
PAGE 1 OF 2
SALES 78 (06/05)

TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI – For Your Information

Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms and other services:
(303) 238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:
(303) 238-SERV (7378)

www.taxcolorado.com

GENERAL INFORMATION

Qualified purchasers of goods subject to
sales or use tax are allowed to receive a
Direct Payment Permit and remit sales
taxes directly to the Department of
Revenue rather than to the vendor at the
time of purchase. Once a qualified
purchaser has been issued a direct
payment permit from the department,
vendors are not required to charge sales
tax on purchases made by permit holders.
[§39-26-103.5 C.R.S.].

Once issued, the permit is in effect until
December 31 of the third year following
the year in which it is issued.  The
purchaser can file a renewal application
unless the department has revoked the
permit.

WHO IS A QUALIFIED PURCHASER

A qualified purchaser (one who is issued a
valid direct pay permit) is an individual or
business that has purchased a minimum
of $7,000,000 of goods or tangible personal
property during the last 12-months
normally subject to sales or use tax.  This
would exclude purchases of resale
inventory, commodities or tangible
personal property to be erected upon or
affixed to real property.
[§39-26-103.5 (1)(a) C.R.S. ]

REQUIREMENTS FOR ISSUANCE OF
A DIRECT PAY PERMIT

The Department of Revenue may issue a
Direct Payment Permit number to any
person that submits Form DR 0002
“Colorado Direct Pay Permit Application”
and meets the following requirements:

• For the preceding 12-month period the
applicant must have purchased in
Colorado, in the aggregate, at least $7
million of commodities, services, or
tangible personal property that are
subject to the sales and use tax
imposed by article 26 of Title 39 C.R.S.

Exception:  Purchases of commodities
or tangible personal property to be
erected upon or affixed to real
property, including but not limited to,
building and construction materials
and fixtures, are excluded from the
computation of the $7 million of
purchases.

• For the previous three years, the
applicant must not have been
delinquent in the filing and remittance
of any tax imposed by Title 39 of the
Colorado Revised Statutes and
administered by the Department of
Revenue.

• The applicant must have in place an
accounting system that is acceptable to
the Department of Revenue, and will
allow the taxpayer to report and the
department to fully and accurately
collect and allocate directly paid sales
taxes to all cities, counties and special
districts whose taxes apply to the
purchase.

Form DR 0002 "Colorado Direct Pay
Permit Application" is available on the
Department of Revenue Web site at
www.taxcolorado.com

Direct Pay Permit for Colorado Sales Tax
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REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

A qualified purchaser is responsible for
remitting to the Department of Revenue
all taxes that would have been due on the
purchase if the purchase had been made
without the use of a Direct Pay Permit.
State sales tax is due on all tax free
purchases made with a Direct Pay Permit
number, and only those state collected
city taxes, county taxes, and special
district taxes are due if they would have
been due on the purchase, as if the Direct
Pay Permit Number had not been used.

The permit holder must file a spreadsheet
return approved by the Business Tax
Accounting Section of the Taxpayer
Service Division, that includes accurate
identification of each jurisdiction’s local
tax.

The accrued taxes are due on or before
the 20th day of each month subsequent to
the month in which any sale to the
qualified purchaser was made for which
sale the qualified purchaser’s Direct Pay
Permit number was used. The qualified
purchaser is allowed to retain a 3.33
percent service fee against the Colorado
portion of the tax to cover the expense in
self-assessing and remitting this sales tax.
Local taxes remitted are subject to the
service fee allowed by each local taxing
jurisdiction.

REVOCATION OF A PERMIT

The Executive Director of the Department
of Revenue may revoke the Direct Pay
Permit of a qualified purchaser that has
violated any provision of Article 26 of Title
39 Colorado Revised Statutes.  Notice of
revocation shall be mailed to a permit
holder by first class mail and is subject to
appeal.

The Director will issue a proposed order
providing at least 60 days written notice of
revocation of a Colorado Sales Tax
Buyer's Direct Permit to the address
recorded with the department for the
permit holder.  The proposed order shall
contain reasons for the revocation.  The
Director will issue  a denial of a request
for the Buyers Direct Pay Permit in the
same manner.
[Regulation (39-)26-103.5.(6)]

VENDORS MAKING SALES TO
QUALIFIED PURCHASERS

Vendors, who have received from a
“qualified purchaser,” a valid direct
payment permit number, shall not be
liable for the collection and remittance of
the sales tax on any sale that is paid for
directly from such qualified purchaser’s
funds and not the personal funds of any
individual. [§39-26-103.5 C.R.S]

The permit is not applicable to county
lodging tax and/or county rental tax.
Where applicable, vendors remain
responsible for collecting and remitting
the county lodging and/or the county
rental tax. [§30-11-107.5 and 30-11-107.7
C.R.S.]

This permit is not applicable to self-
collected and administered
municipal sales taxes.  Contact
municipalities directly for their
direct pay procedures.

Vendors making sales to a “qualified
purchaser(s)” are required to include all
such sales in gross sales and services on
Form DR 0100 “Retail Sales Tax Return."
The vendor must itemize such sales as an
“other” deduction in arriving at Net
Taxable Sales.  “Other” deductions are
reported on the reverse side of Form DR
0100.

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs, commonly used forms and
additional tax information are available on
the Web at  www.taxcolorado.com

For additional sales tax information visit
the Tax Information Index at
www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning a
variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language.  Although the FYIs
represent a good faith effort to provide accurate
and complete tax information, the information
is not binding on the Colorado Department of
Revenue, nor does it replace, alter or supersede
Colorado law and regulations.  The Executive
Director, who by statute is the only person
having authority to bind the Department, has
not formally reviewed and/or approved these
FYIs.


