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This issue brief provides an overview of federal and state 

family, medical, and sick leave laws. 

 

Federal Law 
 

Family and Medical Leave Act.  The U.S. Family and 

Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) allows eligible 

employees to take up to 12 weeks of leave per year for 

specified circumstances.1   

 

FMLA applies to most employers with 50 or more 

employees.  An employee must have worked for at least 

1,250 hours with his or her employer during the prior 

12-month period and have at least 12 months of service 

to be eligible for leave.  Employers may provide leave 

under FMLA as either unpaid or paid time off, and may 

require that an employee use accrued vacation or sick 

time during leave in certain instances. 

 

Circumstances covered under FMLA include time off: 

for the birth, adoption, or foster placement of a child; in 

order to care for a spouse, child, or parent who has a 

serious health condition; because of the employee’s own 

serious health condition; and because of an urgent need 

due to an immediate family member’s active duty 

service. 

 

Tax incentives.  In 2017, the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs 

Act created a tax credit for tax years 2018 and 2019 for 

businesses that provide qualifying paid family and 

medical leave to eligible employees.  The tax credit 

covers 12.5 percent to 25.0 percent of the wages paid to 

an employee on leave.2 

 

Federal employee paid leave.  The National Defense 

Authorization Act for FY 2020, signed in 

                                                        
129 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq. 
226 U.S.C. § 45S. 
3S. 1790, Sec. 7601. 

December 2019, allows federal employees to take up to 

12 weeks of paid parental leave for the birth of a child 

or the placement of an adoptive or foster child 

beginning in October 2020.  Employees must have 

worked for the federal government for at least one year 

and commit to returning to work following the paid 

leave for at least 12 weeks.3 

 

COVID-19 response.  The Families First Coronavirus 

Response Act, signed in March 2020, expanded FMLA 

to allow employees who have been employed for at 

least 30 days to take leave to care for their child while 

school or childcare is closed due to COVID-19.  Leave 

taken in excess of 10 days must be paid.  The law also 

requires employers to provide up to two weeks of paid 

sick leave for any employees unable to work due to 

circumstances related to COVID-19.  The law applies to 

employers with 500 or fewer employees, though those 

with 50 or fewer employees may qualify for an 

exemption.  Employers are eligible for certain tax credits 

based on leave wages paid.  The law repeals on 

December 31, 2020.4 

 

 

Colorado Law 
 

Colorado Family Care Act.  The Colorado Family Care 

Act adds an employee’s civil union or domestic partner 

as a qualifying immediate family member for the 

purposes of the FMLA, if the partner has a serious 

health condition.5 

 

Domestic violence.  Colorado law permits an eligible 

employee to take up to three days of leave in any 

12-month period if the employee is a victim of domestic 

abuse, stalking, sexual assault, or another crime with a 

4H.R. 6201, Sections 3101, 5101, and 7001. 
5Section 8-13.3-201, et seq., C.R.S. 
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domestic violence component.  The leave may be paid 

or unpaid and must be used to seek a civil protection 

order, obtain medical care or mental health counseling, 

make the employee’s home secure, or seek legal 

assistance.6 

 

Senate Bill 19-188.  Senate Bill 19-188 created the Family 

and Medical Leave Implementation Task Force, 

consisting of 15 members representing a variety of 

groups.  Final recommendations from the task force 

were provided on January 6, 2020.  All of the documents 

related to the task force’s activities are available here: 

 

 https://sites.google.com/state.co.us/famli/home 

 

 

Other State Laws 
 

Paid family and medical leave laws.  Eight states, 

including California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New 

Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and 

Washington have enacted paid family and medical 

leave (PFML) laws.  Additionally, Hawaii has a paid 

medical leave law.  The following sections discuss a few 

common components of these laws.  More information 

about the laws in these states can be found here: 

 

http://leg.colorado.gov/publications/state-paid-family-

and-medical-leave-laws 

 

History.  California, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode 

Island enacted temporary disability insurance laws in 

the 1940s.  Hawaii later followed in the 1960s.  The laws 

in California, New Jersey, and Rhode Island created 

state-run programs to provide partial 

wage-replacement benefits in the event of a worker’s 

own non-work related injury, illness, or pregnancy.  The 

PFML programs in these states often expanded the 

existing state temporary disability insurance program, 

or used the same state agency to administer the new 

program. 

 

Hawaii and New York require employers to provide 

temporary disability insurance benefits to employees 

through private plans.  In 2016, the New York law was 

expanded to require employers to also provide family 

leave benefits to employees. 

                                                        
6Section 24-34-402.7, C.R.S. 

Reason for leave.   These PFML laws generally allow 

workers to take leave for the same reasons provided for 

under the federal FMLA law, while some also provide 

workers with access to leave in the event of domestic or 

sexual violence. 

 

Funding structure.  The PFML programs in California, 

Connecticut, and Rhode Island are fully funded by 

employees.  In Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, 

and Washington, workers and employers share the cost 

of medical leave, while workers fully cover the cost of 

family leave.  In Oregon, employees and employers 

share the cost of the full PFML program.  Employers 

below a certain size in Oregon and Washington are not 

required to pay the employer contribution. 

 

Length of leave.  The maximum length of paid leave 

allowed under these programs varies significantly by 

state.  For example, workers in Washington can take up 

to 12 weeks per year for their own medical care, while 

workers in California can take up to 52 weeks.  Workers 

in Rhode Island can take up to 4 weeks for family leave, 

while workers in Massachusetts can take up to 

12 weeks.   

 

Benefit amount.  The amount of wage-replacement 

benefits that workers on leave receive varies by state.  

Most are calculated based on a worker’s average weekly 

wage (AWW) and have calculations that make the 

benefits progressive in nature.  For example, workers in 

Oregon receive 100 percent of their AWW, up to an 

amount equal to 65 percent of the statewide AWW, and 

50 percent of their AWW above that amount, up to a 

maximum of 120 percent of the statewide AWW. 

 

Paid sick leave laws.  Thirteen states have enacted paid 

sick time laws requiring private sector employers to 

provide employees with a certain amount of paid sick 

time.  Paid sick time is intended to allow employees to 

take time off for short-term health needs and preventive 

care compared with the longer-term needs covered by 

family and medical leave.  The laws in six of these states 

apply to all private sector employers, while the other 

laws apply to those with more than 10 to 15 employees.  

These laws allow employees to accrue one hour of paid 

sick time for every 30 to 52 hours worked, which can be 

used after a typical waiting period of 90 days. 

https://sites.google.com/state.co.us/famli/home
http://leg.colorado.gov/publications/state-paid-family-and-medical-leave-laws
http://leg.colorado.gov/publications/state-paid-family-and-medical-leave-laws

