TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI – For Your Information

Contaminated Land Redevelopment Credit

GENERAL INFORMATION

For any tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2000, but prior to December 31, 2005, an income tax credit is available for taxpayers who redevelop contaminated land in Colorado. [C.R.S. 39-22-526].

The property being redeveloped must be located within a municipality that has a population of 10,000 or more and the project must be approved by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). A certificate from CDPHE verifying that the project qualifies for this credit and the implementation costs must be attached to any income tax return that claims this credit. To obtain the certificate, the property must go through the "Voluntary Clean Up Program." For more information, contact any of the following staff members in the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division of CDPHE: Jeff Deckler, (303) 692-3387; Dan Scheppers, (303) 692-3398; or Mark Walker, (303) 692-3449, or visit their Web site at www.cdphe.state.co.us/hm/ bftaxhowto.asp

COMPUTING THE CREDIT

The credit will be the **total** of the following:

- 1) 50% of the first \$100,000 expended for the project,
- 2) 30% of the amount expended over \$100,000 up to \$200,000,
- 3) 20% of the amount expended over \$200,000 up to \$300,000

A tax credit is not allowed on expenses in excess of \$300,000.

LIMITATIONS

To the extent the allowable credit exceeds the net tax liability, the excess may be carried forward for up to five years.

FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs, commonly used forms and additional tax information are available on the Web at *www.taxcolorado.com*

For additional income tax information visit the "Tax Information Index" at *www.taxcolorado.com*

FYIs provide general information concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and straightforward language. Although the FYIs represent a good faith effort to provide accurate and complete tax information, the information is not binding on the Colorado Department of Revenue, nor does it replace, alter or supersede Colorado law and regulations. The Executive Director, who by statute is the only person having authority to bind the Department, has not formally reviewed and/or approved these FYIs.



Colorado Department of Revenue Taxpayer Service Division 1375 Sherman St. Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms and other services: (303) 238-FAST (3278) Assistance: (303) 238-SERV (7378)

www.taxcolorado.com

PAGE 1 OF 1 INCOME 42 (09/04)