Q: How can | protect myself?

A: Document the transaction by obtaining evi-
dence of sale. Scale tickets, bills of lading, ware-
house receipts, or delivery receipts can be used.

Q: Should I use a contract?

A: Yes, one of the major problems that we incur
in trying to settle disputes is trying to determine
what the buyer and seller agreed to. Get a con-
tract in writing.

Q: Do I need a fancy contract?

A: No, a plain handwritten contract explaining
the terms of sale can be used.

Q: What should I include in the contract?

Who is the buyer?

Quantity sold

Quality agreed upon

Sale price

Method of payment

Use of the farm product

Where and when does the Title transfer

One of the major problems
in trying to settle disputes is
trying to determine what
was agreed to.

Get a contract in writing.
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Division Mission

The Division of Inspection & Consumer
Services (ICS) is committed to promoting
an honest, equitable marketplace and to
encouraging integrity in Agriculture

and Industry.

For More Information:

Colo. Dept. Agriculture/
Farm Products Program
2331 W 31st. Ave
Denver, CO 80211
Phone: (303) 867-9213
Fax: (303) 480-9236
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Q: What is the Farm Products Act?

A: The Colorado Farm Products Act is law
designed to protect sellers of farm products. It
is a system of licensing and bonding to assist
the seller in getting paid.

Q: How does it work?

A: The law requires that dealers and brokers
license and bond with the Department of Ag-
riculture. When a complaint is filed against a
licensee, the Department investigates the
complaint, and if the complaint is deemed to
be valid, a claim will be made against the li-
censee’s bond.

Q: Will this insure that | get paid?

A: No, your claim may exceed the amount of
the licensee’s bond, and there may be compet-
ing claims for the bond. In that event, you will
receive a pro-rata share of the bond proceeds.
This will not prevent you from seeking relief
in the court system.

The Colorado
Farm Products Act
is law designed
to protect sellers
of farm products.

Q: Are all dealers bonded?

A: No, there are two exceptions: the small vol-
ume dealer, and the cash buyer. The Act pro-
vides for the licensing of small volume dealers,
who purchase less than $20,000 of farm prod-
ucts in any one year, with no one transaction
exceeding $2,500.

Q: Who needs to be licensed?
A: Anyone or any company that is purchasing

Colorado farm products for the purpose of re-
sale or processing.

Q: What is a farm product?

A: A farm product is an unprocessed product of
the soil, livestock, milk, honey, and hay. It does
not include poultry, nursery stock, timber prod-
ucts, commodities*, or live stock purchased and
not resold or processed within 90 days.
*Commodities are grain and dry edible beans.

Q: How is the Act enforced?

A: A dealer that is operating without a license
is committing a class 6 felony, and is subject
to prosecution under the criminal statutes.

Q: Are there any exceptions to the
requirement to license?

A: Restaurants, retail grocery stores, small
feedlots, and any person or company that is
purchasing farm products for their own con-
sumption need not license.

Q: Why are commodities excluded from the
Act?

A: They are covered under a similar act called
the Commodities Act.




