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This issue brief provides an overview of Colorado 

laws and regulations related to motor vehicle 

towing and immobilization with the use of boots. 

 

 

Definitions 

Below are several definitions in state law related to 

towing and booting in Colorado. 

 

Booting.  A parking boot, also known as a wheel 

clamp, wheel boot, or Denver BootTM, immobilizes 

a motor vehicle. 

 

Consensual towing.  Consensual tows occur when 

a towing carrier is requested to perform a tow by 

the owner, authorized operator, or authorized 

agent of a motor vehicle.  For example, if a vehicle 

owner calls a towing carrier to take their 

immobilized vehicle to a repair shop, the tow is 

considered consensual towing. 

 

Nonconsensual towing.  Nonconsensual tows 

occur when a towing carrier is directed to perform 

a tow by a law enforcement officer or upon 

authorization of the property owner.   Examples 

include towing of vehicles without a disability 

parking placard parked in parking spots reserved 

for persons with disabilities.  

 

 

Regulation 

The Public Utilities Commission (PUC) is 

responsible for the oversight of towing carriers and 

vehicle booting companies operating within the 

state. Additionally, a 14-member Towing Task 

                                                        
1Sections 40-10.1-401, et seq., and 40-10.1-801, C.R.S.  

Force provides recommendations and advice to the 

PUC and legislature on various aspects related to 

the regulation of towing carriers. 

 

Colorado law requires all towing carriers and 

vehicle booting companies to obtain a permit and 

meet certain financial responsibility and owner 

requirements.1 

 

 

Towing and Booting Charges 

Consensual towing charges.  Before a consensual 

tow can occur, the towing carrier must disclose all 

rates and charges to be assessed for the tow, 

including the estimated charges for mileage and 

storage and any extra charges necessary.2 

 

Nonconsensual towing charges.  PUC regulations 

allow towing carriers to impose the following 

charges for nonconsensual tows:  

 

 Base rate for the tow:  $211.11 for most passenger 

vehicles; 

 Mileage charge:  $3.80 per mile for each mile that 

the motor vehicle is towed, up to 12 miles for tows 

within 10 miles of either side of I-25, and up to 

16.5 miles for areas that lie farther than 10 miles 

from I-25; 

 Fuel surcharge:  when the price per gallon of diesel 

fuel exceeds a base rate of $2.60, an additional fuel 

surcharge may be added; 

 Vehicle storage charge: $40.56 per 24-hour 

period for most passenger vehicles; and 

 Storage release charge for the release outside of 

the towing carrier’s business hours: $89.24. 

24 CCR 723-6, Rule 6510. 
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Nonconsensual tows that are ordered by law 

enforcement are subject to different rates set by the 

PUC.3 

 

If a vehicle owner, authorized operator, or 

authorized agent appears in person while the 

vehicle is being towed or about to be towed, the 

vehicle owner must be given an opportunity to halt 

the tow at no charge so long as the vehicle has not 

yet been removed from private property. 4 

 

Drop charges.  If a vehicle owner, authorized 

operator, or authorized agent appears in person 

while the vehicle is about to be towed or booted, or 

is in the process of being towed or booted, the 

vehicle owner must be given the opportunity to 

pay the drop charge to halt the tow or booting. 

 

Booting charges.  Vehicle booting companies may 

charge up to $160 for the removal of a parking boot 

and must immediately remove the boot once 

payment is received. 

 

 

Release Requirements 

Nonconsensual tows.  Towing carriers are 

required to provide access to a motor vehicle that 

has been towed upon demand during the towing 

carrier’s business hours or within one-hour notice 

within the first 24 hours of storage. 

 

Upon demand of the vehicle owner within 30 days 

of notifying the vehicle owner of the tow, towing 

carriers must retrieve the contents of a towed 

vehicle or allow the vehicle owner to retrieve the 

vehicle’s contents.  Towing carriers must also 

allow the owner to retrieve the vehicle after the 

owner pays 15 percent of the fees owed, not to 

exceed $60, and signs a form affirming they owe 

the towing company. 

 

Booting.  Vehicle booting companies must be 

available to remove a boot within 90 minutes 

during the company’s normal business hours, or 

within 120 minutes outside of those hours. 5  

 

Forms of payment.  PUC rules require that all 

towing carriers and vehicle booting companies 

accept cash or a major credit card as payment. 

 

 

Towing and Booting Requirements 

Signage.  In order for a vehicle to be towed from a 

private parking lot in a nonconsensual tow or have 

a parking boot applied, notice of applicable 

parking regulations must be provided, along with 

notice that those in violation are subject to being 

towed or booted at the owner’s expense. 6  

 

Notice.  Towing carriers or property owners must 

give a vehicle owner or operator 24 hours written 

notice before nonconsensually towing from a 

parking space or common parking area unless the 

vehicle is parked a third or subsequent time in the 

same inappropriate manner that caused it to 

receive previous notices.  Reasons for which 

vehicles may be nonconsensually towed without 

notice include, but are not limited to:  repossession 

by a creditor; an order by a court or police officer; 

or the vehicle is blocking a driveway or roadway 

and obstructing access.7    

 

Photographic documentation.  Towing carriers 

are required to photographically document a 

vehicle’s condition and reason for tow before 

connecting to the vehicle.  Failure to produce 

documentation of the vehicle’s condition or reason 

for the tow creates a rebuttable presumption that 

any damages to the vehicle were caused by the 

towing carrier or that the tow was not authorized. 

 

Expired registration.  Unless the tow is based on 

an order given by law enforcement (peace officer), 

a towing carrier cannot tow a vehicle from private 

property due to an expired registration.

 

                                                        
34 CCR 723-6, Rules 6511, 6816, and 6817. 
4Section 40-10.1-405, et seq., C.R.S. 
54 CCR 723-6, Rules 6512 and 6818. 

64 CCR 723-6, Rules 6513. 
7Section 40-10.1-405 (3)(b)(I), C.R.S. 
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