TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI — For Your Information

Catastrophic Health Insurance

GENERAL INFORMATION

On or after Jan. 1, 1995, any employer
who does not offer other health insurance
may offer catastrophic health insurance to
its employees.

DEFINITIONS

“Employer” means a person or entity
employing one or more individuals in
Colorado, excluding the federal govern-
ment, or businesses providing health
insurance coverage through a self-insured
plan which has benefits equal to or
greater than a catastrophic health insur-
ance policy described in this FYI.

“Employee” means an individual who
resides in Colorado and is employed by an
employer.

“Dependent child” means an adopted or
natural child of an employee who

a) is under the age of 21;

b) is legally entitled to or the subject of a
court order for the provision of proper
or necessary subsistence, education,
medical care, or any other care neces-
sary for his or her health guidance or
well-being, and who is not otherwise
self-supporting, married or a member
of the U.S. armed forces; or

c) cannot be self-supporting because of
mental or physical disability. [C.R.S.
39-22-504.6]

REQUIREMENTS FOR
CATASTROPHIC HEALTH
INSURANCE POLICIES

Effective January 1, 2001 each cata-
strophic health insurance policy must:

= be issued to the employer unless issued
as an individual plan.

= have a minimum deductible of $1,500
but no more than $2,250 for individual
coverage, or $3,000 but no more than
$4,500 for family coverage.

= offer coverage for the spouse and
dependent children of the insured
employee.

= cover all employees who elect coverage
and are not otherwise covered by
medicare or another employer’s cata-
strophic health insurance policy.

= For group coverage, cover an employee
and eligible dependents regardless of
health status; except that a business
group of one may be restricted to
obtaining coverage during an open
enrollment period.

= be priced based on rating requirements
as specified by law.

= provide a clearly written contract of
coverage including a list of procedures
covered under the policy. This list
shall be updated annually and sent to
the insured.

For group coverage, the policy must
include a portability clause which pro-
vides that:

Colorado Department

of Revenue

Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms and other services:
(303) 238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:

(303) 238-SERV (7378)
Fuel Tax: (303) 205-5602

www.taxcolorado.com

PAGE 1 OF 2
INCOME 30 (11/03)



= When an employee leaves employment
for any reason the employee, the
employee’s spouse and the employee’s
dependent children may each elect to
convert coverage to an individual policy
if they request to do so within 31 days
after the date coverage is lost.

= An employee or the spouse or covered
dependents of an employee who elect to
convert coverage shall pay all premi-
ums after the date of the conversion.
The premiums may not exceed 135
percent of premium amounts that
would have been charged if coverage
were provided to an employee under
the plan during the same period. If the
plan the employee had is canceled or
not renewed, the premium rates shall
be based on the rate which would have
been charged by the insurer if the plan
continued in force.

= Conversion benefits shall be the
insured's choice of the same coverage
issued, without evidence of insurabil-
ity, as an individual policy or the
specified conversion coverage.

= The insurer may apply against the
benefit limits of the conversion policy
any benefits paid prior to the date of
conversion, if the insurer credits the
insured with any waiting period or
deductible which was credited under
the policy prior to the date of conver-
sion.

= Upon the death of the insured, one of
the surviving dependents of the in-
sured may convert the policy to an
individual policy.

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE
EMPLOYEE AND EMPLOYER

When an employee purchases cata-
strophic health insurance, the employee is
responsible for paying the entire cost of
the insurance; however, the employer, at
its option, may pay all or a part of such
cost.

An employee who decides to have a
Catastrophic Health Insurance Plan must
sign an “Employee Election: Catastrophic
Health Insurance” (DR 0811). The form
must be signed before the employer
withholds the first contribution to the
insurance plan.

The employer should withhold the pre-
mium payments for catastrophic health
insurance from the wages of an employee
who has elected coverage. The employer
must remit the premiums to the insuring
entity on the employee’s behalf. All such
premiums collected by an employer are
withheld from the employee’s wages on a
Colorado pre-tax basis. [C.R.S. 39-22-
104.5]

The employer must report the premiums
withheld in the form of a letter on the
employer's letterhead. The letter should
be furnished to the employee and the
Department of Revenue on or before Jan.
31. The letter must explain that the
premiums withheld may be claimed as a
subtraction when computing the
employee's Colorado taxable income for
the year of the withholding. This letter
must be attached to the employee's
Colorado income tax return when the
subtraction is claimed.

NOTE: This catastrophic health insur-
ance pre-tax feature is NOT available to
self-employed persons.

FURTHER INFORMATION

For more information on related topics,
consult the following DOR publications:

« FYI Income 29 “Medical Savings
Accounts”

FYls, commonly used forms and
additional tax information are available
on the Web at www.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning
a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language. Although the
FYIs represent good faith effort to provide
accurate and complete tax information, the
information is not binding on the Colorado
Department of Revenue nor does it replace,
alter or supersede Colorado law and regula-
tions. The Executive Director, who by
statute is the only person having authority
to bind the Department, has not formally
reviewed and/or approved these FYs.
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