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October 15, 2007 
 
Members of the Colorado General Assembly 
c/o the Office of Legislative Legal Services 
State Capitol Building 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
 
Dear Members of the General Assembly: 
 
The mission of the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) is consumer protection.  As a part of 
the Executive Director’s Office within DORA, the Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
seeks to fulfill its statutorily mandated responsibility to conduct sunset reviews with a focus on 
protecting the health, safety and welfare of all Coloradans. 
 
DORA has completed the evaluation of Colorado’s regulation of collection agencies.  I am pleased to 
submit this written report, which will be the basis for my office's oral testimony before the 2008 
legislative committee of reference.  The report is submitted pursuant to section 24-34-104(8)(a), of 
the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which states in part: 
 

The department of regulatory agencies shall conduct an analysis of the performance of 
each division, board or agency or each function scheduled for termination under this 
section... 
 
The department of regulatory agencies shall submit a report and supporting materials to 
the office of legislative legal services no later than October 15 of the year preceding the 
date established for termination… 

 
The report discusses the question of whether the regulatory program provided under Article 14 of 
Title 12, C.R.S., serves to protect the public health, safety or welfare.  The report also discusses the 
effectiveness of the Colorado Attorney General and the Collection Agency Board and staff in 
carrying out the intent of the statutes and makes recommendations for statutory changes in the 
event this regulatory program is continued by the General Assembly. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
D. Rico Munn 
Executive Director 
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Executive Summary 
 

Quick Facts 
 
What is Regulated?  Collection agencies, hired by a 
creditor to secure payment of a debt from a debtor, and 
conducting business in Colorado. 
 
Who is Regulated?  In fiscal year 05 -06 there were 586 
active licensees: 
 
493 license renewals   
 93 new licenses 
 
How is it Regulated?  The Colorado Collection Agency 
Board (Board) is a Type 2 board administered by, and 
under the authority of, the Colorado Attorney General 
(AGO). This involves processing and evaluating 
applications from prospective licensees, administering 
examinations, enforcing minimum standards of practice 
as defined by law under the Colorado Fair Debt 
Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA), and disciplining 
those in violation of the law. 
 
What Does it Cost? The fiscal year 05-06 expenditure to 
oversee this program was $227,035, and there were 4.5 
full-time equivalent employees associated with this 
program. 
 
For fiscal year 07-08, license fees are as follows:   
 
New Collection Agency License            $800 
Renewal License                                   $425 
Investigation Fee                                   $300 
Collection Managers Examination Fee  $100 
 
 
What Disciplinary Activity is There?  During fiscal year 
05-06, the AGO’s disciplinary proceedings consisted of: 
 
Complaints Filed                          688 
Revocations                                 1 
Letters of Admonition                   43 
License Denials                            5 
Cease and Desist Notices            59 
Injunctions                                    22                                
 
 
Where Do I Get the Full Report?  The full sunset review 
can be found on the internet at: 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm
 

Key Recommendations 
 
Continue the regulation of collection agencies 
until 2017, and sunset the Colorado Collection 
Agency Board. The licensing of collection agencies 
in Colorado benefits the citizens of Colorado by 
providing a basic assurance that potential harm to 
individual creditors and debtors are reduced by 
means of licensure, regulation, and disciplinary 
provisions. An AGO Administrator performs 
effectively to license, discipline, and provide 
guidance to collection agency licensees. 
  
However, the same cannot be said about the Board. 
The Board generally functions in an advisory 
capacity. This sunset review finds no evidence that 
the Board serves any function that could not just as 
easily be performed by the AGO without 
compromising public protection. The Board 
frequently cancels its regularly scheduled meetings, 
and has conducted only one rulemaking hearing 
over the past five years. 
 
Licensing and disciplinary functions are performed 
by the AGO, with the Board’s role limited to offering 
advice to the AGO on limited disciplinary actions. 
The licensing and disciplinary criteria are clear, and 
there have been few disputes regarding regulatory or 
administrative decisions made by the AGO. 
 
The Board’s advice or recommendations to the AGO 
can just as easily be performed by an ad hoc 
advisory group assembled for specific purposes 
such as rulemaking. 
 
Increase the administrative fine authorized by 
section 12-14-130(10), C.R.S., from $1,000 to 
$2,000.   Increasing the program’s fining authority 
will constitute a deterrent effect on undesirable 
conduct on the part of licensees, and in 
consequence, help to avert or limit more serious or 
intentional practice problems. The Administrator has 
used the fining authority 57 times in the past five 
fiscal years, which indicates both a willingness and a 
need for this type of enforcement action 
 
Eliminate the collection managers examination. 
There is no valid correlation between the collection 
manager’s examination, and licensees’ violations of 
the CFDCPA. The AGO indicates that the violations 
of the CFDCPA are not due to lack of knowledge or 
familiarity with the CFDCPA, but rather conduct that 
is negligent, overreaching, or intentional.  

http://www.dora.state.co.us/engineers_surveyors/AppsForLicensure.htm
http://www.dora.state.co.us/engineers_surveyors/ExamInfo.htm
http://www.dora.state.co.us/engineers_surveyors/Complaint.HTM
http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr/oprpublications.htm


 

 

…Key Recommendations Continued 
 
 
 
Eliminate the Colorado office requirement. 
Colorado laws require that licensed collection agencies maintain an office in Colorado. This may have been 
useful in the past when most licensees were locally based. Now, however, it is likely that a debtor will be 
contacted by an out-of-state collection agency, or one located in a different part of the state. So long as an out-
of-state collection agency has a registered agent in Colorado (required as part of the application process), and 
a toll-free telephone number for usage by Colorado consumers, an in-state office is not necessary. 
 
Require collection agencies to notify debtors of their right to request no further contacts. 
Section 12-14-105(3)(a), C.R.S., allows a debtor to request, in writing, that a collection agency cease 
communications with the debtor, and requires that the collection agency cease communications with the debtor 
upon receipt of this written notice. Many debtors are unaware of this statutory provision, and therefore do not 
consider invoking this right. This recommendation serves to ensure that debtors are aware of their legal rights 
by including the substantive provisions of section 12-14-105(3)(a), C.R.S., in the initial written communication 
from the collection agency to the debtor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Major Contacts Made During This Review 
Associated Collection Agencies, Inc. 

Office of the Colorado Attorney General 
Colorado Collection Agency Board 

Collection Agency Regulators from other States 
Individual Debtors/Creditors 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What is a Sunset Review? 
A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine 
whether or not they should be continued by the legislature.  Sunset reviews focus on creating the 
least restrictive form of regulation consistent with protecting the public.  In formulating 
recommendations, sunset reviews consider the public's right to consistent, high quality professional 
or occupational services and the ability of businesses to exist and thrive in a competitive market, free 
from unnecessary regulation. 
 

Sunset Reviews are Prepared by: 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 

Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550, Denver, CO 80202 

www.dora.state.co.us/opr
 

http://www.dora.state.co.us/opr
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BBaacckkggrroouunndd  
 

TThhee  SSuunnsseett  PPrroocceessss  
 
Regulation, when appropriate, can serve as a bulwark of consumer 
protection.  Regulatory programs can be designed to impact individual 
professionals, businesses or both.   
 
As regulatory programs relate to individual professionals, such programs 
typically entail the establishment of minimum standards for initial entry and 
continued participation in a given profession or occupation.  This serves to 
protect the public from incompetent practitioners.  Similarly, such programs 
provide a vehicle for limiting or removing from practice those practitioners 
deemed to have harmed the public. 
 
From a practitioner perspective, regulation can lead to increased prestige and 
higher income.  Accordingly, regulatory programs are often championed by 
those who will be the subject of regulation. 
 
On the other hand, by erecting barriers to entry into a given profession or 
occupation, even when justified, regulation can serve to restrict the supply of 
practitioners.  This not only limits consumer choice, but can also lead to an 
increase in the cost of services. 
 
There are also several levels of regulation.  Licensure is the most restrictive 
form of regulation, yet it provides the greatest level of public protection.  
Licensing programs typically involve the completion of a prescribed 
educational program (usually college level or higher) and the passage of an 
examination that is designed to measure a minimal level of competency.  
These types of programs usually entail title protection – only those individuals 
who are properly licensed may use a particular title(s) – and practice 
exclusivity – only those individuals who are properly licensed may engage in 
the particular practice.  While these requirements can be viewed as barriers 
to entry, they also afford the highest level of consumer protection in that they 
ensure that only those who are deemed competent may practice and the 
public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Certification programs offer a level of consumer protection similar to licensing 
programs, but the barriers to entry are generally lower.  The required 
educational program may be more vocational in nature, but the required 
examination should still measure a minimal level of competency.  Additionally, 
certification programs typically involve a non-governmental entity that 
establishes the training requirements and owns and administers the 
examination.  State certification is made conditional upon the individual 
practitioner obtaining and maintaining the relevant private credential.  These 
types of programs also usually entail title protection and practice exclusivity.  
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While the aforementioned requirements can still be viewed as barriers to 
entry, they afford a level of consumer protection that is lower than a licensing 
program.  They ensure that only those who are deemed competent may 
practice and the public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) 
used. 
 
Registration programs can serve to protect the public with minimal barriers to 
entry.  A typical registration program involves an individual satisfying certain 
prescribed requirements – typically non-practice related items, such as 
insurance or the use of a disclosure form – and the state, in turn, placing that 
individual on the pertinent registry.  These types of programs can entail title 
protection and practice exclusivity.  Since the barriers to entry in registration 
programs are relatively low, registration programs are generally best suited to 
those professions and occupations where the risk of public harm is relatively 
low, but nevertheless present.  In short, registration programs serve to notify 
the state of which individuals are engaging in the relevant practice and to 
notify the public of those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Finally, title protection programs represent one of the lowest levels of 
regulation.  Only those who satisfy certain prescribed requirements may use 
the relevant prescribed title(s).  Practitioners need not register or otherwise 
notify the state that they are engaging in the relevant practice, and practice 
exclusivity does not attach.  In other words, anyone may engage in the 
particular practice, but only those who satisfy the prescribed requirements 
may use the enumerated title(s).  This serves to indirectly ensure a minimal 
level of competency – depending upon the prescribed preconditions for use of 
the protected title(s) – and the public is alerted to the qualifications of those 
who may use the particular title(s). 
 
Licensing, certification and registration programs also typically involve some 
kind of mechanism for removing individuals from practice when such 
individuals engage in enumerated proscribed activities.  This is generally not 
the case with title protection programs. 
 
As regulatory programs relate to businesses, they can enhance public 
protection, promote stability and preserve profitability.  But they can also 
reduce competition and place administrative burdens on the regulated 
businesses. 
 
Regulatory programs that address businesses can involve certain capital, 
bookkeeping and other recordkeeping requirements that are meant to ensure 
financial solvency and responsibility, as well as accountability. Initially, these 
requirements may serve as barriers to entry, thereby limiting competition.  On 
an ongoing basis, the cost of complying with these requirements may lead to 
greater administrative costs for the regulated entity, which costs are ultimately 
passed on to consumers.   
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Many programs that regulate businesses involve examinations and audits of 
finances and other records, which are intended to ensure that the relevant 
businesses continue to comply with these initial requirements.  Although 
intended to enhance public protection, these measures, too, involve costs of 
compliance. 
 
Similarly, many regulated businesses may be subject to physical inspections 
to ensure compliance with health and safety standards.   
 
Regulation, then, has many positive and potentially negative consequences.   
 
The regulatory functions of the Colorado Collection Agency Board (Board) 
and its administrator from the Colorado Attorney General’s Office (AGO) in 
accordance with Article 14 of Title 12, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), 
shall terminate on July 1, 2008, unless continued by the General Assembly.  
During the year prior to this date, it is the duty of the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies (DORA) to conduct an analysis and evaluation of the 
regulation of collection agencies pursuant to section 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
 
The purpose of this review is to determine whether the Board and the 
currently prescribed regulation of collection agencies should be continued for 
the protection of the public and to evaluate the performance of the Board and 
the AGO and staff.  During this review, the Board and AGO must demonstrate 
that the Board and the regulation serve to protect the public health, safety or 
welfare, and that the regulation is the least restrictive regulation consistent 
with protecting the public.  DORA’s findings and recommendations are 
submitted via this report to the legislative committee of reference of the 
Colorado General Assembly.  Statutory criteria used in sunset reviews may 
be found in Appendix A on page 38. 
 
 

MMeetthhooddoollooggyy  
 
As part of this review, DORA staff attended Board meetings, interviewed 
Board members and AGO staff, reviewed Board and AGO records and 
minutes including complaint and disciplinary actions, interviewed officials with 
state and national professional associations, reviewed Colorado statutes and 
AGO rules, and reviewed other state and federal laws. 
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PPrrooffiillee  ooff  tthhee  IInndduussttrryy  
 
A collection agency is a third party debt collector, hired by a creditor (the 
collection agency’s client, which can be a large corporation, a small business 
or anything in between) to secure payment of a debt (sometimes referred to 
as an “account”) from a debtor (a consumer). Although payment 
arrangements may vary, the client generally pays the collection agency a 
percentage of the debt upon payment of the debt.  
 
A collection agency may employ one or several individuals, who operate in 
various capacities. A collection agency must employ a collections manager 
who runs the collection agency and is responsible for familiarity with the 
myriad provisions of the Colorado and federal Fair Debt Collection Practices 
Acts. A solicitor meets with clients and potential clients (creditors), to arrange 
for the client to hire the collection agency to collect an account or group of 
accounts. A debt collector is the individual who makes contact with the debtor 
and facilitates the attempts to collect the debt.  
 
The manner in which the collection agency collects the debt from the debtor is 
generally controlled in Colorado by statutes and rules enacted by the AGO. 
Typically, a client hires a collection agency to collect a debt only after it has 
been unable to secure payment from the debtor on its own. Thus, by the time 
a collection agency becomes involved, the debtor has already demonstrated 
a reluctance to pay the debt, for whatever reason.  
 
In cases where the debtor acknowledges the validity of the debt but is unable 
or unwilling to pay it in full, the collection agency may arrange a payment plan 
or may arrange for the debtor to pay a percentage of the debt in exchange for 
forgiving the balance. In cases where the debtor disputes the debt, the 
collection agency may work with the client and the debtor to determine the 
validity of the debt. 
 
If the debt is valid and the debtor still refuses to pay the debt, the collection 
agency may employ a variety of tools to compel payment. In some situations, 
simply threatening to use a particular tool will compel the debtor to pay. A 
collection agency may report the incident to the credit bureaus, thus 
damaging the debtor’s credit record and making it more difficult to obtain 
credit in the future, or it may initiate a legal action in court to compel payment.  
 
Debt collectors are frequently called upon to locate and notify customers of 
delinquent accounts, usually over the telephone, but sometimes by letter. 
When customers move without leaving a forwarding address, collectors may 
check with the post office, telephone companies, credit bureaus, or former 
neighbors to obtain the new address. The attempt to find the new address is 
called “skip tracing.” New computer systems assist in skip tracing by 
automatically tracking when customers change their address or contact 
information on any of their open accounts. 
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Once collectors find the debtor, they inform him or her of the overdue account 
and solicit payment. If necessary, they review the terms of the sale, service, 
or credit contract with the debtor. Collectors also may attempt to learn the 
cause of the delay in payment. Where feasible, they offer the debtor advice 
on how to pay off the debts, such as by taking out a bill consolidation loan. 
However, the collector’s prime objective is always to ensure that the debtor 
pays the debt in question. 
 
If a debtor agrees to pay, collectors record this commitment and check later to 
verify that the payment was indeed made. Collectors may have authority to 
grant an extension of time if debtors request one. If a debtor fails to respond, 
collectors prepare a statement indicating the debtor’s action for the credit 
department of the creditor-customer. In more extreme cases, collectors may 
initiate repossession proceedings, disconnect the debtor’s service, or transfer 
the account to an attorney for legal action. Most collectors handle other 
administrative functions for the accounts assigned to them, including 
recording changes of addresses and purging the records of the deceased. 
 
A debt collector is subjected to limitations in his or her attempt to collect on a  
debt.  A debt collector may not:  
 

• Use obscene or profane language.  
• Make repeated telephone calls to annoy or harass.  
• Telephone a debtor without stating the debt collector’s name and 

position within 60 seconds of initiating the call. The debt collector 
may use an alias (false name) if it is listed with the AGO.   

• Threaten violence against a debtor’s property, or reputation.  
• Publish or post the debt through any list other than a credit bureau 

report.  
• State that he or she is an attorney if he or she is not licensed to 

practice law.  
• Claim he or she works for a government agency or has governmental 

authority, if he or she does not.  
• Accuse a debtor of committing a crime or threaten a debtor with 

arrest.  
• Misrepresent that papers are legal documents when they are not, or 

that papers are not legal documents when in fact they are.  
• Misrepresent the amount of the debt or collect an amount greater 

than the amount a debtor legally owes.  
• Threaten to take actions that are illegal.  
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• Threaten to take or sell property, garnish wages, or attach bank 

accounts unless that action is legal and the debt collector intends to 
do it.  

• Report false credit information about a debtor.  
• Make a debtor accept collect calls or pay for telegrams.  
• Deposit a post-dated check before the date on the check. If the check 

is post-dated by more than five days, the debt collector must inform a 
debtor in writing, no less than three days nor more than 10 days, 
before the date the check will be deposited. 

• Contact a debtor by postcard.  
• Use an envelope that shows that the sender is a collection agency or 

that the contents concern a debt.  
• Call a debtor before 8:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. or at any other time 

or place which the debt collector knows is inconvenient for the 
debtor. If 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. is inconvenient, the debtor may notify 
the collection agency in writing, and indicate when the debtor can be 
called.  

• Discuss the debt with those who do not owe it without a debtor’s 
consent or a court order. The debt collector cannot state he or she is 
a debt collector or affiliated with a collection agency unless 
specifically asked. However, a spouse or co-signor who is also 
responsible for payment of the debt may be contacted. Neighbors 
and relatives may only be contacted to obtain a debtor’s address and 
phone number.  

• Contact a debtor if the debtor is represented by an attorney.  
 
 

HHiissttoorryy  ooff  RReegguullaattiioonn    
 
The Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA) can be found at 
Article 14 of Title 12, C.R.S. The CFDCPA is the state version of the federal 
Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The goal of both acts is to protect the 
public from harassment by third party debt collectors. The CFDCPA is a state 
law that governs the actions of debt collectors and collection agencies. It 
provides consumers with certain rights and restricts the practices collection 
agencies may use to attempt to collect debts. For example, the law prohibits 
collection agencies from using harassing, misleading, and unfair practices. 
The law prohibits unnecessary disclosure of the debt to parties not obligated 
to pay the debt. 
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The Board was originally established in 1937, in the Office of the Secretary of 
State. The Board was subsequently moved to DORA in conjunction with the 
Administrative Reorganization Act of 1968. Following the recommendations of 
a 1977 report from the Colorado State Auditor’s Office, the General Assembly 
moved the Board to the AGO by a Type 2 transfer. 
  
Because this transfer placed the Board under the direct supervision and 
control of the Board’s administrator (Administrator), the transfer had the 
practical effect of vesting the Board’s statutory authority, powers, duties and 
functions in the Administrator. The Administrator was defined as the 
administrator of the Uniform Consumer Credit Code (UCCC), also 
administered by the AGO. The administrator of the UCCC, and thus the 
Administrator, is an Assistant Attorney General. Following the Type 2 transfer, 
the Administrator delegated a great deal of authority back to the Board. 
 
Since 1977, the Board has had only five individual administrators, with the 
current administrator having served in this capacity for approximately 20 
years. 
 
During the 1990 legislative session, the General Assembly amended the 
CFDCPA to authorize the Administrator to develop and administer 
examinations and expressly vested all licensing authority in the Administrator. 
Since then, the Board has served as an advisory body to the Administrator 
and has primarily made determinations regarding bond distributions based on 
claims by clients of collection agencies, and more recently, advising the 
Administrator on specific disciplinary actions.  
 
A number of contentious issues arose during the 1999 sunset review of the 
CFDCPA, including DORA’s recommendation to discontinue the Board 
because of its limited effect on regulation. In the 2000 legislative session, the 
General Assembly re-enacted the CFDCPA, with several DORA-
recommended modifications, and postponed the issue of whether to 
discontinue the Board itself until 2003.  
 
House Bill 03-1219 was enacted by the General Assembly effective May 21, 
2003, subsequent to the 2002 sunset review conducted by DORA. This bill 
continued the Board until July 1, 2008. The general thrust of this legislation 
was to clarify existing rules, remove unnecessary regulation, repeal rules in 
conflict with the CFDCPA, and repeal certain consumer advisory notices. 
Specific consumer and creditor protections were also added, including 
communications restrictions and website information.  
 
In 2004, through the AGO enacting Rule 1.04(4), the Administrator was 
authorized to issue advisory letters for minor violations of statutory provisions. 
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LLeeggaall  FFrraammeewwoorrkk    
 
The Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA) is nearly identical 
to the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (federal FDCPA) on 
substantive issues regarding the collection of debts. However, the federal 
FDCPA fails to provide for licensure, bonding or discipline of licensees. A 
comparison summary of the federal and Colorado acts can be found below in 
Table 1. The CFDCPA contains additional provisions that create the Colorado 
Collection Agency Board (Board), and that direct the Attorney General’s 
Office (AGO) to promulgate rules to regulate collection agencies in Colorado. 
These rules are referred to as the Rules of the Administrator, and are found at 
4 Code of Colorado Regulations 903. 
 

Table 1 
Comparison of Colorado and Federal Regulations 

 

Colorado Federal 
1. Colorado law requires that the first written notice 
state: 
 

For Information about the Colorado Fair Debt 
Collection Practices Act, see 
www.ago.state.co.us/CADC/CADCMAIN.CFM

1. There is no similar federal notice 
requirement. 

2. Colorado law requires “meaningful disclosure” of 
a debt collector’s identity within 60 seconds of 
contact with the debtor. (§12-14-106(1)(f), C.R.S.) 

2. The federal law contains no time 
limitation. (15 U.S.C. 1692d(6)) 

3. Colorado law prohibits a collection agency from 
invoking a cognovit clause (confession of 
judgment). (§12-14-128(2), C.R.S.) 

3. There is no similar prohibition in the 
federal FDCPA but other federal laws 
may prohibit this. 

4. Colorado law establishes liability for harassment 
of a consumer’s employer and family in an invasion 
of privacy action. (§12-14-113(7), C.R.S.) 

4. Federal FDCPA does not specifically 
create this remedy in the act but it may 
still be actionable. 

5. The Colorado act requires surety bonds for non-
remittance of consumer funds and trust funds for 
client monies with requirements as to how often 
consumer payments must be disbursed to clients. 
(§§12-14-123(1)(c) & (d) and 12-14-124, C.R.S.) 

5. The federal FDCPA provides no 
creditor protections.  Aggrieved 
creditors have to sue privately in a 
court action. 

6. The Colorado act requires licensure of collection 
agencies (§12-14-115, C.R.S.).  Licenses may be 
revoked or suspended, licensees may be issued 
letters of admonition, or fined $1,000 per violation 
and certain violations of the CFDCPA are criminal 
misdemeanors. (§§12-14-129 and 12-14-130(10), 
C.R.S.)  Rules and regulations on standards of 
behavior may be issued. 

6. The federal FDCPA is primarily 
enforced by the Federal Trade 
Commission. (15 U.S.C. 21)  It does 
not issue any rules and there are no 
licensure requirements. 

7. Collection agencies may not report debts to 
consumer reporting agencies and credit bureaus 
until 30 days after the initial written notice is mailed.  
This does not apply to check collection or if there is 
not a valid known address for the consumer. (§12-
14-108(1)(j), C.R.S.) 

7. There is no similar provision in 
federal law. 
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While the federal and Colorado acts are very similar, the CFDCPA provides a 
few additional specific consumer protections. For example, the CFDCPA:  
 

• Requires a collection agency to identify itself as such within the first 60 
seconds of a telephone call.  

• Requires a collection agency’s initial communication with a debtor to 
also inform the debtor of the AGO’s website in order to obtain more 
information about his/her rights under the CFDCPA.  

• Prohibits a collection agency from communicating with a consumer-
reporting agency earlier than 30 days after sending the initial notice to 
the debtor.  

• Requires licensing and bonding of collection agencies.  
 
Administrative enforcement of the CFDCPA is vested in the Board.1 However, 
the Board is under the direct supervision and control of the Board’s 
administrator (Administrator), who may exercise any of the powers granted to 
the Board.2 The Administrator of the Board is also the administrator of the 
Uniform Consumer Credit Code.3  
 
The five members of the Board are appointed by the Governor to three-year 
terms, and no member may serve more than two consecutive terms.4 Three 
of the Board members must have been engaged in the collection business in 
Colorado with a licensed collection agency, and two of the members 
represent the general public.5 Board members receive a $50 per diem and 
reimbursement of actual expenses for attending Board meetings.6   
 
The Board must meet at least annually so that its members can elect its 
chairperson, vice-chairperson and secretary.7 Beyond this annual meeting, 
the Board is only required to meet “regularly” as the business of the Board 
may necessitate.8  
 
The Administrator is authorized to develop any examination required for the 
administration of the CFDCPA, and to establish any fees associated with, and 
the passing score for, such examination. Any such examination must be 
offered at least twice per year.9  Additionally, the Administrator is authorized 
to approve or deny any license application.10  

                                            
1  § 12-14-114, C.R.S. 
2  § 12-14-117(1), C.R.S. 
3  § 12-14-103(1), C.R.S. 
4  § 12-14-116(1), C.R.S. 
5  § 12-14-116(2), C.R.S. 
6  § 12-14-116(3), C.R.S. 
7  § 12-14-116(4), C.R.S. 
8  § 12-14-116(5), C.R.S. 
9  § 12-14-117(2), C.R.S. 
10 § 12-14-117(3), C.R.S. 
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Any person acting as a collection agency must obtain and maintain a valid 
license issued by the Administrator.11 It is unlawful for a collection agency to 
operate under any name other than that under which it is licensed.12  
 
To obtain a license, the collection agency must:  
 

• Be owned by, or employ as a collections manager or executive officer, 
at least one person who has held a position of responsibility in an 
established collection agency for at least two years, or other, similar 
experience as determined by the Board.13  

• Employ a collections manager who has passed the examination 
administered by the Administrator and who shall be responsible for the 
actions of the individual debt collectors in the collection agency’s 
office.14   

• File a bond in the amount of $12,000, plus $2,000 for each $10,000 
remitted or owed to all clients during the previous year, but not to 
exceed $20,000.15  

 
In addition, the collection agency must provide to the Administrator:  
 

• The location, ownership and previous history of the business and 
name, address, age and relevant debt-collection experience of each of 
the principals of the business.16  

• A duly verified financial statement for the previous year.17  

• If a corporation, the name(s) of the shareholder(s) and number of 
shares held by any shareholder owning 10 percent or more of the 
stock.18   

 
For each principal and the collections manager, the collection agency must 
provide information relating to:  
 

• The conviction for any felony or the acceptance by a court of a plea of 
not guilty or nolo contendere to any felony.19  

• The denial, revocation or suspension of any license issued to any 
collection agency that employed or was owned by such persons.20  

                                            
11  §§ 12-14-115(1)(a), and 12-14-118, C.R.S. 
12  § 12-14-115(1)(b), C.R.S. 
13  § 12-14-119(1)(a), C.R.S. 
14  § 12-14-119(1)(b), C.R.S. 
15  § 12-14-124(1), C.R.S. 
16  § 12-14-119(2)(a), C.R.S. 
17  § 12-14-119(2)(b), C.R.S. 
18  § 12-14-119(2)(c), C.R.S. 
19  § 12-14-119(2)(d)(I), C.R.S. 
20  § 12-14-119(2)(d)(II), C.R.S. 
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• Any other disciplinary or adverse actions taken against any collection 

agency that employed or was owned by such persons.21  

• The suspension or termination of approval of any collections manager 
under the CFDCPA, or any other disciplinary or adverse action taken 
against the applicant, its principals or collections manager by the 
Board or any other jurisdiction.22   

 
Although collections managers are not licensed, they are required to take and 
pass a written examination. A person may take the collections manager 
examination up to three times. If the person cannot pass in three attempts, 
the collection agency must designate someone else as its collections 
manager.23  
 
A collection agency must obtain a license for its principal place of business, 
but if the collection agency maintains branch offices, it need only notify the 
Administrator of the location of each branch office within 30 days of the 
commencement of business at each branch office.24   
 
Finally, a nonrefundable investigation fee, as determined by the Board, must 
accompany the license application.25 Once the application is approved, the 
collection agency must pay a nonrefundable license fee, as determined by the 
Board.26   
 
The Administrator may deny a license or license renewal if any of the grounds 
for disciplinary action exist: for failure to satisfy the application requirements; 
if the applicant attempted to obtain or obtained the license fraudulently; or if 
the collection agency lacks a positive net worth.27 Any such decision by the 
Administrator may be appealed pursuant to the State Administrative 
Procedure Act.28   
 
The Administrator may establish ongoing renewal dates.29 Currently all 
collection agency licenses expire on July 1 of each year.   
 
If, within 90 days of notification from the Administrator that a renewal 
application is incomplete, or that any part of the fee due is unpaid, the license 
is deemed to have lapsed and the collection agency must apply for a new 
license if it intends to continue operating as such.30

                                            
21  § 12-14-119(2)(d)(III), C.R.S. 
22  § 12-14-119(2)(d)(IV), C.R.S. 
23  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.01. 
24  § 12-14-119(7), C.R.S. 
25  § 12-14-119(3), C.R.S. 
26  § 12-14-119(4), C.R.S. 
27  § 12-14-120(2), C.R.S. 
28  § 12-14-120(3), C.R.S. 
29  § 12-14-119(5), C.R.S. 
30  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.02(2). 
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If a licensed collection agency is a corporation and there is a change in 
ownership of 50 percent or more of the stock, or if there is a change in the 
ownership structure of the collection agency (i.e., changing to or from a sole 
proprietorship, partnership or corporation), then the collection agency must 
apply for a new license.31   
 
At all times, a licensed collection agency is obligated to maintain: liquid 
assets, the value of which shall not be less than $2,500 more than all sums 
due and owing to all of its clients; an office in this state that is open during 
normal business hours and staffed by at least one full-time employee; and a 
trust account for the benefit of its clients that contains funds sufficient to pay 
all sums due or owing to all of its clients. In addition, all funds collected for a 
client must be remitted to that client within 30 days after the last day of the 
month in which such funds were collected.32

 
A licensed collection agency must produce, upon demand of the Board, a 
complete set of form notices or form letters used by the collection agency. A 
licensed collection agency is liable for the violations caused by its employees, 
including its collections manager, debt collectors and solicitors.33   
 
The owner of a sole proprietorship, partner of a partnership, member of a 
limited liability company or officer or director of a corporation that is a licensed 
collection agency may not have been convicted of, pleaded guilty to or 
entered a plea of nolo contendere in any crime involving fraud, as delineated 
in Part 4 of Article 4 (theft related crimes) or in Parts 1, 2, 3, 5 or 7 of Article 5 
of Title 18, C.R.S. (generally, fraud, forgery, deceptive business practices, 
and offenses related to the uniform commercial code).34 No collections 
manager, debt collector, or solicitor may be employed with such criminal 
history.35

  
The Board may receive complaints regarding violation of the CFDCPA by any 
interested person, or it may launch investigations on its own motion.36 During 
the course of an investigation, the Board may examine the books, records 
and files of any licensee; require the licensee to provide a verified statement 
of assets and liabilities, including a detailed statement of amounts due 
claimants; issue subpoenas to witnesses and compel them to give testimony 
under oath.37   
 

                                            
31  § 12-14-122(2)(c), C.R.S. 
32  § 12-14-123(1), C.R.S. 
33  Ibid. 
34  § 12-14-123(2)(b), C.R.S. 
35  § 12-14-123(2)(a), C.R.S. 
36  §§ 12-14-130(1) and (2), C.R.S, 
37  §§ 12-14-130(5), (6) and (7), C.R.S. 
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If the Board finds cause to believe that a violation of the CFDCPA or the rules 
and regulations promulgated thereunder has occurred and determines to take 
disciplinary action other than issuing a letter of admonition, it must notify the 
licensee and either hold a hearing itself, or refer the matter to the Office of 
Administrative Courts for a hearing before an administrative law judge.38  The 
issuance of a letter of admonition does not require a hearing prior to such 
issuance.39   
 
Upon a finding that a collection agency or a collections manager has violated 
the CFDCPA or the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, available 
sanctions include: issuing a letter of admonition; revocation or suspension of 
the license of such collection agency or the approval of such collections 
manager; placing such collection agency or collections manager on probation 
or imposing an administrative fine of up to $1,000 per violation.40 Similarly, 
such a finding may also serve as the basis for denying a license.41   
  
Either the Board or the Administrator may issue a letter of admonition without 
a hearing, except that the collection agency or the collections manager 
receiving such letter may request a hearing before the Board to appeal the 
issuance of the letter.42   
 
If a collection agency’s license, or a collections manager’s Board approval, is 
revoked, that person may not be relicensed or reapproved until five years 
have passed.43   
 
Appeals of any final agency action are within the jurisdiction of the Colorado 
Court of Appeals.44  
  
All funds collected pursuant to the CFDCPA, except for fines, are collected by 
the Administrator and transmitted to the State Treasurer for deposit in the 
Collection Agency Cash Fund.45  Fines are transmitted to the state General 
Fund.46

  
A licensed collection agency must notify the Administrator within 30 days if 
the collection agency changes its business name or, if a corporation, any 
change in ownership of 10 percent or more, but less than 50 percent 
occurred.47  The license of the collection agency expires on the 30th day after 
such occurrence if the collection agency fails to submit the proper 
notifications.48   
                                            
38  §§ 12-14-130(8) and (9), C.R.S.  
39  § 12-14-130(10)(b), C.R.S. 
40  § 12-14-130(10)(a), C.R.S. 
41  Ibid. 
42  § 12-14-130(10)(b), C.R.S. 
43  § 12-14-130(10)(d), C.R.S. 
44  § 12-14-130(11), C.R.S. 
45  § 12-14-136(1)(a), C.R.S. 
46  § 12-14-136(2), C.R.S. 
47  § 12-14 122(1)(a), C.R.S. 
48  § 12-14-122(1)(b), C.R.S. 
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Upon the change of a collections manager, a licensed collection agency must 
notify the Administrator and appoint a new collections manager within 30 
days. The Administrator has 15 days in which to approve or deny the 
qualifications of the new collections manager.49   
 
It is a Class 1 misdemeanor for any person to:50  

 
• Refuse or fail to comply with the CFDCPA.  

• Aid or abet any person in operating or attempting to operate a 
collection agency in violation of the CFDCPA.  

• Recover or attempt to recover treble damages for any bounced check 
without complying with section 13-21-109, C.R.S.  

 
It is also a Class 1 misdemeanor:51  
 

• For any licensed collection agency or any attorney representing a 
licensed collection agency to invoke a cognovit clause.  

• For any licensed collection agency to render legal services or to 
advertise that it will render legal services.  

• For any licensed collection agency, collections manager, debt collector 
or solicitor to refuse or fail to comply with any rule or regulation 
promulgated under the CFDCPA, or to aid or abet any person in such 
refusal or failure.  
 

The Administrator has promulgated rules and regulations concerning 
licensing and disciplinary matters, consumer protection, and creditor 
protections.  
 
The Administrator will not issue a license to a collection agency until all 
required documents have been filed, all fees paid and the designated 
collections manager has passed the required examination. A collection 
agency with an incomplete application has 90 days to provide the required 
items from the time the Administrator notifies it of any deficiencies. The 
collection agency may not engage in collections activities until the license is 
issued.52  
 

                                            
49  § 12-14-122(3), C.R.S. 
50  §§ 12-14-128(1), and 12-14-129, C.R.S. 
51  §§ 12-14-128(2)-(4), and 12-14-129, C.R.S. 
52  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.02. 

 

 14



 
If a licensed collection agency’s debt collectors use aliases while engaging in 
collection activities, the collection agency must ensure that each debt 
collector uses only one alias and the collection agency must keep records for 
up to two years detailing the aliases and the true names of the debt 
collectors.53  
 
If the Administrator issues a letter of admonition, it must be mailed by first-
class certified mail. The recipient may appeal the issuance of the letter within 
40 days of the date of the letter.54  
  
Upon the revocation, expiration or surrender of a license, the collection 
agency must cease all collection activities and return all client accounts within 
30 days, and file an affidavit with the Administrator attesting that this has 
been done. Additionally, any consumer payments received after the 
revocation, expiration or surrender of the license must be immediately 
forwarded, in full, to the client.55  
 
The Administrator has also promulgated rules that are intended to offer 
protection to debtors. Every collection notice must contain the collection 
agency’s name, mailing address and telephone number, as well as a 
reference to the AGO’s website containing information about consumers 
rights under the CFDCPA.56  
 
Once the collection agency and the debtor enter into a payment agreement or 
schedule, the collection agency is prohibited from engaging in unnecessary, 
additional collection activities on that debt.57  
 
Unless authorized by statute or the instrument creating the debt, a collection 
agency is prohibited from collecting or attempting to collect from any debtor 
any charge for collection.58  
 
If a debtor overpays a debt to a collection agency by more than $5, the 
collection agency must refund the overpayment within 30 days of the end of 
the month in which the overpayment was made.59  
 
If a debtor pays cash to a collection agency, the collection agency must issue 
a receipt to the debtor within five business days of receiving the payment.60  
 

                                            
53  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.03. 
54  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.04. 
55  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.05. 
56  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.01, and § 12-14-105(3)(c), C.R.S. 
57  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.02. 
58  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.03. 
59  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.04. 
60  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.05. 
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A collection agency must provide to a debtor, within 10 days of any written 
request to do so, a written statement of the debtor’s payments. The debtor is 
entitled to one free written statement during any 12-month period. Additional 
statements may be provided at a cost not to exceed $5. However, once a 
debt has been paid or settled in full, and the debtor requests it, the collection 
agency must provide to the debtor, free of charge, a written statement or 
receipt within five business days.61  
 
Collection agencies must maintain accurate and contemporaneous records of 
all communications with a debtor for two years.62 Similarly, collection 
agencies must maintain records of payments for two years.63  
 
To better protect the privacy of the debtor, when obtaining or attempting to 
obtain information as to the location of a debtor, collection agencies are 
prohibited from using business cards that indicate that the collection agency 
is engaged in the business of collections.64  
 
A collection agency must post a payment to a debtor’s account on the day the 
payment is received, unless payment is made by post-dated check.65 If a 
debtor verbally authorizes electronic payment to the collection agency, the 
collection agency must obtain the debtor’s written permission prior to the date 
of the payment, record the verbal authorization or transfer the phone call to a 
manager or other debt collector to verify the amount, means and verbal 
authorization. If the debtor disputes the purported oral authorization, the 
collection agency must refund the full payment amount within five business 
days.66  
 
If a collection agency receives any payment, but is unable to identify the client 
account on whose behalf payment was made, the collection agency must 
return the entire payment within 30 days after the end of the month in which 
the payment was made.67  
 
The Administrator has promulgated several rules to enhance creditor 
protection. While section 12-14-123(1)(c), C.R.S., requires all licensed 
collection agencies to maintain trust accounts, a collection agency that 
maintains one or more trust accounts in another state need not maintain such 
an account in Colorado. Similarly, if the collection agency does not receive 
payments from debtors (because payments are remitted directly to the 
creditor), the collection agency does not need to maintain a trust account.68  
  

                                            
61  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.06. 
62  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.07. 
63  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 3.03. 
64  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.08. 
65  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.12. 
66  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 2.14. 
67  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 3.02. 
68  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 3.01. 
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The CFDCPA requires a licensed collection agency to post a bond to protect 
its clients in the event the collection agency fails to remit payments to its 
clients. However, in lieu of a bond, the collection agency may maintain a 
savings account, deposit or certificate of deposit with a bank in Colorado so 
long as such account is assigned to the Board for a period ending two years 
after the revocation, expiration or surrender of the collection agency’s 
license.69  
 
 

                                            
69  Rules of the Administrator, Rule 3.04. 
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PPrrooggrraamm  DDeessccrriippttiioonn  
 
The Colorado Collection Agency Board (Board) is a Type 2 board that serves 
in a largely advisory capacity to the Board’s administrator (Administrator). The 
Administrator is an Assistant Attorney General who is also the administrator 
of the Uniform Consumer Credit Code (UCCC).  
 
The Administrator and the Attorney General’s Office (AGO) are not legally 
required to solicit or adhere to the Board’s input regarding licensing and 
disciplinary matters, rulemaking proceedings or bond hearings. Because the 
Board may only make recommendations on such issues, the Administrator 
and the AGO may adopt the Board’s recommendations, disregard such 
recommendations, or avoid soliciting the Board’s input altogether.  
 
Prior to 2002, the Board officially met on a quarterly basis, and beginning in 
2002, the Board and the Administrator decided to hold monthly meetings on a 
tentative basis to accommodate a new process for issuing letters of 
admonition. Although the Board now considers holding meetings on a 
monthly basis, the reality is that meetings are set based upon the press of 
business and Board member availability.  
 
Over the four calendar years beginning in 2003, and ending in 2006, the 
Board met 21 times, an average of slightly over five meetings per year. 
During fiscal year 06-07, the Board met six times (July, September, 
November, January, February and May).  
 
The Board had a meeting set for April 2007.  However, only two of the five 
board members attended, causing the meeting to be cancelled as a quorum 
was not present (three members are necessary for a quorum). The Board 
also had meetings set for June, July, and August, 2007. Each of these three 
meetings were cancelled due to a lack of pending business. Additionally, one 
Board member was absent for the first three meetings in 2007 (January, 
February, and April).  
 
For the most part, these meetings consist of the Board members hearing 
statements or explanations from licensees in pending disciplinary actions 
(and generally involving the issuance of a letter of admonition against the 
licensee), and subsequently making recommendations relating to the 
licensees’ possible disciplinary sanctions. The Administrator decides the 
appropriate sanction after the meeting, and informs the Board of the decision 
at the next scheduled meeting. 
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Generally, the balance of the meetings consist of the Administrator updating 
Board members on previous disciplinary actions taken; discussion of 
budgetary, fee, and bonding matters; as well as discussions regarding 
possible rule changes.  
 
However, if there are no letters of admonition to discuss, and if there is no 
business for the Board to address, these meetings are canceled. Board 
meetings typically last less than two hours, and an average meeting is not 
attended by members of the public. However, the Board’s agendas include 
time for public comments and questions. 
 
Since July 1, 2005, 4.5 full-time equivalent (FTE) employees have staffed the 
program. These include 1.0 FTE Program Assistant, 2.0 FTE Compliance 
Investigators, 1.0 Administrative Assistant, and 0.5 FTE Assistant Attorney 
General, who represents the program in disciplinary and other legal matters. 
The position of the program’s Administrator, who is also the administrator of 
the UCCC, is entirely funded by the UCCC. The percentage of time the 
Administrator actually spends working on program or Board-related issues 
has steadily increased from approximately 18 percent in fiscal year 97-98, to 
approximately 45 percent in fiscal year 06-07.  
 
Table 2 illustrates the program’s total expenditures and staffing over the five 
fiscal years indicated. It is noteworthy that this table demonstrates a gradual 
increase in both expenditures and staffing. 

 
Table 2 

Program Expenditures 
 

Fiscal Year Total Board Expenditure FTE Employees 
01-02 $177,450 2.5 
02-03 $192,671 2.5 
03-04 $198,727 3.5 
04-05 $197,380 3.5 
05-06 $227,035 4.5 

 
 

LLiicceennssee//RReeggiissttrraattiioonn    
 
The Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA) does not excuse 
absolve, or otherwise protect debtors from paying lawfully owed debts and 
makes no attempt to address whether a debt is owed. Rather, the CFDCPA 
merely establishes the parameters within which collection agencies may 
attempt to collect payment of the debt. It accomplishes this by prohibiting 
collection agencies from engaging in certain types of oppressive, unfair 
and/or abusive practices. Thus, this program which regulates collection 
agencies has a mission that includes protecting debtors, and creditors who 
employ licensed collection agencies 
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To protect debtors, the program, through its statutes, rules and regulations, 
prohibits unfair, deceptive and abusive collection practices and disclosure of 
the debt by collection agencies to third parties (such as neighbors, employers, 
etc.), places limits on the hours during which collection agencies may contact 
debtors and ensures that the debtor may obtain verification of the debt and 
may refuse to pay the debt. In addition, the CFDCPA helps to preserve the 
rights of the debtor by requiring the collection agency to cease 
communicating with the consumer/debtor upon written request.  
 
To protect collection agency clients, the program, through its statutes, rules 
and regulations, requires collection agencies to: maintain trust accounts for 
client funds; provide clients with monthly accountings and remittances; and 
post surety bonds to partially compensate clients in the event of non-
remittance of debts successfully collected from assigned collection accounts. 
  
The program regulates collection agencies through licensing the collection 
agencies themselves, and by requiring collections managers to pass an 
examination to ensure that they understand the intricacies of the CFDCPA, 
and how it differs from the federal FDCPA.  
 
The program is cash funded from license and examination fees, and all fees 
are set on a yearly basis administratively. 
 
Table 3 contains the fee amounts for fiscal year 06-07, including licensure, 
investigation, and examination fees. 
 

Table 3 
Fees 

 
Type of Fee Amount of Fee 

New Collection Agency License $750 - increases to $800 for fiscal year 07-08 
Investigation Fee $300 
Renewal License Fee $350 - increases to $425 for fiscal year 07-08 
Collections Manager Examination Fee $100 
 
The Administrator conducts an investigation of all new applicants. An 
investigation of an applicant for a new license consists of reviewing the 
application for completeness and accuracy and verifying that the applicant’s 
financial statements are true and correct. In addition, AGO staff confirms the 
applicant’s license status in other states, if applicable, and may also review 
public documents on file with the Office of the Secretary of State. If the 
applicant, or any of its principals, were previously licensed, prior licensing 
records are also reviewed.  
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The AGO now licenses and regulates almost 600 collection agencies 
operating in Colorado. That figure is more than twice the number of licensees 
from 10 years prior (265 licensees in fiscal year 96-97). Table 4 illustrates the 
total number of new and renewal licenses issued to collection agencies in 
Colorado over the last five fiscal years, and demonstrates that the number of 
new licensees and renewals has generally increased over the past five years. 

 
Table 4 

Licensing Information 
 

Number of Licenses 
Fiscal Year New Renewal TOTAL 

01-02 64 322 386 
02-03 84 347 431 
03-04 108 385 493 
04-05 115 433 548 
05-06 93 493 586 

 
Although the AGO does not specifically keep track of this data, the 
Administrator estimates that, on average, approximately 70 days pass from 
the time a collection agency license application is filed until the time the 
license is actually issued. However, the Administrator reports that this lengthy 
delay is primarily due to the fact that most, if not all, applications are 
incomplete when originally submitted. Each licensee’s collections manager 
must take and pass the written examination, which is given monthly. New 
collection agencies typically wait to obtain their surety bond until the 
collections manager passes this examination. Thus, license applications are 
often incomplete when originally submitted because either the collections 
manager has not yet passed the examination or the collection agency has not 
yet obtained its surety bond, or both. Once an application is complete, 
however, a license is typically issued within three days. 
 
Pursuant to the Rules of the Administrator, Rule 1.02(2), if a license 
application is still incomplete 90 days after notification from the Board that 
said application is incomplete, the application is null and void, and the 
applicant must start the process anew, including payment of all fees. 
 
 

EExxaammiinnaattiioonn  IInnffoorrmmaattiioonn  
 
The CFDCPA requires all licensed collection agencies to employ an approved 
collections manager to supervise debt collectors and be responsible for 
compliance with Colorado’s collection laws. Collection managers must pass 
the collections manager examination and pay a $100 test fee. 
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The AGO administers the Collections Manager Examination, which is an 
examination on substantive knowledge related primarily to the CFDCPA. The 
examination is held in the AGO’s Denver offices on the second Friday of each 
month. Prior to March 2002, the examination was an open book examination. 
However, since that time, the AGO has made it a closed book examination. 
The test consists of 30 multiple-choice questions and lasts approximately one 
hour. The examination covers the CFDCPA, Rules of the Administrator, and 
laws related to collections activities.  As noted earlier, Colorado’s collection 
laws include consumer and creditor protections not found in the federal Fair 
Debt Collections Practice Act (federal FDCPA).  Knowledge of the federal law 
alone is not sufficient to pass the collections manager examination.          
 
Although test scores have tended to decline since it became a closed book 
test, no one has failed the examination in the last five fiscal years. Table 5 
illustrates the number of examinations given for each of the last five fiscal 
years. 
 

Table 5 
Examination Information 

 

Fiscal Year Number of 
Examinations Given 

01-02 100 
02-03 112 
03-04 135 
04-05 121 
05-06 112 

 
When an examinee passes the examination, the AGO issues a letter attesting 
to that fact within 10 days of the examination. This letter, in turn, can be used 
to demonstrate to a collection agency that the individual has passed the 
examination, and it can be used by a collection agency to demonstrate to the 
AGO that its collections manager has passed the required examination. 
 
The collections manager applicant may take the examination three times. 
After three unsuccessful attempts, a new collections manager applicant must 
be designated.  
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Out-of-state collection agencies must be licensed in Colorado and are subject 
to the CFDCPA if they solicit clients in Colorado, if they collect for clients who 
have a place of business in Colorado, or if they buy Colorado originated debts 
in default and collect those debts. However, Colorado eliminates state 
licensing for out-of-state collection agencies that: 
 

• Collect debts incurred outside of Colorado;  

• Use only interstate communications to collect these debts; and 

• Are located in a state which regulates and licenses collection agencies 
and does not require licensing for similarly situated Colorado collection 
agencies. 

 
States with no collection agency licensing and regulation will not meet this 
last condition. If an out-of-state collection agency regularly collects debts 
incurred in Colorado, and from Colorado residents, it must be licensed in 
Colorado. The AGO generally defines “regular” as at least 10 collection 
accounts per year. 
 
Pursuant to section 12-14-103(2)(e)(ll), Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), 
attorneys do not have to be licensed by the Board if they regularly engage in 
collections or attempted collection of debts in Colorado. 
 
 

CCoommppllaaiinnttss//DDiisscciipplliinnaarryy  AAccttiioonnss    
 
The AGO receives, on average, approximately 700 formal complaints (in 
writing) each year. The number of formal complaints received has remained 
relatively constant over the past 10 years.  Table 6 provides an illustration of 
the number and types of allegations contained in the complaints that the AGO 
has received over the course of the last five fiscal years. The total number of 
allegations exceeds the total number of complaints because some complaints 
assert more than a single allegation. 
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Table 6 

Complaint and Allegation Information70

 
Nature of Complaints FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06
Amount Not Due 89 202 247 335 414 
Costs/Interest Added to 
Debt 37 56 35 27 22 

Credit Reporting 105 120 100 91 80 
Failure to Cease 
Communications 84 81 151 77 79 

False or Misleading 
Representations 38 69 72 24 14 

Harassment & Abuse 126 153 176 158 206 
NSF71 Check 
Collection 32 28 42 15 8 

Payment 
Arrangements 22 32 22 26 21 

Third-Party Contact or 
Disclosure 33 52 78 63 44 

Validation Notice of 
Consumer Rights 64 57 56 37 21 

Verification/Proof of 
Debt 182 140 135 74 63 

TOTAL ALLEGATIONS 1,118 1,278 1,634 1,191 1,211 
TOTAL COMPLAINTS 456 667 741 787 688 
Average Days to 
Resolve 45 129 72 79 49 

 
For the majority of fiscal year 02-03, personnel issues arose relating to the 
program’s sole investigator. This resulted in a substantial increase in the 
average number of days necessary to resolve complaints, and is reflected in 
Table 6, above, and was resolved in the following fiscal year. 
 
Over the past five fiscal years, the most common complaints concern issues 
relating to debts not owed, harassment and abuse, and debt validity 
problems. One of the original justifications for enacting the CFDCPA was to 
help prevent the harassment and abuse of debtors by collection agencies. 
The complaint figures in Table 6 demonstrate that this justification continues 
to be a valid concern.  
 
When a complaint is initially received by the AGO, the program’s 
administrative assistant reviews it to ensure that AGO jurisdiction is proper. If 
the AGO has jurisdiction, a copy of the complaint is mailed to the collection 
agency, which is given 20 days in which to respond.  

                                            
70  Complaint information contains only major categories of complaints.  There are approximately 30 different 
categories of complaints, many consisting of only a few allegations. 
71  NSF = Non-sufficient funds. 
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One of the compliance investigators reviews the complaint and the collection 
agency’s response, and decides whether additional investigation is necessary 
to determine whether the law has been violated. If the compliance investigator 
concludes that the law has not been violated, that an allegation is lacking 
adequate proof, or that there is no corroborating evidence of pattern, a letter 
is sent to the complainant advising the consumer of his/her rights, including 
the right to sue. Additionally, the closure letter may explain why the AGO is 
unable to take disciplinary action. A copy of this letter is also sent to the 
collection agency, upon request. 
 
However, if the compliance investigator determines that the law has been 
violated, the case file is forwarded to the Administrator, who may issue an 
advisory letter, a letter of admonition, or pursue other disciplinary actions. 
 
When the circumstances warrant, the Administrator may negotiate a 
stipulation, usually accompanied by a fine, or file a Notice of Charges with the 
Office of Administrative Courts to pursue license suspension, revocation or 
fines. This entire process, from the time the written complaint is received until 
final disposition, frequently takes no more than 45 to 80 days, although this 
process can take much longer if the matter winds its way through the court 
and appellate system. 
 
Although the number of complaints received by the AGO is rather high, many 
of the complaints are dismissed for either lack of jurisdiction, or lack of a 
specific statutory violation. Nonetheless, Table 7 clearly demonstrates that 
the total number of disciplinary actions taken has approximately doubled over 
the last five fiscal years. Significantly, injunctions and letters of admonition 
have increased dramatically, when other forms of discipline have remained 
relatively constant. 

 

 25



 
Table 7 

Final Agency Action  
 

Type of Action FY 01-02 FY 02-03 FY 03-04 FY 04-05 FY 05-06 
Revocation 0 0 0 1 1 
Summary Suspensions 0 0 1 0 1 
Suspensions 0 0 1 0 0 
Probation 0 0 0 0 0 
Surrender of License 0 0 0 0 0 
Letter of Admonition 17 12 16 26 43 
Letters of Admonition 
discussed with Board 1 2 1 6 8 

License/Renewal 
Denials 0 1 0 1 5 

Injunction/Stipulated 
Agreement (with or 
without fines) 

6 8 16 9 22 

Surety Bond Hearings 1 0 1 3 0 
Cease & Desist Notices 43 26 58 59 59 
TOTAL 67 47 93 99 131 

 
Both the CFDCPA and the federal FDCPA provide for private rights of action 
for consumers against collection agencies for the same types of actions for 
which the AGO may proceed administratively. The AGO prefers to refer to its 
disciplinary case dismissals as “closure – no action” so as not to inhibit a 
debtor’s ability to take civil action against a collection agency. 
 
Additionally, the term “dismissal” carries the connotation that the actions 
complained of did not constitute a violation, and this is not always the case. 
Due to limited resources, the AGO is not able to fully investigate and take 
disciplinary action on all of the complaints it receives. If an allegation or 
complaint is going to be particularly difficult to prove and the collection agency 
has not established a pattern of similar practice, the AGO may close the case 
without action so that it may dedicate its limited resources to cases that it can 
prove. An example of this would be where a debtor alleges that the debt 
collector used profanity during a telephone conversation, the debt collector 
denies such conduct and the conversation was not recorded. Rather than 
expend the resources necessary to attempt to determine which party is telling 
the truth, the AGO closes the complaint without action, which does not 
impact, as a practical matter, the debtor’s ability to sue the collection agency 
in court.  
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The AGO closes a considerable number of cases without taking action. This 
is due, in large part, to the fact that the majority of complaints it receives fail to 
clearly establish violations of the CFDCPA. Rather, many complaints are filed 
by debtors who are angry that a particular collection agency did something 
that was lawful, but that the debtor dislikes, such as reporting debt information 
to a credit-reporting bureau. 
 
Table 7 indicates that the AGO revoked two collection agency licenses during 
the past five years, and suspended one license. However, the AGO did not 
place any licensees on probation, or effect the surrender of any licenses in 
this time period. The CFDCPA requires the AGO to hold a hearing before 
taking any disciplinary action other than issuing a letter of admonition. Since 
the AGO generally offers to settle cases against collection agencies before 
going to a hearing, by offering a stipulation that typically could include a fine, 
the collection agencies affected usually accept the proffered stipulation. The 
AGO also effected two summary suspensions over the past three years. 
Summary suspensions may be imposed only when there is at least the 
potential for imminent public harm, and this action does not require a hearing 
prior to imposition. 
 
As with many other business-related licensing/regulatory programs, 
suspending a collection agency’s license affects not just the licensee, but all 
of its employees as well. When a collection agency’s license is suspended, 
the agency is not able to legally engage in collection activities, requiring it to 
either furlough its employees during the period of suspension or pay them for 
not working. In addition, a suspension can adversely affect, and be 
detrimental to, the collection agency’s clients. Thus, collection agencies 
facing a suspension are frequently agreeable to paying a fine, and/or 
accepting a stipulation as a means of resolving a complaint. As Table 7 
indicates, in fiscal years 03-04, 04-05, and 05-06, there was a sizeable 
increase in the total number of disciplinary actions taken, with the most 
dramatic increase in the number of letters of admonition issued by the AGO. 
Letters of admonition do not result in a work stoppage at respondent 
collection agencies, and consequently a letter of admonition can be a viable 
option for the respondent who wishes to ensure that a suspension or work 
stoppage is avoided. 
 
Though fines may be imposed for a variety of reasons, most fines, and those 
with the largest dollar figures, are typically imposed for unlicensed activity. In 
determining the amount of such a fine, the Administrator considers the 
number of accounts the unlicensed collection agency has obtained, the 
number of consumers contacted, the number of debts collected and the 
length of time the unlicensed collection agency has been operating as a 
collection agency. Table 8 more clearly illustrates the amounts of fines 
imposed during the last five fiscal years. 
 
  

 

 27



 
Table 8 

Fine Information 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

Total Number of 
Fines Total Amount of Fines Range of Fines 

01-02 5 $48,930 $500-$34,430 
02-03 6 $34,397 $1,397-$9,000 
03-04 13 $21,155 $500-$4,000 
04-05 10 $57,000 $500-$20,000 
05-06 23 $119,750 $250-$50,000 

Total amount of fines includes fines, reimbursement of costs and attorneys fees, custodial funds for educational and 
law enforcement purposes, and consumer restitution. 
 
Letters of admonition are issued by the AGO for what some industry 
members consider to be “technical” violations of the CFDCPA. For example, a 
debtor directs the licensee, in writing, to cease communication. However, the 
licensee, due to an alleged clerical or human error, fails to note the request in 
the debtor’s computer file, so the licensee’s employees continue to contact 
the debtor to pursue collection in violation of the CFDCPA. 
 
The AGO views this scenario as a violation of the CFDCPA, but since it is not 
a major violation, the Administrator issues the lowest form of discipline, a 
letter of admonition. Many licensees, however, view this practice as 
overzealous, especially in light of the fact that letters of admonition remain on 
a licensee’s record indefinitely. 
 
To help resolve the tension, in early 2002, the AGO and the Board developed 
a process whereby a licensee who is to receive a letter of admonition now 
receives a draft of the letter and is invited to appear before the Board and the 
Administrator to discuss the matter before the final letter of admonition is 
issued. The Board then provides the Administrator with its recommendation 
on the matter (i.e., whether to issue the letter of admonition, dismiss the 
matter, or take stronger action such as a suspension or revocation). If the 
letter of admonition is issued, the licensee retains the right to a hearing before 
an administrative law judge to request that the letter of admonition be 
vacated. 
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In addition to formal discipline, in 2001, the AGO began issuing advisory 
letters. This practice was approved by the AGO, which specifically endorsed 
advisory letters by enacting Rule 1.04(4), in 2004. Advisory letters are issued 
in those cases in which minor or technical violations are found to have 
occurred. Advisory letters generally indicate to  licensees that, although a 
minor or technical violation of the CFDCPA occurred, the Administrator is still 
concerned about the licensees’ behavior. Although advisory letters are, in 
effect, dismissals, and not formal discipline, they are retained in a licensee’s 
file. However, if someone inquires of the AGO as to whether a particular 
collection agency has been disciplined and the only document in the 
collection agency’s file is an advisory letter, the AGO’s staff has been 
instructed to indicate that the collection agency has not been the subject of 
any disciplinary actions.  
 
Table 9 sets forth the number of advisory letters issued to licensees over the 
past five years.  The AGO reports that it has additionally issued 47 advisory 
letters in fiscal year 06-07 (through May 30, 2007). 
 

Table 9 
Advisory Letters 

                    

Fiscal Year Number of Advisory 
Letters Issued 

Number of Collection 
Agencies Issued 
Advisory Letters 

00-01 10 9 
01-02 19 18 
02-03 12 11 
03-04 26 22 
04-05 13 13 
05-06 53 44 
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AAnnaallyyssiiss  aanndd  RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonnss  
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  11  ––  CCoonnttiinnuuee  tthhee  rreegguullaattiioonn  ooff  ccoolllleeccttiioonn  aaggeenncciieess  
ffoorr  nniinnee  yyeeaarrss,,  uunnttiill  22001177,,  aanndd  ssuunnsseett  tthhee  CCoolloorraaddoo  CCoolllleeccttiioonn  AAggeennccyy  
BBooaarrdd..  
 
The licensing of collection agencies protects both debtors and clients of the 
collection agencies from abuse and potential financial harm. The licensing of 
collection agencies provides a mechanism for enforcement of consumer 
rights provided for in both the federal and Colorado Fair Debt Collection 
Practices Acts. The licensing of collection agencies also provides financial 
protections for the clients of the collection agencies (creditors) by requiring 
collected funds to be held in trust and a surety bond to provide additional 
financial recourse.  
 
The Colorado Fair Debt Collections Practice Act (CFDCPA) was enacted to 
protect consumers from being harassed and coerced by unscrupulous 
collection agencies. Thus, the CFDCPA is first and foremost, a consumer 
protection statute that delineates the limits to which a collection agency may 
legitimately pursue the collection of a debt. Included in these limits is a 
requirement that the collection agency inform the consumer of his or her 
rights and, in several instances, the manner in which such notification must 
be given. Failure to operate within these limits constitutes not only a violation 
of the general intent of the CFDCPA, but also of its spirit. Therefore, 
continued regulation is necessary to protect the public. However, it is also 
necessary to explore whether that regulation is best overseen by the 
Colorado Collection Agency Board (Board) or the Administrator of the 
CFDCPA (Administrator). 
 
The regulation of collection agencies is different than the regulation of  
licensed professionals. For example, the practice of medicine involves a great 
deal of subjectivity and professional judgment on the part of the practitioner. 
The state does not clearly define what processes or actions medical doctors 
must utilize when diagnosing and treating patients as the element of 
subjectivity and judgment is germane to the profession. 
 
The regulation of collection agencies is far different and focuses, in more 
objective terms, on the way in which a collection agency may interact with a 
debtor. For example, the CFDCPA clearly states that if a consumer directs 
the collection agency, in writing, to cease contact, the collection agency must 
cease contact. If the collection agency fails to properly record the reception of 
such a direction and continues to contact the consumer, a violation has 
occurred and the consumer has suffered exactly the type of harm the 
CFDCPA was designed to eliminate. It is irrelevant whether the violation was 
unintentional. Intent plays a role only in determining the level of sanction to be 
imposed, not whether the violation occurred.  In this respect, the subject 
matter expertise typically offered by a regulatory board is not necessary. 
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However, following the 2000 legislative session, the Administrator responded 
to industry concerns that too many letters of admonition were being issued. 
The Administrator agreed to issue “advisory letters” in those instances in 
which minor violations of the CFDCPA occurred, but in which there was no 
harm suffered by the consumer/debtor. 
 
Furthermore, the Administrator agreed that prior to the issuance of any letters 
of admonition, recipients of such letters would receive a draft of the letter and 
be given the opportunity to appear before the Board and the Administrator to 
discuss the issuance of the letter before it is formally issued. The Board would 
then advise the Administrator as to whether the letter should be issued, 
although the administrator would make the ultimate decision regardless of the 
Board’s recommendation.   
 
This process was instituted in the first half of 2002, and as demonstrated in 
Table 7, between fiscal year 01-02, and fiscal year 05-06, only 18 out of 114 
(less than 20 percent) licensees issued letters of admonition appeared before 
the Board to discuss the proposed admonition.  
 
In fiscal year 05-06, in response to 688 complaints received, the AGO took 
over 130 disciplinary actions against collection agency licensees and non-
licensees doing business in Colorado. To add context to this number, there 
are currently approximately 600 licensed collection agencies in Colorado. 
This amounts to imposing a form of discipline on almost one-quarter of the 
collection agencies licensed in Colorado. 
 
Additionally, the duplicative nature of the statutory provisions creating the 
Board, coupled with the delegation of authority to the AGO, creates an 
apparent overlap of authority that is unclear and confusing to the public, 
licensees and industry members. 
 
Section 24-1-113(4)(a), Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), which partially 
codified Senate Bill 77-410, places the current Board in the AGO by a Type 2 
agency transfer. Pursuant to section 24-1-105(4), C.R.S., when an agency is 
transferred by a Type 2 transfer, all of that agency’s prescribed powers, 
duties and functions, including rulemaking, regulation, licensing and the 
rendering of findings, orders and adjudications are transferred to the head of 
the department into which the agency has been transferred. In the case of the 
Board, all rulemaking, licensing and disciplinary authority should be vested in 
the AGO. 
 
However, the Board’s organic statute expressly vests in the Board the 
authority to investigate complaints and to deny, revoke or suspend the license 
of a collection agency that either the Board or an administrative law judge has 
found to have violated the CFDCPA. Additionally, section 12-14-114, C.R.S., 
states that the CFDCPA “shall be enforced by the board,” and vests in the 
Board the power to make reasonable rules and regulations. 
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These provisions are inconsistent with a Type 2 transfer in that they remove 
authority that was transferred to the AGO by virtue of the Type 2 transfer, and 
place those powers with the Board. 
 
The CFDCPA vests in the Administrator the authority to develop and 
administer examinations and to issue licenses.72 More importantly, section 
12-14-117(1), C.R.S., states, 
 

Any provision of this article to the contrary notwithstanding, the 
board . . . is under the supervision and control of the 
administrator, who may exercise any of the powers granted to 
the board.  

 
These provisions are confusing because, by virtue of the Type 2 transfer, the 
AGO already possessed such powers. Finally, these statutory provisions are 
inconsistent with section 12-14-130, C.R.S., which expressly vests those 
same powers and duties in the Board, not the Administrator or the AGO. 
 
Since 1992, at the Administrator’s discretion, the Board offers input and 
advice on selected disciplinary matters, and is allowed to conduct bond and 
rulemaking hearings. However, the AGO is under no legal obligation to heed 
the advice or input of the Board, and frequently, does not adhere to the 
Board’s recommendation as the Board essentially functions in an advisory 
capacity. Licensing and disciplinary procedures are the sole responsibility of 
the Administrator. 
 
Over the past five years, the Board has conducted only five bond hearings, 
although none in fiscal year 05-06. Bond hearings are held when a collection 
agency is unable to remit payments to its clients (creditors), who then seek to 
collect on the collection agency’s bond. Therefore, these bond hearings offer 
financial protection only to creditors who hire collection agencies, not debtors. 
Additionally, the Board has conducted only one rulemaking hearing during the 
same five-year period. 
 
Licensees that are the subject of disciplinary actions apparently do not want 
to discuss their individual alleged statutory violations with the Board.  Industry 
members of the Board are business competitors of other Board licensees, 
and competitor collection agencies are hesitant to discuss their internal 
problems before business competitors. Additionally, as discussed above, the 
Board does not have the final decision-making authority. The Administrator 
has indicated that many licensees contact the Administrator directly to 
discuss appropriate disciplinary actions or sanctions.  
 

                                            
72 §§ 12-14-117 and -118, C.R.S. 
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An area of licensee confusion relates to the current process of disciplinary 
proceedings. At the regularly scheduled Board meetings, individual licensees 
are allowed to offer an explanation to the Board and Administrator, relating to 
the specific complaint under consideration. This is done prior to the imposition 
of any form of discipline. After the licensee’s explanation, the Board verbally 
votes on whether it feels that discipline is warranted, and if so, what penalty 
the Board decides is appropriate. The Administrator then informs the licensee 
that the Board’s recommendation will be considered, and a final decision will 
be issued by the Administrator.  
 
This is confusing to the licensee in that often the Board and the Administrator 
do not agree on the appropriate sanction to be imposed. Although the 
Administrator has the ultimate disciplinary authority, the Board’s verbal 
decision creates confusion and the appearance of inconsistency by making 
recommendations contrary to the ultimate decision. Consequently, it is not 
necessary for the Board to participate in hearings on disciplinary actions, as 
the Board has no authority to rule on those matters. 
 
Additionally, the Board has not found it necessary to meet on a regular basis. 
The first three Board meetings of 2007 were scheduled for January, February, 
and April. The April meeting had to be cancelled as only two Board members 
attended, and the January and February meetings were each attended by 
three Board members. Board meetings set for June, July, and August of 
2007, were vacated and cancelled due to a lack of business-related matters 
on the agenda. 
 
DORA’s 1999 sunset review of the Board recommended sunsetting the Board 
at that time because the review found no evidence that the Board served any 
function that could not just as easily be performed by the Administrator alone. 
Many collection agencies disagreed with the sunset review’s 
recommendation. Collection agencies claimed that the Board appeared to 
serve no function because the Administrator and the AGO failed to give the 
Board any specific duties. Nonetheless, based on testimony and other public 
input, the General Assembly continued the Board. 
 
Indeed, the Board has been, in effect, an advisory board in most aspects of 
collection agency’s regulatory scheme. Lending further credence to this 
position is the fact that the CFDCPA has been enforced, in every practical 
way, by the Administrator, and not the Board. Collection agencies doing 
business in Colorado may form an ad hoc committee to meet with the 
Administrator periodically for the purpose of sharing their thoughts and 
opinions on industry related matters. Of course, rulemaking hearings are 
open to the public and industry pursuant to state law. 
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Therefore, the reasons for sunsetting the Board include: 
 

• Frequently cancelled meetings; 

• Only one Board rulemaking hearing in the past five years; 

• Only five Board bond-hearings since fiscal year 01-02; 

• No Board licensure authority; 

• Lack of Board disciplinary authority over current licensees; 

• Confusion as to roles and responsibilities of the Board and 
Administrator among the public and licensees; and 

• Board does not provide any additional consumer protection that is 
not currently being performed by the AGO. 

 
In summary, the Board has no viable regulatory role or authority, as 
recommendations and advice offered by the Board are unheeded and 
unnecessary. In light of the recommendation that the AGO’s role in the 
regulation of collection agencies should be continued, the Board should be 
sunsetted. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  22  --  IInnccrreeaassee  tthhee  aaddmmiinniissttrraattiivvee  ffiinnee  aauutthhoorriizzeedd  bbyy  
sseeccttiioonn  1122--1144--113300((1100))((aa)),,  CC..RR..SS..,,  ffrroomm  $$11,,000000  ttoo  $$22,,000000  ppeerr  vviioollaattiioonn..  
 
An administrative fine utilized as a disciplinary sanction against licensees is 
authorized by section 12-14-130(10)(a), C.R.S. The statutory fine amount 
may not exceed $1,000 per violation, and this amount has not been raised or 
otherwise changed since its inception in 1990.  
 
Other states have provisions to allow for administrative fines for statutory 
violations. The following states have the indicated fining authority: 
 

� Arizona - $5,000 per violation per day. 
� Arkansas - $500 per day. 
� Connecticut - $100,000 (maximum). 
� Idaho - $2,500 per violation. 
� Maine - $5,000 (maximum). 
� Maryland - $1,000 per violation. 
� Minnesota - $10,000 per violation. 
� North Dakota - $5,000 (maximum). 
� Tennessee - $1,000 per violation. 
� Washington - $5,000 per violation. 
� Wyoming - $1,000 per violation. 
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Over the past 17 years, the maximum fining authority in Colorado for statutory 
violations has remained constant, and has not been adjusted for inflation or 
current economic realities.  This recommendation seeks to raise the fine 
amount from $1,000 to $2,000 to increase the accountability of the licensees.  
Providing greater fining authority to the Administrator enhances public 
protection, while not being unduly burdensome or unfair to the collection 
agency industry. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  33  --  EElliimmiinnaattee  tthhee  ccoolllleeccttiioonn  mmaannaaggeerrss  eexxaammiinnaattiioonn..  
 
The collection manager’s examination is administered by the AGO pursuant 
to section 12-14-119(1)(b)(I)(A), C.R.S. Although the pass rate is 100 percent, 
the AGO indicates that there is no correlation between the examination and 
violations of the CFDCPA. The AGO asserts that violations of the CFDCPA 
are not due to lack of knowledge of the CFDCPA, but rather of conduct that is 
negligent, overreaching, or intentional.  
 
Specifically, the Administrator noted that generally, the problems that cause 
licensees to be the subject of disciplinary actions are not related to ignorance 
of Colorado law.  Rather, the majority of violations relate to a human or 
systems error, or licensees’ employees disregarding regulatory statutes and 
rules. Debt collection is not an occupation that requires any particular 
educational requirements or specialized training, and no testing requirements 
exist for those individuals who directly perform collections activities. 
 
It should be noted that the majority of all collection agencies doing business in 
Colorado are now located out-of-state, requiring collections manager 
applicants to travel to Denver for an examination from locations as distant as 
the east coast and foreign countries. This not only slows down the licensure 
process, but does not provide any additional consumer protection.  
 
Collection agencies licensed in Colorado are directly responsible for the 
conduct of their employees.  Collection agencies act through their employees, 
and currently, it is sufficient to hold a licensee responsible for the acts of its 
employees. Because of this, many collection agency licensees currently 
educate their employees on Colorado statutes and regulations. Consequently, 
the elimination of this examination requirement would not effect or jeopardize 
the public protection aspect of the regulation of collection agencies. 
 
The collections manager examination is unnecessary because it does not add 
meaningful protection to the citizens of Colorado. The fact that the 
examination has a 100 percent pass rate, and that only one person from a 
collection agency must take the examination, substantiates the elimination of 
the examination. The assertion that there is no meaningful correlation 
between the examination and disciplinary violations further substantiates this 
recommendation. 
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RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  44  ––  EElliimmiinnaattee  tthhee  rreeqquuiirreemmeenntt  tthhaatt  aa  lliicceennsseeee  
mmaaiinnttaaiinn  aann  ooffffiiccee  iinn  CCoolloorraaddoo,,  aanndd  rreeqquuiirree  eeaacchh  lliicceennsseeee  ttoo  mmaaiinnttaaiinn  
aa  ttoollll--ffrreeee  tteelleepphhoonnee  nnuummbbeerr..  
 
Section 12-14-123(1)(b), C.R.S., currently requires each licensee to maintain 
an office in Colorado. This may have been useful in the past when most 
licensees were locally based. Now, however, it is likely that a debtor will be 
contacted by an out-of-state collection agency, or one located in a different 
part of the state. So long as an out-of-state collection agency has a registered 
agent in Colorado (required as part of the application process), an in-state 
office is not necessary. With the general use and acceptance of e-mail, faxes, 
and inexpensive cell phone usage, it is unlikely that a Grand Junction 
consumer benefits from a collection agency having an office in Sterling. 
 
To ensure that Colorado consumers can contact an out-of-state collection 
agency without incurring unreasonable costs, each collection agency should 
be required to maintain a toll-free telephone number for usage by Colorado 
consumers. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  55  ––  RReeqquuiirree  tthhaatt  aa  ccoolllleeccttiioonn  aaggeennccyy’’ss  iinniittiiaall  
ccoommmmuunniiccaattiioonn  wwiitthh  aa  ddeebbttoorr  nnoottiiffyy  tthhee  ddeebbttoorr  ooff  tthhee  ddeebbttoorr’’ss  rriigghhtt  ttoo  
rreeqquueesstt,,  iinn  wwrriittiinngg,,  tthhaatt  tthhee  ccoolllleeccttiioonn  aaggeennccyy  cceeaassee  ccoonnttaacctt  wwiitthh  tthhee  
ddeebbttoorr..    
 
Section 12-14-105(3)(a), C.R.S., allows a debtor to request, in writing, that a 
collection agency cease communications with the debtor, and requires that 
the collection agency cease communications with the debtor upon receipt of 
this written notice. However, even after a debtor requests that a collection 
agency cease contact pursuant to section 12-14-105(3)(a), C.R.S., a 
collection agency is allowed to contact the debtor one additional time. This 
collection agency-initiated contact (after a cease contact request is made by 
the debtor) is limited to advising the debtor of what legal remedies are being 
considered or are actively being pursued by the creditor.  
 
Many debtors are unaware of this statutory provision, and therefore do not 
consider invoking this right. This recommendation serves to ensure that 
debtors are aware of their legal rights by including the substantive provisions 
of section 12-14-105(3)(a), C.R.S., in the initial written communication from 
the collection agency to the debtor. Specifically, the initial communication 
letter should be required to include, in bold type, an accurate statement of a 
debtor’s right to request that the debtor not be contacted further by the 
collection agency after said written request.  
 
 

 

 36



 
RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  66  ––  MMooddiiffyy  sseeccttiioonn  1122--1144--110055((33))((cc)),,  CC..RR..SS..,,  bbyy  aaddddiinngg  
tthhee  llaanngguuaaggee,,  ““oorr  ccuurrrreenntt  wweebbssiittee,,””  aafftteerr  tthhee  ssppeeccffiicc  rreeffeerreennccee  ttoo  tthhee  
AAttttoorrnneeyy  GGeenneerraall’’ss  wweebb--ssiittee..  
 
Currently, the initial disclosure form sent to debtors by collection agencies 
contains a specific reference to the AGO’s website, as set forth in section 12-
14-105(3)(c), C.R.S. However, due to numerous factors, websites are subject 
to a change of servers, networks, carriers, or other actions which necessitate 
the change or modification of a website address. This recommendation 
merely entails adding the words, “or current website” after the specific AGO 
website address. This will allow the AGO to require the correct web address 
transmitted to consumers in the event of a future AGO website change of 
address. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  77  ––  IInncclluuddee  iiddeennttiittyy  tthheefftt  aanndd  ccoommppuutteerr  ccrriimmeess  aass  
ggrroouunnddss  ffoorr  lliicceennssee  ddeenniiaall  aanndd  ddiisscciipplliinnaarryy  aaccttiioonn..  
 
Identity theft, and related crimes, are proscribed in Colorado and are codified 
in section 18-5-901, et seq., C.R.S., of the Colorado criminal code. Computer 
crimes are also found in the Colorado criminal code, section 18-5.5-101, et 
seq., C.R.S. These two criminal sections include acts that are relevant to this 
industry, and should be included as grounds for license denial and discipline. 
 
Debt collectors frequently acquire data and information relating to individual 
debtors which are the subject of debt collections. Some of this data and 
information is either confidential information, or information that allows a debt 
collector to identify individuals through computer searches. Individuals who 
have been convicted of these criminal activities should not be allowed to have 
access to personal or confidential information on individual debtors. 
 
 

RReeccoommmmeennddaattiioonn  88  ––  IInncclluuddee  lliimmiitteedd  lliiaabbiilliittyy  ccoommppaanniieess  aass  bbuussiinneessss  
eennttiittiieess  ssuubbjjeecctt  ttoo  nnoottiiffiiccaattiioonn  ooff  lliicceennssee  iinnffoorrmmaattiioonn  cchhaannggeess  ..    
 
Sections 12-14-122(2)(c)(II) and (III), C.R.S., require licensees to inform the 
Administrator of certain changes to corporate structure, governance and 
control.  However, these statutory provisions do not include limited liability 
companies, which are a viable alternative to the traditional corporate 
structure. All licensees, regardless of structure, should be treated the same 
for licensure and notification purposes.  
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AAppppeennddiixx  AA  ––  SSuunnsseett  SSttaattuuttoorryy  EEvvaalluuaattiioonn  CCrriitteerriiaa  
 
(I) Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public 

health, safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the 
initial regulation have changed; and whether other conditions have 
arisen which would warrant more, less or the same degree of 
regulation; 

 
(II) If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and 

regulations establish the least restrictive form of regulation consistent 
with the public interest, considering other available regulatory 
mechanisms and whether agency rules enhance the public interest 
and are within the scope of legislative intent; 

 
(III) Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its 

operation is impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules, 
procedures and practices and any other circumstances, including 
budgetary, resource and personnel matters; 

 
(IV) Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency 

performs its statutory duties efficiently and effectively; 
 
(V) Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission 

adequately represents the public interest and whether the agency 
encourages public participation in its decisions rather than 
participation only by the people it regulates; 

 
(VI) The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic 

information is not available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts 
competition; 

 
(VII) Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures 

adequately protect the public and whether final dispositions of 
complaints are in the public interest or self-serving to the profession; 

 
(VIII) Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes 

to the optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry 
requirements encourage affirmative action; 

 
(IX) Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to 

improve agency operations to enhance the public interest. 
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