TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI — For Your Information

Colorado Tax Creditfor Income Tax Paid to

Another State

GENERAL INFORMATION

Question: What happens if you have
income that was earned and is taxable in
another state, but was received while you
were a resident of Colorado? Answer: This
income is taxed in both states, which
results in the income being taxed twice.

To eliminate the penalty of this double
taxation, Colorado allows Colorado
residents to claim a credit for taxes paid
to another state. [39-22-108 CRS]

In order to claim the credit, you must file
the Colorado Form 104 and 104CR. If you
paid taxes to two or more other states, a
separate 104CR form must be completed
for each state. You must attach a copy of
each tax return filed with another state to
your Colorado 104 return. The credit is
limited to the smaller of the Colorado tax
paid on the income from sources in the
other state or the tax paid to the other
state on such income.

COMPUTING THE CREDIT
The easiest way to complete your 104CR
is to follow these steps:

Step 1. Complete your federal income tax
return.

Step 2: Complete your income tax return
for the other state.

Step 3: Complete lines 1 through 19 of
your Colorado Form 104.

Step 4: Use the following instructions to
determine the amounts you
should enter on line 5 (b) and line
5 (c) of Form 104CR.

Form 104CR, line 5(b)

Your Colorado adjusted gross income from
sources in the other state is the amount of
your federal adjusted gross income earned
from sources in the other state that is
being taxed by both states. This amount
must be reduced by any Colorado “sub-
tractions from federal taxable income”
and increased by any Colorado “additions
to federal taxable income” (from Form
104) to the extent they apply to that
income.

Form 104CR, line 5(¢)

Your total Colorado adjusted gross income
is the amount of your federal adjusted
gross income plus and/or minus the
Colorado “additions to federal taxable
income” and “subtractions from federal
taxable income” that apply to that income.
The Colorado additions and subtractions
that apply to itemized or standard deduc-
tions (i.e. state income tax addback,
conservation easement deduction, mar-
riage penalty subtraction, etc.) will not
affect this computation.
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EXAMPLE 1

Taxpayer Brown, who is single and claiming the standard deduction, earned $3,000 in
California but is a Colorado resident. Taxpayer Brown had a Colorado taxable income of
$25,200 and a federal adjusted gross income of $32,150.

The tax computed under California rules is $90.

FORM 104CR - INDIVIDUAL CREDIT SCHEDULE

2000
Taxpayer's Name Social Security Number
5 Credit for income tax paid to another state — compute a separate credit for each state.
Attach a copy of the tax return filed with the other state.
CALIFORNIA
Name of state
1,195|00
(a) Total of lines 19 and 20, FOrm 104 .........ccoiiiiiiiiiiiiee e 5(a)
) ) ) 3,000 |00
(b) Colorado adjusted gross income from sources in the other state....... 5(b)
(c) Total Colorado adjusted gross iNCOME ........cccceerrreerrneeneniene e 5(c) 32,150 |00
(d) Amount on line 5(b) divided by amount on line 5(C) .......cccceevvveeeeennn. 5(d) 9.331 %
(e) Amount on line 5(a) multiplied by percentage on line 5(d) ................ 5(e) 11200
(f) Tax liability to the other state ... 5(f) 90|00
(g) Allowable credit, the smaller of 1iNes 5(8) OF 5(F) ...vcveieeviveeieieeeeeeeee et 5(g) 90| 00
On the above sample form, taxpayer Brown can take a Colorado tax credit for tax paid
to another state of $90, “the smaller of lines 5 (e) or 5 (f).” On the personal credits line of
the Colorado Form 104 he would enter $90. He must attach Form 104CR and a copy of
the California return to his Colorado Form 104.
PART-YEAR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO
A part-year resident will generally not claim the credit for tax paid to another state
since their income is usually taxed only by the state of residency when the income is
earned. However, if income is earned from sources in the other state while the taxpayer
is a Colorado resident, then it may be taxed by both states. If this is the case the tax
credit can be claimed. The computation of the credit for taxes paid to another state by a
part-year resident is more complicated than it is for a full-year resident and the differ-
ent computations are explained below.
Form 104CR, line 5(b)
Colorado adjusted gross income from sources in the other state is the amount of income
earned from sources in the other state during that part of the year that the taxpayer
was a resident of Colorado. This amount will always be the net of any Colorado subtrac-
tions reported on line M of the 104PN schedule to the extent they apply to that income.
Do not include any income on this line that was earned while the taxpayer was a resi-
dent of the other state.
Form 104CR, line 5(c) PAGE 2 OF 4
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Form 104CR, line 5(¢)

Only include the tax paid to the other state on that portion of the income that is being taxed
by both states. Do not enter any tax paid on income that was earned while you were a
resident of the other state. This amount can be calculated by dividing that portion of the
total income earned and taxed by both states by that portion of the total income earned and
taxed only by the other state, then multiplying the result by the total tax liability in the
other state.

EXAMPLE 2

Tom moved from Kansas in June of 2000. He had wage income of $20,000 in Colorado and
$14,000 in Kansas. He also had income of $4,000 from the rental of his Kansas home
starting in July 2000. His Kansas tax liability for the year was $600 on his $18,000 Kansas
income. His 104PN and 104CR would be completed as follows:

FORM 104 PN - PART YEAR NONRESIDENT FORM

Lines:
Form 104PN Federal column Colorado column
A. Wages $34,000 $20,000
F. Rental Income $ 4,000 $ 4,000
H. Total Income $38,000 $24,000
N. Modified AGI $38,000 $24,000
O. Percentage 63.158%
P. Tax $ 1424
Q. Apportioned tax $ 899

Credit for tax paid to Kansas from Form 104CR
Lines:
5(a) Colorado Tax $899
5(b) Colorado AGI from other state $4,000
5(c) Colorado AGI $24,000
5(d) Line 5(b) divided by line 5(c) 16.667%
5(e) Line 5(a) times line 5(d) $150
5(f) Kansas tax $133 ([$4,000/$18,000] X $600)
5(g) Allowable credit $133

NONRESIDENTS OF COLORADO

A nonresident of Colorado will never claim a credit for tax paid to another state in
Colorado. They may be eligible for a similar credit in their state of residency.
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LIMITATION WHEN CREDIT IS
CLAIMED FOR MORE THAN ONE
STATE

If taxes are paid to two or more states, the
credit for tax paid to another state is
computed separately for each state. In
most cases the total of those credits is the
amount to be claimed. However, the total
credit may not exceed the Colorado tax
attibutable to the total non-Colorado
source income.

EXAMPLE 3

Ann is a Colorado resident who has
business income from three other states.
Her Colorado adjusted gross income is
$78,000. Her income from Nebraska is
$43,000, her income from Utah is $32,000
and her loss from lowa is <$17,000>. Her
Colorado tax is $2,917. The credit for
taxes paid to another state is computed as
$1,608 for Nebraska, $1,197 for Utah and
$0 for lowa, which results in a tentative
credit of $2,805. However, if the non-
Colorado source income is totaled and
divided by the Colorado adjusted gross
income, the actual credit that can be
claimed after the limitation is $2,169
($58,000/$78,000 x $2,917).

COMMON QUESTIONS:

I am a full-year resident of Colorado, but
earned income working in another state
that does not have a state income tax. How
do I get credit for the tax | computed on
this income in Colorado?

There is no credit for this income. As a
full-year Colorado resident you must pay
Colorado tax on all of your taxable in-
come. The credit for taxes paid to another
state prevents double taxation of income
by two states and will not apply in this
situation since the other state is not
taxing the income.

I am a full-year Colorado resident and
have interest and pension income being
paid to me from another state. Will the
credit for taxes paid to another state
benefit me?

No, interest and pension income is taxed
only by your state of residence and will
not be taxed by the other state.

I paid tax to several other states through
an S corporation, both as part of a compos-
ite return in some states and through an S
Corporation tax in other states. Can |
claim the credit for taxes paid to another
state for any of these taxes paid?

Yes, the credit is available for income
taxes paid on your behalf by an S Corpora-
tion. The credit must be computed sepa-
rately for each state and can only be
claimed for income taxes paid. Taxes
such as Michigan'’s single business tax do
not qualify for this credit because they are
not considered income taxes. Since copies
of each state’s composite or corporate
returns are generally not available to
shareholders, you should attach a copy of
the statement of taxes provided to you by
the S Corporation.

FURTHER INFORMATION

For related information, see:

= FYI General 1 “Department of Revenue
Publications”;

< FYI General 8 “The FYI Program -
Index and General Information.”

Please use the FYI number (General 1,
Sales 9, etc.,) when ordering FYI publica-
tions. FYls and commonly used forms are
available on the Web at
www.taxcolorado.com
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