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Colorado's Adult Protective Services (APS) system, 

first established in 1983, protects at-risk adults who, 

because of mental or physical ability, are unable to 

obtain services or otherwise protect their own health, 

safety, and welfare.  This issue brief provides an 

overview of the APS system in Colorado, highlights 

data on APS reports and investigations, and outlines 

how information on APS investigations is stored and 

used in the Colorado Adult Protective Service Data 

System (CAPS).   

 

 

Overview 
 

The APS system is overseen by the Colorado 

Department of Human Services (CDHS) and 

administered at the local level by county departments 

of human or social services.  The APS system 

provides services and support when vulnerable 

adults are in actual or imminent danger of physical, 

sexual, or financial abuse; caretaker neglect; 

exploitation; or self-neglect. 

 

Mandatory reporting.  State law requires certain 

professionals, known as mandatory reporters, to 

report known or suspected abuse or exploitation of 

at-risk adults.  “At-risk adults” fall into two 

categories: 1) adults over the age of 70; and 2) persons 

with an intellectual or developmental disorders 

(IDD) who are 18 years or older.   

 

Mandatory reporters include specified health care 

providers, staff, and volunteers; mental health and 

social work providers; first responders; clergy 

members; court-appointed guardians and 

conservators; and personnel of financial institutions.  

Mandatory reporters must file a report within 

                                                        
1Office of the State Auditor, APS Performance Audit,. 

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/documents/audits/1931p

_adult_protective_services_2020.pdf 

24 hours of witnessing or becoming aware of abuse or 

exploitation of an at-risk adult.   

 

Reporting process.  Reports of mistreatment or 

self-neglect may be received by a county department 

of human services or a local law enforcement agency.  

Information in APS reports is not publicly released 

unless authorized by a court or required in other 

specified circumstances.  For example, a report may 

be released to the at-risk adult who is the subject of 

the report or used by the CDHS when conducting a 

background check. 

 

After a report is received, it is evaluated by the 

receiving agency.  The agency looks at the facts 

available about the alleged mistreatment, the overall 

level of risk, and other factors to determine if further 

investigation is necessary.  In recent years, the 

number of reports to the APS system have increased.  

From FY 2013-14 to FY 2019-20, reports increased by 

an average of 14 percent per year.1  In FY 2018-19, 

local agencies forwarded 31 percent of APS reports 

for further investigation.  

    

Investigations.   During an investigation, county APS 

staff may collaborate with law enforcement, district 

attorneys, or other agencies authorized to investigate.  

Generally, law enforcement investigates criminal 

activity, and county APS staff address risk factors and 

safety issues for self-neglect or mistreatment.  While 

the number of cases investigated increased by an 

average of 3 percent per year from FY 2013-14 to 

FY 2019-20, there has been a decrease in cases 

investigated over the last two years for which data 

are available (7,735 in FY 2019-20 versus 9,479 to 

FY 2018-19).  Among cases with substantiated 

allegations of abuse or neglect, the most common 
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perpetrators are community or family members 

(64%) and professional caregivers or agency staff 

(30%).    

 

Services.  In cases where abuse or neglect have 

occurred, county departments offer a range of 

services to the affected at-risk adults.  Common 

services and support, and the percentage of cases 

receiving them in FY 2019-20, include the following: 

in-home and community services (25 percent); 

medical services (21 percent); housing support 

(18 percent); legal intervention (14 percent); financial 

services (8 percent); case management services 

(8 percent); education and support groups 

(3 percent); and nutrition services (3 percent).   

 

APS services are intended to stabilize and ensure the 

immediate safety of a client, rather than provide 

long-term care.   Accordingly, the majority of cases 

are closed within three months.  Colorado law allows 

capable adults to refuse some or all services; 

however, 97 percent of services provided were 

voluntary.   

  

Client demographics.  In FY 2019-20, APS clients 

were 57 percent female and 43 percent male, and 

56 percent were over the age of 70.  Common 

conditions affecting clients include: 

 

 medically fragile (32 percent); 

 dementia or Alzheimer’s (32 percent); 

 frail or elderly (29 percent); 

 physical impairment (20 percent); 

 IDD (18 percent); 

 mental illness or neurological impairment 

(14 percent); and 

 other condition (8 percent). 
 
 

CAPS Background Checks 
 

The CAPS data system is used by county 

departments to document the results of APS 

investigations.  Since 2017, certain employers are 

required to conduct background checks on potential 

employees or volunteers through the CAPS database 

to screen for previous allegations of abuse or neglect 

of an at-risk adult.  When requesting a background 

check, employers must pay a fee to the CDHS.  As of 

March 2020, the fee was $9.00.  Employers that must 

request a CAPS background check include: 

 

•  county APS departments; 

 health care facilities; 

• adult day care facilities; 

• community integrated health care service 

agencies; 

• community-centered boards or program 

approved service agencies; 

 single entry point agencies; 

 Area Agencies on Aging and their providers; 

 CDHS mental health, IDD, and veteran facilities; 

and 

 The Office of Public Guardianship. 

 

CAPS appeals.  When an investigation determines 

that an allegation of abuse or neglect occurred, this 

determination is logged in the CAPS data system.  

The perpetrator may appeal the county’s finding, and 

the case is reviewed by the CDHS.  The CDHS may 

uphold the finding, overturn the finding, or forward 

the case to an administrative law judge for further 

review.  If the county’s decision is upheld, the CDHS 

may enter into a settlement agreement to modify, 

overturn, or remove the report and findings in CAPS.  

In FY 2018-19, there were 87 appeals to the CDHS, of 

which 80 cases were upheld, 4 cases were 

overturned, and 3 cases were abandoned by the 

perpetrator.    

 

 

Funding 
 

The APS system received $19.2 million in funding 

statewide in FY 2020-21, of which $18.2 million was 

allocated for county administration and direct client 

services.  Funding primarily comes from the state 

General Fund ($13.4 million), with the remainder 

coming from local funds ($3.7 million) and federal 

funds ($2.1 million).   

 

 


