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FYI – For Your Information

Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Sales Tax: (303) 232-2416
Withholding Tax: (303) 232-2416
Income Tax: (303) 232-2446
Severance Tax: (303) 232-2446
Fuel Tax: (303) 205-5967

TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

DOR Requirements for Business Tax Filing,
Tax Account Registrations & Changes in
Account Status
This FYI is intended to provide informa-
tion to businesses about maintaining their
business tax accounts with the Depart-
ment of Revenue.

Businesses are required to follow particu-
lar guidelines that make the administra-
tion of taxes and tax laws go more
smoothly for both the business and the
department.

BUSINESS TAX RETURNS

Taxpayers who do not collect sales or
withholding tax during a given tax period
must file a -0- (zero) return even if no
payment is due.  Use the number -0- on
the tax return.  If the business does not
file any return, a non-filer notice will be
issued automatically.  On the sales tax
return, be sure to place a -0- in all
columns that apply to the jurisdic-
tions in which you must collect tax.

BUSINESS CHANGES

Contact the Department of Revenue in
writing (Registration Control, Colorado
Department of Revenue, 1375 Sherman
St., Room 86, Denver, CO  80261) or by
telephone, (303) 232-2416 to make any or
all of the following changes to a tax
account.

• When a business closes or when one of
the business’s locations (branches)
closes, the taxpayer must immediately
notify the department of the closure.
Include the effective date of closure.

The department will then close the
business registration (account) number
or the branch number (if a location is
closing).  Promptly notifying the
department of the closure avoids
issuance of non-filer notices.

The following changes must be made by
completing a “Colorado Business Regis-
tration” (CR 100) and submitting it and
any fees associated with the change to the
department.

• If a business’s ownership status
changes (for example, from a partner-
ship to a individual ownership), the
business must obtain a new registra-
tion (account) number.  The depart-
ment closes the previous registration
(account) number and opens a new
account for the new taxpayer entity.

• If a business opens an additional
branch location, contact the depart-
ment about adding a location (branch)
to the existing account.  The fee for
each additional location is $16. How-
ever, the $50 deposit is not charged on
additional locations.  The $10 trade
name registration fee is due if a differ-
ent name is used for the new location.

• A mobile business (selling out of a
truck or other vehicle), must have a
branch registration for each jurisdic-
tion (city/county) in which sales are
made.  There is no $16 fee for these
branches.  But a sales tax license ($16
fee) and $50 refundable sales tax
deposit are required for the mobile
business.
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Allow four to six weeks to receive a
license in the mail.  If you apply for a
license in person at one of the Taxpayer
Service Centers a license number will be
issued immediately.  The actual license
will then be sent to you within two weeks.
This timetable also applies for trade name
registration applications.

WHAT TO DO WHEN PURCHASING
OR SELLING A BUSINESS

When a business is purchased by another
party, both the old and new business
operator must be sure to follow through
on certain steps with the Department of
Revenue and with other agencies. [Reg.
39-26-117.1].

• The previous business should close its
business tax account or change its
address (if the business is moving) with
the Department of Revenue.

• The purchaser may request a tax
status letter (DR 96) from the seller.
The Department of Revenue will issue
the letter at the present owner’s
(seller’s) request.  The letter will
indicate whether all business taxes
have been paid.

• The previous owner must pay any sales
taxes that have been collected prior to
the sale of the business.  The sales
taxes must be filed within 10 days of
the sale.  The new business owner
becomes liable for any unpaid tax due
on sales made by the previous owner.

• The new business should open a
business tax account with the Depart-
ment of Revenue. If moving from a
different location, the business should
make the address change with the
department.

• A new tax rate may be in effect at the
business’s new location.  Refer to the
Department of Revenue publication
“Colorado Sales/Use Tax Rates” (DRP
1002) for local tax rates throughout the
state.  This publication is updated in
January and July each year.

• If the business sale took place in a
home-rule city, both the old and new
owner should contact the city for sales
tax and zoning information.

• The sale of a business usually includes
tangible personal property.  Therefore,
the buyer who is purchasing business
assets must pay state sales tax and, if
applicable, city and/or county sales tax.
The sales tax must be paid on equip-
ment, furniture and fixtures, whether
new or used.  If vehicles are involved in
the sale, sales tax on vehicles is paid to
the county where the vehicles are
registered.  The person selling the
business may not collect sales tax on
the vehicles. However, the seller
should provide the buyer with an
itemized list of the vehicles and the
vehicle identification numbers (VIN). If
the vehicles are used in the business
and are garaged at the business
location, they must be registered in the
county where the business is located.

• The business purchaser remits tax on
the purchase of the business on the
“Combined Annual Retail Sales Tax
Return” (DR 100A).  It must be filed
with the department on or before the
20th day of the month following the
close of the taxpayer's accounting
period (monthly, quarterly, annual).

• If the business is a restaurant or food
service, the new business owner should
contact the county health department
where the business is located to find
out about requirements for registering
with the health department.

• If the business will sell liquor, the
Liquor Enforcement Division, (303)
205-2300, should be notified of the
ownership change.

FURTHER INFORMATION

Single FYIs are free from the Taxpayer
Service Division.  They may be obtained
at any statewide Taxpayer Service
Center; or by writing to the Colorado
Department of Revenue, 1375 Sherman
St., Denver, CO 80261; or by calling the
DOR Forms Hotline at (303) 232-2414.
Please use the FYI number (General 1,
Sales 9, etc.,) when ordering FYI publica-
tions.  FYIs and commonly used forms are
available on the Web at
www.revenue.state.co.us


