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October 12, 2006 
 
 
Members of the Colorado General Assembly 
c/o the Office of Legislative Legal Services 
State Capitol Building 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
 
Dear Members of the General Assembly: 
 
The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies has completed the evaluation of the licensing 
of addiction treatment programs under the Colorado Licensing of Controlled Substances Act.  I 
am pleased to submit this written report, which will be the basis for my office's oral testimony 
before the 2007 legislative committee of reference.  The report is submitted pursuant to section 
24-34-104(8)(a), of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which states in part: 
 

The department of regulatory agencies shall conduct an analysis of the performance 
of each division, board or agency or each function scheduled for termination under this 
section... 
 
The department of regulatory agencies shall submit a report and supporting materials 
to the office of legislative legal services no later than October 15 of the year preceding 
the date established for termination…. 

 
The report discusses the question of whether there is a need for the regulation of addiction 
treatment programs provided under Part 3 of Article 22 of Title 12, C.R.S.  The report also 
discusses the effectiveness of the staff of the Colorado Department of Human Services in 
carrying out the intent of the statutes and makes recommendations for statutory and 
administrative changes in the event this regulatory program is continued by the General 
Assembly. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Tambor Williams 
Executive Director 
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Quick Facts 
 
What is Regulated?  Addiction treatment programs 
that use controlled substances to treat individuals 
addicted to alcohol or controlled substances. 
 
 
Who is Regulated? In fiscal year 04-05 there were 
17 active licensees. 
 
How is it Regulated?  The Colorado Department of 
Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division 
(ADAD) issues licenses to addiction treatment 
programs and requires licensees to maintain certain 
records, such as to whom controlled substances 
have been administered, the dosage and date of 
the administration and documentation of inventories 
of controlled substances, all in an attempt to curtail 
diversion. 
 
What Does it Cost? In fiscal year 05-06, the 
license fee was $225, which included the $25-fee 
for licensure as an addiction treatment program 
authorized to use controlled substances and the 
$200-fee for registration as an entity authorized to 
dispense controlled substances.  
 
What Disciplinary Activity is There?  During the 
five-year period of 2001 through 2005, ADAD’s 
disciplinary proceedings consisted of: 
Complaints Filed                           7 
Revocations                                  0 
Suspensions                                 1 
Surrender of Licenses                   1 
Provisional Licenses                     5 
License Denials                             1 
Dismissed                                     0 
Other                                             2 
 
Where Do I Get the Full Report?  The full sunset 
review can be found on the internet at: 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm 

Key Recommendations 
 
Continue the licensing of addiction 
treatment programs under the Colorado 
Licensing of Controlled Substances Act 
for seven years, until 2014. 
By their very nature, controlled substances 
pose both a health and safety risk to the 
public.  Controlled substances are addictive, 
mind altering and, when taken in sufficient 
quantities, deadly.  It is evident, therefore, 
that maintaining records that document to 
whom controlled substances have been 
administered and that document inventories, 
both of which serve to curtail diversion, 
serves the public interest. 
 
 
Direct ADAD to revise its rules. 
The rules that ADAD has promulgated 
pursuant to the Colorado Licensing of 
Controlled Substances Act (Act) contain 
obsolete language and have not been 
revised in over 13 years. 
 
 
Authorize ADAD to establish fees 
administratively. 
The Act establishes the controlled 
substances license fee for addiction 
treatment programs at $25.  Although 
ADAD’s controlled substances licensing 
function is not explicitly cash funded, it is 
reasonable to conclude that $25 is so 
insignificant an amount to fund this function 
that it costs more that it generates.  
Therefore, the fee should be removed from 
statute and ADAD should be authorized to 
set the fess administratively so as to cover, at 
a minimum, the cost of inspections. 
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U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What is a Sunset Review? 
A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine 
whether or not they should be continued by the legislature.  Sunset reviews focus on creating the 
least restrictive form of regulation consistent with the public interest.  In formulating 
recommendations, sunset reviews consider the public's right to consistent, high quality professional 
or occupational services and the rights of businesses to exist and thrive in a highly competitive 
market, free from unfair, costly or unnecessary regulation. 
 

Sunset Reviews are Prepared By: 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 

Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550 

Denver, CO 80202 
www.dora.state.co.us/opr 

 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr


 

BBaacckkggrroouunndd  
 

TThhee  SSuunnsseett  PPrroocceessss  
 
The controlled substances licensing functions of the Colorado Department of 
Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD), with respect to 
addiction treatment programs, in accordance with Part 3 of Article 22 of Title 
12, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), shall terminate on July 1, 2007, 
unless continued by the General Assembly.  During the year prior to this date, 
it is the duty of the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) to conduct an 
analysis and evaluation of ADAD pursuant to section 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
 
The purpose of this review is to determine whether the licensing of addiction 
treatment programs that use controlled substances in treatment should be 
continued for the protection of the public and to evaluate the performance of 
ADAD.  During this review, ADAD must demonstrate that there is still a need 
for the licensing function and that current regulation is the least restrictive 
form of regulation consistent with the public interest.  DORA’s findings and 
recommendations are submitted via this report to the legislative committee of 
reference of the Colorado General Assembly.  Statutory criteria used in 
sunset reviews may be found in Appendix A on page 20. 
 
 

MMeetthhooddoollooggyy  
 
As part of this review, DORA staff interviewed representatives of ADAD, 
licensees, professional associations and the U.S. Drug Enforcement 
Administration (DEA), and reviewed ADAD records, including complaint and 
disciplinary actions, Colorado laws and rules, and the laws of other states. 
 
 

PPrrooffiillee  ooff  tthhee  PPrrooggrraamm  
 
All addiction treatment programs that treat individuals addicted to alcohol or 
controlled substances and that are 1) required by statute, 2) receive public 
funds to provide substance abuse treatment or 3) provide substance abuse 
treatment to patients whose referral sources (i.e., insurance companies) 
require treatment at a licensed entity, must obtain an addiction treatment 
license from ADAD.  ADAD establishes standards and treatment protocols for 
such programs that must be followed in such treatment. 
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If an addiction treatment program uses one or more controlled substances, 
including methadone or buprenorphine, in its treatment of patients, then that 
addiction treatment program must also obtain a second license from ADAD.  
This second license is commonly referred to as the controlled substances 
license and it is the sole subject of this sunset review. 
 
Addiction treatment programs that use one or more controlled substances in 
treatment must comply with certain recordkeeping and physical security 
requirements, as promulgated by ADAD and DEA. 
 
 

HHiissttoorryy  ooff  RReegguullaattiioonn  
 
Colorado first enacted laws regarding controlled substances in 1963, in the 
form of the State Narcotic Act, which was administered by the State Board of 
Health.  In 1968, Colorado enacted the Colorado Dangerous Drug Act, which 
was administered by the Board of Pharmacy.  Dangerous drugs were defined 
as non-narcotic substances, such as stimulants, depressants, hallucinogens, 
and tranquilizers.  Two years after the enactment of the Colorado Dangerous 
Drug Act, it was amended to require licensure of any wholesaler shipping 
dangerous drugs into Colorado or within Colorado. 
 
In 1981, the Colorado Dangerous Drug Act and the State Narcotic Act were 
combined into the Colorado Licensing of Controlled Substances Act (Act), 
which was codified at Part 3 of Title 12 of Article 22, C.R.S.  The Act 
addressed licensure requirements for researchers, analytical laboratories, 
addiction programs, humane societies that euthanize animals, manufacturers 
that manufacture or distribute controlled substances, and wholesalers that 
distribute controlled substances.  Disciplinary actions in the form of denial, 
revocation, or suspension of a license; listing of unlawful acts; definitions and 
penalties for procurement of controlled substances by fraud and deceit; and 
an inventory of Schedule I to V drugs were also outlined.  Recordkeeping 
requirements for licensees were delineated, along with authorization for 
inspections, investigations, and reports necessary to determine compliance.  
 
In 1984, responsibility for controlled substances licensing of addiction 
programs, researchers, and analytical laboratories was placed in ADAD.  
Additional amendments to the Act resulted in the Board of Pharmacy 
assuming licensing responsibility for drug manufacturers, distributors, and 
pharmacists. 
 
Following a Department of Regulatory Agencies’ recommendation in the 2001 
sunset review of ADAD’s controlled substances licensing program, the 
General Assembly, through House Bill 02-1229, repealed the controlled 
substances licensing requirements for researchers and analytical 
laboratories.  
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LLeeggaall  FFrraammeewwoorrkk  

                                           

 

Colorado and federal laws and regulations pertaining to the licensing of 
addiction treatment programs that use controlled substances in treatment 
overlap to a great extent. 
 
Any person who dispenses any controlled substance must be registered with 
the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)1 and be licensed by the 
Colorado Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division 
(ADAD) if the controlled substances are dispensed to conduct addiction 
treatment.2 
 
ADAD-issued licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance,3 and 
the annual license fee is $25.4  In addition, all ADAD licensees must also 
register with ADAD under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act of 1992, 
and pay the annual registration fee of $200.5 
 
A separate license must be obtained for each location maintained by an 
addiction treatment program.6  In issuing such a license, ADAD must 
consider:7 
 

• Maintenance of effective controls against the diversion of controlled 
substances; 

• Compliance with applicable state and local laws; 

• Any controlled substances-related conviction of the applicant; 

• Any false or fraudulent information in the license application; 

• Suspension or revocation of the applicant’s DEA registration; and 

• Any other factors relevant to and consistent with the public peace, 
health and safety. 

 
Each application for licensure by ADAD must be accompanied by a copy of 
the addiction treatment program’s policies and procedures for treatment using 
controlled substances,8 as well as any other documentation requested by 
ADAD.9 
 

 
1 21 C.F.R. § 1301.11(a). 
2 §§ 12-22-304(1)(b) and 18-18-302(1), C.R.S., ADAD Rule 3.1, and 21 C.F.R. § 1301.13. 
3 § 12-22-304(1), C.R.S., and ADAD Rules 3.1 and 3.5. 
4 § 12-22-305(3)(a)(I), C.R.S., and ADAD Rule 3.6. 
5 ADAD Rule 4.3. 
6 ADAD Rule 3.4. 
7 § 12-22-305(1), C.R.S. 
8 ADAD Rule 3.8. 
9 ADAD Rule 3.9. 
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ADAD may deny, suspend or revoke a license upon finding that the applicant 
or licensee, as the case may be, has:10 
 

• Furnished fraudulent information in the license application; 

• Been convicted of, or has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any 
controlled substances-related felony; 

• Had its DEA registration suspended or revoked; or 

• Violated any provision of Part 3 of Article 22 of Title 12, Colorado 
Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), or any rules promulgated thereunder by 
ADAD. 

 
In addition, addiction treatment programs that offer opioid replacement 
therapy must also obtain a certification from the U.S. Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA),11 which requires the 
addiction treatment program to obtain and maintain a valid accreditation from 
an accreditation body designated by SAMHSA.12  Such certifications are valid 
for up to three years.13  If the accrediting body revokes the addiction 
treatment program’s accreditation, SAMHSA may conduct an investigation,14 
which can result in SAMHSA suspending or revoking the certification of the 
addiction treatment program.15  In such a case, SAMHSA must immediately 
contact DEA so that the addiction treatment program’s DEA registration may 
be suspended.16 
 
Schedule II narcotics that are used by an addiction treatment program must 
be stored in a secure safe, vault or steel cabinet,17 and access to the 
controlled substances must be limited to a minimum number of addiction 
treatment program employees.18  The DEA regulations concerning the 
requirements of such a storage device are quite detailed. 
 
Additionally, addiction treatment programs that offer opioid replacement 
therapy must maintain a diversion control plan to reduce the possibility of 
diversion of controlled substances.19 
 
Upon initial registration, and at least every two years thereafter, a DEA-
registered addiction treatment program must take a complete inventory of all 
controlled substances on hand.20 
                                            
10 § 12-22-308(1), C.R.S., and ADAD Rule 3.10. 
11 42 C.F.R. § 8.11(a)(1). 
12 42 C.F.R. § 8.11(a)(2). 
13 42 C.F.R. § 8.11(a)(3). 
14 42 C.F.R. § 8.13(a). 
15 42 C.F.R. § 8.14. 
16 42 C.F.R. § 8.14(d). 
17 21 C.F.R. § 1301.72(a). 
18 21 C.F.R. § 1301.72(d), and ADAD Rule 5.2. 
19 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(c)(2) and ADAD Rule 5.1. 
20 21 C.F.R. §§ 1304.11(a) and (c). 
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Each time a controlled substance is dispensed by an addiction treatment 
program to a patient, DEA requires a record containing the following 
information to be created:21 
 

• Name of the substance dispensed; 

• Strength of the substance dispensed; 

• Dosage form; 

• Date dispensed; 

• Identification of the patient; 

• Amount consumed by the patient; 

• Amount and dosage form taken home by the patient, if applicable; and 

• The dispenser’s initials. 
 
While Colorado law requires that such records contain only the name and 
amount of the controlled substance, the patient’s name and address and the 
date the controlled substance was dispensed,22 adherence to the DEA’s more 
stringent requirements is deemed to be compliance with Colorado’s 
requirements.23  All such records must be maintained for two years.24 
 
Addiction treatment programs that offer opioid replacement therapy may 
dispense the controlled substances methadone and buprenorphine during the 
course of treatment.25  In general, initial doses of methadone for new patients 
may not exceed 30 milligrams.26 
 
Such programs are also required to provide adequate medical, counseling, 
vocational, educational and other assessment and treatment services,27 
including requiring each patient to undergo a complete physical evaluation 
before the patient is admitted to the program.28  Such programs must also 
have specific policies and procedures for addressing the special needs of 
pregnant patients.29 
 
For patients in long-term opioid addiction treatment, the addiction treatment 
program must conduct monthly drug tests.30 
 

                                            
21 21 C.F.R. § 1304.24(a). 
22 § 12-22-318(2), C.R.S. 
23 § 12-22-318(4), C.R.S. 
24 § 12-22-318(1)(a), C.R.S. 
25 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(h)(2). 
26 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(h)(3)(ii). 
27 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(f)(1). 
28 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(f)(2). 
29 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(f)(3). 
30 ADAD Rule 15.223.6(D)(2). 
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Opioid addiction treatment programs may provide patients with take-home 
doses of their medications for each day that the addiction treatment program 
is closed for business.31  Additional take-home doses may be approved by the 
addiction treatment program, based on the following criteria:32 
 

• Absence of recent abuse of drugs or alcohol; 

• Regularity of clinic attendance; 

• Absence of serious behavioral problems at the clinic; 

• Absence of known recent criminal activity; 

• Stability of the patient’s home environment and social relationships; 

• Length of time in comprehensive maintenance treatment; 

• Assurance that take-home medication can be safely stored within the 
patient’s home; and 

• Whether the rehabilitative benefit the patient derived from decreasing 
the frequency of clinic attendance outweighs the potential risks of 
diversion. 

 
If these criteria are satisfied, take-home doses may be provided, based upon 
the length of time the patient has participated in the addiction treatment 
program:33 
 

• Days 1 through 90 – one take-home dose per week, plus one dose for 
each day the clinic is closed. 

• Days 91 through 180 – two take-home doses per week, plus one dose 
for each day the clinic is closed. 

• Days 181 through 270 – three take-home doses per week, plus one 
dose for each day the clinic is closed. 

• Days 271 through 365 - maximum of six take-home doses per week. 

• After one year – maximum of two-week supply of take-home doses per 
month. 

• After two years – maximum of one-month supply of take-home doses 
per month, but the patient must make monthly visits to the clinic. 

 

                                            
31 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(i)(1). 
32 42 C.F.R. § 812(i)(2). 
33 21 C.F.R. § 8.12(i)(3). 
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DEA may inspect the premises of any DEA-registered addiction treatment 
program.34  All controlled substances records are confidential, but may be 
inspected by federal, state, county and municipal officers whose duty it is to 
enforce laws relating to controlled substances,35 as well as by ADAD 
personnel.36  ADAD may establish separate fees to cover the costs of its 
inspections.37 
 
DEA-registered addiction treatment programs may not employ, as an 
employee with access to controlled substances, any person who has been 
convicted of a felony relating to controlled substances, who has surrendered 
a DEA registration or who had a DEA registration denied or revoked.38  Opioid 
addiction treatment programs must also ensure that their employees have 
sufficient education, training and experience to perform their assigned 
functions.39 
 
Upon the discovery of any theft or significant loss of any controlled 
substances, a DEA-registered addiction treatment program must notify 
DEA,40 and within three days, ADAD must also be notified.41  
 
Any person in possession of a controlled substance may request the 
assistance of the DEA in disposing of the controlled substance.42 
 
By rule, ADAD has adopted all DEA rules regarding inventories, records and 
reports.43  All records must be retained for two years.44 
 
 
 

                                            
34 21 C.F.R. § 1301.31. 
35 § 12-22-320, C.R.S. 
36 ADAD Rule 7.1. 
37 § 25-1-1102(1), C.R.S. 
38 21 C.F.R. § 1301.76(a). 
39 42 C.F.R. § 8.12(d). 
40 21 C.F.R. § 1301.76(b). 
41 ADAD Rule 6.3. 
42 21 C.F.R. § 1307.21(a). 
43 ADAD Rule 6.2. 
44 ADAD Rule 6.1. 
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PPrrooggrraamm  DDeessccrriippttiioonn  aanndd  AAddmmiinniissttrraattiioonn  
 

The Colorado Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Division (ADAD) administers the licensing of addiction treatment programs 
under the Colorado Licensing of Controlled Substances Act (Act). 
 
No full-time equivalent (FTE) employees or funds are specifically allocated to 
ADAD for the administration of this program.  Rather, ADAD has absorbed 
the costs of administering the program, and has assigned 1.1 FTE toward this 
end.  Of these, 1.0 FTE constitutes the Controlled Substances Administrator 
(General Professional V), who conducts inspections, investigates complaints, 
works with the addiction treatment programs licensed to use controlled 
substances, advising on and authorizing treatment doses, levels of treatment, 
licensing issues, patient complaints and patient transfers from one addiction 
treatment program to another.  The remaining 0.1 FTE constitutes the 
Provider Liaison (General Professional III), who processes initial and license 
renewal applications for addiction treatment programs using controlled 
substances. 
 
 

LLiicceennssiinngg  
 
An addiction treatment program seeking a license to use controlled 
substances in its treatment program must submit a completed application 
form to ADAD, along with payment of the $225-license fee.  Although the form 
does not so state, the license application form, as well as the fee, actually 
encompass two applications: 1) an application for licensure as an addiction 
treatment program authorized to use controlled substances ($25-fee); and 2) 
an application for registration as an entity authorized to dispense controlled 
substances ($200-fee). 
 
The application form solicits information as to the name of the addiction 
treatment program and its address and phone number; the name, title and 
license number of the physician in charge of the program; the types of 
controlled substances to be used in treatment (i.e., methadone, 
buprenorphine, librium, valium or ativan); the applicant’s current U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration number; and certifications that 
the applicant has never been convicted of a controlled substances-related 
felony or ever had a controlled substances license or registration denied, 
revoked or suspended. 
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In addition, the application must be accompanied by a narrative, or copies of 
the applicant’s policies and procedures, describing: 
 

• How patients will be assessed to be appropriate for the use of the 
indicated controlled substances; 

• What controlled substances will be dispensed; 

• Protocols for how the controlled substances will be dispensed; 

• Where the controlled substances will be stored; 

• How the controlled substances will be accounted for; and 

• Who will have access to the controlled substances.  
 
Table 1 illustrates the number of controlled substances licensees for fiscal 
years 00-01 through 04-05. 
 

Table 1 
Licensing Information 

 

Fiscal Year Total Active 
Licenses 

00-01 52 
01-02 67 
02-03 19 
03-04 18 
04-05 17 

 
Until the beginning of fiscal year 02-03, ADAD licensed not only addiction 
treatment programs that use controlled substances, but also researchers and 
analytical laboratories that used controlled substances.  The statutory 
provisions regarding researchers and analytical laboratories were repealed 
during the 2002 legislative session, following a recommendation contained in 
the 2001 sunset review of this program.  This explains the significant 
decrease in the number of licensees between fiscal years 01-02 and 02-03. 
 
Ten of the 17 licensees in fiscal year 04-05 offered opioid replacement 
therapy. 
 
 

IInnssppeeccttiioonnss  
 
ADAD conducts routine, unannounced and targeted inspections, as well as 
audits, which are more focused than inspections, of controlled substances 
licensees.  ADAD staff attempts to conduct at least one unannounced 
inspection each year of controlled substances licensees that offer opioid 
replacement therapy. 
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Table 2 illustrates the number of inspections and audits ADAD conducted for 
calendar years 2001 through 2005. 
 

Table 2 
Routine Inspection & Audit Information 

 
Calendar Year Number of Inspections Number of Audits 

2001 Not Available Not Available 
2002 Not Available Not Available 
2003 3 3 
2004 6 6 
2005 14 14 

 
Figures for 2001 and 2002 are unavailable because, according to a 
representative of ADAD, records for those years had been destroyed prior to 
the Department of Regulatory Agencies’ (DORA’s) request for the 
information. 
 
During the course of an audit, which typically lasts an entire day, ADAD staff 
reviews program files and records pertaining to the licensee’s medication 
records, including: 
 

• Daily dispensing logs for a period of at least six months; 

• Medication logs for a period of at least six months; 

• Number of patients with take-home dosing privileges; 

• Pump calibration; 

• Daily medication records for the length of stay in treatment; 

• Program physician orders to determine assessment of addiction; 

• Medical standing orders; 

• Medication management and administration; and 

• Number of critical incidents that pertain to controlled substances. 
 
In addition, ADAD staff assesses the security of the storage of the controlled 
substances. 
 
The breadth and scope of an inspection depends entirely on the reason for 
the inspection.  On a license renewal inspection, for example, ADAD staff will 
conduct a comprehensive review of all of the licensee’s records, files, 
processes, procedures and other relevant items.  If, on the other hand, the 
inspection is driven by a complaint, ADAD staff may limit its review to the 
relevant files and records of the individuals involved in the issue upon which 
the complaint is based.  Finally, a routine or unannounced inspection may 
include an audit. 
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Additionally, since controlled substances licensees also hold separate 
addiction treatment licenses, ADAD staff frequently conserves resources and 
conducts inspections for the purposes of both licenses at the same time. 
 
 

CCoommppllaaiinnttss//DDiisscciipplliinnaarryy  AAccttiioonnss  
 
In addition to routinely inspecting addiction treatment programs that are 
licensed to use controlled substances, ADAD also conducts investigations of 
such licensees when it receives complaints.  Table 3 illustrates the number 
and nature of complaints ADAD received concerning such licensees between 
calendar years 2001 and 2005. 
 

Table 3 
Complaint Information 

 

Nature of Complaints 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 

Practicing w/o a 
License 1 Not Available 0 0 0 

Standard of Practice Not Available Not Available 1 1 2 

Scope of Practice 1 Not Available 0 0 1 

Sexual Misconduct Not Available Not Available 0 0 1 

Substance Abuse Not Available Not Available 0 0 1 

TOTAL 2 Not Available 1 1 5 
 

With one exception, figures for 2001 and 2002 are unavailable because, 
according to a representative of ADAD, records for those years had been 
destroyed prior to DORA’s request for the information. 
 
The exception to this pertains to the complaints in 2001, the substance of 
which the current Controlled Substances Administrator has personal 
knowledge.  Both complaints in 2001 related to the same individual who failed 
to renew his controlled substances license, but continued writing prescriptions 
and claiming to be licensed by ADAD. 
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Table 4 illustrates, for calendar years 2001 through 2005, the number of 
disciplinary actions ADAD has taken against controlled substances licenses. 
 

Table 4 
Final Agency Actions 

 

Type of Action 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 
Revocation Not Available Not Available 0 0 0 
Surrender of License Not Available Not Available 0 1 0 
Suspension Not Available Not Available 0 0 1 
Provisional License Not Available Not Available 0 0 5 
License Denied Not Available Not Available 1 0 0 
Dismiss Not Available Not Available 0 0 0 
Corrective Action Not Available Not Available 0 1 1 
TOTAL DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS Not Available Not Available 1 2 7 

 
Figures for 2001 and 2002 are unavailable because, according to a 
representative of ADAD, records for those years had been destroyed prior to 
DORA’s request for the information. 
 
The license that was denied in 2003 was actually a renewal application.  The 
renewal was denied because the licensee failed to report the loss of a 
significant amount of controlled substances (2,306 mg) and because the 
licensee failed to correct a number of deficiencies identified by ADAD during 
previous inspections. 
 
Both actions in 2004 pertained to the same licensee.  ADAD placed the 
licensee on a corrective action plan due to deficiencies in patient dosing, 
patient files, patient urine testing procedures, documentation requirements, 
and employee files.  Ultimately, DEA suspended the licensee’s DEA 
registration for recordkeeping errors that indicated the licensee was missing 
30 bottles of methadone (approximately 30,000 mg).  The licensee 
subsequently surrendered its ADAD license and closed. 
 
All but one of the cases in 2005 pertain to the same company that holds 
multiple controlled substances licenses.  Similarly, all but two of the 
complaints reported for 2005 in Table 3 (the two pertaining to standard of 
practice), also pertain to this same company. 
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The allegations involved in this case included, but were not limited to 
employees performing services beyond the scope of their training, improper 
standing orders pertaining to increasing doses without prior physician 
approval, unacceptable employee-patient ratios, and sexual misconduct.  The 
provisional licenses that ADAD issued to this company are listed here, 
although they pertained to the underlying treatment licenses, not the 
controlled substances licenses.  However, since the controlled substance 
license is based upon the treatment license, the fact that the treatment 
license was provisional, the controlled substances licenses were, in reality if 
not legally, provisional as well. 
 
Finally, when investigating licensees, ADAD has historically worked closely 
with DEA, when such cooperation has been appropriate. 
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AAnnaallyyssiiss  aanndd  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonnss  
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  --    CCoonnttiinnuuee  tthhee  lliicceennssiinngg  ooff  aaddddiiccttiioonn  ttrreeaattmmeenntt  
pprrooggrraammss  uunnddeerr  tthhee  CCoolloorraaddoo  LLiicceennssiinngg  ooff  CCoonnttrroolllleedd  SSuubbssttaanncceess  AAcctt  
ffoorr  sseevveenn  yyeeaarrss,,  uunnttiill  22001144..  

                                           

 
The first sunset criterion asks whether regulation is necessary to protect the 
public health, safety or welfare.  By their very nature, controlled substances 
pose both a health and safety risk to the public.  Controlled substances are 
addictive, mind altering and, when taken in sufficient quantities, deadly. 
 
In 2001, the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy estimated 
that there were approximately 980,000 individuals addicted to heroin in the 
United States, only about 20 percent of whom received methadone or 
levomethadyl acetate as part of an addiction treatment program.45 
 
Based on such statistics regarding only those addicted to heroin and not 
including other addictive substances, it is clear that there is a large street 
market for the controlled substances used in addiction treatment.  Indeed, 
according to one estimate, the cost of a single dose of methadone varies from 
between $10 and $40.46 
 
It is evident, therefore, that maintaining records that document to whom 
controlled substances have been administered and that document 
inventories, both of which serve to curtail diversion, serves the public interest. 
 
As a result, both the state and federal governments have enacted statutes 
and promulgated rules governing nearly every aspect of controlled 
substances.  Indeed the requirements placed on addiction treatment 
programs that dispense controlled substances by the U.S. Drug Enforcement 
Administration (DEA) and the Colorado Department of Human Services, 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD) by virtue of the Colorado Licensing 
of Controlled Substances Act (Act) are virtually identical to one another since 
ADAD, by rule, has adopted the requirements of DEA. 
 
The real question, then, becomes whether the licensing functions of ADAD 
under the Act are necessary to protect the public when there is so much 
federal oversight as well, or whether regulation by ADAD is overly duplicative. 
 

 
45 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration press release dated January 17, 2001, downloaded on April 14, 
2006, from www.samhsa.gov/news/newsreleases/010117nrmeth.htm. 
46 Presentation by D. Curry, U.S. DEA Office of Diversion Control, April 23, 2006. 
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Recall that an addiction treatment program that dispenses controlled 
substances must be: 
 

• Accredited by a U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA)-approved accrediting agency; 

• Approved by SAMHSA; 

• Registered with DEA; 

• Registered with ADAD under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act; 
and 

• Licensed by ADAD under the Act. 
 
Each of these agencies inspects controlled substances licensees periodically.  
The frequency and focus of those inspections, however, is the key to the 
differences between these various agencies. 
 
SAMHSA-approved accrediting agencies typically inspect controlled 
substances licensees once every three years.  The focus of such inspections 
typically involves ensuring that the controlled substances licensee has in 
place appropriate treatment protocols, policies and procedures. 
 
DEA attempts to inspect controlled substances licensees once every two 
years, though in reality such inspections are typically conducted less 
frequently.  Indeed, based on interviews with representatives of controlled 
substances licensees and DEA, DEA’s focus is to respond to major incidents 
involving the loss or theft of controlled substances, not compliance 
inspections. 
 
Regardless, the focus of DEA inspections, when they occur, typically revolves 
around the security of the controlled substances.  DEA verifies that proper 
inventory and dispensing records are maintained; that the controlled 
substances are stored in a secure location within the controlled substances 
licensee’s facility and that the facility itself is secure. 
 
ADAD inspects controlled substances licensees at least once a year.  ADAD 
has the authority to inspect a controlled substances licensee at any time and 
inspections typically occur in conjunction with the inspections that ADAD 
conducts pursuant to the requirements of the other ADAD-issued licenses 
held by the controlled substances licensee such as the controlled substance 
registration and the addiction treatment license. 
 
As a result, ADAD inspectors may visit a controlled substances licensee 
multiple times in a given year.  Some of the records that are reviewed during 
these inspections may encompass multiple licenses, so the controlled 
substances licensee may not always be aware that an inspection of the 
controlled substances license is even taking place. 
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The focus of an ADAD controlled substances license inspection 
encompasses those elements of an accrediting agency inspection and a DEA 
inspection.  Additionally, ADAD inspectors typically take the time to observe 
the actual dispensing of controlled substances, which can reveal deficiencies 
or other problems. 
 
During the course of this sunset review, a representative of the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies (DORA) accompanied an ADAD inspector on one such 
inspection.  The ADAD inspector spent a considerable amount of time 
observing the dispensing of controlled substances, during which several 
relatively minor problems were identified.   Additionally, the ADAD inspector 
examined the controlled substances licensee’s policies and protocols, 
dispensing and inventory logs, dispensing equipment and processes and the 
security of the facility and the controlled substances within the facility.  The 
inspection appeared to be relatively comprehensive in nature. 
 
Perhaps more importantly, however, was the comfort level of the staff of the 
controlled substances licensee.  The staff knew and was familiar with the 
ADAD inspector and throughout the course of the inspection, asked the 
ADAD inspector questions about various issues.  Similarly, the ADAD 
inspector pointed out problems during the course of the inspection and 
proposed potential solutions, rather than simply imposing discipline on the 
controlled substances licensee after the inspection.  Fear seemed to play very 
little role and, as a result, problems were identified and addressed in a 
solution-oriented manner.  There is no assurance that DEA would conduct 
inspections in a similar manner. 
 
Furthermore, according to representatives of controlled substances licensees 
and DEA, DEA tends to focus on major losses of controlled substances.  This 
is important because, while the regulations administered by DEA and ADAD 
may be highly duplicative, it is primarily ADAD, not DEA, that enforces 
compliance with them. 
 
If ADAD’s licensing function were allowed to sunset, it is reasonable to 
conclude that the enforcement of the laws intended to prevent diversion of 
controlled substances from addiction treatment programs would become 
considerably more lax, thereby endangering the public health and safety. 
 
Since drugs like methadone need to be controlled and since ADAD inspects 
controlled substances licensees more frequently and with more of a solution-
oriented attitude than the other agencies that play a role in controlled 
substances regulation, the licensing of addiction treatment programs by 
ADAD under the Act should be continued for seven years, until 2014. 
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RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  22  ––  DDiirreecctt  AADDAADD  ttoo  rreevviissee  iittss  rruulleess  ppeerrttaaiinniinngg  ttoo  iittss  
ccoonnttrroolllleedd  ssuubbssttaanncceess  lliicceennssiinngg  ffuunnccttiioonnss  ttoo  bbee  eeffffeeccttiivvee  nnoo  llaatteerr  tthhaann  
SSeepptteemmbbeerr  11,,  22000077,,  aanndd  mmaakkee  tthheemm  aavvaaiillaabbllee  ttoo  ccoonnttrroolllleedd  ssuubbssttaanncceess  
lliicceennsseeeess  aanndd  tthhee  ppuubblliicc..  
 
Section 12-22-321(1), C.R.S., states: 
 

The department of human services shall promulgate rules and 
regulations to implement the provisions of this part 3 pursuant to 
the procedures of article 4 of title 24, C.R.S. (emphasis added) 

 
While the Department of Human Services, through ADAD, has promulgated 
rules, these rules have not been updated since 1993 and contain many 
obsolete provisions. 
 
In its 2001 sunset review of the controlled substances licensing functions of 
ADAD, DORA recommended that ADAD update its rules.  Not only has ADAD 
not implemented this recommendation, but ADAD also did not amend its rules 
after the licensing of researchers and analytical laboratories was repealed 
during the 2002 legislative session. 
 
As a result, ADAD’s current rules contain at least 15 obsolete provisions and 
should be amended. 
 
More problematic, however, is the availability of the rules on ADAD’s website 
-- only the first page of the rules appears.  This is problematic for two 
reasons.  First, unless an individual searching for the rules knows better, that 
individual may conclude that that single page is the extent of the rules.  
Second, regardless of their age and relative obsolescence, controlled 
substances licensees are required to comply with the rules.  Although 
controlled substances licensees  are provided a copy of the rules at the time 
of license issuance, if that copy of the rules is lost or destroyed, the rules 
cannot be easily replaced via the Internet. 
 
This issue first came to DORA’s attention on February 3, 2006, and was 
mentioned to representatives of ADAD who assured representatives of DORA 
that the problem would be corrected.  However, as of October 5, 2006, the 
problem had not been addressed and only the first page of the rules was 
available on ADAD’s website. 
 
Ordinarily, this type of recommendation would be administrative in nature.  
However, since a similar recommendation was made once before and not 
implemented, this recommendation advocates that ADAD promulgate new 
rules no later than September 1, 2007, in order to place direct pressure on 
ADAD to comply. 
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Since many of ADAD’s rules are obsolete and have not been revised in over 
13 years and since only a portion of ADAD’s rules are available on its 
website, the General Assembly should direct ADAD to promulgate new rules, 
to be effective no later than September 1, 2007, and to make a complete set 
of those rules available on its website. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  33  ––  RReemmoovvee  ffrroomm  ssttaattuuttee  tthhee  eessttaabblliisshhmmeenntt  ooff  aannyy  
ffeeeess  aanndd  aauutthhoorriizzee  AADDAADD  ttoo  sseett  ssuucchh  ffeeeess  aaddmmiinniissttrraattiivveellyy..  
 
Section 12-22-305(3)(a)(I), C.R.S., establishes the controlled substances 
license fee for addiction treatment programs at $25.  However, section 25-1-
1102(1), C.R.S., authorizes ADAD to establish the fees to be charged for 
required inspections.  
 
As a result, ADAD charges $225 for a controlled substances license, and this 
fee also includes the application fee for registration as an entity authorized to 
dispense controlled substances. 
 
Although ADAD’s controlled substances licensing function is not explicitly 
cash funded, it is reasonable to conclude that $25 is so insignificant an 
amount to fund this function that it costs more than it generates. 
 
Therefore, the fee should be removed from statute and ADAD should be 
authorized to set this fee administratively so as to cover, at a minimum, the 
cost of inspections. 
 
Since the statute sets the license fee for a controlled substance license at $25 
and since this sum is insignificant in comparison to the actual costs 
associated with running the program, the General Assembly should remove 
the fee from statute and authorize ADAD to establish the license fee 
administratively. 
 
 

AAddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––  IInnssttiittuuttee  aa  rreeccoorrddss  rreetteennttiioonn  ppoolliiccyy  
aanndd  rreettaaiinn  aallll  rreeccoorrddss  ffoorr  aatt  lleeaasstt  ffiivvee  yyeeaarrss..  
 
Throughout this report, data for the years prior to 2003 were generally 
unavailable because, according to a representative of ADAD, such records 
were destroyed, in accordance with ADAD’s records retention policy, prior to 
DORA’s request for such information. 
 
While this is certainly frustrating from a data reporting and analysis point of 
view, it could also cause legal problems for ADAD.  Without such records, 
ADAD would be unable to defend itself should any of its actions prior to 2003 
be challenged. 
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Admittedly, the Uniform Records Retention Act, in section 6-17-104, C.R.S., 
permits state agencies to destroy records after three years.  However, as this 
sunset review discovered, three years may not be long enough in some 
cases.  Those records may have contained valuable information that could 
have been used by policy- and decision-makers in the future. 
 
Indeed, like controlled substances licensees, pharmacies licensed by the 
State Board of Pharmacy (Pharmacy Board) also must retain records for only 
two years.47  However, the Pharmacy Board’s own internal records retention 
policy is more expansive.  For example, license applications and 
documentary evidence of any final agency action are considered permanent 
records that are never destroyed.   
 
Since ADAD has destroyed records after only three years and this situation is 
unacceptable from a variety of standpoints, ADAD should immediately 
implement a records retention policy that requires such documents to be 
retained for at least five years. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                            
47 § 12-22-131(1)(a), C.R.S., and Pharmacy Board Rule 11.00.00. 
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AAppppeennddiixx  AA  ––  SSuunnsseett  SSttaattuuttoorryy  EEvvaalluuaattiioonn  CCrriitteerriiaa  
 
(I) Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public 

health, safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the 
initial regulation have changed; and whether other conditions have 
arisen which would warrant more, less or the same degree of 
regulation; 

 
(II) If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and 

regulations establish the least restrictive form of regulation consistent 
with the public interest, considering other available regulatory 
mechanisms and whether agency rules enhance the public interest 
and are within the scope of legislative intent; 

 
(III) Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its 

operation is impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules, 
procedures and practices and any other circumstances, including 
budgetary, resource and personnel matters; 

 
(IV) Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency 

performs its statutory duties efficiently and effectively; 
 
(V) Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission 

adequately represents the public interest and whether the agency 
encourages public participation in its decisions rather than 
participation only by the people it regulates; 

 
(VI) The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic 

information is not available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts 
competition; 

 
(VII) Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures 

adequately protect the public and whether final dispositions of 
complaints are in the public interest or self-serving to the profession; 

 
(VIII) Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes 

to the optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry 
requirements encourage affirmative action; 

 
(IX) Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to 

improve agency operations to enhance the public interest. 
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