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Colorado Content Tests 
 
 
In 1991, the Colorado General Assembly approved a significant policy for educational reform: the 
Educator Licensing Act. This act involved changes in the professional standards for Colorado educational 
personnel. The law called for the implementation of a testing program as part of the licensing process. 
The Colorado Legislature later passed Senate Bill 00-195 that limits Colorado's educator assessment 
program to content tests only, eliminating tests in basic skills, liberal arts and sciences, and professional 
knowledge.   
 
Program Licensing Assessments for Colorado Educators (PLACE) exams:  Colorado accepts the PLACE 
content exams for all endorsement areas.  The PLACE tests are criterion referenced and objective based. 
Criterion-referenced tests are designed to measure a candidate's knowledge in relation to an 
established standard of performance (a criterion) rather than in comparison to the performance of 
other candidates. The tests are designed to identify those candidates who have the level of knowledge 
and skills judged important for educators in Colorado schools.  
 
Up to 2004, the objectives on which the tests were initially based reflect the Colorado licensing 
standards, curriculum materials, and the content of educator preparation programs. A content 
validation survey, involving randomly selected Colorado school personnel and college and university 
faculty members, was conducted for each test. Each survey participant reviewed the objectives for his or 
her field to ensure that the objectives selected for the tests are important to the job of a Colorado 
educator and are used in Colorado schools. The test questions and exercises are matched to specific 
objectives and were verified as valid by panels of Colorado educators. 
 
The tests were developed, field tested and normed by Pearson Evaluation System.  The passing score for 
all tests is 220. Pearson administers the tests and collects fees.  Tests are administered multiple times 
during the year. The registration processing fee is $35.00. The test fees are $60.00 for first-time test 
takers. Test re-takers will receive a $25.00 rebate for repeated attempts.  Below is a table of the content 
tests provided by PLACE: 
 

PLACE EDUCATOR CONTENT ASSESSMENTS 
Administrator (Superintendent) Physical Education 
Agriculture Principal 
Art Reading Specialist 
Business Education Reading Teacher 
Drama Russian 
Early Childhood Education School Counselor 
Elementary Education School Librarian 
English School Social Worker 



Prepared by CDE Staff May 2014  2 
 

Family and Consumer Studies Science 
French Social Studies 
Gifted and Talented Spanish 
German Special Education Generalist 
Health Special Education: Severe Needs-Cognitive 
Instructional Technology  Special Education: Severe Needs-Affective 
Italian Special Education: Severe Needs-Visually Impaired 
Japanese Special Education: Severe Needs-Deaf/Hard of Hearing 
Latin Special Education: Severe Needs-Communication 
Linguistically Diverse Special Education: Profound Needs 
Linguistically Diverse Bilingual Education Early Childhood Special Education 
Marketing Education Speech 
Mathematics Technology Education (Industrial Arts) 
Music Career and Technical Education  

 
 
PRAXIS II exam:  Colorado accepts the PRAXIS II exam for the following areas as approved by the State 
Board of Education: (1) Audiology; (2) Elementary Education; (3) English Language, Literature and 
Composition; (4) Mathematics; (5) School Psychologist; (6) General Science; (7) Social Studies; (8) 
Speech-Language Pathology.  These tests are developed nationally and test the content as determined 
by national associations for each area listed above.  Educational Testing Systems (ETS) has developed, 
field tested and normed these tests.  Cut scores or passing rates are recommended by ETS and approved 
by the State Board of Education.  ETS administers the tests and collects fees. Tests are administered 
multiple times during the year.  Some tests are available on-line.  The cost for taking the PRAXIS II test 
ranges from $50.00 is $150.00. 
 
The table below provides the passing scores for the PRAXIS II content tests as approved by the State 
Board of Education: 
 
Audiology 600 This is consistent with all other states and the 

requirements of the National Association 
Elementary Education 147 Other states range from 143 - 153 
English Language 167 Other states range from 158 - 166 
General Science 152 Other states range from 143 - 166 
Mathematics 160 This is the highest cut score in the nation 
School Psychologist 165 While some states are lower, no state is higher.  

This is the recommendation of the National 
Association 

Social Studies 150 Other states range from 143 - 162 
Speech-Language Pathology 600 This is consistent with all other states and the 

requirements of the National Association 
 
 


