TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI — For Your Information

Earned Income Credit

The Colorado earned income tax credit is
available to Colorado residents for any tax
year beginning on or after January 1,
1999 only when the state’s fiscal year
ends with a “qualified surplus” as defined
below.

NOTE: The earned income credit is
not available for tax years 2002 and
2003. The State of Colorado did not
have a budget surplus for the fiscal
years ending June 30, 2002 or 2003.

The credit for 1999 was 8.5% of the
federal earned income tax credit.
[C.R.S.39-22-123(1)(a)()].

The credit for 2000 and later years is 10%
of the federal credit. [C.R.S. 39-22-
123(1)(b)]. If the earned income credit is
larger than the tax liability calculated on
the tax return, the difference will be
refunded to the taxpayer. [C.R.S 39-22-
123(2)].

QUALIFIED SURPLUS

The qualified surplus that is needed for
the earned income credit to be available
in any given tax year is a $50 million
surplus that must be refunded under
section 20 (7) (a) of Article X of the state
constitution. The $50 million amount will
be adjusted for the rate of growth of
Colorado personal income for years after
1999.

PART-YEAR AND NONRESIDENTS

Part-year residents must multiply the
Colorado credit by the percentage (not to
exceed 100%) on line 34 of the Colorado
104PN schedule to determine the amount
of credit they can claim based on their
Colorado income. Nonresidents of
Colorado are not eligible to claim the
earned income credit.

Example: Dan and Sylvia Daveys were
part-year residents of Colorado in 2001.
Their federal earned income credit was
$1,644. The percentage from the 104PN
schedule is 60.25%. The 2001 Colorado
earned income credit is $99 ($1,644 X .1 =
$164 x .6025 = $99).

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYls, commonly used forms and
additional tax information are available
on the Web at www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning
a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language. Although the
FYIs represent good faith effort to provide
accurate and complete tax information, the
information is not binding on the Colorado
Department of Revenue nor does it replace,
alter or supersede Colorado law and regula-
tions. The Executive Director, who by
statute is the only person having authority to
bind the Department, has not formally
reviewed and/or approved these FYIs.
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