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TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI – For Your Information

Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Sales Tax: (303) 232-2416
Withholding Tax: (303) 232-2416
Income Tax: (303) 232-2446
Severance Tax: (303) 232-2446
Fuel Tax: (303) 205-5967

GENERAL INFORMATION

Effective Jan. 1, 2000, qualified
purchasers are allowed to receive a Direct
Payment Permit and remit sales taxes
directly to the Department of Revenue
rather than to the vendor at the time of
purchase. Once a qualified purchaser has
been issued a direct payment permit from
the department, vendors are not required
to charge sales tax on purchases made by
permit holders. The permit is in effect
until December 31 of the third year
following the year in which it is issued,
unless the department revokes it. The
purchaser must file a renewal application
at that time. A qualified purchaser
holding a direct payment permit number
shall file a return with the department on
or before the 20th day of the month
following the purchase.  A qualified
purchaser is allowed to retain a 3 1/3
percent vendor’s fee of the Colorado
portion of the tax to cover the expense in
self-assessing and remitting this sales tax.
The local taxes remitted are subject to the
vendor’s fee allowed by each local taxing
jurisdiction.

A retailer or vendor who has received a
Direct Pay Permit number from a
qualified purchaser shall not be liable or
responsible for the collection and
remittance of the tax imposed  by article
26 of Title 39 C.R.S.  However the
purchase price must be paid for directly
from the qualified purchaser’s funds and
not the funds of any individual. [§39-26-
103.5 C.R.S.]

The permit is not applicable to county
lodging tax and/or county rental tax.
[§§30-11-107.5 and 30-11-107.7

This permit is not applicable to self-
collected and administered
municipal sales taxes.  Contact these
municipalities directly for their rules
or direct pay procedures.

REQUIREMENTS FOR ISSUANCE OF
A DIRECT PAY PERMIT

The Department of Revenue may issue a
Direct Payment Permit number to any
person that submits the form “Colorado
Direct Pay Permit Application” (DR 0002)
and meets the following requirements:

• For the preceding 12-month period the
applicant must have purchased in
Colorado, in the aggregate, at least $7
million of commodities, services, or
tangible personal property that are
subject to the tax imposed by article 26
of Title 39 C.R.S.

Exception:  Purchases of commodities
or tangible personal property to be
erected upon or affixed to real
property, including but not limited to,
building and construction materials
and fixtures, are excluded from the
computation of the $7 million of
purchases.

• For the previous three years, the
applicant must not have been
delinquent in the filing and remittance
of any tax imposed by Title 39 of the
Colorado Revised Statutes and
administered by the Department of
Revenue.

Direct Pay Permit for Colorado Sales Tax
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• The applicant must have in place an
accounting system that is acceptable to
the Department of Revenue, that will
allow the taxpayer to report and the
department to fully and accurately
collect and allocate directly paid sales
taxes to all cities, counties and special
districts whose taxes apply to the
purchase.

The form DR 0002 is available on the
Department of Revenue Web site at
www.revenue.state.co.us or it may be
ordered through the department’s
Automated Forms Hotline at (303) 232-
2414.

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

A qualified purchaser (one who is issued a
valid Direct Pay Permit) is responsible for
remitting to the Department of Revenue
all taxes that would have been due on the
purchase if the purchase had been made
without the use of a Direct Pay Permit.
State sales tax is due on all tax free
purchases made with a Direct Pay Permit
number, and only those state collected
city taxes, county taxes, and special
district taxes are due if they would have
been due on the purchase, as if the Direct
Pay Permit Number had not been used.
The permit holder must file a spreadsheet
return approved by the Business Tax
Accounting Section of the Taxpayer
Service Division, and remit local taxes in
such detail allowing accurate
identification of each jurisdiction’s local
tax.

The accrued taxes are due before the 20th

day of each month subsequent to the
month in which any sale to the qualified
purchaser was made for which sale the
qualified purchaser’s Direct Pay Permit
number was used. The qualified
purchaser is allowed to retain a 3 1/3
percent vendor’s fee against the Colorado
portion of the tax to cover the expense in
self-assessing and remitting this sales tax.

REVOCATION

The Executive Director of the Department
of Revenue may revoke the Direct Pay
Permit of a qualified purchaser that has
violated any provision of Article 26 of
Title 39 Colorado Revised Statutes.
Notice of revocation shall be mailed to a
permit holder by first class mail and is
subject to appeal.

VENDORS MAKING SALES TO
QUALIFIED PURCHASERS

Vendors, who have received from a
“qualified purchaser”, a valid direct
payment permit number which has been
issued pursuant to 39-26-103.5 C.R.S.,
shall not be liable for the collection and
remittance of the tax imposed by Article
26 of Title 39 C.R.S. on any sale made to
that “qualified purchaser” that is paid for
directly from such qualified purchaser’s
funds and not the personal funds of any
individual.

Vendors making sales to a “qualified
purchaser(s)” are required to include all
such sales in gross sales and services on a
“Combined Retail Sales Tax Return” (DR
0100).  The vendor must itemize such
sales as an “other” deduction in arriving
at Net Taxable Sales.  “Other” deductions
are taken on the reverse side of the DR
0100 form.

Where applicable, vendors remain
responsible for collecting and remitting
the county lodging and/or the county
rental tax. [§§30-11-107.5 and 30-11-
107.7]
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FURTHER INFORMATION

For more information on related DOR
topics, consult the following publications:

• General 5 “General Information
About Colorado State Taxes”;

• Sales 1 “How to Document Sales to
Retailers and Tax Exempt
Organizations”;

• Sales 9 “Sales Tax Licenses”;
• Sales 58 “Parents and Branches:

Requirements for Sales Tax
Remittance by Spreadsheet”;

• Sales 62 “Guidelines for Determining
When to Collect State-Collected Local
Sales Tax.”

Single FYIs are free from the Department
of Revenue.  They may be obtained at any
statewide Taxpayer Service Center, or by
writing the Colorado Department of
Revenue, 1375 Sherman St., Denver, CO
80261; or by calling the DOR Forms
Hotline at (303) 232-2414.  Please use the
FYI number (i.e., General 1, Sales 57,
etc.) when ordering FYI publications.
FYIs and commonly used forms are
available on the Web at
www.revenue.state.co.us

For a complete set of FYIs (approximately
130), you may purchase The Complete
Book of FYIs at a low cost from the State
Forms Center, Division of Correctional
Industries, 4200 Garfield St., Denver, CO
80216.  An order form is contained in FYI
General 1, or call the State Forms Center,
(303) 321-4164, for more information.


