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Colorado Civil Tax Penalties and Interest
PENALTIES

In general, penalties are cumulative.
However, there are some exceptions, and
some caps. Maximum penalties for a tax
could be any combination of the penalties
listed under each tax type.

Colorado Department
of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms and other services:
(303) 238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:
(303) 238-SERV (7378)
Fuel Tax: (303)  205-8205

www.taxcolorado.com

• Fraudulent or Willful Failure to File:
Greater of $75 or 100% of tax due.
§39-22-621(2)(d), C.R.S.

• Filing of Fraudulent, Frivolous or
Willfully False Return: Greater of $150
or 150% of tax due.
§39-22-621(2)(e), C.R.S.

• Failure to Pay a Notice or Demand For
Payment (collection penalty): 15% of
tax demanded. §39-22-621(2)(f), C.R.S.

• Fraudulent Failure to Pay or Willful
Evasion of Payment: 150% of tax due.
§39-22-621(2)(g), C.R.S.

• Tax Return Preparers Penalty:  $500
per occurrence.  §39-22-621(2)(g.5),
C.R.S.

STATE SALES, COUNTY SALES,
CITY SALES, RTD/CD/FD SALES,
RETAILER’S USE AND CONSUMER
USE TAX

• Sales/Use Interest: See table, page 3.

• Consumer Use Delinquent Payment
Penalty: Penalty-interest (see table,
page 3).  §39-26-207, C.R.S.

• Sales/Use Deficiency Due to Negli-
gence: 10% of tax due plus penalty-
interest (see table, page 3).
39-26-115 C.R.S..  Also, loss of vendor's
fee.  §39-26-105(1), C.R.S.

• Sales Tax Nonfiler Penalty: Greater of
$15 or 10% plus 1/2% per month not to
exceed 18%.   §39-26-118(2), C.R.S.

• Retailer's Use Tax and Consumers Use
Tax Nonfiler Penalty: 10% plus 1/2%
per month.  §39-26-204(5), C.R.S.

FYI – For Your Information
TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

Corporate Officers Penalty

All officers of a corporation and all
members of a partnership or a limited
liability company who are required to but
do not collect, account for, and pay over
any tax administered by the Colorado
Department of Revenue are subject to a
penalty equal to 150 percent of the total
amount of the tax not collected, accounted
for, paid over, or otherwise evaded.
[§39-21-116.5, C.R.S.]

INCOME AND WITHHOLDING TAX

• Interest: See table, page 3.

• Failure to File Penalty: Greater of $5
or 5% of tax due for first month or
fraction thereof, plus 1/2% each addi-
tional month or fraction thereof, not to
exceed 12%.  §39-22-621(2) (a), C.R.S.

• Delinquent Payment Penalty: Greater
of $5 or 5% of tax due for first month or
fraction thereof, plus 1/2% each addi-
tional month or fraction thereof, not to
exceed 12%. §39-22-621(2)(b), C.R.S.

• Recurring Distraint Warrant Penalties:
15% of tax, penalty and interest due.
§39-21-114(7)(a), C.R.S. or 30% of tax,
penalty and interest due.
§39-21-114(7)(b), C.R.S.

• Deficiency Due to Negligence: 25% of
the deficiency.  §39-22-621(2)(h), C.R.S.
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• Sales/Use Deficiency Due to Fraud:
100% of deficiency plus 3% per month.
§39-26-115, C.R.S.

• Unregistered Vending Machine: $25.
 §39-26-714(d), C.R.S.

Penalties and interest in this sales tax
section apply to state-collected taxes only.
Home-rule jurisdictions which are self-
collected may make their own regulations
regarding the taxability of items, and
interest and penalties on unpaid tax. You
must contact a home-rule city directly for
its tax regulations. A list of addresses and
phone numbers for self-collected areas is
contained in “Colorado Sales/Use Tax
Rates” (DR 1002), a publication available
from the Colorado Department of Rev-
enue. For a copy visit the Web site at
www.taxcolorado.com.  The publication is
updated each January and July.

RTD/CD/FD refers to the combined special
taxing district comprising the Regional
Transportation District, the Scientific and
Cultural Facilities District, and the
Metropolitan Football Stadium District.

Some counties have different combina-
tions of the RTD/CD/FD area taxes.  The
different areas are detailed in the "Colo-
rado Sales and Use Tax Rates" publication
DR 1002 located on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com

GASOLINE, GASOHOL, MTBE,
SPECIAL FUEL TAX AND
ENVIROMENTAL RESPONSE
SURCHARGE

• Interest: See table, page 3.

• Late Filer and/or Delinquent Payment
Penalty: Greater of $30 or 10% plus
1/2% per month not to exceed 18%. §39-
27-105(2), C.R.S.

• Nonfiler or Incorrect Filer Penalty: 30%
of tax.  §39-27-105(3), C.R.S.

INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX
AGREEMENT (IFTA)

• Interest:  Interest will be assessed at
the rate of one percent per month for
each state for which tax is due.

• Delinquent filing and/or payment
penalty: Greater of $50 or 10% of tax
due. (R1220.100 — IFTA Articles of
Agreement)

PASSENGER MILE TAX

• Interest: See table, page 3.

• Delinquent Payment Penalty: 3% per
month.  §42-3-136 (1)(b), C.R.S.

• Nonfiler Penalty: 10% plus 1/2% per
month not to exceed 18%.
 §42-3-136 (2), C.R.S.

• Assessment Penalty: 25% plus penalty/
interest of 1/2% per month.
§42-3-137 (5), C.R.S.

• Filing of False or Fraudulent Return:
100% of deficiency.
§42-3-136 (3)(a), C.R.S.

FERMENTED MALT BEVERAGES (3.2
BEER) AND ALCOHOL BEVERAGES

• Interest: 1% per month or fraction
thereof on tax and penalty.
§12-47-503(7), C.R.S.

• Delinquent Payment Penalty: 10% of
tax due.   §12-47-503(7), C.R.S.

CIGARETTE TAX AND TOBACCO
PRODUCTS TAX

• Interest: See table below.

• Delinquent Payment Penalty: 10% plus
1/2% per month not to exceed 18%.
§39-28-108(2)(b), C.R.S.  and
§39-28.5-110(2)(b), C.R.S.

• Cigarette Tax Nonfiler Penalty: $100.
§39-28-108(2)(a), C.R.S.

• Tobacco Products Tax Nonfiler Pen-
alty: $25.  §39-28.5-110(2)(a), C.R.S.

SEVERANCE TAX AND OIL & GAS
WITHHOLDING

• Interest: See table below.

• Delinquent Payment Penalty: Greater
of $30 or 30% of tax due.
§39-29-115(1), C.R.S.

• Assessment Penalty: 10% plus penalty/
interest of 1/2% per month.
§39-29-115(2), C.R.S.
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(a) Rate applies if payment of tax, or agreement to pay, is made within 30 days of notice of
underpayment or nonpayment. This rate also applies when a tax underpayment or nonpay-
ment is cured voluntarily without notification from the Department of Revenue.

(b) Rate applies in all other cases.

 “Penalty-interest” is a penalty which is assessed on the tax due, based upon the rates in the above
table. When penalty-interest is applied, it is in addition to interest.

TABLE OF INTEREST AND PENALTY-INTEREST RATES
[§39-21-110.5 C.R.S.]

Underpayment Annual Monthly Daily
Period Rate Rate Rate

` .

.

2001 (a) 10% .8333% .027397%

2001 (b) 13%             1.0833% .035616%

2002 (a)  7% .5833% .019178%

2002 (b) 10% .8333% .027397%

2003 (a)  5% .4166% .013699%

2003 (b)  8% .6667% .021918%

2004 (a)  4% .3333% .010959%
2004 (b)  7% .5833% .019126%

2005 (a)  4% .3333% .010959%

2005 (b)  7% .5833% .019178%

2006 (a)  6% .5000% .016438%

2006 (b)  9% .7500% .024658%
2007(a)  8% .6667% .021918%
2007(b) 11% .9167% .030137%

2008(a)  8% .6667% .021858%

2008(b) 11% .9167% .030055%

INTEREST CALCULATION

Interest on a balance due is calculated
using a “simple interest” calculation. The
interest rate(s) from the Table of Interest
and Penalty-Interest Rates is the rate(s)
that applies to the time period during
which the amount is actually owed. If the
balance due is paid in the same year as
the tax is due, then only one interest rate
is used to calculate the interest due.
However, if the balance due is paid in a
later year, then the interest rates for all
years during which the tax is owed must
be used to compute the interest due.

Example: Neil files his 2004 income tax
return on the due date of April 15, 2005.
He does not pay the $200 balance due
until June 7, 2007. The simple interest
rate is computed by adding the interest
rates for each year during the underpay-
ment period; 4/15/2005 to 12/31/2005 @
7% (5%), 1/1/2006 to 12/31/2006 @ 9%
(9%), 1/1/2007 to 6/7/2007 @ 11% (4.76%).
Multiply the aggregate interest rate of
18.76% times the $200 net balance due to
compute the interest due of $37.52.

Interest rates are available for tax years
2007 and earlier.  These prior year rates
are found in the Tax Information Index
under the Interest Rates topic.  The Tax
Information Index is located on the Web
at www.taxcolorado.com

RETURN CHECK PENALTY

The civil penalty assessed when a check
is returned due to insufficient funds, a
closed account, or a stop payment order is
$41.

2009(a)  5% .4166% .013699%
2009(b)  8% .6667% .021918%
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FURTHER INFORMATION

FYIs, publications, commonly used forms
and additional tax information are avail-
able on the Web at www.taxcolorado.com

For additional tax information visit the
"Tax Information Index" which covers a
variety of topics including links to forms,
publications, regulations, statutes and
general questions and answers.  The "Tax
Information Index" is located on the Web
at www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning a
variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language.  Although the FYIs
represent a good faith effort to provide accurate
and complete tax information, the information is
not binding on the Colorado Department of
Revenue, nor does it replace, alter or supersede
Colorado law and regulations.  The Executive
Director, who by statute is the only person
having authority to bind the Department, has
not formally reviewed and/or approved these
FYIs.


