TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI — For Your Information

Colorado Department of Revenue

Publications

Following is a list of publications issued
by the Department of Revenue. Some
publications are free and some must be
purchased.

PUBLICATIONSWHICH MUST BE
PURCHASED

Publications for purchase are available
only through the Correctional Industries
Division of the Department of Correc-
tions. An order form for these publications
is provided on page 6 of this FYI. None of
the publications for purchase are available
directly through the Department of
Revenue.

Order by mail or in person at 4200
Garfield Street, Denver, CO 80216. Make
checks payable to the State Forms Center.
No telephone orders are accepted, but you
should call (303) 370-2165 to verify prices.
Prices are subject to change without
notice. A shipping charge fee plus appli-
cable sales tax must accompany each
order. Please use the order form on
page 6 and refer to the "Shipping and
Handling Charges" list on page 7.

Reproducible Colorado State Income
Tax Forms and Instructions —pub-
lished annually by the Taxpayer Service
Division. Contains reproducible copies of
all Colorado individual and corporate
income tax forms. The 2003 income tax
year edition is $20. Supplies are limited.

Revenue Bulletins and Determinations
— published by the Tax Auditing and
Compliance Division. Encompasses
binding policy bulletins and non-binding

restatements of administrative rulings.
Includes all supplements from 1985
through 1991 (there are no supplements
from 1992 through 2000); price $19.75.

Liquor and Beer Codes — published by
the Liquor Enforcement Division; most
recently updated June 2003; price $15.

Case Law Compendium of Motor
Vehicle Hearings — published by the
Hearings Division. Complete through
1992; price $30.

Titles and Registration Manual —
published by the Motor Vehicle Division;
most recent edition published 2000. Call
the State Forms Center, (303) 370-2165,
for prices.

FREEPUBLICATIONS

The following publications are available
on request at no charge from the office
listed in each grouping below.

DIVISION OF RACING: Visit or mail
your request to: Colorado Division of
Racing Events, 1881 Pierce St., Room 108,
Lakewood, CO 80214; (303) 205-2990.

Colorado Department

of Revenue

Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Colorado Racing Web Site —
www.revenue.state.co.us/racing_dir/
coracing.html

Racing Commission Annual Report
2002.

Forms and other services:
(303) 238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:

(303) 238-SERV (7378)

www.taxcolorado.com

Racing Commission Annual Report—
for any prior year, back to 1949.

Colorado Racing Act —
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Combined Racing Events Rule Book —
Chapters 1-12 (Pari-Mutual Wagering,
Greyhound, Horse and General Racing).

Greyhound Racing Guidelines.
Horse Racing Guidelines.

TAX ANALYSIS SECTION: Write or
visit 1375 Sherman St., Room 404, Den-
ver, CO 80261; call (303) 866-3089.

Liquor Tax Statistical Summary
(Publication 28)*— published monthly.

Sales Tax Statistics for Counties and
Selected Cities*— published quarterly
with quarterly, fiscal year and calendar
year summaries. Available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com/stats_dir/
salesrpts.html

Sales Tax Statistics, Alphabetical
County Summary*— published monthly
with quarterly, fiscal year and calendar
year summaries. Available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com/stats_dir/
salesrpts.html

Monthly State Motor Fuel Gallons and
Receipts*— published monthly.

Colorado Motor Vehicle Sales*—
published quarterly. Reports retail sales
of new and used motor vehicles in selected
Colorado counties and the U.S.

Colorado Restaurant Sales* — pub-
lished quarterly. Reports retail sales by
restaurants in Front Range counties, the
rest of the state and the U.S.

Colorado Retail Building Material
Sales* — published quarterly. Reports
retail sales by building materials stores in
selected Colorado counties and the U.S.

* These statistical reports reflect informa-
tion available at time of publication, and
may or may not include adjustments
necessary to reflect actual collections/
assessments for period covered.

Colorado Department of Revenue
Annual Report — comprehensive
summary of all taxes and fees adminis-
tered by the DOR, published on a fiscal-
year basis. Available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com/stats_dir/
annualreports.html

Colorado Statisticsof Income,
Individual Income Tax Returns —
comprehensive summary published on an
income tax year basis.

Colorado Statistics of Income,
Corporate Income Tax Returns —
comprehensive summary published on a
fiscal-year basis.

Colorado Tax Profile Study — pub-
lished periodically. Reports the state and
local tax burden on Colorado households
by income level.

MOTORVEHICLE BUSINESS
GROUP: Write or visit 1881 Pierce
Street, Lakewood, CO 80214; or call (303)
205-5600.

Colorado Motor Vehicle Web Site —
forms and information available at
WWw.mv.state.co.us

The Network — lists driver licensing
service locations in metro Denver.

Colorado Driver Handbook —pub-
lished periodically, includes information
on laws and rules for safe driving prac-
tices in Colorado and how to obtain a
Colorado driver license. Available at any
driver license office or may be downloaded
from the Colorado Motor Vehicle Web site
at www.mv.state.co.us/driverforms.html

Colorado Motorcycle Operator's
Handbook — published periodically.
Includes information on the basic skills
necessary for the safe operation of a
motorcycle and how to obtain a Colorado
motorcycle license or endorsement.
Available at any driver license office or
may be downloaded from the Colorado
Motor Vehicle Web site at
www.mv.state.co.us/driverforms.html

Colorado Bicycling Manual — 75 page
official rules of the road and trail for
bicycling and walking in Colorado. In-
cludes chapters on commuting, children,
equipment, pedestrians, bike parking, and
more.

Rules of the Road and Trail Wallet
Cards - (plastic credit card size) —
overview of the rules of the road and trail.

PAGE 2 OF 7
GENERAL 1 (10/03)



Colorado Bicycling Map — state
highway map for bicyclists with approxi-
mate shoulder width and traffic volumes.
Does not include local roads, trails, or
moutain bike routes.

All three above listed publications are
available free of charge and can be or-
dered from:

CDOT Bicycle/Pedestrian Program
4201 E. Arkansas Avenue DTD
Denver, CO 80222
bicycleinfo@dot.state.co.us

(303) 757-9982 or FAX: (303) 757-9727.

Commercial Driver License Manual —
contains vital information about operating
commercial motor vehicles; essential for
passing CDL written or driving tests.
Available at any driver license office or
online at www.mv.state.co.us

My Vehicle Has Failed the Air Care
Colorado Emissions Test...Now What
Do | Do? — pamphlet published by Air
Care Colorado. Explains what to do if our
vehicle has failed the Denver metro area
enhanced emissions test. Includes quali-
fied repair service information, retesting
and waiver application procedure. Avail-
able at Air Care Colorado emission testing
locations, or the Motor Vehicle Business
Group.

Vehicle Emissions Guide-Reducing
Air Pollution (Metropolitan Denver)
— pamphlet published by Air Care
Colorado. Contains information about
Metropolitan Denver's Vehicle Emissions
Testing Program. Includes map of emis-
sion testing locations. Available at Air
Care Colorado emission testing locations,
or the Motor Vehicle Business Group.

Are You a New Resident in the
Denver-Boulder Area? — pamphlet
published by Air Care Colorado. Explains
the emissions testing program for vehicles
in the six county Denver-Boulder area.
Contains information on what to do if
your vehicle fails the emissions test and
on Vehicle Identification (VIN Verifica-
tion). Includes map of emissions testing
locations. Available at Air Care Colorado
emission testing locations, or the Motor
Vehicle Business Group or visit the Web
atwww.aircarecolorado.com

Top Ten Tips — pocket card that contains
the top ten tips to prepare your vehicle for
Colorado's emissions test. Available at Air
Care Colorado emission testing locations,
or the Motor Vehicle Business Group.

Also visit the Colorado Department of
Public Health and Environment's Web site
atwww.cdphe.state.co.us/ap/mobile.asp

Emission forms may also be located on the
Web at www.mv.state.co.us/
driverforms.html

"Rapid Screen"— visit Air Care Colorado's
Web site for information on Rapid Screen at
www.aircarecolorado.com

Colorado Automobile Inspection &
Readjustment (El Paso, Larimer, and
Weld Counties) — pamphlet published by
the Colorado Motor Vehicle Business
Group. Explains Colorado's AIR (Automo-
bile Inspection and Readjustment) program
changes for motor vehicles in the El Paso,
Larimer, and Weld Counties. Available at
licensed emission stations, or the Division
of Motor Vehicles.

AUTO INDUSTRY DIVISION:

Write or visit 1881 Pierce Street, Room
142, Lakewood, CO 80214; or call (303)
205-5604.

Colorado Auto Industry Division Web
Site — www.mv.state.co.us/dealer.html

To Lease or Not To Lease — pamphlet
covering the pros and cons of leasing versus
purchasing a vehicle.

Colorado's Lemon Law for Dealers and
Consumers — pamphlet that explains the
recourse a new vehicle owner has when
defects are not repaired after a reasonable
number of attempts.

Tips for Purchasing a Vehicle — gen-
eral information pamphlet that covers the
“do's and don'ts” of the vehicle purchase
process.

The Big Deal: A Consumer Guide to
Buying a Car in Colorado — booklet
containing information about consumer
rights and responsibilities when purchas-
ing a motor vehicle in Colorado.
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HEARINGS DIVISION:
Write or visit 1881 Pierce St., Room 106,
Lakewood, CO 80214; call (303) 205-5606.

Colorado Hearings Division Web site
— www.revenue.state.co.us/hearings/
index.htm

LIQUORENFORCEMENT DIVISION:
Write or visit 1881 Pierce St., Rm. 108,
Lakewood, CO 80214; call (303) 205-2300.

Colorado Liquor EnforcementWeb
Site — www.revenue.state.co.us/
liquor_dir/liquor.html

Colorado Liquor and Beer Code
Information Pamphlets — packet of
information sheets summarizing liquor
license requirements and general provi-
sions of the liquor and beer codes.

Colorado Tobacco Retailers Informa-
tion Package — booklet summarizing
tobacco laws for the state of Colorado.

MOTOR CARRIER SERVICES: Write
or visit 1881 Pierce St., Room 118, Lake-
wood, CO 80214; call (303) 205-5691.

Motor Carrier Services Web site —
www.revenue.state.co.us/MCS_dir/
index.htm

SERVICES SECTION: Write or visit
1881 Pierce St., Room 114, Lakewood, CO
80214, call (303) 205-5680.

International Fuel Tax Agreement
Web Site — www.revenue.state.co.us/
MCS_dir/index.htm

International Registration Plan Web
Site — www.revenue.state.co.us/
MCS_dir/index.htm

PORT OF ENTRY SECTION: Write or
visit 1881 Pierce St., Room 118, Lake-
wood, CO 80214; call (303) 205-5691; or
visit any Colorado Port of Entry.

Colorado Port of Entry Section Web
Site — www.revenue.state.co.us/
MCS_dir/index.htm

Digest of Regulations Governing the
Operation of Trucks and Truck Combi-
nations in Colorado (Publication 13) —
published annually. Rules and regula-
tions for licensing commercial or special
mobile construction equipment.

TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION:

Colorado Tax Information Web Site —
forms, publications, Frequently Asked
Questions, and other tax information
listed below are available at
www.taxcolorado.com

Business Tax Regulations —revised as
needed by the Taxpayer Service Division.
Includes sales, use tax, fuel and excise tax
regulations.

Income Tax Regulations — revised as
needed by the Taxpayer Service Division.
Includes income, withholding, enterprise
zone, estate tax, and property tax, rent,
heat and fuel assistance regulations.

For Your Information (FYI) —indi-
vidual FYI fact sheets created or revised
on as-needed basis, and current as of the
publishing date printed on each FYI. FYls
explain various tax statutes, regulations
or procedures. FYls are available online
only.

Colorado Revised Statutes — Colorado's
revised statutes are available on the state
homepage at www.state.co.us

Tax Update — published quarterly; this
newsletter concerns tax issues for busi-
ness, tax professionals, local governments
andindividual taxpayers.

Colorado Sales/Use Tax Rates (DRP
1002). Updated January 1 and July 1;
rates and exemption information for
state-collected city and county sales taxes.
Also lists rates and telephone numbers for
home rule cities, and tax rates for the
Regional Transportation District, Scien-
tific & Cultural Facilities District and
Metropolitan Football Stadium District
and other special districts. This publica-
tion is available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com Tax rates for a
particular city or county are available at
www.taxview.state.co.us
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Colorado Income TaxWithholding
Tables (DRP 1098) Revised and updated
as needed; current rates established May
2002. Booklet includes filing information
and form samples.

Colorado Sales and Use Tax Booklet
(DRP 0099) Information on obtaining a
sales tax license, obligations of licensees,
collecting sales tax, recordkeeping, tips
and instructions on filing sales tax re-
turns.

County and City Codes (DRP 0800) A
list of Colorado city and county codes for
the convenience of companies who file
their sales tax returns using a department
approved spreadsheet.

Customer Support Site — For additional
tax information, visit our "Customer
Support Site for Colorado Taxes." The site
contains "Frequently Asked Questions"
that answer many income, sales, and
withholding tax questions. FAQs are
updated regularly with new and revised
tax information. If you still need an
answer to your tax question you may also
send us an e-mail from the same site and
the department will respond to your
e-mail with an answer. You can find the
"Customer Support Site for Colorado
Taxes" at www.taxcolorado.com

DIVISION OF GAMING: Write or visit
1881 Pierce St., Room 112, Lakewood, CO
80214-1496; call (303) 205-1355.

Colorado Gaming Web Site —
www.gaming.state.co.us All of the
publications listed below are available on
our Web site.

Gaming Update — monthly newsletter,
with statistics and items of interest to
Colorado gaming industry. Free subscrip-
tion on request.

Gaming in Colorado: Fact Book and
2002 Abstract — booklet summarizing
and explaining gaming in Colorado,
including statistical information, ques-
tions and answers, and an abstract of
combined financial statements from
casinos.

Colorado Limited Gaming Regula-
tions — book of regulations; updated
periodically.

Colorado Limited Gaming Act — with
constitutional amendment; 72-page
booklet (revised July 1, 2003).

Colorado Casinos Applicants List—
updated quarterly.

Internal Control Minimum Proce-
dures Manual — requirements for all
casinos.
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PUBLICATIONS ORDER FORM

Title Cost Commodity No. | Qty. | Total

2003 ReproducibleColorado Statelncome Tax $20.00 ea | 615-82-60-2001
Forms & Instructions Booklet
Revenue Bulletins and Determinations (1984) $19.75 ea | 615-82-62-1019
includes all supplements from 1985 through 1991
Liquor and Beer Codes (June2003) $15.00 ea | 615-82-66-1015
CaselLaw Compendiumof Motor V ehicleHearings $30.00 ea | 615-82-67-1238
(1992)

2000 Motor Vehicle (MV) Titles Section Only Cdll for price | 615-82-65-0521

2000 Y early Updatesto MV Titles Section Only Call for price| 615-82-65-5553

2000 Y early Updatesto MV Titles, Registration Call for price| 615-82-65-0059
& Sades Tax Manual

2000 MV Titles/Registration & Sales Tax Manual Call for price | 615-82-65-1511

Shipping Charge
Mail with your check payableto: State Forms Center (See page 7)

(use this order form) 4200 Garfield Street (Subject to Tax) |3

Denver, CO 80216

(303) 370-2165 SUBTOTAL g

Multiply Subtotal x
Sales Tax Below:

Choose one:

Ship to: Denver City & Count(;;;’(% $
*Metro Tax (3.7%) |$
State Tax (2.9%) $
Tax Exempt #

Phone: TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED |$

*Metro countiesinclude: Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Douglas, and Jefferson PAGE 6 OF 7
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REVISED
STATE FORMS AND PUBLICATIONS
Shipping and Handling Charges

For Orders Totaling: Add:
Up to $10.00 $4.00
$10.01 to $20.00 $5.00
$20.01 to $30.00 $6.00
$30.01 to $40.00 $7.00
$40.01 to $60.00 $8.00
$60.01 to $75.00 $10.00
$75.01 to $100.00 $11.00
$100.01 to $150.00 $12.00
$150.01 to $200.00 $13.00
$200.01 to 400.00 $15.00
$400.01 to $1,000.00 $20.00
$1,000.01 to $1,500.00 $25.00
$1,500.01 to $2,000.00 $30.00
$2,000.01 to $2,500.00 $40.00
Over $2,500.00 $50.00

Shipping and handling char ges are subject to change without notice. PAGE 7 OF 7
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