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Introduction 
The Fair Labor Standards Act serves as the guideline for the individual state minimum wage and 
overtime laws.  Colorado maintains the same standard as the federal government for overtime 
wages.  The agricultural labor force has different standards for enforcement of overtime pay. 
 
Non-agricultural Overtime Requirements 
In most sectors of the economy, overtime pay begins when an employee has worked more than 
twelve consecutive hours in a normal workday or more that forty hours in a workweek, 
whichever calculation yields the highest total pay for the pay period.  Federal law does not require 
overtime pay for work on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays or regular days of rest. 
 
The minimum overtime wage to be paid must be no less than one and one-half times the regular 
rate of pay and the regular rate must be equal to or greater than the minimum wage.   An 
employer may not average two or more consecutive weeks of work time in order to lessen the 
amount of overtime to be paid.  If an employee performs work in two or more positions at 
different pay rates for the same employer, the wage shall be computed at the overtime rate based 
on the regular rate of pay for the position in which the overtime occurs, or at a weighted average 
of the rates for each position if overtime was incurred in both positions. 

 
Salespersons, parts personnel, and mechanics in the automobile, farm vehicle, aircraft, and 
recreational vehicle industries are exempt from the overtime laws.  Additionally some 
commissioned sales personnel, ski industry personnel, and medical transportation personnel are 
exempt from the regulations 
 
Agricultural Overtime Requirements 
Employees who are employed in agriculture (as that term is defined in the Fair Labor Standards 
Act) are exempt from the overtime pay provisions. They do not have to be paid one and one-half 
time their regular rates of pay for hours worked in excess of forty per week.  
 
 
________________________ 
 
1Associate Professor and Graduate Research Assistant in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics 
at Colorado State University and Agricultural and Business Management Economist with Colorado State University 
Cooperative Extension.   
 
 

 

 

Overtime wages 
must be paid 
after a 40-hour 
workweek or a 
12-hour 
workday, for 
most 
occupations. 
 
Overtime pay 
shall be a 
minimum of one 
and one-half 
times the regular 
rate of pay.  
Regular pay 
must be at least 
equal to the 
minimum wage. 

 

Agricultural 
employees are 
exempt from the 
overtime pay 
provisions.  This 
exemption 
should be used 
only for those 
workers engaged 
directly in farm 
production 
activities. 
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It should be noted that agriculture does not include work performed on a farm that is not incidental to or in 
conjunction with the farmer's agricultural operation. It also does not include operations performed off a farm if 
performed by employees employed by someone other than the farmer whose agricultural products are the basis of the 
work.  Any employee that falls under these two sets of circumstances must be paid for overtime when the conditions 
are met. 
 
Use of Agricultural Exemption 
This agricultural exemption of this fair labor standard should be used prudently.  There has been significant legal 
activity surrounding employers who misused the exemption, and findings in those legal cases can be summarized as: 
 

1) It has been argued that only labor devoted strictly to agricultural production operations of a farm is exempt. 
2) It has been argued that any work done for an agricultural producer, but not directly related to farm 

enterprises is not exempt. 
3) Specifically, tasks related to  administration, value-added processing or work done away from the farm 

production site are not exempt. 
 
Summary 
Overtime must be paid at a rate of at least one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for any work in 
excess of: 
 

1. Forty (40) hours per workweek; 
2. Twelve (12) hours per workday; 
3. Twelve (12) consecutive hours without regard to the starting and ending time of the workday (excluding duty 

free meal and break periods) 
 

whichever calculation results in the greater payment of wages. 

Farmworkers, among employees in other specified industries and circumstances, are exempt from overtime pay. 
 
 
For more information on Overtime pay, please see the following web sites: 
 

1. http://www.dol.gov/dol/asp/public/programs/handbook/minwage.htm -           
Overtime discussion from the Department of Labor’s Small Business handbook 

2. http://www.dol.gov/dol/esa/public/regs/compliance/whd/whdfs23.htm -       
Fair Labor Standards information 

3. http://www.nolo.com/encyclopedia/articles/emp/ot_pay.html-                           
A comprehensive self-help legal site 

4. http://laborstand.cdle.state.co.us/wageorder.html 
Information from the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment 

 


