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This issue brief provides an overview of state 

law regarding bicycles, electric bicycles, and 

electric scooters, as well as state and local 

electric bicycle rebate programs. 

 

General Regulations 

In Colorado, persons riding a bicycle:  

 must not carry more people than the 

bicycle is designed to carry;  

 must not attach themselves to a motor 

vehicle on a roadway; 

 must ride in the right-hand lane when 

riding on a roadway at less than the 

normal speed of traffic, with certain 

exceptions;  

 may ride in the left lane if the roadway is 

one-way and there is enough room for 

other vehicles to safely pass; 

 may not ride side by side, except on paths 

set aside for the exclusive use of non-

motorized vehicles;  

 must keep at least one hand on the 

handlebars at all times; 

 must signal the intention to turn or stop; 

and 

 must yield the right of way to pedestrians.1 

                                                           

 

1Section 42-1-1412, C.R.S.  
2Section 42-4-1003, C.R.S. 

Safety Requirements  

Passing. When overtaking a bicycle, a driver 

must have a three-foot separation from the 

cyclist, including mirrors or other projections.2  

Lights and reflectors. All bicycle, electric 

bicycle, and electric scooter riders riding 

between sunset and sunrise, or during 

conditions that otherwise impair visibility, 

must have lamp that emits white light at least 

500 feet from the front. Bicycles and electric 

bicycles must also be equipped with a red 

reflector in the rear.3 

Braking. Every bicycle or electric bicycle must 

be equipped with brakes that will enable the 

rider to stop within 25 feet from a speed of 

10 miles per hour (mph).  

Intersections with stop signs and stop 

lights. Persons 15 years or older, or younger if 

accompanied by an adult, on a bicycle or 

scooter may pass through an intersection with 

a stop sign without stopping if they:  

 slow to a reasonable speed; and 

 yield to vehicles and pedestrians in or 

approaching the intersection.4  

 

3Section 42-4-221, C.R.S. 
4Section 42-4-1412.5, C.R.S.  
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Cyclists and persons using scooters may turn 

right or proceed through an intersection with 

a red light after first stopping. Similar to 

drivers, they may not turn left when there is a 

red light unless the street is a one-way.  

Electric Bicycles  

In Colorado, electric bicycles, also known as 

e-bikes, are required to conform to one of 

three classifications based on top speed and 

pedal assist.  

Every manufacturer or distributor of new 

electric bicycles must permanently attach a 

label that contains the classification number, 

top assisted speed, and motor wattage of the 

electrical assisted bicycle. State law prohibits 

any person from knowingly modifying an 

electric bicycle to change its speed. 

Class 1 and Class 2 electric bicycles are 

allowed on the same bicycle and pedestrian 

paths as conventional bicycles. Class 3 electric 

bicycles may not be ridden on a bicycle or 

pedestrian path unless the path is within a 

street or highway, or permitted by a local 

jurisdiction.  

Electric Scooters 

An electric scooter is defined in law as a 

device: 

 weighing less than 100 lbs.; 

 with handlebars and an electric motor; 

 powered by an electric motor; and 

 that has a maximum speed of 20 mph. 

 

A local government may regulate the 

operation of an electric scooter in a manner 

that is no more restrictive than the manner in 

which the local government may regulate the 

operation of a class 1 electrical assisted 

bicycle. 

E-Bicycle Rebates 

The city and county of Denver, the city of 

Boulder, and the state of Colorado offer 

rebates for the purchase of an electric bicycle 

in an effort to reduce miles traveled by car. 

Both Denver and Boulder offer a limited 

number of rebates directly to consumers, with 

Boulder choosing recipients at random and 

Denver awarding a limited number of 

vouchers on a first-come, first-served basis, 

every other month.  

The statewide program was created upon the 

passage of Senate Bill 22-193. The program is 

administered by the Colorado Energy Office, 

which awards grants to nonprofit 

organizations, local governments, tribal 

governments, and other community-based 

organizations to create e-bike programs that 

give e-bikes to low- and moderate-income 

Coloradans. Eight organizations across the 

state received grants in Fiscal Year 2023.  

https://www.denvergov.org/Government/Agencies-Departments-Offices/Agencies-Departments-Offices-Directory/Climate-Action-Sustainability-Resiliency/Cutting-Denvers-Carbon-Pollution/Sustainable-Transportation/Electric-Bike-Rebates#section-1
https://bouldercolorado.gov/projects/e-bike-incentives
https://bouldercolorado.gov/projects/e-bike-incentives
https://energyoffice.colorado.gov/ebike-rebates
https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/sb22-193
https://energyoffice.colorado.gov/community-access-e-bike-grant-program
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