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This issue brief provides information about how to 

register a number on the Colorado and federal no-call 

lists; an overview of Colorado's regulation and 

enforcement of telemarketers; an explanation of 

which calls are not subject to telemarketing laws; and 

a summary of federal provisions regarding 

telemarketing. 

 

 

State and Federal No-Call Lists 
 

For a Coloradan to ensure that a residential, wireless, 

or fax number associated with a Colorado zip code is 

placed on all applicable no-call lists, they must 

register the number both on the Colorado No-Call 

List and the federal Do-Not-Call Registry by 

contacting: 

 

 the Colorado Public Utilities Commission's  

No-Call List, online at coloradonocall.com or by 

phone at 303-776-2678 or 800-309-7041; and  

 the Federal Trade Commission's National 

Do-Not-Call Registry, online at donotcall.gov or 

by phone at 888-382-1222. 

 

As of writing, Colorado's No-Call List contains 

approximately 4.1 million numbers. 

 

 

Telemarketer Registration in Colorado 
 

Colorado's No-Call List is managed by the state's 

Public Utilities Commission (PUC),1 while the 

licensing and enforcement of businesses engaging in 

telemarketing in Colorado or to Coloradans is 

managed by the state's Attorney General Office.2  

Telemarketers must register with both agencies. 

 

                                                        
1Section 6-1-901, et seq., C.R.S.; 4 CCR 732-2-2890 to 2894. 

Colorado No-Call List registration.  State law 

requires that any person or entity soliciting a 

Colorado resident by phone must register with the 

PUC through its designated agent, the Data 

Protection Group.  Annual registration fees are based 

on the number of employees in a telemarketer's firm 

and range from $0 to $500.  Colorado's No-Call List is 

updated quarterly.  Telemarketers receive updated 

lists on January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10, 

and must use the updated list within 20 days of 

receipt.  

 

Attorney General licensing.  Businesses engaged in 

telemarketing that are located in the state or selling to 

Colorado consumers must be annually registered 

with the Colorado Attorney General.  The initial 

registration fee is $200, and the renewal fee is $100.  

 

 

Violations and Complaints 
 

No-Call List violations.  Complaints regarding 

telemarketing calls to a number on the No-Call List 

may be submitted online or by phone using the 

Colorado No-Call contact information provided 

above.  From 2014 to 2017, the PUC received an 

average of 4,400 complaints per year.   

 

Violations of the state's No-Call List laws constitute a 

deceptive trade practice and may be enforced under 

the Colorado Consumer Protection Act.  No state 

enforcement may be brought against an entity if there 

are fewer than three complaints per month filed.  The 

PUC provides complaint information to the state 

Attorney General's Office when there is a 

demonstrated pattern of statutory violations.  

Consumers may also pursue private remedies.  

 

2Section 6-1-301, et seq., C.R.S. 

http://www.coloradonocall.com/
http://www.donotcall.gov/
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Telemarketing violations.  Other unlawful 

telemarketing practices include: failure to register; 

failure to allow order cancellation or make timely 

refunds; misrepresentation that a person has won a 

contest, sweepstakes, or drawing; and 

misrepresentation of a product costs, among other 

provisions.  Businesses found in violation of the law 

are subject to civil and criminal penalties.3   

 

The Consumer Protection Section of the Colorado 

Attorney General’s Office maintains a website on 

all telemarketing-related fraud at: 

 

stopfraudcolorado.gov/ 

fraud-center/telemarketing-fraud.html 

 

 

Exemptions to "Telemarketing" 
 

Many telephone solicitations are permitted by 

Colorado law.  Calls are permissible from charitable, 

political advocacy, and polling organizations.  Sales 

calls are permitted where the person at the number 

has given express invitation or permission, or on 

behalf of entities with which the person has 

established a business relationship.4 

 

Debt collection.  For information or assistance 

regarding debt collection calls, the Colorado 

Attorney General's office licenses collection agencies 

and enforces the Colorado Fair Debt Collection 

Practices Act through its Collection Agency 

Regulation section, online here. 

 

 

Federal Do Not Call List 
 

Federal Trade Commission.  In 1994, Congress 

passed the Telemarketing and Consumer Fraud and 

Abuse Prevention Act, which directed the Federal 

Trade Commission (FTC) to promulgate rules 

prohibiting deceptive and abusive telemarketing acts 

and practices.   The Telemarketing Sales Rule, 

promulgated by the FTC in accordance with the act, 

outlines a multitude of deceptive and abusive 

telemarketing acts and practices, including:  

 

 using threats,  

                                                        
3Section 6-1-305, C.R.S. 

 calling numbers on the federal do-not-call 

registry, and  

 calling a person’s residence prior to 8:00 am or 

after 9:00 pm local time.   

 

The law also allows individuals, along with state 

attorneys general acting on behalf of their residents, 

to bring a civil action for suspected violations of the 

promulgated rules. Additional information can be 

found on the FTC’s website at: 

 

www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/ 

0198-telemarketing-sales-rule 

 

Federal Communications Commission.  In 1991, 

Congress passed the Telephone Consumer Protection 

Act, which placed restrictions on telemarketing, 

robocalling (the use of an automatic dialing system or 

prerecorded voice), the use of fax machines, and 

other practices related to telemarketing, and required 

the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to 

adopt rules to implement the law.   

 

Additionally, federal regulations require 

telemarketers to transmit their telephone number, 

and, if available, their name to a caller ID.  Federal 

law prohibits the practice of knowingly transmitting 

inaccurate or misleading information to a person’s 

caller ID system, also known as caller ID spoofing, 

with the intent to defraud, cause harm, or wrongfully 

obtain anything of value and establishes penalties for 

violations of the law.  Individuals may report 

suspected caller ID spoofing to the FCC at: 

 

consumercomplaints.fcc.gov 

 

Recent federal legislation.  The Telephone Robocall 

Abuse Criminal Enforcement and Deterrence 

(TRACED) Act, S.151, became law December 30, 

2019.  The bill implements new penalties for violating 

robocall prohibitions and requires voice service 

providers to develop call authentication technologies.  

The FCC is currently conducting rulemaking to 

implement the bill.  The FCC and the Department of 

Justice must also form an interagency working group 

to study enforcement issues and make 

recommendations. 

4Sections 6-16-104 and 6-16-103 (7), C.R.S. 

https://stopfraudcolorado.gov/fraud-center/telemarketing-fraud.html
https://stopfraudcolorado.gov/fraud-center/telemarketing-fraud.html
https://coag.gov/office-sections/consumer-protection/consumer-credit-unit/collection-agency-regulation/consumers-creditor-clients
http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0198-telemarketing-sales-rule
http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0198-telemarketing-sales-rule
https://consumercomplaints.fcc.gov/hc/en-us

