TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI — For Your Information

Colorado Source Capital Gain

Subtraction

Qualified Colorado taxpayers may
subtract certain net capital gain income
earned from Colorado sources to the
extent the gains are included in their
federal taxable income. (839-22-518
C.R.S)

QUALIFYING NET CAPITAL GAINS

There are three different rules that
determine which net capital gains qualify
for the Colorado source capital gain
subtraction. The first is a general rule
that applies every year regardless of
whether there is a budget surplus. This
general rule is expanded in two circum-
stances, both of which depend on Colorado
having a qualified budget surplus during
the tax year.

General Rule

Under the general rule, this subtraction is

available to taxpayers who have net

capital gains that meet the following

qualifications:

« Colorado sources — gains must be
earned from the sale of either:

v real or tangible personal property
located in Colorado at the time of
sale, or

v stocks or ownership interest in

Colorado company, limited liability
company, or partnership,
= Acquisition date — taxpayer must
have acquired the asset on or after
May 9, 1994,
= Holding period — taxpayer must have
owned the capital asset for at least
five uninterrupted years prior to the
sale,
< Included in the taxpayer's federal
taxable income reported on taxpayer's
Colorado income tax return.

Expanded Subtraction

Before May 9, 1994. Under the first
expanded rule, for any tax year beginning
on or after January 1, 1999 and during
which the state’s fiscal year ends with a
qualified surplus, the general rule is
expanded to include gains on assets
acquired before May 9, 1994. Because
there was a qualified surplus in 1999 and
2000, this expanded subtraction is avail-
able for those years. The other require-
ments of the general rule, such as the
five-year holding period and gains earned
from Colorado sources, still apply in this
situation. (In order to claim the 1999
subtraction, an amended return must be
filed because a late law change did not
allow for a line for this subtraction to
appear on the original 1999 forms.)

One-Year Holding Period. Under
the second expanded rule, for any tax
year beginning on or after January 1,
2001 and during which the state’s fiscal
year ends with a qualified surplus, the
general rule for the subtraction is ex-
panded to include gains on assets held for
at least one year. The other requirements
of the general rule apply, except for the
May 9, 1994 acquisition date and the five-
year holding period.
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Qualified Surplus

The expanded subtraction rules apply
only to tax years during which the state’s
fiscal year ends in a sufficient surplus
that must be refunded under the Tax-
payer’ Bill of Rights Amendment, section
20 of article X of the State Constitution. A
surplus of at least $260 million will
activate the first expanded rule (assets
acquired before May 9, 1994). The second
expanded surplus (holding period of at
least one year) requires a revenue surplus
of at least $430 million. These surplus
requirements are adjusted annually to
reflect the rate of growth of Colorado
personal income. The amount of the
surplus is determined in October or
November of each tax year.

COLORADO SOURCES

The subtraction applies only to net capital
gains earned from property located in
Colorado. Thus, capital gain realized from
the sale of real or personal property
qualifies for this subtraction only if the
property is located in Colorado at the time
of the transaction that gave rise to the
gain.

The gain from the sale of stock or owner-
ship interest also qualifies if the stock or
ownership interest is of a “Colorado
company, limited liability company, or
partnership.” These are entities that
have 50% or more of their property and
50% or more of their payroll assigned to
Colorado under the Multistate Tax
Compact (24-60-1301, C.R.S.) for the
required holding period (e.g., one or five
years). Taxpayers must report the prop-
erty and payroll percentages on form DR
1316 (any such information provided the
department may have is confidential and
cannot be disclosed) and must keep
appropriate records that demonstrate
that the company meets the requirements
of this subtraction.

Because the sale of a sole proprietorship
is not considered a sale of an entity, but
only of its assets, such a sale does not
gualify as a sale of an "ownership
interest." Therefore, gains earned from
intangibles owned by a sole proprietorship
do not qualify for the subtraction.

The Department will closely examine
subtractions involving “pass-through”
entities (entities that pass capital gains
through to the partner/stockholder/mem-
ber) that have only de minimis tangible
property and payroll, and hold only stock,
intangibles, or ownership interests in other
entities. In such cases, the Department
will require the intangible assets owned by
the pass-through entity meet the require-
ments of the "Colorado source," holding
period, and other requirements of this
subtraction. Example: A Colorado taxpayer
owns stock in a pass-through entity that
has de minimus tangible property and
payroll and whose only significant asset is
stock held in another company. The
Department will apply the “Colorado
source” and applicable holding period
requirements to the underlying company to
determine whether the pass-through of
capital gain income from the sale of such
stock qualifies for this subtraction.

ACQUISITION DATE/HOLDING
PERIOD

The acquisition date and holding period
computations for the purposes of this
subtraction are not necessarily the same as
federal rules. The specific property must be
directly and without interruption owned by
the specific taxpayer for five years (or one
year if the expanded rule applies to the tax
year) to qualify for the subtraction. The
Colorado holding period must be satisfied
in addition to any holding period required
by the federal Internal Revenue Code.

In order to qualify for the subtraction for
gains on the sale of individual assets of a
pass through entity, both the entity and
the partner/Sub S stockholder/member of
the pass-through entity must satisfy the
applicable holding period for each asset.

Example 1: Partnership purchases an
asset on May 10, 1994 and sells it on June
1, 1999. Partner A, who became a partner
prior to May 10, 1994, satisfies the five-year
holding period and qualifies for the sub-
traction. Partner B, who became a partner
June 2, 1994, does not satisfy the five-year
hold requirement and can not claim the
capital gain subtraction.
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Example 2: Colorado property was
acquired on May 1, 1994 by an individual,
transferred to an S corporation on July 1,
1994 that is wholly owned by the indi-
vidual, then sold by the S corporation on
July 30, 1999. What is the acquisition date
and holding period for the purpose of the
Colorado source capital gain subtraction?

The acquisition date of the asset by the S
corporation is July 1, 1994. The holding
period is July 1, 1994 through July 30,
1999. The Department will apply the
holding requirement to the entity that
sold the asset.

Example 3: If a taxpayer acquired a 25%
interest in Colorado real property on May
20, 1994, and a 25% additional interest on
November 1, 1994, and the whole property
is sold on July 1, 1999, what gain may be
subtracted?

Only the gain on the first 25% interest
can be subtracted. The taxpayer did not
hold the second 25% interest for the
required five year holding period.

QUALIFIED TAXPAYER

A "qualified taxpayer" is any individual,
firm, corporation, partnership, LLC, joint
venture, estate, trust, or group or
combination acting as a unit, with no
overdue state tax liabilities and not in
default on any contractual obligations
owed to the state or to any local
government within Colorado at the time
the Colorado source capital gain
subtraction is claimed.

DOCUMENTATION

If you claim the Colorado capital gain
subtraction on a tax return, you must
attach Form DR 1316 to the return. This
form requests basic information regarding
the capital gain, as well as an affidavit
attesting that you qualified to claim the
subtraction. List on the DR 1316 only the
capital gains and losses that are used to
compute the subtraction. This form is
included in this FYI for your convenience.

LIMITATIONS TO THE
SUBTRACTION

Capital gain income that qualifies for both
the Colorado capital gain subtraction and
the interest/dividend/capital gain subtrac-
tion (explained in FYI Income 40) may be
deducted only once. You elect which
subtraction you would like to use.

The Colorado capital gain subtraction is
limited to the lesser of the amount of the
federal net capital gain reported on
Schedule D or the qualifying Colorado net
capital gain.

Example 1: A taxpayer has a qualifying
Colorado capital gain of $4,000, a non-
Colorado capital gain of $500 and a non-
Colorado capital loss of $1,000, for a
federal net capital gain of $3,500. The
subtraction allowed on the Colorado
return will be $3,500 (the lesser of $3,500
and $4,000).

Example 2: Same facts as in Example 1,
except the $1,000 loss is a qualifying
Colorado capital loss. The subtraction
allowed in this example would be $3,000
(the lesser of $3,500 and $3,000).

INSTALLMENT SALES

If an asset is sold on an installment basis,
the transaction must qualify for the
subtraction in both the year the asset is
sold and the year the gain is received.
Example 1: An asset is purchased on
June 1, 1994 and sold on April 1, 1999,
with deferred payments received monthly
from July 1, 1999 to December 31, 2001.
The capital gains from this transaction do
not qualify for the subtraction because the
five year holding period was not met when
the asset was sold.

Example 2: An asset is purchased on
June 1, 1992 and sold on July 1, 1999,
with deferred payments received in 1999,
2000 and 2001. For this example, it is
assumed there is no revenue surplus in
2001. The capital gain will qualify for the
subtraction in 1999 and 2000, but the
2001 capital gain would not qualify
because assets acquired prior to May 9,
1994 will not qualify for the subtraction in

years where there is no state surplus.
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Example 3: Same facts as in Example 2,
except the asset was acquired on June 30,
1994. The capital gains from this transac-
tion would qualify for the subtraction for
1999, 2000, and 2001 because the asset
was acquired after May 9, 1994 and,
under the general rule, a state surplus is
not required.

Example 4: An asset is purchased on
February 22, 1993 and sold on July 20,
1998, with deferred payments received in
1999 and 2000. The capital gains from
this transaction do not qualify for the
subtraction because the asset was sold in
1998. The Colorado capital gain subtrac-
tion was not available in 1998 so even the
gains recognized in 1999 and 2000 do not
qualify for the subtraction.

COMMON QUESTIONS

If Colorado property was acquired on May
10, 1994 by an individual, transferred on
June 5, 1994 to a S corporation wholly
owned by the individual, then sold on
June 1, 1999 by the S corporation has the
five-year holding requirement been
satisfied?

No. The entity that sold the asset has not
met the holding requirement.

Is the holding period for Colorado
computations always the same as the
federal holding period for the capital gain
computation?

The holding requirement for the Colorado
subtraction may be different than federal
hold period requirements. The Colorado
holding period must be satisfied in
addition to any holding period required
to qualify as net capital gains under
section 1222 (11) of the Internal Revenue
Code.

Does income reported as ordinary income
after the sale of depreciated property
gualify for the exclusion?

No. You can only subtract income which
qgualifies under Internal Revenue Code
Section 1222 (11) as net capital gain. The
qgualifying gains receiving capital
treatment are only federal net capital
gains earned from Colorado property.

Does the sale of patents, goodwill,
customer lists, or stock options qualify for
the subtraction?

No. The subtraction only applies to
tangible personal property. The only
intangible property eligible is stock or
ownership interests in Colorado
companies.

If an entity is part of a group of
companies that file combined or
consolidated Colorado income tax returns,
how will the Department determine
whether the group is a Colorado company?

The Department will apply the property
and payroll factors of the Multistate Tax
Compact.

If a taxpayer owns stock in a Colorado
corporation and the corporation
liquidates, does the captial gain from the
transaction qualify for the capital gain
subtraction?

Yes, assuming the other requirements of
the subtraction are met.

FURTHER INFORMATION

For more information on related topics,
consult the following DOR publications:

e FYI General 1 “Department of
Revenue Publications”;

e FYI General 5 “General Information
about Colorado Taxes”;

e FYI General 8 “The FYI Program —
Index and General Information.”

Single FYls are free from the Taxpayer
Service Division. They may be obtained
at any statewide taxpayer service center;
by writing to the Colorado Department of
Revenue, 1375 Sherman St., Denver, CO
80261; or by call the DOR Forms Hotline
at (303) 232-2414. Please use the FYI
number (General 1, Sales 9, etc.,) when
ordering FYI publications.

FYIs and commonly used forms are
available on the Web at
Www.revenue.state.co.us
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DR 1316 (12/00)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
1375 SHERMAN STREET

DENVER CO 80261

COLORADO SOURCE CAPITAL GAIN AFFIDAVIT

Taxpayer Name

Social Security Number or Colorado Account Number

Spouse Name (if applicable)

Social Security Number or Colorado Account Number

Provide the following information for each asset that qualifies under the requirements of the Colorado capital
gain subtraction. Include any qualified assets that resulted in a capital loss. Under the description of property,
include the location of the asset when sold or, if stock or an ownership interest in a Colorado company, include
the property and payroll factors for the last five years.

If the capital gain is being passed through from a partnership or other pass-through entity, enter the asset

involved. If the capital gain is being realized from the sale of an interest in a partnership or other pass-through
entity that exists primarily as a holding company for intangible assets, you must look-through the ownership
interest to the actual assets involved. List and describe only the assets involved that meet the definition of a

qualifying capital gain for the Colorado capital gain subtraction.

Attach additional sheets if needed.

a) Description of Property b) Date Acquired) - c) Date Sold d) Sale Price €) Costor f) Gain or loss
(mo., day, yr.) | (mo., day, yr.) other basis
1. | | |
| | |
.00 .00 .00
| | |
2.
| | :
: .00 : .00 | .00
|
3. | | i
| |
.00 .00 |00
| | :
4.
| | |
|
|00 : .00 .00
| . |
5. | | |
| | |
: 00 .00 .00
I
6. Total Gain or (Loss) i 00
7. Net Capital Gain from Federal Form 1040 or 1040A i 00
| .
g. Colorado Source Capital Gain Subtraction, enter lesser of lines 6 or 7. Enter here and on Form 104. | 00
| .

income tax return is being filed.

and complete.

QUALIFYING COLORADO SOURCE CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES
| attest that the taxpayer(s) shown above has no overdue state tax liabilities and is not in default on any
contractual obligations owed to the state or to any local government within Colorado at the time the attached

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief, this affidavit is true, correct,

Signature, Taxpayer or Duly Authorized Individual

Date

Spouse Signature (if joint return, both must sign)

Date




