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IF IN DOUBT, USE ID! 

FOR INFORMATION about OFFICIAL  

FLOCK or PREMISES ID: 

Call 1-866-USDA-TAG (1-866-873-2824) 

FOR MORE COLORADO IMPORT INFORMATION: 

Colorado Department of Agriculture, 
Animal Health Division 
colorado.gov/ag/animals 
303-869-9141 

ADDITIONAL ONLINE RESOURCES ON  

SHEEP AND GOAT DISEASES: 
 aphis.usda.gov/animal-health/scrapie 
 sheepindustrynews.com/scrapie_guide 
 eradicatescrapie.org 
Other sites for Information 
 sheepandgoat.com 
 sheepusa.org 
 americangoatfederation.org 
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YOUNGER THAN 18 MONTHS 

ALL NEED ID unless, they are neutered or 

are going  directly into slaughter channels or 

to a slaughter establishment  with an Owner/

Hauler Statement. Travel across state lines 

may require ICVI (health certificate); contact 

receiving state for requirements. 

 Use your flock tags on another 

      person’s animals. 

 Receive animals without offi-
cial identification. (Except 
wethers under 18 months of 
age.) 

    United States  
     Department of  
     Agriculture 

 

The material was made possible, in part, by a cooperative  agreement 
from the United States Department of Agriculture’s  Animal & Plant 
Health Inspection Service (APHIS). It may not necessarily express  
APHIS views.  

 

18 MONTHS AND OLDER or ERUP-
TION OF THE SECOND INCISOR 

ALL ANIMALS NEED ID when they leave the farm 
for most reasons. Unidentified animals need an 

Owner/Hauler Statement. 

Is Official ID needed when 

leaving the flock of origin? 

DO NOT 



Why is official individual  

identification important? 

There are three primary reasons that official indi-
vidual identification (ID) should be maintained.  

1. In most cases,  official ID is required by USDA 
rule to move sheep and goats from the 
source farm. 

2. ID and maintaining records for at least five 
years is an essential component in keeping a 
flock/herd and premises safe from disease.  

3. Successful disease control instills confidence 
in consumers about Colorado sheep and 
goats and the products they generate.  

To minimize the effects or disease, official identifi-
cation of livestock allows for rapid identification 
of animals and premises exposed to diseases such 
as scrapie. 

When do Colorado sheep and goats 

need official identification? 

Intact  animals less than 18 months of age re-
quire official ID at change of ownership, show, 
exhibitions, etc. Intact animals under 18 months 
of age moving in slaughter channels not identi-
fied require and Owner/Hauler Statement.  

In most cases, intact animals of any age, and neu-
tered animals greater than 18 months  require 
official ID when being moved to or from your 
farm. Exceptions are when animals are moving to 
slaughter, in slaughter channels or to an ap-
proved market. These animals may move without 
ID, but do require an Owner/Hauler Statement.  

What if I bring sheep or goats into 

Colorado from another state? 

All sheep and goats brought into Colorado require 

official identification. They must also have a valid 

certificate of veterinary inspection unless they are 

going directly into slaughter channels or slaughter. 

Contact CDA for any additional requirements. Visit 

our website at www.colorado.gov/ag/animals.  

Only ONE of the following official forms of identification is required. 

Official USDA RFID Tag 

15 digit number beginning 

with “840” 

 

Legible Tattoos 

Approved breed association or 

Registration tattoo with  

Management number  

Accompanied by registration 

Papers in owner’s name 

OR 

APHIS assigned flock ID tattoo along with unique man-
agement number. Note: Most sheep and goats sold at 
an open livestock market require an official Scrapie ID 
tag.  

USDA Approved 840 Implanted microchips 

ISO Compliant accompanied by electronic 

reader AND the REGISTRATION PAPERS in 

owner’s name. Flock ID tag required when 

moving to open sale at livestock market. 

 

 

 

What if I send sheep or goats 
out of Colorado to another state? 

All sheep and goats moving out of Colorado 

must be identified in the same way as required 

for movement into Colorado. Additionally, the 

USDA requires a certificate of veterinary in-

spection for out-of-state movement unless 

moving in slaughter channels or to an ap-

proved market an Owner/Hauler statement is 

required. Contact the destination State for any 

additional requirements. Visit our website at: 

www.colorado.gov/ag/animals 

What is NOT considered to be 
official individual identification? 

The following are NOT considered official individual 
identification. 

Farm management tags that are not official and do 
not include flock ID. 

Animal names. 


