisions of the Colorado Certificate of Title Act, contained in Article 6 of Title 
42, C.R.S., and other laws also contained in Title 42, C.R.S., additionally 
regulate motor vehicle dealers and motor vehicles. In addition to specific 
advertising provisions contained in the statute creating the Board, all 
advertising by dealers must comply with state and federal truth in advertising 
laws. Most dealerships offer financing for vehicles; all credit transactions are 
subject to state and federal truth in lending and fair credit requirements. The 
Federal Trade Commission, National Highway Safety Administration, and the 
Internal Revenue Service all have specific regulatory programs impacting 
motor vehicle dealerships.  
 
Section 6-1-708, C.R.S., provides consumer protection relating to the sale of a 
new or used motor vehicle. Specifically, the Colorado Consumer Protection 
Act, prevents dealers from selling or leasing a trade-in vehicle until the 
consumer credit financing has been approved, and requires that a dealer 
disclose in writing when a vehicle is a salvage vehicle. 
 
 

RReegguullaattiioonnss    
 
The AID produces a booklet for licensees containing the regulations 
promulgated by the Board, as well as excerpts from the statute. This booklet is 
available to consumers and licensees upon request to the Auto Industry 
Division. The booklet was last updated in 2004. 
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PPrrooggrraamm  DDeessccrriippttiioonn  aanndd  AAddmmiinniissttrraattiioonn  
 

RReessppoonnssiibbiilliittiieess  

                                           

 
A primary function of the Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (Board), as 
delineated in the section of the act setting forth the Board’s powers and duties, 
is:  
 

To promulgate, amend, and repeal reasonable rules and 
regulations relating to those functions the [B]oard is mandated 
to carry out pursuant to this [P]art 1, including the 
administration, enforcement, issuance, and denial of licenses to 
motor vehicle dealers, motor vehicle salespeople, used motor 
vehicle dealers, wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers, and 
wholesalers, and the laws of the [S]tate of [C]olorado as it 
deems necessary.40 

 
The Board is created in section 12-6-103, Colorado Revised Statues (C.R.S.). 
The Board’s authority is derived from section 12-6-104, C.R.S., and from the 
Colorado Administrative Procedure Act. The Board is an entity created by 
statute; therefore the Boards powers are limited to those expressly conferred 
by the legislature. The Board’s express powers are to administer, enforce, 
issue, and deny licenses to motor vehicle dealers and salespersons (new and 
used), in addition to wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers and wholesalers. 
The Board is also authorized to issue a temporary license to any person who 
submits a completed application. An applicant may operate under such a 
license for no more than 120 days while the Board investigates and 
determines all facts relevant to the background and qualifications as set forth 
in the application. This temporary license is terminated when the applicant’s 
license is granted or denied. 
 
The Board is statutorily empowered to order an administrative hearing if it 
determines that an investigation results in probable cause to believe a violation 
of the statute or regulations has occurred. If an administrative hearing is held, 
the Board possesses exclusive authority to review the findings of an 
administrative law judge or hearing officer from within the Board’s 
membership. The Board also possesses exclusive authority to determine 
whether to revoke, suspend, fine, or order the issuance or reinstatement of 
any license under the Board’s authority.  Pursuant to section 12-6-
104(3)(e)(II), C.R.S., the Board’s decisions are final and not subject to review 
by the Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division (AID). 
 

 
40 § 12-6-104(3)(a), C.R.S. 

 

12



 
Pursuant to section 12-6-110(5), C.R.S., the Board also has the advisory 
function of proposing, as part of its annual budget request, adjustments to the 
licensure fees that the Board is authorized by law to collect. The budget 
request and the adjusted fees for the Board include direct and indirect costs. 
Adjustments to the fees are subject to the approval of the Executive Director of 
the Department of Revenue, and remain in effect for the fiscal year for which 
the appropriation is made. 
 
The Board generally meets twice each month to fulfill its statutory functions 
and responsibilities. A typical meeting consists of a morning session devoted 
to reports from the Investigations Section, a review of original dealer 
applications, a review of salesperson applications, and reviewing renewal or 
reissue applications that have been referred to it by the AID. If the Board 
deems it necessary, a general or specific discussion of issues involving motor 
vehicle sales and regulation takes place before the lunch break. Hearings are 
generally conducted during the afternoon portion of the meeting. Due to a 
large docket of cases set for hearing, the Board generally spends the entire 
second meeting of each month hearing disciplinary cases. Possible changes in 
the hearing process, and delegation by the Board of certain functions may 
reduce the number of meetings. 
 
The Board has reserved to itself the authority to grant dealer licenses. This 
means the Board must review each application package individually. As the 
numbers of applicants and the quality of the reviews have changed over time, 
this process has become very time consuming. To address this, the Board 
adopted a policy of allowing the AID to prepare and present a list of 
applications that meet all Board criteria for licensure as one package and the 
Board approves the licenses based on AID recommendations.  
 
Applications that do not meet all the licensing criteria are presented to the 
Board individually. The most common grounds for denial are having a low net 
worth, a poor credit rating from a major credit bureau, or a criminal record. The 
Board occasionally denies a license based on failure to meet one or more of 
the regulatory standards it has established. However, the Board occasionally 
issues licenses to applicants that do not meet all of the standards for licensure.  
 
The Board has delegated authority to the Board’s Executive Secretary 
(Executive Secretary) to issue salesperson licenses for applicants that meet all 
regulatory requirements for licensure. The Executive Secretary refers 
applications that fail to meet one or more criteria to the Board for review. The 
most common reason for an application to be referred to the Board is an 
applicant’s prior criminal record. While the Board occasionally denies a license 
based on a criminal history, applicants are allowed to appeal the denial.  
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The Investigations Section presents approximately 10 complaint investigations 
per month for review and a determination of probable cause for a hearing. The 
Board schedules approximately eight disciplinary actions each month. Many of 
the hearings scheduled for disciplinary action are resolved via stipulated 
agreement prior to a hearing. 
 
 

AAggeennccyy  FFiissccaall  IInnffoorrmmaattiioonn  ––  AAuuttoo  IInndduussttrryy  DDiivviissiioonn  
 
Chart 1 sets forth the total program expenditures for the AID, which provides 
administrative support for the Board. The AID’s total program expenditures 
have remained relatively consistent over the past five years, although the 
increase in total expenditures reflects the increase in individual salaries, not an 
increase in the number of employees.  These full-time equivalent (FTE) 
employee figures include the Compliance, Investigations, and Licensing 
sections of the AID, which are discussed in more detail below. 
 

Chart 1 
AID Program Expenditures 

 
Fiscal Year Total Program Expenditure  FTE 

00-01 $1,214,578 22.2 
01-02 $1,191,846 21.2 
02-03 $1,266,209 21.2 
03-04 $1,280,004 21.2 
04-05 $1,377,301 21.2 

 Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 
Chart 2 consists of the total Board costs and expenses attributable to the 
meetings held either once or twice a month, and single Board member 
licensure hearings held once a month when needed. The individual Board 
members are compensated at the rate of $50 per day regardless of the actual 
time spent in the meetings. In addition, any costs or expenses that are directly 
related to attending the meetings are included in this chart. 
 

Chart 2 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board Costs 

 
 FY 99-00 FY 00-01 FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 
Board Per Diems $5,900 $6,750 $6,650 $6,150  $8,000 $5,150 
Board Meetings $2,312 $1,572 $1,453 $1,414  $1,524 $786 
Total $8,212 $8,322 $8,103 $7,564  $9,524 $5,936 

 Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
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LLiicceennssiinngg  
 
The Licensing Section of the AID processes all licensing applications and fees 
and maintains all records for new motor vehicle dealers, used motor vehicle 
dealers, wholesalers, wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers, and 
salespersons.  
 
The Licensing Section of the AID currently employs 6.2 FTE positions. This 
includes an individual licensing supervisor for both the licensing of dealers and 
salespersons. 
 
The Board sets licensing fees each year, in June, based upon the previous 
year’s statistics and the projected financial requirements for the upcoming 
fiscal year. 
 
 

Licensing Fees for Fiscal Year 05-06 
 

Dealers/Wholesalers/Wholesale Auction Dealers 
$325 - Original  
$270 - Renewal 
 
Salespersons 
$75 - Original 
$55 - Renewal 
$55 - Multiple (additional license for multiple dealerships) 
$55 - Reissue 
$25 - Late Fee - All License Types 
 
Miscellaneous 
$75 - Change of Class 
$75 - Change of Dealer Location 
$135 - Additional Dealer Location 
$75 - Change of Name 
$75 - Stock Transfer/Ownership Change 
$55 - Off-Premise Permit 
$145 - Temporary Dealer's License For Out-of-State Dealers (per 
event) 

 
Applicants for a motor vehicle dealer’s license obtain an application package 
from the AID. The package contains the application form and information on 
obtaining a dealer license. Up to two partners or owners of the dealership may 
sell vehicles under the dealer license without obtaining a separate salesperson 
license.  
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The Board, through its delegation authority, and utilizing the administrative 
services of the AID, issues licenses to many different classes and types of 
business entities involved in the sale and transfer of motor vehicles to the 
public, or to other businesses (wholesalers, wholesale motor vehicle auction 
dealers, etc.) Chart 3 below sets forth the total number of licenses issued 
during fiscal years 01-02 through 05-06, to five different classes of entities 
required to maintain a license with the Board as a condition to conducting 
business in Colorado. 
 

Chart 3 
Licensing Activity 

 
Licensing Activity Statistics   FY01-02 FY02-03 FY03-04 FY04-05 FY05-06
Wholesale Motor Vehicle Auction 
Dealers Original 0 0 0 1 0

 Renewal 2 7 8 6 7
Dealers - New Original 52 47 57 54 46
 Renewal 639 584 695 338 631
Dealers - Used Original 186 216 169 144 134
 Renewal 1,374 1,487 1,536 1,180 1,391
Wholesalers Original 89 118 108 92 93
 Renewal 322 355 348 254 362
Salespersons Original 5,350 4,523 4,912 5,072 4,767
 Renewal 6,622 8,715 7,018 5,877 7,059
 Reissue 2,478 2,982 2,965 2,615 2,663
 Multiple 1,556 1,739 1,479 1,619 1,970
Total Licenses Issued & Renewed 18,670 20,773 19,295 17,252 19,123
Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 
Applications for licensure are processed by the AID. In fiscal year 04-05, the 
AID processed 54 original and 338 renewal applications for new motor vehicle 
dealers. This is down from 695 renewals in fiscal year 03-04, and 584 
renewals in fiscal year 02-03, although the number of original applications has 
remained relatively constant. The number of new motor vehicle dealer 
renewals rebounded to 631 in fiscal year 05-06, thereby creating the inference 
that the number of renewals reported by the AID for fiscal year 04-05 is an 
abnormality or inaccurate.  
 
In fiscal year 04-05, 144 original and 1,180 renewal applications for used 
motor vehicle dealers were processed by the AID. This is somewhat lower 
than previous years. In fiscal year 03-04, the AID processed 169 original 
applications and 1,536 renewals. In fiscal year 02-03, the AID processed 216 
original applications, and 1,487 renewals for used motor vehicle dealers. 
 
In fiscal year 04-05, the AID processed in excess of 2,000 applications for 
dealer-related licenses. This data, reflected in Chart 3, indicates minor 
fluctuations in the number of new and used motor vehicle dealers over the 
past several years.  
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There is relatively low turnover in the ownership of new motor vehicle 
dealerships as not many new motor vehicle dealers go out of business. This 
may be, in part, because manufacturers have fairly stringent requirements for 
new car franchises, including significant capital investments and substantial 
business experience.  
 
The Board has established licensing criteria based upon its statutory authority. 
However, used motor vehicle dealers do not have to meet the same strict 
financial and experience requirements as most franchise dealers. This results 
in higher turnover in this segment of the industry. 
  
The dealer application requires information about the applicant’s experience in 
the automotive industry, financial information, and legal and employment 
history. All dealers are required to obtain a corporate surety bond in the 
amount of $30,000, or in the alternative, file with the Board a certificate of 
deposit in that amount. No dealer currently is using the certificate of deposit 
alternative.  
 
The Board reviews and approves all applications for dealer licensure at its 
regular meetings. To expedite the licensing process, the AID divides the 
applications into two categories. The first category consists of those 
applications that meet all statutory and regulatory requirements for licensure, 
and the applicants report no criminal history in their background. These 
applications are generally approved with a minimum of discussion.  
 
The second application category consists of those applications that fail to meet 
any or all of the licensing criteria. These applicants may show a low net worth, 
have a criminal history disclosed on the application, or have a credit rating 
below the standard established by the Board. The AID presents these 
applications individually for discussion and makes a recommendation for 
licensure, denial, or request for more information. The majority of the 
applicants on the long list are used motor vehicle dealers.  
 
The Licensing Section is also responsible for processing change of class, 
change of location, additional location, change of name, stock 
transfer/ownership change, and off-premise permits for dealerships. Applicants 
for licensure as motor vehicle dealers must submit the following minimum 
information to become licensed in Colorado: 
 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Licensing 
 

Application:  Owner, corporate officer or Limited Liability Company (LLC) 
member must sign the application. 
 
Financial statement:  Current, accurate information is required. The Board 
requires a net worth of at least $50,000. 
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Credit bureau report:  A credit bureau report will be obtained on every 
applicant. This report is an indicator of an applicant’s financial fitness. The 
Board requires an Empirica score of at least 600.  
 
Background check:  A background check will be done on every applicant. If 
the applicant has ever been arrested, charged with, convicted of or pled no 
contest to any felony or misdemeanor crime in the past 10 years, excluding 
traffic violations, supporting court documents must be included with the 
application. 
 
Place of business affidavit:  Dealers must satisfy the following place-of-
business requirements: 
 

1. Permanent enclosed office with electrical service and restroom. 
2. Space to display one or more vehicles. 
3. Open to public a minimum of 12 hours a week. 
4. In compliance with local zoning. 
5. Used exclusively for the dealer business or incidental businesses, 

such as parts, repair, etc. 
6. A permanent sign displaying business name, clearly visible from the 

street. 
7. Premises owned or leased by dealer. 

 
Dealers are not allowed to share their business site with a business owned by 
another person. Wholesalers are not required to meet the place-of-business 
requirements, but must maintain an office in which all vehicle records are 
maintained. 
 

Mastery examination:  All applicants must score 100 percent on the open-
book, computer-generated exam. Each owner or corporate member must have 
completed and submitted the "Mastery Test,” or be currently licensed as a 
dealer or salesperson. The exam consists of 41 multiple-choice and 10 fill-in-
the-blank questions. 
 
Business documents:  If filing as a corporation or an LLC, a copy of the 
stamped articles of incorporation filed with the Colorado Secretary of State 
must be submitted. If the corporation is out-of-state, a copy of their certificate 
of authority is required. If filing as a partnership, a signed copy of the 
partnership agreement is required. 
 
Franchise agreement:  If applying as a franchised dealer, the manufacturer 
must be licensed to do business in Colorado. If the manufacturer is so 
licensed, an applicant must produce a letter from the manufacturer stating that 
the applicant is authorized to sell that product line. 
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Dealer plate affidavit:  An application for dealer demonstration and full-use 
plates must be completed, signed, and submitted. 
 
Colorado sales tax license:  (Colorado Business Form) - A copy of the sales 
tax license or a copy of the sales tax application stamped with the Department 
of Revenue's received stamp, as well as proof of trade name registration, must 
be submitted. 
 
Fee:  The appropriate fee must be submitted for the application to be 
considered.   
 
Bond:  The business entity must secure a $30,000-surety bond or certificate 
of deposit in its legal name and the name under which it conducts business.  
 

Salesperson Licensing 
 
The salesperson application consists of three basic components. The first part 
is basic information about the applicant, such as name, address, date of birth 
and social security number. The second part requests information regarding 
criminal convictions and disciplinary actions on any professional or 
occupational license. The third part requires employment and educational 
history for the previous five years. The applicant must then sign, under penalty 
of perjury, a statement that all information contained in the application is true 
and that appoints the Executive Secretary as the applicant’s authorized agent 
for service of process.  
 
The application packet contains a study guide for the salesperson 
examination. The AID also offers an optional license law seminar that 
applicants may attend prior to taking the examination. The examination must 
be taken at the dealership that intends to employ the applicant upon licensure.  
 
The application requires detailed information about the applicant including 
criminal background and employment history. Pursuant to section 12-6-
104(3)(a.7), C.R.S., the Board is authorized to investigate and determine all 
facts relative to the qualifications of licensure applicants. The final portion of 
the application package is proof of a $5,000 surety bond that must be obtained 
by all applicants for a salesperson license.  
 
Once the completed application package has been submitted to AID, and a 
passing score on the examination has been achieved, the prospective 
salesperson is issued a temporary license and may begin work at the 
dealership. There is no statutory or regulatory deadline for the Board to issue 
or deny the applicant’s license.  Most complete application packages are acted 
upon within seven days, although an investigation into an applicant’s 
background can take several months. The temporary license lasts for a 
maximum of four months. 
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If the salesperson license is denied, the dealership and salesperson are 
notified. The salesperson must immediately stop all sales activities. Applicants 
may appeal the denial within 10 days of being notified. Applicants may not 
continue selling motor vehicles during the appeals process.  
 
If a salesperson ceases employment with a dealer, the dealer is responsible 
for confiscating the salesperson’s license and returning it to AID. If a 
salesperson begins employment at another dealership, an application for 
license reissue must be completed and submitted to the AID. Any license that 
is not renewed for a period of one year is not eligible for a reissue. 
Salespersons who fail to renew their licenses for one year must complete the 
entire original application package. 
 
All applicants must be employed by and licensed to a specific dealership and 
location. It is not uncommon for dealers with multiple franchises and locations 
to have salespersons licensed for more than one location. However, a 
separate fee, application, and bond must be submitted by the salesperson for 
each license.  
 

Criteria for Used Motor Vehicle Dealer License 
 
Although it is somewhat confusing, the Board has clarified the types of conduct 
that would require an individual or company to obtain a used motor vehicle 
dealer license. These criteria include performing or arranging any of the 
following transactions:  
 

• Completing, arranging or assisting with the completion of motor vehicle 
purchase or lease contracts.  

• Assisting with, negotiating, or arranging motor vehicle financing.  
• Assisting with, arranging or negotiating the price or terms of purchase of 

a motor vehicle.  
• Assisting with, arranging or providing delivery of the purchased or 

leased motor vehicle within Colorado.  
• Accepting a down payment or deposit for a motor vehicle from a 

consumer.  
• Offering, negotiating for the sale, purchase, lease or exchange of motor 

vehicles whether or not such motor vehicles are owned by such person. 
(Negotiation is defined as transacting business; discussing or arranging 
a sale; arranging the preliminaries of a business transaction; bargaining 
with another respecting a transaction; conducting communications with 
a view to reaching a settlement or agreement; that which passes 
between parties in the course of making a contract or arranging terms 
of a contract).  
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• Receiving compensation of any kind from a Colorado dealer based on a 

per transaction, per vehicle or per referral basis. (Compensation is 
defined as a fee or other thing of value paid for transacting a piece of 
business or performing a service).  

 

A club, service, organization, or other entity that takes ownership of motor 
vehicles and sells them to Colorado citizens falls under the definition of used 
motor vehicle dealer. 
 
 

EExxaammiinnaattiioonnss  
 
The AID maintains the examination questions for the Salesperson Mastery 
Examination and the Dealer and Wholesaler Mastery Examination. A score of 
100 percent is necessary to pass the exam. No pre-licensure education is 
required for the examination. However, AID does offer an optional license law 
seminar once each month in Denver, Fort Collins, and Colorado Springs. 
  
License Law Seminar 
 
The AID periodically presents an educational seminar for motor vehicle 
salespersons and dealers.  
 
This seminar provides an overview of the laws and regulations governing the 
sale of motor vehicles. The seminar lasts approximately two hours. The 
seminar is offered at the following times, dates and locations: 
 

• Colorado Springs --- 4420 Austin Bluffs Parkway, 1st Tuesday of 
month, 10 a.m. - noon. 

 
• Fort Collins --- 1121 W. Prospect Road, (Revenue Building), 2nd 

Wednesday of month, 10 a.m. - noon (by appointment only). 
 
• Lakewood (Denver) --- 1881 Pierce Street, (Revenue Building), 3rd 

Tuesday of month, 9 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. 
 

Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
Salesperson Mastery Examination 

 
Prior to licensure, motor vehicle salesperson applicants are required to score 
100 percent on the Salesperson Mastery Examination. The examination is 
administered by licensed motor vehicle dealers to their own salesperson 
applicants. Examination administrators may be owners, managers, or other 
employees authorized by the individual dealers. The applicant must take the 
exam at the dealership. 
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It is the exam administrator’s responsibility to make sure the applicant is the 
person that derives the answers and completes the examination. The 
administrator is not initially allowed to provide any answers to the applicant. If 
more than one person is taking the exam at one time, the applicants may not 
share answers. An interpreter may help the applicant read and understand the 
questions but may not give the answers to the applicant.  
 
After the applicant has completed the exam, the administrator grades and 
scores the examination. The administrator informs the applicant which 
questions were answered incorrectly. The administrator then instructs the 
applicant to search the Motor Vehicle Industry License Law Manual and the 
Motor Vehicle Industry License Law and Regulations to find the correct 
answer, and instructs the applicant to write the correct answer next to the 
incorrect response.  
 
After the applicant has made the corrections, the administrator grades it again. 
If the applicant is not able to answer a question correctly after two attempts, 
the administrator may assist the applicant in locating the answer in the Motor 
Vehicle Industry License Law Manual or the Motor Vehicle Industry License 
Law and Regulations, and thereby  “mastering” the information in the exam. 
 
The administrator makes a copy of the Examination Affidavit and keeps the 
copy along with the original Salesperson Mastery Examination in the dealer’s 
Salesperson Mastery Examination File. The original Examination Affidavit 
must be submitted to the AID with the salesperson’s complete application, 
bond and fee. 
 
Salesperson Mastery Examination Files are subject to audit by the Board or its 
agents. 
 
 

Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
Dealer and Wholesaler Mastery Examination 

 
The Dealer and Wholesaler Mastery Examination is required of all applicants 
for a new or used motor vehicle dealer, or a wholesaler license.  
 
Prior to licensure, motor vehicle dealer and wholesaler applicants are required 
to score 100 percent on the Dealer and Wholesaler Mastery Examination. The 
following steps apply when a dealer or wholesaler applicant self-administers 
the exam. If a third party administers the exam, the applicant follows the steps 
given by the administrator. 
 
The applicant must take the exam him or herself. No one is allowed to provide 
any answers to the applicant. If more than one person is taking the exam at 
one time, the applicants may not share answers. An interpreter may help the 
applicant read and understand the questions but may not give the answers to 
the applicant.  
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After the applicant has finished the examination, the applicant must fill out the 
required information on the Examination Affidavit, and mail the exam and 
affidavit to the AID along with the dealer's completed application, surety bond 
information, and the licensure fee. 
 
The Licensing Section grades the exam. The applicant is then contacted 
regarding any questions that were answered incorrectly, and is given the 
opportunity to verbally amend and correct any questions that were answered 
incorrectly on the examination. Communications with the applicant continue 
until the applicant’s score is deemed to be 100 percent. This examination 
confirms that the applicant has “mastered” the knowledge of the motor vehicle 
dealer laws and regulations covered in the examination. 
 
 

CCoommpplliiaannccee  aanndd  IInnvveessttiiggaattiioonnss  
 
Compliance 
 
The AID’s Compliance Section consists of 5.0 FTE employees; one 
compliance supervisor, one compliance investigator, two compliance agents, 
and one administrative assistant.  
 
The Compliance Section mediates non-complex complaints between 
complainants (both public and industry) and licensees through negotiation or 
education, with the goal of securing voluntary compliance by licensees.  
 
This procedure enables AID staff to resolve complaints and educate licensees 
and consumers about Colorado’s motor vehicle statutes, and the Board’s rules 
and regulations. In many cases, the initial contact will resolve the problem and 
prevent additional consumer harm from occurring. For example, if a consumer 
files a complaint because he has not received title to his motor vehicle, a 
compliance officer could gather all necessary documents, contact the dealer, 
and resolve the problem by obtaining the title with a minimum of time and 
trouble for the consumer. It is the general policy of the AID to resolve 
complaints without Board involvement whenever possible. It is apparent from 
the data collected that most complaints are resolved without Board action. 
 
Examples of complaints processed by the Compliance Section include but are 
not limited to: 
 

• Failure to deliver title within 30 days; 
• Failure to meet terms and conditions of a written contract; 
• Failure to comply with laws and regulations governing advertising; 
• Sale of unsafe vehicles; and 
• Misunderstandings related to contracts or financing. 
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Chart 4 summarizes the types of complaints, both regulatory and criminal, that 
the AID’s Compliance Section receives and works to resolve. This chart also 
demonstrates that the complaints and problems related to motor vehicle titles, 
contracts, and financing, account for the majority of complaints received by 
this section. 
 

Chart 4 
Compliance Summary 

 
Type FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 TOTAL 

Advertising 31 58 35 20 55 199 
Contract/Financing 191 138 147 252 261 989 
Deposit 33 16 14 22 23 108 
Equipment 100 66 73 102 146 487 
False Statement/Application 1 0 0 0 0 1 
General Licensing 
Requirements 0 0 1 1 1 3 

Housing/Location 
Requirements 0 0 1 0 0 1 

Lease Contract 4 1 2 1 2 10 
Misrepresentation 86 65 60 44 81 336 
Odometer 2 0 0 2 2 6 
Dealer Plates/Temporary 
Registrations 30 29 22 35 7 123 

Repossession 11 9 14 19 17 70 
Titles 443 288 350 375 310 1,766 
Unlicensed Dealer/Salesman 0 2 0 0 1 3 
Miscellaneous 126 140 156 90 23 535 
Warranty 46 35 29 89 50 249 
Check/Draft 17 10 11 28 4 70 
Insufficient Information 60 23 36 50 13 182 
Unfounded 416 373 373 395 134 1,691 
TOTAL 1,121 857 915 1,080 983 4,956 

Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 
Investigations 
 
The AID’s Investigations Section consists of 11 investigators and a supervising 
investigator (Agent in Charge). Investigators are stationed in Denver, Colorado 
Springs, Fort Collins and Grand Junction. Complaints are assigned to 
investigators who frequently make contact with the complaining party and the 
dealer. Often, the investigator resolves complaints by facilitating 
communication between the parties. Investigation and compliance data 
indicate that no actionable violation (unfounded complaints) occurred in 
approximately 20 percent of the complaints filed with AID. A common 
underlying cause of the “unfounded” complaint is a form of buyer’s remorse. 
This generally consists of a consumer having a change of mind or second 
thoughts about the transaction, and consequently wanting to unwind the deal 
after executing all necessary documents and contracts to complete the sale. 
Another example of a common unfounded complaint is a motor vehicle buyer 
who incorrectly believes that there is a three-day right of rescission.  
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The Board devotes time during each meeting to review and consider the 
investigation reports forwarded to it by the Investigations Section. After a 
briefing by the investigative officer, the Board discusses whether to initiate 
disciplinary action, request further investigation, or dismiss the complaint. The 
Board may also decide to offer a settlement to the respondent licensee. When 
settlement is offered, the licensee may either accept the settlement, make a 
counter offer, or request a hearing, which is currently held before the full 
Board. 
 
The Investigations Section investigates complex regulatory and criminal 
complaints filed against licensees. The Investigations Section also investigates 
sales of motor vehicles offered by those who are not licensed. Investigators 
can pursue prosecution of criminal complaints or through administrative 
sanctions, through the issuance of a summons, or through direct filing with the 
local district attorney. The Investigations Section also investigates fraudulent 
titles, title documents, and permits and forgery of the aforementioned 
documents. 
 
Examples of investigations include but are not limited to: 
 

• Odometer fraud; 
• Salvage fraud; 
• Title fraud; 
• Sale of a stolen vehicle; 
• Failure to disclose material information; and 
• Unlicensed vehicle sales. 
 

The Investigations Section also provides training seminars to the public and 
industry in an attempt to prevent title, odometer, and salvage fraud; and 
provides training to licensees in proper title assignments, proper completion of 
required documents and advertising.  

 
Chart 5 below, sets forth the types and numbers of actions and cases that the 
Investigations Section has handled in the past five fiscal years. The figures in 
this chart indicate that the number of cases handled by the Investigations 
Section is generally declining, although this in not true for all types and 
categories included in this data. Nonetheless, the total number of investigative 
actions in fiscal year 05-06 (934) is almost one-half of the total number of 
investigative actions taken in fiscal year 02-03 (1,759).  
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Chart 5 

Investigation Summary 
 

Type FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 TOTAL 
Advertising 0 1 3 3 5 12 
Background/Record Check 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Contract/Financing 66 80 61 33 38 278 
Deposit 22 9 7 3 2 43 
Equipment 6 1 1 0 5 13 
False Statement/Application 8 5 7 5 2 27 
Lease Contract 31 11 2 0 0 44 
Misrepresentation 174 122 117 121 49 583 
Odometer 79 68 54 51 22 274 
Dealer Plates/Temporary 
Registrations 8 6 25 38 38 115 

Repossession 1 3 9 2 0 15 
Service of Process 38 28 36 13 8 123 
Titles 542 267 364 175 259 1,607 
Unlicensed 
Dealer/Salesman 405 350 336 315 207 1,613 

Miscellaneous 35 50 38 13 15 151 
Warranty 85 32 19 16 16 168 
Check/Draft 41 38 31 22 21 153 
Special Investigation 216 231 322 342 244 1,355 
Other 2 5 1 6 3 17 
Insufficient Information 386 303 305 313 128 1,435 
Unfounded 146 122 144 97 87 596 
TOTAL 1,759 1,307 1,433 1,158 934 6,591 

Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 
 

CCoommppllaaiinnttss//DDiisscciipplliinnaarryy  AAccttiioonnss  
 

Complaint Process 
  

The AID reports that prior to a complaint being filed with the Board, 
complainants frequently contact the dealership in question and try to resolve 
the problem. If the general manager or owner does not satisfactorily resolve 
the problem, a complaint is often filed with the Board and the AID.  

 
The AID receives all complaints regarding motor vehicle dealers in written 
form, and reviews each complaint to determine jurisdiction and whether it is a 
criminal, investigative, or compliance matter.  A copy of the complaint and a 
letter requesting a response in 10 days are sent to the dealer.  If the complaint 
is resolved, the case is closed.  If it is not resolved, then the complaint is 
entered and assigned to an investigator.  The complaint is then collated along 
with a screen print of the dealer’s history and given to the investigator.  At this 
time, the Agent in Charge is notified of the open investigation.  The 
investigator conducts the investigation and issues a preliminary report that is 
reviewed by the Agent in Charge.  The Agent in Charge can either accept the 
report or reject the report and send it back for further investigation.  Once 
accepted, the investigator issues the final written report, conclusion and 
recommendation. 
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Once the case is closed it is filed in a cabinet based on the case number, 
microfilmed to archives, and checked for accuracy and completeness.  Finally, 
the documents are recycled and the film is filed. A chart highlighting this 
complaint process is attached in Appendix B on page 55. 
 

Chart 6 
Complaint, Compliance Action and Disciplinary Action Summary 

 
Year FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 TOTAL 

Regulatory and Criminal 
Complaints Investigated and 
Completed 

1,759 1,307 1,433 1,158 934 6,591 

Founded Regulatory 
Complaints 1,228 881 987 752 721 4,569 

Compliance Completed 1,121 857 915 1,080 983 4,956 
Investigations Referred to 
Board 408 165 159 84 140 956 

Disciplinary Actions by 
Board 200 144 212 67 187 810 

Suspensions 8 6 14 0 13 41 
Revocations 23 12 21 9 12 77 
Probations 20 33 64 18 17 152 
Stipulations 15 24 11 8 12 70 
Fines 12 7 16 26 11 72 

Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 

Chart 6 summarizes the total number of complaints received, both criminal and 
regulatory, the total number of compliance actions taken, the total number of 
investigations referred to the Board and the number of disciplinary actions 
taken by the Board. The AID notes that although some criminal complaints 
were handled by the AID, many of the criminal complaints investigated and 
completed were referred to local district attorneys for criminal prosecution. 
These criminal prosecutions are not included in the totals reflected in this 
chart.   This chart also summarizes the sanctions imposed by the Board after 
referral from AID.  
 
Investigation Process 
 
After a full investigation, the investigator issues a final written report, 
conclusion and recommendation.  If the investigator finds no violation, the 
case is closed and approved for closure by the Agent in Charge.  If the 
investigator determines that a violation has occurred, one of five actions can 
be taken.  First, the complaint can be referred to another agency that has 
proper jurisdiction over the matter, or if it is a criminal matter, the complaint 
can be directly filed with the appropriate district attorney.  Second, a verbal 
warning may be given to the dealer for minor infractions.  Once given, the case 
is closed upon approval by the Agent in Charge.  Third, a written warning may 
be issued if the complaint has been resolved.  This generally occurs when a 
dealer has had a pattern of similar violations.  Once issued, a copy of the 
disposition is sent to the dealer and to the complainant, and the case is closed 
upon approval by the Agent in Charge.  Fourth, the investigator can 
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recommend review by the Board.  Once approved by the Agent in Charge, a 
probable cause affidavit is sent to the Board for a vote.  If the Board votes 
negatively, staff closes the case.  If the Board votes affirmatively, the matter is 
referred to the Attorney General’s Office for prosecution, adjudicated, and 
closed by staff upon vote of the Board.  Lastly, the complaint can be resolved 
by the dealer and dismissed by the Agent in Charge. A chart setting forth this 
process can be found in Appendix C on page 56. 
 
Adjudication Process 
 
Once the Board receives a probable cause affidavit from the AID, a copy is 
sent to the Board’s Executive Secretary and Assistant Attorney General.  The 
Board then reviews and discusses the complaint at the next monthly meeting.  
At the meeting, investigative staff will present and answer questions, and on 
occasion the Assistant Attorney General will give input or legal advice to the 
Board.  After discussion, the Board takes action by “motion and resolution.”  
The Board has four disposition options.  First, if the Board needs more 
information, it will order further investigation by the AID.  Second, the Board 
can make a finding of no probable cause, and the complaint will be dismissed.  
Third, the Board can find probable cause but choose to take no further action.  
Lastly, the Board can order a full hearing.  In the event of hearing, the 
investigative report is sent to the Assistant Attorney General who drafts the 
charges and sends them to the Executive Secretary.  The Executive Secretary 
then sends notice of the charges to the dealer and complainant.  The dealer 
then generally has the option to settle or go to hearing.  A settlement can be 
approved by the AID and then approved by motion and resolution by the 
Board, or the settlement can be directly approved by motion and resolution by 
the Board.  If the dealer elects the hearing, a full hearing is conducted and the 
Board votes on the final outcome.  The Board’s decision is then binding on the 
parties.  The case can be appealed to the Colorado Court of Appeals. If not 
appealed, the case is closed. A chart delineating this process can be found at 
Appendix D on page 57. 
 

LLiicceennssee  DDeenniiaallss  
 
Pursuant to section 12-6-118(3), C.R.S., a new or used motor vehicle dealer, a 
wholesale motor vehicle auction dealer, or a motor vehicle wholesaler’s 
license may be denied, suspended or revoked based upon a violation of 
numerous specific statutory criteria. Some notable examples include:   
 

• A material misstatement in a license application. 
• Defrauding any buyer, seller, motor vehicle salesperson, or financial 

institution to that entity’s detriment. 
• The intentional or negligent failure to perform any written agreement 

with any buyer or seller. 
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• Failure to furnish and keep in force any bond required for licensure. 
• Intentionally publishing or circulating any advertising which is 

misleading or inaccurate in any material particular, or which represents 
any of the products sold or furnished by a licensed dealer. 

• To willfully violate any state or federal law respecting commerce or 
motor vehicles or any lawful rule or regulation respecting commerce or 
motor vehicles promulgated by any licensing or regulatory authority 
pertaining to motor vehicles, under circumstances in which the act 
constituting the violation directly and necessarily involves commerce or 
motor vehicles. 

• Representing or selling as a new and unused motor vehicle, any motor 
vehicle which the dealer or salesperson knows has been used and 
operated for demonstrated purposes or which the dealer or salesperson 
knows is a used motor vehicle.  

 
Pursuant to section 12-6-118(7)(a), C.R.S., any license issued by the Board, 
or a pending licensure application, must be revoked or denied if the licensee or 
applicant has been convicted of, or pleaded no contest to, a felony in violation 
of Article 3, 4 or 5, of Title 18 C.R.S., or a crime involving odometer fraud, 
salvage fraud, motor vehicle title fraud, or the defrauding of a retail consumer 
in a motor vehicle sale or lease transaction. These grounds for revocation or 
denial are called mandatory disqualifiers, due to the fact that the Board does 
not have the authority or discretion to override these statutory criteria.  
 

DDiisscciipplliinnaarryy  AAccttiioonnss  
 
Previous sunset reports were highly critical of the enforcement and disciplinary 
record of the Board. A review of enforcement and disciplinary actions indicates 
a substantial increase in the number of disciplinary actions taken. Between 
1990 and 1996, the Board averaged approximately 46 disciplinary actions per 
year. Over the past five years, the Board has averaged over 180 actions per 
year, which encompasses all forms of actions including licensure matters such 
as license denials and probationary licenses.  
 
Most regulatory agencies in Colorado refer disciplinary hearings to an 
administrative law judge (ALJ) or a hearing officer. The Board conducts all of 
the hearings itself, and does not refer hearings to ALJ’s or hearing officers 
although the Board has the statutory authority to do so pursuant to section 12- 
6-119, C.R.S.  
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Section 12-6-118(5), C.R.S., delineates 16 specific grounds for discipline for 
licensed motor vehicle salespersons. Statutory offenses for which a license 
may be disciplined include fraudulent business practices, knowingly trafficking 
in stolen vehicles, odometer fraud, defrauding a retail buyer to such person’s 
damage, or willfully violating any state or federal law respecting commerce or 
motor vehicles. 
  
Section 12-6-118(3), C.R.S., establishes 18 individual grounds for discipline 
for licensed new, used and wholesale motor vehicle dealers. Statutory 
offenses for which a licensee may be disciplined (including license suspension 
or revocation) include fraud, misrepresentation, failure to perform, false or 
misleading advertising, illegal business practices, and violation of a Board rule 
or regulation. Individuals who act in the capacity of a licensee, but who are not 
licensed by the Board commit a violation of section 12-6-120(2), C.R.S., which 
is punishable as a Class 3 misdemeanor. 
 

Chart 7 
Disciplinary Actions 

 
Fiscal Year Number 

of Actions Suspend Revoke Probation Fine Other Fine $ Collected

01-02 200 8 23 20 12 15 $45,100 
02-03 144 6 12 33 7 24 $137,952 
03-04 212 14 21 64 16 11 $15,100 
04-05 67 0 9 18 26 8 $38,641 
05-06 187 13 12 17 11 12 $53,100 

Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto industry Division. 
 

Chart 7 delineates, by fiscal year, the number of total Board actions, and the 
amounts of fines actually collected. The figures and numbers in Charts 7 and 
8, and numbers reflecting or dependent on the categories set forth in Board 
disciplinary actions are not considered reliable by the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies. The basis for this assertion is set forth in Administrative 
Recommendation 1. These charts were submitted by the AID as the best data 
that was available at the time requested, and consequently included in this 
report. 
 
Only a small percentage of the “founded” complaints are referred to the Board 
for disciplinary action. When complaint investigations are referred to the 
Board, many are dismissed without a hearing. Chart 8 below, compares 
complaints, Board referrals, and disciplinary actions taken by the Board for a 
five fiscal-year period. 
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Chart 8 

Complaint, Referral, and Discipline 
 
Fiscal 
Year Founded Complaints Investigations Referred to 

Board 
Disciplinary Actions By 

Board 
01-02 1,228 408 200 
02-03 881 165 144 
03-04 987 159 212 
04-05 752 84 67 
05-06 721 140 187 
Compiled by the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 
An inquiry into a complaint is limited to alleged violations of motor vehicle laws. 
Examples of motor vehicle law violations could be: 
 

• Failing to deliver title within 30 days of the sale.  
• Failing to meet all terms and conditions contained in the written 

contract.  
• Tampering with an odometer or giving a false odometer statement.  
• Willfully misrepresenting or failing to disclose any information required 

by law.  
• Intentionally publishing or circulating any advertising that is misleading 

or inaccurate.  
• Selling vehicles that do not meet the safety and emission equipment 

requirements.  
• Failing to give notice of approval or rejection on a finance deal to the 

customer within a reasonable time.  
• Selling a salvage vehicle without proper disclosure.  
• Selling a vehicle that is known to be stolen.  
• Not maintaining a place of business and minimum operating hours.  
• Selling a vehicle to a resident of the Automotive Inspection and 

Readjustment Program area without an emissions sticker.  
 

Although many members of the public are uncertain of the scope of the 
Board’s authority, there are certain circumstances that are not violations of the 
motor vehicle dealer law.  
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For example, the consumer does not have 72 hours to change his or her mind 
on a car deal. When the contract is signed, the vehicle is bought and sold as of 
the contract date. The dealer does not have to repair the vehicle after the sale 
when the vehicle is sold without a warranty and "AS IS," unless it is a specific 
safety item. However, a dealer must disclose known defects even if the vehicle 
is sold “AS IS.” The Board cannot require a dealer to honor a verbal 
agreement. The consumer is provided a "State Disclosure Form" indicating 
that any verbal agreements are not enforceable. 
  
Complaints concerning these issues will not be investigated. If any repair work 
was not part of a vehicle sales contract, it is outside the jurisdiction of the 
Board. The local district attorney does have jurisdiction over illegal actions by 
an automotive repair facility. A complaint concerning repair work may be filed 
with the appropriate district attorney's office. The Colorado Lemon Law applies 
only to new vehicles under one year old. It does not apply to used vehicles 
purchased by consumers who encounter repair problems.  
 
The Board requires that complaints be in writing. A verbal complaint presented 
over the telephone, or in person cannot be accepted (unless reduced to written 
form).  
 
The Board has jurisdiction to inquire into complaints in cases where a 
consumer has purchased a car, truck, trailer or motorcycle from a licensed 
Colorado dealer and a violation of the law has allegedly occurred. Also, the 
AID will investigate unlicensed sales activity. It does not have jurisdiction to 
inquire into a complaint between private parties.  
 
When a complaint is received, it is assigned to a compliance specialist or 
investigator. During the course of the investigation, the AID may contact the 
complainant to discuss the issues raised and may also encourage the dealer 
to contact the complainant directly to resolve the complaint.  
 
After receiving information from both parties, the AID or the Board determines 
if the facts support a violation of the law. The fact-gathering process generally 
takes about 30 days, depending on the complexity of the issue.  
 
If it is determined that a violation of the law or Board rules and regulations did 
not occur, the complainant is notified.  
 
If it is determined that a violation occurred, the dealer and complainant are 
notified. The AID often will attempt to mediate a fair resolution between the 
dealer and the complainant. The complainant is advised of the dealer's 
agreement and timetable to resolve the complaint.  
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Depending on the complaint, the AID may suggest pursuing civil remedies or 
recommend contacting another agency. Neither the AID nor the Board can 
order or direct a dealer to give a refund to a complainant. The dealer may 
make such an offer in an effort to resolve a complaint. The complainant may 
have to pursue a civil suit or claim against the dealer's bond to obtain a 
monetary resolution. A court judgment or the Board finding of a fraudulent 
conduct violation must normally support claims against a dealer’s bond.  
 
Upon conclusion of the process, the complainant is notified by telephone or in 
writing of the action taken. It typically takes approximately 30 days to complete 
the complaint resolution process. As previously indicated on page 27, Chart 6 
indicates the number of complaints that were considered by AID to be 
founded, the number of those that were ultimately referred to the Board, and 
the number of complaints that resulted in a Board-ordered disciplinary action. 
 
 

 

33



 

AAnnaallyyssiiss  aanndd  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonnss  
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––  CCoonnttiinnuuee  tthhee  CCoolloorraaddoo  MMoottoorr  VVeehhiiccllee  DDeeaalleerr  
BBooaarrdd  ffoorr  ffiivvee  yyeeaarrss,,  uunnttiill  22001122..  
 
The legislative intent of the motor vehicle statutes is to protect the consumer 
and to create a feeling of confidence and trust in the dealer by the public. The 
complicated nature of the industry, the potential for consumer harm, and the 
actuality of consumer harm, substantiate the need for continuing oversight of 
the industry. 
 
The structure of the motor vehicle industry is conducive to attracting a 
somewhat transient group of salespersons. The motor vehicle retail industry 
directly and indirectly generates over 33,000 jobs in Colorado, and Colorado 
residents earned in excess of $1.6 billion in 2004 as a result of motor vehicle 
dealership operations.  Each month, approximately 300 applicants are granted 
temporary licenses enabling these applicants to work as salespersons for up 
to 120 days prior to being actually approved or denied for licensure. The 
compensation package generally offered to salespersons includes a relatively 
small salary, coupled with commission income based upon sales. This type of 
pay structure pressures the salesperson to maximize sales in order to earn 
reasonable compensation. This increases the potential for salespersons to 
defraud or take advantage of consumers.    
 
Without regulation, the consumer would be in a less equitable position and 
would have no way of resolving complaints except through an expensive and 
time consuming civil action. Although the significant number of complaints that 
are resolved prior to action by the Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
(Board) indicates the importance of the Department of Revenue, Auto Industry 
Division’s (AID’s) Compliance and Investigations Sections in mitigating 
complaints, the Board also handles a large number of disciplinary actions 
yearly.  Since the purchase of a motor vehicle is a major investment for a 
consumer that requires participation in a complicated contractual transaction 
(between the dealer and consumer), the need for Board oversight of the 
industry is well substantiated. 
 
In order to promulgate effective regulations that cover specific practices in the 
industry, regulators must understand the day-to-day operations of new and 
used motor vehicle dealerships. This is important to ensure that regulations 
are written with clearly defined standards capable of consistent enforcement. 
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The purchase of a motor vehicle is one of the largest expenses that 
consumers incur, and motor vehicle dealers, and especially salespersons, are 
not held in high regard by the public. The questionable business practices of a 
minority of individuals can reflect negatively on the occupation as a whole. 
Although the general public may be largely unaware of the Board and its 
oversight of the motor vehicle industry, the Board provides a certain degree of 
protection for all consumers in Colorado involved in the purchase of a motor 
vehicle.  
 
The recommendation to continue this Board until 2012 is based on the quality 
of data submitted by the AID, and the thought that this will improve over the 
next few years, thereby making the next sunset review more meaningful. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  22  ––  IInnccrreeaassee  tthhee  ssuurreettyy  bboonndd  rreeqquuiirreedd  ooff  nneeww  aanndd  
uusseedd  mmoottoorr  vveehhiiccllee  ddeeaalleerrss  ttoo  $$5500,,000000..  
 
There are some transactions that cannot be resolved between the consumer 
and the motor vehicle dealer (e.g., the dealer may not agree to settle a dispute 
with a consumer, or the dealer may be out of business).  Consequently, every 
Colorado new and used motor vehicle dealer is required to be covered by a 
$30,000-surety bond, which is available for consumer reimbursement of any 
loss or damage suffered as a result of a dealer’s misrepresentations or 
fraudulent activities. The cost of the dealer bond is generally $300 per year (or 
one percent of the bond amount) for a $30,000-bond. 
 
Generally, most states require that motor vehicle dealers secure a surety bond 
to offer financial protection to consumers in the event that the licensed motor 
vehicle dealer (new or used) has financial difficulties, or is unable to produce 
title or fulfill other requirements necessary to complete a transaction. In 
Colorado, this bond requirement is governed by section 12-6-111, Colorado 
Revised Statutes (C.R.S.). 
 
The following is a summary highlighting the bonding requirements of the states 
located in Colorado’s general Rocky Mountain/Western United States 
geographic area. 
 

Arizona 
A surety bond of not more than $50,000 for each type of license 
for each county where dealer has established business; required 
for each location. 
 
California 
A $10,000-bond is required. 
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Idaho 
A $10,000-bond is required for motorcycle, all-terrain vehicles and 
snow machine dealers; $20,000 for all others. 
 
Iowa 
A $50,000-surety bond must be filed. 
 
Kansas 
A $30,000-bond is required. 
 
Missouri 
A $25,000-corporate surety bond is required. 
 
Montana 
Franchised dealers, used motor vehicle dealers, recreational 
vehicle dealers, auto auctions, wholesalers and trailer dealers who 
sell mobile homes, house trailers and commercial trailers 
exceeding 6,000 pounds gross vehicle weight are required to post 
a $25,000-bond. Wholesaler and trailer dealers selling trailers 
under 6,000 pounds gross vehicle weight and motorcycle dealers 
must post a $10,000-bond. 
 
Nebraska 
A $25,000-bond is required. 
 
Nevada 
A $50,000-surety bond is required. 
 
New Mexico 
A $20,000-corporate surety bond is required for auto dealers, 
salvage dealers, manufacturers, mobile home dealers and 
motorcycle dealers. A $12,500-bond is required for motorcycle 
dealers; no bond for boat dealers. 
 
North Dakota 
All motor vehicle dealers are required to maintain a $25,000-surety 
bond. All mobile home trailer and motorcycle dealers must 
maintain a $10,000-surety bond. 
 
Oklahoma 
A $15,000-bond is required for used motor vehicle dealers. 
A $25,000-bond is required for wholesale dealers. 
 
Oklahoma-licensed salesmen are required to maintain a $1,000-
bond.  
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Oregon 
A $40,000-bond is required. 
First $20,000 of bond is available for claims by business entities 
and consumers.  Any value over $20,000 is only available for 
claims by consumers. 

 
South Dakota 
Motorcycle Dealers– A $5,000-bond is required. 
Trailer Dealers – A $10,000-bond is required. 
Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealers – A $25,000-bond is required. 
Snowmobile Dealers – A $5,000-bond is required. 
Boat Dealers – A $20,000-bond is required. 
New and Used Car Dealers – A $25,000-bond is required. 

 
Texas 
A $25,000-surety bond is required for motor vehicle, motorcycle, 
wholesale, and wholesale auction dealers for the licensed period 
unless the dealer is a franchised dealer or trailer dealer. 

 
Utah 
A $75,000-corporate surety bond is required for new or used 
vehicle dealers. A $1,000-corporate surety bond is required for 
new or used motorcycle or small trailer (750 pounds unladen 
weight or less) dealers. 

 
Washington 
A $30,000-bond is required for motor vehicle dealers. 

 
Wyoming 
A $25,000-dealer bond is required. 

 
Increasing the Colorado bond requirement to $50,000 would make Colorado’s 
bond one of the higher bonds required in the surveyed area. However, 
Colorado would not be the only state to require a bond in this amount. Utah 
now requires a bond in the amount of $75,000. Nevada, Arizona, and Iowa 
currently require a $50,000-bond. The financial protection provided to the 
public is enhanced with a higher bond amount. 
 
The AID has indicated that, in many instances, the amount of damages or loss 
to consumers has far exceeded the current surety bond of $30,000. Chart 9 
below consists of a summary of eight individual dealerships over the past two 
years whose surety bonds were insufficient to cover the financial losses of 
their retail customers. The worst of these situations was a dealership that was 
unable to provide either the purchased vehicle, or title to said vehicle in 22 
individual transactions. The total deficiency to consumers amounted to 
$381,042.28, with this dealer also defrauding its financial lender in the amount 
of $182,431.98. 

 

37



 
 

Chart 9 
Bond Deficiencies 

 

Dealership Number of Vehicles 
(Defaulted) Damages Deficiency 

1 2 $42,751.00 $12,751.00
2 1 $44,284.8841 $14,284.88
3 9 $239,712.97 $209,712.97
4 10 $107,429.6942 $77,429.69
5 8 $43,178.83 $13,178.83
6 12 $123,929.0043 $93,929.00
7 22 $563,474.2644 $533,474.26
8 6 $45,191.79 $15,191.79

Total 70 $1,209,952.42 $969,952.42
 Compiled by DORA based on data received from the Colorado Department of Revenue. 
 
An important factor relating to the surety bond is the escalating price of motor 
vehicles, both new and used. As the prices of motor vehicles rise, so must the 
surety bond amount increase to maintain a fair and reasonable reserve to 
compensate innocent consumers who have lost money due to a dealer’s 
misrepresentation or fraudulent activities. 
 
Nationally, franchised new motor vehicle dealers sold almost 20 million used 
cars in 2005. The average retail price of a used motor vehicle was $14,925. 
The average retail-selling price of new vehicles nationally increased 
approximately $8,000 between 1995 and 2005. The average retail-selling price 
for new cars in 1995 was $20,450, and in 2000 the amount rose to $24,900. 
The 2005 average retail-selling price of new vehicles was $28,400, (only 
$1,600 below the current motor vehicle dealer bond requirement), 
demonstrating a steady and consistent increase in new vehicle prices over the 
past 10 years. The average selling price of a new vehicle increased by 1.8 
percent between 2003 and 2004, and 1.1 percent between 2004 and 2005.45 
 
Although this increase in the bond amount will not prevent consumer harm in 
many of the situations noted above, it will afford an increased degree of 
protection to most Colorado consumers. 
 
 
 

                                            
41  Includes approximately $30,000 deficiency relating to tax owed. 
42  Includes approximately $23,000 deficiency for failure to make pay-off. 
43  Includes $56,312.53 deficiency for defrauding floorplanner (lender), etc. 
44  Includes approximately $183,000 deficiency for defrauding floorplanner.  
45 Economic Impact of America’s New-Car and New-Truck Dealers, DADA Data, 2006, p. 11, available at 
www.nada.org/Content/NavigationMenu/Newsroom/NADAData/20062/Nada_Data_2006.pdf. Viewed 
August 23 and September 29, 2006. 
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RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  33  ––  DDeelleettee  tthhee  $$55,,000000--ssuurreettyy  bboonndd  rreeqquuiirreedd  ffoorr  nneeww  
aanndd  uusseedd  mmoottoorr  vveehhiiccllee  ssaalleessppeerrssoonnss..  
 
The current surety bond for new and used motor vehicle salespersons is 
$5,000, as set forth in section 12-6-112(1), C.R.S. The fee for this bond is 
approximately $50, or one percent of the bond amount. With the price of new 
and used cars escalating yearly, it is apparent that a $5,000-bond is not an 
adequate protective device for consumers. The motor vehicle dealers must 
maintain a bond in the minimum amount of $30,000, which is accessible in a 
similar fashion to a salespersons bond, by a finding of misrepresentation or 
fraudulent activity. 
 
The AID does not have records to indicate that a single salesperson’s bond 
has been opened or accessed over the past five years. The two largest issuers 
of salesperson surety bonds in Colorado indicate that fewer than one 
salesperson bond was opened in each year during the past five years, and 
that almost every party seeking to open the salesperson’s bond was an 
employer-dealer. One motor vehicle dealer member of the Board attempted to 
open and access an employee’s bond several years ago. However, the 
process became too expensive and time-consuming to complete, and the 
attempt to open the bond was subsequently abandoned by the dealer. 
Consumers who have been the subject of a dealership’s fraudulent activities 
generally try to open and access the dealer’s $30,000-bond, as the larger 
amount of the bond offers greater compensation to provide for the related 
expenses necessary to make the consumer whole. 
 
Some new and used motor vehicle dealers are supportive of the salesperson’s 
bond, as the bonding requirements for salespersons seem to shift the cost for 
questionable employment practices from the dealership to the bonded 
employee. However, retail consumers rarely receive any compensation from 
this bond. Even if a consumer did make a claim on a bond, the costs for 
recovery would possibly exceed the maximum amount of this bond. 
 
However, eliminating this bond requirement for salespersons does not 
diminish public protection, nor does it prevent a dealer from requiring that 
salesperson employees obtain a bond as a condition of employment. This, in 
effect, may benefit those dealerships that have higher standards for their 
employees. Consequently, the recommendation is to delete this bond 
requirement, because it offers inadequate, unnecessary, and duplicative 
protection to consumers and the public. 
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RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  44  --  MMooddiiffyy  tthhee  ccoommppoossiittiioonn  ooff  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  bbyy  rreeppllaacciinngg  
oonnee  nneeww  mmoottoorr  vveehhiiccllee  ddeeaalleerr  mmeemmbbeerr  aanndd  oonnee  uusseedd  mmoottoorr  vveehhiiccllee  
ddeeaalleerr  mmeemmbbeerr  wwiitthh  aa  CCoolloorraaddoo  ccoouunnttyy  cclleerrkk  aanndd  aann  iinnddiivviidduuaall  
eemmppllooyyeedd  aass  aann  eexxeeccuuttiivvee  iinn  tthhee  ffiinnaanncciiaall  lleennddiinngg  sseeccttoorr..  
 
The purpose of a board consisting of a mixture of public and industry members 
is to provide a balanced set of regulations to effectively protect the public 
without unnecessarily interfering with the business operations of the industry. 
Currently, two-thirds of the Board’s membership is actively involved in the 
retail sales of motor vehicles, with one-third of the Board new motor vehicle 
dealers, and one-third used motor vehicle dealers. The general purpose of 
industry-based Board members is to include a degree of industry-related 
knowledge and expertise to assist the Board in its functions of licensing and 
discipline of licensees. In fact, many Board meetings in 2006 were opened by 
the president of the Board, a public member, expressing her appreciation to 
the Board’s industry members for sharing their insights into the workings of the 
motor vehicle sales industry.  
 
The current Board members are commendable in terms of their time 
commitment and sense of responsibility to the industry and public. They 
typically spend at least two full days a month responding to administrative 
issues and acting as hearing officers. The Board members appear to take their 
responsibility to oversee the motor vehicle industry very seriously, although 
many types of licensees are not represented on the Board, including 
wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers and wholesalers, and motor vehicle 
salespersons. 
 
Industry representatives, particularly the new and used motor vehicle dealer 
associations, believe that the motor vehicle industry should have a majority of 
representation on the Board. This belief is based on the premise that it is their 
industry that is greatly impacted by Board decisions. Although this is true, the 
motor vehicle industry may sometimes lose sight of the underlying function of 
the Board, to protect the consumer and the public. Many states have boards 
that are dominated by public members, and one state, Texas, allows only 
public members on its board. 
 
Although it is critical for the Board make-up to contain individuals with an 
understanding of the industry, and share that necessary expertise, it is also 
critical to have balanced representation on the Board of consumers and other 
professions that interact and transact business with the motor vehicle industry. 
Therefore, it is recommended that the Board membership be modified by 
replacing one new and one used motor vehicle dealer member with a 
Colorado county clerk, and an individual who is employed by and has 
expertise in the motor vehicle financing sector in Colorado.  
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The Board typically receives consumer complaints relating to many areas of 
the industry. The most common complaint involves problems dealing with the 
motor vehicle dealer failing to deliver title to a consumer after the contract for 
sale has been executed, and possession of the vehicle has been transferred to 
the consumer. There are a variety of reasons that a title could be delayed or 
not transferred expeditiously to a consumer. Dealers allege that often financial 
institutions do not release the title or lien on the title in a timely manner. 
Consumers themselves sometimes mislead dealers as to the accessibility of 
their titles when trading in a used car as part of the sales transaction. Another 
reason is that some titles must transfer from another state. 
 
Although these reasons are all somewhat valid, the complaint that the Board 
experiences more than any other is the dealer who cannot, or will not, provide 
title to the consumer after the sales contract is in effect. Used motor vehicle 
dealers are almost always involved in these situations, and frequently harm 
the consumers financially by not providing good title after the consumer has 
taken possession of the vehicle in question. This prevents the consumer from 
acquiring license plates and registration documents, and does not allow the 
consumer to sell the vehicle in the future. The underlying obstacles in 
providing good title are often financial in nature, that is, the dealer does not 
have sufficient working capital to acquire the title from the financial lender. A 
typical situation that the Board encounters is a dealer that has financially 
overextended itself, and utilizes a current customer’s payment to payoff and 
acquire title for a previous customer.  
 
In general, penalties imposed on new motor vehicle dealers are more lenient 
than those imposed on used motor vehicle dealers. In some contexts this is an 
appropriate exercise of Board authority. When a new motor vehicle dealership 
is accused of violating Colorado motor vehicle laws, it often enters into a 
voluntary stipulation with the Board that will ultimately make the consumer 
whole, even though a low-level employee may have caused the transgression. 
However, in Board actions relating to used motor vehicle dealers, the 
transgressor is frequently the owner-dealer, who is also the salesperson. 
Although many used car complaints are resolved by stipulation, there are 
many instances where the used motor vehicle dealer does not have the 
financial ability to resolve the complaint by, among other things, making the 
consumer financially whole. The guiding principal is to protect the public now, 
and in the future. 
 
Some Board members have expressed a general lack of understanding as to 
what occurs behind the scenes at lending institutions and the county clerk’s 
office, where the title is actually issued to the consumer. 
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Consequently, this recommendation is to add the knowledge and expertise of 
these two institutions to the Board, without losing the expertise provided by 
industry members.  Replacing one new and one used motor vehicle dealer 
Board member with a county clerk and financial lending expert increases the 
Board’s areas of relevant expertise, while still retaining the knowledge of four 
members of the motor vehicle retail sales industry. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  55  --  RReeqquuiirree  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  ttoo  uuttiilliizzee  aaddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  llaaww  
jjuuddggeess  ttoo  ccoonndduucctt  mmoottoorr  vveehhiiccllee  ddeeaalleerr  lliicceennssuurree  aanndd  ddiisscciipplliinnaarryy  
hheeaarriinnggss,,  aanndd  DDeeppaarrttmmeenntt  ooff  RReevveennuuee  hheeaarriinngg  ooffffiicceerrss  ttoo  ccoonndduucctt  
ssaalleessppeerrssoonn  lliicceennssuurree  aanndd  ddiisscciipplliinnaarryy  hheeaarriinnggss..  
 
A summary of the primary benefits associated with this recommendation is as 
follows:  
 

• Better use of Board time to address regulatory and policy issues; 
 

• Increased protection of licensees’ due process rights; 
 

• Increased consistency in Board disciplinary decisions; and  
  

• Reduction in legal conflicts and fewer appeals. 
 
Individual Board members frequently cite the Board’s heavy caseload as their 
rationale for the Board’s failure to allocate time to address public policy and 
regulatory issues. At most Board meetings, a policy or regulatory issue that 
needs to be considered and addressed is the subject of some degree of 
discussion, frequently without an adequate resolution. Nevertheless, the Board 
spends countless hours at each meeting hearing appeals of license denial 
matters and routine disciplinary cases. 
 
Although care must be exercised so as not to adversely affect an applicant’s 
due process rights, appeals of staff licensure decisions should be conducted 
by hearing officers experienced in interpreting regulatory statutes and 
standards. Disciplinary actions of current licensees should be addressed in a 
similar manner. Relatively simplistic dealer licensee cases, or cases dealing 
with salesperson licensure, should be referred to a Department of Revenue 
(DOR) hearing officer. Cases relating to an alleged, potentially serious, or 
complicated transgression of a licensed motor vehicle dealer should be 
referred to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ), either at the Department of 
Administrative Hearings (DOAH), or an ALJ sitting at the DOR. To ensure 
fairness and lack of bias, all hearing officers and ALJ’s should be randomly 
selected to hear individual cases. 
 
Numerous benefits to the Board would occur by utilizing the services of 
professional hearing officers, despite the fact that the Board would still retain 
the ultimate authority for imposing discipline on licensees, and deciding on 
licensure issues of new applicants.  
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During the course of this sunset review, a representative of the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies (DORA) attended numerous Board meetings, and the 
Board held many disciplinary and licensing hearings at those meetings. 
 
At every one of these hearings, the Assistant Attorney General (AAG) who 
normally advises the Board on legal matters represented the state at the 
hearing before the Board.  While this is not unusual, what is unusual is the 
absence of conflicts counsel.  Conflicts counsel is simply another AAG who 
assumes the role of advisor to the Board.  This is necessary because of the 
inherent conflict that arises when the Board’s customary counsel is 
prosecuting a case before the body that that AAG normally advises.  
 
In such a case, conflicts counsel provides legal advise to the Board during the 
course of the hearing.  Such advice may be substantive or procedural.  
Regardless of the type of advice given, it is essential to the due process rights 
of the licensee, that is the respondent in such a hearing, that the individual 
prosecuting the case against the licensee not be providing legal advice to the 
adjudicatory body. 
 
In a proper hearing, then, the Board’s customary AAG plays the role of 
prosecutor by representing the state (the AID), the licensee and the licensee’s 
counsel play the role of defendant, the Board plays the role of adjudicator and 
conflicts counsel provides legal advice to the Board.  The roles of the AAGs, 
the Board and the AID are separate, clear and distinct. 
 
However, based on interviews conducted by a representative of DORA with 
various industry and Board members, and based upon this representative’s 
own observations, conflicts counsel has generally not been present at Board 
hearings. From December 2005 through April 2006, conflicts counsel from the 
Attorney General’s Office attended only two meetings. This created situations 
where the Board had to rule on complicated legal objections and issues 
without the benefit of independent legal counsel. 
 
Some Board members do not appear to have a clear understanding of the 
legal role of the Board or related Colorado laws. For example, Board members 
have indicated that they do not understand when and how to declare and enter 
into an executive session, or when and what to do if a conflict develops during 
a session. Board members also unknowingly ask witnesses or respondents 
inappropriate questions. In at least one instance, a salesman who was initially 
denied a license for failure to include his past criminal convictions on his 
application for licensure was asked if he had children, and if he supported 
those children. The applicant answered affirmatively to both questions and 
was granted a license. Although this applicant may have been granted a 
license regardless of this query, the inference was that licensure was, at least 
partly, granted based on factors outside of the stated licensure criteria. 
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Indeed, the reason for conflicts counsel became apparent as a result of these 
observations.  During the course of several hearings, Board members, who, 
with one exception are lay people, occasionally inquired of the Board’s AAG, 
who was prosecuting the case, and AID’s staff, who was sitting at the same 
table as the AAG, numerous legal questions.  In general, these questions 
pertained to legal options available to the Board, procedural issues, and the 
legal consequences of various possible actions. 
 
These types of behaviors and actions are unacceptable for a state board.  The 
due process rights of the licensee involved are potentially compromised when 
the agency seeking to deny, revoke or otherwise discipline the licensee tells 
the adjudicator what to do.  This does not constitute a fair hearing for due 
process purposes. 
 
Additionally, it is unfair and unrealistic of the state to expect lay people, such 
as the Board members, to possess the knowledge and expertise to hold a 
legally sufficient hearing.  Rulings pertaining to the examination of witnesses, 
discovery and other legal motions can be complicated even for well-versed 
lawyers and jurists. 
 
While it is true that most policy autonomous boards and commissions in state 
government have the authority to hold hearings or to refer such hearings to an 
ALJ, the vast majority of those bodies refer the hearings to an ALJ because of 
the reasons cited herein. 
 
Therefore, the Board should refer all hearings pertaining to licensing matters to 
a hearing officer or to an ALJ.  Under such a system, the prosecuting AAG 
would represent the AID before the ALJ, and the ALJ makes and issues 
findings of fact, conclusions of law and recommended disciplinary sanctions.  If 
either the AID or the licensee disagreed with the ALJ’s decision, either party 
could file exceptions with the Board within the timeframes outlined in the 
Administrative Procedure Act.  The Board could then uphold or alter the ALJ’s 
decision, thus rendering a final agency action.  If neither party filed exceptions, 
the ALJ’s decision would become the final agency action by operation of law at 
the end of the specified time period.  The final agency action could then be 
appealed to the Colorado Court of Appeals. 
 
This process is more professional than the process currently utilized by the 
Board, and is entirely in line with other programs in state government. 
 
Since the Board has the authority to hold hearings, and since the Board’s 
hearings have raised serious concerns regarding due process, the Board 
should refer all licensure and disciplinary hearings to ALJs or hearing officers. 
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Another benefit of using ALJs and hearing officers is that the Board would 
have more time to consider important policy and regulatory matters since it 
would not spend most of the meetings listening to witness testimony in 
hearings. In fiscal year 05-06, the Board remained in the Board hearing room 
in the course of a regularly scheduled hearing until 3:00 a.m., deliberating a 
case whose testimony ended shortly before midnight. Several months later, 
the Board deliberated the facts of a case until after 10:00 p.m. This is 
obviously not a proper utilization of time and resources. One problem with the 
Board acting as adjudicator is that some cases, by necessity, get continued 
due to time constraints or witness schedules. However, because of 
considerations relating to quorum requirements and attendance continuity, 
continuing cases during the testimony portion could lead to undesirable 
allegations of due process violations, as individual Board members might have 
missed various portions of the hearing that contained important testimony. 
When Board members miss a portion of a hearing, they must either recuse 
themselves from the proceeding, or spend an unreasonable amount of time 
becoming familiar with the facts of the case, which could lead to an allegation 
of a violation of due process. 
 
Board meetings are impacted by the attendance of Board members. A majority 
of the members is necessary to constitute a quorum. Although no Board 
meetings were cancelled during the past two years as a result of lack of a 
quorum, one lengthy hearing was potentially compromised when only five 
Board members attended, and one member indicated that a conflict existed 
after the hearing closed. The best attendance records for the past three years 
have been by the public members of the Board. The worst attendance record 
has been by the new motor vehicle dealer members, and one new motor 
vehicle dealer missed seven of 17 meetings in fiscal year 05-06. 
 
Review of Board Actions 
 
The Board has the statutory authority to investigate complaints through the 
Executive Director of the Department of Revenue, order an administrative 
hearing on the showing of probable cause, summarily issue cease and desist 
orders, conduct hearings, and issue fines.  The Board also has the duty to 
promulgate guidelines in the form of rules and regulations to ensure that 
administrative penalties are equitably assessed and commensurate with the 
seriousness of the violation pursuant to section 12-6-104(3)(n), C.R.S. 
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Over the past five years the Board has taken approximately 810 disciplinary 
actions.  A sampling of these disciplinary actions reveals that the Board has 
not developed rules, regulations or guidelines to ensure that licensing criteria 
and administrative penalties are equitably assessed.  As set forth in the cases 
below, the Board has been inconsistent in ruling on the disposition of cases.   
 

Case 1:  New vehicle dealer added dealer and handling costs to the 
advertised price of a vehicle, violated advertising rules, and defrauded a 
retail buyer.  The dealer was ordered to return the dealer and handling 
costs, and fined $1,000 with a one-day license suspension.  However, 
$750 and the suspension were held in abeyance for a three-month 
probationary period. 
 
Case 2:  New vehicle dealer entered into a buyer’s contract and failed to 
pay the $22,000 and $26,000 contract amounts.  The dealer was fined 
$20,000 with a three-month suspension.  However, $19,500 and the 
suspension were held in abeyance for a three-month probationary 
period. 
 
Case 3:  New vehicle dealer sold a used vehicle with 600 miles as a new 
vehicle, thus defrauding the buyer.  The dealer was fined $5,000 with no 
issuance of reprimand.  However, $4,000 was held in abeyance for a 60-
day probationary period. 
 
Case 4:  New vehicle dealer was found guilty of 16 counts of failing to 
properly advertise.  The dealer was fined $22,000 with a one-day 
suspension.  However, $16,500 was held in abeyance for a six-month 
probationary period. 
 
Case 5: Used vehicle dealer failed to pay for six vehicles and failed to 
disclose a salvage vehicle.  The dealer’s license was revoked and fined 
$50,000, with $45,000 held in abeyance if restitution was made to 
sellers. 
 
Case 6: Used vehicle dealer failed to deliver title on seven vehicles.  The 
dealer’s license was revoked and the dealer was fined $80,000. 
 
Case 7:  Used vehicle dealer was found guilty of 20 counts of failure to 
deliver title and 52 counts of non-sufficient funds.  The dealer’s license 
was revoked and the dealer was fined $720,000 after the company had 
declared bankruptcy. 
 
Case 8:  Used vehicle dealer - was found guilty of two counts of failure 
to deliver title, one count of failure to pay for a vehicle, and one count of 
failure to perform a contract.  The dealer’s license was revoked and the 
dealer was fined $90,000. 
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Case 9:  New vehicle dealer failed to disclose a salvaged vehicle, thus 
defrauding the buyer.  The dealer was fined $15,000.  However, $14,550 
was held in abeyance for a six-month probationary period. 
 
Case 10:  New vehicle dealer was found guilty of four counts of failure to 
pay and deliver title.  The dealer was fined $40,000.  However, $38,000 
was held in abeyance for a one-year probationary period. 
 

Based on the above representative cases, it is arguable that the Board is not 
disposing of cases equitably in all situations.  Used vehicle dealers are more 
likely to be subject to the maximum fine, with a small portion, if any of the fine 
held in abeyance.  In a majority of the cases with large fines, the used vehicle 
dealers, if not already closed, are forced out of business by the amount of the 
fines.  The Board’s position has been that heavy fines are meant to keep 
problematic dealers out of the business.   
 
In comparison, new vehicle dealers face high fines; however, a majority of the 
fine is held in abeyance for a short time period.  In comparison, used motor 
vehicle dealer’s who may have already gone out of business tend to be subject 
to license revocation and a hefty fine that the Board is likely to never recover. 
The utilization of impartial ALJ’s and hearing officers would, at the least, 
ensure that disciplinary actions are fair and unbiased. 
 
In summary, Board benefits for using ALJ’s and hearing officers include a 
reduction in legal conflicts, consistency of decisions, fewer appeals, and 
appropriate utilization of allocated time parameters. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  66  --  RReeqquuiirree  tthhaatt  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  pprreeppaarree,,  aanndd  aallll  lliicceennsseedd  
ddeeaalleerrss  iinn  CCoolloorraaddoo  iinncclluuddee  iinn  tthhee  ssaalleess  ccoonnttrraacctt  ppaacckkeett,,    aa  bbrroocchhuurree  
pprroovviiddiinngg  ccoonnssuummeerrss  wwiitthh  iinnffoorrmmaattiioonn  oonn  hhooww  ttoo  ccoonnttaacctt  tthhee  BBooaarrdd,,  
aanndd  tthhee  eexxtteenntt  ooff  tthhee  BBooaarrdd’’ss  aauutthhoorriittyy..    
 
Board members, AID staff, and industry representatives frequently commented 
that many consumers do not even know that the Board exists. Most individuals 
contacted for this review also expressed a belief that a public, educated on 
motor vehicle sales issues, would have fewer complaints about the motor 
vehicle industry than the Board is now experiencing.  
 
The AID has developed several brochures to educate consumers about issues 
such as what to look for when buying a car and how to file a complaint. 
However, the distribution of these brochures is inadequate and some of the 
information is outdated. There is no active program in place to make consumer 
information widely available to the active consumer or the general public.  
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Since the first point of contact for a retail motor vehicle consumer is a 
dealership, it is logical to provide information at that point. General information 
on the Board, motor vehicle dealer obligations, and how to access the 
complaint process would go a long way in educating the public at the most 
opportune time, before the purchase is complete. The same educational 
materials should be available to the public at the county clerk (when renewing 
plates), and various driver’s license offices statewide. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  77  ––  AAuutthhoorriizzee  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  ttoo  ddeeaaccttiivvaattee  aa  ddeeaalleerr  
lliicceennssee  bbyy  mmaaiill,,  iiff  aa  lliicceennsseeee  ffaaiillss  ttoo  mmaaiinnttaaiinn  aa  rreeqquuiirreedd  bboonndd..    
 
Currently, licensees whose surety bond has lapsed or is cancelled must 
proceed through the Board’s disciplinary process. This is an expensive and 
time-consuming use of Board resources. Since maintaining a statutorily 
required surety bond is a requirement of licensure, the appropriate sanction is 
the suspension of the license until such time as the bond is reinstated or 
renewed. The license suspension in such circumstances is the only way to 
financially protect motor vehicle purchasers.  
 
This recommendation is to allow the Board to immediately and administratively 
suspend the license of a licensee until the required bond is back in effect. No 
motor vehicle sales would be allowed to occur during the suspension period.  
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  88  ––  RReeppeeaall  tthhee  rreeqquuiirreemmeenntt  tthhaatt  ddeeaalleerrss  aanndd  
ssaalleessppeerrssoonnss  ppaassss  tthhee  ccuurrrreenntt  mmaasstteerryy  eexxaammss  aass  aa  ccoonnddiittiioonn  ooff  lliicceennssuurree..    

                                           

 
The current mastery examinations (Salespersons Mastery Examination and 
Dealer and Wholesaler Mastery Examination) consist of 41 multiple-choice 
and 10 fill-in-the-blank questions. The exams are open book exams. 
Nonetheless, the procedure allows the examination administrator46 to provide 
the correct answers to the applicant in the event that the applicant is unable to 
correctly answer the question. Consequently, the pass rate is 100 percent. 
This procedure makes the exams fundamentally meaningless. The established 
licensure criteria does not require that an applicant have any education or 
experience in the industry as a prerequisite for licensure. The 100 percent 
passing score generates a false sense of security.  
 

 
46 The examination administrator is usually a designated employee of the hiring dealership. 
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One factor for requiring this type of examination is to ensure that the applicant 
has acquired the knowledge necessary to comply with state laws and 
regulations. This testing process is intended to heighten the applicant’s 
abilities to provide quality services to the public. These examinations do not 
require that an applicant study written material, such as Board and industry 
rules and regulations, in order to pass the exam with the required 100 percent 
score. The general retention process to obtain and remember knowledge 
relating to the appropriate motor vehicle laws and regulations requires a 
degree of study and memorization, which is not necessary for these open-
book examinations. This is especially evident in light of the authority of the 
examination administrator or AID employee to provide the correct answers to 
the applicant.    
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  99  ––  MMooddiiffyy  tthhee  ssttaattuuttoorryy  rreeqquuiirreemmeennttss  ooff  aa  lliicceennsseedd  
wwhhoolleessaallee  mmoottoorr  vveehhiiccllee  aauuccttiioonn  ddeeaalleerr  ttoo  ppeerrmmiitt  aa  lliicceennsseeee  ttoo  pprroovviiddee  
aauuccttiioonn  sseevviicceess  ooff  ggoovveerrnnmmeenntt  oowwnneedd  vveehhiicclleess  ttoo  tthhee  ppuubblliicc..  
 
In 1997, the federal government awarded a Colorado-licensed wholesale 
motor vehicle auction dealer with its contract to sell federal General Services 
Administration used vehicles at auction. The contract requires that the vehicles 
be offered for auction sale to the public. In Colorado, wholesale motor vehicle 
auction dealers may not sell vehicles to the public. 
 
To facilitate this contractual agreement, the Colorado dealer obtained a used 
motor vehicle dealer license from the Board in addition to its wholesale motor 
vehicle auction dealer license. However, Colorado does not allow a licensee to 
maintain two separate licenses at the same location. If the wholesale motor 
vehicle auction dealer cannot fulfill the obligations set forth in the contract, 
because of this restriction, the federal government would have no alternative 
but to transfer the contract to an auctioneer in another state, thereby depriving 
Colorado of the associated tax revenue. 
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The statutory modification is recommended to allow a wholesale motor vehicle 
auction dealer to sell only government-owned vehicles to the general public 
separate and distinct from the regular auction sale to dealers and wholesalers. 
The statutes should be amended as follows: 

 
Section 12-6-102(17.5) C.R.S. 
 
Wholesale motor vehicle auction dealer means any person or firm 
that provides auction services solely in wholesale transactions in 
which the purchasers are motor vehicle dealers licensed by this 
state or any other jurisdiction, except that such license shall 
also permit a licensee to engage in the activities of an auction 
service solely in connection with the sale of government-
owned vehicles to consumers at a time that is different from 
and does not conflict with the wholesale motor vehicle 
auction dealer’s customary wholesale motor vehicle auction. 
 
Classes of Licenses, section 12-6-108(1)(h)(I), C.R.S. 
 
Wholesale motor vehicle auction dealer’s license shall permit a 
licensee to engage in the activities of a wholesale motor vehicle 
auction dealer if the licensee provides auction services solely in 
connection with wholesale transactions in which the purchasers 
are motor vehicle dealers licensed by this state or any other 
jurisdiction, except that such license shall also permit a 
licensee to engage in the activities of an auction service 
solely in connection with the sale of government-owned 
vehicles to consumers at a time that is different from and 
does not conflict with the wholesale motor vehicle auction 
dealer’s customary wholesale motor vehicle auction. A 
wholesale motor vehicle auction dealer shall abide by all laws, 
rules, and regulations of the state of Colorado. 

 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  1100  ––  TThhee  AAIIDD  aanndd  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  sshhoouulldd  ddeevveelloopp  aanndd  
uuttiilliizzee  aa  vviiaabbllee  aanndd  ccoonnssiisstteenntt  sseett  ooff  ccoommpplliiaannccee  aanndd  ddiisscciipplliinnaarryy  
ssttaannddaarrddss  bbyy  JJaannuuaarryy  11,,  22000088..    
 
Some industry representatives and Board members interviewed for this report 
indicated that AID investigators occasionally intimidate licensees into resolving 
disputes, and further suggest that investigators exceed their authority. Some 
Board members feel investigators do not provide them with all the information 
necessary about licensees to facilitate effective regulation of the industry. 
Some investigators interviewed for this report believe the Board does not 
support their regulatory efforts.   
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The Board is required by section 12-6-104(3)(n), C.R.S., to 
 

promulgate guidelines in the form of rules and regulations to 
ensure that administrative penalties are equitably assessed and 
commensurate with the seriousness of the violation. 

 
The Board may not have had sufficient time to adequately address this 
mandate since so much of the Board’s time is spent in the hearing process. 
Individual Board members have indicated that they would be more than willing 
to tackle the “big issues” if they had sufficient time. 
 
Compliance with this recommendation should be accomplished no later than 
January 1, 2008. The guidelines developed as a result of this recommendation 
should be reviewed and evaluated at least every five years after their drafting 
and acceptance. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  1111  ––  CCllaarriiffyy  sseeccttiioonn  1122--66--110044((33))((aa)),,  CC..RR..SS..,,  wwhhiicchh  
iinnaaddvveerrtteennttllyy  aauutthhoorriizzeess  tthhee  BBooaarrdd  ttoo  rreeppeeaall  rreeaassoonnaabbllee  rruulleess  aanndd  
rreegguullaattiioonnss..  
 
A primary function of the Board, as delineated in section 12-6-104(3)(a), 
C.R.S., setting forth the Board’s powers and duties, is:  
 

To promulgate, amend, and repeal reasonable rules and 
regulations relating to those functions the [B]oard is mandated 
to carry out pursuant to this [P]art 1, including the 
administration, enforcement, issuance, and denial of licenses to 
motor vehicle dealers, motor vehicle salespeople, used motor 
vehicle dealers, wholesale motor vehicle auction dealers, and 
wholesalers, and the laws of the [S]tate of [C]olorado as it 
deems necessary. 

 
Although the Board has the authority to promulgate, amend or repeal rules and 
regulations, this statutory reference suggests that the Board’s powers include 
repealing reasonable rules. However, this recommendation does not seek to 
prevent the Board from amending or repealing rules and regulations, rather it 
seeks to clarify that the Board is not expected or required to repeal reasonable 
rules and regulations. Consequently, this provision should be rephrased to 
clarify this apparent misstatement. 
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AAddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––  MMaaiinnttaaiinn  ccoommppuutteerriizzeedd  aanndd  
aaccccuurraattee  rreeccoorrddss  ooff  aallll  BBooaarrdd  aaccttiioonnss,,  lliicceennssiinngg  aanndd  bboonndd  aaccttiivviittyy,,  
ssttaattiissttiiccss,,  aanndd  ootthheerr  iinnffoorrmmaattiioonn  aanndd  ddaattaa..    
 
Sunset criteria direct that the sunset review evaluate complaint, investigation, 
and disciplinary procedures to determine if the public is adequately protected 
by the regulatory scheme and if complaint disposition and final agency actions 
are self-serving to the profession.  This is an important area of evaluation 
because the Board is dominated by industry representatives and regulatory 
programs are often "captured" by the industry in such scenarios.  When a 
regulatory program is captured by the industry that it is supposed to regulate, 
the public suffers because the government offers little or no recourse when 
statutes and regulations are violated.  In some cases, competition can be 
stifled as the industry-driven regulatory authority uses the police power of the 
state to distort the market. 
 
This sunset review of the Board cannot opine with reasonable surety on the 
Board's performance relative to the criteria mentioned above because of 
insufficient recordkeeping by the AID. During the course of this review, the AID 
was unable to provide accurate, consistent, and comprehensive data reflecting 
basic program measurements such as number of complaints, final 
dispositions, grounds for complaints and so forth. Numerous members of the 
AID’s staff, including senior management, were dispatched to accumulate 
requested data manually by accessing hard copies of data through different 
sources.  It appears that the data retrieval system, and not the AID staff, may 
have resulted in the inconsistency of the data provided. 
 
As an example of the insufficient or inconsistent data supplied to DORA by the 
AID, the following two charts are presented below. This data was submitted to 
DORA by AID in response to requests for information and data relating to the 
Board’s disciplinary actions. Chart 7, which appears on page 30 of this report 
and is recreated here, was submitted by AID on July 28, 2006, after a lengthy 
search, by a team of AID staff members, of hard copies of Board and AID 
data. 
 

Chart 7 
Disciplinary Actions 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

Number of 
Actions Suspend Revoke Probation Fine Other Fine $ Collected

01-02 200 8 23 20 12 15 $45,100 
02-03 144 6 12 33 7 24 $137,952 
03-04 212 14 21 64 16 11 $15,100 
04-05 67 0 9 18 26 8 $38,641 
05-06 187 13 12 17 11 12 $53,100 

Compiled by the Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
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Due to the fact that the number of Board actions did not equal the total number 
of specific actions (revocation, suspension, etc.), DORA requested an 
explanation as to the inconsistencies of the submitted data. The response from 
the AID was received by DORA on August 23, 2006, in the form of Chart 10. 
Immediate concerns arose at DORA due to the apparent inconsistencies 
between the numerical figures contained in the two sets of submitted data.  
 

Chart 10 
Disciplinary Actions 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

Board 
Action 
Totals 

Probationary 
License Denials Revocations Suspensions Admin. 

HR Stipulation Other

03-04 176 29 91 9 15 22 7 3 

04-05 163 14 115 4 4 10 15 1 

05-06 178 10 149 0 11 2 3 3 
Compiled by the Department of Revenue’s Auto Industry Division. 
 
Such program measurements are fundamental to effective management of a 
regulatory board and should be available in a standardized, easily retrievable 
format.  The data is subject to the state’s open records laws and it is therefore 
imperative that the data be accurate and consistent.   
 
This review recommends that the AID create and implement a data 
management system to track all aspects of the complaint, bonding, licensure, 
and disciplinary process.  
 
In addition to this general administrative recommendation, it must be noted 
that the Board, the AID, and their administrative staff have failed to keep 
current and accurate documentation of the number, amount, and distribution of 
both the dealer and salesperson bonds that were opened, accessed, and 
distributed as a result of motor vehicle dealers’ fraudulent conduct. Section 12-
6-112.7, C.R.S., requires that all corporate surety companies providing a bond 
for a Board licensee must provide this information to the Board within 30-days 
of when the claim is honored. Again, this data should be maintained in an 
appropriate storage facility thereby facilitating swift and accurate retrieval upon 
demand. 
 
 
 

 

53



 

AAppppeennddiixx  AA  ––  SSuunnsseett  SSttaattuuttoorryy  EEvvaalluuaattiioonn  CCrriitteerriiaa  
 
(I) Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public 

health, safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the 
initial regulation have changed; and whether other conditions have 
arisen which would warrant more, less or the same degree of 
regulation; 

 
(II) If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and 

regulations establish the least restrictive form of regulation consistent 
with the public interest, considering other available regulatory 
mechanisms and whether agency rules enhance the public interest 
and are within the scope of legislative intent; 

 
(III) Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its 

operation is impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules, 
procedures and practices and any other circumstances, including 
budgetary, resource and personnel matters; 

 
(IV) Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency 

performs its statutory duties efficiently and effectively; 
 
(V) Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission 

adequately represents the public interest and whether the agency 
encourages public participation in its decisions rather than 
participation only by the people it regulates; 

 
(VI) The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic 

information is not available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts 
competition; 

 
(VII) Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures 

adequately protect the public and whether final dispositions of 
complaints are in the public interest or self-serving to the profession; 

 
(VIII) Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes 

to the optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry requirements 
encourage affirmative action; 

 
(IX) Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to 

improve agency operations to enhance the public interest. 
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AAppppeennddiixx  BB  ––  CCoommppllaaiinntt  PPrroocceessss  
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AAppppeennddiixx  CC  ––  IInnvveessttiiggaattiioonn  PPrroocceessss  
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AAppppeennddiixx  DD  ––  AAddjjuuddiiccaattiioonn  PPrroocceessss  
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