
Q: Does the Dealer License cover purchases 
of other types of Farm Products? 
 
A: Yes, except for grains and dry edible beans, 
which require a separate license. 
 
Q: What if I have questions? 
 
A: Call Farm Products at (303) 477-0054. Livestock 
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Division Mission 
 

The Division of Inspection & Consumer 
Services (ICS) is committed to promoting 
an honest, equitable marketplace and to 
encouraging integrity in Agriculture  
and Industry. 

Q: Who is protected by the Dealer License? 
 
A: Colorado owners, producers and/or dealers 
who sell livestock. 
 
Q: What do I need if I am an agent for a  
Licensed Dealer? 
 
A: You will need an agent's license. 
 
Application for the agent's license must be en-
dorsed by the licensed dealer and sent with the 
$30.00 fee to the Department. 
 
An agent's license will expire when the deal-
er's license expires. 
 
Q: When Is A Small Volume Dealer License 
An Option? 
 
A: If you meet all of the following: 
 
 Purchase less than $20,000 worth of live-

stock a year; 
 Have no single purchase transaction over 

$2,500;  
 Have a fixed or established place of  

business in Colorado; 
 Do not purchase livestock for commercial 

feeding; 
 Do not broker, act as an agent or buy and/

or sell livestock on commission. 
 
If you feel you qualify as a Small Volume 
Dealer, contact the Department for applica-
tion.  The application fee is $75.00 and no 
bond is required.  You will have to maintain 
certain records as required by the Department. 



Q: When are you required to have a  
Livestock Dealer License? 
 
A: When you purchase livestock from Colorado 
owners or producers for resale or processing; or 
 
When you solicit or negotiate sales of livestock 
(broker) between the seller and purchaser; or 
 
When you receive on consignment or solicit 
livestock for sale on commission; or 
 
When you accept livestock in trust from the 
owner for resale; or 
 
When you sell or handle livestock for the ac-
count of or as an agent of the owner; or 
 
For a commercial feeding operation which feeds 
more than 2500 head at any one time that are 
not wholly owned by the feeder. 
 
Brand inspection is mandatory with any change 
of ownership of livestock.  
 
Q: What is required to become a Licensed 
Livestock Dealer? 
 
 A completed license application. 
 
 $425.00 application fee. 
 
 A surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit 
in the amount determined by the Department 
based on your annual livestock purchases. Mini-
mum $5,000 and maximum $200,000. 
 
You may be exempt from the required bond or 
irrevocable letter of credit (but not the required 

Q: What is a Farm Products (Livestock) 
Dealer's License? 
 
A: The license required to purchase or  
broker livestock from Colorado producers, 
owners and dealers for resale or processing. 
 
Q: What is considered livestock? 
 
A: Cattle, sheep, goats, swine, mules, horses, 
domesticated elk and domesticated fallow 
deer. 
 
Q: Is a Dealer License required for all  
livestock purchases? 
 
A: No, livestock purchased for your own con-
sumption or held 90 days or more before  
being resold or processed are exempt from  
the law and no license is required for those  
purchases. 
 

license) if you pay in cash at the time you 
take possession of the livestock.  Cash is U.S. 
currency, certified check, cashier's check, or 
postal or Western Union money order.  You 
must fill out and sign a Cash Buyer's Affida-
vit, which is included on your application 
each year, to receive this exemption. 
 
You may substitute a USDA Packers and 
Stockyards Administration bond for the re-
quired state bond. 
 
Q: What are the penalties for not  
Licensing? 
 
A: Acting as a dealer without having a license 
is a class 6 felony. 
 
Civil fines of up to $1000 per day may be is-
sued for violations of the Act. 
 
Cease and Desist Orders may be issued to in-
dividuals or companies violating the Act. 
 
Court injunctions may be imposed for viola-
tions of the Act. 
 
 
 

 

Acting as a dealer  
without having a license  

is a  
class 6 felony . 


