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This issue brief provides an overview of federal and 

state family, medical, and sick leave laws. 

 

 

Federal Law 
 

Family and Medical Leave Act.  The U.S. Family and 

Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) allows eligible 

employees to take up to 12 weeks of leave per year 

for specified circumstances.1   

 

FMLA applies to most employers with 50 or more 

employees.  To be eligible for leave, an employee 

must have worked for at least 1,250 hours with the 

employer during the prior 12-month period and have 

at least 12 months of service.  Employers may provide 

leave under FMLA as either unpaid or paid time off, 

and may require that an employee use accrued 

vacation or sick time during leave in certain 

instances. 

 

Circumstances covered under FMLA include time off 

for the birth, adoption, or foster placement of a child; 

a spouse, child, or parent who has a serious health 

condition; an employee’s own serious health 

condition; or an urgent need due to an immediate 

family member’s active duty service. 

 

Tax incentives.  In 2017, the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 

created a tax credit for tax years 2018 and 2019 for 

businesses that provide qualifying paid family and 

medical leave to eligible employees.  This was 

subsequently extended to include tax year 2020.  The 

tax credit covers 12.5 percent to 25.0 percent of the 

wages paid to an employee on leave.2 

 

                                                        
129 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq. 
226 U.S.C. § 45S. 
3S. 1790, Sec. 7601. 

Federal employee paid leave.  The National Defense 

Authorization Act for FY 2020, signed in 

December 2019, allows federal employees to take up 

to 12 weeks of paid parental leave for the birth of a 

child or the placement of an adoptive or foster child 

beginning in October 2020.  Employees must have 

worked for the federal government for at least one 

year and commit to returning to work following the 

paid leave for at least 12 weeks.3 

 

COVID-19 response.  The Families First Coronavirus 

Response Act, signed in March 2020, created 

expanded paid sick and family leave for specific 

reasons due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The paid 

leave requirements under the bill ended on December 

31, 2020, though employers are eligible for tax credits 

for certain leave paid through March 31, 2021.  

 

 

Colorado Law 
 

Colorado Family Care Act.  The Colorado Family 

Care Act adds an employee’s civil union or domestic 

partner as a qualifying immediate family member for 

the purposes of the FMLA, if the partner has a serious 

health condition.4 

 

Domestic violence.  Colorado law permits an eligible 

employee to take up to three days of leave in any 12-

month period if the employee is a victim of domestic 

abuse, stalking, sexual assault, or another crime with 

a domestic violence component.  The leave may be 

paid or unpaid and must be used to seek a civil 

protection order, obtain medical care or mental 

health counseling, make the employee’s home secure, 

or seek legal assistance.5 

 

4Section 8-13.3-201, et seq., C.R.S. 
5Section 24-34-402.7, C.R.S. 
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FAMLI Task Force.  Senate Bill 19-188 created the 

Family and Medical Leave Implementation Task 

Force, consisting of 15 members representing various 

stakeholders.  The task force’s recommendations 

were provided on January 6, 2020.  Documents 

related to the task force are available here: 

 

 https://sites.google.com/state.co.us/famli/home 

 

Paid family and medical leave.  In 2020, Colorado 

voters passed Proposition 118, which creates the Paid 

Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program in the 

Colorado Department of Labor and Employment.  

The program will provide up to 12 weeks of paid 

leave per year for Colorado employees beginning in 

2024.  The total benefit will be calculated based on an 

individual’s average weekly wage, and capped at 

$1,100 per week in 2024.  Leave may be taken to care 

for an employee’s serious health condition or a family 

member with a serious health condition, or to care for 

a new child.  Leave is also available if an employee or 

a family member is a victim of sexual assault or 

domestic violence, or if a family member is called to 

active military duty.  The law includes job protection 

for eligible employees taking leave.  The program will 

be funded through a payroll premium on most 

employers and employees in Colorado.  The 

premium, which is set at 0.9 percent of wages for the 

first two years, will be collected beginning January 1, 

2023.  Employers with ten or more employees are 

responsible for at least half of the premium amount. 

 

Paid sick leave.  Beginning January 1, 2021, 

Senate Bill 20-205 requires employers with 16 or more 

employees to provide one hour of paid sick leave for 

every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 48 hours 

per year.6  Beginning January 1, 2022, this 

requirement applies to all employers in the state.  

Paid sick leave may be used for:  the employee’s own 

health or health care, or that of a family member or 

other individual for whom the employee is 

responsible for providing care; or absences related to 

specified incidences of domestic abuse, sexual 

assault, or harassment.  The bill also includes 

additional requirements for paid sick leave during 

public health emergencies, including when a public 

                                                        
6Section 8-13.3-401, et seq., C.R.S. 
7California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, 
Oregon, Rhode Island, and Washington. 

official has ordered the closure of the employee’s 

workplace or child’s school or child care facility. 
 

 

Other State Laws 
 

Paid family and medical leave laws.  In addition to 

Colorado, eight other states have enacted paid family 

and medical leave (PFML) laws.7  Additionally, 

Hawaii has a paid medical leave law.  California, 

New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island enacted 

temporary disability insurance laws in the 1940s.  

Hawaii later followed in the 1960s.  The laws in 

California, New Jersey, and Rhode Island created 

state-run programs to provide partial wage-

replacement benefits in the event of a worker’s own 

non-work related injury, illness, or pregnancy.  The 

PFML programs in these states often expanded the 

existing state temporary disability insurance 

program, or used the same state agency to administer 

the new program.  More information about these 

laws can be found here: 

 

http://leg.colorado.gov/publications/state-paid-

family-and-medical-leave-laws 

 

Paid sick leave laws.  In addition to Colorado, 

14 other states have enacted paid sick leave laws 

requiring private sector employers to provide 

employees with a certain amount of paid sick time.8  

Paid sick leave is intended to allow employees to take 

time off for short-term health needs and preventive 

care compared with the longer-term needs covered 

by family and medical leave.  The laws in six of these 

states apply to all private sector employers, while the 

other laws exempt employers with fewer than 10 or 

15 employees.  These laws allow employees to accrue 

one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 to 52 hours 

worked, which can be used after a typical waiting 

period of 90 days. 

8Arizona, California, Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, 
Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington. 

https://sites.google.com/state.co.us/famli/home
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http://leg.colorado.gov/publications/state-paid-family-and-medical-leave-laws
http://leg.colorado.gov/publications/state-paid-family-and-medical-leave-laws

