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Section 1: 
Regulatory Overview 

 

This handbook is designed to be a reference guide for legislators and the public on the topic of 

Colorado laws related to liquor licensing.  It covers the three-tier regulatory structure; license and 

permit types; general licensing requirements; enforcement; taxes and fees; and recent legislation. 

 

Colorado’s liquor laws were first codified in 1935.  The Colorado Beer and Liquor Codes regulate 

fermented malt beverages, malt liquor, vinous liquors (wine), and spirits.1   

 

A three-tier regulatory structure divides the manufacturing, wholesale distribution, and retail sale of 

alcohol in Colorado.  Within this system, there are over 40 varieties of licenses and permits, with each 

individual location required to have a separate license and/or permit.  Licenses are issued by either 

one or both the state and local licensing authorities — manufacturers, wholesalers, and importers 

apply directly to the state for a license, while retail licenses are issued by both the state and local 

licensing authorities.  In general, a business owning or having a financial interest in a license may not 

own or have an interest in a license from another tier, with a few exceptions. 

 

Definitions.  The Beer and Liquor Codes contain definitions related to beer, wine, and spirits. 

 

 Beer.  Colorado law contains two terms that refer to beer — "fermented malt beverage" and "malt 

liquor."  Prior to January 1, 2019, fermented malt beverages were defined as beer, or other 

beverages made from the fermentation of barley, malt, hops, or similar products containing no 

more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight (3.2 beer).  Malt liquor was defined as beer, or other 

beverages made from the fermentation of barley, malt, hops, or similar products, containing more 

than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight (full-strength beer).  As of January 1, 2019, the distinction 

between 3.2 beer and full-strength beer was eliminated.  As a result, fermented malt beverages 

and malt liquor are both defined as beer, or similar products, with at least 0.5 percent alcohol by 

volume. 

 

 Wine.  Vinous liquors are defined as wine and fortified wine made from the fermentation of the 

natural sugars in fruit or other agricultural products that contain between 0.5 percent and 

21 percent alcohol by volume.  Sake and hard cider are both considered vinous liquors, although 

hard cider is taxed as a beer.  

 

 Spirits.  Spirituous liquors, or spirits, are defined as any alcohol obtained by distillation and mixed 

with water or other substances in solution.  Spirits include brandy, rum, whiskey, gin, powdered 

alcohol, and other alcohols that contain at least 0.5 percent alcohol by volume and that do not fall 

under the definitions of wine or beer. 

 

                                                
1Section 44-3-101, et seq. and Section 44-4-101, et seq., C.R.S. 
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Section 2: 
License and Permit Types 

 
 

Manufacturer and Importer Licenses 
 

Manufacturer licenses are issued to breweries, wineries, and distilleries based on the type of alcohol 

produced.  Importer licenses are issued to entities that import alcohol into Colorado.  Table 1 shows 

the number of manufacturer and importer licenses in Colorado, and the related state and local 

licensing fees outlined in statute. 

 

Manufacturer licenses.  Licensed manufacturers may produce beer, wine, or spirits in Colorado.  

Depending on the license held, licensees may also operate one or more sales rooms where alcohol is 

sold directly to consumers.  

 

 Licensed breweries must hold a malt liquor manufacturer license in order to produce beer.  Entities 

that hold both a malt liquor manufacturer and a malt liquor wholesaler license may operate one 

sales room in the state where beer can be sold directly to customers for consumption on and/or off 

the licensed premises. 

 

 Licensed wineries may conduct tastings and sell the wine they manufacture, along with wine 

manufactured by other Colorado wineries, directly to customers on the licensed premises of the 

winery and at one other approved sales room location for consumption on and/or off the licensed 

premises.  Licensed wineries are allowed to sell food, general merchandise, and nonalcoholic 

beverages. 

 

 Licensed distilleries may conduct tastings and sell only the spirits they manufacture directly to 

customers on the licensed premises of the distillery and at one other approved sales room location 

for consumption on and/or off the licensed premises.  Licensed distilleries are allowed to sell food, 

general merchandise, and nonalcoholic beverages. 

 

Nonresident manufacturer and importer licenses.  Nonresident manufacturer and importer licenses 

allow the licensee to import alcohol into Colorado and sell it to licensed wholesalers.  Licenses are 

issued based on the type of alcohol produced and include the following license types: 

 

 Nonresident malt liquor manufacturer licenses are issued to persons manufacturing beer outside of 

Colorado, authorizing them to import and sell beer to licensed malt liquor wholesalers in the state. 

 

 Malt liquor importer licenses are issued to persons importing beer into Colorado, authorizing them 

to import and sell beer to licensed malt liquor wholesalers in the state. 

 

 Wine and spirits importers licenses are issued to persons importing wine and/or spirits into Colorado, 

authorizing them to import and sell wine or spirits to licensed wholesalers in the state. 
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Table 1 
Manufacturer and Importer Licenses and Statutory Fees 

 

License Type Number of Licenses State Fee* Local Fee* 

Manufacturer 

Malt Liquor  
     Resident 
     Nonresident 

 
262 

47 

$300 Not set in statute 

Wine 7 $300 Not set in statute 

Spirits 108 $300 Not set in statute 

Importer 

Malt Liquor 90 $300 Not set in statute 

Wine/Spirits 572 $300 Not set in statute 

 Sources:  Colorado Department of Revenue (as of December 1, 2020); Colorado Revised Statutes.  
 *This table includes only fees set in statute; other fees are set administratively by the Department  
   of Revenue or by the local licensing authority. 

 

 

Wholesaler Licenses 
 

Wholesalers distribute alcohol from manufacturers to retailers.  Licenses are issued based on the type 

of alcohol distributed.  Table 2 shows the number of wholesaler licenses in Colorado, and the related 

state and local licensing fees outlined in statute. 

 

Malt liquor wholesaler licenses.  These licensees are authorized to take orders for and sell beer to 

licensed retailers within a designated geographic area, as agreed upon by the licensee and the 

manufacturer.  Entities that hold both a malt liquor manufacturer and a malt liquor wholesaler license 

may also operate one sales room in the state where beer can be sold directly to customers for 

consumption on and/or off the licensed premises.    

 

Liquor wholesaler license.  These licensees are authorized to take orders for and sell wine and/or 

spirits at wholesale, operate one or more warehouses, and package wine and spirits. 

 
Table 2   

Wholesaler Licenses and Statutory Fees 

 

License Type Number of Licenses State Fee* Local Fee* 

Malt Liquor  334 $550 Not set in statute 

Wine/Spirits 213 $550 Not set in statute 

Sources: Colorado Department of Revenue (as of December 1, 2020); Colorado Revised Statutes.  
*This table includes only fees set in statute; other fees are set administratively by the Department of Revenue or by  
 the local licensing authority. 
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Retail Licenses 
 

Retail licenses are issued to establishments that sell alcohol for off-premises consumption, 

on-premises consumption, or both.  Table 3 lists retail license types by category, and Table 4 shows 

the number of retail licenses in Colorado and the related state and local licensing fees outlined in 

statute. 

 
Table 3 

Retail Licenses and Permits by Category 

 

Off Premises On Premises On/Off Premises 

Fermented Malt Beverage Retailer  
Liquor-licensed Drugstore 
 Liquor-licensed Drugstore     

Manager’s Permit 
Retail Liquor Store 

Art Gallery 
Arts  
Bed and Breakfast 
Beer and Wine  
Club  
Fermented Malt Beverage Retailer 
Hotel and Restaurant 
 Optional Premises Permit 
 Resort Complex  
 Campus Liquor Complex  

Lodging and Entertainment Facility 
Optional Premises License 
Public Transportation System 
Racetrack  
Retail Gaming Tavern 
Tavern 

Fermented Malt Beverage 
Retailer* 

*Available in certain rural or underserved areas of the state. 

 

Off-premises retail licenses and permits.  These licensed retailers may sell alcohol in original sealed 

containers for off-premises consumption.  Licensees must purchase all alcohol from licensed 

wholesalers, must ensure that employees handling alcohol are at least 18 years of age, may conduct 

approved tastings, and are subject to state laws related to the use of self-checkouts, below-cost sales, 

and other provisions.  Licensed retail liquor stores and liquor-licensed drugstores are limited in the 

number of licensed locations they may operate; see the General Licensing Provisions section 

(Section 3) for more information.   

 

 Fermented malt beverage off-premises retailer license.  These licensees may sell beer for off-premises 

consumption.  Prior to 2019, these licensees were only permitted to sell 3.2 beer; beginning in 2019, 

these licenses may sell all beer, regardless of alcohol content.  Licensees who obtain or renew a 

license initially issued on or after June 4, 2018, must receive at least 20 percent of their gross annual 

revenues, excluding fuel, cigarettes, and nicotine, tobacco, and lottery products, from food items 

to be consumed off premises.   

 

 Liquor-licensed drugstore license.  These licenses are issued to drugstores licensed by the State Board 

of Pharmacy and allow for the sale of beer, wine, and spirits.  Licensees who obtain or renew a 

license initially issued on or after January 1, 2017, must derive at least 20 percent of gross annual 

income from the sale of food items and be open to the public.   
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o Liquor-licensed drugstore manager’s permit.  Each liquor-licensed drugstore is required to have 

at least one permitted manager working on the licensed premises who is responsible for the 

licensee’s alcohol beverage operations.  The individual must be at least 21 years of age and 

must not have been convicted of a crime involving the sale or distribution of alcohol within 

the prior eight years or any felony within the prior five years.  Managers are encouraged to 

purchase and promote locally produced alcohol beverage products. 

 

 Retail liquor store license.  These licensees may sell malt liquor, wine, and spirits, and any 

nonalcoholic products, as long as the annual gross revenue from the sale of these nonalcoholic 

products does not exceed 20 percent of the store’s total annual gross sales revenue.  Lottery 

products, cigarettes, tobacco and nicotine products, ice, soft drinks, mixers, and non-food items 

related to the consumption of alcohol are excluded from the 20 percent limit. 

 

On-premises retail licenses and permits.  Establishments that sell alcohol for consumption on the 

licensed premises must purchase their product from a licensed wholesaler and are required to obtain 

one of the following licenses or permits: 

 

 Art gallery permit.  An art gallery, where the primary purpose is to exhibit and offer for sale works 

of fine art, precious metals, or stones, may be permitted to offer complimentary alcohol beverages 

on no more than 15 days per year.  Permittees may not charge an entrance fee or cover charge in 

connection with offering alcohol beverages and may not intentionally allow more than 250 people 

onto the premises while alcohol is being served. 

 

 Arts license.  These licenses are issued to nonprofit arts organizations that sponsor and present 

productions or performances of an artistic or cultural nature and authorize the licensee to sell 

alcohol beverages to patrons of the production or performance.  Licenses may also be issued to 

municipalities owning arts facilities.  Licensees may not advertise the sale of alcohol. 

 

 Bed and breakfast permit.  A bed and breakfast with no more than 20 sleeping rooms that provides 

at least one meal per day at no additional charge may obtain a bed and breakfast permit instead 

of a hotel and restaurant license.  Permittees may offer complimentary alcohol beverages to 

overnight guests.  Permittees may not sell alcohol beverages and may not serve alcohol for more 

than four hours in any one day. 

 

 Beer and wine license.  These licenses are issued to establishments selling beer and wine.  Licensees 

must have sandwiches and light snacks available for consumption on the licensed premises during 

business hours. 

 

 Club license.  These licenses are issued to clubs authorizing the sale of alcohol beverages to 

members of the club and their guests.  The club must have been incorporated for at least three 

years, have a membership that has paid dues for at least three years, and operate solely for objects 

of a national, social, fraternal, patriotic, political, or athletic nature, but not for financial gain. 

 

 Fermented malt beverage on-premises retailer license. These licenses are issued to establishments that 

sell beer for on-premises consumption. 
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 Hotel and restaurant license.  These licenses are issued to hotels and restaurants selling alcohol 

beverages to customers.  Hotels may also provide complimentary alcohol beverages in sealed 

containers to guests, or sell alcohol beverages in sealed containers with a capacity of 500 milliliters 

or less through in-room minibars.  Meals must be regularly served and provide at least 25 percent 

of the gross income from sales of food and drink of the business annually.  Licensees must have a 

separate registered manager.   

 

o Optional premises permit.  An optional premises permit may be issued to a hotel and restaurant 

licensee with an outdoor sports and recreational facility onsite, as allowed by the local 

jurisdiction. 

 

o Resort complex.  A licensed hotel may be designated as a resort complex if it has at least 

50 sleeping rooms and has related sports and recreational facilities for the convenience of its 

guests or the general public on the premises.  Permittees may allow customers and guests who 

purchase alcohol beverages at one related facility to carry those beverages to other related 

facilities within the overall boundaries of the licensed resort complex. 

 

o Campus liquor complex.  An institution of higher education, or a person who contracts with an 

institution to provide food services, that holds a hotel and restaurant license may be 

designated as a campus liquor complex.  The licensee must designate a principal licensed 

premises and may obtain related facility permits for areas that are on the campus of a licensed 

institution of higher education and are owned or controlled by the institution. 

 

 Lodging and entertainment facility license.  These licenses are issued to either a lodging facility, where 

the primary business is to provide the public with sleeping rooms and meeting facilities, or an 

entertainment facility, where the primary business is to provide the public with sports or 

entertainment activities.  Licensees must have sandwiches and light snacks available for 

consumption on the licensed premises and have a separate registered manager.  

 

 Optional premises license.  These licenses are issued to an outdoor sports and recreational facility 

that charges a fee for the use of the facility. 

 

 Public transportation system license.  These licenses are issued to operators of public transportation 

systems authorizing the sale of alcohol beverages that are served and consumed in or upon any 

dining, club, or parlor train car; plane; bus; or other conveyance of the public transportation 

system. 

 

 Racetrack license.  These licenses are issued to facilities that hold live horse races authorizing the 

sale of alcohol beverages to customers of the racetrack.  Establishments that offer simulcast races 

with pari-mutuel wagering and that hold a different type of liquor license are not required to 

obtain a racetrack license.  Racetrack licensees must also serve food. 
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 Retail gaming tavern license.  These licenses are issued to establishments with a retail gaming license 

that sell alcohol beverages.  Licensees must have sandwiches or light snacks available for 

consumption.  Only one retail gaming tavern licensee may be located in a single building, and an 

individual may hold no more than three retail gaming tavern licenses. 

 

 Tavern license.  These licenses are issued to establishments where the principal business is the sale 

of alcohol for consumption on the licensed premises.  Licensees must have sandwiches and light 

snacks available for consumption on the licensed premises during business hours.  Licensees must 

have a separate registered manager for each license.   
 

Fermented malt beverage on- and off-premises retailer license.  These licensees are authorized to 

sell beer to consumers for on- and off-premises consumption.  As of February 20, 2019, these licenses 

may only be issued to establishments located in certain rural or underserved areas of the state.  

Licensees outside of these areas must convert their license to either a fermented malt beverage 

on-premises retailer license or a fermented malt beverage off-premises retailer license. 
 

Table 4 
Retail Licenses/Permits and Fees 

 

License or Permit Type 

Number of 
Licenses/ 
Permits State Fee* Local Fee* 

Off-Premises Retail 

Fermented Malt Beverage Off-Premises  1,801 $75 $25 (city) / $50 (county) 

Retail Liquor Store 1,608 

$100 $150 (city) / $250 (county) 

Liquor-licensed Drugstore 22 

   Liquor-licensed Drugstore Manager 87 $100 Not set in statute 

On-Premises Retail 

Art Gallery 82 $50 $25 

Arts  59 $75 $275 

Bed and Breakfast 37 $50 $25 

Beer and Wine  737 $75 
$325 (city) / $425 (county)  
/ $375 (for resort hotel) 

Club  157 $75 $275 

Fermented Malt Beverage On-Premises  33 $75 $25 (city) / $50 (county) 

Hotel and Restaurant 5,206 $75 $500 

   Optional Premises Permit 236 Not set in statute Not set in statute 

   Resort complex 19 $75 per facility $100 per facility 

   Campus liquor complex 10 $75 per facility $100 per facility 



Table 4 (Cont.) 
Retail Licenses/Permits and Fees 
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License or Permit Type 

Number 
of 

Licenses/ 
Permits State Fee* Local Fee* 

Lodging and Entertainment Facility 262 $75 $500 

Optional Premises License 78 $75 $500 

Public Transportation System 23 $75 per vehicle Not set in statute 

Racetrack  3 $75 $500 

Retail Gaming Tavern 18 $75 $500 

Tavern  1,251 $75 $500 

On/Off Premises Retail  

Fermented Malt Beverage On/Off 
Premises  

37 $75 $25 (city) / $50 (county) 

Sources: Colorado Department of Revenue (as of December 1, 2020); Colorado Revised Statutes.  
*This table includes only fees set in statute; other fees are set administratively by the Department of Revenue or by the 

local licensing authority. 

 

 
Cross-Tier Licenses 
 

Cross-tier licenses allow certain smaller entities to manufacture, distribute to retailers, and sell their 

products to customers under one license.  Table 5 shows the number of cross-tier licenses in Colorado, 

and the related state and local license fees outlined in statute.  

 

Brew pub license.  These licenses are issued to establishments that manufacture no more than 

1,860,000 gallons of beer each year and also sell alcohol beverages and food for consumption on the 

licensed premises.  Beer manufactured by these licensees may be sold to customers for consumption 

on the licensed premises, to independent wholesalers for distribution to licensed retailers, and to the 

public in sealed containers for off-premises consumption.  Licensees may also sell up to 

300,000 gallons of beer that they manufacture directly to licensed retailers annually.  At least 

15 percent of licensees’ gross on-premises food and drink income must be from the sale of food.  

 

Distillery pub license.  These licenses are issued to establishments that ferment and distill no more 

than 45,000 liters of spirits each year and sell alcohol beverages and food for consumption on the 

licensed premises.  Spirits manufactured by these licensees may be sold to customers for consumption 

on the licensed premises, to independent wholesalers for distribution to licensed retailers, and to the 

public in sealed containers for off-premises consumption.  Licensees may also sell up to 2,700 liters of 

spirits that they manufacture directly to licensed retailers annually.  At least 15 percent of licensees’ 

gross on-premises food and drink income must be from the sale of food.  

 

Limited winery license.  These licenses are issued to Colorado wineries that produce no more than 

100,000 gallons of wine annually.  Licensed limited wineries may conduct tastings and sell the wine 

they manufacture, along with wine manufactured by other Colorado wineries, directly to customers 

on the licensed premises of the winery, and at up to five other approved sales room locations.  
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Licensees may also sell the wine they manufacture at wholesale.  Licensees are allowed to serve and 

sell food, general merchandise, and nonalcoholic beverages.  Licensees must follow strict wine bottle 

labeling requirements concerning the origin of grapes used.  

 

Vintner’s restaurant license.  These licenses are issued to establishments that manufacture no more 

than 250,000 gallons of wine annually and sell alcohol beverages and food for consumption on the 

licensed premises.  Wine manufactured by these licensees may be sold to customers for consumption 

on the licensed premises, to independent wholesalers for distribution to licensed retailers, and to the 

public in sealed containers for off-premises consumption.  Licensees may also sell up to 50,000 gallons 

of wine that it manufactures directly to licensed retailers annually.  At least 15 percent of the licensees’ 

gross on-premises food and drink income must be from the sale of food. 

 
Table 5 

Cross-Tier Licenses and Statutory Fees 
 

License Type Number of Licenses State Fee* Local Fee* 

Brew Pub 183 $325 $500 

Distillery Pub  5 $325 $500 

Limited Winery 158 $70 Not set in statute 

Vintner’s Restaurant 12 $325 $500 

Sources: Colorado Department of Revenue (as of December 1, 2020); Colorado Revised Statutes.  
*This table includes only fees set in statute; other fees are set administratively by the Department of Revenue or by the 

local licensing authority. 
 
 

Miscellaneous Licenses and Permits 
 

The following licenses and permits are issued for certain events and functions related to the 

manufacturing, distribution, and sale of alcohol.  Table 6 shows the number of permits in Colorado, 

and the related state and local licensing fees outlined in statute.  

 

Alternating proprietor premises license.  These licenses are issued to a licensed beer or wine 

manufacturer; limited winery; vintner’s restaurant; or brew pub.  The license authorizes another 

licensed beer or wine manufacturer to use a designated area on the alternating proprietor premises 

license holder’s premises to manufacture and store beer and wine.  

 

Special event permit.  Permits may be issued for special events held by certain types of organizations 

for the sale of beer, wine, and/or spirits during the event.  Alcohol sales are permitted during specific 

hours.  A special event permit may not be issued to any organization for more than 15 days per year.   

 

Wine packaging permit.  A wine packaging permit may be issued to a licensed winery, limited 

winery, or wine wholesaler allowing the permittee to package tax-paid wine manufactured by another 

winery or manufacturer.  The permittee must take possession of the wine and return the packaged 

wine to the original manufacturer or the original manufacturer’s wholesaler.  Permitted wineries and 

limited wineries may not sell or distribute the tax-paid wine it packages to consumers or licensed 

retailers.  



 

 

10 Colorado Licensing Liquor Handbook 

Winery direct shipper permit.  A winery direct shipper permit authorizes permitted wineries in the 

U.S. to sell and deliver wine that is produced or bottled by the permittee directly to consumers located 

in Colorado for personal use.  The permittee must follow specific packaging guidelines and 

requirements for delivery, including not selling or shipping wine to a minor, and the wine may not 

be resold.  

 

Wine festival permit.  A wine festival permit allows wine manufacturer or limited winery licensees 

to hold up to nine wine festivals during a 12-month period. 

 
Table 6 

Miscellaneous Licenses/Permits and Fees 
 

License or Permit Type 
Number of 

Licenses/Permits 
State Fee* Local Fee* 

Alternating Proprietor Premises 43 Not set in statute Not set in statute 

Special Event Varies $10/day (beer only);  
$25/day (beer, wine, spirits) 

Not set in statute 

Wine Packaging 2 $200 Not set in statute 

Winery Direct Shipper 1,757 Not set in statute Not set in statute 

Wine Festival Varies $25 Not set in statute 

Sources: Colorado Department of Revenue (as of December 1, 2020); Colorado Revised Statutes.  
* This table includes only fees set in statute; other fees are set administratively by the Department of Revenue or by 

the local licensing authority. 
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Section 3: 
General Licensing Provisions 

 

Financial interests.  Persons with a financial interest in a licensed manufacturer or wholesaler may 

not have a financial interest in a licensed retailer and vice versa.  Persons with a financial interest in a 

beer manufacturer may have a financial interest in a licensed wholesaler.  Persons with a financial 

interest in a wine and spirits manufacturer may hold a wholesale license for the distribution of their 

own manufactured products.  Individuals with a financial interest in a licensed wine and spirits 

manufacturer may not have a financial interest in a licensed wholesaler that sells products other than 

those made by the manufacturer. 

 

Multiple licensed locations.  Licensees are generally allowed to hold an unlimited number of licenses 

within the same tier.  However, retail liquor store and liquor-licensed drugstore licensees may only 

obtain additional licensed locations based on the phase-in schedule in Table 7.  Liquor-licensed 

drugstores are subject to certain other requirements to obtain additional licenses. 

 
Table 7 

Maximum Liquor Licenses Available to a Single Owner 
 

   
  

Dates 

Maximum  
Liquor-licensed Drugstores 

Licenses 
Maximum Retail Liquor 

Store Licenses 

Prior to January 1, 2017 1 1 

January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2021 5 2 

January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2026 8 3 

January 1, 2027 – December 31, 2031 13 

4 January 1, 2032 – December 31, 2036 20 

Beginning January 1, 2037 Unlimited 

   Source:  Sections 44-3-409 (4)(b)(III) and 44-3-410 (4)(b) (IV), C.R.S. 

 

Alcohol purchases.  All licensees that sell alcohol beverages at retail are required to purchase all 

alcohol beverages from a licensed wholesaler.  A licensee that sells alcohol for consumption on the 

licensed premises may purchase up to $2,000 worth of alcohol beverages per year from retail liquor 

stores, liquor-licensed drugstores, or fermented malt beverage retailers, but must retain evidence of 

these purchases.  

 

Sales rooms.  A sales room is an area in which a licensed winery, limited winery, distillery, or 

full-strength beer wholesaler sells and serves alcohol beverages for consumption on the licensed 

premises, sells alcohol beverages in sealed containers for consumption off the licensed premises, or 

both.  Licensed wine and spirits manufacturers are allowed two sales rooms and limited wineries may 

operate six sales rooms.  Of those, one must be at the licensed manufacturing location, and the other(s) 

may be used for either additional permanent locations, or to conduct sales at temporary events 

(e.g., farmers markets, festivals, or other events lasting no more than three days).  The sales room(s) 

used for temporary events may be made up of multiple temporary sales room permits throughout the 

year.  Licensed beer wholesalers may operate one permanent sales room on their premises, but cannot 

operate temporary sales rooms.   
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The state licensing authority may deny an application for a proposed sales room if the local licensing 

authority determines that approval of the sales room would impact traffic, noise, or other 

neighborhood concerns in a manner that is inconsistent with local regulations or ordinances.  

Applicants for a sales room must also comply with local zoning restrictions.  

 

Tastings.  Tastings must be authorized by the local licensing authority, subject to local government 

ordinances.  The alcohol used in a tasting must be purchased through a licensed wholesaler, brew 

pub, distillery pub, or winery, and the tasting must follow specific guidelines outlined in statute 

related to the staffing and size of each tasting, the hours of operation, and other requirements.  

 

Cork and carry.  Certain licensees that sell meals or sandwiches and light snacks may allow customers 

to reseal and remove one open, partially consumed container of wine, as long as the original container 

does not exceed 750 milliliters.  These licensees include all manufacturers, limited wineries, beer and 

wine licensees, hotel and restaurant licensees, taverns, brew pubs, vintner’s restaurants, clubs, 

distillery pubs, and lodging and entertainment facilities. 

 

Takeout and delivery.  Retail liquor stores, liquor-licensed drugstores, and fermented malt beverage 

off-premises retail licensees may deliver their products to consumers.  The person delivering alcohol 

must be at least 21 years of age, use a vehicle owned or leased by the licensee, and verify that the 

customer is also over 21 years of age.  Licensees may not receive more than 50 percent of gross annual 

revenues from the sale of delivered alcohol. 

 

Through July 1, 2021, certain businesses licensed for on-premises alcohol consumption, including 

restaurants and breweries, may sell alcohol as part of takeout and delivery orders.  Unless the 

Governor has declared a disaster emergency, licensees must obtain a permit from the state and, if 

applicable, local licensing authorities, and must derive no more than 50 percent of their gross annual 

revenues from total sales of food and alcohol from the sale of alcohol through takeout and delivery.  

Alcohol sold as part of a takeout or delivery order must be in a sealed container, and certain licensees 

are limited in the amount of alcohol they are allowed to sell via takeout and delivery, though this limit 

does not apply if the Governor has declared a disaster emergency.  The person delivering the alcohol 

must be an employee of the licensee who is at least 21 years of age and who has completed the server 

and seller training program.  
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Section 4:  
Licensing Process 

 

State licensing authority.  The Department of Revenue’s Liquor Enforcement Division serves as the 

state licensing authority.  The division may grant, suspend, or revoke a license or permit; hear 

complaints; enforce laws related to the regulation and sale of alcohol; approve responsible alcohol 

vendor training vendors; and make rules related to the regulation of alcohol, including compliance, 

enforcement, safety and health requirements, and guidelines for local licensing authorities.  

 

Local licensing authority.  A local licensing authority is a governing body of a city or county, or an 

authority designated by local charter, ordinance, or resolution.  Local authorities process retail 

applications, and may suspend or revoke a license after a hearing. 

 

Retail licenses.  To obtain a license, retailers must first obtain approval from the local licensing 

authority.  An application must be submitted on state-provided forms, including building or plot 

plans, and the applicant must complete a criminal background check.  The local licensing authority 

must schedule a public hearing no less than 30 days after receiving the application and provide 

adequate notice no less than 10 days prior to the hearing.  If the application is approved, the local 

authority must then notify the state licensing authority, which conducts an investigation and may 

either approve or deny the application.   

 

Supplier licenses.  Manufacturers, wholesalers, importers, and public transportation carrier licenses 

are issued by the state alone, and applicants apply directly to the state.  The division conducts the 

criminal background check and determines whether to approve a license.  

 

Application considerations.  In processing an application, the state or local licensing authority must 

consider: 

 

 facts and evidence; 

 reasonable requirements of the neighborhood; 

 desires of adult inhabitants of the neighborhood; 

 the number, type, and availability of alcohol beverage outlets in the area; 

 an initial background check of the individuals involved; and 

 the effect on competition in certain cases.  

 

Generally, new retail licenses cannot be approved within 500 feet of a school or university (subject to 

local regulations), or within 500 feet of a location for which the same license type has been denied 

based on the needs and desires of the community within the past two years.  A new fermented 

malt beverage retail license cannot be issued for a location for which the same license type has been 

denied based on the needs and desires of the community within the last year.  A retail liquor store or 

tavern license may be denied if it would result in an undue concentration of license types and would 

require additional law enforcement.  

 

 

 

 



 

 

14 Colorado Licensing Liquor Handbook 

Off-premises retail radius restrictions.  New retail liquor store or liquor-licensed drugstore licenses 

may not be issued if the premises is located: 

 

 within 1,500 feet of another off-premises retail license; or 

 within 3,000 feet of another off-premises retail license if located within a municipality with a 

population of 10,000 or less that is not contiguous to the City and County of Denver. 

 

Generally, new fermented malt beverage off-premises retail licenses may not be issued for a location 

that is within 500 feet of a retail liquor store.  

 

Individuals prohibited as licensees.  Licenses may not be issued to any person or entity that is not of 

good moral character, anyone under 21 years of age, certain peace officers, and employees of the state 

licensing authority.  Under state law, a felony by itself is not grounds for denial of an application.  

 

License renewals and reissued licenses.  All licenses and non-event related permits are valid for one 

year.  The state must notify licensees 90 days prior to expiration of a license and a licensee must apply 

for renewal no less than 30 days before expiration.  The state or local licensing authority, depending 

on the license type, may reissue a license that has been expired for more than 90 days and fewer than 

180 days.  Reissued licenses cannot be issued to a licensee more than three times in a five-year period.  

A licensee applying for a reissued license must pay late fees and may continue operating until the 

application is approved or denied. 

 

Transfer of ownership.  A licensee may submit a transfer of ownership application to the state and 

local licensing authorities to transfer the license to another individual.  Local authorities may issue a 

temporary permit while the transfer application is pending.  

 

Master file.  Entities with multiple licensed locations can request the creation of a master file with the 

state licensing authority that contains the entity’s licensing and background check information.  An 

entity with a master file does not have to submit fingerprints and background check forms each time 

the entity applies for a new license.  Currently, an entity must have at least five licenses or applications 

pending in order to request a master file. 
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Section 5:  
Liquor Taxes and Fees 

 
 

Licensing fees.  Liquor licensing fees are established in statute and are shown in Tables 1 through 6.  

The first $50 of each state fee is deposited in the Liquor Enforcement Division Cash Fund for the 

administration of the regulatory program, while the remainder is deposited in the General Fund.  Of 

the local licensing fees, 85 percent goes to the state to be deposited in the Old Age Pension Fund.  The 

remainder stays with the local licensing authority.  

 

Application fees.  In addition to the licensing fees, state and local licensing authorities may also charge 

both application and renewal fees.  State application fees are deposited in the Liquor Enforcement 

Division Cash Fund.  Currently, the state application fee for a new license is $1,550 and the renewal 

fee is $50.  Local application fees vary between jurisdictions and generally cannot exceed $1,000 for a 

new license, and $100 for a renewal.  In addition, the applicant must pay for a background check 

completed by the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. 

 

Excise taxes.  Excise taxes are charged to manufacturers or the first licensee to receive alcohol from 

out of state, based on the volume of alcohol.  Excise tax revenue is deposited in the Old Age Pension 

Fund and General Fund, except for an additional excise tax on wine, which is deposited in the 

Colorado Wine Industry Development Cash Fund. 

 

In addition, a wine development fee of $0.01 per liter of wine offered for sale and an additional excise 

tax of $10 per ton of grapes used for wine manufacturing is charged to licensed wineries, limited 

wineries, and vintner’s restaurants.  This fee revenue is transferred from the General Fund to the 

Colorado Wine Industry Development Cash Fund, which is used to conduct research and promote 

the Colorado wine industry. 

 

Table 8 lists the excise taxes charged, and Figure 1 shows the total liquor excise tax revenue collected 

from 2017 through 2019.  Liquor excise tax revenue totaled $45.3 million in 2019. 
 

Table 8 
Excise Taxes 

 
Beverage Type Tax 

Beer and Hard Cider $0.08 per gallon 

Wine $0.0733 per liter, plus an additional: 
 $0.05 per liter for first 9,000 liters; 
 $0.03 per liter for next 36,000 liters; and 
 $0.01 per liter for any additional liters. 

Spirits $0.6026 per liter 

  Source: Colorado Revised Statutes.  
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Figure 1 
Liquor Excise Tax Revenue, 2017 to 2019 

 

 
   Source: Colorado Department of Revenue. 
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Section 6:  
Enforcement 

 

The Department of Revenue’s Liquor Enforcement Division, local licensing authorities, and local law 

enforcement are responsible for enforcing the state’s Beer and Liquor Codes.  

 

Disciplinary action against licensees.  State and local licensing authorities can suspend or revoke any 

license or permit, or can assess a fine for violating the terms of the license.  Fines may range from 

$500 to $100,000, although the first violation for the lowest-level violations cannot exceed $5,000.  A 

suspension cannot last more than six months and a licensee may petition to pay a fine in lieu of a 

suspension.  Licensing authorities may conduct inspections, require information from licensees, 

administer oaths, and issue subpoenas.  State inspectors have the same powers as peace officers, 

including the authority to arrest and issue summons.  

 

Unlawful acts.  It is unlawful for a licensee to violate the terms of his or her license or for someone to 

manufacture, import, sell, or distribute alcohol without a license.  State law also prohibits selling, 

serving, providing, or delivering alcohol to a person who is under 21 years of age or visibly 

intoxicated.  

  

Section 44-3-901, C.R.S., includes a list of additional unlawful acts related to the purchase and 

consumption of alcohol, including selling alcohol at retail at any time other than the times specified 

by their license type, and failing to display required signage.  

 

Employee age requirements. Employees must be 18 years old to sell alcohol at retail liquor stores, 

liquor-licensed drugstores, and fermented malt beverage off-premises retailers.  At lodging and 

entertainment facilities and taverns that do not regularly serve meals, employees must be 21 years of 

age to sell alcohol.  For other retail licensees, employees must be at least 18 years of age to sell alcohol 

and those that are between the ages of 18 and 20 must be supervised by someone over 21. Employees 

must be 21 years of age to deliver alcohol.  

 

Public consumption.  Consumption of alcohol beverages in any public place is prohibited, unless 

authorized by a local government or by the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission for state 

recreational areas.  

 

Criminal penalties.  In general, a person who violates a provision of the Beer or Liquor Codes is guilty 

of a class 2 petty offense and must pay a fine of up to $250 per offense.  Certain acts, such as selling to 

a visibly intoxicated person or selling or manufacturing without the required license, can result in a 

class 2 misdemeanor, and acts such as selling, serving, or providing alcohol to someone under 21 can 

result in a class 1 misdemeanor.  Depending on the circumstances and the violation, additional charges 

under the Criminal Code may result.  
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Section 7:  
Recent Legislation 

 
 

2020 Legislation 
 
The Colorado General Assembly passed several bills during the 2020 session that impacted 
Colorado liquor licensing law, as shown in Table 9.  
 

Table 9 
2020 Enacted Legislation 

 

Bill Number and Title Summary 

House Bill 20-1055 
Vintner’s Restaurant Alternating Proprietor 
 

This bill allows vintner’s restaurants to apply to the state licensing 
authority for authorization as an alternating proprietor licensed 
premises.  
 

Senate Bill 20-032 
Employee Age to Sell Alcohol  
 

This bill clarifies that employees of liquor-licensed drugstores who are 
between 18 and 21 years of age may not deliver alcohol, but may sell 
and otherwise have contact with alcohol.  
 

Senate Bill 20-086 
Alcohol Beverage License & Permit 
Expiration 
 

This bill allows the Liquor Enforcement Division to set a renewal fee 
for liquor licenses and permits, and to notify licensees of their license 
expiration date by any method likely to reach the licensee. 
 

Senate Bill 20-110 
Penalties for Liquor Law Violations 
 

This bill requires that the Liquor Enforcement Division adopt rules 
establishing categories of liquor law violations, based on severity, and 
associated penalty ranges. It also changes the range of potential fines 
to between $500 and $100,000, except that a fine for a first violation in 
the least severe category cannot exceed $5,000. 
 

Senate Bill 20-194 
Brew pub Retail Sales Malt Liquor Sealed 
Container.  

The bill allows licensed brew pubs to sell beer that is manufactured at 
another brew pub under the same ownership. The beer must be in 
sealed containers for off-premises consumption. The same person or 
group must have at least 50 percent ownership in both brew pubs. 
 

Senate Bill 20-213 
Alcohol Beverage Retail Takeout & Delivery 

The bill allows certain liquor licensees to sell alcohol as part of takeout 
orders and to deliver alcohol for consumption off the licensed 
premises, through July 1, 2021. The bill specifies certain limitations 
and requirements that occur only if the Governor has not declared a 
disaster emergency.  
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2019 Legislation 
 

The Colorado General Assembly passed several bills during the 2019 session that impacted Colorado 

liquor licensing law, as shown in Table 10. 

 
Table 10 

2019 Enacted Legislation 
 

Bill Number and Title Summary 

Senate Bill 19-011 
Fermented Malt Beverage and Malt Liquor 
Licenses 
 

This bill converts existing fermented malt beverage manufacturer, 
wholesaler, and importer licenses into the corresponding malt liquor 
license. 

Senate Bill 19-028 
Allow On and Off Premises Beer Licenses in 
Rural Areas 
 

This bill allows fermented malt beverage on/off premises licenses to 
be issued to establishments in rural and underserved areas.  
 

Senate Bill 19-141 
Entertainment Districts in Counties & 
Optional Premises Licenses 
 

This bill allows counties to establish entertainment districts and 
expands the types of licenses within an entertainment district that can 
serve alcohol to include optional premises licenses. 

Senate Bill 19-142 
Exempt Hard Cider from Wine Industry 
Development Act 

This bill exempts produce used to make hard cider from the excise tax 
on produce used to make wine, and exempts hard cider from the Wine 
Industry Development Act.  
 

Senate Bill 19-200 
Alcohol Beverage Consumption at the 
National Western Center 

When and where authorized by the City and County of Denver, this bill 
allows patrons of the National Western Center to leave a licensed 
premises with an alcohol beverage, as long as the person does not 
leave the center or the common consumption area.  Patrons may not 
remove alcohol from the center or bring in alcohol purchased outside 
the center.  
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2018 Legislation 
 

The Colorado General Assembly passed several bills during the 2018 session that impacted Colorado 

liquor licensing law, as shown in Table 11. 

 
Table 11 

2018 Enacted Legislation 
 

Bill Number and Title Summary 

House Bill 18-1025 
Relocate Title 12 Liquor Laws to Title 44 
 
House Bill 18-1026 
Relocate Title 12 Liquor Division Fund to 
Title 44 
 

These bills relocate statutes pertaining to alcohol regulation to a new 
Title 44 with no substantive changes. 

House Bill 18-1096 
Special Event Permit Alcohol Beverages 
 

This bill allows municipalities, counties, special districts, or educational 
institutions to apply for a special event permit.   

Senate Bill 18-067 
Auction Alcohol in Sealed Container Special 
Events 
 

This bill allows alcohol to be auctioned for fundraising purposes at 
permitted special events. 

Senate Bill 18-079 
Sake Vinous Liquor Code 

This bill adds sake to the definition of vinous liquor, allowing sake 
manufacturers to operate sales rooms.  The number of sales rooms 
depends on the type of license held by the sake manufacturer. 
 

Senate Bill 18-124 
Imported Alcohol Beverages Waiting Period 

A manufacturer or importer must file a notice of intent to import alcohol 
with the Department of Revenue at least 30 days before importation or 
sale of alcohol.  This bill removes the 30-day requirement. 
 

Senate Bill 18-138 
Transfer Alcohol from Surrendered License 

This bill allows certain licensees to purchase alcohol inventory from a 
licensee whose license has been surrendered or revoked, or who has 
lost legal possession of the licensed premises, as long as there is 
common ownership between the two licensees and certain other 
requirements are met. 
 

Senate Bill 18-173 
Removal of Vinous Liquor from Licensed 
Premises 
 

This bill clarifies that the licensees who offer cork and carry may have 
sandwiches and light snacks available for consumption instead of 
meals. 

Senate Bill 18-243 
Retail Sales Alcohol Beverages 

This bill changes state law related to the retail sale of alcohol 
beverages for off-premises consumption, including fermented malt 
beverage retailers that can sell full-strength beer beginning on 
January 1, 2019. 
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2017 Legislation 
 

The Colorado General Assembly passed several bills during the 2017 session that impacted Colorado 

liquor licensing law, as shown in Table 12. 

 
Table 12 

2017 Enacted Legislation 
 

Bill Number and Title Summary 

House Bill 17-1120 
Alcohol Beverage License Higher Education 
Campus 

This bill allows an institution of higher education, or a person who 
contracts with an institution to provide food services, that holds a 
hotel-restaurant license to be designated as a campus liquor complex.   
 

House Bill 17-1145 
Amateur Winemaker Tastings Contests and 
Judgings 

This bill allows amateur winemakers to participate in organized events, 
contests, tastings, or judgings held at licensed premises, as long as 
portions do not exceed six ounces and are not sold, offered for sale, or 
made available for consumption to the general public. 
 

House Bill 17-1365 
Liquor-licensed Drugstores Electronic Benefit 
Transfers 

This bill allows liquor-licensed drugstores to have an ATM in which 
individuals enrolled in public assistance programs may obtain cash 
benefits through the Electronic Benefits Transfer program. 
 

Senate Bill 17-058 
Employee Agent Purchase of Alcohol 
Beverages 

This bill allows an employee or agent of a hotel and restaurant, tavern, 
or lodging and entertainment licensee to purchase alcohol beverages 
for the licensed premises, in addition to the licensee’s registered 
manager. 
 

Senate Bill 17-077 
Government Agency Special Event Permit 
Eligibility 

This bill allows the Colorado Wine Industry Development Board, or 
state or local agencies that have a statutory mandate to promote 
alcohol beverages manufactured in Colorado or to promote tourism to 
an area of the state that manufactures alcohol beverages, to apply for 
a special event permit. 
 

Senate Bill 17-134 
Alcohol Beverage Licensee Penalty 
Application 

For specified licensees operating a sales room or retail establishment 
in addition to either manufacturing or wholesaling activities that violate 
the prohibition on serving to a person under 21 years of age or 
someone visibly intoxicated, this bill stipulates that a fine be based 
only on the estimated gross revenue of the sales room or retail 
establishment, and a suspension be limited to the sales room or retail 
activities and not impact the manufacturing or wholesaling activities. 
 

Senate Bill 17-237 
Age of Employees Serving Alcohol on 
Premises 

This bill restores authorization for employees who are under 21 years 
of age to sell alcohol in licensed taverns or lodging and entertainment 
facilities that regularly serve meals.  
 

Senate Bill 17-269 
Retail Liquor Store Sales Revenue 
Nonalcohol Goods 

This bill excludes revenue from lottery products; cigarettes; tobacco 
and nicotine products; ice; soft drinks; mixers; and nonfood items 
related to the consumption of alcohol from the 20 percent limit on 
revenue from the sale of nonalcohol products at retail liquor stores. 
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2016 Legislation 
 

The Colorado General Assembly passed several bills during the 2016 session that impacted Colorado 

liquor licensing law, as shown in Table 13. 
 

Table 13 
2016 Enacted Legislation 

 

Bill Number and Title Summary 

House Bill 16-1042 
Liquor License Exemption Higher Ed Brewing 
Program 

This bill creates a liquor license exemption for state institutions of 
higher education that engage in manufacturing and tasting 3.2 and 
full-strength beer for teaching and research purposes.  The 
manufactured beer cannot be sold and may only be tasted by qualified 
students, employees, or expert tasters over the age of 21. 

House Bill 16-1084 
Home Brewing by Adults for Personal Use 

This bill allows an adult, rather than a head of a family, to produce beer 
or wine for personal use, rather than family use, without having to obtain 
a liquor license or pay applicable liquor taxes.  The home-produced beer 
or wine may not be made available for sale.  

House Bill 16-1176 
Wine and Spirits Wholesalers Employee 
Purchase Program 

This bill allows licensed wine and spirits wholesalers to establish an 
employee purchase program that allows employees to purchase wine 
and spirits directly from the wholesaler. 

House Bill 16-1271 
Limited Winery Direct Delivery Personal 
Consumers 

This bill allows a limited winery licensee to deliver the wine it 
manufactures directly to personal consumers without the use of a 
common carrier, as long as the licensee also has a winery direct 
shipper permit and follows the requirements of the permit. 

House Bill 16-1439 
Lodging and Entertainment Facility Liquor 
License 

This bill creates a new lodging and entertainment license for entities 
that provide lodging, sports, or entertainment activities as their primary 
business and, incidental to that business, sell and serve alcohol 
beverages for consumption on the premises.   

Senate Bill 16-143 
Reduce Distiller Wholesaler Liquor Licensing 
Fees 

This bill phases in a reduction of wholesaler and manufacturing fees 
for distilleries and rectifiers to match the wholesaler and manufacturing 
fees charged to breweries by August 10, 2017. 

Senate Bill 16-197 
Liquor-licensed Drugstores Multiple Licenses 

This bill significantly changes the licensing of off-premises retail liquor 
sales.  Among other changes, the bill: 
 

 establishes new radius requirements for any new retail liquor store, 
liquor-licensed drugstore, or other off-premises retail license, as 
discussed above;  
 

 phases in additional retail liquor store licenses for a single owner, 
beginning January 1, 2017; 
 

 removes the distinction between fermented malt beverages 
(previously 3.2 beer) and malt liquor (full-strength beer) beginning 
January 1, 2019; 
 

 allows a liquor-licensed drugstore licensee to obtain additional 
licenses by purchasing at least two retail liquor licenses and 
applying to convert them to a new liquor-licensed drugstore license, 
subject to the new radius requirements; and 
 

 sets additional requirements for liquor-licensed drugstores and 
allows retail liquor stores to sell additional food and non-alcohol 
products.  
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Section 8:  
Additional Resources 

 
 

Federal liquor law:  U.S. Code of Federal Regulations Title 28, Chapter I, Subchapter A. 

 

Colorado Department of Revenue liquor code regulations:  Code of Colorado Regulations 1 

CCR 203-2.  

 

Colorado Department of Revenue list of licensees:  “All State Liquor Licenses” link at: 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/enforcement/liquor-license-lists 

 

 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/enforcement/liquor-license-lists

